View Full Version : Urgent Update - New East Stand CONFIRMED
22-02-2010, 08:17 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100222/east-stand-at-easter-road-stadium_2262950_1973122 (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100222/east-stand-at-easter-road-stadium_2262950_1973122)
Happy days! :thumbsup:
Queue the TQM apologies! . . . . SORRY!
22-02-2010, 08:25 AM
BOLLOX!!!
I'm missing the game on Saturday meaning I've sat in MY seat for the last time. :boo hoo::boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 08:30 AM
brilliant news, maybe go to the east on saturday just for old times sake:agree:
:notworthy:
EskbankHibby
22-02-2010, 08:30 AM
Sad to see the old East go but it's the way forward for the club.
Could the poster on here who has the signature of a post by some Gorgie flump assuring the hordes that they will start construction of their new stand before us please step forward.:greengrin
22-02-2010, 08:31 AM
:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
I held out some hope I would get to sit/stand in there some day again :boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 08:33 AM
Thanks for the info TQM :wink:
Ravelston Hibby
22-02-2010, 08:34 AM
Better get in quick methinks.
Sorry for doubting the people in the know on this, and sorry for going off on one TQM and Scoopyboy particularly. It was just the frustration of the thread being "URGENT" way back in December....seemed like it was all 2+2=5 at times.
So, brilliant news that it is finally officially announced today! :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 08:34 AM
:top marks:thumbsup::thumbsup:
Fantastic news:thumbsup:
Unfortunately, I do have one urge....
GIRFUY YAMS:bye::thumbsup::bye::thumbsup:
Cheered me right up on a Monday:thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 08:36 AM
Brilliant news! :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 08:36 AM
Great news,
those that end up sitting back in the east, will surely be happy when the new season kicks off, and they enjoy the new stand.
Might improve the atmosphere further.
the pic aint too brilliant, anyone got more detailed picture of how it will really look?
22-02-2010, 08:40 AM
Great news,
those that end up sitting back in the east, will surely be happy when the new season kicks off, and they enjoy the new stand.
Might improve the atmosphere further.
the pic aint too brilliant, anyone got more detailed picture of how it will really look?
next season will be a bit funny for ST's in the east if they dont anticipate it to be finished before that start of the season. I hope they offer ST's in there and seat us somewhere else until it opens!
Ghaax
22-02-2010, 08:41 AM
So - are we gonna try and squeeze into the FF?
Or all pile into the South an' make that the new singing stand?
Should be a riot(!!!) in the SS on cat A games.
Ghaax
22-02-2010, 08:43 AM
Also - guaranteed it will be us that gets held back!!!:grr::grr::grr:
paxtonhibby
22-02-2010, 08:43 AM
Im wondering if the new east is going to have the family discount scheme?
I must admit I have missed sitting there for the atmos but the view was crap.
.SeventyFive
22-02-2010, 08:49 AM
Well that will be me getting a new East Stand season ticket. Comfort AND singing - bang on!
Hoping the seats won't be that pea green though - assuming that is just the rendering getting the colours a bit wrong.
22-02-2010, 08:49 AM
Excellent news, I must admit to doubting this would really happen at this time.:flag:
Ghaax
22-02-2010, 08:53 AM
:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
I held out some hope I would get to sit/stand in there some day again :boo hoo:
Hibs Kids game this Saturday so I had planned to sit in the FF with my laddie. However he cannae go so I will have one last trip to the terracing. :thumbsup:
Saying goodbye to Alan Gordon AND the terracing on the same day :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
BTW - ah huuvnae read every post here :wink: but HIbs managed to squeeze 4 Hibs Kids games in by the end of February (and that included a late start). Kinda think RP had this date planned for many moons now considering the South can no longer be used for the HKs.......... :agree:
down the slope
22-02-2010, 08:58 AM
Can the new stand play in midfield , i wonder if this will impact on spending on players come the new season ?.
22-02-2010, 09:00 AM
Can the new stand play in midfield , i wonder if this will impact on spending on players come the new season ?.
The more Hibs fans that fill it once completed the less impact it should have! Hibs have to my mind finally delivered an infrastructure that see's the foundation laid for future and prolonged success it is now up to the fans even in times as difficult as this to back the club in numbers.
22-02-2010, 09:01 AM
Well bugger me, I honestly thought this wasn't going to happen.
