View Full Version : Match Updates *** Rangers vs Hibs***
14-02-2010, 02:23 PM
A win midweek sends us 4 clear and easier games to come
Yep - I'm pretty sure the Arabs have a fairly tough run of fixtures coming up in the next few weeks too?
Disappointing manner of defeat (as it ended up pretty emphatic) but it's only one game.
EasterRoad4Ever
14-02-2010, 02:24 PM
Gow was shockingly bad though.
:agree: Gotta be said, worst player n the park.
Yogi just smacked K Miller across the heid jokingly as he came off the park, should've hit him harder Yogi.
Sorry but just not good enough. No-one should even consider us good enough for 3rd to be honest. Nice spells of passing football but we are a mediocre side at best. Don't start me on Bamba :boo hoo:
:jamboak::bye:
shamo9
Well, the playing 'well' in parts. We did in the first half. Rangers score with their first real chance and the last 10 minutes makes it seem like an 'easy' win. Landed up a comfortable win but i'd bet at half time Rangers fans were not so confident.
also, going by Motherwell's performance last Saturday, they are not very good.
3 - 0.
My only complaint and certainly not saying he has been responsible for this defeat but I can't fathom why Hughes starts Gow, who is clearly not up to the speed of the game.
He was obviously reading .net and the numerous threads calling for Riordan's head.
Gutted, but i think we had one shot on target all game, thats just not good enough, we need to pick it up for the next game, cmon the Hibs....
patlowe
14-02-2010, 02:25 PM
Looks like standard fare in Glasgow tbh. Hibs on top in the first half, Rangers players and fans get on the back of ref/hibs players. Hibs players/ref crack under the pressure and lose all composure. Better teams than hibs have lost like that at Ibrox. Move on.
Just no fight in the second half, soon as the 1st went in the heads went down. ****in hate those *******s:grr:
blaikie
God Save the Queen....oh dear :grr:
There is no God!! Bye Bye lizzy :greengrin
AllyF
No fight whatsoever in the second half. Pathetic.
James.
Sorry but just not good enough. No-one should even consider us good enough for 3rd to be honest. Nice spells of passing football but we are a mediocre side at best. Don't start me on Bamba :boo hoo:
Here we go with the knee jerk reactions.
A bit of perspective, we've hardly been disgraced today, we were up against a very solid Rangers team who've lost once in the league at Ibrox in almost a year. Apart from a very dubious penalty Bamba did ok.
Can't really say anyone had a stinker today and I'll reserve judgement on Gow just now as people were bleating on about Stokes after a few games when he was clearly not match fit.
I trust Yogi to have us raring to go for the match against the Super Js on Wednesday.
Keep the Faith.
Ell_Chrisso
14-02-2010, 02:26 PM
Give it a rest!
Would you have made the same post at half time? i dont see it, nor think soo!
Keep the faith eh? We were out played 2nd half, and that decided the game, as we didn't take any of our chances. Bring on midweek!
Yep - I'm pretty sure the Arabs have a fairly tough run of fixtures coming up in the next few weeks too?
They're at Parkhead on Saturday, at home to Falkirk and Hertz, then away to Aberdeen.
SaudiHibby
:jamboak::bye:
What's your problem :confused:
shamo9
14-02-2010, 02:27 PM
They're at Parkhead on Saturday, at home to Falkirk and Hertz, then away to Aberdeen.
That's considered tough:confused:
Don't start me on Bamba :boo hoo:
The quicker we get him sold the better, Hogg?, captain?, aye righto, a shocking 2nd half defensive performance from us against a pish poor hun team that only started playing when the cheat came on, how many times did Liam Miller give the ball away today?, get it sorted John as we have a tough trip to Perth on Wednesday then on to Murderwell
Well that your knee jerk reaction was complete rubbish. Bamba is brilliant. Hibs played good first half, just lost the fight when they scored. To say we are a mediocre side is just funny. I think the league table will tell you otherwise that we are good enough for 3rd.
Hence why he said that winning the game and bouncing back quickly was so important.
And who is disagreeing I’m Sure the poster can speak for himself or are you his PR manager :confused:
So which other side do you think are good enough for 3rd???? and what about Bamba, was he at fault for the defeat??? Get a grip!!!!
biggie1875
you canni be serious :confused:
the_ginger_hibee
Second half was terrible. Rangers weren't that good either to be honest. The fact they ended up winning 3-0 and didn't really have to work for it just highlights our capitulation.
14-02-2010, 02:28 PM
Pretty sure he was suggesting that as your post is so ridiculous you must be a jambo.
I've no idea if your a jambo or if you just talk pish, i'd say your definately one of the two though.
SaudiHibby
The quicker we get him sold the better, Hogg?, captain?, aye righto, a shocking 2nd half defensive performance from us against a pish poor hun team that only started playing when the cheat came on, how many times did Liam Miller give the ball away today?, get it sorted John as we have a tough trip to Perth on Wednesday then on to Murderwell
Careful you'll get called a yam :greengrin
One shot at on target in 90mins is simply not good enough :grr:
Alan Gow :zzzzz!:
14-02-2010, 02:29 PM
So which other side do you think are good enough for 3rd???? and what about Bamba, was he at fault for the defeat??? Get a grip!!!!
Aye well he didn't exactly cover himself in glory did he?, you can count Hogg, Miller and the totally uninterested Stokes as well
14-02-2010, 02:30 PM
Please admins:
LTYF
Disappointing manner of defeat (as it ended up pretty emphatic) but it's only one game.
At last someone who read my reply in the manner it was meant :thumbsup:
SaudiHibby
Pretty sure he was suggesting that as your post is so ridiculous you must be a jambo.
I've no idea if your a jambo or if you just talk pish, i'd say your definately one of the two though.
Just calling it as i saw it. Better watch my back in here though :cool2:
Losing at Ibrox is not a problem, we played excellently first half, lost the plot in the 2nd - Wednesday's a much more important game, followed by Saturday. We have to take a minimum of 4 points from those games. No reason to think we can't do. Rangers deserved their victory today because of the 2nd half, surely?
That's considered tough:confused:
I thought it was a wee bit harder than that actually - I was sure they were due to play Rangers sometime soon. Still, Celtic and Aberdeen will be tricky, and if Hamilton can beat them at Tannadice, then anything's possible!
Performance at Celtic Park ~ Performance at Ibrox
Difference is that Rangers were very good, particularly once they got on top.
I don't think that was a penalty, which was the key moment in the game. After that Rangers got well on top and made it look a lot worse than it was.
14-02-2010, 02:31 PM
One shot at on target in 90mins is simply not good enough :grr:
Alan Gow :zzzzz!:
Is that what Alan Gow really said????
stubru59
14-02-2010, 02:31 PM
Rangers didn't have to work for that win. Too many unforced error's on our part.
Midfield swamped and Hanlin's header apart, we never put them under enough pressure.
euro Hibby
14-02-2010, 02:32 PM
Thought at end of first half we were fine and in with a chance but needed still to find an extra gear. Possibly we were not direct enough. Challenge now is to pick it up and win the next two games. Can't blame Benji, with 20 minutes here and there he was likely to not last the pace. Thats twice they have cuffed us. Hope it makes the players even more determined.
hibbybrian
14-02-2010, 02:33 PM
I can confirm that Mike's definately no a jambo ....... :greengrin :wink:
Here we go with the knee jerk reactions.
A bit of perspective, we've hardly been disgraced today, we were up against a very solid Rangers team who've lost once in the league at Ibrox in almost a year. Apart from a very dubious penalty Bamba did ok.
Can't really say anyone had a stinker today and I'll reserve judgement on Gow just now as people were bleating on about Stokes after a few games when he was clearly not match fit.
I trust Yogi to have us raring to go for the match against the Super Js on Wednesday.
Keep the Faith.
Agreed. First half we more than held our own. Second half the Huns upped the pace, scored a good goal and then got a pen and a soft goal. I thought the defence played well in the main and the only disappointment was Gow although the lack of genuine pace in wide areas showed.
Remember, for all that people talk about this being this being the worst Hun team ever :blah:, they've hardly lost in the league since Smith came back as manager and look like finishing miles ahead of a team spending millions of pounds to compete.
Talk of us being poor and unfit for 3rd is stupid. Let's hope we bounce back with a win on Wednesday.
biggie1875
Performance at Celtic Park ~ Performance at Ibrox
Difference is that Rangers were very good, particularly once they got on top.
I don't think that was a penalty, which was the key moment in the game. After that Rangers got well on top and made it look a lot worse than it was.
A typical trip to Ibrox really.
No point in crying over spilt milk.
14-02-2010, 02:34 PM
Losing at Ibrox is not a problem, we played excellently first half, lost the plot in the 2nd - Wednesday's a much more important game, followed by Saturday. We have to take a minimum of 4 points from those games. No reason to think we can't do. Rangers deserved their victory today because of the 2nd half, surely?
Yeah, Rangers looked a very competent side today. No way Bougherra will still be there in the summer - he's FAR too good to remain in the SPL. They passed us off the park in the second half, outfought us and outmuscled us - one effort on target is poor, but we were facing the best defence in the SPL - they've only conceded 8 goals at home all season!!!
We should look a lot more threatening, considering the amount of attacking options we have, but we just weren't at the races today.
Onwards and upwards.
14-02-2010, 02:35 PM
Hibernians football today was a joy to behold at times. The huns were rather happy for the half time whistle. They couldn't live with us at points in the match.
A wee bit more composure/faith up front and we could easily have been a couple up at half time.
Miller was a belter, no pen for me, and the third was a joke, with McBride down.
Never in a million years was there 3 goals between these teams. 2 goals would have been an injustice.
The much maligned Rankin had an excellant game today. The only performer in white who could have done better today was stokes.
Well done hibernian, and we'll be there in numbers at perth to roar you on:hnet:
14-02-2010, 02:35 PM
Lets just put it down to a bad day at the office,, and hopefully we can sort it for the visit to the saints midweek....
:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:
SaudiHibby
14-02-2010, 02:36 PM
I can confirm that Mike's definately no a jambo ....... :greengrin :wink:
Oi :greengrin
It was a very good performance 1st half, and we should have gone in 1 up. The 2nd half was different, they beat us well, although the penalty was debatable, and turned the game. Its only one defeat, no reason to panic.
shamo9
Hibernians football today was a joy to behold at times. The huns were rather happy for the half time whistle. They couldn't live with us at points in the match.
A wee bit more composure/faith up front and we could easily have been a couple up at half time.
Miller was a belter, no pen for me, and the third was a joke, with McBride down.
Never in a million years was there 3 goals between these teams. 2 goals would have been an injustice.
The much maligned Rankin had an excellant game today. The only performer in white who could have done better today was stokes.
Well done hibernian, and we'll be there in numbers at perth to roar you on:hnet:
Gow?
14-02-2010, 02:37 PM
3rd best in the SPL is a great achievement lets not kid ourselves we are better than that.
Today was a learning lesson and the lesson is there is 2 halfs in a football game.
the_ginger_hibee
14-02-2010, 02:39 PM
A typical trip to Ibrox really.
No point in crying over spilt milk.
We should expect to lose all the away trips to the OF. Massive bonus taking anything through there. We've been spoiled recently but I still remember all the tanking's we used to take there and it also being par for the course.
14-02-2010, 02:39 PM
Another factor in the game was Celtic not winning yesterday. That would have given the Huns a big lift (particularly given the way it happened). If Celtic had won yesterday and it was 0-0 at halftime there today, the Huns would have been a lot more nervous and tentative in their play.
:agree: Gotta be said, worst player n the park.
Yogi should never have started Gow IMO and McBride, not being fully fit, should never have been on the bench either!! Yogi got his team selection/tactics wrong, not for the 1st time this season, and really needs to get this sorted.
I almost forgot that Stokes was playing, as he saw so little of the ball, considering we were meant to be taking the game to them!
We must be the softest team in the SPL 'cos we never stand up physically to the opposition and always end up being bullied out of games. Likewise, how slow are some of our players!
I thought we played fairly well in the 1st half but had no end product. Sadly we never turned up for the 2nd half and the game was lost after the 1st goal when Rankin decided to turn our attack into defence and put unnecessary pressure on our back four.
P.S. Kenny Miller is an ugly diving little C*** !!
14-02-2010, 02:43 PM
3rd best in the SPL is a great achievement lets not kid ourselves we are better than that.
Today was a learning lesson and the lesson is there is 2 halfs in a football game.
Exactly, positives were how well we played 1st half. Play like that against most teams, we will do just fine.:thumbsup:
Lets just put it down to a bad day at the office
And how many of them will we have to put up with this season?
Gow?
Oops young man! I'll give you gow aswell.
Some of our play was excellant all the same.
14-02-2010, 02:45 PM
And how many of them will we have to put up with this season?
A lot less than last season so progress is being made.
If your genuinely annoyed at that today then you've got a short memory.
You are the problem !!!
We were just beaten by the better team on the day. But how in gods name you now think were not good enough for 3rd from 1 result???
In case you have not noticed we are in 3rd....we have pretty much been there for a while....and still have a game in hand !!
I am as disappointed as everyone else about todays result, i really thought we might get something today....however i think some people on this board may need to go and get some physio because all that knee jerking cant be good for you ???????????????? :grr::grr:
:notworthy:
JoeTortolanoFanClub
Our free kicks in the centre of the park were poor. Too many going backwards and putting us under unnecessary pressure. Keep it simple and play if forwards. Basic.
14-02-2010, 02:47 PM
Our free kicks in the centre of the park were poor. Too many going backwards and putting us under unnecessary pressure. Keep it simple and play if forwards. Basic.
I have to say i agree with this, i thought a few times today we were moving men up and for some reason passed the ball backwards.....i.e the throw in we had on the near side just before the goal ?????
Just listened to John Hughes who also said that we should of played the ball forward then !!!
14-02-2010, 02:48 PM
A lot less than last season so progress is being made.
If your genuinely annoyed at that today then you've got a short memory.
Not so much annoyed just ****ing raging that some players today allowed the huns to look good by basic errors, especially the 3rd goal
14-02-2010, 02:51 PM
Not so much annoyed just ****ing raging that some players today allowed the huns to look good by basic errors, especially the 3rd goal
Think you need to go and lie down in a dark room and chill out for a bit :wink:
The 3rd goal, Mcbride slipped and injured himself, you can't legislate for that, these things happen.
14-02-2010, 02:51 PM
so a player losing his footing and getting injured is a basic error now :rolleyes:
SaudiHibby
14-02-2010, 02:53 PM
You are the problem !!!
We were just beaten by the better team on the day. But how in gods name you now think were not good enough for 3rd from 1 result???
In case you have not noticed we are in 3rd....we have pretty much been there for a while....and still have a game in hand !!
I am as disappointed as everyone else about todays result, i really thought we might get something today....however i think some people on this board may need to go and get some physio because all that knee jerking cant be good for you ???????????????? :grr::grr:
:notworthy:
I'm the problem:greengrin
I would never call a fellow Hibby a yam :bitchy:
I have seen plenty of Hibs this season and am not prepared to get carried away by the happy clappers. We are as good as the rest and as bad as the rest.
14-02-2010, 02:55 PM
I have seen plenty of Hibs this season and am not prepared to get carried away by the happy clappers. We are as good as the rest and as bad as the rest.
When did i call you a yam ?
14-02-2010, 02:57 PM
Yogi should never have started Gow IMO and McBride, not being fully fit, should never have been on the bench either!! Yogi got his team selection/tactics wrong, not for the 1st time this season, and really needs to get this sorted.
I almost forgot that Stokes was playing, as he saw so little of the ball, considering we were meant to be taking the game to them!
We must be the softest team in the SPL 'cos we never stand up physically to the opposition and always end up being bullied out of games. Likewise, how slow are some of our players!
I thought we played fairly well in the 1st half but had no end product. Sadly we never turned up for the 2nd half and the game was lost after the 1st goal when Rankin decided to turn our attack into defence and put unnecessary pressure on our back four.
P.S. Kenny Miller is an ugly diving little C*** !!
That clearly isn't right, one of Hibs' better spells was just before the penalty incident. The second goal opened out the game, after that the Huns were full of confidence and overran Hibs.
14-02-2010, 02:57 PM
We looked very nice on the ball(just as Falkirk did last season)but we missed countless opportunities to put them under pressure in the first half by poor final delivery or not getting the ball in quickly enough.Our chances came from quick ball by Zemamma.Passing the ball sideways and backwards just allows a defence like Rangers'time to regroup making the final pass more difficult.Isolating Stokes to play on his own is hopeless because his first touch with back to goal isn't good enough.
brythehibby
14-02-2010, 03:08 PM
Up until the penalty we were in it. It killed us off. On another day and all that. Shi*e journey back now, let's move on to a big game on wed.
That clearly isn't right, one of Hibs' better spells was just before the penalty incident. The second goal opened out the game, after that the Huns were full of confidence and overran Hibs.
We had a half chance when McGregor spilled Zoomers shot but never had the same possesion or displayed the same composure that we had in the 1st half.
Rankin needs a good kick up the arse for his part in the lead up to the first goal. I thought that some heads went down and we were a yard off the pace all over the park after that.
14-02-2010, 03:12 PM
We had a half chance when McGregor spilled Zoomers shot but never had the same possesion or displayed the same composure that we had in the 1st half.
Rankin needs a good kick up the arse for his part in the lead up to the first goal. I thought that some heads went down and we were a yard off the pace all over the park after that.
He did the very thing Yogi was giving him pelters for last week - passing the ball back when we were moving forward and as a result losing all our momentum. Strangely enough I thought he was one of our better players in the 2nd half although poor in the 1st.
14-02-2010, 03:30 PM
It was a disappointing result but not the end of the world. Like it or not Rangers are the best side in Scotland at the moment and we more than matched them for long periods in the game. The first goal was always going to be crucial and enabled Rangers to pick us off on the break. In saying that the penalty was soft and the 3rd goal was bad luck, though we have had more than our share of luck this season.
We can still take some positives from the game. Benji was excellent in the first half as was Zemmama and Hanlon looked confortable under pressure. Today is only our 3rd league defeat since September, we are still 3rd in the league and a win on Wed could set us up for the rest of the season.
14-02-2010, 03:35 PM
I have seen plenty of Hibs this season and am not prepared to get carried away by the happy clappers. We are as good as the rest and as bad as the rest. I think you should give it a rest. :yawn:
14-02-2010, 03:39 PM
It was a disappointing result but not the end of the world. Like it or not Rangers are the best side in Scotland at the moment and we more than matched them for long periods in the game. The first goal was always going to be crucial and enabled Rangers to pick us off on the break. In saying that the penalty was soft and the 3rd goal was bad luck, though we have had more than our share of luck this season.
We can still take some positives from the game. Benji was excellent in the first half as was Zemmama and Hanlon looked confortable under pressure. Today is only our 3rd league defeat since September, we are still 3rd in the league and a win on Wed could set us up for the rest of the season.
Realistically, the next two games, particularly the one at Motherwell, were always going to be more important. The key is for Yogi to get the team into the right frame of mind going into those games. They will determine whether Hibs are going forward to have a really good season (and maybe push Celtic for second if they continue to stumble), or just biting and scratching for one of the European places.
A good Rangers side* were at full strength at home and got pretty much all the breaks going.
*Ignore that pish you often hear from Celtic fans, that is quite a good Rangers side. They don't have the squad depth that they used to, so they can't dominate in every game in the way they would like, but they have a good team spirit, technique and strong defence.
There's no obvious weaknesses, unless they have one or two out and are having to mix the squad around a bit with kids, or inferior players. Smith is very good at picking and choosing the games to do that. He will probably do that in their cup replay in midweek v St. Mirren, where I think they might struggle a bit (as they did with Hamilton), but the odds are they will come through in the end.
14-02-2010, 07:03 PM
We are better than Hearts anyway. :wink:
15-02-2010, 05:27 AM
I can confirm that Mike's definately no a jambo ....... :greengrin :wink:]
Double confirmed. Unless of course it is an expat conspiracy and we are all yams:greengrin
We are better than Hearts anyway. :wink:
Results against them this season don't back that up Meeko :greengrin
SaudiHibby
15-02-2010, 08:02 AM
Ach, I was raging yesterday after spending two hours with the Bahrain True Blues and taking dogs abuse. Maybe my standards are higher than some on here :thumbsup:
15-02-2010, 08:09 AM
Gow should have been binned at half time,cannae believe we started with Gow,yesterday was no time to muck about with tryouts.We played damn well yesterday,our passing and movement at times was tremendous,it was great to watch,if we play like that against St.J,then we will score a barrowload,but why do I get the feeling were in for a humping? To say I was amazed at our line up would be an understatement,thought Rankin had a good game,ahm still a bit hungover,Im off for a coffee.