View Full Version : ****Weather Update - GAME IS DEFINITELY ON****

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Alex B
03-01-2010, 07:58 AM
DJ on Forth seems to think game is OFF.

Either way nobody in our street can get their cars out of the snow so unless we're prepared to walk the 11 miles to the ground we won't make it anyway.

Must say I was kinda hoping it was off so I'm not too unhappy. I don't fancy driving at all.

03-01-2010, 07:59 AM
Can anyone around ER see if the cameras are still there or even see if there seems to be anyone packing them up or not. I'd imagine they'd get the nod first.

I cannae be arsed reading through the thread due to me being pished/hungover (i'm at that inbetween stage) but if it's cancelled i'll greet.

Mon the Polis, make sure it's played :thumbsup:

Either way nobody in our street can get their cars out of the snow so unless we're prepared to walk the 11 miles to the ground we won't make it anyway.

Pavements are still not cleared at the stadium, and apparently it is -7.............

03-01-2010, 08:00 AM
well whats happening.

As far as I'm aware things are carrying on as normal for the day of a big game. Nothing's changed.

03-01-2010, 08:01 AM
Pavements are still not cleared at the stadium, and apparently it is -7.............

Minus 9 according to this:

http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=edinburgh&wuSelect=WEATHER

Anyone else going to be really annoyed if it gets to 9:01 and we haven't heard yet? :greengrin

hibbie02
Right! It's 9am, is it on or off???? Petrie?:greengrin

Must say I was kinda hoping it was off so I'm not too unhappy. I don't fancy driving at all.

Take the train then :wink:

03-01-2010, 08:02 AM
Minus 9 according to this:

http://www.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=edinburgh&wuSelect=WEATHER

Jeez, I better put my long johns on today............

03-01-2010, 08:02 AM
Radio Reporting black ice on all routes in to Edinburgh

This game is in Danger of being called off if fans can't get to the gound safely

03-01-2010, 08:03 AM
Who else is ****ting it the game's gonna be off?

hibbie02
Take the train then :wink:

If the game is off I will be needing an Energy Pack Ronnie.........:wink:

legends of 73

i come and get you in the taxi £60 a bargain lol

03-01-2010, 08:04 AM
Snow is deep here in Uphall but once I dig the car out I'll be fine. What's the forcast for the rest of today?

Basildon Hibs

This game is in Danger of being called off if fans can't get to the gound safely

Which radio station was it?

joejoefaemexico
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/edinburgh_forecast_weather.html

not looking good. severe weather warning has been issued for lothian and borders.

:pray:

BigKev
03-01-2010, 08:05 AM
I'm sitting waiting to get for a bevvy - come on ffs :greengrin

03-01-2010, 08:06 AM

http://listen.forthone.com/Forthone/listenlive.html :thumbsup:

hibbie02
If the weather is still this bad next week, will the Polis cancel going back to work on the basis that it is too dangerous???

legends of 73
A wee bit of info I've just received suggests the game will be ON.

Nothing official yet though.

has your source lost their phone wtf
:greengrin:greengrin

Nothing on there 9AM news :thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 08:07 AM
has your source lost their phone wtf

Alright C.

Am bricking it at the thought of it being off :bitchy::bitchy:

Please be on!

I'll be gutted if it's off :boo hoo:

Jeeze..just got up (note to self: Champane washed down with white wine is not clever)

It was not a dream and I hope the Swiss style scene where our road used to be is not A-typical near ER :rolleyes:

Another 3 inches since 1 am I reckon

crash
03-01-2010, 08:08 AM
No mention on Radio Forth news:grr:

hibbie02

Where you watching the game (if on)?

Just back from taking The Miller's Wife to her work (Ikea).

-7 and Oxgangs Road v.bad

Biggar Road ploughed and gritted as was one lane of the By-pass.

Slip roads are what it says on the tin!

Going to have a cup of tea and get the frying pan on.

Heading off for the Iona at 12.

:notworthy:

I'm sitting waiting to get for a bevvy - come on ffs :greengrin

HNY Kev. :thumbsup:

Does that mean all shopping in Princes Street and the Bridges will be cancelled aswell?

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 08:09 AM
Alright C.

Am bricking it at the thought of it being off :bitchy::bitchy:

i'm sitting here waiting to go to my graft

it needs to be on

Billy

old bits of carpets or doormats under the front wheels saves you digging your car out....and it's far quicker.

Does that mean all shopping in Princes Street and the Bridges will be cancelled aswell?

Aye, and they'll close Ikea to stop folk travelling.

Mag7
03-01-2010, 08:10 AM
Sounds like we can assume it's off. I'm away back to my bed!

BigKev
HNY Kev. :thumbsup:

Cheers mate & same to you!

You heading down? I'm going for an early beer you know where :wink: if you fancy one or twa :greengrin

9:10am

PETRIE!!

Basildon Hibs
Where you watching the game (if on)?

Canvey Island or on my PC. I've just finished night shift and am waiting to get to my pit !! :confused:

03-01-2010, 08:11 AM
or ON?!? :dunno:

:devil:

heading off now. Anyone that knows me give me a text or a call if its off and Ill jump back off the train:greengrin

lol

FFS WTF is happenin' :grr: :grr:

On second thoughts - Admin can this clown been banned. :thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 08:12 AM

Its a disgrace if it's off unless the police close all shops and pubs too, which of course shouldn't happen either

Tosser!!!

Riordans Boots

Bugger !!

:devil::bitchy: :grr:

legends of 73

you are a prick:grr::grr:

Cmon tae ***** man!! some of us stay miles away :grr::grr:

:bitchy::bitchy::bitchy:

joejoefaemexico
Just back from taking The Miller's Wife to her work (Ikea).

-7 and Oxgangs Road v.bad

Biggar Road ploughed and gritted as was one lane of the By-pass.

Slip roads are what it says on the tin!

Going to have a cup of tea and get the frying pan on.

Heading off for the Iona at 12.

:notworthy:

simple yet amusing. :greengrin

03-01-2010, 08:13 AM
Cheers mate & same to you!

You heading down? I'm going for an early beer you know where :wink: if you fancy one or twa :greengrin

Already arranged to meet some relatives behind the goals at the back of 12, will have a wee sing song with you tonight though. :thumbsup:

Tool :grr:

Billy
Great festive period Billy but today could put the cherry on top:greengrin How was yours?

Managed to get home last night but Newbridge to Linlithgow was the worst road conditions I've ever experienced.

Fantastic road that :greengrin especially that hill through Kirkliston when you suddenly find out that the brakes don't work:greengrin

Just about to head off now. GGTTH

9:10am

PETRIE!!

The 9am timescale didn't come from the club.

However, the club's policy of saying nothing until there's something to say is a pain in the arse in instances like this. A wee update wouldn't go amiss.

joejoefaemexico
hating the usual pink diluted with a bit anastacia dross on forth one just to find out if the games on.

03-01-2010, 08:14 AM
canny bear the suspense...i'm away to clear snow...again :grr::grr: as even if it is on I have a slim chance of getting up the 1:3 hill ot the village..it looks like the snow plough made it....but no grit. Run out ? :rolleyes:

So its now a nice smooth 3 inches or hard packet snow

I joined in with HibbyAndy's "Clap" thread but I think I will give this one a miss. :greengrin

Right, that's it. I'm setting off from Aberdeen now. Wether means it's going to take ages to get down the road. If it's off I'll just need to go on a Leo Sayer in the boozer!

See you all in a few hours......hopefully!

Snow is deep here in Uphall but once I dig the car out I'll be fine. What's the forcast for the rest of today?

Weather is for no snow however sub zero which will be a doubt.

03-01-2010, 08:15 AM
I joined in with HibbyAndy's "Clap" thread but I think I will give this one a miss. :greengrin

therealgavmac
Tool :grr:

Mornin Billy

A lot of the shops in the City will still be closed but I know what you mean why is it that only football is effected when we hit bad weather :confused:

03-01-2010, 08:16 AM
F it, heading into shower, get the beer gear on and taxi booked.

03-01-2010, 08:16 AM
Hawkhill Avenue looking clear. Pavements haven't been touched though.

stewthehibee
03-01-2010, 08:17 AM
Its now sunshine over Leith!!!!!

03-01-2010, 08:17 AM
Right, that's it. I'm setting off from Aberdeen now. Wether means it's going to take ages to get down the road. If it's off I'll just need to go on a Leo Sayer in the boozer!

See you all in a few hours......hopefully!

Just leaving here now as well............GGTTH.:thumbsup:

therealgavmac
03-01-2010, 08:18 AM
Deanburn in Penicuik is brutal!

What's new? :greengrin

cwilliamson85
Dont police know when football games are on fans walk on the road :wink:

Just leaving here now as well............GGTTH.:thumbsup:

Safe journey John. Give me a toot if you see me on the motorway! :bye:

03-01-2010, 08:19 AM

We know but how's the weather???

DunblaneHibby
Is M9 open now.We are trvaelling from Dunblane?

HibeeMcGinn1
Pleeeeeeease

03-01-2010, 08:20 AM
Mrs Number_10's old man just phoned ER and they said the game is off...

..icially ON!

2nd hand info so don't shoot the messenger!!

Red Cabbage

just been on the phone to my dad in deanburn and he says his van is stuck under about a foot of snow!

Hawkhill Avenue looking clear. Pavements haven't been touched though.

As long as the roads are clear then all well. Who walks on the pavements to matches anyway:faf:

therealgavmac
What's new? :greengrin

Sharon

Roads from penicuik as far as ikea are just the same. No sign the road has been gritted during the night and no sign of a gritter/snow plough in the hour and a half it took to get there and back this morning

03-01-2010, 08:21 AM
West Lothian is unbelievable I haven't seen the pavements for about 2 weeks and the Main roads are going the same way.

Edina Erin
http://www.trafficscotland.org/lev/

The east end of the bypass looks bad.

Forth FM is painful....and telling us nothing !

Torto
My mate has been round to the ground and there is no sign of any police but he did see those little snow ploughs doing the pavements so it's looking like the game will be on.

simple yet amusing. :greengrin

Like the wife.:cool2:

03-01-2010, 08:22 AM

Forth FM is painful....and telling us nothing !Well I wish somebody would hurry up and tell us something, twats :grr::grr:

Mister P
fenton ur a prick!!!!!!

see ya at 11:30 though :thumbsup:

hibbie02
I know the cooncil couldnae give one about the taxpayers, but you'd think they would clear the pavements for the tourists..........:grr:

therealgavmac
just been on the phone to my dad in deanburn and he says his van is stuck under about a foot of snow!

Aye, be walking down to the main road for (hopefully) a bus soon

cwilliamson85
right I am off to get teh train from Glasgow.

:pray: let the game be on :pray:

the club have to contact the radio first so it's down to Hibs i'm afraid

BigKev
Anyone tried phoning the club :coffee:

Must be a wee van.

Must be a wee van if it's "under" a foot of snow:wink:

Sorry,all this waiting doing my heid in... nervous energy:agree:

03-01-2010, 08:23 AM
Mornin Billy

I feel sick :jamboak:

Is M9 open now.We are trvaelling from Dunblane?

Yes it was northbound that was blocked however that has been reopened.

Anyone tried phoning the club :coffee:

Chop chop :greengrin

Kaiser_Sauzee
Remember listening to the radio to see if your school was shut? :greengrin

Are the trams running?

BigKev
03-01-2010, 08:24 AM
Seemingly there's a wee snow plough clearing the pavements outside as we speak :thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 08:24 AM
Are the trams running?

:greengrin:faf:

03-01-2010, 08:25 AM
Are the trams running?

aye, well here in The Hague they are:greengrin

therealgavmac

I feel sick :jamboak:

Was it a dirty glass?

Remember listening to the radio to see if your school was shut? :greengrin

You mean hoping :greengrin

03-01-2010, 08:26 AM
The huns game was on in similar conditions with more fans having to travel further to the game so this game will be on.

BigKev
10 am inspection http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/area-inspection-at-10am-20100103_2241384_1921482

Was it a dirty lass?
There I fixed that for you.

joejoefaemexico
03-01-2010, 08:27 AM
Are the trams running?

I've been up since 6am and to be truthful I'm not even going to the game. :doh:

Unless someone has a spare ticket. :wink:

machibby
Has the calling off of the game has been called off because off the snow.

benlowe
http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/area-inspection-at-10am-20100103_2241384_1921482

Sorry for linking to their site today but thats where you can find out info on the game wtf !!

Not posted in ages but the official web site should have been updating us today very poor.

03-01-2010, 08:28 AM

But there is nothing to tell :confused:

The game is on untill it is postponed :agree:

There I fixed that for you.

If only :greengrin

hibsfan
might have been mentioned elsewhere, but according to the homofc site - area inspection at 10am..... sad day when you have to go to their site for the information....

Kaiser_Sauzee
10 am inspection http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/area-inspection-at-10am-20100103_2241384_1921482

Hearts has received news... should it not be Hearts HAVE received news? :grr:

03-01-2010, 08:29 AM

Pathetic that we have to get the news from that lot, whilst Petrie's silence is deafening.

Cheers mate :thumbsup:

might have been mentioned elsewhere, but according to the homofc site - area inspection at 10am..... sad day when you have to go to their site for the information....

Very true and a bad day for the 'up to the minute' news from Easter Road site

Is it 'fishul yet?

03-01-2010, 08:30 AM

Cheers for that. Some info at last.

That explains the bit of info I got earlier :wink:

Sauce?

I'm off to tackle the M8

Visit family first then the Game

Glorious
03-01-2010, 08:31 AM
Yep, just phoned reception and they won't be able to confirm either way until around 10.30 so 10am inspection sounds about right.

And when you go on to our website signing Smith is the latest news. :bitchy:

Dinnae ken wether (:greengrin) to leave now or wait till 10ish:bitchy::bitchy:

03-01-2010, 08:32 AM
What times ko?

Kaiser_Sauzee
So we can assume that currently the game is off and the Police are giving until 10am for the area to be cleared for fans.

Hibs Spain
According to the ticket office.

Cheers for that. Some info at last.

That explains the bit of info I got earlier :wink:

get the ploughs oot and we'll check when its done?

Torto
03-01-2010, 08:33 AM
I've just called the club and they stated that a decision won't be made until 10:30

ohhhhhhhh this is killing me

I am assuming Hibs will have a group of people helping to clear pavements in surrounding area to get game on.

typical hibs and not keeping fans informed of when the inspection is happening. this is when the official site should be updated regularly:grr:

Who's in goal?

Kaiser_Sauzee
03-01-2010, 08:34 AM
I've just called the club and they stated that a decision won't be made until 10:30

ohhhhhhhh this is killing me

Have a coffee and a bacon sandwich and a paper. Come back in an hour. :greengrin

Yeah, but this is the ticket office we're talking about.

Dinnae ken wether (:greengrin) to leave now or wait till 10ish:bitchy::bitchy:

That's the worst spell of weather we've had for yonks. :agree:

03-01-2010, 08:35 AM
I am assuming Hibs will have a group of people helping to clear pavements in surrounding area to get game on.

Like who? :confused:

If a formal ground inspection has been arranged then I find it surprising that there's absolutely nowt on the club's official website.

Derby Day is hard enough to bear without all the uncertainty!

You'll get told to +#@* off!

03-01-2010, 08:36 AM

MCC Hibs
Game better be on,i'm about to stand in the sink for a wash

Kaiser_Sauzee
03-01-2010, 08:37 AM

+#@* off!

***** it, im taking a chance and leaving now.

GGTTH .

Some of the young players brought in to do a couple of hours work in putting down grit. :confused: Cause if we are waiting on the police to call it off it will unless the club do something about it.

Russell Anderson, David Gray and Darren Barr??? All part of terms agreed with RP?

03-01-2010, 08:38 AM

Anyone know if Easter Road itself is clear?

Thicot, Galbraith and Maka.

therealgavmac

:faf::top marks

stewthehibee
How far do the police look at surrounding areas? I have been to ER and all main roads are good but all side roads and pavements are poor. Sunshine on Leith now.

03-01-2010, 08:39 AM
What times ko?

03-01-2010, 08:39 AM
Anyone know any good shovelers? :greengrin

03-01-2010, 08:40 AM
i there anybody in the vicinity of the ground who can tell us what the conditions are like there?

MCC Hibs
03-01-2010, 08:41 AM
Anyone know any good shovelers? :greengrin

Maka's hands!

Ta - who we playing?

How far do the police look at surrounding areas? I have been to ER and all main roads are good but all side roads and pavements are poor. Sunshine on Leith now.

No idea however if all main routes are ok then I would imagine it is the surrounding streets and pavements that would be required to be ok for game to be on. Given that the game isnt until 3 then a reasonable effort should get the game on IMO.

03-01-2010, 08:42 AM
Any team news?

03-01-2010, 08:42 AM
Oooooh ... Oooooh ... Oooooh to freeze

Ooooh to freeze a ..... Hhhibbby

susieq
03-01-2010, 08:43 AM
live at the top of easter road, there's bout an inch of snow lying, but freezing cold, parking cones placed round the lochend area, so fingers crossed!

HibeeMcGinn1
03-01-2010, 08:44 AM
Green army

There's at least 6 people clearing the snow from the back of the east stand and putting salt down, I'm taking that as a good sign that they are preparing for us all arriving :greengrin

Any team news?

Aye, they're all out clearing the pavements of snow and ice! :duck::greengrin

stewthehibee
No idea however if all main routes are ok then I would imagine it is the surrounding streets and pavements that would be required to be ok for game to be on. Given that the game isnt until 3 then a reasonable effort should get the game on IMO.io agree but our council are utter S*** and it looks like over the weeks they have not done much anywhere else with snow clearing!!!!!!!!

EasterRoad4Ever
03-01-2010, 08:45 AM
Just drove around ER and roads are reasonable. Pavements are a bit iffy. There is a snowplow/gritter working on the streets around the ground. The biggest problem is when you get 0.5 miles from Leith, the roads are terrible, especially south of the city. Didn't see one gritter on the road and there are only a few cars. Byspass/A1 is still down to one lane.

Although we've 5+ hours to KO, I can see LB seeing this as a great reason to have the day off :grr:

Borders Hibby
03-01-2010, 08:46 AM
i there anybody in the vicinity of the ground who can tell us what the conditions are like there?

Restalrig Drive is snow Bound but its sunny!:agree:

03-01-2010, 08:46 AM
live at the top of easter road, there's bout an inch of snow lying, but freezing cold, parking cones placed round the lochend area, so fingers crossed!

Any team news?

HibeeMcGinn1
03-01-2010, 08:47 AM
Any team news?

Sauzee and latapy start

wee 162

There's maybe an inch of snow lying on Dalmeny Street. The road is pretty much clear in the middle but still has snow sitting at the sides. It's actually easier to walk on the fresh snow that fell last night than it has been on the ice about here for the last few days imo!

therealgavmac
Bugger it - I'm off ootside for a fag n takin a dram wi me!

Fantic
While the Chief!

EasterRoad4Ever
03-01-2010, 08:48 AM
No idea however if all main routes are ok then I would imagine it is the surrounding streets and pavements that would be required to be ok for game to be on. Given that the game isnt until 3 then a reasonable effort should get the game on IMO.

In the old days, the citizens of Leith would have been out first thing to clear the pavements :wink:

03-01-2010, 08:48 AM
Any team news?

Hibs v Hearts :agree:

03-01-2010, 08:49 AM
Aye, they're all out clearing the pavements of snow and ice! :duck::greengrin

Is Stack there?

03-01-2010, 08:51 AM
Is Stack there?

With his bad back :cool2:

Where's Calgary?

hibsfan
In the old days, the citizens of Leith would have been out first thing to clear the pavements :wink:

who's up for heading down with a shovel?

03-01-2010, 08:52 AM
No being one of these folk who ken about komputers and stuff.

I thought broadband was an all girl pop group

How long would it take Hibs to update the official site once a decision had been made on game being on / off ?

Berwickhibby
Where's Calgary?

In Alberta Canada, just South of Edmonton :wink:

Where's Calgary?

Canada. :agree:

gem
Well I shall hold off till 10.30am before i leave from Newcastle only hope once i leave for game I can get back! :greengrin

03-01-2010, 08:53 AM

How long would it take Hibs to update the official site once a decision had been made on game being on / off ?

About two days

03-01-2010, 08:53 AM
With his bad back :cool2:

Fitness test - do keep up! :greengrin

Riordans Boots
03-01-2010, 08:54 AM
While the Chief!

The sun is out in Port Seton :thumbsup:

seanshow
03-01-2010, 08:54 AM

They can put up a quick message on the front of the site instantly if need be. :wink:

Berwickhibby
03-01-2010, 08:55 AM
Its snowing hard in Berwick upon Tweed, I think its the train today :thumbsup:

Aye.....but the temp is -9 !!!!! :wink:

225-EasterRd
I live on easter road, the road is clear, the problem is the pavments they are pure white under all most inch or so of snow. :jamboak:

HibeeMcGinn1
03-01-2010, 08:56 AM

Tranent aswell

Its snowing hard in Berwick upon Tweed, I think its the train today :thumbsup:

Wise move - avoid the roads if you can ! :agree:

I still think it's *ellish that the ultimate decision on whether the game goes ahead or not is made by the polis and not the football authorities.

The whole procedure needs to be clarified. What's the point in Clubs spending thousands of pounds on undersoil heating, catering etc only to be told by the police that the game is off because of the state of the pavements.

hibsfan
03-01-2010, 08:57 AM
who's up for heading down with a shovel?

that will be none of us then ...... thought we were gagging for this game to go ahead?!

Canada. :agree:

Lazy! See Berwickhibby's post for how a reply should be constructed.

I live on easter road, the road is clear, the problem is the pavments they are pure white under all most inch or so of snow. :jamboak:

Well get oot ur hoose with a shovel and clear them :greengrin

03-01-2010, 08:58 AM
Please please please be on. I was woken by my 5 year old daughter with an early 40th present.........Match day hospitality for today.:thumbsup::thumbsup:

wetting maself

JoJo_07
03-01-2010, 08:58 AM
Typical SSN. ESPN covering the game so they TOTALLY ignore the Edinburgh Derby. We aren't even mentioned in the weather forecast. BUT they do find time to mention the Surf Report :wink:

03-01-2010, 08:59 AM
Is Stack there?

Apparently we signed somebody called Smith for snow duties, he was made redundant from Brighton due to the climate there.

Fantic
03-01-2010, 08:59 AM

By the time a few snowballs are thrown the pavements should be clear.

03-01-2010, 09:00 AM
Bad news - it has just started snowing heavily in Siberia :grr:

that will be none of us then ...... thought we were gagging for this game to go ahead?!

Are you gonna lead by example...............I can't help till I dig myself out of Broxburn.

I'll see u there though :aok:

walk on the road is the solution. many people do that anyway on match day.

pure blue skies in the west of the city....its a beautiful day:greengrin

weststandhibby
03-01-2010, 09:01 AM

Okay we all walk on the roads then ! Whats the problem?

Bad news - it has just started snowing heavily in Siberia :grr:

We're ****ed now. :bitchy:

HibeeMcGinn1
That ******* go compare on the radio and tele doesnt help

Lmc2105
it's 10 and still no decision comin how long does it take them!!:grr:

hibbie02
Typical SSN. ESPN covering the game so they TOTALLY ignore the Edinburgh Derby. We aren't even mentioned in the weather forecast. BUT they do find time to mention the Surf Report :wink:

Couldn't be because the OF are on Sky and we are on ESPN? Muppets!!!:grr:

WHUHibs
Please please please be on. I was woken by my 5 year old daughter with an early 40th present.........Match day hospitality for today.:thumbsup::thumbsup:

wetting maself

I thik your having us on....your avatar says your 39 :wink:

03-01-2010, 09:02 AM

It's blazing doon in Mussy RB:thumbsup:

wetting maself

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: Fantastic!!

BH.

EasterRoad4Ever
I still think it's *ellish that the ultimate decision on whether the game goes ahead or not is made by the polis and not the football authorities.

The whole procedure needs to be clarified. What's the point in Clubs spending thousands of pounds on undersoil heating, catering etc only to be told by the police that the game is off because of the state of the pavements.

With council funding under pressure, there's no incentive for them to spend money in clearing the streets of snow for a football match. Agree, under soil heating is no good if the polis decide someone might slip on a bit of ice or snow. Nanny state.

FRes Hibbie
03-01-2010, 09:03 AM

wetting maself

You're giving her far too much pocket money.

Can't see it being on then tbh. The Polis need to think about people slipping over on the way to and from.

Really don't get all this focus on the state of the pavements around ER. Whatever form of transport is involved between home and fitba ground, almost everyone who uses a pavement at the ER end will have already used a pavement at their home end. It only makes sense to consider the pavements at ER if you also consider the state of the pavements outside everyone's hoose. Absolute disgrace that no polis has been round to check my pavement! :grr:

hibsfan
Are you gonna lead by example...............I can't help till I dig myself out of Broxburn.

I'll see u there though :aok:

I would be the first one down there, if they were to ask for help via the official site - gotta be worth a free pie!

hibbie02
03-01-2010, 09:04 AM
With council funding under pressure, there's no incentive for them to spend money in clearing the streets of snow for a football match. Agree, under soil heating is no good if the polis decide someone might slip on a bit of ice or snow. Nanny state.

Aye but they spend countless thousands on pishy parties for tourists! :grr:

MontrealHibs
03-01-2010, 09:04 AM
It's blazing doon in Mussy RB:thumbsup:

Nice and bright in Sunny Dunny too...

03-01-2010, 09:05 AM
I would be the first one down there, if they were to ask for help via the official site - gotta be worth a free pie!

Typical..............whats in it for me attitude strikes again :greengrin

Hope you get snowed in :wink:

It's ****ing snowing up my way again. :grr::grr::grr:

hibbie02
Can't see it being on then tbh. The Polis need to think about people slipping over on the way to and from.

makes you wonder how people ever got to football matches in the auld days...........like before we had all this global warming business.........:greengrin

EasterRoad4Ever
it's 10 and still no decision comin how long does it take them!!:grr:

Need to let the Yams know first, then the Council, then their LB polis buddies, then maybe let Hibs know :wink:

Si_17
03-01-2010, 09:06 AM

Get a grip.:bitchy:

03-01-2010, 09:06 AM
weve been going to games in all sorts of weather for years and its shocking that the polis can decide wether a game goes ahead or not,it should be left to the football authorities not the polis,if you wish to go to the game it should be at your own risk,the whole world is going health and safety mad,mad I tell you, mad.

03-01-2010, 09:07 AM
Really don't get all this focus on the state of the pavements around ER. Whatever form of transport is involved between home and fitba ground, almost everyone who uses a pavement at the ER end will have already used a pavement at their home end. It only makes sense to consider the pavements at ER if you also consider the state of the pavements outside everyone's hoose. Absolute disgrace that no polis has been round to check my pavement! :grr:

Cue hundreds of posts now on the state of the pavements outside everyone's house...................... :greengrin

Can anyone that lives down there see any Polis hanging about?

MontrealHibs
Need to let the Yams know first, then the Council, then their LB polis buddies, then maybe let Hibs know :wink:

In fairness the Yams have a fair old commute so it's only right we advise them first :greengrin

Absolutely nowt on BBC Radio Scotland's news at 10am to suggest that the game is in any doubt whatsoever.

I hope someone's not at the wind up!

This is doing my nut in. All this dicking about when I should be getting ready to go out not hitting refresh on a bloody keyboard...not had a shower, breakfast or nothing yet!!!

scott7_0(Prague)
Snow heavy now in Prague, but the good news is the roads and pavements are clear so no chance of me falling going to the pub to watch the game, can't say the same for coming home!

Lmc2105

if it's the bridge thats the problem just gee them ski's?:thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 09:08 AM
makes you wonder how people ever got to football matches in the auld days...........like before we had all this global warming business.........:greengrin

Its the police covering their backs now. all it takes is one person to fall over, they will be straight on with the neck brace and on the phone to claims direct, they will sue the police for letting the game go ahead!

In the auld days if someone fell over, it was an accident, no bodys fault.

I can confirm that the pavements ootside where I am are totally clear, however it's a bit humid out there so hopefully the Polis are considering that people might get a bit too hot and call the game off for that reason...:grr:

weve been going to games in all sorts of weather for years and its shocking that the polis can decide wether a game goes ahead or not,it should be left to the football authorities not the polis,if you wish to go to the game it should be at your own risk,the whole world is going health and safety mad,mad I tell you, mad.

Why don't the police tell Tesco and Sainsbury to close as well? And all the cinemas, Priinces Street, the Zoo, Edinburgh Castle etc etc.

Ach its only fitba fans, whit do thae matter ?

03-01-2010, 09:09 AM

never understand it iof it is....an inch of snow on the ground?

whoooooo, cancel the world!!

if its sheer ice, thats a different story ofcourse

bmc_1980
I'm the same wembley!!!!!

got tonnes to do before heading into town for 12 but i haven't the laptop!!!!

c'mon eh....let us know!!!

Its the police covering their backs now. all it takes is one person to fall over, they will be straight on with the neck brace and on the phone to claims direct, they will sue the police for letting the game go ahead!

My Dad says football wouldn't have been cancelled back in his day because of snowy pavements. Shocking if it does.

I mean we're off to watch a mans game, we're not a bunch of poofters :devil:

TheBall'sRound
03-01-2010, 09:10 AM
In fairness the Yams have a fair old commute so it's only right we advise them first :greengrin

Need to remember that it's much harder to find coins in the gutter when they are under a couple of inches of snow. The police are only showing a bit of consideration for the extra time it will take Johnny Yam to find his bus fare...

For crying out ****** loud, will some **** just tell us whether it's on or off :grr::grr::grr:

My Dad says football wouldn't have been cancelled back in his day because of snowy pavements. Shocking if it does.

well, some of you are?

MontrealHibs
03-01-2010, 09:11 AM

Don't you know... ALL THE HIBEES ARE GAY... or at least thats what we will be getting told at 3pm today by our neighbours (with the pink stadium!).

hibs is life
ok its off

Especially if they had 'fallen' down the stairs in a police station..... :greengrin

Apparently 1 out of 7 of us are.

Martin
03-01-2010, 09:12 AM
I hope someone's not at the wind up!

you mean the biggest hoax in Hibs.net history and homofc using this as it's basis for an website update..... Nah surely not :devil:

EasterRoad4Ever
Can someone not just plug the new tramlines into the National Grid - that should clear the snow. They got to be useful for somethin :wink:

ok its off

Is this true?

MontrealHibs
Apparently 1 out of 7 of us are.

Well about 281 of us on this thread, so that means forty are.... own up :-)

03-01-2010, 09:13 AM
Is this true?

Doubt it.

This thread is like waynes World when they are playing street hockey

game on!!!

Lets all just leave go to the pub and if its off have a jolly good drink instead :thumbsup:

Well about 281 of us on this thread, so that means forty are.... own up :-)

Well it can't be me - I'm a lady. :wink:

ok its off

:confused::confused: