View Full Version : Steve Clarke? ex Assistant at Chelski and West Ham? (merged)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

13-10-2010, 10:40 AM
West Ham must've coughed up close on £3m to sack him.

In reality - an agreement would be reached and it would be nowhere near the full amount remaining on the contract.

13-10-2010, 10:52 AM
Not always the case clubs put managers on gardening leave and continue to pay their salary. If the manager gets a new job offer he walks away with nothing or very little. Celtic have done this with Mogga

13-10-2010, 10:58 AM
We're doing it again.

Clarke and Stark - the dream team - massive disappointment if they aren't appointed - rumours flying and panic setting in.

Clarke was on a huge salary down south. Can we match that?

He actually has no experience as "The Manager" - he's always been the second man in the team. That spells a gamble to me.

Stark wasn't spectacularly successful in club coaching/management IIRC. Nor has he been so with the Scotland U-21s. Another gamble.

I was moderately supportive of the appointment of Clarke at first.

Now, I think we've just built the guy up for a fall.

For those who would be 'massively disappointed' if he isn't appointed - what reasons do you have for assuming that Steve Clarke's the man we MUST have if the team's to be turned around?

Why's HE the messiah rather than someone else?

This is like a freakin feeding frenzy..... :rolleyes:

Kaiser_Sauzee
13-10-2010, 11:02 AM
I don't think Clarke is the best option. Why must we continue to gamble on our managerial choices?

alex74
13-10-2010, 11:04 AM
In reality - an agreement would be reached and it would be nowhere near the full amount remaining on the contract.the longer this goes on about clark its less likely to happen whoever started this rumour has done a good job of us all beleiving it,thers another name in the papers today apparently been interviewed for the job dave penny ex oldam manager

half.time.draw.
13-10-2010, 11:11 AM
the longer this goes on about clark its less likely to happen whoever started this rumour has done a good job of us all beleiving it,thers another name in the papers today apparently been interviewed for the job dave penny ex oldam manager

think this one has been a private members special:agree::agree::agree:

13-10-2010, 11:26 AM
We're doing it again.

Clarke and Stark - the dream team - massive disappointment if they aren't appointed - rumours flying and panic setting in.

He actually has no experience as "The Manager" - he's always been the second man in the team. That spells a gamble to me.

Stark wasn't spectacularly successful in club coaching/management IIRC. Nor has he been so with the Scotland U-21s. Another gamble.

For those who would be 'massively disappointed' if he isn't appointed - what reasons do you have for assuming that Steve Clarke's the man we MUST have if the team's to be turned around?

Sums up my thoughts about Steve Clarke entirely. He has never been a Manager in his own right and therefore it would be a fairly big gamble to appoint him as Hibernian Manager. He could of course be a big success in the job, but if he was, how long would it be before a decent sized English Club came calling - you wouldn't see him for dust if that was the case IMO.

I think the time has come for us to appoint a tried and tested, experienced Manager and someone who is more than likely to see out his contract at Hibs. We need some stability now, not more Managerial turmoil a few months down the line.

Berwickhibby
13-10-2010, 11:29 AM
My concern now is that Steve Clarke my have seen what is actually available and Petries budget might not match Clarke's ambition. Perhaps he has turned us down:confused:

Underdose
13-10-2010, 11:30 AM

If it is adds further weight to why people on hear get fed up with the private members and their 'elitist' attitudes etc. Not all of them are like that but there are plenty who will happily post rumours as facts etc or give it the 'well its on the private members forum' crap. Does nothing for getting others to sign up for a private membership - in fact id say its probably put a fair number off already.

13-10-2010, 11:32 AM
This looks like it going to be the best wind-up ever.

We all thought Clarke was a shoe-in, they picked someone who we wanted but was believable and we all fell for it. We even thought he'd be appointed on Monday and started giving excuses about the under-21s playing so it would be put back, then the full team were playing so that's why. Now we've changed our mind are are apparently interviewing someone I've never heard of for the job.

Well done whoever thought it up!

13-10-2010, 11:35 AM
We're doing it again.

The play-offs for the Euro champs not good enough for you?
I know we Hibs fans are hard to please but......

aberhibsfc
13-10-2010, 11:36 AM
If it is adds further weight to why people on hear get fed up with the private members and their 'elitist' attitudes etc. Not all of them are like that but there are plenty who will happily post rumours as facts etc or give it the 'well its on the private members forum' crap. Does nothing for getting others to sign up for a private membership - in fact id say its probably put a fair number off already.:agree:

There's been a few times when sitting in front of the PC, I've opted to put my card back in my wallet.

alex74
13-10-2010, 11:37 AM

We all thought Clarke was a shoe-in, they picked someone who we wanted but was believable and we all fell for it. We even thought he'd be appointed on Monday and started giving excuses about the under-21s playing so it would be put back, then the full team were playing so that's why. Now we've changed our mind are are apparently interviewing someone I've never heard of for the job.

Well done whoever thought it up!the yams must be having a right good laugh at us.:faf:

13-10-2010, 11:41 AM

There's been a few times when sitting in front of the PC, I've opted to put my card back in my wallet.

Aye but are we still talking about the PM Board???:wink:

13-10-2010, 11:43 AM
I don't think Clarke is the best option. Why must we continue to gamble on our managerial choices?

So who wouldn't be a gamble for Hibs?

The tried and trusted Jimmy Calderwood perhaps?

13-10-2010, 11:45 AM

Unless it is Steve Clarke of course.

HenryMonk
13-10-2010, 11:47 AM

i was a mikey (admin understands) and so called scoopy!!

if this appointment doesn't happen i feel sorry for all the people who flung money on clarke as he was dead cert, according to some. and press conference is (always) tomoz!

13-10-2010, 11:47 AM
the yams must be having a right good laugh at us.:faf:

Why?

Because we think it might be Steve Clarke.

Surely they would wait until someone was appointed or Clarke denied it before they could giggle.

13-10-2010, 11:48 AM
If Steve Clarke is as good as some on here have suggested, then maybe he will put his name down for the Stuttgart job - manager's just been sacked!

13-10-2010, 11:49 AM
the yams must be having a right good laugh at us.:faf:

Why? Because we don't just appoint whoever happened to be wandering around the shop at the time?

Purehibee_MYB
13-10-2010, 11:53 AM
I'm willing to gamble on steve clarke because of how sought after he is as an assistant...yes he was only an assistant...but assistants are the ones who do a lot of close work with players and therefore he clearly manages to create good relationships with players if west ham were willing to pay Chelsea over the odds to bring him in....and for those who are saying Billy Stark hasn't achieved much that is ridiculous as he got them within touching distance of the Euro under-21's for the first time in 14 years, fair enough they didn't qualify but they gave it their all, and when a team does that you usually can have no complaints or few.

If Clarke and Stark are the men at the Helm I for one will be very happy.

13-10-2010, 11:53 AM
Why? Because we don't just appoint whoever happened to be wandering around the shop at the time?

Because apparently Jim Duffy knows and has spent the last 10 days trying on every piece of kit that's on display.

alex74
13-10-2010, 11:58 AM
Why? Because we don't just appoint whoever happened to be wandering around the shop at the time?i for 1 have been telling yam mates since monday thers goin to be a press conferance and its goin to be clark,beleiving what i have been reading on hear silly me will keep my big mouth shut next time.:lips seal

13-10-2010, 12:06 PM

if this appointment doesn't happen i feel sorry for all the people who flung money on clarke as he was dead cert, according to some. and press conference is (always) tomoz!

The last time I got grief over information was the building of the East Stand. I (along with others) was posting for several weeks before Hibs announced it. Funnily enough when Hibs announced it none of the doubting Thomas's came back on to say well done you were right all along.

If I am wrong I will be the first to admit it, however information to date suggest I am not.

As for those gambling on it then I'm sure they are big enough to realise that they were not being forced to do so and I doubt they need or want your sympathy.

Manxhibs
13-10-2010, 12:14 PM
The last time I got grief over information was the building of the East Stand. I (along with others) was posting for several weeks before Hibs announced it. Funnily enough when Hibs announced it none of the doubting Thomas's came back on to say well done you were right all along.

If I am wrong I will be the first to admit it, however information to date suggest I am not.

As for those gambling on it then I'm sure they are big enough to realise that they were not being forced to do so and I doubt they need or want your sympathy.

Well said that man :top marks

HenryMonk
13-10-2010, 12:15 PM

aye your correct there.

apoligies in advance if your info is proved correct. because i hope so!!

13-10-2010, 12:16 PM

I feel sorry for those people already, more fool them and everyone else for putting money down or getting thier knickers in a twist about rumours they have read on an internet messageboard and taken as gospel.

13-10-2010, 12:18 PM
aye your correct there.

apoligies in advance if your info is proved correct. because i hope so!!

I hope so too.

One, I want him to get it as I think he would be a great success and two.......

because I'm going to get pelters if it isn't.

13-10-2010, 12:20 PM

You think wrong then.

13-10-2010, 12:27 PM
I hope so too.

One, I want him to get it as I think he would be a great success and two.......

because I'm going to get pelters if it isn't.

I don't think anyone should be giving you pelters as anything can happen in football, and i also heard the same as you so you're only posting what you heard was pretty much a done deal.

For the record i hope he gets the job, i think he could be the man to take us forward. :agree:

TheBall'sRound
13-10-2010, 12:29 PM
Doesn't matter who actually ends up with the job - if Hogg and Nish are in his first team picked he'll automatically be on the back foot - even if Mourinho himself picked them!

I think this appointment (whoever it is) will be a mere temporary snack in the "mass overhaul" feast that so many fans think is inevitable. If it doesn't happen we'll be back to square one - open disgruntlement.

13-10-2010, 12:31 PM
The play-offs for the Euro champs not good enough for you?
I know we Hibs fans are hard to please but......

Actually, NO!

We've done much better in the past. I think we could and should have beaten Iceland on Monday night. And again, he has little pedigree at club level.

Too many people on this board talking themselves into believing that Clarke'nStark would be Da Man - with little or no evidence to back it up.

Like I say - feeding frenzy at the fish farm. :rolleyes:

13-10-2010, 12:35 PM
Unless it is Steve Clarke of course.

:agree: Unless it is him. Just seems to be taking a long time to announce something that was a "done deal" at the weekend.

13-10-2010, 12:36 PM
Actually, NO!

We've done much better in the past. I think we could and should have beaten Iceland on Monday night. And again, he has little pedigree at club level.

Too many people on this board talking themselves into believing that Clarke'nStark would be Da Man - with little or no evidence to back it up.

Considering the Iceland team was packed with full internationals and a guy who just moved to Germany for £7 million, saying we 'should' have beat them is optimistic at best, arrogant at worst!

That young side fought well, played nice stuff and went out with their heads held high, you can't ask for anymore than that in the circumstances!

13-10-2010, 12:37 PM
Hope Hibs announce it at 14.55 on Saturday.

13-10-2010, 12:43 PM

13-10-2010, 12:52 PM
:agree: Unless it is him. Just seems to be taking a long time to announce something that was a "done deal" at the weekend.

If Clarke didn't want the job i think wee would have heard something by now from him distancing himself from the ER hot seat, yeah things have went quiet the now, but hopefully Hibs will have a new manager by the weekend.
My money is still on Clarke.

GreenPJ
13-10-2010, 12:53 PM
Actually, NO!

By that statement are you suggesting we had our chances? If so then surely as a manager he has done the right thing in setting out a team that creates opportunities. Its not Stark's fault that the ball hit the post, the defender was on the line, Maguire should have buried that chance in the second half.

As already pointed out, that Iceland team were a very competent team and am sure will provide tough opposition to whoever gets them in the tournament. Stark also did a good job at Queens Park as an aside.

13-10-2010, 12:55 PM
Considering the Iceland team was packed with full internationals and a guy who just moved to Germany for £7 million, saying we 'should' have beat them is optimistic at best, arrogant at worst!

That young side fought well, played nice stuff and went out with their heads held high, you can't ask for anymore than that in the circumstances!

Opinions. By definition, they were both 'young sides'. Stark's had them long enough to be doing better.

I still reckon Clarke'nStark would be a gamble.

13-10-2010, 12:57 PM
The other possibility for the silence is that we're watching Hibs recruitment policy on players stretch to the manager.

We'll have identified someone really exciting who we'd all be pleased to get only to have them turn us down and then have to start sifting through the other CVs that we weren't as fussed about.

Just as well that there isn't a manager's window or else we'd end up with Martin Ling on loan at the 11th hour.

HenryMonk
13-10-2010, 01:01 PM
Opinions. By definition, they were both 'young sides'. Stark's had them long enough to be doing better.

I still reckon Clarke'nStark would be a gamble.

your concerns are noted:wink:

FWIW i think its a lesser gamble than appointing Hughes'nRice :agree: same goes with mikey o'neil, brito, reid, tango

13-10-2010, 01:07 PM
Clarke MUST go. I said at the time I never wanted him.

13-10-2010, 01:14 PM
No chance of this I feel...it started as a mere link to a wikipedia page of someone who could have been good for us and now all these pages later rumors were made and now he's meant to be a cert. But it hasn't happened.
This is all just a load of pish I fear x

13-10-2010, 01:19 PM
Is that Donkey Dave McPherson?

maybe take that with a pinch of salt then:greengrin

He is an agent so has contacts in the industry, I can see where he's coming from though, Clarke has been in England for a while now and I thought he'd be looking to go into management down there but if we can convince him to come here all the better.

13-10-2010, 01:26 PM
If it is adds further weight to why people on hear get fed up with the private members and their 'elitist' attitudes etc. Not all of them are like that but there are plenty who will happily post rumours as facts etc or give it the 'well its on the private members forum' crap. Does nothing for getting others to sign up for a private membership - in fact id say its probably put a fair number off already.

'Elitist' attitudes :hilarious

Nothing could be further from the truth.

13-10-2010, 01:54 PM
The other possibility for the silence is that we're watching Hibs recruitment policy on players stretch to the manager.

We'll have identified someone really exciting who we'd all be pleased to get only to have them turn us down and then have to start sifting through the other CVs that we weren't as fussed about.

Just as well that there isn't a manager's window or else we'd end up with Martin Ling on loan at the 11th hour.

13-10-2010, 02:33 PM

There's been a few times when sitting in front of the PC, I've opted to put my card back in my wallet.Utter bollox !! please explain what this has to do with the private members forum when the actual thread was started by a non private member ..:blah:

As for the "elitist" comment ..pretty pathetic dig at the folk who contribute financially to keep this site running and for you to use at your free will ..

Lastly..Underdose .. whatever is posted on the private members forum or this forum is up to the individual as to what they want to believe ..you are obviously getting your knickers in a wee twist over this with your elitist pish ..dont believe everything you read on a forum, private or not ...

I will believe it when i see it ..

13-10-2010, 02:39 PM
Utter bollox !! please explain what this has to do with the private members forum when the actual thread was started by a non private member ..:blah:

As for the "elitist" comment ..pretty pathetic dig at the folk who contribute financially to keep this site running and for you to use at your free will ..

Lastly..Underdose .. whatever is posted on the private members forum or this forum is up to the individual as to what they want to believe ..you are obviously getting your knickers in a wee twist over this with your elitist pish ..dont believe everything you read on a forum, private or not ...

13-10-2010, 02:40 PM
'Elitist' attitudes :hilarious

Nothing could be further from the truth.

I need my butler to think of a witty retort to that one.

13-10-2010, 02:50 PM

As for those gambling on it then I'm sure they are big enough to realise that they were not being forced to do so and I doubt they need or want your sympathy.:agree:

nae different from taking a punt on a horse based on a tip, if it wins it wins, if it loses............

........I'll just shoot masel, nae sympathy required though :greengrin

Utter bollox !! please explain what this has to do with the private members forum when the actual thread was started by a non private member ..:blah:

I will believe it when i see it ..:top marks

13-10-2010, 03:10 PM
I would say that there are people on here who post on both PM and main forum who would have concrete information before any members of the press, and the fact that there has been no posts with 100% solid information, only rumours, is pretty unusual. We all know Hibs like to keep this kind of business ultra private till there is something to say, and there are normally one or two people with info, but not this time for whatever reason.
Think we can safely disregard any newspaper articles as Hibs.net and the Bounce will be where we hear the news first as soon as it's posted on the official site. With tomorrow afternoons weekly press meeting, it would maybe make sense to make the announcement online tomorrow morning. If nothing, then we will likely have to wait till next week to be put out of our misery.

13-10-2010, 04:05 PM
i get the impression that the evans announcement means that a replacement for hughes has been agreed and that they've told petrie to allow evans to take charge before they officially take up the post, perhaps the monday following,

13-10-2010, 04:14 PM

:agree: Damn, I have never posted a rumour, reliable or otherwise, but I am seriously interested in joining the elite club I never knew existed or missed out on - do I have to make something up to join or is it an automatic right withheld by an elitist? :wink:

What a load of bollox, I thought that I was contributing towards keeping something I enjoy, going. End of.

ancienthibby
13-10-2010, 04:37 PM
i get the impression that the evans announcement means that a replacement for hughes has been agreed and that they've told petrie to allow evans to take charge before they officially take up the post, perhaps the monday following,

What Evans announcement???:confused::confused:

If you mean the 'Stevenson and Evans' announcement, then I'm just glad that Stevenson was named first!!:greengrin:greengrin

BigH
13-10-2010, 04:45 PM
What are the chances that the new guy could be introduced at the Hall of Fame event on Friday night?

13-10-2010, 04:51 PM
What are the chances that the new guy could be introduced at the Hall of Fame event on Friday night?

A comeback for King Pat do you think?

13-10-2010, 04:52 PM

Rod will make him buy a ticket if he wants to go.

13-10-2010, 05:42 PM
nae different from taking a punt on a horse based on a tip, if it wins it wins, if it loses............

Ask Mssrs. Hicks and Gilete :faf: -£140m punts each :greengrin

Underdose
13-10-2010, 06:03 PM

1st. I was referring to an earlier comment which said "think this one has been a private members special"...

2nd. I said IF...

3rd. You are quite clearly the one 'getting your knickers in a wee twist' - what i posted was perfectly calm...

4th. I don't believe everything I read on an internet forum - years of looking at this site as both a private member and not has taught me that one...

And finally my comment was not a "pretty pathetic dig at the folk who contribute financially to keep this site running and for you to use at your free will .."
As i have mentioned I was at one time a private member of this site and appreciate being able to keep up to date with Hibs news. The 'elitist private members forum' stuff keeps coming up - tell me why that is then?
Keep ignoring it if you wish but that wont make it go away. Clearly something is causing it - perhaps comments like "folk who contribute financially to keep this site running and for you to use at your free will .." hmmm?

13-10-2010, 06:10 PM
1st. I was referring to an earlier comment which said "think this one has been a private members special"...

2nd. I said IF...

3rd. You are quite clearly the one 'getting your knickers in a wee twist' - what i posted was perfectly calm...

4th. I don't believe everything I read on an internet forum - years of looking at this site as both a private member and not has taught me that one...

And finally my comment was not a "pretty pathetic dig at the folk who contribute financially to keep this site running and for you to use at your free will .."
As i have mentioned I was at one time a private member of this site and appreciate being able to keep up to date with Hibs news. The 'elitist private members forum' stuff keeps coming up - tell me why that is then?
Keep ignoring it if you wish but that wont make it go away. Clearly something is causing it - perhaps comments like "folk who contribute financially to keep this site running and for you to use at your free will .." hmmm?

There is nothing "elitist" about anything which costs less than 20p a week to join.

Especially when everybody is invited.

13-10-2010, 06:43 PM

Well if you've been a PM before, then you've had access to the 'elitist' forum before.

So maybe you can tell everyone what's so 'elitist' about it? As far as I can see, the only folk who seem to think it's 'elitist' in any way are non-PMs, who are only non-PMs through their own choice. :confused:

Manxhibs
13-10-2010, 06:47 PM
I tried to join the PM but it says there are none available, is that because I am still an S form

13-10-2010, 06:52 PM
I tried to join the PM but it says there are none available, is that because I am still an S form

You have a message :wink:

13-10-2010, 07:47 PM
Well that's the end of that one, CLarke's turned down hibs to take the Stuttgart job.

Looks like Dave penney's a stick on for the job.

Manxhibs
13-10-2010, 07:52 PM
Well that's the end of that one, CLarke's turned down hibs to take the Stuttgart job.

Stuttgart job only became available today, theyve moved quickly lol

JCHibby
13-10-2010, 07:54 PM

You sure on this one Speedway? Not seeing anything to that effect, and looks like Stuttgart happy with Freddy Bobic and Jens Keller at present??

1875er
13-10-2010, 08:03 PM
You sure on this one Speedway? Not seeing anything to that effect, and looks like Stuttgart happy with Freddy Bobic and Jens Keller at present??

Stuttgart sacked Christian Gross today....

13-10-2010, 08:05 PM

So they would need to have moved a bit fast to have offered the job and for Clarke to have accepted it already. :hmmm:

13-10-2010, 08:11 PM
So they would need to have moved a bit fast to have offered the job and for Clarke to have accepted it already. :hmmm:

They did move fast as the job has been filled already and not by Steve Clarke.

13-10-2010, 08:12 PM
They did move fast as the job has been filled already and not by Steve Clarke.
dave penny?

Manxhibs
13-10-2010, 08:14 PM
dave penny?

Please be dave penny

13-10-2010, 08:15 PM

quote from their website:-

Stuttgart have suffered a horror start to the new season, taking only one win from seven games:cool2:

Manxhibs
13-10-2010, 08:19 PM
:confused:why?

Cause I just dont fancy him as our manager, you can say he did well with Doncaster but the appointment just doesnt inspire me

13-10-2010, 08:21 PM
Cause I just dont fancy him as our manager, you can say he did well with Doncaster but the appointment just doesnt inspire me

me neither mate, i'm a twat I thought you meant for us cos Clarke was getting the Stuttgart job

Manxhibs
13-10-2010, 08:30 PM
me neither mate, i'm a twat I thought you meant for us cos Clarke was getting the Stuttgart job

I was worried there was a supporter for penny getting the job for a minute lol

13-10-2010, 08:33 PM

Stuttgart have suffered a horror start to the new season, taking only one win from seven games:cool2:

The one was a 7-0 beasting though.

13-10-2010, 08:36 PM
The one was a 7-0 beasting though.

Damn it. Just noticed you are not a non shiny fish!

13-10-2010, 08:44 PM
Damn it. Just noticed you are not a non shiny fish!

Yet another example of the PM board getting information ahead of you plebs...there was a thread on that very topic about 3 years ago.

Joining an elite society does have its advantages, you know.

13-10-2010, 09:19 PM

:fishin: :wink:

EH6 Hibby
13-10-2010, 09:26 PM
:fishin: :wink:

You are a very bad man! :grr:

half.time.draw.
14-10-2010, 07:47 AM
[QUOTE=happyhibbie;2605479]Utter bollox !! please explain what this has to do with the private members forum when the actual thread was started by a non private member ..:blah:

Well, on the back of that, I have paid my Tenner and am now a private member, you are quite correct we have been getting good service out of the site for free, so now I have gave something back.
I look forward to a few exclusives... cheers

Sandy
14-10-2010, 08:21 AM
[QUOTE=happyhibbie;2605479]Utter bollox !! please explain what this has to do with the private members forum when the actual thread was started by a non private member ..:blah:

Well, on the back of that, I have paid my Tenner and am now a private member, you are quite correct we have been getting good service out of the site for free, so now I have gave something back.
I look forward to a few exclusives... cheers

Just remember and not share it with the PLEBS on the main board though :greengrin

half.time.draw.
14-10-2010, 08:36 AM
[QUOTE=half.time.draw.;2605874]

Just remember and not share it with the PLEBS on the main board though :greengrin

No way mate:wink:

14-10-2010, 10:14 AM

There' a few teams there that have home records nearly as bad as our's.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/germany_results/tables/default.stm

TowerHibs
14-10-2010, 10:39 AM
I hear that it won't be stark who is to be assistant to Clark but his name does rhyme with Stark, he has been at Hibs before and his first name is not Donald but the other one

14-10-2010, 10:42 AM
John park?

supershotmo
14-10-2010, 10:45 AM
Darren McCormack?

14-10-2010, 10:46 AM
John park?

Heard he is being emptied from Celtic Park to make way for John Kennedy.

supershotmo
14-10-2010, 10:47 AM
Peter Cormack

TowerHibs
14-10-2010, 03:35 PM
John park?

14-10-2010, 03:42 PM

Was it him who effectively ran our youth development system in the past?

If so a good appointment!

calumb
14-10-2010, 03:53 PM
Was at home who effectively ran our youth development system in the past?

If so a good appointment!

not sure about that, he did have a good reputation based of the youth system but i believe he took a lot of credit for what the coaches were doing when his main strength was admin work. ok for the academy but maybe not as our no.2.

Hibee Daz
14-10-2010, 05:02 PM
How many top young players have broken through at smelltic recently?

Has he really improved their youth set up?

What has he achieved/what experience does he have, that warrants him being offered the No2 job at Hibs?

Can anybody shed some light please?

I'm genuinely curious as I don't know much about the bloke!:dunno:

Hibee Daz
14-10-2010, 05:15 PM
not sure about that, he did have a good reputation based of the youth system but i believe he took a lot of credit for what the coaches were doing when his main strength was admin work. ok for the academy but maybe not as our no.2.

Are you saying that he definitely took the plaudits for other peoples achievements to enhance his own reputation?

If this is the case, then I would be inclined to give him a wide berth.

14-10-2010, 05:36 PM
We need someone who has lareday proved he can MANAGE. Not a number 2/coach/youth coach who might have an outside chance of being a cgood manager. Lots of assitants are rubbish when they take the reigns on themselves.

Hibs deserve a proven, experienced manager this time.

TowerHibs
14-10-2010, 05:52 PM

Couldn't disagree more, through personal experience I found John park very good with the youth, immediate commanded respect and very intellegent when discussing football and trying to teach kids about the game. Sure he wasn't really a bib and cones type coach but he knows his stuff.

Ran youth development at hibs then went to be head scout at Celtic.

14-10-2010, 05:54 PM
We need someone who has lareday proved he can MANAGE. Not a number 2/coach/youth coach who might have an outside chance of being a cgood manager. Lots of assitants are rubbish when they take the reigns on themselves.

Any proven manager will have been a failure somewhere or will only have worked at a smaller club, if this wasn't the case they wouldn't be coming to us so i wouldn't see that as any less of a risk than a young manager with lots of potential

E.T. is a Hibee
14-10-2010, 05:54 PM
I'll say it now! If we dont get someone decent like Clarke/Stark combom, and I've got a feelin it aint them, I be in tears. :boo hoo:

I'm 34 and I've had a season ticket since I was ten and I can honestly say that only under Tony Mowbry/Mark Venus have the Hibees really got me going and I would love for that feelin to return! The rest of the managers have been poor to mediocre at best.

I want a great appointment, it's what we deserve!

ancienthibby
14-10-2010, 05:55 PM
Couldn't disagree more, through personal experience I found John park very good with the youth, immediate commanded resection and very intellegent when discussing football and trying to teach kids about the game. Sure he wasn't really a bib and cones type coach but he knows his stuff.

Ran youth development at hibs then went to be head scout at Celtic.

So he had all the players lobotomised!!:greengrin:greengrin

14-10-2010, 05:56 PM

Initially i thought this too, but with what we pay, and our budget for team affairs i struggled to come up with any names that i thought we could get. So i think an ambitious No 2 like Clarke is probably our best bet.

TowerHibs
14-10-2010, 06:01 PM
So he had all the players lobotomised!!:greengrin:greengrin

Bloody iPhone predictive text!!!

Supposed to say respect

14-10-2010, 06:15 PM
I hear that it won't be stark who is to be assistant to Clark but his name does rhyme with Stark, he has been at Hibs before and his first name is not Donald but the other one

To be no.2 to a guy who's never been at Hibs and name rhymes with dark?

Heard he is being emptied from Celtic Park to make way for John Kennedy.

John Kennedy that's not long retired from playing? You'd think they'd want someone with a bit of experience in the job?

14-10-2010, 06:16 PM
Bloody iPhone predictive text!!!

Supposed to say respect

TBF to your phone it can only predict words if you spell the word right in the 1st place. :greengrin

14-10-2010, 06:23 PM
I though it wouldnt happem to me but it just has, txt saying Clarke and Stark will be announced tomorrow :greengrin

E.T. is a Hibee
14-10-2010, 06:23 PM
What happened to your hair?

Wasn't too sure about that word!:greengrin

14-10-2010, 06:31 PM
I'll say it now! If we dont get someone decent like Clarke/Stark combom, and I've got a feelin it aint them, I be in tears. :boo hoo:

I'm 34 and I've had a season ticket since I was ten and I can honestly say that only under Tony Mowbry/Mark Venus have the Hibees really got me going and I would love for that feelin to return! The rest of the managers have been poor to mediocre at best.

I want a great appointment, it's what we deserve!

comlpetely agree.

I don't want us to get a boring manager that'll steady the ship, have us organised for a while, get us to the top half of the league but dull as dishwater to watch, while i can see the attraction of that IMO the novelty would soon wear off and crowds would continue to drop, even with the odd 3rd place finish.

I want someone that could potentially be brilliant, get us playing good entertaining football and will probably move on to the premiership after a couple of years of success, to counter this i'd like his number 2 to be someone that could step in when he does move.

I realise to get the sort of person i want we're going to have to take a gamble on someone thats needing to get there break, we won't attract someone like that thats already in a job, for me a combination of Clarke and Stark ticks those boxes so i'd be delighted with them and be pretty gutted if we end up with a bog standard experienced manager that always been average wherever he's been.

E.T. is a Hibee
14-10-2010, 06:36 PM
comlpetely agree.

I don't want us to get a boring manager that'll steady the ship, have us organised for a while, get us to the top half of the league but dull as dishwater to watch, while i can see the attraction of that IMO the novelty would soon wear off and crowds would continue to drop, even with the odd 3rd place finish.

I want someone that could potentially be brilliant, get us playing good entertaining football and will probably move on to the premiership after a couple of years of success, to counter this i'd like his number 2 to be someone that could step in when he does move.

I realise to get the sort of person i want we're going to have to take a gamble on someone thats needing to get there break, we won't attract someone like that thats already in a job, for me a combination of Clarke and Stark ticks those boxes so i'd be delighted with them and be pretty gutted if we end up with a bog standard experienced manager that always been average wherever he's been.

Cheers mate. I just have a feelin that the Clarke/Stark combo will work really well and will take our team to the next level. Both of these guy's have earned respect by the fans and peers alike and I think if it's true that there taking over a new chapter will start for Hibernian.

alex74
14-10-2010, 06:47 PM
What happened to your hair?

alex74
14-10-2010, 06:49 PM
I though it wouldnt happem to me but it just has, txt saying Clarke and Stark will be announced tomorrow :greengrinno that old chestnut:grr:

14-10-2010, 07:23 PM
I though it wouldnt happem to me but it just has, txt saying Clarke and Stark will be announced tomorrow :greengrin

Pish.

14-10-2010, 07:27 PM

People have been saying "tomorrow" for days now. I would like it to be Clarke but the longer it drags, the more I start to think it won't be.

14-10-2010, 07:32 PM
Pish.

Hows it pish like, you saying I didnt get a txt saying that? :taxi

alex74
14-10-2010, 07:33 PM
I though it wouldnt happem to me but it just has, txt saying Clarke and Stark will be announced tomorrow :greengrin:bitchy:

14-10-2010, 07:35 PM
:bitchy:

That management team not for you then?

alex74
14-10-2010, 07:41 PM
That management team not for you then?definatly for me m8 but it seems to be going on a bit to long

14-10-2010, 07:53 PM

I look forward to a few exclusives... cheers:thumbsup:

14-10-2010, 07:55 PM
Hows it pish like, you saying I didnt get a txt saying that? :taxi

You got a text? So what? Hundreds of people have been on here saying exact same. Thing is the text you got is talking pish - so you're talkin pish.

Got it?:wink:

14-10-2010, 08:00 PM
Having played at Hibs youths that was looked after by John Park for a while (after Hibs stupidly punted Hugh McGorm), I have to say - I thought he was a right pr8ck.

Always going on how he was the one that got Mixu to the club...blah blah blah.

14-10-2010, 08:02 PM
To be no.2 to a guy who's never been at Hibs and name rhymes with dark?

John Kennedy that's not long retired from playing? You'd think they'd want someone with a bit of experience in the job?

Yip, that's the one. Celtic hellbent on standing by him.

14-10-2010, 08:03 PM
You got a text? So what? Hundreds of people have been on here saying exact same. Thing is the text you got is talking pish - so you're talkin pish.

Got it?:wink:

I think if you take a second to read the initial post it may come across a bit tonge and cheek no, jeez you need to chill ma man if you think its pish just ignore it, no? :agree:

If its true im comming looking for you for an apology if its not then fair enough :greengrin

14-10-2010, 08:04 PM
definatly for me m8 but it seems to be going on a bit to long

If its true mate its a long time well spend me thinks :agree:

14-10-2010, 08:06 PM

For once I'll applaud them for that, good to see the boy getting a chance to stay in the game!

14-10-2010, 08:06 PM

Very good of them but I thought they might have found him a job in hospitality or something - head of the youth academy at Celtic seems quite high profile for your 1st gig.

14-10-2010, 08:08 PM
Very good of them but I thought they might have found him a job in hospitality or something - head of the youth academy at Celtic seems quite high profile for your 1st gig.
I thought that too. How old is he, 25, 26 maybe? He's also got zero coaching experience. Big job for him.

Would John Park return to Hibs anyway?

14-10-2010, 08:15 PM

They took him on as a scout early in 2010 and must reckon he's showing promise.

alex74
14-10-2010, 08:15 PM
If its true mate its a long time well spend me thinks :agree::agree::agree::agree:

Cammy
14-10-2010, 08:23 PM
I thought that too. How old is he, 25, 26 maybe? He's also got zero coaching experience. Big job for him.

Would John Park return to Hibs anyway?

I was told a few weeks ago that John Park was not happy at Celtic and would be happy to return to Hibs if the opportunity was there. I didn't think much about it at the time but it's obviously more relevant now.

14-10-2010, 08:23 PM
I wonder if some of the posters on here have supported Hibs for very long. When Petrie has decided who is getting the job they'll announce it. If there's nothing to say you'll hear nothing.

14-10-2010, 08:33 PM
I wonder if some of the posters on here have supported Hibs for very long. When Petrie has decided who is getting the job they'll announce it. If there's nothing to say you'll hear nothing.

Might as well get the admins to lock this thread down then.....:whistle:

alex74
14-10-2010, 08:33 PM
I wonder if some of the posters on here have supported Hibs for very long. When Petrie has decided who is getting the job they'll announce it. If there's nothing to say you'll hear nothing.thats true the papers have nothing to go on how often does that happen when a clubs looking for a manager got to give the club credit for keeping it in house

E.T. is a Hibee
14-10-2010, 08:37 PM
thats true the papers have nothing to go on how often does that happen when a clubs looking for a manager got to give the club credit for keeping it in house

Probably cause they given the job to Calderwood and they're looking for somewhere to hide!

alex74
14-10-2010, 08:42 PM
Probably cause they given the job to Calderwood and they're looking for somewhere to hide!:top marks

hibs4eve
14-10-2010, 10:04 PM
I think we should bounce back and beat kilmarnock on Saturday and then Hearts hopefully Get beat against Aberdeen with both of us winning next week and We win Derby With first time at home Steve Clarke Would be a great game.

Not bad if we get both a Manager that Has great contacts and was assistance at chelsea winning league twice and at west ham with a chelsea legend.
And the assistance who produced the best game in front of the new East stand.

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

The past managers hibs and hearts have had have Mostly been Only good for one season i have great confidence in Clarke and Stark.

:scarf::scarf::scarf:

14-10-2010, 11:13 PM
I think we should bounce back and beat kilmarnock on Saturday and then Hearts hopefully Get beat against Aberdeen with both of us winning next week and We win Derby With first time at home Steve Clarke Would be a great game.

Not bad if we get both a Manager that Has great contacts and was assistance at chelsea winning league twice and at west ham with a chelsea legend.
And the assistance who produced the best game in front of the new East stand.

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

The past managers hibs and hearts have had have Mostly been Only good for one season i have great confidence in Clarke and Stark.

:scarf::scarf::scarf:

don't disagree with anything you say mate, but Clarke is just a rumour one of many in what has been an awfully long week and a bit. Starting to get the feeling that the Steve Clarke thing has snowballed out of control on the back of the fact the bookies have him as strong favourite. all i'm saying is like you i'm hoping it is him but don't get yer hopes up there could a few feeling a big anti-climax when we appoint the tea lady:greengrin