View Full Version : ****Weather Update - GAME IS DEFINITELY ON****

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Littlest Hobo
02-01-2010, 08:19 PM
Cant see me being there tomorrow if its on:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

Get the shovel oot ya lazy so and so. :wink::greengrin

02-01-2010, 08:21 PM
The pitch will be OK , walkings the problem ,nae grit on the pavements nae game .Walk on the road then! :grr:

Baw187
02-01-2010, 08:21 PM
Snow stopped here in East Lothian. I really just wanted to see my new avator. You like :wink::thumbsup:

:faf::thumbsup::top marks

02-01-2010, 08:22 PM
What I want to know is how on earth did we manage in the days before undersoil heating etc? I remember appeals going out on the radio for folk to help clear pitches before big games years ago. The snow was always bad in Jan/Feb in the 70's and yet the New Years games were rarely called off (IIRC). Mind you, if it was at Tynie I'm sure a few were late call offs due to THEM not wanting to pay the overtime bill for the police :wink:. In fact, folk used to walk to Tynecastle for the SW where I am coz the buses were like hen's teeth. No H & S issues then. The canal was utilised too :greengrin

I am sure games were played on hard, frozen pitches but heavily sanded and with an orange ball. Hibs were usually good on those pitches. I remember seeing Pat Quinn in what looked like baseball boots running the show on such a pitch.

Get the shovel oot ya lazy so and so. :wink::greengrin
its no the stuff round the house its the 8 miles to the nearest main road.:boo hoo: lazy or no I aint shovelling all that.:greengrin

chorley_fm
About 3 inches have fallen in the Currie area of Edinburgh this evening and its still chucking it down

Gutted if the games cancelled

Littlest Hobo
02-01-2010, 08:23 PM
its no the stuff round the house its the 8 miles to the nearest main road.:boo hoo: lazy or no I aint shovelling all that.:greengrin

But how noooooo/ :rolleyes: :devil:

Simkin911
02-01-2010, 08:23 PM
Crikey, looks like Alaska! Not so bad in S Edinburgh and rest of town I expect.

Good luck, I think the game will go ahead..... so dig out the car early!

02-01-2010, 08:24 PM
I am sure games were played on hard, frozen pitches but heavily sanded and with an orange ball. Hibs were usually good on those pitches. I remember seeing Pat Quinn in what looked like baseball boots running the show on such a pitch.

That's my abiding memory of white pitches and orange baws: Pat Quinn being imperious. Perhaps St Johnstone were involved in one such show? :dunno:

Also vaguely recall Neilly Martin scoring winner in a 1-0 over the Huns on white pitch.

02-01-2010, 08:25 PM
According to the BBC that should be the last of the snow - http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/5

:pray: :pray:

BBC have a pish record for forecasting imo. Better to look at netweather.tv

http://www.netweather.tv/

02-01-2010, 08:26 PM
I can't even get in my car! :grr:

http://www.joe-ks.com/archives_mar2005/SnowCar.jpg

Littlest Hobo
02-01-2010, 08:29 PM

:faf: ha ha magic mate!

02-01-2010, 08:30 PM
Cant see me being there tomorrow if its on:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

You've left your car lights on mister. :wink:

02-01-2010, 08:31 PM

Might have to have the heater on a bit longer tomorrow. :faf:

Dalkeith
02-01-2010, 08:35 PM

you went all wimpish now that you live out there, never like that when you stayed up our way:greengrin

whereswallace?
02-01-2010, 08:35 PM
Apparently there is a pitch inspection at 8.30am and a police safety meeting at 9.

02-01-2010, 08:36 PM
Apparently there is a pitch inspection at 8.30am and a police safety meeting at 9.

Good news for the lancashire hibs.:top marks

Dalkeith
02-01-2010, 08:37 PM

source

02-01-2010, 08:37 PM

Thought I saw that parked on Easter Road.

whereswallace?
02-01-2010, 08:38 PM
source

My mate just phoned and told me it was on the radio :confused:

02-01-2010, 08:38 PM
you went all wimpish now that you live out there, never like that when you stayed up our way:greengrin
Aye. Having said that I didnae need much of an excuse for not going to my work back then. Gutted. I am being selfish and hope its off.

02-01-2010, 08:41 PM
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m271/down-the-slope/P1120451-1.jpg?t=1262468428

Hmmmmm

02-01-2010, 08:41 PM
think the games gonna be off :boo hoo:

02-01-2010, 08:42 PM
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m271/down-the-slope/P1120447.jpg?t=1262468532

whereswallace?
02-01-2010, 08:45 PM
FFS this was leith walk about 15mins ago...

http://www.joe-ks.com/archives_mar2007/PolarBearParty.gif

Any one want to buy a couple of tonnes of snow?
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m271/down-the-slope/P1120449.jpg?t=1262468610

Snow stopped here in East Lothian. I really just wanted to see my new avatar. You like :wink::thumbsup:

:tsk tsk::rules:

02-01-2010, 08:47 PM

Is he watching bear porn?

02-01-2010, 08:47 PM
Any one want to buy a couple of tonnes of snow?
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m271/down-the-slope/P1120449.jpg?t=1262468610

I will have it, i bought some last week, but someone had knicked it the very next day.

02-01-2010, 08:50 PM
I will have it, i bought some last week, but someone had knicked it the very next day.

Blooming fantastic....it even self loaded :grr::grr:

02-01-2010, 08:52 PM
Is he watching bear porn?

Family board mate :tsk tsk::rules:

scotiaf
02-01-2010, 08:56 PM
What age does a polar cub have to be to watch the above stuff?

02-01-2010, 08:56 PM
Cleared this path about a dozen times in the last week..in normal circumstances we are 23 minutes drive from Easter Road.
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m271/down-the-slope/P1120448.jpg?t=1262469234

02-01-2010, 09:00 PM
Family board mate :tsk tsk::rules:

What's your point caller?

02-01-2010, 09:00 PM
Just drove down by ER, stopped snowing and the snow that's down is melting on the road and ground already..

Gritters out in force round about Leith and through the town..

IMO the game will be on!

02-01-2010, 09:02 PM
What's your point caller?

See your previous post about the boys avatar :wink:

02-01-2010, 09:02 PM
Good news for the lancashire hibs.:top marks
In that case you can let us know as we're leaving Leigh at half 8 :wink:

O'Brien[11]
02-01-2010, 09:03 PM
Just drove down by ER, stopped snowing and the snow that's down is melting on the road and ground already..

IMO the game will be on!

Cmon The Hibs!!!
conditions might just not suit wee zoomer tommorow:confused:

02-01-2010, 09:04 PM

IMO the game will be on!

Just need some gritters and snowploughs in West Lothian so we can get to ER :pray: :pray: :pray: :pray:

02-01-2010, 09:09 PM
See your previous post about the boys avatar :wink:

Sorry, forgot to put one of these :wink: in that post.

02-01-2010, 09:10 PM
;2294144"]Cmon The Hibs!!!
conditions might just not suit wee zoomer tommorow:confused:
Don't see why not, might be a bit of zip on the pitch if there's a tiny amount of water about from the thaw.

02-01-2010, 09:14 PM
Didn't stop Zemmama having a great 20 mins last week with his assist too :greengrin

Bets on him wearing gloves though are now off :wink:

Bet Bamba is missing the snow :grr:

O'Brien[11]
02-01-2010, 09:16 PM
Don't see why not, might be a bit of zip on the pitch if there's a tiny amount of water about from the thaw.

Fair point, i just think we need a bit dig in there tommorow, Maybe Thicot for a wee cameo appearance:wink:.

02-01-2010, 09:27 PM
Thats the snow back on in east lothian..maybe 20mins or so and Leith might get it too :rolleyes:

Accepted that tomorrow is a mojor doubt and persuaded Mrs Slopey to open a bottle of bubbly :greengrin

02-01-2010, 09:32 PM
Not snowing here at the moment but it has been quite heavy throughout the whole day and it's baltic as well. Apparently it's to be -10 here overnight. :faint:

After missing last week because of the snow, I'm going to be absolutely gutted if I can't make it tomorrow. :boo hoo:

02-01-2010, 09:32 PM
Snowing quite heavy here again

whereswallace?
02-01-2010, 09:35 PM
I really cant see the game being on :boo hoo:

tanfield
02-01-2010, 09:35 PM
Fun and games driving up Dundas Street an hour or so ago. Like a slalom couse trying to avoid the cars which were stuck.

Was due to head up the Mound by then thought F&^K that! Cheeky wee right onto Princess Street and up Lothian Road.:greengrin

Still amazed by the people trying to get moving in first gear!

brythehibby
02-01-2010, 09:36 PM
Thats the snow back on in east lothian..maybe 20mins or so and Leith might get it too :rolleyes:

Accepted that tomorrow is a mojor doubt and persuaded Mrs Slopey to open a bottle of bubbly :greengrin

Nothing in musselburgh at the moment. It's lying but not too heavy. I can't see the pitch being a problem so hopefully the surrounding areas are ok tomorrow. I don't see how it's a major doubt yet though? Apart from people saying they doubt they'll make it if the pitch is ok and the surrounding areas are ok it'll be on IMO. Hope it's on and hope you can make it to the game if it is. Same to anyone travelling tomorrow. GG

02-01-2010, 09:38 PM
From my experience working with safety advisory groups etc on issues exactly like this, if anything it is better to have fresh snow as it's far easier to walk on than frost and ice, so all is not lost.

02-01-2010, 09:42 PM
A mere dusting on the Links. The gritter passed by about 20 mins ago and the road looks passable with ease.

Can't see there being a problem :wink:

02-01-2010, 09:42 PM
What will you do with the time if match is off.

What about a mass snow ball fight with the Jumbos :greengrin

02-01-2010, 09:43 PM
More snow. Game seriously in doubt now. :boo hoo:

02-01-2010, 09:45 PM
More snow. Game seriously in doubt now. :boo hoo:

Why? Snow in Crammond shouldn't affect ER and the surrounding area.

HONG KONG PHOOEY
02-01-2010, 09:46 PM
Its been snowing heavily in Queensferry on and off all night. Its now quite thick on the ground and if it keeps up it will make travel to the game very difficult. This may contribute to the game being called off as not all the players or officials live near Easter Road.

crewetollhibee

Just parked the taxi up for the night, sod that ! But that's cheered me up no end, ta mate !!!!!

MussyHibby
Lashing down in Musselburgh again. :boo hoo:

02-01-2010, 09:47 PM
Why? Snow in Crammond shouldn't affect ER and the surrounding area.

I'm not currently in Cramond. :wink:

02-01-2010, 09:47 PM
What will you do with the time if match is off.

What about a mass snow ball fight with the Jumbos :greengrin

Snow covered rocks :greengrin

02-01-2010, 09:49 PM
Was due to head up the Mound by then thought F&^K that!

Hasn't the Mound got undersoil heating no more? Used to have.

02-01-2010, 09:50 PM
Hasn't the Mound got undersoil heating no more? Used to have.
Aye but cooncil cut backs have seen it shut off. :grr:

02-01-2010, 09:51 PM
It's stopped here for now

brythehibby
02-01-2010, 09:53 PM

Oh no it's not :greengrin

Started and stopped again! I'm being told of abandoned cars in muss due to ice on the roads. Hope it's all gone in the morning but doubt it. Still think the game will be on.

Stingbat
02-01-2010, 09:53 PM
Still fair at Albion terrace although it looks blooming cold outside now!

MussyHibby
02-01-2010, 09:55 PM
Oh no it's not :greengrin

Started and stopped again! I'm being told of abandoned cars in muss due to ice on the roads. Hope it's all gone in the morning but doubt it. Still think the game will be on.

So do I mate but it's snowing heavy up by me at the train station.

Landells
02-01-2010, 09:58 PM
Good chance the games off?

02-01-2010, 10:00 PM
Good chance the games off?

We'll find out at 9am

brythehibby
So do I mate but it's snowing heavy up by me at the train station.

Yeah back on again! I'm at the other end, north high st. Is anyone else beginning to hate the snow?

magpie1892
So is there/when is there a pitch inspection or decision about the game?

Is one scheduled? If so, when is it?

This is the sort of info that I look for in a thread about whether the game is on or not, not discussions about new avatars FFS.

magpie1892
02-01-2010, 10:01 PM
We'll find out at 9am

Finally, thank ****.

02-01-2010, 10:01 PM

This is the sort of info that I look for in a thread about whether the game is on or not, not discussions about new avatars FFS.
Read it man. read it. :confused:

Landells
02-01-2010, 10:02 PM
We'll find out at 9am

Been looking forward to this! :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

02-01-2010, 10:03 PM

Man up, it's no be called off yet

magpie1892
02-01-2010, 10:05 PM
Read it man. read it. :confused:

All nine pages?!

MussyHibby
I so want the game to be on but it doesn't look good. Even if it stopped snowing now and didn't again between now and k/o, the temperature tomorrow will be -3c at best, well below freezing! :boo hoo:

This means major problems with travel from home to the game, parking, walking conditions...............not looking good! :boo hoo:

Get a grip man. The fat lady hasn't sung yet. :greengrin

Finally, thank ****.

The Mrs got a headache? :dunno:

magpie1892
02-01-2010, 10:07 PM
The Mrs got a headache? :dunno:

I ****ing have.

Maybe change the title of the thread so no-one else spits the dummy out like I have?

02-01-2010, 10:09 PM
Finally, thank ****.

Post #272

I read it :greengrin

02-01-2010, 10:09 PM
I ****ing have.

Maybe change the title of the thread so no-one else spits the dummy out like I have?

magpie1892
02-01-2010, 10:10 PM
Post #272

Post 272. Says it all.

Thread needs a new title.

bournehibby
02-01-2010, 10:11 PM
That's my abiding memory of white pitches and orange baws: Pat Quinn being imperious. Perhaps St Johnstone were involved in one such show? :dunno:

Also vaguely recall Neilly Martin scoring winner in a 1-0 over the Huns on white pitch.
All they did that day was clear the line markings from a snowy pitch and bingo ! We actually dominated that game start to finish, Great header from Neilly.
bh

02-01-2010, 10:13 PM
I ****ing have.

therealgavmac
02-01-2010, 10:14 PM
I will be very p-d off if the games not on

Spent nearly 9 hours drivinmg up from Norfolk to Penicuik for the game.

:grr::grr::grr:

Landells
02-01-2010, 10:16 PM
Man up, it's no be called off yet

Get a grip man. The fat lady hasn't sung yet. :greengrin

Its gonna be off!!! Was looking forward to that pie tae

:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

02-01-2010, 10:17 PM
I will be very p-d off if the games not on

Spent nearly 9 hours drivinmg up from Norfolk to Penicuik for the game.

:grr::grr::grr:

You think driving an MG is bad:bitchy:
I had to drive to the hun game in a Liliac Piccaso:greengrin

whereswallace?
02-01-2010, 10:19 PM
You think driving an MG is bad:bitchy:
I had to drive to the hun game in a Liliac Piccaso:greengrin

:dancer::dancer::dancer::dancer::dancer:

02-01-2010, 10:21 PM

May I just point out that is does not 'lash down' with snow, just rain. :nerd:

Jeezo, who stole your sweeties?

Alicky Ranks
02-01-2010, 10:22 PM
I know it's easy for me to say from afar, but is it an altogether bad thing that the game seems likely to be off? I still think we'd stuff Hearts in any weather, but we don't want conditions to make the match into something of a lottery and hence hand them a wee chance of fluking a win. I'd rather stuff them in conditions suited to decent football.

Also, if it's off it means our next game is the Scottish Cup tie which will surely see us rattle in a few goals - a confidence-boosting start to the new year.

bmc_1980
02-01-2010, 10:23 PM
I went past ER about 5.30 tonight....not one bit of snow. I know it's been belting down in other areas but is anyone around the stadium just now??? look out yer windae!!!

Alicky Ranks
02-01-2010, 10:24 PM

On the Bounce someone says there's a 9am decision being made by police. I'd wager the game will be called off.

02-01-2010, 10:25 PM
Just driven home to Alloa from Edinburgh. From Edinburgh to Linlithgow the M9 was a ****ing nightmare, 1 lane only.

As soon as we hit Linlithgow and the Falkirk district the roads were fine. What is going on with Edinburgh council and getting the roads gritted?? Poor show:grr:

Cheers for the tip. How much snow do you get down your way? :cool2:

You think I've never lived in Scotland when it's snowed?

Basildon Hibs
I know it's easy for me to say from afar, but is it an altogether bad thing that the game seems likely to be off? I still think we'd stuff Hearts in any weather, but we don't want conditions to make the match into something of a lottery and hence hand them a wee chance of fluking a win. I'd rather stuff them in conditions suited to decent football.

Also, if it's off it means our next game is the Scottish Cup tie which will surely see us rattle in a few goals - a confidence-boosting start to the new year.

I agree, Alicky.:wink:

02-01-2010, 10:26 PM
I went past ER about 5.30 tonight....not one bit of snow. I know it's been belting down in other areas but is anyone around the stadium just now??? look out yer windae!!!

:rolleyes: Take it you've not read all the posts either?

Landells
02-01-2010, 10:28 PM
For those who have driven to broxburn going through Winchburgh the hill heading out of winchburgh is complete ice. I was driving down the car wouldn't stop so I had to ditch into the side.

02-01-2010, 10:30 PM
Are we now saying that if there is poor conditions anywhere in the UK that the game should be off just in case a few fans happen to live in that area?! :confused:

What a load of pish. :blah:

02-01-2010, 10:30 PM
For those who have driven to broxburn going through Winchburgh the hill heading out of winchburgh is complete ice. I was driving down the car wouldn't stop so I had to ditch into the side.

If they have driven there, shirley they would know that already? :confused:

SmashinGlass
02-01-2010, 10:31 PM
Up at mine you cant actually differentiate the pavement from the road!!!! Hopefully a few miles further into town its different as i am well up for tomorrow!!!!!

cad
02-01-2010, 10:32 PM
Walk on the road then! :grr:

Jeez ,an a happy New Year tae you ,:bitchy:

MountcastleHibs
02-01-2010, 10:32 PM

As the name suggests I live in Mountcastle and there's about an inch of snow lying outside.

I'm placing my money on the game being called off, but I pray it's not :rolleyes:

bmc_1980
02-01-2010, 10:33 PM
nah Arab, there got so far in and there was nonsense and I've just got in myself and thought I'd jump on the last post to make sure what got was up to date!!:wink:

whats it like down ER way right now then?

(and naw, i cant be bothered going back through the other posts to find out):thumbsup:

02-01-2010, 10:33 PM
Why make a decision at 9am when conditions could be completely different 6 hours later?

What's it like through the west? Any chance of the Old Firm being off?

02-01-2010, 10:34 PM
-9 outside my kitchen window now, semi-cloudy sky and I can see stars. Don't think there has been any snow up my way for a good few hours.

cad
02-01-2010, 10:35 PM
If the polis get treble time and a day in lew the match is a stick on to go ahead :greengrin

SmashinGlass
02-01-2010, 10:36 PM

if the weather stays the same, there's no danger you'll be out of penicuik!!!!

Apologies wrong quote!

Mag7
02-01-2010, 10:39 PM

Was thinking the same myself. Also, when the derby gets replayed it might actually be a wee bit warmer!

scotiaf
02-01-2010, 10:41 PM
Why make a decision at 9am when conditions could be completely different 6 hours later?

What's it like through the west? Any chance of the Old Firm being off?

No snow in Glasgow in the west end area

02-01-2010, 10:42 PM
nah Arab, there got so far in and there was nonsense and I've just got in myself and thought I'd jump on the last post to make sure what got was up to date!!:wink:

whats it like down ER way right now then?

(and naw, i cant be bothered going back through the other posts to find out):thumbsup:

Fair enough. Here's a few, take your pick. :cool2:

Snowing quite heavy here again

The attached photo was taken about 250 metres from the stadium roughly fifteen minutes ago. I think the picture speaks for itself. Unless there is a thaw overnight, this game is in doubt.http://www.hibs.net/message/attachment.php?attachmentid=5325&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1262465421 (http://www.hibs.net/message/attachment.php?attachmentid=5325&d=1262465421)

02-01-2010, 10:43 PM
No snow in Glasgow in the west end area

Aye but if there's snow in West Lothian then will the Rangers end no be empty? :greengrin

bmc_1980
02-01-2010, 10:44 PM
cheers Arab!

Fingers crossed global warming kick's in over night we get the sun from Oz on Leith!!!!

everyone get yer fingers crossed. :agree::agree:

panshibby
02-01-2010, 10:44 PM
blizzard at the moment in the pans, have got to drive down to Morpeth area first thing to drop off the kids and back up for the match :grr:

02-01-2010, 10:46 PM
Well thats me away to my bed, i will do a wee prayer for some rain and sun in leith overnight.:wink:

02-01-2010, 10:47 PM
Well thats me away to my bed, i will do a wee prayer for some rain and sun in leith overnight.:wink:

Are you up here or have you given up ?

Hibster
02-01-2010, 10:52 PM

Probably for the benefit of people who have to travel in from outside Edinburgh. Better than thousands making a journey in dangerous conditions only to find the game is called off a few minutes before kick off

Was driving to Edinburgh from Fife earlier this evening - absolutely terrible conditions. Took about 3 hours for a journey that normally takes a little over 1 hour

Cool_Hand_Luke
02-01-2010, 10:53 PM
Just took the dog out for a walk and i would be surprised if the game......gets called off :greengrin
The road on Easter Road is fine and cars are going up and down no problem. The roads on Iona and Dickson Street are a little slushy, but again cars seem to be driving no problem.
The pavement on easter road is beginning to get a little slushy, but not really slippy.
The pavement on Iona Street is covered in snow, but there's no problem walking on it even with a dog dragging you along at 100mph in a desparate attempt to get to the park :greengrin As someone mentioned as its fresh snow its alot easier to walk on than hard compacted snow.

I guess it all depends what happens overnight, but as it stands just now, in my opinion as long as the pitch is ok then there shouldnt be a problem, as the surrounding areas seem ok :agree:

crewetollhibee
02-01-2010, 10:54 PM
Sunshine on Leith ? Whoever heard of such a thing ? :wink:

bmc_1980
02-01-2010, 10:55 PM
Cool Hand Luke - best post i've read in ages!!!!!!!!!

c'mmoooooooooon!

02-01-2010, 10:57 PM
Are you up here or have you given up ?

Still in sunny pool, train leaves preston at 10am, hopefully we will find out before then. night night.:thumbsup:

02-01-2010, 11:02 PM
Still in sunny pool, train leaves preston at 10am, hopefully we will find out before then. night night.:thumbsup:

Hope your train is OK. I came up from Manchester today after a wee break and had a nightmare with cancelled Northbound trains. Preston /Lancaster seemed to be the problem.
Hope it works out for you boys

02-01-2010, 11:06 PM
Really heavy snow here again :grr:

oldbiker
02-01-2010, 11:09 PM
Musselburgh gots three inches o the white stuff and falling steadily :jamboak:

scotiaf
02-01-2010, 11:11 PM
Aye but if there's snow in West Lothian then will the Rangers end no be empty? :greengrin

:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

02-01-2010, 11:11 PM
I've updated the thread title. Confirmed that the police and Hibs will meet at 6am to check the routes to the ground. The final decision will be taken between 8am and 9am.

Will update as and when I get more.

Don't expect me to be up at 6am :greengrin

Hank Schrader
02-01-2010, 11:13 PM
I have a good eight inches here....

....snow is pretty deep as well....

scotiaf
02-01-2010, 11:15 PM
I seem to recall a game against celtic.. 3 years ago on boxing day??? Riordan freekick, we got beat 2-1

The snow that day was really heavy and it took hours for me to get from glasgow..

But the game was still on

02-01-2010, 11:16 PM
Just took the dog out for a walk and i would be surprised if the game......gets called off :greengrin
The road on Easter Road is fine and cars are going up and down no problem. The roads on Iona and Dickson Street are a little slushy, but again cars seem to be driving no problem.
The pavement on easter road is beginning to get a little slushy, but not really slippy.
The pavement on Iona Street is covered in snow, but there's no problem walking on it even with a dog dragging you along at 100mph in a desparate attempt to get to the park :greengrin As someone mentioned as its fresh snow its alot easier to walk on than hard compacted snow.

I guess it all depends what happens overnight, but as it stands just now, in my opinion as long as the pitch is ok then there shouldnt be a problem, as the surrounding areas seem ok :agree:

Screw the Beeb for a weather report...thats just the most personolised and acurate weather and condition report ever (just forgot the estimated beer temp in the area to reach perfection:wink:)

:notworthy:

deek1875
02-01-2010, 11:17 PM
just left the hibs club and as it stands the game will b very doubtful roads full of snow pavements very dodgy and now home at meadowfeield and pishing doon wi no let up in site. but the pubs will still b open if u can get there

deek1875
02-01-2010, 11:22 PM
If the polis get treble time and a day in lew the match is a stick on to go ahead :greengrin

and another shift simples

Just been for a post half bottle of Champers Midnight walk in the snow with Mrs S....it reminds me of the pics of Narnia..soooo lovely in the moon light between the snow showers..nothing but a few Hare tracks in the snow on the road outside the village.....the hills just look magnificent..

Now which friendly 4*4 owner can I persuade to get me out tomorrow :rolleyes:

bmc_1980
284 people viewing this thread - anyone fancy getting a shovel and we'll take a street each?? i want to hump this lot tomorrow!!!!!!!:thumbsup:

scotiaf
02-01-2010, 11:25 PM
i'll bring the flask of coffee

02-01-2010, 11:25 PM
Just been out for an hour clearing snow from the car and drive to make it easier in the morning ...........

.............nah, real reason was to get ripped into my :jamboclow neighbour who was already out. When I suggested that his mob will be hoping the game is off to give them a chance to sign some world cup stars, he says with a straight face "no, we want it on, we're on a winning run" :faf: :faf: :faf: :trumpet::ostrich:

I want in on, lets get into this :******:

Stingbat
02-01-2010, 11:27 PM
284 people viewing this thread - anyone fancy getting a shovel and we'll take a street each?? i want to hump this lot tomorrow!!!!!!!:thumbsup:
I am in Albion Terrace, I'm quite happy to clear the street round the stadium but those muppets can slide over Crawford bridge like I have been doing all week!!

02-01-2010, 11:27 PM
284 people viewing this thread - anyone fancy getting a shovel and we'll take a street each?? i want to hump this lot tomorrow!!!!!!!:thumbsup::faf::faf:

I was thinking earlier that the number of views of this thread would make a better than average SPL crowd...

Baw187
02-01-2010, 11:29 PM
Just been out for an hour clearing snow from the car and drive to make it easier in the morning ...........

.............nah, real reason was to get ripped into my :jamboclow neighbour who was already out. When I suggested that his mob will be hoping the game is off to give them a chance to sign some world cup stars, he says with a straight face "no, we want it on, we're on a winning run" :faf: :faf: :faf: :trumpet::ostrich:

I want in on, lets get into this :******:

That's some cracking shoveling, Billy!

02-01-2010, 11:30 PM
As its a big game Id surmise that if the pitch + stadium are OK then it will be game on with the warning that journeys should only be made if absolutely necessary. Even if the snow arrives at ER its the nice fluffy stuff.

bmc_1980
02-01-2010, 11:30 PM
:faf::faf:

or we're already on our to beating the attendance for wee ginger strachan's FA Cup tie at home to Man City......just over 12,000....!!!!

so 6am it is then???????? :grr:

02-01-2010, 11:31 PM
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/dg_forecast_warnings.html?day=1

Not good....

deek1875
02-01-2010, 11:35 PM
no looking gd atall. no hp

02-01-2010, 11:36 PM
This forecast suggests it isn't going to snow all night..........

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/edinburgh_forecast_weather.html

It's not going to shift if it's -07 though!

Gala Foxes
02-01-2010, 11:37 PM
looking dire if you have to navigate the A7 from Gala to E Rd via Middleton, but worth the risk if its another 6-2 or ZERO-7

02-01-2010, 11:38 PM
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/dg_forecast_warnings.html?day=1

Not good....

Orange baws and a green willie?

gem
I guess I shall wait till morning to fin out if its on or not dont want to breave the roads here in Newcastle only to find out edinburgh not much better and the game off! Fingers Crossed its on :-)

Gala Foxes
sorry that was Middleton Moor rather than Middletons Bar for those unfamiliar with the A7

bmc_1980
02-01-2010, 11:39 PM
looks like we'll all find up when we wake up tomorrow. doesn't look good at all.....!!

:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::

deek1875
just looked ootside and it`s stoped the now but canny c ma motor pretty thick bit like me just ba :wink:

The Yams will be ****ing themselves at the thought of being minus 7 again...!!

hibs is life
02-01-2010, 11:46 PM
hope the game is on but cant see it am buzzing cant wait:notworthy::notworthy::notworthy::notworthy:

02-01-2010, 11:49 PM
Snow showers will continue overnight and will be heavy at times. Further accumulations of 5 to10cm of snow are expected before the showers begin to die out later.
The public are advised to take extra care and refer to Traffic Scotland for further advice on road conditions.
Issued at: 2242 Sat 2 Jan

And its chucking down here in EL again and heading to Edinburgh

03-01-2010, 12:05 AM
polis will call the game off at 9am so they can all snuggle up with their weegie pals to watch the 'biggest derby in the world'.

After all they hardly want two massive derbys on the same day anyway.:wink:

GB6
03-01-2010, 12:08 AM
whos going to be brave enough to take a corner tommorow? http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/8437683.stm i can see this happening to a few players (in marroon) :devil: and also from another picture.. ''
Dundee Utd v Aberdeen: The New Firm derby at Tannadice goes ahead despite heavy snowfall and traffic problems'' :pray:

heidtheba
03-01-2010, 12:08 AM
Hmm...according to the BBC weather site its not snowing and wont again for days...
But it also says it hasn't snowed in the last hour...balz to that!

Sweep
03-01-2010, 12:09 AM
had about 6 to 8 inches today here in bonnyrigg and its STILL snowing.

Mike777
03-01-2010, 12:24 AM
i was around leith and easter road from 6 till 12 and driving conditions are pretty safe, considering other parts of town, I was inches away from a lampost today, Nightmare.
Pavements and roads are pretty clear, very wet and slushy this was about 12 mind you.

03-01-2010, 12:42 AM
It will take a minor miracle for this game to be played - I live 15 minutes away from ER and uphill slopes are impassable for cars/taxis. Unless ER is gritted to within an inch of its life, it'll be called off for road safety reasons if nothing else.

HibbyScott
03-01-2010, 12:44 AM
It will take a minor miracle for this game to be played - I live 15 minutes away from ER and uphill slopes are impassable for cars/taxis. Unless ER is gritted to within an inch of its life, it'll be called off for road safety reasons if nothing else.

You need to update your location :wink: I don't care how fast the TGV is, Nantes is not 15mins away from Easter Road :greengrin

jakedance
03-01-2010, 12:58 AM
If the pitch is playable the match should definitely go ahead.

Here's an idea. Everyone knows the conditions underfoot are poor so leave early and take care. If you live in Gifford or something - maybe you shouldnae bother. There you go L&BP, problem solved.

03-01-2010, 01:03 AM
Very snowy in Dunbar.. really hope the game goes ahead !:notworthy:

Cool_Hand_Luke
03-01-2010, 01:04 AM

I suppose it depends on how far out they are going to check. As mentioned, Easter Road and some of the surrounding roads i've seen look fine with cars having no problems :agree:

Fingers crossed there is either a big thaw in the other areas or the gritters get out and about early doors.

BoozyLynne
03-01-2010, 01:06 AM
Even if the match does go ahead, I'm not sure I'll even be able to make it. We've got about a foot of snow up here in Fairmilehead. The buses will have a heck of a time getting up the hill if the ploughs aren't out overnight.

Went out for a walk in it earlier and it's difficult to tell where the road stops and the pavement starts. Some cars look like they'll need to be dug out by their owners, too!

Snow stopped about an hour ago, but was snowing all day more or less.

Where's Mr Plow when you need him??

"Call Mr Plow, that's my name, that name again is Mr Plow"

03-01-2010, 01:09 AM
Even if the match does go ahead, I'm not sure I'll even be able to make it. We've got about a foot of snow up here in Fairmilehead. The buses will have a heck of a time getting up the hill if the ploughs aren't out overnight.

Went out for a walk in it earlier and it's difficult to tell where the road stops and the pavement starts. Some cars look like they'll need to be dug out by their owners, too!

Snow stopped about an hour ago, but was snowing all day more or less.

Where's Mr Plow when you need him??

"Call Mr Plow, that's my name, that name again is Mr Plow"

BoozyLynne
03-01-2010, 01:14 AM

...so then I said "kiss MY asphalt!"

camthebam
03-01-2010, 01:22 AM
Is there really a possibility of this game not going ahead?

I'm typing this from the sunny Highlands and all seems ok?

I've timetabled my entire festive binge around this game. Based all my holiday bookings around it. I worked Christmas to afford a few days recovery.

Yous are all joking, aye?

Banter
03-01-2010, 01:23 AM
If the pitch is playable the match should definitely go ahead.

Here's an idea. Everyone knows the conditions underfoot are poor so leave early and take care. If you live in Gifford or something - maybe you shouldnae bother. There you go L&BP, problem solved.

I hope you are not suggesting that the authorities let common sense prevail on this occasion:rules:

We seam to be living in an ever increasing nanny state these days. I appreciate someone has to make a safety call on these things but it's a bit of snow, in Scotland, in January. Not exactly plutonium. There will be 20, 000+ heading to princess street tomorrow - going to close that too?

And a poster mentioned a seasonal game v Celtic about 4 years ago. Weather was worse and it went ahead. I also remeber watching a TV game at old love street. Snow that had been removed from the pitch pre match formed a 5 foot wall around the pitch and that went ahead:grr:

Wakeyhibee
03-01-2010, 01:25 AM

On the same train fella see you there :thumbsup:.

Everyone else have a safe journey to ER.

lugz
03-01-2010, 01:31 AM
Thats heavy snow back on in lochend now :grr:

Last Minute
03-01-2010, 01:34 AM
can't sleep I'm buzzing for the game to go ahead:thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 01:40 AM
Heavy snow in Stockbridge atm

Landells
03-01-2010, 01:40 AM
can't sleep I'm buzzing for the game to go ahead:thumbsup:

I'v not even tried:greengrin

HIBERNIALEITH
03-01-2010, 01:41 AM
Snow has calmed down now and I'm at the end of the links!!! Tough one to call!!!

03-01-2010, 01:44 AM
just finished a shift in the taxi early cos the streets are so bad, main roads in the city centre aint to bad cos the gritters are out, but not looking good for tomorrow.....

Ive been so looking forward to it and if its off ill be gutted.....:notworthy:

HibeeMcGinn1
03-01-2010, 02:17 AM
Cant sleep, keep refreshing this to hear any news. This better be on!

03-01-2010, 02:23 AM
i'll be totally gutted if its off.

1st time in 5 years that i could get to a derby in the flesh, instead of on HI!

will be back in the 22 degrees of auckland when the reschuduled game will be played.

Calvin
03-01-2010, 02:31 AM
Went down the hill out of our street earlier. The brakes had no effect and the car glided through a red light into two lanes of oncoming traffic. Could have been very very nasty. I'm rating the game 30/70.

03-01-2010, 02:41 AM
so... anyone doing anything around 3pm tomorrow? :wink:

03-01-2010, 04:28 AM
-7 in the west overnight and a lot of the main Roads not gritted yet

I hope a decision is made earlie to allow fans to plan there day well in advance.

EasterRoad4Ever
03-01-2010, 04:57 AM
IMO little chance of this match going ahead. Had it been a weekday the gritters would have been out by now clearing the main roads for commuters, but no a sign of them or chance of them getting out on a Sunday morning.

But you can bet the weedgie council will be doing everything in their powers to get the OF Derby on !

03-01-2010, 05:03 AM
IMO little chance of this match going ahead. Had it been a weekday the gritters would have been out by now clearing the main roads for commuters, but no a sign of them or chance of them getting out on a Sunday morning.

But you can bet the weedgie council will be doing everything in their powers to get the OF Derby on !

I heard on the Scottish news Yesterday that there's no chance of this game being called off.

That was before the overnight snow blizzards we've been having in the west

thischarmingman
03-01-2010, 05:09 AM
hasnt snowed in inverness overnight,bus leaves in an hour

shamo9
03-01-2010, 05:19 AM
Hasn't gotten any worse overnight, hopefully I'll receive good news after a quick nap - last thing we need is a backlog of games.

gramskiwood
03-01-2010, 05:43 AM
Taxis are having difficulty getting up wishaw terrace which isnae very steep i'll be very surprised if the game's on

Sandy
03-01-2010, 05:53 AM
Bollox if it is off, naff new year, in work and the only thing that has kept me going was the thought of being back in my hotel either watching (via HI) or listening to the game and having a few alcohol free Becks (other brands are available), oh by the way I will be adding some of the illicit local stuff to the beers :greengrin. Please please please be on :notworthy:

WWFTWTG
03-01-2010, 05:53 AM
I am about four miles away - not looking good - cant see it being on

03-01-2010, 06:11 AM
Rugby was on at Murrayfield yesterday in bad weather, I'd come doon wi a shovel if it would help.

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 06:28 AM
just about to go out in the taxi,no more snow in corstorphine last night

will head doon to easter road for a wee look and give lothian and borders finest a bit of advice(like get the ****ing game on)

please please please be on the hibs cd is in the motor season ticket in my wallet ready to go,work for 6 hrs then ye ha time:greengrin:greengrin

03-01-2010, 06:35 AM
I must be just about the only person who wants it to be off. I've got a stinker of a cold and I'm coughing my guts up :ill:

hibbie02
03-01-2010, 06:35 AM
Rugby was on at Murrayfield yesterday in bad weather, I'd come doon wi a shovel if it would help.

Are you in Edinburgh or are you going to Quinns?

03-01-2010, 06:38 AM
Surely somebody has a contact in the police!

A wee cheeky phonecall/text asking how the inspection went at 6 would be nice :wink:

03-01-2010, 06:39 AM

A wee cheeky phonecall/text asking how the inspection went at 6 would be nice :wink:

I've sent a couple of texts but have had no replies yet.

03-01-2010, 06:39 AM
I must be just about the only person who wants it to be off. I've got a stinker of a cold and I'm coughing my guts up :ill:

If it's on don't expect sympathy. Do expect a load of PMs asking for your ticket.:greengrin

03-01-2010, 06:40 AM
I'm at my folks hoose in Corstorphine, not back in London till tomorrow (or I'd be going to Quinns)

If u PMd me re Burns night thanks, my email on my blackberrys not working but I'll email when I get on a PC, cheers

03-01-2010, 06:42 AM
If it's on don't expect sympathy. Do expect a load of PMs asking for your ticket.:greengrin

Bollox to that, I'll still be going :greengrin

03-01-2010, 06:42 AM

If the game goes ahead and you're too ill to go where will I be sitting? :greengrin

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 06:43 AM

my cousin is a copper but i don't think the yam fud would appricate a call at this time on a sunday morning

i'll leave that call till 5pm (hopefully):thumbsup:

03-01-2010, 06:47 AM
my cousin is a copper but i don't think the yam fud would appricate a call at this time on a sunday morning

i'll leave that call till 5pm (hopefully):thumbsup:

Phone the yam fud :devil:

03-01-2010, 06:48 AM

03-01-2010, 06:49 AM

:greengrin:thumbsup::faf:

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 06:50 AM

dinny fancy some police brutallity for making that call :agree::agree:

Sandy
03-01-2010, 06:53 AM
dinny fancy some police brutallity for making that call :agree::agree:

Give me his number and I will phone him then :greengrin

03-01-2010, 06:54 AM

Make sure you reverse the charges :wink:

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 06:55 AM

ok then it's 07 62 999 999:greengrin:greengrin

if the dundee uts game went ahead yesterday...in dundee for christ sake....surely to god....

999 :cool2:

03-01-2010, 06:56 AM
If the safety inspection was 6am, I am surprised by no announcement by L&B, maybe this means the match goes ahead?

03-01-2010, 06:58 AM
If the safety inspection was 6am, I am surprised by no announcement by L&B, maybe this means the match goes ahead?
The clue is in the thread title :wink:

Depends how big an area they consider to be within the vicinity of the ground, I suppose. Big advantage that there aren't acres of car park to clear though.

03-01-2010, 06:58 AM

I was thinking the same, although the info I got last night specifically said that the decision would be made between 8am and 9am.

I've just been speaking to someone who got very early info about the St Johnstone game being off and they've heard nothing.

03-01-2010, 06:59 AM
Surly if there was an inspection at 6am we would know what the decision was :rolleyes:

shamo9
The suspense is killing me... at least the sun is coming out to say hello.

I've just been speaking to someone who got very early info about the St Johnstone game being off and they've heard nothing.

Well stop pestering Yogi and let him put his finishing touches to his masterplan for the day:wink:

03-01-2010, 07:00 AM
The pitch will be playable.

It'll come down to whether the Polis feel the areas around the ground are safe.

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 07:00 AM

they sent a couple of pc's round in there patrol car to have a look and report back to gayfield cos the head honco is still in his pit.

shamo9
03-01-2010, 07:01 AM

Considering it's an Edinburgh Derby, the game is sold out and it's on T.V I imagine they're trying everything possible before making a decision (nae burst pipe rubbish today).

03-01-2010, 07:02 AM
disnae even feel that cold livi this morn....i know...ive already smoked all me duty free cigs!

03-01-2010, 07:03 AM
they sent a couple of pc's round in there patrol car to have a look and report back to gayfield cos the head honco is still in his pit.

I called Fettes, and no decision has been made, but the woman on the phone told me her drive into her work was treacherous..........:grr:

Sandy
03-01-2010, 07:05 AM
999 :cool2:

Nae fae here it's no ya bam :greengrin

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 07:06 AM
I called Fettes, and no decision has been made, but the woman on the phone told me her drive into her work was treacherous..........:grr:

can't believe they never got a couple of probationers round to clear it for her shame:greengrin:greengrin

03-01-2010, 07:06 AM
Should th City Council not be trying to clear the roads and also liaising with the police on their progress?

03-01-2010, 07:07 AM
A police inspection at 6am, 9 freakin hours before the game is due to kick off and around 7 hours before the vast majority of people will start to leave for the game.

I'm sure then the same applies to the OF game, which would've had it's surrounding area inspection at 3am this morning then.

How the hell does that give the local council any chance of clearing the roads.

Me thinks the police would love it if the game is off.

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 07:07 AM

try 0044 999 you might get through then:faf::faf:

Sandy
03-01-2010, 07:11 AM
try 0044 999 you might get through then:faf::faf:

:faf: You have obviously never tried a Libyan phone system then :greengrin If their are more than say about 20 international calls at any one time you cannae dial out, even via mobile :grr:

03-01-2010, 07:11 AM

Of course it'll be treacherous for her, she's a woman and driving in the snow just doesn't happen with them :bitchy:

Oh, how about +44 999 :confused:

03-01-2010, 07:17 AM
Just had look out of window and caught up on the posts on my mobile whilst lying in my scratcher. Doesnt look like much more snow overnight. If it was too dodgy they would take the easy + safe option at 6AM + cancel. Im going to have another wee sleep then prepare for a struggle into town.

03-01-2010, 07:19 AM
Of course it'll be treacherous for her, she's a woman and driving in the snow just doesn't happen with them :bitchy:

:rolleyes: :duck: :offski: :whistle:

:cool2:

BH.

03-01-2010, 07:21 AM
Barring another blizzard this morning, I reckon it'll be on!!

BH.

03-01-2010, 07:28 AM
Either way, the club needs to make an announcement on the official site as soon as a decision is made so that people know what's going on. Some of the north of England guys and gals are already on the way.

If they know now they should say now, rather than waiting until 9am.

03-01-2010, 07:30 AM
Should th City Council not be trying to clear the roads and also liaising with the police on their progress?

That would involve serving the needs of council tax payers though - ain't gonna happen.

03-01-2010, 07:33 AM
That would involve serving the needs of council tax payers though - ain't gonna happen.

Unless your Heart of Midlothian of course.

http://www.heartsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/follow-weather-gate-on-facebook-20091230_2241384_1905097

03-01-2010, 07:35 AM
With the game finishing around 5ish they'll have to make a decision on what the road conditions are like at that time.

If it's the same as yesterday prepare to add at least 2 hours to your normal journey.

Deek01
03-01-2010, 07:38 AM
I'd happily add a couple of hours to my journey back, I just want this game to be on !!!!!

Billy
03-01-2010, 07:39 AM
With the game finishing around 5ish they'll have to make a decision on what the road conditions are like at that time.

If it's the same as yesterday prepare to add at least 2 hours to your normal journey.

M9 is open again Cuz. Hope you had a good festive season :thumbsup:

SneakersO'Toole
03-01-2010, 07:40 AM
If the club/police were kicking things off at 6am this morning then I would say no news is good news at this stage. Remember that the easy option is always to call the game off.

03-01-2010, 07:42 AM
A wee bit of info I've just received suggests the game will be ON.

Nothing official yet though.

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 07:43 AM

source!!!!!:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

03-01-2010, 07:43 AM
source!!!!!:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

03-01-2010, 07:44 AM

Now lets concentrate on ****ing these *******s. :agree:

brythehibby

Just up and read that, great news hopefully official soon! Cheers for the info mikey

Pieman?

03-01-2010, 07:47 AM
Pieman?

Fishman?

MCC Hibs
03-01-2010, 07:47 AM
Hurryupman!

HibeeMcGinn1
03-01-2010, 07:48 AM
Aw a kenman:)

03-01-2010, 07:49 AM
M9 is open again Cuz. Hope you had a good festive season :thumbsup:

Great festive period Billy but today could put the cherry on top:greengrin How was yours?

Managed to get home last night but Newbridge to Linlithgow was the worst road conditions I've ever experienced.

03-01-2010, 07:50 AM
Pieman?

Got to Pittodrie early doors a few weeks ago and made the mistake of buying a pie right away on getting into the ground - still cold in the middle!

Shattered my illusions that the pies get baked in the ground, so it did! :greengrin:greengrin

03-01-2010, 07:55 AM
Anyone else going to be really annoyed if it gets to 9:01 and we haven't heard yet? :greengrin

Mag7
03-01-2010, 07:55 AM
DJ on Forth seems to think game is OFF.

Either way nobody in our street can get their cars out of the snow so unless we're prepared to walk the 11 miles to the ground we won't make it anyway.

03-01-2010, 07:56 AM

Either way nobody in our street can get their cars out of the snow so unless we're prepared to walk the 11 miles to the ground we won't make it anyway.

Start diggin

03-01-2010, 07:56 AM
I'm just about to dig the car out of the drive way' so the game better be ON :greengrin

03-01-2010, 07:57 AM

Has he got any info or is he just basing it on his own views?

legends of 73
03-01-2010, 07:58 AM

well whats happening.

should have started work an hour ago the joys of being self employed:greengrin

03-01-2010, 07:58 AM
Been watching SSN since 6am this morning and can't believe that there hasn't been a mention of Hibs v Hearts. I know they're not covering the match and that it's on ESPN but surely it warrants at least a few seconds of airing.

Even the weather girl (who was colder than the weather) didn't mentioned the game. Chelsea, Man U, Celtic but nothing about the mightly Hibees.

Petrie get it sorted. :grr: