View Full Version : 2012 Wimbledon
24-06-2012, 11:06 PM
The third Grand Slam of the season begins tomorrow and Novak Djokovic will be looking to defend the title that he won for the first time in 2011.
He is first on Centre Court tomorrow against former world number one, Juan Carlos Ferrero, which will start at 1pm.
Roger Federer is also playing his first match tomorrow and he's on Court One against Albert Ramos. He'll be on about 3pm.
Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal begin their tournament on Tuesday.
There is some British action tomorrow, though, as Josh Goodall and Oliver Golding will be on court for the men and in the women's draw, Johanna Konta, Heather Watson and Naomi Broady will be in action.
Leaving in the morning to go down to London in the morning and I'm away for a week so I won't be around to make any updates this week! I'll have to hand that task over to someone else!! :greengrin
Got tickets for Wednesday and Thursday this week so should see some good matches and even if the weather's garbage, I'm on Centre Court so I can always rely on the roof!
Will be back next Sunday, in time for week two!
25-06-2012, 04:28 PM
Have a great time FH :aok:
Ill be rooting for Andy obviously but if he doesn't win i hope the utter gentleman that Djokovic is wins it:agree:
25-06-2012, 06:40 PM
Hope Murray gets pumped yet again!
25-06-2012, 07:13 PM
I'm starting to question my statement on the Euro's thread last night SH! ;-)
25-06-2012, 07:27 PM
I'm starting to question my statement on the Euro's thread last night SH! ;-)
It's not that I really dislike Murray it's all the media hype that surrounds him, fed up seeing his ugly mug on the TV and the clamour that this could be his year every ****** year when we all know he has no chance what so ever of ever winning Wimbledon. ABM- Anyone but Murray :greengrin
Oh aye one more thing he's Scottish and I'm English so that's a good enough reason even if it wasn't for the media hype.
25-06-2012, 07:31 PM
It's not that I really dislike Murray it's all the media hype that surrounds him, fed up seeing his ugly mug on the TV and the clamour that this could be his year every ****** year when we all know he has no chance what so ever of ever winning Wimbledon. ABM- Anyone but Murray :greengrin
Oh aye one more thing he's Scottish and I'm English so that's a good enough reason even if it wasn't for the media hype.
Any need to troll?
25-06-2012, 07:35 PM
Any need to troll?
Not trolling having a bit of good natured banter with like minded folk if you don't like it go away!
25-06-2012, 07:43 PM
Not trolling having a bit of good natured banter with like minded folk if you don't like it go away!
Thanks for the advice ;-)
25-06-2012, 09:12 PM
He'll not be Scottish again until he gets beat!
25-06-2012, 09:53 PM
He'll not be Scottish again until he gets beat!
Very soon then!
26-06-2012, 10:22 AM
You're lucky we don't have our own version of Lost Mackem or you would be done for :greengrin
26-06-2012, 02:43 PM
Just started in Nadal's match vs Bellucci, Nadal down 4 games to 0 and doesn't seem to have any answer to Bellucci right now!
26-06-2012, 04:41 PM
Hope Murray gets pumped yet again!
Bit like England in EVERY major tournament they play in.
Pumped time and time and time again, Will they ever learn they really aren't that good at international football.
26-06-2012, 04:45 PM
Why does Nadal get scheduled to play when people are eating? His finger is never out his arse!
26-06-2012, 04:51 PM
Hibby Andy just about to start. All the best lad.
26-06-2012, 07:16 PM
Bit like England in EVERY major tournament they play in.
Pumped time and time and time again, Will they ever learn they really aren't that good at international football.
England and Murray very much alike both over hyped by the media with **** all chance of winning.
Murray and Wimbledon :hilarious
26-06-2012, 07:18 PM
You're lucky we don't have our own version of Lost Mackem or you would be done for :greengrin
But I thought Lost Mackem had disappeared up his own ersehole :confused:
26-06-2012, 07:24 PM
Good effort for Robson against that boy that used to be on Eggheads.
Could be one for the future, looks like she has the potential to stay in for a couple of rounds anyway.
26-06-2012, 08:13 PM
Thought Heather Watson played well yesterday, she doesnae have get down low to her groundstrokes.
26-06-2012, 08:18 PM
Murray wins 6-1 6-1 6-3 with unbelievable ease, He really does have every shot in the locker..He hasn't won a major as he is in the best ever era of mens tennis.FACT...Henman on the other hand was just a typical English bottler, That's also a fact.
26-06-2012, 08:41 PM
ScouseHibee is gonna need a bigger boat!
26-06-2012, 08:53 PM
Thought Murray was exceptional. Very tough draw though.
26-06-2012, 09:01 PM
Missed the Murray match, too busy stuffing my face @ Jimmy Chung's, seems to have made a decent start tho.
26-06-2012, 09:03 PM
But I thought Lost Mackem had disappeared up his own ersehole :confused:
Every chance of Nadal doing that if he doesnae get his underwear sorted out.
26-06-2012, 09:10 PM
Can't wait for Murrays annual Wimbledon pumping.
26-06-2012, 09:12 PM
ScouseHibee is gonna need a bigger boat!
Using my trawler soon I think :greengrin
27-06-2012, 11:11 AM
Heather Watson off to a flier in her 2nd round match v USA's Jamie Hampton taking set 1 6-1.
27-06-2012, 12:01 PM
Watson takes set 2 6-4 to move into round 3, another good effort!
27-06-2012, 04:32 PM
Watson takes set 2 6-4 to move into round 3, another good effort!
Just heard her interview on the radio. Safe to assume she did not reside in an Edinburgh housing scheme at any point in her life.
27-06-2012, 04:56 PM
Channel Islander I think. Certainly got a mature head on her young shoulders.
27-06-2012, 05:20 PM
Great match there for FH to watch, Paszek beats Wozniaki 5-7 7-6 6-4, good stuff!
27-06-2012, 06:42 PM
Channel Islander I think. Certainly got a mature head on her young shoulders.
She says her prematch ritual is to have 'scrambled eggs and smoked salmon'. She must stink of fish.
28-06-2012, 11:24 AM
Murray wins 6-1 6-1 6-3 with unbelievable ease, He really does have every shot in the locker..He hasn't won a major as he is in the best ever era of mens tennis.FACT...Henman on the other hand was just a typical English bottler, That's also a fact.
I thought better of you than that Andy.
It's a very easy, almost fashionable thing to say that Henman was just a pansy bottler, but he was up against Sampras and Agassi who, if memory serves, weren't too bad. He got to 4 or 5 Wimbeldon semi-finals, won Masters Series tournaments and got to number 4 (I think??) in the world and for a player whose 1st choice style of game was becoming harder and harder as Wimbledon became (comparatively) slower and balls bounced higher, that's far from shabby.
Granted, even at his peak, he's not close to the player that Murray is now, but it's plainly wrong to say he was "an English bottler".
28-06-2012, 12:03 PM
Abm
28-06-2012, 02:21 PM
Murray takes the first set 7 5.
28-06-2012, 02:34 PM
Lol Karlovic isn't actually an athelete is he???
He looks like a tree that grew legs and arms. It's like a normal person standing on the roof of a car to serve!!
28-06-2012, 03:14 PM
2nd set to Karlovic on a tie break.
28-06-2012, 03:50 PM
Murray takes the 3rd 6 2.
28-06-2012, 04:41 PM
Murray takes the 4th on a tie break to clinch the match. 'mon the Hibee!
28-06-2012, 08:18 PM
It's a very easy, almost fashionable thing to say that Henman was just a pansy bottler, but he was up against Sampras and Agassi who, if memory serves, weren't too bad. He got to 4 or 5 Wimbeldon semi-finals, won Masters Series tournaments and got to number 4 (I think??) in the world and for a player whose 1st choice style of game was becoming harder and harder as Wimbledon became (comparatively) slower and balls bounced higher, that's far from shabby.
Granted, even at his peak, he's not close to the player that Murray is now, but it's plainly wrong to say he was "an English bottler".
Must admit your spot on Lyon:agree:...I got sucked into tit for tat with Scouse.
Ill be man enough to admit Henman was anything but an 'English bottler' But a very good bloody serve and vollyer :agree:
Great performance from Andy today, To play a player that really only has a bullet 1st serve and not alot else was a good win..Murray really does have every single shot in the game.A joy to watch.
28-06-2012, 08:26 PM
Must admit your spot on Lyon:agree:...I got sucked into tit for tat with Scouse.
Ill be man enough to admit Henman was anything but an 'English bottler' But a very good bloody serve and vollyer :agree:
Great performance from Andy today, To play a player that really only has a bullet 1st serve and not alot else was a good win..Murray really does have every single shot in the game.A joy to watch.
:tee hee: ABM
28-06-2012, 08:47 PM
Hold on, Rafa is a break down in the 5th against some Rosol lad from the Czech Republic. This would be one of the biggest upsets I can remember in SW19
28-06-2012, 08:50 PM
Hold on, Rafa is a break down in the 5th against some Rosol lad from the Czech Republic. This would be one of the biggest upsets I can remember in SW19
Rosol playing like a man possessed, just needs to hold his serve.
28-06-2012, 08:57 PM
He's absolutely battering Nadal. Not seen anything like this against any of the top 3 in years.
Totally forgot Nadal was playing tonight, just switched it over and I'm gobsmacked. Great news for Murray if he goes out though. :greengrin
6-4 final set.
Big upset.
28-06-2012, 09:04 PM
Bloody hell, thats some serve the lad has, i have never heard of him before, but i think we might be about to hear a lot more. :top marks
28-06-2012, 09:05 PM
Caught the end of it after the football. Never heard of Rosol, ranked 100 in the world. Well done to him!
28-06-2012, 09:06 PM
All done and dusted. Unbelievable nerve to just keep on going for every shot right to the end. Fantastic. Nadal out.
If there's 99 better tennis players in the world than Rosol, then I'm a Jambo.
28-06-2012, 09:07 PM
Bloody hell, thats some serve the lad has, i have never heard of him before, but i think we might be about to hear a lot more. :top marks
Punt him to one of the outside courts on a breezy day, and he'll be all over the place. :cb
28-06-2012, 09:11 PM
:tee hee: ABM
Radge:greengrin
28-06-2012, 09:14 PM
Serving to knock Nadal oot Wimbers ranked 100 in the world..What nerves??!!! Wow...Mon Andy Murray, March on right into the final!!:aok:
28-06-2012, 09:15 PM
Caught the end of it after the football. Never heard of Rosol, ranked 100 in the world. Well done to him!
He's 27 as well, not just a young lad!! Got to 65 in the world last year, never reached a major between 2007 and 2010. And he looked like a top 3 player at times tonight. His serving was outstanding, and he had nerves of steel in his last 3 service games
28-06-2012, 09:23 PM
Punt him to one of the outside courts on a breezy day, and he'll be all over the place. :cb
I hope so Doddie, dont want him playing like that if he plays Murray. :greengrin
HibeeHendo
28-06-2012, 09:24 PM
Breaking News: The ATP are giving Lukas Rosol a drug test after his shock win over Rafael Nadal.
28-06-2012, 09:25 PM
I hope so Doddie, dont want him playing like that if he plays Murray. :greengrin
Spot on boys:greengrin
'Mon the Hibs
28-06-2012, 09:35 PM
Regardless of nationality, he is a bottler.
He somehow managed to reach 4 in the world, amassing a mere 11 titles in 6 years in such glamorous tournaments in Brighton and Uzbekistan.
Favourable draws and seedlings allowed him 4 semi finals at wimbers, 2 of which he bottled. Only reached 2 other semis and Apart from wimbers, never reached a grand slam QF in 50 odd attempts.
Whilst Agassi and Sampras were around, Sampras was at the twilight of his career. The standard of men's tennis is not a patch on what it is now.
He only won one masters event.
His serve and volley tactics wouldn't stand up in tennis today and though it was great having 'Tiger Tim' to cheer on (or Greg 'I won more titles, reach more grand slam finals and achieve a similar ranking' Rusedski), he was pretty pants.
Murray is a brilliant tennis player, no doubt, and has proved that he is capable of winning against the best. It's just unfortunate he is playing against 3 of the greatest players in history. Murray will win a grand slam, now that rafa is out, is this his moment??....
him being a hibby and a scot is just a bonus :thumbsup::flag:
28-06-2012, 09:37 PM
The SPL are currently in talks with the LTA to ensure Nadal gets a place in "Wimbledon 2"
28-06-2012, 09:47 PM
Regardless of nationality, he is a bottler.
He somehow managed to reach 4 in the world, amassing a mere 11 titles in 6 years in such glamorous tournaments in Brighton and Uzbekistan.
Favourable draws and seedlings allowed him 4 semi finals at wimbers, 2 of which he bottled. Only reached 2 other semis and Apart from wimbers, never reached a grand slam QF in 50 odd attempts.
Whilst Agassi and Sampras were around, Sampras was at the twilight of his career. The standard of men's tennis is not a patch on what it is now.
He only won one masters event.
His serve and volley tactics wouldn't stand up in tennis today and though it was great having 'Tiger Tim' to cheer on (or Greg 'I won more titles, reach more grand slam finals and achieve a similar ranking' Rusedski), he was pretty pants.
Murray is a brilliant tennis player, no doubt, and has proved that he is capable of winning against the best. It's just unfortunate he is playing against 3 of the greatest players in history. Murray will win a grand slam, now that rafa is out, is this his moment??....
him being a hibby and a scot is just a bonus :thumbsup::flag:
How do you think he managed it?? By hocus-pocus?? By being a bottler?? :confused:
29-06-2012, 06:37 PM
Heather Watson pumped 6 0, 6 2 in under an hour in her 3rd round match v Radwanska.
29-06-2012, 06:37 PM
Federer has the lost first two sets against Benneteau. Andy Murray will be rubbing his hands together as the draw opens up.
29-06-2012, 07:05 PM
Third set to Federer
29-06-2012, 07:55 PM
Two sets each after a tie-break. Bugger.
29-06-2012, 08:18 PM
Federer wins the final set easily. I hoped he'd lose, but he displayed the tenacity of a true champion there. Great comeback.
30-06-2012, 06:37 AM
Fantastic comeback from the Fed Express ! :not worth
30-06-2012, 09:32 AM
Why did the officials not step in when Benneteau was receiving "treatment" for his "injury" in the final set? The trainer didn't even have the decency to only work on one of the guys legs!
30-06-2012, 11:40 AM
I seem to remember quite a few big-serving 'phenomena' causing upsets at Wimbledon over the years, but generally they've tended to be one-shot wonders.
That was essentially an indoor match. which favoured Rosol.
But - what he did to Nadal he can obviously do to Murray unless Murray has a cunning plan in place to sort him.
A war-surplus Afghan IED comes to mind ....
.... though I'd rather he kept that in his locker for the final. :devil:
30-06-2012, 12:48 PM
Ivanovic beats Goerges 2 sets to 1, very enjoyable viewing!
30-06-2012, 01:57 PM
I seem to remember quite a few big-serving 'phenomena' causing upsets at Wimbledon over the years, but generally they've tended to be one-shot wonders.
That was essentially an indoor match. which favoured Rosol.
But - what he did to Nadal he can obviously do to Murray unless Murray has a cunning plan in place to sort him.
A war-surplus Afghan IED comes to mind ....
.... though I'd rather he kept that in his locker for the final. :devil:
Rosol lost his match in straight sets. It's strange the way a player can look unstoppable one match and then fold the next. I suppose that inconsistency is why he's ranked one hundered, or perhaps the attention he received after beating Nadal was too much for him.
On another note - the defending ladies champions has huge nipples
30-06-2012, 02:47 PM
Serena Williams - explain!
30-06-2012, 02:53 PM
Serena Zheng is outstanding viewing. The ultimate competitor.
30-06-2012, 03:30 PM
Shvedova beats Errani 6 0, 6 4 she won the first set without dropping a point winning 24 consecutive points. I don't think its been done before in the women's game!
30-06-2012, 07:02 PM
Murray showing a few worrying signs of his old habit of allowing his opponent to become the aggressor and dictate play. Needs to stop just patting it back into play and put the Baghdatis serve under more pressure or we could be in for a long night.
30-06-2012, 07:13 PM
A few squeaky bum moments in set 1, but, Murray takes it 7 5.
30-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Good game, Bahdatis fighting hard, but it wont be complete as a spectacle for me until I see Falkirk do a wheelbound streak and invasion of the centre court.
30-06-2012, 08:09 PM
1 set each. Time to close the roof, resume at 2125.
30-06-2012, 08:14 PM
John McEnroe is that rare thing, an intelligent, engaging and genuinely.funny pundit. Wish there was someone as good on the football coverage :rolleyes:
30-06-2012, 09:42 PM
I've sat through 11 hours of tennis and its got to be said the time has just flown by, from Ivanovic v Goerges onwards its been enthralling stuff, the beeb come in for a lot of stick, but, the coverage has been outstanding!
30-06-2012, 09:43 PM
Oh aye, 2 1 Murray!
30-06-2012, 10:05 PM
Murray wins 3 1, what a brilliant days entertainment!
Twiglet
30-06-2012, 10:30 PM
Only caught the end of the 3rd and the 4th, but it was so nerve wracking. When he broke at the start of the 4th he seemed determined to get it over with tonight. He saw Baghdatis starting to tire and make unforced errors and he pounced on that.
So glad the umpire and organisers saw sense to continue playing when it got to Murray serving for the match.
Rest day tomorrow then power-on and up his game for week 2.
30-06-2012, 11:36 PM
John McEnroe is that rare thing, an intelligent, engaging and genuinely.funny pundit. Wish there was someone as good on the football coverage :rolleyes:
Proves the correlation that you also see with football pundits, that of "Not British" = "Bloody good pundit".
What's the deal with tomorrow. NO WIMBLEDON??!! What in god's name am I meant to do until the football starts??
PETRIE!!!!! :grr:
01-07-2012, 12:12 AM
You'll just need to watch the 2nd ODI between England and Australia!
01-07-2012, 10:00 AM
Nice yin Andy :aok:
If he really really wanted to he could have went up 3 or 4 gears IF he really needed tae. A win is a win is a win.
01-07-2012, 10:53 AM
A bit harsh on Baghdatis that HA. Murray will just be glad he is through.
01-07-2012, 11:51 AM
:agree: What excitement. Beat the Clock.
01-07-2012, 12:36 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/tennis/18657932
Court 12, bit of breeze ... :bye:
01-07-2012, 08:50 PM
A bit harsh on Baghdatis that HA. Murray will just be glad he is through.
No really Hutch..All the best players have an extra gear they can use if the really have too, Baghdatis played out his skin to a 65 % Murray id say and still came naewhere near to winning.
Murray is just one of these guys that cant really get going till an hour into the game, Fair play Baghdatis but he wasn't even close to beating AM.
01-07-2012, 10:06 PM
Really enjoyed Wimbledon again this year. Would have liked to have got an extra day, tried to get tickets for yesterday but no joy.
On Wednesday, I saw Federer vs Fognini which was pretty boring as it was too one-sided.
Wozniacki vs Paszek was a great match, I don't normally watch a lot of women's tennis but it was very exciting and Paszek did so well to come through and win that from a set down.
Clijsters vs Hlavackova was quite boring too as it was also one-sided.
Djokovic vs Harrison under the roof wasn't bad, although it did have a sense of inevitability about it. Harrison may have a big future ahead of him but Djokovic was far too strong.
Also saw the first set of Lisicki vs Jovanovski on Court 12 which was quite a good match. Jovanovski won the first set but Lisicki eventually came through.
More to follow...!
01-07-2012, 10:19 PM
On Thursday, I thought the Serena Williams vs Melinda Czink match was going to be finished after about half an hour when the first set was won after 19 minutes! Fortunately Czink put up a bit more resistance in the second set, although the overall outcome was never really in any doubt.
Then, Andy Murray never does things the easy way! Ivo Karlovic was never going to be an easy player to play against with his 130mph serves.
I never really thought Murray was going to lose the match to be honest but it only needs one bad service game and the set can be gone as Karlovic is so dominant on serve.
That match will be remembered for the number of foot faults that were called against Karlovic though. I believe the total was 11 which is basically unheard of and Karlovic is supposedly putting in an official complaint.
However, having been at that match and seeing his service action, it looked as if most, if not all, of the foot faults were absolutely correct.
But the match that will live longest in my memory has to be the last match that I saw at Wimbledon 2012 - Rafael Nadal vs Lukas Rosol.
As match ups go, this is the most accurate description of David vs Goliath as you can possibly get.
Rafael Nadal - the winner of 11 Grand Slam titles and one of the greatest tennis players of all time. He hadn't failed to reach the Wimbledon final in any of the years that he has appeared at the All England Club since 2005 and was fresh from his success on the Roland Garros clay.
Lukas Rosol - a player ranked 100th in the world, had NEVER won a match, even in qualifying, at Wimbledon prior to this year and who has spent the vast majority of his career playing in the second tier of men's tennis.
Even at two sets to one up, I fully expected Nadal to come back and win and when he took the match into a fifth set by winning the fourth set 6-2 and THEN there was a delay of nearly an hour to allow them to close the roof, I honestly could see no way how Rosol could come out and see the match out.
Usually, over five sets, the bottle of the lower ranked player goes when they get close to winning the match but Rosol seriously looked like a top five player on Thursday evening, he was absolutely immense for almost the entire match and fully deserved his victory. He was the better player by far and Nadal had no answer to his massive serves and huge shots.
The atmosphere at the end on Centre Court when Rosol had 3 match points and then afterwards when he actually won, was just amazing and something I will remember forever.
I don't think I'm exaggerating at all when I say that was one of the biggest upsets in Grand Slam history.
However, by the same token, I was also not surprised in the slightest to see Rosol go out with a whimper yesterday against Phillipp Kohlschreiber in straight sets. It was always going to be hard to get over the emotions of Thursday evening and there is a reason why Rosol is nearly 27 years old and has barely been heard of until now.
Watching Murray last night against Marcos Baghdatis was hard work. His performance in the first two sets last night was very shoddy to say the least but then it's all about getting through the early rounds. He has admitted in his interviews that he will need to play a lot better over the next week if he wants to win the tournament and I'm sure he will.
He has a big match tomorrow against Marin Cilic and, unlike his previous three matches this year, he won't have the Centre Court crowd behind him as he has been put onto Court One, which also means that he will be exposed to the elements and on a day when the weather forecast is to be pretty grim, it may mean that his match, once started, will be full of interruptions which will be far from ideal.
I fully expect him to beat Cilic though over five sets and all the pressure is on him now to reach the final, following Nadal's exit from his half of the draw. Cilic will probably still be feeling the effects of his marathon five setter against Sam Querrey yesterday which Cilic eventually won 17-15 in the final set and was the second longest match in Wimbledon history.
Second only to a certain match a couple of years ago between John Isner and Nicolas Mahut.
It'll be interesting to watch the match after Murray as well. David Ferrer vs Juan Martin Del Potro has the potential to be a bit of a classic and the winner will play Murray in the Quarter Finals on Wednesday - if Murray wins, of course!
02-07-2012, 12:21 PM
Does Schiavone drink from the furry cup?
02-07-2012, 02:08 PM
Could be an interesting match in the quarter finals between Petra Kvitova and Serena Williams.
Last year's champion vs the ultimate champion!
Even now in the twilight of her career, you can really never dismiss Serena Williams from any tennis match.
Looks like Maria Sharapova will be going out of this year's tournament as she trails Sabine Lisicki by a set and is 4-1 down in the 2nd set.
Murray will be on after that match finishes so I would expect him to be on in the next 20 minutes or so.
02-07-2012, 02:28 PM
Maria Sharapova is out of Wimbledon after losing 6-4 6-3 to Sabine Lisicki.
Andy Murray will be on court in 10 minutes.
02-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Xavier Malisse forces his match against Roger Federer into a fourth set as he wins the third, 6-4 and is a break up early on in the fourth too!
Could be very interesting!!
02-07-2012, 02:45 PM
Maria Sharapova is out of Wimbledon after losing 6-4 6-3 to Sabine Lisicki.
Andy Murray will be on court in 10 minutes.
Is there a cheerier character than Lisicki? always got a smile on her face!
02-07-2012, 03:13 PM
That's because she had me courtside for her match last Wednesday!
How could you NOT have a smile on your face after that!? :greengrin
02-07-2012, 03:17 PM
What did the rest of the crowd have to say about THAT?!!
02-07-2012, 03:30 PM
First set to Murray, 7-5, did well from a break down. :thumbsup:
02-07-2012, 04:00 PM
Probably because she is bang tidy and knows it.
Murray 2 sets to 0 up, rain stops play.
02-07-2012, 04:02 PM
Glad to hear you had such a good time at Wimbledon FH. Maybe one day might make it myself.
Not wanting to sound paranoid but why is Murray on court 1 rather than the Centre Court? Never seem to remember Tiger Tim being "relegated" off Centre. Also when will Wimbledon get up with the times and play on middle Sunday each year. Would give players more time to fit in 5 setters in the second week.
Finally where does anyone else stand on Women being paid the same as men? Personally I feel they don't deserve it.
02-07-2012, 04:09 PM
Bit premature. He is a set and a break up leading 3 1 in 2nd set.
02-07-2012, 04:18 PM
Glad to hear you had such a good time at Wimbledon FH. Maybe one day might make it myself.
Not wanting to sound paranoid but why is Murray on court 1 rather than the Centre Court? Never seem to remember Tiger Tim being "relegated" off Centre. Also when will Wimbledon get up with the times and play on middle Sunday each year. Would give players more time to fit in 5 setters in the second week.
Finally where does anyone else stand on Women being paid the same as men? Personally I feel they don't deserve it.
All of the top players usually get one match where they have to play on Court 1, however it's normally in the first couple of rounds. It could have been a pretty dangerous thing to do if this match had been a bit closer when they had to go off for the rain delay.
The women should absolutely not be paid the same as the men when they're not doing the same job! To win a Grand Slam, a man has to potentially play 35 sets of tennis, whereas the female champion could only have to play as little as 14!
That cannot be right.
02-07-2012, 04:22 PM
All of the top players usually get one match where they have to play on Court 1, however it's normally in the first couple of rounds. It could have been a pretty dangerous thing to do if this match had been a bit closer when they had to go off for the rain delay.
why would it be dangerous :confused: surely dangerous is for when people's life's are at risk, not a game of tennis getting stopped for a spot of rain :eek:
02-07-2012, 04:31 PM
why would it be dangerous :confused: surely dangerous is for when people's life's are at risk, not a game of tennis getting stopped for a spot of rain :eek:
Wet grass is slippy hence injuries. It can be dangerous without being life threatening.
02-07-2012, 04:33 PM
Does Schiavone drink from the furry cup?
Wouldn't bet against it. Bet her knickname is Butch. But wouldn't say anything to her face!
02-07-2012, 04:34 PM
Wet grass is slippy hence injuries. It can be dangerous without being life threatening.
i should have highlighted the whole sentence, he said it would be dangerous if the scores were closer :wink: no mention whatsoever of rain
p.s. the women should get less money just for the annoying screaming some of them do when hitting the ball, wtf is that all about, i'm glad sharapova is out, i can maybe put the sound back on if i'm watching it :greengrin
02-07-2012, 04:36 PM
No he isn't. He's a set up and a break up.
02-07-2012, 04:42 PM
I was talking about it in terms of them giving Murray every advantage possible to help him win the tournament. If this rain keeps up, he might have to come back tomorrow and then play again on Wednesday in the quarter finals, which is far from ideal.
Meanwhile Federer is safely through and Djokovic is also guaranteed to get finished today and they will both have a day's rest tomorrow.
It could make all the difference.
02-07-2012, 04:45 PM
I was talking about it in terms of them giving Murray every advantage possible to help him win the tournament. If this rain keeps up, he might have to come back tomorrow and then play again on Wednesday in the quarter finals, which is far from ideal.
Meanwhile Federer is safely through and Djokovic is also guaranteed to get finished today and they will both have a day's rest tomorrow.
It could make all the difference.
Which begs the question, Why the hell isn't Murray on centre court under the roof??!!.. Surely to god we look after one of our own and make it as comfortable as possible for him as he progresses through the tournament??..
02-07-2012, 05:10 PM
Probably because she is bang tidy
Cannae argue with that, shame to see Ivanovic going out for that very reason.
02-07-2012, 05:21 PM
this years winner djokovic just about to start
shame about ivanovic getting emptied :(
http://images.askmen.com/celebs/women/models_400/417_ana_ivanoviclarge_image-1.jpg
sigh
02-07-2012, 06:15 PM
Any chance of them putting Murray onto centre to finish off if the Djokovic match finishes early enough and the rain is still on?
Seems not, ridiculous that they aren't making use of centre court with the roof over - why is it there if not for situations like today? They could get another 3 hrs of play in tonight and instead they're making Murray and others come back tomorrow when there is no guarantee it will be dry then either.
02-07-2012, 06:22 PM
Any chance of them putting Murray onto centre to finish off if the Djokovic match finishes early enough and the rain is still on?
L im staggered Andy isn't on there to begin with!! Aye lets put the world no 1 and favourite for Wimbers on centre court ON A DAY WHEN WE KNEW THE WEATHER WAS GASH!!!! Murray in all likelihood now has to come back tomorrow then play the quarters on Wednesday, Absolute ludicrous...If that's what you call looking after you own then the world has gone mad, Djokovic SHOULD have been on court 1 today.
02-07-2012, 07:20 PM
Seems not, ridiculous that they aren't making use of centre court with the roof over - why is it there if not for situations like today? They could get another 3 hrs of play in tonight and instead they're making Murray and others come back tomorrow when there is no guarantee it will be dry then either.
Wouldn't really be fair to put Murray on Centre Court now when there's other matches at the same stage as him and others that haven't even started yet.
Tsonga v Fish and Gasquet v Mayer are also only in the second set and Kohlschreiber v Baker and Ferrer v Del Potro haven't even begun.
He should have been scheduled to play on Centre Court from the very beginning today and it's extremely bad planning from the organisers that he wasn't.
02-07-2012, 07:22 PM
Even John Mcenroe is flabbergasted as to why Murray wasn't on centre court.
Cillic was on his knees, Now he has a whole day to regroup and recharge the batteries. I still fully expect Murray to win, But oh boy Wimbledon officials what the hell were you thinking of putting Djokovic on centre court and Murray on court 1..Scandelous decision, Hang your heads in shame.
Murray now if he wants to win will be on Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday..:aok:
02-07-2012, 07:38 PM
Wouldn't really be fair to put Murray on Centre Court now when there's other matches at the same stage as him and others that haven't even started yet.
Tsonga v Fish and Gasquet v Mayer are also only in the second set and Kohlschreiber v Baker and Ferrer v Del Potro haven't even begun.
He should have been scheduled to play on Centre Court from the very beginning today and it's extremely bad planning from the organisers that he wasn't.
I don't care if its fair, he is British no.1 and we should be looking after our own. Even if it weren't Murray, to not make use of the 3hrs play they could have had tonight is bonkers when rain is forecast for tomorrow as well.
02-07-2012, 07:49 PM
I don't care if its fair, he is British no.1 and we should be looking after our own. Even if it weren't Murray, to not make use of the 3hrs play they could have had tonight is bonkers when rain is forecast for tomorrow as well.
02-07-2012, 08:27 PM
The forecast for tomorrow is pretty bad but if it keeps raining, they're not going to be able to finish the tournament on Sunday anyway, regardless of the amount of matches they manage to squeeze onto Centre Court under the roof.
There's only 3 players through to the men's quarter finals so far, three of the remaining five matches have at least a set and a half to go and the other two haven't started at all.
They should have scheduled Murray onto Centre Court from the beginning, I don't disagree with that at all. However as soon as it didn't work out that way, they've just got to get on with the weather.
The biggest mistake, after seeing the forecast for this week last Friday or Saturday, was not holding any play yesterday. The weather wasn't great in the London area as I left yesterday but I think play would have been possible for at least a good part of the day and that could have eased the pressure on the organisers for the rest of this week.
02-07-2012, 08:58 PM
The forecast for tomorrow is pretty bad but if it keeps raining, they're not going to be able to finish the tournament on Sunday anyway, regardless of the amount of matches they manage to squeeze onto Centre Court under the roof.
There's only 3 players through to the men's quarter finals so far, three of the remaining five matches have at least a set and a half to go and the other two haven't started at all.
They should have scheduled Murray onto Centre Court from the beginning, I don't disagree with that at all. However as soon as it didn't work out that way, they've just got to get on with the weather.
The biggest mistake, after seeing the forecast for this week last Friday or Saturday, was not holding any play yesterday. The weather wasn't great in the London area as I left yesterday but I think play would have been possible for at least a good part of the day and that could have eased the pressure on the organisers for the rest of this week.
I here what your saying FH, I do, But the fact remains..Andy Murray should have been on centre court today and Djokovic on court 1...They knew the situation regarding the weather..They must have known full bloody well Murray wasn't going to finish his match whilst giving the best player in the world a game under the roof to guarantee his match to completion..I here what your saying I.E other players haven't finished there matches also, But surely to god look after your own, Get Murray through as soon as possible..They also knew Cilic had went 5 sets and 5 hours and was on fumes but have now gave him the chance to come back revitalised.
Like you say the weather may disrupt games in the next few days, But the obvious, The glaringly obvious was to get Andy on and off the court against a beaten Cilic who has just been 5 hours and 5 sets in quick time as possible whilst making Novak come back tomorrow in the rain.
Staggered and dumbfounded.
02-07-2012, 09:34 PM
I here what your saying FH, I do, But the fact remains..Andy Murray should have been on centre court today and Djokovic on court 1...They knew the situation regarding the weather..They must have known full bloody well Murray wasn't going to finish his match whilst giving the best player in the world a game under the roof to guarantee his match to completion..I here what your saying I.E other players haven't finished there matches also, But surely to god look after your own, Get Murray through as soon as possible..They also knew Cilic had went 5 sets and 5 hours and was on fumes but have now gave him the chance to come back revitalised.
Like you say the weather may disrupt games in the next few days, But the obvious, The glaringly obvious was to get Andy on and off the court against a beaten Cilic who has just been 5 hours and 5 sets in quick time as possible whilst making Novak come back tomorrow in the rain.
:greengrin I totally agree with everything that you've just said there Andy!
I just don't agree that, having taken the decision to put Murray on Court 1 today, he should have been put on Centre Court at 8pm tonight to try and finish the match.
02-07-2012, 09:58 PM
:greengrin I totally agree with everything that you've just said there Andy!
I just don't agree that, having taken the decision to put Murray on Court 1 today, he should have been put on Centre Court at 8pm tonight to try and finish the match.
Youl no be sayin that when am talking Arsenal nixt season:cb
02-07-2012, 11:15 PM
Just playing Devil's advocate but ironic how we are all against the club formally known as Rangers getting special treatment but we want Murray to get special treatment as he is at home.
02-07-2012, 11:27 PM
Just playing Devil's advocate but ironic how we are all against the club formally known as Rangers getting special treatment but we want Murray to get special treatment as he is at home.
Andy Murray's not cheated his way through to the last 16 though, been kicked out of Wimbledon and wanting to be reinstated at the semi final stage, when everyone else still has their quarter finals to play.
All we're asking is that, by the time it gets to the last 16 stage of Wimbledon, and he's playing against some top players, he will be playing on the Centre Court.
It's not even an advantage that I'm proposing that he gets, just a slight edge over his opponents that may or may not go on to help him.
02-07-2012, 11:36 PM
Weather permitting, Andy Murray will restart his match against Marin Cilic at 12pm tomorrow on Court 1.
However the weather in the Wimbledon area tomorrow is supposed to be just as bad, if not worse, as it was today so the chances are, Murray is going to be in for another frustrating afternoon and there is a danger that he might not even get finished tomorrow either!
03-07-2012, 12:11 AM
Weather permitting, Andy Murray will restart his match against Marin Cilic at 12pm tomorrow on Court 1.
However the weather in the Wimbledon area tomorrow is supposed to be just as bad, if not worse, as it was today so the chances are, Murray is going to be in for another frustrating afternoon and there is a danger that he might not even get finished tomorrow either!
Still think it's bonkers that Murray's match wasn't at least shunted on to Centre tonight after Djoko finished his match. Yes it might be unfair on the rest of the competition, but if you can get another match out of the way that will draw a crowd on Centre then why not go for it? As you say, Murray may not even finish the match tomorrow if it goes to 5 sets, whilst his next opponent (either Del Potro or Ferrer) have the luxury of playing on Centre knowing that their match will be completed no matter how long it takes.
03-07-2012, 10:40 AM
No longer watching Wimbledon now Ivanovic and Sharapova are out :agree:
Whats the point? :confused:
03-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Murray's match is suspended due to rain. Why is he not on centre? Why is he not being allowed to finish his match which is already in progress whilst Del Potro and Ferrer get to play under the roof when their match hasn't even started.
Absolutely appalling decision by the folks at Wimbledon.
03-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Watch Lisicki?
03-07-2012, 11:37 AM
Watch Lisicki?
Indeed, what a pair of pins!
03-07-2012, 11:45 AM
moooray
03-07-2012, 12:08 PM
It's really Florian Mayer and Richard Gasquet that I feel sorry for. They are both in the same half of the draw as Mikhail Youzhny, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic who all played, and finished, yesterday and therefore have a free day today to rest.
At least with Murray's half of the draw, no-one has finished their last 16 matches yet, although I accept that Ferrer and Del Potro are guaranteed to reach a conclusion today, whereas Murray/Cilic, Baker/Kohlschreiber and Tsonga/Fish are not.
The covers are back off again now so Murray should be back on for the third time in this match very shortly.
Let's hope he gets a bit longer than 15 minutes this time!
03-07-2012, 12:24 PM
Murray takes the second set, 6-2. :thumbsup:
03-07-2012, 12:58 PM
David Ferrer in the form of his life so far this Wimbledon. Making a former Grand Slam champion (FH will correct me if I'm wrong I'm sure) look like an absolute mug on centre court.
Quite refreshing to see a "wee" guy do so well.
03-07-2012, 01:12 PM
Murray safely through, 7-5 6-2 6-3!
Great to get through today and without having to do an awful lot to progress.
03-07-2012, 01:19 PM
Murray looked good today, seemed to step up a gear, could be a struggle v Ferrer though.
03-07-2012, 01:35 PM
David Ferrer in the form of his life so far this Wimbledon. Making a former Grand Slam champion (FH will correct me if I'm wrong I'm sure) look like an absolute mug on centre court.
Quite refreshing to see a "wee" guy do so well.
No, you're spot on.
Del Potro won the 2009 US Open against Roger Federer.
Ferrer would definitely be the favourite for this match though. He is the number five in the world and just made the semi finals of the French Open a few weeks ago. Del Potro is getting back close to where he was about 3 or 4 years ago but he's not quite there yet.
There's also been a bit of a shock with Florian Mayer beating Richard Gasquet in 4 sets today. Mayer will now have the simple task of playing Novak Djokovic tomorrow in the quarter finals!
03-07-2012, 01:50 PM
Brilliant win for David Ferrer today, beating Juan Martin Del Potro 6-3 6-2 6-3.
He'll now face Andy Murray tomorrow in the pick of the quarter finals.
Tough task for Murray here, although I don't think too much can be taken from Ferrer's big win over Murray a few weeks ago at Roland Garros.
They've never met on grass before and although their head-to-heads are tied at 5-5, four of those victories for Ferrer have come on his favoured clay surface.
I think Murray will start as the favourite tomorrow, although he should not underestimate the ability of David Ferrer and I'm sure he won't.
03-07-2012, 01:59 PM
Another result just in and it's a straights sets victory for Philipp Kohlschreiber against Brian Baker.
He will now face the winner of the final last 16 tie still to be decided, between Mardy Fish and Jo Wilfried Tsonga. Tsonga leads two sets to one just now and is 3-2 up in the fourth.
So it looks like Fish, the last remaining American left in the draw, will be going out and it will be Tsonga who will face Kohlschreiber tomorrow instead of Rafael Nadal.
I'm sure he would have settled for that quarter final match up at the start of the tournament!
03-07-2012, 02:08 PM
Another result just in and it's a straights sets victory for Philipp Kohlschreiber against Brian Baker.
He will now face the winner of the final last 16 tie still to be decided, between Mardy Fish and Jo Wilfried Tsonga. Tsonga leads two sets to one just now and is 3-2 up in the fourth.
So it looks like Fish, the last remaining American left in the draw, will be going out and it will be Tsonga who will face Kohlschreiber tomorrow instead of Rafael Nadal.
I'm sure he would have settled for that quarter final match up at the start of the tournament!
You're doing a great job down there, Falkirk.
WAY ahead of the BBC's "experts".
Any chance of you and McEnroe doing the men's final? :devil:
03-07-2012, 02:45 PM
You're doing a great job down there, Falkirk.
WAY ahead of the BBC's "experts".
Any chance of you and McEnroe doing the men's final? :devil:
I wouldn't like to show up the so call expert pundits!
Anyway, I'd be much better at writing up a tennis report than I would be at doing a live commentary! :wink:
Might try and nick the guy's job that does the live updates throughout the day on the BBC website! :agree:
03-07-2012, 02:49 PM
Brilliant win for David Ferrer today, beating Juan Martin Del Potro 6-3 6-2 6-3.
He'll now face Andy Murray tomorrow in the pick of the quarter finals.
Tough task for Murray here, although I don't think too much can be taken from Ferrer's big win over Murray a few weeks ago at Roland Garros.
They've never met on grass before and although their head-to-heads are tied at 5-5, four of those victories for Ferrer have come on his favoured clay surface.
I think Murray will start as the favourite tomorrow, although he should not underestimate the ability of David Ferrer and I'm sure he won't.
Yep the Murray/Ferrer game will be a classic however fancy Murray to win it on grass. Can see it being a bit similar to when they met in the Aussie Open a few years back with Murray in 4 after losing the first. Important Murray serves well that is for sure.
03-07-2012, 04:36 PM
That's the men's quarter final line up complete now as Jo Wilfried Tsonga has just beaten Mardy Fish 4-6 7-6 6-4 6-4.
So tomorrow, we will have;
Roger Federer vs Mikhail Youzhny
Andy Murray vs David Ferrer
Novak Djokovic vs Florian Mayer
Jo Wilfried Tsonga vs Philipp Kohlschreiber
I don't think there should really be any argument over who will win three of those four matches, although if Roger Federer's back problem flares up again then he may struggle a bit against Youzhny but that's really the only encouragement that I would give to the Russian.
The one match that MAY go the full distance is the Murray-Ferrer match and I hope that could well be a classic.
In the women's draw, Serena Williams has booked her place in the semi finals by beating last year's champion Petra Kvitova, 6-3 7-5.
Angelique Kerber took the first set against Sabine Lisicki and Agnieszka Radwanska is serving for the first set against Maria Kirilenko.
Tamira Paszek and Victoria Azarenka are yet to begin their match.
03-07-2012, 06:15 PM
Great match between the two Germans, Kerber takes the 3rd set 7 5 to clinch the match.
03-07-2012, 07:43 PM
Great match between the two Germans, Kerber takes the 3rd set 7 5 to clinch the match.
It was a great match, thought Kerber was going to "choke" after losing those match points in the second set but it was Lisicki who caved after serving for the match at 5-3 in the decider.
It was another great match on Court 1 as well between Agnieszka Radwanska and Maria Kirilenko before the rain arrived once again when it was 4-4 in the decider.
Shaping up to be another good match just now on Centre between Victoria Azarenka and Tamira Paszek. Azarenka won the opener 6-3 but it's currently on serve in the second set with Azarenka serving at 2-3.
03-07-2012, 08:32 PM
Azarenka finally wins 6-3 7-6 and will play Serena Williams on Thursday in the semi finals.
Centre Court will see a fifth match of the day as Agnieszka Radwanska and Maria Kirilenko will play to a finish.
Play begins at 4-4 in the final set.
03-07-2012, 08:52 PM
Radwanska beats Kirilenko 7-5 in the third set.
Women's semi final line up on Thursday is;
Serena Williams vs Victoria Azarenka
Agnieszka Radwanska vs Angelique Kerber
03-07-2012, 09:01 PM
Murray on second tomorrow on Centre Court against David Ferrer after Roger Federer vs Mikhail Youzhny.
That should mean that Murray is on court at around 3pm.
03-07-2012, 09:50 PM
Murray will beat Ferrer on Grass.
Its 5-5 head to head but Ferrer has won 4 on clay.
No danger Murray is losing tomorrow, Onwards and upwards for the semis even if the officials did make a complete and utter hash of it.
Andy Murray WILL be in that semi final of that i give my own personal guarantee.
03-07-2012, 10:27 PM
No danger Murray is losing tomorrow, Onwards and upwards for the semis even if the officials did make a complete and utter hash of it.
Andy Murray WILL be in that semi final of that i give my own personal guarantee.
I would certainly hope so.
I fully expect the semi final line up to be;
Roger Federer vs Novak Djokovic
Andy Murray vs Jo Wilfried Tsonga
You never know though!
04-07-2012, 06:40 AM
None, if your only rationale for watching wimbledon is perving at the women players :dunno:
04-07-2012, 07:35 AM
Calm down man.
04-07-2012, 11:07 AM
Watch Lisicki?
Shame to see her go out aswell. Cheers for the heads up about her :greengrin:
04-07-2012, 12:22 PM
I hope David Ferrer wins. Cannae be arsed with Murray's soor puss ! :greengrin
04-07-2012, 12:22 PM
Federer breaks early in set one to go 2-0 up.
I can't see this one lasting too long.
04-07-2012, 01:11 PM
Djokovic takes the first set, 6-4.
Mayer had 3 break points at 4-4 but Djokovic managed to hold and then at 4-5, Mayer was 40-15 up and Djokovic came back to break and win the set.
04-07-2012, 01:27 PM
Federer going safely through to the semis, two sets up inside an hour, 6-1 6-2.
Murray should be on within the next 30-40 minutes.
04-07-2012, 02:17 PM
Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer both through in straight sets and they will play each other in the semis on Friday.
Djokovic won 6-4 6-1 6-4 and Federer is through 6-1 6-2 6-2.
Andy Murray just about to begin now on Centre Court against David Ferrer.
Come on, Andy! :thumbsup:
04-07-2012, 02:52 PM
Murray has to step it up at least a couple of gears if he is going to proceed, 5-2 down to Ferrer
04-07-2012, 03:16 PM
First set tiebreak now!
04-07-2012, 03:26 PM
First set to Ferrer, 7-5 in the tiebreak.
:boo hoo:
04-07-2012, 03:27 PM
that was his own fault. a few very poor shots in the final points.
04-07-2012, 03:28 PM
Can see this going the full five sets. Ferrer looks like he wants it more right now.
04-07-2012, 03:29 PM
that was his own fault. a few very poor shots in the final points.
Serving stats in that first set were garbage as well.
51% first serves in and second serve speeds of around 80mph. You're never going to win Grand Slams with figures like that.
04-07-2012, 03:55 PM
someone really needs to remind him the ball has to go over the net!
04-07-2012, 04:10 PM
Its not looking like Murray will be playing on No1 or centre courts after today on this performance? :boo hoo:
04-07-2012, 04:34 PM
Andy will need to win this game as there's no way that Ferrer is going to lose it.
If you get my drift!
04-07-2012, 04:35 PM
2nd set Murray:thumbsup:
04-07-2012, 04:40 PM
Ferrer holds serve at start of the 3rd set.
04-07-2012, 05:13 PM
Murray breaks to go 5-4 up and will serve for the 3rd set. :thumbsup:
Come on, Andy!
04-07-2012, 05:15 PM
Murray wins 3rd set 6-4 and goes two sets to one up!
04-07-2012, 05:25 PM
Andrew Castle please stop whispering to your co commentaters at every ****ing point!!!!! We can here you loud and clear!!!
04-07-2012, 05:27 PM
And BTW Ferrer is knackered, Murray in 4 sets for me.
04-07-2012, 05:30 PM
Tsonga is through to the semis with a four set win over Philipp Kohlschreiber, 7-6 4-6 7-6 6-2.
He'll now play the winner of Murray and Ferrer on Friday.
04-07-2012, 05:54 PM
Ferrer saves two break points at 4-4 to go 5-4 up in the fourth set.
Some massive shots there from Ferrer.
04-07-2012, 06:00 PM
It's 5-5 in the fourth set but it's raining now so the covers have come over and the players are off court.
May be some time before they're back on.
That MIGHT be good news for Ferrer.
04-07-2012, 06:28 PM
Players are back on and both of them have held their service games, so it'll be another tiebreak!
Will it be Murray to win in four sets or will Ferrer be taking it the distance?
04-07-2012, 06:37 PM
Game, set and match Murray
6-7 7-6 6-4 7-6
Fantastic victory for Murray, great effort to turn it around after the first set and it sets things up nicely for Friday.
Big respect for David Ferrer though, he played so well today and really looked as if he would be going through after the first hour and a half or so.
04-07-2012, 06:40 PM
Well done Andy, i had my doubts in that 2nd set, but he showed his strength and ability in the end. What a great game by both. :top marks
04-07-2012, 06:43 PM
The little beast as he's called in Spain wasn't on clay the day:cb:cb
04-07-2012, 06:47 PM
What a psychological boost for Murray that he's going into the semis on Friday and won't be playing Rafael Nadal.
That's no criticism of Jo Wilfried Tsonga, by the way, as he is a very good player and will be a very tough opponent, but if I was looking at the choice of facing either Tsonga or Nadal for a place in a Grand Slam final, I know which one I would choose.
04-07-2012, 07:10 PM
What a psychological boost for Murray that he's going into the semis on Friday and won't be playing Rafael Nadal.
That's no criticism of Jo Wilfried Tsonga, by the way, as he is a very good player and will be a very tough opponent, but if I was looking at the choice of facing either Tsonga or Nadal for a place in a Grand Slam final, I know which one I would choose.
Very true.
Lets also hope the other semi goes to 5 sets with Federer winning 142-140 in the 5th set:agree:
04-07-2012, 07:16 PM
Fantastic:thumbsup:
04-07-2012, 07:27 PM
Very true.
Lets also hope the other semi goes to 5 sets with Federer winning 142-140 in the 5th set:agree:
And the first four sets all going to tie-breaks 36-34.
Tsonga'll be a tough opponent, though. :worried:
04-07-2012, 08:49 PM
Once again Andy has this household in bits after another erratic win! He kept hitting it short and netting for no apparent reason but still beat a very useful opponent.
I can see him in the final but, alas, losing to Djoko.
04-07-2012, 09:04 PM
Once again Andy has this household in bits after another erratic win! He kept hitting it short and nettiketng for no apparent reason but still beat a very useful opponent.
I can see him in the final but, alas, losing to Djoko.
Let's just see him into the final first before worrying about Novak Djokovic!
I agree with HibbyAndy, I hope his match with Federer breaks the record for the longest tennis match in history, lasting about 12 hours, having to come back on Saturday to complete it and whoever wins it is absolutely knackered for Sunday! :thumbsup:
04-07-2012, 09:08 PM
Good effort by Murray, he has a great head to head record v Tsonga, I'll not be building my hopes up on Sunday tho!
04-07-2012, 09:08 PM
Watching the interview on SSN it looks like Andy Murray is sitting in front of a huge Hibs away top from season 1995/96.
05-07-2012, 05:06 PM
Agnieszka Radwanska will play Serena Williams in Saturday's women's final.
Radwanska beat German Angelique Kerber 6-3 6-4, whilst Williams has reached her 7th Wimbledon final beating former world number one, Victoria Azarenka, 6-3 7-6.
After seeing Serena playing today, the money has to be on her to win her 14th Grand Slam title. I cannot see how Radwanska will have enough to deal with her power. Her serving during the past 2 weeks has been phenomenal.
The schedule for tomorrow has been released and Andy Murray will be on SECOND tomorrow against Jo Wilfried Tsonga, after Roger Federer takes on Novak Djokovic.
That should mean that Murray is on court tomorrow around approximately 4pm.
06-07-2012, 04:17 AM
Thinking about taking a wee jolly up to Festival Sq should Murray make the final. Weather permitting i can imagine a fair wee crowd going there.
06-07-2012, 12:16 PM
So excited about this afternoon's action.
Djokovic v Federer has just started with both men holding their opening service games and Federer has just held his second service game to lead 1-2 on Djokovic's serve.
Federer will really have to play to his maximum level if he is going to have a shot at beating Djokovic today. His performances over the past 18 months or so have just been extraordinary so I'm going for him in four sets.
I'll deal with Murray later!
Let's just get the appetiser out of the way before we talk about the main course! :thumbsup:
I'm just going to sit back and enjoy what should be a fantastic afternoon of tennis of the very highest standard.
06-07-2012, 12:26 PM
First blood to Federer in set one.
He leads 4-2.
06-07-2012, 12:26 PM
Federer breaks serve in the first set ! :aok:
06-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Great first set from Federer !
06-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Great start for Federer, taking the first set 6-3.
Still an awful long way to go though!
06-07-2012, 12:43 PM
Djokovic running away with second set so far, leading 3-0.
06-07-2012, 01:03 PM
One set all as Djokovic takes second set 6-3.
Two sets played in under an hour. Very quick match so far.
06-07-2012, 01:33 PM
Federer's had some huge chances on Djokovic's serve in this set and has failed to take any of them.
I think he will regret that very shortly.
3-3, third set.
06-07-2012, 01:35 PM
I watched all those classic Borg/McEnroe/Connors matches as a kid, but the quality.these days even just shades the late 70s early 80s IMO. These two and Nadal the erchiescratcher in particular play to such a high standard at times.
06-07-2012, 01:42 PM
I watched all those classic Borg/McEnroe/Connors matches as a kid, but the quality.these days even just shades the late 70s early 80s IMO. These two and Nadal the erchiescratcher in particular play to such a high standard at times.
Totally agree.
We will look back on these past six or seven years and possibly the next four or five years as well and I have no doubts at all that it will be considered as being the golden era of men's tennis.
We are so fortunate at being able to watch the greatest tennis champions of all time playing at the peak of their careers.
Although I'm not too sure that Andy Murray would agree with that!
06-07-2012, 01:50 PM
Federer's had some huge chances on Djokovic's serve in this set and has failed to take any of them.
I think he will regret that very shortly.
3-3, third set.
Maybe not!
Roger goes two sets to one up after Djokovic plays a poor game at 4-5.
06-07-2012, 02:00 PM
It's all Federer right now as he wins his 4th game in a row to break Djokovic and go 2-0 up in the 4th set!
06-07-2012, 02:16 PM
Could be a massive hold from Djokovic there at 1-4 as Federer had 3 points for a double break where he would have been serving for the match.
Still think Federer will do enough to win this though.
06-07-2012, 02:27 PM
Game, set and match Federer 6-3 3-6 6-4 6-3
06-07-2012, 02:36 PM
Now time for the main event: Andra The Hibby vs A Young Cassius Clayİ.
06-07-2012, 02:38 PM
Great effort from Federer.
First two sets were poor but Federer really cranked it up in sets 3 and 4 and fully deserved his victory.
Djokovic will be very disappointed with himself, he never really turned up and showed only glimpses of the form that has won him 4 out of the previous 6 majors.
06-07-2012, 02:52 PM
Great effort from Federer.
First two sets were poor but Federer really cranked it up in sets 3 and 4 and fully deserved his victory.
Djokovic will be very disappointed with himself, he never really turned up and showed only glimpses of the form that has won him 4 out of the previous 6 majors.
Yup - Novak did a ManUre. Got himself back in it then just surrendered it to a classer opponent :wink: :greengrin
06-07-2012, 03:09 PM
Murray breaks early in the first set, leads 2-0.
Looking really good so far. :agree:
06-07-2012, 03:27 PM
Great shot there by Murray to lead 5-2 in the first set.
Very impressive so far.
06-07-2012, 03:35 PM
First set to Murray, 6-3. :thumbsup:
06-07-2012, 03:53 PM
Tsonga battling back into it.
06-07-2012, 03:57 PM
Great game to win there for Murray.
He leads 3-2 in the second set, with a break. :thumbsup:
Great performance.
06-07-2012, 04:11 PM
Murray goes two sets up, takes second set 6-4. :thumbsup:
Can't see any way back for Tsonga now, he's been so poor today.
06-07-2012, 04:23 PM
Bad start to set three though for Murray, 0-3 down at the moment. :boo hoo:
06-07-2012, 04:40 PM
What a first couple of sets for Murray, Tsonga was shell shocked. All credit to Tsonga though, he's came back fighting in this set.
06-07-2012, 04:44 PM
What a first couple of sets for Murray, Tsonga was shell shocked. All credit to Tsonga though, he's came back fighting in this set.
It was always going to be tough for Murray to play like that for the full match. In the first two sets, he was almost faultless and he was aided by some quite poor play from Tsonga, who couldn't really have got any worse.
Still don't see Murray losing this.
06-07-2012, 04:52 PM
Ouch!
I felt that!
New balls, please! :greengrin
06-07-2012, 04:53 PM
Toughed out by Tsonga. Well done the big man.
06-07-2012, 04:54 PM
Tsonga pulls a set back. :boo hoo:
06-07-2012, 04:57 PM
Tsonga reemerges for the 4th set, evidently after applying some ice to his throbbing nads.
06-07-2012, 05:03 PM
Great to hear such a partizan crowd at Wimbledon
06-07-2012, 05:06 PM
That shot to the henry halls was enough to bring any man down:agree:
Think Murray will win this set.
06-07-2012, 05:10 PM
Murray breaks to go 3-1 up in set four! :thumbsup:
But Tsonga breaks straight back again. :boo hoo:
2-3.
06-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Tsonga saves two break points to level at 4-4.
Massive game for him to win there.
06-07-2012, 05:40 PM
Loads of bad calls by line judges affecting both players. Alan Alda being called on a lot.
06-07-2012, 05:47 PM
Game, set and match Murray 6-3 6-4 3-6 7-5
Murray becomes first British man into Wimbledon final for over 70 years!
06-07-2012, 06:10 PM
If he plays like he played against Ferrer he has a chance. A repeat of the jitters we saw in the 3rd and 4th sets today and Fed will coast it.
06-07-2012, 06:13 PM
Andy is now on the verge of greatness here.
Words cannot describe how big this match will be on Sunday. Not only for Andy Murray's career but for British sport in general.
This would be such a massive win and I just hope that he can do it.
It's going to be so tough to get past Roger Federer, though, and he will have so much motivation to get back to world number one, win his 17th Grand Slam title, regain the Wimbledon crown that he has won 6 times already and win his first Grand Slam for over 2 years.
Murray is probably going to have to play the match of his life if he's going to win on Sunday and I just hope that he can get over the nerves that he will undoubtedly be feeling and perform a bit better than he has managed in his other Grand Slam final appearances, where he hasn't even won a set.
06-07-2012, 06:25 PM
moooooooraaaaaaaaaaaay
great win and hopefully he can go on and show us what your supposed to do in a final:duck:
he'll need to improve again but dont see why he cant win it. I hope he does
06-07-2012, 06:26 PM
First Scot in Wimbledon final for 135 years:thumbsup::greengrin
06-07-2012, 06:48 PM
First Scot in Wimbledon final for 135 years:thumbsup::greengrin
That'll be first Scot ever then! :greengrin
06-07-2012, 06:57 PM
That'll be first Scot ever then! :greengrin
Pedantic but Murray's wee brother won a Wimbledon final a couple of years ago.
06-07-2012, 06:58 PM
If he plays like he played against Ferrer he has a chance. A repeat of the jitters we saw in the 3rd and 4th sets today and Fed will coast it.
This the same Roger Federer that bottled a 2-0 sets lead against Tsonga last year at Wimbers and was dumped 3-2 in the end?.. You better believe Andy Murray can win this.
06-07-2012, 07:12 PM
Pedantic but Murray's wee brother won a Wimbledon final a couple of years ago.
Pedantic but Jamie Murray was 15 months old when Andy was born on 15th May 1987. :wink:
06-07-2012, 07:26 PM
Drat, double drat. That's what I get for trying to be smart.
Note that Johnny Marray made it a double, reaching the final of the mens doubles. First Male Briton in 52 years!
06-07-2012, 07:29 PM
This the same Roger Federer that bottled a 2-0 sets lead against Tsonga last year at Wimbers and was dumped 3-2 in the end?.. You better believe Andy Murray can win this.
Bit different, though, as that was a quarter final and this will be a final.
On 15 occasions, he's been in a Grand Slam final and faced someone other than Rafael Nadal. Of those 15 finals, only once has he lost. More importantly, two of those matches were against Murray and he didn't lose a set in either match.
He also has a wealth of experience to back him up on Sunday. He knows what it takes to win a Grand Slam final, he knows how to come back from difficult situations in those big matches and that is invaluable.
I think Andy Murray can win on Sunday, anyone who reaches a Grand Slam final is there on merit and has a great chance of winning. However Roger Federer, given where he is in his career and how much is riding on this match for him, will be so tough to beat and he is the overwhelming favourite on Sunday.
06-07-2012, 07:36 PM
Bit different, though, as that was a quarter final and this will be a final.
On 15 occasions, he's been in a Grand Slam final and faced someone other than Rafael Nadal. Of those 15 finals, only once has he lost. More importantly, two of those matches were against Murray and he didn't lose a set in either match.
He also has a wealth of experience to back him up on Sunday. He knows what it takes to win a Grand Slam final, he knows how to come back from difficult situations in those big matches and that is invaluable.
I think Andy Murray can win on Sunday, anyone who reaches a Grand Slam final is there on merit and has a great chance of winning. However Roger Federer, given where he is in his career and how much is riding on this match for him, will be so tough to beat and he is the overwhelming favourite on Sunday.
Ill take what you say with a pinch of salt cause IIRC your a massive Federer fan :aok: had him as your avatar for a LONG LONG time.
Andy Murray can win, Maybe we should all get behind him instead of dissing him.
06-07-2012, 08:38 PM
Ill take what you say with a pinch of salt cause IIRC your a massive Federer fan :aok: had him as your avatar for a LONG LONG time.
Andy Murray can win, Maybe we should all get behind him instead of dissing him.
:confused: Think you're confusing me with someone else.
There won't be any question as to who will be getting my support on Sunday afternoon. If you have read any of the countless tennis threads I have contributed to on here over the years then you would know that.
Just because I am bringing a bit of reality into the situation instead of letting my heart rule my head does not mean that I am not supporting Andy Murray.
However, if you are trying to suggest that my last post was in any way incorrect and Roger Federer will be anything other than the overwhelming favourite on Sunday then I'm afraid you're kidding yourself on.
06-07-2012, 09:54 PM
Yup - Novak did a ManUre. Got himself back in it then just surrendered it to a classer opponent :wink: :greengrin
Tsonga did a ManUre tae! :greengrin
MON THE MURRAY!! :thumbsup:
06-07-2012, 10:24 PM
Well done, Andy. Reaching the final is fantastic for a British player, now can he jump the last hurdle? Fingers crossed for Sunday.
I can see him winning it, then, just before the cup is presented he takes the new Hibs home shirt from his bag and puts it on, "CHAMPION 12" on the back. As the cup is placed in his hands he looks straight into the camera and shouts "***** the Hearts".:not worth
06-07-2012, 10:32 PM
Well done Andy.
Fingers crossed for Sunday.
If Federer plays even close to todays level he'll have too much for Murray unfortunately.
07-07-2012, 09:30 AM
Well done, Andy. Reaching the final is fantastic for a British player, now can he jump the last hurdle? Fingers crossed for Sunday.
I can see him winning it, then, just before the cup is presented he takes the new Hibs home shirt from his bag and puts it on, "CHAMPION 12" on the back. As the cup is placed in his hands he looks straight into the camera and shouts "***** the Hearts".:not worth
Sounds plausible. :agree:
07-07-2012, 09:54 AM
Andy Murray can win, Maybe we should all get behind him instead of dissing him.[/QUOTE]
well said. mooraaaaaaaay
07-07-2012, 12:55 PM
:confused: Think you're confusing me with someone else.
There won't be any question as to who will be getting my support on Sunday afternoon. If you have read any of the countless tennis threads I have contributed to on here over the years then you would know that.
Just because I am bringing a bit of reality into the situation instead of letting my heart rule my head does not mean that I am not supporting Andy Murray.
However, if you are trying to suggest that my last post was in any way incorrect and Roger Federer will be anything other than the overwhelming favourite on Sunday then I'm afraid you're kidding yourself on.
What you talking aboot?..Aken RF is overwhelming favourite to win, I ken he is,BUT you Better believe AM can win Wimbers, The boy dumped Nadal oot, Who gave him a chance?.
I know Federer is favourite, But it doesnt always work out for favourites,
The reality is, Murray can win.
07-07-2012, 02:59 PM
Gutsy performance from wee Radwanska to take the second set !:top marks
07-07-2012, 03:07 PM
What you talking aboot?..Aken RF is overwhelming favourite to win, I ken he is,BUT you Better believe AM can win Wimbers, The boy dumped Nadal oot, Who gave him a chance?.
I know Federer is favourite, But it doesnt always work out for favourites,
The reality is, Murray can win.
I'm not actually too sure why you're arguing with me, we appear to be saying the same thing. :confused:
The reason I said what I did in my last post is because all I had said in the post before that was that Federer had all the experience behind him, he would be the favourite to win tomorrow but Murray COULD certainly win.
You then replied by saying that you would be taking my comment with a pinch of salt because you have me down as a big Federer fan and that we should be getting behind Murray instead of "dissing" him.
You totally lost me with that last post but I'm glad we now appear to be on the same page. Federer is the overwhelming favourite, Murray can win and we'll both be supporting him at 2pm tomorrow.
07-07-2012, 03:11 PM
I didn't quite see this coming!
Serena Williams looked as if she was going to steamroll her way to her 14th Grand Slam title after taking the first set 6-1 in just over 20 minutes.
A rain delay before the 2nd set had the potential to help Radwanska get her head together, but at 4-2 down in the second set, it looked like it would be all over very quickly.
However, fair play to Radwanska, coming back to win 3 games in a row and eventually taking the second set 7-5.
It's a different match now and Radwanska seems to be finally aware that she's in a Grand Slam final!
Still fancy Serena to come back and win this but she's finally got some competition here!
07-07-2012, 03:37 PM
Serena wins 6-1 5-7 6-2 in just over 2 hours.
At least it was a bit more of a contest after the way the 1st set went but it was never really in doubt.
07-07-2012, 04:08 PM
Serena wins 6-1 5-7 6-2 in just over 2 hours.
At least it was a bit more of a contest after the way the 1st set went but it was never really in doubt.
Who cares about the side show. Its Murray Time:thumbsup:
07-07-2012, 04:10 PM
Not a great womens final. Errors on both sides. At least the score didn't completely humiliate Radwanska as it looked like for a while at the end of the first set.
07-07-2012, 04:33 PM
I'm not actually too sure why you're arguing with me, we appear to be saying the same thing. :confused:
The reason I said what I did in my last post is because all I had said in the post before that was that Federer had all the experience behind him, he would be the favourite to win tomorrow but Murray COULD certainly win.
You then replied by saying that you would be taking my comment with a pinch of salt because you have me down as a big Federer fan and that we should be getting behind Murray instead of "dissing" him.
You totally lost me with that last post but I'm glad we now appear to be on the same page. Federer is the overwhelming favourite, Murray can win and we'll both be supporting him at 2pm tomorrow.
Mon Muzza then:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: