View Full Version : Steve Clarke? ex Assistant at Chelski and West Ham? (merged)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

09-10-2010, 08:25 AM
Was watching Friday Night Football last night and it came up with the bookies odds.. i'm sure Steve Clarke was 9/4.

northgreen24
09-10-2010, 08:32 AM
if you can find a link let me know as none that i have found now go to a market on him

feeling really confident about this one

somebody different

09-10-2010, 08:33 AM

I am starting to warm to the idea of Billy Reid, done a great job at Accies and can organise a team and knows how to bring on young players and to get the best out of average players. but at 20/1 it would seem an outside bet

im with you on this one:agree:

09-10-2010, 08:36 AM
Has he been announced yet then????

09-10-2010, 08:38 AM
if you can find a link let me know as none that i have found now go to a market on him

feeling really confident about this one

somebody different

http://www.online-betting-guide.co.uk/next-hibernian-manager.htm

09-10-2010, 08:41 AM
Rodders gave a chance to another young up and coming coach in Mowbray and we all know how good he was for a while, I think Clarke has an even better CV than him.:wink:

northgreen24
09-10-2010, 08:41 AM
I know my logic is duff but what has billy reid actually done? fair enough they are competing in in the SPL but they aint exactly standing out i mean they only drew with us :greengrin

he wouldnt be the worst but just seems like another manager from a team struggling to stay in the league ala hughes

northgreen24
09-10-2010, 08:43 AM
http://www.online-betting-guide.co.uk/next-hibernian-manager.htm

thats the one i found but none will give you the option to place a bet on the next hibs manager

northgreen24
09-10-2010, 08:47 AM
Rodders gave a chance to another young up and coming coach in Mowbray and we all know how good he was for a while, I think Clarke has an even better CV than him.:wink:

exactly my thoughts i have no problem if hibs are a stepping stone as like young players that move on means we have been successful

Lix
09-10-2010, 10:52 AM
thats the one i found but none will give you the option to place a bet on the next hibs manager
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-specials/manager-specials?ev_oc_grp_ids=368901

northgreen24
09-10-2010, 11:57 AM
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-specials/manager-specials?ev_oc_grp_ids=368901

cheers mate

09-10-2010, 12:02 PM
cheers mate

Slightly better odds here, still evens :thumbsup:

http://www.victorchandler.com/vcbet/en-gb/coupon/show/3/126456098/2839/10976/3466063/1

09-10-2010, 12:05 PM
That must be the edited version!!!

Where are the 15 million "eh's" and the 15 million "tinks"!!!

still in seville from 2003 :dunno:

09-10-2010, 12:10 PM
still in seville from 2003 :dunno:
:faf::faf::faf:

10-10-2010, 06:24 AM
I know Clarke hasn't raised his head above the parapet, but the Tache doesn't like publicity.

Give him the job - Zola. (http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Gianfranco-Zola-urges-Hibernian-to.6573004.jp)

10-10-2010, 06:40 AM
If Clarke's the right man for the job, he's the right man for the job.

I'd question Rodders' suitability for his position if a random newspaper interview meant that he let the right man go.

10-10-2010, 07:11 AM
If Clarke's the right man for the job, he's the right man for the job.

I'd question Rodders' suitability for his position if a random newspaper interview meant that he let the right man go.

Hopefully, you're right.

I was listening to Jim Traynor's "What the papers say" show on Radio Scotland yesterday and one of the journos was at pains to say how tight lipped the Hibs directors are.

Rarely, if ever, do any leaks come out of the Easter Road board so it just struck me that candidates who (inadvertently or not) try to put pressure on the board by discussing their suitability etc in the press, aren't doing themselves any favours.

I realise that Clarke hasn't said anything himself, but Zola's comments, albeit well intentioned, may irritate.

10-10-2010, 08:40 AM
You getting uptight about yer bet, D? :greengrin

10-10-2010, 08:43 AM
Hopefully, you're right.

I was listening to Jim Traynor's "What the papers say" show on Radio Scotland yesterday and one of the journos was at pains to say how tight lipped the Hibs directors are.

Rarely, if ever, do any leaks come out of the Easter Road board so it just struck me that candidates who (inadvertently or not) try to put pressure on the board by discussing their suitability etc in the press, aren't doing themselves any favours.

I realise that Clarke hasn't said anything himself, but Zola's comments, albeit well intentioned, may irritate.

Either we assume that Zola is an ardent reader of hibs net or hopefully Clarke has had a wee word in the ear of his pal to say that he really is interested in the Hibs job.

10-10-2010, 08:53 AM
You getting uptight about yer bet, D? :greengrin

:greengrin My betting history isn't too great so I'm not going to lose any sleep over a few quid on Stevie Clarke.

I'm more concerned we end up with Jimmy Calderwood.

E.T. is a Hibee
10-10-2010, 09:00 AM
:greengrin My betting history isn't too great so I'm not going to lose any sleep over a few quid on Stevie Clarke.

I'm more concerned we end up with Jimmy Calderwood.

Imagine Jimmy got the job, OMG what a thought! If he got the job I would be absolutly devastated! Hope it's SC!

10-10-2010, 10:06 AM
Don't normally have a look but some interesting views on Clarke from Keekback also I did not realise Clarke played in the St Mirren team that helped Celtic win the league in '86.

"Seriously though, he is a very, very decent coach, only a football novice would deny that. He would make jeffries look like a dinosaur which is worrying!!!I'm genuinely worried he will take the post over there! He'd take a **** squad, manipulte it into an avearage squad and have them playing like a very good team."

"I'm a bit gutted he's considering it. He's a decent coach in his own right, but if he needs advice, he rings Mourinho! JJ rings Billy Brown.

It's Hibs though. They'll manage to ruin it/him."

"I think it'd be quite a bold, eyebrow raising appointment which, as it wouldn't be from the usual merry-go-round of SPL managers, would deserve credit. Fortunately though, it's Hibs, so it'd go wrong; and in the unlikely event it didn't, Clarke would be off to the Championship the moment he had a bit of success anyway.

Also, Steve Clarke played for St Mirren on 3 May 1986. Hate. Hate. Hate"

"and how the **** do you know that.What has he done except put out the cones for Mourhino"

"What like graham rix ya dick?

Steve Clarke is a no better coach than GR was. GR failed to get a league 2 job recently. Clarke is welcome to the Hibs job."

"Maybe he is an excellent coach and number two. Does not automatically mean he can be a successful number one."

"Has he been offered the job?

Would be surprised if he came back North of the border. I'm also sure it would be a pretty quick reality check when he see's the quality of player he would be working with.

My prediction would be Clarke to sit tight a while longer down South and end up with a job with a mid Championship side."

"To an extent a coach will improve a team, but you still need the players. That`s whats wrong nowadays, football fans think every coach/manager has a magic wand just because what they`ve done at other clubs but they don`t take into consideration the scenario at that particular time.

To me, above all else a manager is only as good as the players he signs or his judgement on adding players from the youth ranks.

Coaching, tactics etc...are just used to refine things and keep it ticking along....you`ll never turn pish players into geniuses no matter how good yer tactics are."

"Don't think any one really knows how he'd perform down ****** road.

He'd have contacts, yes. He's probably a very good coach but tactically, who knows, man management... again, who knows (something sorely lacking in Leith).

He'd be a risk, if it was us.... I'd have taken him around the time we were looking after frail and the rest, anyone would have done then... but if it was a throw up between JJ and him after Csaba I'd have went for JJ every time."

James.
10-10-2010, 10:21 AM
Don't normally have a look but some interesting views on Clarke from Keekback.

Did not realise Clarke played in the StMirren team that helped Celtic win the leagie in '86

Give him the job right now! :faf:

hibsfootsoldier
10-10-2010, 10:32 AM
steve clark is the man for the job i think.
very willing to take the chance on someone like him.
someone whos worked with the likes of mourinio(cant spell it) is got to be a big positive.
also i watched football icon a good few years ago now and he was the main man on it as he done all the youth stuff. and tbh he looked very good and very proffessional imo albiet was at chelsea but i think he could do that very well at easter road as we do have very good young players and are known for. hed be the best person to nurture young talents and by getting the best he could out of the pish we do have.
hard worker with amazing connections around the world.
ticks every box:greengrin
and i heard hes got family up here so he might just shock everyone with a move to leith
fingers crossed though

Dr Jimmy
10-10-2010, 10:42 AM
My mate bumped into him in Anstruther (sp?) a month ago and he said he was visiting family. My mate asked when he was getting back into football, he said he was enjoying the break, but wants to do something himself for his next move and be in charge.
This was all before Yogi got the chop, but sounds like he is up for a new challenge and role in football.

10-10-2010, 06:20 PM
Just checked the betting, who is Anthony Hudson?

Edinburgh Green
10-10-2010, 07:05 PM
Been sent a text saying he'll be appointed in a day or two.

10-10-2010, 07:16 PM
Been sent a text saying he'll be appointed in a day or two.

I notice Paddy Powers Hibs manager betting is suspended which may fit in with that.

sundo1875
10-10-2010, 07:19 PM
my mate texted me saying he will be appointed tomorow

Edinburgh Green
10-10-2010, 07:21 PM
my mate texted me saying he will be appointed tomorow

TBF Thats what i was sent as well, just thought i'd give myself an exta day leeway :greengrin

10-10-2010, 07:24 PM
Just checked the betting, who is Anthony Hudson?

According to wiki he is one of the youngest football coaches in the world 29. son of Alan Hudson EX stoke chelsea arsenal and england

sundo1875
10-10-2010, 07:24 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup:looks certain then

10-10-2010, 07:25 PM
Hills have him at 5/6 but greyed out so cannot be placed. :hmmm:

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/e/1494765/sp/Next-Hibernian-Manager.html

10-10-2010, 07:25 PM
TBF Thats what i was sent as well, just thought i'd give myself an exta day leeway :greengrin

Only cos everyone is reading hibs.net and texting each other.

I still think it will be Csaba Laszlo.

(Although i bet Steve Clarke at 12/1).

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 07:30 PM
I will be delighted on two fronts if this happens, one we get a world class coach and another I get 60 notes, happy days

10-10-2010, 07:36 PM
doubt this has anything to do wiht a manger being apointed but the lights are on a easter road and have been for a wee wile, im guessing that most likely case is testing for tomorrow night, iceland training on the pitch but you never know coul be that clarke/a.n other being appointed and been having photos done for the website to announce the morra etc. you never know :thumbsup:

blairwallace
10-10-2010, 07:37 PM
the thing that gets me excited is the thought of if this guy has good contacts! if he brings in a decent player to a fully build stadium, own training ground and no big debts then think of the possibilities :greengrin:greengrin

10-10-2010, 07:41 PM
Just stuck £50 on this at 8/11 with Victor Chandler. You better be right, or I'll post angry smiley icons.

orourke
10-10-2010, 07:51 PM
just out of interest , how many folk have had the steve clarke is next manager
text this evening ??

Edina Erin
10-10-2010, 07:54 PM
Just saw it on facebook from someone who posts on here.

Purehibee_MYB
10-10-2010, 07:54 PM
Only cos everyone is reading hibs.net and texting each other.

I still think it will be Csaba Laszlo.

(Although i bet Steve Clarke at 12/1).

I also bet Steve Clarke at 12/1! hope it works out on two fronts!

M11BMO
10-10-2010, 08:11 PM
Just got it.

18/03/07
10-10-2010, 08:13 PM
Not had the text yet

10-10-2010, 08:15 PM
Just saw it on facebook from someone who posts on here.

Me? :greengrin

10-10-2010, 08:16 PM
Is there a prize at stake for whoever says "yes"?

10-10-2010, 08:21 PM
Is there a prize at stake for whoever says "yes"?

What do I win?

10-10-2010, 08:23 PM
I feel lonely, can somebody send me the text?

On a serious note, i would be pretty delighted if he is named gaffer tomorrow :agree:

10-10-2010, 08:23 PM
Me

sundo1875
10-10-2010, 08:25 PM
Yes

10-10-2010, 08:27 PM
I've not. :greengrin

Riordans Boots
10-10-2010, 08:29 PM
I've not. :greengrin

Me neither :greengrin

Niffy
10-10-2010, 08:31 PM
I used to work at Belmont Vauxhall with a Steve Clarke.. mibbe it's him...

pandahfc
10-10-2010, 08:32 PM
Also had text.

1875er
10-10-2010, 08:34 PM
Not had a text but had call if that counts! :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

cavalier
10-10-2010, 08:37 PM
No text for me...

hibee4life1983
10-10-2010, 08:38 PM
Nae text, hope its true tho

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 08:38 PM
I have had no text or call but according to this thread there are people who have

oldbiker
10-10-2010, 08:39 PM
yip from three different people

10-10-2010, 08:42 PM
No I've not had that text.

But I've sent it to 28 different people I know who are all Hibs.:wink:

HibeeMG
10-10-2010, 08:44 PM
I have had no text or call but according to this thread there are people who have

I'm feeling even more left out. I've had neither a text or call. Nor have I had a text or call to say that some people have had a text or call. Who do I text or call to ask for a text or call?

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 08:49 PM
I'm feeling even more left out. I've had neither a text or call. Nor have I had a text or call to say that some people have had a text or call. Who do I text or call to ask for a text or call?

If you have to ask, do you deserve a text or call?

Fantic
Not had a text or a call but i'm hoping for a letter in the morning :greengrin

18/03/07
Its on the bounce saying that a well known poster on here has posted saying it is true about Clarke,but still not had a text

10-10-2010, 08:50 PM
Four times.

Leitherhibs
10-10-2010, 08:53 PM
Had the text 3 times confirming what i already suspected.

10-10-2010, 08:57 PM
The power of the internet, eh?

It's still just a rumour...

10-10-2010, 08:58 PM
What`s a text - is that something you young folk do??

I`ll only believe it when the carrier pigeon brings me the news - now, what about this Reilly chap, he sounds rather decent.

10-10-2010, 09:03 PM
Had the text 3 times confirming what i already suspected.

Unless the text came from Rod Petrie, it didn't confirm anything other than your mobile phone is working.

10-10-2010, 09:06 PM
Amazing how quickly gossip can spread....quite good fun actually.

10-10-2010, 09:08 PM
It's like the night before Stokes was signed all over again.

10-10-2010, 09:08 PM
Unless the text came from Rod Petrie, it didn't confirm anything other than your mobile phone is working.

C`mon, the `Tache isn`t gonna waste 5p of his money on a text now, is he!

10-10-2010, 09:09 PM
Oh, there's a text? Well then...congratulations S. Clarke on adopting the esteemed post of Hibernian manager.

10-10-2010, 09:10 PM
I've just eaten a packet of Frisps. F****ng class.

10-10-2010, 09:12 PM

I've just gotten a telegram claiming the exact opposite? :confused:

10-10-2010, 09:12 PM

Now, now. He would have used his text allowance on his bundle.

10-10-2010, 09:13 PM

Text it out or it's not true.

10-10-2010, 09:23 PM

He's on o2. £15 a month, free texts and calls to any o2 phone for the month. Why do you think we've missed out on some targets now and then? They're not o2. If Clarkey is not o2 then this rumour is BS!

northgreen24
10-10-2010, 09:23 PM
cant put a bet on anywhere so much be a done deal. bit. could have betted at evens today but good on everyone who took it at 12-1 as think the drinks will be on you:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

SidBurns
10-10-2010, 09:24 PM
I hate to say I told you all so!

10-10-2010, 09:27 PM
if the text i've just received is true, it seems that Steve Clarke is our new manager in which case it is only appropriate that he gets a thread dedicated to his disasterous reign so far...he's not won a single match, his accent makes me cringe when he's being interviewed and i hear that he's lost the dressing room...how long must we suffer this before Rod gives him his jotters?...Clarke must go!:grr:

Prawn Sandwich
10-10-2010, 09:29 PM
if the text i've just received is true, it seems that Steve Clarke is our new manager in which case it is only appropriate that he gets a thread dedicated to his disasterous reign so far...he's not won a single match, his accent makes me cringe when he's being interviewed and i hear that he's lost the dressing room...how long must we suffer this before Rod gives him his jotters?...Clarke must go!:grr:

You beat me to it!:grr:

Prawn Sandwich
10-10-2010, 09:33 PM
If I phoned a friend and asked them to send me a text saying Clarke is the next Hibs manager, would that still count?

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 09:35 PM
I hate to say I told you all so!

Its the good kind of I told you so though

tooley
10-10-2010, 09:36 PM
Yip along with the Riordan rumour

10-10-2010, 09:40 PM
Yip along with the Riordan rumour

what rumour is that?

10-10-2010, 09:44 PM
Hills have him at 5/6 but greyed out so cannot be placed. :hmmm:

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/e/1494765/sp/Next-Hibernian-Manager.html

all it says now is betting no longer available

10-10-2010, 09:45 PM
I think he should be given one last chance against Kilmarnock, but if we don't win that one he should be out.

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 09:45 PM
what rumour is that?

I reckon he maybe referring to the night we all thought riordan had signed a new contract before he left to celtic

10-10-2010, 09:47 PM
I reckon he maybe referring to the night we all thought riordan had signed a new contract before he left to celtic

ah right, thank **** for that:greengrin

emmjayfox
10-10-2010, 09:47 PM
and as for the shape of his head ....

:taxi for clarkey:greengrin

hibbymac
10-10-2010, 09:50 PM
What about his accent ...... he's no fae Leith, is he. :bitchy: It'll never last.

10-10-2010, 09:51 PM
Not to forget the complete clap-trap he talks at after match press conferences.. Its the same old crap every week...

Green&White
10-10-2010, 09:53 PM
IF Steve Clarke is the new boss which is looking more likely by the second.

Who will be his number 2?

With Him never being the number 1, thus never having an assistant I've no idea who it would be or who it should be.

Ideas? Thoughts?

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 09:54 PM
cant put a bet on anywhere so much be a done deal. bit. could have betted at evens today but good on everyone who took it at 12-1 as think the drinks will be on you:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Thank you:wink::thumbsup::agree:, cheeky 60 notes will hopefully be mine tomorrow.

10-10-2010, 09:57 PM

:greengrin Yep, this has monumental scope to backfire.

blairwallace
10-10-2010, 09:58 PM
are we forgetting the 18 players almost out of contract and no signings of other players!!!!!! Clarke GTF!!! give calderwoods the job!

10-10-2010, 10:01 PM
I think he should be given one last chance against Kilmarnock, but if we don't win that one he should be out.

WTF kind of Hibs fan would give him the chance to take us into a relegation battle? CLARKE OUT NOW!!!!1!!1!! :grr::grr::grr:

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 10:01 PM
Maybe he might let Gareth Evans be his number two? Of course he might go on with a completely fresh view and therefore want a man with no previous spl experience and pick a player who has just recently retired to aid him.

Aubenas
10-10-2010, 10:05 PM
Yep - may promote Gareth for his SPL experience and bring in his own reserve/youth coach from previous experience

10-10-2010, 10:12 PM
IF Steve Clarke is the new boss which is looking more likely by the second.

Who will be his number 2?

With Him never being the number 1, thus never having an assistant I've no idea who it would be or who it should be.

Ideas? Thoughts?

Allan Preston was just saying the other day he would like to get back in to the day to day stuff:greengrin

Leitherhibs
10-10-2010, 10:14 PM
Denis Wise.

10-10-2010, 10:14 PM
Billy Stark would be perfect as he can continue his involvement with the SFA

10-10-2010, 10:15 PM
Pish website. Not Hibs class.:greengrin

10-10-2010, 10:15 PM
not hibs class

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 10:17 PM
Billy Stark would be perfect as he can continue his involvement with the SFA

I like the sound of that

10-10-2010, 10:18 PM
Well I for one am ready to give him a chance but the first time he says 'we gave it a right good go' I'm phoning Rod :greengrin

Fantic
10-10-2010, 10:24 PM
I dare anyone to come on here and defend him!

blairwallace
10-10-2010, 10:28 PM
he's very passionate about the club and gave it a right good go, gave 100% effort and am very proud of ma lad! it's just a luck thing and we just didnny hit form!:boo hoo:

10-10-2010, 10:29 PM
"Brian....we are only 34 games into the season man..............."

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 10:45 PM
Couple of guys on the bounce reckon it will be this guy who comes in to assist clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campbell_Money, sounds good to me tbh.

GGTTH:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

blairwallace
10-10-2010, 11:12 PM
Couple of guys on the bounce reckon it will be this guy who comes in to assist clarke http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campbell_Money, sounds good to me tbh.

I can see why rod would want this guy

10-10-2010, 11:16 PM

Amazing how quickly gossip can spread....

:greengrin Yep, this has monumental scope to backfire.

This better be gold-plated. If it's just gossip ultimately leading to a mass outbreak of disappointment amongst the Hibs support then it's not going to be at all easy for the guy who eventually gets the Manager's job.

Unless it's Mourinho. :greengrin

Manxhibs
10-10-2010, 11:19 PM

This better be gold-plated. If it's just gossip ultimately leading to a mass outbreak of disappointment amongst the Hibs support then it's not going to be at all easy for the guy who eventually gets the Manager's job.

My heart is now set on clarke being the next boss and youre right if its not him now, the new boss will start on the back foot with me unfortunately.

deeks01
11-10-2010, 12:01 AM

WTF? the cumnock juniors manager? get tae **** :S if he gets anywhere near hibs I may actually cry!!

11-10-2010, 06:06 AM

Not necessarily. It just means that a fair number of us rushed to put a bet on when we heard the rumours.

11-10-2010, 07:05 AM

I've just posted on the mega thread - Paul Le Guen in talks about the Hibs job, if he doesn't get it ex Mourinho assistant at Porto and Chelsea Baltemar Brito in line. Source - this morning's Times, quoting a source close to the club.

11-10-2010, 07:17 AM
i was getting texts from all my fellow hibby's last night saying clarke would be announced today as manager.. i'm thinking it's a load of p!!!!!!!sh...

why do folk make things up

11-10-2010, 07:23 AM
i was getting texts from all my fellow hibby's last night saying clarke would be announced today as manager.. i'm thinking it's a load of p!!!!!!!sh...

sure there was a thread on here last night saying the same thing, the problem is it just takes one person to send a text and it just gets passed on from there and soon becomes fact.

Hope it is fact:greengrin

11-10-2010, 07:24 AM

Theres are lots of reasons people make things up stroke their ego, importance, others taking notice of them, wind up merchants etc etc...Or they may just be mistaken..

Personally from what I have read I wouldnt say that in this instance..Suppose we just have to wait and see..

11-10-2010, 07:28 AM

Why do you think it's made up pish? It's only half 8!

11-10-2010, 07:33 AM
cause i'm impatient and i was expecting him to be signed before i got to work!!
means i'm now going to have to do work until any news is confirmed..

i'll retract the pish statement if and when :greengrin

11-10-2010, 07:36 AM
I suppose just because loads of folk seem so certain they could expect an announcement today...Not guaranteed..

11-10-2010, 07:41 AM
Until Steve Clarke has been spotted on the No26 LRT bus, i'm taking all this texting with a pinch of salt!!

11-10-2010, 07:42 AM
I've just posted on the mega thread - Paul Le Guen in talks about the Hibs job, if he doesn't get it ex Mourinho assistant at Porto and Chelsea Baltemar Brito in line. Source - this morning's Times, quoting a source close to the club.

The interesting thing about this story is that it was written by Speirs, who was Le Guen's biographer here and remains a close associate...so probably has a lot of truth in it.....

11-10-2010, 07:46 AM
Possible that plg has been in talks but that others ie clarke have been too. As Spiers clearly has links with plg, he is looking to portray him as the foremost candidate.

11-10-2010, 07:49 AM
I think it is Clarke, but at no point have I heard it will be announced today.

11-10-2010, 07:58 AM
I would be really surprised if there was an announcement today.

The board said last Tuesday that it ould take the necessary time to get the right man for the job.

It's only been a week since Yogi left so I doubt all the candidates have been interviewed yet.

Having said that, I was wrong once before though. :greengrin

11-10-2010, 08:07 AM
I would be really surprised if there was an announcement today.

The board said last Tuesday that it ould take the necessary time to get the right man for the job.

It's only been a week since Yogi left so I doubt all the candidates have been interviewed yet.

Having said that, I was wrong once before though. :greengrin

An announcement today would be good though, would mean Clarke could take in the Under 21 game as Hibs manager.

11-10-2010, 08:07 AM
Don't think it will be announced today as his number 2 has a big match on tonight, although it might be good for him to go to ER and see a couple of his lads at work

11-10-2010, 08:11 AM
Although he didn't have a great deal of success at Rangers, PLG would be a major coup. Johnny Collins footballing philosophy is similar to that of Le Guen is it not?

11-10-2010, 08:16 AM
Until Steve Clarke has been spotted on the No26 LRT bus, i'm taking all this texting with a pinch of salt!!

**** I seen him on the 22 as well, so close but so far:grr:

Prawn Sandwich
11-10-2010, 08:16 AM

He might get the No13? That could cause further confusion.:confused:

11-10-2010, 08:17 AM
Although he didn't have a great deal of success at Rangers, PLG would be a major coup. Johnny Collins footballing philosophy is similar to that of Le Guen is it not?

He hasn't had any success since rangers either though, seems to just go from job to job and never for very long at any club/country.

11-10-2010, 09:00 AM
I have to say no to Le Guen - aren't we forgetting how he was involved in all the dressing room nonsense with Barry Ferguson and Kris Boyd? How would he cope with our lot any differently? :confused:

11-10-2010, 09:18 AM
I have to say no to Le Guen - aren't we forgetting how he was involved in all the dressing room nonsense with Barry Ferguson and Kris Boyd? How would he cope with our lot any differently? :confused:

Not sure if he'd be any use or not at Hibs - and seriously doubt he'd be interested - but presumably he's learned from his experience. In France he would have been working with players who had spent their formative years away from home at club academies, where it's probably easier to influence their behaviour and attitudes. He came to a different culture and tried to transfer these behaviours and attitudes to a squad of 'grown-ups':rolleyes:, who have lived and developed differently. Much as I agree with his approach to professional football, his mistake - and J.C's - was failing to get his players onside with his project.

11-10-2010, 09:25 AM
Clarke's name has been in there since the beginning and normally with a guy at that type of level he'd be in sharpish to say he wasn't interested and wated to manage in England if that was the case.

For that reason I think the silence suggests it will be him.

11-10-2010, 09:26 AM
Clarke's name has been in there since the beginning and normally with a guy at that type of level he'd be in sharpish to say he wasn't interested and wated to manage in England if that was the case.

Petrie has him gagged in his office :wink:

Mac
11-10-2010, 09:34 AM

Have to agree Andy, there just seems to be way too much talk surrounding him, bookies arent usually that wrong either, as you say with the speculation and not so much as one sentence from Clarke or his representatives trying to distance himself from it all, silence is deafening.

11-10-2010, 09:52 AM
Petrie has him gagged in his office :wink:

Petrie needs to get his sexual devience in check, I have it on good authority it's why JC walked:agree:

11-10-2010, 09:53 AM
Petrie needs to get his sexual devience in check, I have it on good authority it's why JC walked:agree:
:cool2:

11-10-2010, 09:57 AM
Have to agree Andy, there just seems to be way too much talk surrounding him, bookies arent usually that wrong either, as you say with the speculation and not so much as one sentence from Clarke or his representatives trying to distance himself from it all, silence is deafening.

Anyone have the latest odds?

11-10-2010, 09:58 AM

Yup this is what I heard as well although I understood he couldn't walk for a few days after said encounter....

11-10-2010, 10:02 AM

http://bettingzone.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/hibernian-specials/next-permanent-manager

11-10-2010, 10:02 AM

Clarke 1/3
Brito 3/1

http://www.skybet.com/betting/football/manager-specials/t10002896.html

11-10-2010, 10:10 AM
I'am currently down at easter road and there seems to be more cars than usual in the car park.

11-10-2010, 10:13 AM
Clarke 1/3
Brito 3/1

http://www.skybet.com/betting/football/manager-specials/t10002896.html

Odds also back on Hills site with Clarke at 4/9 fav, O'Neill next at 7/2.

No mention of Brito. :dunno:

11-10-2010, 10:14 AM
I'am currently down at easter road and there seems to be more cars than usual in the car park.

There's a car boot sale on.

ivan03
11-10-2010, 10:30 AM
clarke to be confirmed, possibly as early as tomorrow :)

hibbymac
11-10-2010, 10:36 AM

Maybe because there is an International game there tonight.

11-10-2010, 10:45 AM
clarke to be confirmed, possibly as early as tomorrow :)

Thats what I heard

ivan03
11-10-2010, 10:52 AM
just got a text from a mate saying steve clark and billy stark will be announced as the new easter rd team tomorrow!
i dunno why it would be stark as his number 2?

source is seeminly "straight out of easter rd"

11-10-2010, 10:53 AM
Probably loads happening at ER due to a big U21 game on tonight and for that reason i can't see anything getting announced today.

11-10-2010, 11:00 AM
just got a text from a mate saying steve clark and billy stark will be announced as the new easter rd team tomorrow!

Just heard the same thing outside the Hibs shop about an hour ago

11-10-2010, 11:00 AM
Possibly delayed announcement until the morn to avoid distracting the u21s tonight?

thehibby
11-10-2010, 11:01 AM

i heard it was clark and campbell money?

11-10-2010, 11:02 AM

Very good if true!

I heard that Clarke was the new boss but no word of the assistant.

Would they have been at St Mirren at the same time?

He's done very well with the under 21.

ancienthibby
11-10-2010, 11:08 AM
Very good if true!

I heard that Clarke was the new boss but no word of the assistant.

[B]Would they have been at St Mirren at the same time?

He's done very well with the under 21.

Correct!
Stark there 7/75 to 6/83;
Clarke there 1/81 to 1/87.

11-10-2010, 11:09 AM
I heard Stark is due to arrive at ER sometime this afternoon...

Deano Mourinho
11-10-2010, 11:10 AM

Funny that

11-10-2010, 11:10 AM

:wink: :greengrin

half.time.draw.
11-10-2010, 11:13 AM

Yep straight from the Bench!:wink:

11-10-2010, 11:13 AM
Probably loads happening at ER due to a big U21 game on tonight and for that reason i can't see anything getting announced today.

On the other hand all the media will be there tonight anyway, Petrie may see the benefit of saving the expense of turning the lights on again tomorrow night :wink:

11-10-2010, 11:16 AM
Correct!
Stark there 7/75 to 6/83;
Clarke there 1/81 to 1/87.

If this is not just a lot of smoke i will be very impressed at Hibs for pulling this off.

Clarke is widely renowned as being an excellent coach and although not cut his teeth as a no1 yet i am sure he will have the man management skills to sort out our rabble and get us playing some decent football. For all the people who will question that....Jose Mourinho said of him he was more than capable of managing a big club!

As for Billy Stark i would have been happy to get him as no1 never mine no2!!!

Could be a really exciting appointment for Hibs and if it does come off i will look like this :greengrin for 2 weeks or so.

Although i still fully expect Tangoman or someone of his ilk to be announced :boo hoo:

11-10-2010, 11:19 AM

Makes sense since if Stark is coming as Clarke's management assistant at Hibs, then an announcement today would possibly detract from the U/21 match which Stark is heavily involved in and that would be unfortunate for the u/21's IMO! :agree:

Personally delighted if it proves correct that Clarke and Stark will be the new Hibs management team! :agree:

alex74
11-10-2010, 11:20 AM
Just heard the same thing outside the Hibs shop about an hour ago

:wink:just heard its clark and cambell mooney

Aubenas
11-10-2010, 11:21 AM
I saw Stark walking along Glasgow Rd by the Marriott yesterday morning - he was followed by what looked like the cream of Scottish U21 talent - all of them!!!!
So - not only is he gonna sign but he's obviously already targeted the best of young talent to sign for.......what's that? Oh!:greengrin

11-10-2010, 11:22 AM
Was Campbell Money in goals the day St Mirren lost 0-5 to Celtic in 1986?

In fact was Steve Clarke in the team as well?

11-10-2010, 11:39 AM
Clarke and Stark sounds like a very interesting management team.
Would be very pleased if it turns out to be the case :agree:

Fingers, and toes crossed :greengrin

WellingtonHibby
11-10-2010, 11:41 AM

's That like "Straight Outta Compton...?"

all Gangsta' ?:wink:

thehibby
11-10-2010, 11:42 AM
Makes sense since if Stark is coming as Clarke's management assistant at Hibs, then an announcement today would possibly detract from the U/21 match which Stark is heavily involved in and that would be unfortunate for the u/21's IMO! :agree:

Personally delighted if it proves correct that Clarke and Stark will be the new Hibs management team! :agree:

100% clark and campbell money

legends of 73
11-10-2010, 11:44 AM
Was Campbell Money in goals the day St Mirren lost 0-5 to Celtic in 1986?

In fact was Steve Clarke in the team as well?

No Jim Stewart was in goals remember it like it was yesterday lol

11-10-2010, 11:46 AM
Earlier rumours were saying Money but if we could pull off stark as No2 that would be far better. Stark would have a better working knowledge of the Scottish game.

aberhibsfc
11-10-2010, 11:47 AM
Earlier rumours were saying Money but if we could pull off stark as No2 that would be far better. Stark would have a better working knowledge of the Scottish game.

11-10-2010, 11:50 AM
Sounds like a very elaborate wind-up....

11-10-2010, 11:55 AM
If stark was to come you would have to assume he would also carry on with Scotland on a pt basis.

11-10-2010, 11:55 AM
I'd be surprised if Hibs have let anything slip on this!

If true though would be a good team to get a hold of. I've dealt with Billy Stark a lot in the past and have a great deal of time for him.

cheltenhamhibee
11-10-2010, 12:04 PM

he could be a good number two, but i'm no going ''tae pull him off'' each tae there own eh !! lol

Dr_Regal
11-10-2010, 12:07 PM

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Absolutely delighted if this is true.

roondheid
11-10-2010, 12:11 PM
If it is to be Clarke and Money, you would think Hibs would unveil them today whilst the media focus is on Easter Rd?

If it's Clarke & Stark, you can understand while they would wait until tomorrow.

11-10-2010, 12:12 PM

There's a car boot sale on.

Good way to get rid of unwanted players. Another first for the Hibees :greengrin

11-10-2010, 12:15 PM
Good way to get rid of unwanted players. Another first for the Hibees :greengrin

Never mind the car, just give them the boot! :thumbsup:

Manxhibs
11-10-2010, 12:20 PM
Then use the cars to drive the unwanted out of easter road, happy days

11-10-2010, 12:32 PM
No Jim Stewart was in goals remember it like it was yesterday lol

I remember it too. I went to love street that day. Hibs top & scarf and supported ............................................Dundee . :greengrin

Totally confused the smelltic support. Happy days !!! :bye:

11-10-2010, 12:35 PM
Never mind the car, just give them the boot! :thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 12:36 PM
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Absolutely delighted if this is true.

Not to cause upset. but why? :confused:

SurferRosa
11-10-2010, 12:45 PM
If this is true, the appointment of Clarke and Stark would make me one happy Hibee :greengrin.

11-10-2010, 12:49 PM
This would be a massive coup for the club, any team in Scotland and probably more than a few in the Championship would bite your hand off for Clarke and Stark as a pairing.

Praise be to the Tasche and the rest of the Board for such an ambitious appointment, will send a message loud and clear that we mean business, on the park as well as off.

11-10-2010, 12:52 PM
Hope it really is Clarke and Stark; Otherwise what a pointless 20+ page thread this will turn out to be.

This management team would sort us out I reckon and get bums back on seats and with all the players out of contract soon, a REAL chance to finally have a fresh start and new direction since the Mowbray/JC days.

11-10-2010, 01:08 PM
It will not be Stark because Rod will not knock back any sort of 'Money' coming into Easter Road :wink: :greengrin

11-10-2010, 01:13 PM
Is this actually going to happen? Got a bad feeling this is all just talk and its never going to happen.
If it does I will be a very happy hibby

Russian Hibs Fan
11-10-2010, 01:14 PM
This is a great choice for us. But hardly he will come to Leith?

11-10-2010, 01:32 PM
I like the idea of Clarke and Stark apart from them both knowing the game inside out, and the contacts they have, I think it would mean that if Clarke was to go to a bigger club, some continuity could be in place with Stark taking over as No1.

Dr_Regal
11-10-2010, 01:37 PM
Not to cause upset. but why? :confused:

I wanted Clarke since the beginning of this thread, when it was clearly a noise up.
I feel this 15 page thread has helped him get it if he does.

I would be happier with Stark as the No.2

11-10-2010, 02:04 PM
I wanted Clarke since the beginning of this thread, when it was clearly a noise up.

11-10-2010, 02:08 PM

Anyone know what Campbell Money has been doing recently, is he employed with any club??

11-10-2010, 02:10 PM
Anyone know what Campbell Money has been doing recently, is he employed with any club??

As of summer 2009 Campbell Money took up the role of SFYI Development and Monitoring Co-ordinator at the SFA.

From Wiki

hibs1989
11-10-2010, 02:15 PM
Chnaces are if Clarke comes in he will bring Jim Duffy in as number 2 ;-) he worked with him at chelsea ;-)

11-10-2010, 02:26 PM
Chnaces are if Clarke comes in he will bring Jim Duffy in as number 2 ;-) he worked with him at chelsea ;-)

:grr::grr::grr:

Don't even joke about that

11-10-2010, 02:29 PM
Was Mourinho's assistant... Might have some decent Contacts. :thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 02:33 PM

Galacticos has a nice ring to it :greengrin

11-10-2010, 03:05 PM

Aye taught steve clarke everything he knows apparently, along with everyone else duffy has ever met:blah::blah::blah::blah:

alex74
11-10-2010, 03:30 PM
Anyone know what Campbell Money has been doing recently, is he employed with any club??if it is campbell money at least he has a goalkeeping academy there to work with lol

11-10-2010, 06:03 PM

Mourinho as Clarke's no.2, perhaps.............. :greengrin

11-10-2010, 06:15 PM
just heard its clark and cambell mooney

I huv herd diferrent likess:greengrin

11-10-2010, 06:32 PM
I huv herd diferrent likess:greengrin

Wot av u herd likes m8?

11-10-2010, 06:35 PM
Wot av u herd likes m8?

Removed aw mahn lol peace oot

11-10-2010, 08:04 PM
Wot av u herd likes m8?

Nothing. Was trying (appears unsuccessfully) to be a smartarse regarding the quoted post spelling:embarrass

11-10-2010, 09:07 PM
Press conference / announcement confirmed for tomorrow at ER according to Richard Gordon etc on the radio after the Scotland game.:thumbsup:

alex74
11-10-2010, 09:11 PM
Press conference / announcement confirmed for tomorrow at ER according to Richard Gordon etc on the radio after the Scotland game.:thumbsup:serious

11-10-2010, 09:17 PM
Press conference / announcement confirmed for tomorrow at ER according to Richard Gordon etc on the radio after the Scotland game.:thumbsup:

serious

Nope.

He said the Paul Kane had said there was to be a press conference today.

So Gordon said, "definitely tomorrow then." Pure speculation.

And all because of hibs.net. :thumbsup:

11-10-2010, 09:18 PM

That's not what he said. He heard a RUMOUR that there was a press conference for tomorrow!!!!!
He knows as much as we do.
Knowing Hibs when they do, they will unveil someone we won't expect.

micksoo
11-10-2010, 09:20 PM
That's not what he said. He heard a RUMOUR that there was a press conference for tomorrow!!!!!

That's how I heard it

11-10-2010, 09:25 PM

I've his home number. I'll give him a ring for you all. If he answers "Bridge of Weir" 0707 then you know where he's heading!

Manxhibs
11-10-2010, 09:25 PM
If Tango man is announced tomorrow I think I might move to tibet

11-10-2010, 09:27 PM

11-10-2010, 09:30 PM

If he is Petrie's Tasche will be hanging on my wall by 6pm!

Last Minute
11-10-2010, 09:34 PM

Get it right Sandy :wink:

NthCarolinaHibs
11-10-2010, 09:38 PM
If Tango man is announced tomorrow I think I might move to tibetIf that happens, ah'm taking the 'For Sale' sign down on ma house, and staying here :agree:

11-10-2010, 09:54 PM

If he can turn Nish into Drogba,he'll do for me!

aberhibsfc
11-10-2010, 10:13 PM

Me too, I could stand that wee orange baw scratcher managing Hibs.

aberhibsfc
11-10-2010, 10:15 PM
If he can turn Nish into Drogba,he'll do for me!

More likely turn Drogba into Nish, god knows what he'd turn Nish into.

TBH, he would be a good manager for someone, just not us. :pray:

hibee bouncer
11-10-2010, 10:22 PM
More likely turn Drogba into Nish, god knows what he'd turn Nish into.

TBH, he would be a good manager for someone, just not us. :pray:

Why not us?

12-10-2010, 09:29 AM

If Tangoman is announced as our manager i swear i'll do time.:grr:

Giant_Midget
12-10-2010, 10:29 AM
I am not claiming to be in the know or anything like that, but I got a text last night saying that its going to be Clarke with Billy Stark as No.2 - to be announced on Thursday.

(If already posted, sorry but couldnt be bothered to read through all the pages!

SidBurns
12-10-2010, 10:35 AM
I am not claiming to be in the know or anything like that, but I got a text last night saying that its going to be Clarke with Billy Stark as No.2 - to be announced on Thursday.

(If already posted, sorry but couldnt be bothered to read through all the pages!

Correct!

There has been a slight hold-up but it WILL be confirmed as again I said this time last week!

Should've taken the 25/1 when it was on the table, god damn it!

Purehibee_MYB
12-10-2010, 10:37 AM
Correct!

There has been a slight hold-up but it WILL be confirmed as again I said this time last week!

I was happy taking it at 12/1... But why has it been held-up I understand delaying it til today or wednesday due to the Scotland Under 21's if Stark is the assistant but why delay it so much further... Hope hes working with the players already if this is all true

12-10-2010, 10:45 AM
I was happy taking it at 12/1... But why has it been held-up I understand delaying it til today or wednesday due to the Scotland Under 21's if Stark is the assistant but why delay it so much further... Hope hes working with the players already if this is all true

I imagine our new incumbents will watch the team from the stands on Saturday to fully take in the task they have ahead of them...

12-10-2010, 10:46 AM

Correct!

Have you ever heard the phrase 'viral' - as in a viral email or a viral text? :confused:

Just because everyone's getting text messages doesn't mean it's going to happen! it just means everyone's spreading the same rumour. That's ALL it is a rumour

Hibs are very, very good at keeping these things under wraps. We've already said we're not in a rush.

As for Stark being #2 - that was a rumour started by someone on here, who had a 'gut feel' FFS!

12-10-2010, 10:53 AM
Have you ever heard the phrase 'viral' - as in a viral email or a viral text? :confused:

Just because everyone's getting text messages doesn't mean it's going to happen! it just means everyone's spreading the same rumour. That's ALL it is a rumour

Hibs are very, very good at keeping these things under wraps. We've already said we're not in a rush.

As for Stark being #2 - that was a rumour started by someone on here, who had a 'gut feel' FFS!

I thought that came from someone within Easter Road?

Not that it brings any more truth to it......:greengrin

12-10-2010, 11:58 AM
Not anything being reported in the Scotsman or EEN about a new manager either they know nothing or they know that an announcement is close.

12-10-2010, 12:30 PM
Not anything being reported in the Scotsman or EEN about a new manager either they know nothing or they know that an announcement is close.

I think they know nothing. :greengrin

12-10-2010, 12:32 PM
I think they know nothing. :greengrin

Very likely, mind you that doesn't normally stop them from making something up. :greengrin

12-10-2010, 01:30 PM
Would be delighted if it was clarke but still think it will be someone like colin calderwood or maybe or possibly a foreign coach with good knowledge of the scottish game(not stuart baxter btw).We shall see but dont expect any announcement till friday or monday going by what hibs and petrie have done in the past.The delay suggests the candidates they interviewed or who sent application forms in arent what they were looking for and the guy they want is in a job(coach)and they are negotiating with him.Just a hunch.

Giant_Midget
12-10-2010, 01:53 PM
Wiki can be just as bad as football rumours. :wink:

The quicker something is announced the better, we have a huge game against Killie on Saturday...I know its only October, but this is a huge game already.

Something a mate pointed out to me years has always stuck in my mind tho...when teams empty their manager they always seem to win their next game...so maybe next Monday will do! (just joking)!

12-10-2010, 09:16 PM
So from people in the know....

Clarke could be unveiled in a press conference tommorow? Am or Pm? :greengrin

13-10-2010, 06:39 AM

He could be. :wink:

13-10-2010, 09:09 AM
I spoke to Dave McPherson at the gym yesterday and he said he'd be surprised if Clarke came up here for a job as England was probably his more likely option, seeing he'd played and coached there for years.

13-10-2010, 09:10 AM
I spoke to Dave McPherson at the gym yesterday and he said he'd be surprised if Clarke came up here for a job as England was probably his more likely option, seeing he'd played and coached there for years.

Is that Donkey Dave McPherson?

maybe take that with a pinch of salt then:greengrin

13-10-2010, 09:13 AM
One thing for sure. It will be a massive disappointment if Steve Clarke is not appointed after all the recent speculation.

Fingers crossed the RUMOURS have some substance to them.

HenryMonk
13-10-2010, 09:18 AM

He could be. :wink:

is that maybe today or tomorrow? definately maybe!!

HenryMonk
13-10-2010, 09:19 AM
Is that Donkey Dave McPherson?

maybe take that with a pinch of salt then:greengrin

no! its dave the gossiping taxi driver mcpherson :wink:

13-10-2010, 09:33 AM
One thing for sure. It will be a massive disappointment if Steve Clarke is not appointed after all the recent speculation.

Fingers crossed the RUMOURS have some substance to them.

Not for me it won't.

13-10-2010, 09:38 AM

what does that permed Hearts donkey know about Clarke?

13-10-2010, 09:48 AM
I got told on Monday that Clarke would be appointed on Tuesday but that didn't happen.. Does anyone have a reliable source saying or hinting that he'll be appointed later this week?

13-10-2010, 09:57 AM
I got told on Monday that Clarke would be appointed on Tuesday but that didn't happen.. Does anyone have a reliable source saying or hinting that he'll be appointed later this week?

I got told at the weekend that Clarke would be appointed early this week. It is now past "early this week".

I think alot of us are going to be disappointed if Clarke isn't announced as manager.

13-10-2010, 10:00 AM
Im sure Clarke was on 500K per year at The Hammers, doubt he'd take the wage drop.

13-10-2010, 10:10 AM
Im sure Clarke was on 500K per year at The Hammers, doubt he'd take the wage drop.

Bit more than that. He was on £1,258,400 a year. I very much doubt he'd come to Hibs. He must price himself way above what we can afford.

Unless of course he couldn't resist the challenge!

13-10-2010, 10:12 AM

How much is he on right now? Is he likely to get a 10k a week contract anywhere in the EPL.

Edit, Clarke signed a 4 year £1m+ contract in April 2009. West Ham must've coughed up close on £3m to sack him.

13-10-2010, 10:21 AM
That'll be that then!

13-10-2010, 10:34 AM
How much is he on right now? Is he likely to get a 10k a week contract anywhere in the EPL.

Edit, Clarke signed a 4 year £1m+ contract in April 2009. West Ham must've coughed up close on £3m to sack him.

So, he's got (alot of) money in the Bank. And he's not working in football currently and will miss it.

He will need to start somewhere in management and won't be starting anywhere on £1m+ per year. So everyone will pay him less than he was on (but with money in the Bank this shouldn't be the issue, in effect).

In our favour we have; a reasonable profile, a track record in developing and selling talent for a profit, 16 players out of contract (which must be a HUGE plus) an excellent training facility and a modern stadium/great pitch.

He will know that if he were to do a good job with Hibs then he can step up to the EPL or the CCC and the big time, but he has to start somewhere so why not with us :dunno: