View Full Version : Yams Hearts v Liverpool Reserves (merged)
23-08-2012, 09:03 PM
I must keep an eye out for him when i'm down the High Street :wink:
Good for him though, 17 and playing in the SPL!!!
Just make sure you remember that part of it is blocked off just now. :greengrin
big-mo
23-08-2012, 09:05 PM
Glad to see that Hearts are carrying on with the bigotry now that the Gers are no longer shaming us in Europe, was that them singing 'up to our knees in Fenian blood' ?
23-08-2012, 09:13 PM
All i could hear was HEA-RTS which they seem to sing every 2 seconds, and songs showing their obsession with Hibs and super Leigh.
23-08-2012, 09:20 PM
They did sell out the bus shelter. A Yam work mate of mine couldn't get a ticket.
Tell yer merrick mate he's a fud frae me :agree:
few merricks dressed as seats in the away end aye?
23-08-2012, 09:27 PM
Empty seats all over the place the few times I switched over to watch it, sell oot ma erse, mair wind and pish from the "big" team
They did sell out the bus shelter. A Yam work mate of mine couldn't get a ticket.
Empty seats all over the place the few times I switched over to watch it, sell oot ma erse, mair wind and pish from the "big" team
Not doubting you FH, but on the TV you could hear the stadium announcer tell the attending orks that the official attendance was 15, 925 (or thereabouts)
23-08-2012, 09:42 PM
Reserve team or not that Liverpool team tonight was p!ss poor, an O.G. was probably the only way they'd score to be honest.
Hearts showed plenty of effort and probably deserved a draw so if Liverpool don't make the expected changes for the 2nd leg and play the same dross as tonight then Hearts are not out of the tie.Brendan Rodgers done his homework. found out the Edin. festival was on, and brought up his fringe players
23-08-2012, 09:43 PM
Brendan Rodgers done his homework. found out the Edin. festival was on, and brought up his fringe players
:applause:
23-08-2012, 09:43 PM
time to delete this thread...don't want a 17 pager of Hearts pish attributed to me
VPHIBEE
24-08-2012, 07:59 AM
I watched them play Liverpool on ITV 4 last night, hoping to see them well and truly humped like most others on here.
I was surprised how well they played, they looked the best team for most of the game.
Then at the end the mainly English Commentary Team, started spouting the biggest load of pish I have heard in years. Quotes like "I think Liverpool always looked like they had another gear". What game were they watching? Certainly not the same game I saw.
I hope Liverpool do find that other gear they were talking about, and hump them 6-0 at Anfield!
horseflesh
24-08-2012, 08:06 AM
I watched them play Liverpool on ITV 4 last night, hoping to see them well and truly humped like most others on here.
I was surprised how well they played, they looked the best team for most of the game.
Then at the end the mainly English Commentary Team, started spouting the biggest load of pish I have heard in years. Quotes like "I think Liverpool always looked like they had another gear". What game were they watching? Certainly not the same game I saw.
I hope Liverpool do find that other gear they were talking about, and hump them 6-0 at Anfield!
Again i think it depends if Liverpool wheel out their C Team again, if they do and they stay in 1st gear it will probably end up 4 or 5-0 overall.
Thought it was really obvious that Liverpool were treating this as a training game but maybe thats my green tinted specs
24-08-2012, 08:12 AM
I don't remember that particular quote but I did agree with another comment that Liverpool (Reserves) looked marginally the better team.
And as for John Mcglyn's comments that his team maybe deserved to win then all I can say is :crazy:
PS Just realised that the crazy smiley really does look like Mcglyn!
24-08-2012, 08:17 AM
I agree - the revisionist summaries at the end reminded me 'its the winners that write history'
Liverpool took a gamble and it almost blew up in their face - if they played anywhere like that in the EPL they will be relagation not top 4 as their owners want.
You need the right player to play the way Rodgers wants...he does not have enough of them...anyone want to remind themselves of Maka and Hogg / Jones playing it out from the back.....
marti1875
24-08-2012, 08:17 AM
Yeah...the commentator did mention something like Liverpool looked comfortable and could easily move up a gear if need be.
I think this was still at 0 - 0 but maybe it was after they'd scored.
Anyway, For all the huffing and puffing the deluded ones done they never really seriously threatened until i think it was 90 mins when Reina had a good save from a shot from a tight angle.
And this was Liverpool's "c" team too :greengrin
VickMackie
24-08-2012, 08:47 AM
Liverpool were extremely average but I think a lot of that was to do with hearts pressing high up the pitch and trying to stop them playing out from the back.
Their only ball seemed to be give it to the young winger and hope he produced something.
I was a little bemused at the commentary.
I also had a look at the Liverpool forum match thread and they all seemed happy they were in complete control, even during the match, and hearts didn't even get a mention during the first half hour on the thread which I thought was strange.
A lot of them also think the baldy guy is *****!
24-08-2012, 08:54 AM
I think the commentators quote was along the lines of:
'You always felt Liverpool had an extra gear that Hearts just don't have.'
Probably true, sadly for Liverpool though those extra gears are called Steve and Luis and were sitting at home in Merseyside. If either of those 2 get injured then God help Liverpool this season.
As for Hearts I think they deserve credit for their work rate, fight and pressing. They also showed flashes of half decent football. The fact remains though that they didn't have one clear cut chance at home against Liverpools 2nd string. One shot from distance that Reina dealt with comfortably and and a few digs well off target from distance was about it.
24-08-2012, 09:09 AM
Liverpool fans are going to have to be very patient this season. The Swansea team that Rodgers got promoted and did so well with last season was essentially built and moulded by Martinez and Sousa. They were only able to do so because they started the "project" in League One.
There is no evidence that Rodgers can build the Liverpool team that would be needed to play football like that and win games, but if he can it will take at least 3 seasons IMO.
24-08-2012, 09:13 AM
Probably true, sadly for Liverpool though those extra gears are called Steve and Luis and were sitting at home in Merseyside. If either of those 2 get injured then God help Liverpool this season.
As for Hearts I think they deserve credit for their work rate, fight and pressing. They also showed flashes of half decent football. The fact remains though that they didn't have one clear cut chance at home against Liverpools 2nd string. One shot from distance that Reina dealt with comfortably and and a few digs well off target from distance was about it.
Wee bit unfair.............they had 3 or 4 probably overall.
Not sure we would have done any better against Liverpool C team........But the Yams played it the only way they could. Vastly inferior teams have to press and make life difficult without actually playing any football - and hope to score on the break
Anyone remember Chelski v Barca last season.......and whether the better team won? :rolleyes:
24-08-2012, 09:16 AM
Liverpool were extremely average but I think a lot of that was to do with hearts pressing high up the pitch and trying to stop them playing out from the back.
Their only ball seemed to be give it to the young winger and hope he produced something.
I was a little bemused at the commentary.
I also had a look at the Liverpool forum match thread and they all seemed happy they were in complete control, even during the match, and hearts didn't even get a mention during the first half hour on the thread which I thought was strange.
A lot of them also think the baldy guy is *****!
:agree: complete carthorse. Every time he got the ball I thought "that guy wouldn't get a game for Hibs". That bad.
Also agree that the commentary changed dramatically once LFC 3rds took the lead, making out that they were always in control, had extra gears etc when clearly they were just ... not very good.
24-08-2012, 09:23 AM
Not sure we would have done any better against Liverpool C team........But the Yams played it the only way they could. Vastly inferior teams have to press and make life difficult without actually playing any football - and hope to score on the break
Please don't do that! The thought of the current Hibs playing a decent English team could give me nightmares for ages :paranoid:
24-08-2012, 09:55 AM
:agree: complete carthorse. Every time he got the ball I thought "that guy wouldn't get a game for Hibs". That bad.
Also agree that the commentary changed dramatically once LFC 3rds took the lead, making out that they were always in control, had extra gears etc when clearly they were just ... not very good.
Is that the guy in midfield for Liverpool, Shelvey?
BTW what's with the Liverpool shirts, who makes them?? Looks like something sold on a market stall!!
24-08-2012, 10:07 AM
BTW what's with the Liverpool shirts, who makes them?? Looks like something sold on a market stall!!
24-08-2012, 10:10 AM
Warrior Sports is the make. American company I think.
Terrible strips.
24-08-2012, 10:34 AM
Putting my hatred of the Yams to one side I thought they put up a decent fight and would agree with Pretty Boy, that from what I saw at least, if Liverpool did have another gear it was at home on Merseyside watching on the telly.
Was amused at the end when Brendan Rodgers was interviewed and he clearly couldnt remember the name of the team they had just played.
Oh and also agree about the Liverpool kit .... I have seen similar in Matalan :greengrin
Greendub
24-08-2012, 11:08 AM
"Liverpool have more gears than hearts"
Well.....how about a wee shift up please, joke to walk away from there picking up a goal from an o.g lol
24-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Even with the 'big' names back, I don't think that Liverpool will finish above mid table.
Looked very, very average.
LeighLoyal
24-08-2012, 11:14 AM
I was supporting Hertz last night for the sake of Scottish fitba. Gone off Liverpool for sacking Kenny. Hertz were worth a point I thought. No chance of getting through anyway.
24-08-2012, 12:06 PM
OP's just a greetin faced yamboid.
Love how the Hearts fans seem to think its some sort of achievement that they ALMOST got a draw against a 3rd string, mediocre English outfit. Aye, well done Hearts.
24-08-2012, 01:15 PM
Liverpool are my English team so I was not missing out on the match, and all I can say is that the Yams at the least deserved a draw. Both teams had an equal number of chances, I remember Reina having to make a couple of saves in the first half and a few more in the second. And let us be fair to the Yams: Reina, Agger, Carragher, Spearing, Shelvey, Borini, Henderson, Downing and Allen, all have a lot of experience in the EPL, Championship, or are internationals and Reina is a World Cup winner, yet Liverpool struggled to make it out of Swiney with the 1-0 win. As far as I know Templeton was the only player who cost them money and was £30,000. The combined cost of the Liverpool team was probably close to £85m.
I'd also like to point out how obsessed they are with us, I heard them singing about Leigh Griffiths, Pa Kujabi and they also done the 'big team, big cup' and 5-1 chants on top of another song about us. My dads friends who are Liverpool supporters said this on leaving the ground 'only one of their songs supported their team, the rest were about Hibs or offensive towards something. I always though they were just a bit simple but now I know they are properly deluded mongos.'
24-08-2012, 01:53 PM
Hertz were crap last night, Liverpool fielded a very under-strength team against them, in fact treated the game as a training exercise to be honest. Thought they could have stepped it up a gear anytime they wanted to, but were just trying to keep the tie "live" as they want a half-decent crowd for the return leg. The English already think Scottish football is a joke and Liverpool have already announced reduced prices for the game to try and attract punters to a game they feel has no great attraction. Most of the Liverpool players came of the field without even breaking sweat. The return leg will be a lot different, I fully expect to see Liverpool score a lot more goals against them, even though I am of the opinion they are no great shakes this year.
24-08-2012, 02:02 PM
I was supporting Hertz last night for the sake of Scottish fitba. Gone off Liverpool for sacking Kenny. Hertz were worth a point I thought. No chance of getting through anyway.
Each to there own, But i will never ever be rooting for Hearts in any game they play to win EVER.
****ing moronic ******s each and every single one of them.
Hearts are vile, Vile ****.
WellingtonHibby
24-08-2012, 02:04 PM
i was supporting hertz last night for the sake of scottish fitba. Gone off liverpool for sacking kenny. Hertz were worth a point i thought. No chance of getting through anyway.
ltyf. .....
24-08-2012, 02:05 PM
Love how the Hearts fans seem to think its some sort of achievement that they ALMOST got a draw against a 3rd string, mediocre English outfit. Aye, well done Hearts.
Fact remains ,Once they get horsed at Anfield they will have failed to score over 4 games against Liverpool and SPurs in back to back Euro campaigns:cb:cb
Could Hibs have done better ?..Probably not, But we dont spout so much pish as they erseholes do about winning Champions leagues and dominating world football for decades. Swear to go they ******s make my skin crawl!.
24-08-2012, 02:16 PM
Hearts played well.
Rogers won't last the season.
24-08-2012, 02:19 PM
:wtf::trumpet::jamboclow
24-08-2012, 02:35 PM
I would say hearts deserved something from the game. They were the better team for large spells. Liverpools only decent players last night were Reina and Sterling.
24-08-2012, 02:40 PM
SNIIIIIIIIIIIIIFFFFFFFFFFFFF
I want those pink poofy mutants pumped in every single game they play... :aok:
The_Sauz
24-08-2012, 02:45 PM
Last time Liverpool played in Scotland......they got beat, and they played their top players :agree:
name that team :greengrin
24-08-2012, 02:53 PM
Last time Liverpool played in Scotland......they got beat, and they played their top players :agree:
Was it not a 1 1 draw at parkhead?
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2003/mar/14/uefa.sport
24-08-2012, 02:53 PM
Hibs won 1-0.Liverpool won the 2nd leg and the fixture. They then went on to win the European cup.
The_Sauz
24-08-2012, 03:08 PM
I should have said Edinburgh :doh:
In the return game, did John Toshack not score his first Liverpool hatrick?
24-08-2012, 03:11 PM
Hibs won 1-0.Liverpool won the 2nd leg and the fixture. They then went on to win the European cup.
Was it not the uefa cup/fairs cup?
The_Sauz
24-08-2012, 03:17 PM
UEFA Cup http://liverweb.org.uk/report.asp?rec_id=3961
VPHIBEE
24-08-2012, 03:37 PM
OP is most definitely not a Jambo! You should be careful throwing insults like that around. The Jambo's played well yesterday, no getting away from that. Anyone with eyes and a little understanding of football would have seen that. If they had played as well at Easter Road it would have been a very different game.
Did you read the OP fully? I was watching in the hope they would get humped! I am still hoping they get humped at Anfield.
I was supporting Hertz last night
Sure it was just last night? LTYF.
Thought Hearts played out their skin whilst Liverpool, at times, looked like they were playing a pre-season friendly.
Never mind, it'll get the roasters thinking they are world beaters again.
24-08-2012, 04:02 PM
OP is most definitely not a Jambo! You should be careful throwing insults like that around. The Jambo's played well yesterday, no getting away from that. Anyone with eyes and a little understanding of football would have seen that. If they had played as well at Easter Road it would have been a very different game.
Did you read the OP fully? I was watching in the hope they would get humped! I am still hoping they get humped at Anfield.
Or perhaps they only played as well as they were allowed to play.
hibee81
24-08-2012, 04:05 PM
Have to say as much as i hate hearts i think they deserved better than they got last night, as for the media they are a joke.
With regards to the 3rd choice liverpool team, 10.5million striker (Borini), 6.5 million midfielder (adam), 16 million midfielder (henderson), Carragher one of the most experienced defenders in whats supposed to be the best league in the world, and 6 million pound center half in Daniel agger, Reina another first team regular, then throw in Kelly, and Shelvey who have a fair few premiership apearances and a handful of highly rated youngsters. Thats some 3rd team may I say, I think that the media and all stating that they played there 3rd team need to understand they were matched on the night by a very hard working bunch of ****bo's who like I said deserved better. just my opionion of course.
24-08-2012, 04:13 PM
This sums it up for me. Only the post stopped Liverpool from scoring just before half time. The Yams put in an honest shift and probably played as well as they possibly can - but that was never going to be enough, even against a poor Liverpool.
24-08-2012, 04:34 PM
You're really not helping the assumption that you're a whining jambo, are you?
I assume you'll be like the other 400,000 who thought the only reason Hibs got a result was because Hearts played crap?
VPHIBEE
24-08-2012, 05:12 PM
You're really not helping the assumption that you're a whining jambo, are you?
I assume you'll be like the other 400,000 who thought the only reason Hibs got a result was because Hearts played crap?
You must be one of those Internet trolls I keep reading about, didn't think there were any on here.
Finbar
24-08-2012, 05:41 PM
As John McGlynn probably said after the match, "Liverpool were rubbish and we still couldnae beat thum."
24-08-2012, 06:51 PM
I've been hearing a lot of hearts fans trying to slag us for celebrating a draw against them in the derby. Surely that's not as bad a celebrating a loss against the Liverpool Z team? Bunch of ****ing reprobates
24-08-2012, 07:06 PM
Yep and John Brownlie had a penalty saved by Ray Clemence late in the first tie which would have put Hibs through.
As for last night thought Hearts were good but Liverpool were very poor.
24-08-2012, 07:12 PM
deary me.
24-08-2012, 07:18 PM
deary me.
Indeed.
Only time I'd ever support Hertz is if the whole club and it's 400,000 supporters was lined up along the top of the Forth Bridge ready to jump in unison. My support would kick in just as they jumped.
Any other time is tantamount to declaring your insanity
UEFA Cup http://liverweb.org.uk/report.asp?rec_id=3961
You just need to look at the Liverpool team listed on the away programme to see how far superior it was to the Liverpool team that played against the Merricks last night.
24-08-2012, 07:39 PM
As much as it pains me to say that mob did ok last night , be it Liverpool's 2nd or 3rd team its still Liverpool . Last night their cup singing/chants really got to me if im honest ,
24-08-2012, 07:39 PM
You just need to look at the Liverpool team listed on the away programme to see how far superior it was to the Liverpool team that played against the Merricks last night.
Oh to bring back these days!
24-08-2012, 07:45 PM
Speaking to a Jambo today he couldn't stop telling me 80 mill worth of talent we played against. Sore loser I say.
24-08-2012, 07:57 PM
The stench of yamness on this thread is reaking.
:lolyam: :jamboclow :agree:
bruno
24-08-2012, 08:01 PM
Really Bruno, are you sure about that?
Yes for sure. I tried to buy tickets on Thursday for a friend and couldn't. Below capacity without doubt so not sure if tickets were reserved for press or UEFA representatives. Knowing how every penny counts I'm sure they would have sold more if available
24-08-2012, 08:08 PM
See, there f***ing everywhere. :greengrin
24-08-2012, 08:27 PM
Yes for sure. I tried to buy tickets on Thursday for a friend and couldn't. Below capacity without doubt so not sure if tickets were reserved for press or UEFA representatives. Knowing how every penny counts I'm sure they would have sold more if available
Away and lie in yer p!sh.
Their were gaps in the bottom of the roseburn at the hertz side and also in the main stand (bottom) nearest the gorgay road end.
I'm sure the press and Uefa suits would have loved it down there
24-08-2012, 08:31 PM
****in bull****...There were gaps everywhere in the Hearts end...It was plain to see on tv..No way was Tincastle a sell out!!!
24-08-2012, 08:38 PM
Aye that would be right.
Tynecastle was 2,000 below capacity. There is no way that many seats would be held back.
Are you suggesting they would put Press or UEFA bigwigs in Section N or in the Roseburn Stand? I saw lost of gaps there.
I spoke to a number who were put off by the £45 ticket price.
24-08-2012, 08:45 PM
official attendance 15965 , capacity 17420 so they gave 1455 tickets to the press or UEFA reps , really?:aok:
24-08-2012, 09:15 PM
official attendance 15965 , capacity 17420 so they gave 1455 tickets to the press or UEFA reps , really?:aok:
I think their ground is even smaller these days - they only managed just over 16,000 against spurs too so I'm guessing the capacity is actually around 16,500.
24-08-2012, 09:45 PM
bruno
24-08-2012, 09:45 PM
Away and lie in yer p!sh.
Their were gaps in the bottom of the roseburn at the hertz side and also in the main stand (bottom) nearest the gorgay road end.
I'm sure the press and Uefa suits would have loved it down there
Away and lie in my pish aye ok then.
I'm not saying that was reason there were gaps all i know is i tried to buy 2 further tickets on thursday and i couldn't. Hearts also announced it was a sell out. Either they were making it up so as not to sell another 1000 tickets or there was genuine reason. There is a section closed off in section n between away supporters and i believe they not allowed to sell front 5 rows in enclosure in european games. May or may not be true. Spaces in roseburn were more suprising but not that many. Either way 15 plus thousand or 16 plus still significant income which is most grateful which shows pricing structure was right. I paid 66 for father and son ticket which was steep but as our only home tie in europe i didn't grudge my club the money before and certainly didn't after final whistle. Not often at games i feel i've had value for money but i did last night
24-08-2012, 10:00 PM
Away and lie in my pish aye ok then.
I'm not saying that was reason there were gaps all i know is i tried to buy 2 further tickets on thursday and i couldn't. Hearts also announced it was a sell out. Either they were making it up so as not to sell another 1000 tickets or there was genuine reason. There is a section closed off in section n between away supporters and i believe they not allowed to sell front 5 rows in enclosure in european games. May or may not be true. Spaces in roseburn were more suprising but not that many. Either way 15 plus thousand or 16 plus still significant income which is most grateful which shows pricing structure was right. I paid 66 for father and son ticket which was steep but as our only home tie in europe i didn't grudge my club the money before and certainly didn't after final whistle. Not often at games i feel i've had value for money but i did last night
No ***** sherlock.
They've been doing that for several seasons now. It doesnae wash anymair.
Look you got 15,965 at TINY last night...Well done for you. But Puleeze dinnae come on here and try and tell us you selt oot.
And I'm glad you felt value for money last night :crazy: £66 to see yer team pumped by Liverpool's 3rds
There is a section closed off in section n between away supporters...
Really? Why's that?
but as our only home tie in europe....
Could be the last for a long while, I agree.