Goodbye East Stand, we'll miss you!
22-02-2010, 09:03 AM
FAQs here:
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100222/new-east-stand_2262950_1973171 (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100222/new-east-stand_2262950_1973171)
There will be a back to it i see from the picture with the usual facilities...
jakedance
22-02-2010, 09:12 AM
Excellent news. For purely selfish reasons I'd rather the stadium stays as it is but this is progress I suppose.
I'm missing Saturdays game too. Gutted.
The South Stand is bound to be a good laugh for the rest of the season, category A games will be interesting.
22-02-2010, 09:12 AM
Sorry for doubting the people in the know on this, and sorry for going off on one TQM and Scoopyboy particularly. It was just the frustration of the thread being "URGENT" way back in December....seemed like it was all 2+2=5 at times.
OK, I'll hold my hands up... TQM, Scoopy and others, you were right after all.
Where's that humble pie smiley?
Gonna miss the old East, tho :boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 09:18 AM
Well that will be me getting a new East Stand season ticket. Comfort AND singing - bang on!
Hoping the seats won't be that pea green though - assuming that is just the rendering getting the colours a bit wrong.
Hopefully there will be "HIBEES" or "HIBS" or the club crest or something marked out in white seats as well?
That's what a single tier stand is for - making pretty pictures!
zemmamarama
22-02-2010, 09:22 AM
Can we sing at the yams - "We'll hav a new East stand before you! We'll hav a new East stand before you!" ;-)
JoJo_07
22-02-2010, 09:24 AM
Quick questions for those (in the know). Are we getting temporary floodlights for when the old east is getting demolished or will the existing be able to stay in place and brought down late on? Where will the new floodlights be mounted? We have at least one midweek evening k.o..
22-02-2010, 09:26 AM
Does anyone know what the leg room is like in the South?
Just wondered because when I have been in the West a few times, there appeared to be more space in the upper tier than the lower tier.
Anyone know if it'll impact on ST prices for next season?
22-02-2010, 09:29 AM
I think there's a heavy dose of GIRUY due to a few people on this thread, and a few apologies due :wink:
Whatever do you mean! I wouldn't do such a thing to my fellow .netters :wink: Now would I! :cool2:
down the slope
22-02-2010, 09:36 AM
Not a cheep from the deluded ones on keekback , what was it they said , move along now we are on a different level. ?
22-02-2010, 09:37 AM
Not a cheep from the deluded ones on keekback , what was it they said , move along now we are on a different level. ?
:greengrin GIRFUY Yams
22-02-2010, 09:38 AM
Meanwhile, Hearts spanking new main stand takes shape:
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/195/511623299_6cb7d04ac7.jpg?v=0
Now that's what you call a waste of £1m!
Great news, but I'm not going to believe it until I've seen an office full of cardboard boxes, overflowing with "important documents" and the snazzy tagline "Now that's what I call a planning application"
Tacky powerpoint presentation optional.
But seriously, it's been in the pipeline for ages, but to see it confirmed is great, if not a wee bit heartwrenching :boo hoo:
Whatever do you mean! I wouldn't do such a thing to my fellow .netters :wink: Now would I! :cool2:
Been keeping an eye on this thread since it started, well done TQM, never doubted you :wink:
22-02-2010, 09:39 AM
This is absolutely brilliant news!
i notice in the illustration there are blue seats in the corner. are they disabled/corporate - not that it interests me just an observation.
really excited about this, as a west upper s/t holder the view of the east can be rather horrific sometimes.
22-02-2010, 09:44 AM
i'm sitting waiting for it, maybe now they'll bite
22-02-2010, 09:45 AM
i notice in the illustration there are blue seats in the corner. are they disabled/corporate - not that it interests me just an observation.
really excited about this, as a west upper s/t holder the view of the east can be rather horrific sometimes.
The people in the east wont change though so the view will still be horrific! :wink:
WarringtonHibee
22-02-2010, 09:52 AM
I'm actually quite gutted, I'm going to miss the east so much when it's gone, don't like the fact it's St Johnstone for our last game in the East too... :bitchy:
Gus Fring
22-02-2010, 09:56 AM
I have a feeling the south stand is going to get very noisy what with all the old east and the away fans in it
22-02-2010, 09:58 AM
The people in the east wont change though so the view will still be horrific! :wink:
To clarify (just in case!) - i do not mean the wonderful people in the east i mean the view of some folk on thier balconies, and the roof/shed like building. i had an ST in the east for 2 seasons and loved it, but now that i sit with my dad he prefers the views from the west. I smell an ST move next season...
RoslinInstHibby
22-02-2010, 10:06 AM
sad to see the old stand go, but ER will look immense next season:thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 10:07 AM
they've bit,.........http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/68461-hibs-get-their-new-stand/
22-02-2010, 10:08 AM
Absolutely Agree fantastic news !!!
Glory glory to the Hibees
22-02-2010, 10:13 AM
Its a pity the club couldnt have given just a weeeeeeee bit more notice as alot of fans would have wanted to turn up for the last game with the old east stand.Ah well, good news.
22-02-2010, 10:18 AM
they've bit,.........http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/68461-hibs-get-their-new-stand/
He's holding back the tears:agree:
GIRFUY:thumbsup:
7Hero
love it when im right..
Meanwhile, Hearts spanking new main stand takes shape:
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/195/511623299_6cb7d04ac7.jpg?v=0
22-02-2010, 10:19 AM
Well done TQM!
:hnet:
22-02-2010, 10:20 AM
Well done TQM!
here here
22-02-2010, 10:22 AM
Posted by Jamboy 81, who must be an undercover agent. :greengrin
Probably an upgrade due to Health and Safety. It will modernise the stadium and increase the capacity as well, which will come in handy for the odd game. A sensible upgrade. Nothing compared to our MEGASTAND though, can't wait to sit down in that
22-02-2010, 10:25 AM
Quote: Yam fud
Probably an upgrade due to Health and Safety. It will modernise the stadium and increase the capacity as well, which will come in handy for the odd game. A sensible upgrade. Nothing compared to our MEGASTAND though, can't wait to sit down in that
:faf::faf::faf:
22-02-2010, 10:39 AM
Now this is interesting.
As I said earlier on in this thread, when GT kindly posted that they trusted in my information, I could in no way claim this as 'my scoop'. I was simply privvy to information that Scoops, TQM, Mikey and others had and so knew that they were on the money.
TQM has taken pelters on here, for being right. Not his fault that the timescales changed. There are some well connected .netters and we'd do well to remember that when things don't happen as quickly as originally intended. It doesn't mean that the info is wrong.
What would .netters rather have:
1. The passing on of 'insider' info as soon as it is obtained by those 'in the know'
2. The holding to info by those 'in the know' followed by a 'I knew about this three months ago' post from them when something happens?
I can tell you that there are many 'scoops' that never find their way onto the main board for various reasons, incluing a knowledge that the doubters will shout them down.
I for one, welcome the new East Stand, praise the board for the price they've got this thing for (which is incredible) and credit the 'in the knowers' who have passed some excellent information through to the PM's on this subject for some months now.
22-02-2010, 10:40 AM
Aye well done TQM!
As said before you generated one hell of a thread and all worthwhile!
Perspective
22-02-2010, 10:46 AM
1. The passing on of 'insider' info as soon as it is obtained by those 'in the know'
2. The holding to info by those 'in the know' followed by a 'I knew about this three months ago' post from them when something happens?
It doesn't matter so much with stories like this, but in the case of transfer speculation I'd much rather then 'in the know' brigade keep their traps shut.
Leaking information like that can only do damage. Even if it's a small chance of something falling through because of a message board post, surely it's not worth taking the chance?
And I don't see why the 'in the know' types would feel the need to post that they knew about something happening three months ago - no-one can be that petty and desperate to appear well informed. I don't really understand the obsession with people claiming to have 100% true FACT sources - best leaving that to the hacks.
Aside from all that, great news on the stand and vindicates the board's plan to suffer short-term pain (loss of key players) for long-term gain. With the stadium completed and training ground paid for we'll be in a great position to continue to progress.
22-02-2010, 10:47 AM
Great news, well done Hibs - Easter Road is going to look fantastic when its finished. :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 10:47 AM
Well done TQM, i love it when folk give information thats on the button. And this was bang on. Well done again, :thumbsup: although you do talk some sheight on other subjects.:wink:
22-02-2010, 10:48 AM
Don't think it was ever in doubt. It has only been a matter of weeks since TQM came out (well, on that level anyway). Too many people too quick to jump on other people.
Now, from a personal viewpoint I am gutted. Not home again till mid March so obviously will miss out in getting my last game in there. I suppose to have had my last game being against the gorgieturds is pretty good. BUT, my main worry is with the back being enclosed like this, will we ever see the threepenny bits of that bird on her balcony ever again?
22-02-2010, 10:51 AM
Does anyone know where the TV gantry will be when the stand is knocked down. There is something on the hibs website that talks about people in the west may be effected by this new stand being built, is this because they will be putting a gantry in the west somewhere?
22-02-2010, 10:53 AM
Now this is interesting.
As I said earlier on in this thread, when GT kindly posted that they trusted in my information, I could in no way claim this as 'my scoop'. I was simply privvy to information that Scoops, TQM, Mikey and others had and so knew that they were on the money.
TQM has taken pelters on here, for being right. Not his fault that the timescales changed. There are some well connected .netters and we'd do well to remember that when things don't happen as quickly as originally intended. It doesn't mean that the info is wrong.
I can tell you that there are many 'scoops' that never find their way onto the main board for various reasons, incluing a knowledge that the doubters will shout them down.
I for one, welcome the new East Stand, praise the board for the price they've got this thing for (which is incredible) and credit the 'in the knowers' who have passed some excellent information through to the PM's on this subject for some months now.
Thanks for the support on this one Speedway! :thumbsup:
IMHO:
a) .net/Bounce etc will die slow painful deaths if 'scoops' aren't 'out there'
b) these posts/discussions/opinions are the backbone of fans' sites ..
c) I would dispute - the flawed view IMHO - that this thread threatened to harm Hibs in away way.
22-02-2010, 10:53 AM
FAQs here:
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100222/new-east-stand_2262950_1973171 (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100222/new-east-stand_2262950_1973171)
There will be a back to it i see from the picture with the usual facilities...
Is the new east stand going to be the same size height-wise compared to the rest of the ground?
22-02-2010, 10:55 AM
Great news.
Think I'll need to get in the east on Sat. :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 10:55 AM
Mark donaldson will be reporting from easter road at lunchtime for SSN.:thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 10:57 AM
IMHO:
a) .net/Bounce etc will die slow painful deaths if 'scoops' aren't 'out there' IMHO.
c) I would dispute - the flawed view IMHO - that this thread threatened to harm Hibs in away way.
Have already held my hand up and admitted I was wrong, happy to do so again. Well done TQM.
But I don't think this thread did any harm - and nothing wrong with questions either! :wink:
22-02-2010, 10:58 AM
Have already held my hand up and admitted I was wrong, happy to do so again. Well done TQM.
But I don't think this thread did any harm - and nothing wrong with questions either! :wink:
Correct
Hibernating (Im a stoopid yam tramp)
22-02-2010, 10:59 AM
Sad it's going :boo hoo:, so many memories :agree:, but happy the club is moving forward. Won't miss those pillars.
IMHO:
a) .net/Bounce etc will die slow painful deaths if 'scoops' aren't 'out there'
Power to ye're keyboard TQM - keep your exclusive rumours coming!
No problems mate.
It was frustrating for me (even more so for TQM who bore the brunt of the abuse) that I couldn't give out as much info as I would have liked but people had to be protected.
OK, I'll hold my hands up... TQM, Scoopy and others, you were right after all.
Where's that humble pie smiley?
Gonna miss the old East, tho :boo hoo:
As above mate.
7Hero
22-02-2010, 11:03 AM
im cock a hoop about this, looked at the pics loads, cant believe it(even though i knew it was happening :greengrin), a brilliant move by the club and will surely encourage more people to come to the stadium. surely nobody in the east wont renew and it makes us all feel excited about the stadium as a whole. much better for european nights and for the big games we will be making far more revenue form tickets and merch.
well done hibs, best stadium otuwith glasgow by a country mile, now we just need a few cups in the bag too..
22-02-2010, 11:05 AM
K.Marx
22-02-2010, 11:06 AM
think its important that an official/un-official arrangement of where fans are to sit in the new stand should be discussed...need to at least make an attempt to get fans who want to sing sitting in the same area :agree: surely cant be that hard to sort out!
22-02-2010, 11:07 AM
It doesn't matter so much with stories like this, but in the case of transfer speculation I'd much rather then 'in the know' brigade keep their traps shut.
Leaking information like that can only do damage. Even if it's a small chance of something falling through because of a message board post, surely it's not worth taking the chance?
And I don't see why the 'in the know' types would feel the need to post that they knew about something happening three months ago - no-one can be that petty and desperate to appear well informed. I don't really understand the obsession with people claiming to have 100% true FACT sources - best leaving that to the hacks.
Aside from all that, great news on the stand and vindicates the board's plan to suffer short-term pain (loss of key players) for long-term gain. With the stadium completed and training ground paid for we'll be in a great position to continue to progress.
We do.
22-02-2010, 11:08 AM
think its important that an official/un-official arrangement of where fans are to sit in the new stand should be discussed...need to at least make an attempt to get fans who want to sing sitting in the same area :agree: surely cant be that hard to sort out!
Fans forums will be announced in the next couple of days.
22-02-2010, 11:08 AM
I suspect those who used to site in Sections 41/2/3 will still gravitate towards the south end of the new stand, well at least I hope so!
22-02-2010, 11:09 AM
Is the new east stand going to be the same size height-wise compared to the rest of the ground?
Yes, it has to be for the retractable roof fixings.
K.Marx
22-02-2010, 11:13 AM
Fans forums will be announced in the next couple of days.
excellent, really hope the club co-operate in trying to get some sort of "singing" section sorted out but i feel they'll be a bit tentative towards it as more than likely it would end up with folk standing the whole match, and they've already made a point of saying in the FAQ's that standing will be prohibited.
reversep
22-02-2010, 11:15 AM
When the East is demolished the pitch will be re-layed as the pitch is not wide enough to be fully EUFA compliant.
We can still play european games at Easter Road but once the physical barrier is removed which at the moment is stopping us altering the width of the pitch we must by UEFA law widen the pitch.
Another big financial outlay to add to the development plans.
Also love it when i,m right. :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 11:19 AM
Tremendous news. And the pink ones are turning green with envy :thumbsup:
Where will we be having the TV cameras I wonder ?
Anyway, well done Hibernian.:thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 11:20 AM
Just got my ticket for sat, going to be great in the Eats on saturday, definite sell out :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 11:21 AM
Remember watching a few games on HI and the TV camera being in the west stand so it will probably just be moved to there.
22-02-2010, 11:24 AM
You're a bad man.:greengrin
7Hero
22-02-2010, 11:28 AM
excellent, really hope the club co-operate in trying to get some sort of "singing" section sorted out but i feel they'll be a bit tentative towards it as more than likely it would end up with folk standing the whole match, and they've already made a point of saying in the FAQ's that standing will be prohibited.
how can you possibly expect the club to manage a singing section ?
best they can do is place people where they are now(ie same seat positions), anything more than that would be impossible to manage.
They're quite funny over the road. They're adamant that Farmer and Petrie are lining their pockets at Hibs.
If that's the case........... why spend several million pounds on a new stand?
Trumpets!
Just got my ticket for sat, going to be great in the Eats on saturday, definite sell out :thumbsup:
What you munching on :cool2:
Few questions about the development I'm hoping some know-it-all can answer :greengrin
1. When did the demolishing of the old main stand start (e.g. month)?
2. What did it (West Stand) look like (pics if possible) around 2 thirds of the way through the development.
3. And lastly, how do people think the new East Stand will look like around the middle of June this year?
Very random questions I know but any help would be appreciated:agree:!!!
22-02-2010, 11:32 AM
They're quite funny over the road. They're adamant that Farmer and Petrie are lining their pockets at Hibs.
Trumpets!
You might mock, Mikey, but I'm more concerned about what's going to be said at our AGM regarding the finance of the project. Will we have a DfE thingy? Lose ownership of the stadium deeds? Borrow at exorbitant interests rates?
That's the sort of questions we should be asking.
22-02-2010, 11:33 AM
What you munching on :cool2:
Pie, pizza and sweeties fi the wee gadges in the East Stand....never again to be the same. Extra tenners in the pockit for massive over indulgence in propostoriously overly expensive crap food just because, it'll soon be nae mair.
Stuff legends are made ay for sure.
(and for the bad pun brigade), How much fun can you dine out on, on one simple spelling mistoook :greengrin
Kaiser_Sauzee
Let's not worry about what Hearts fans think about our stand. They simply aren't in our league any more, on or off the park.
Few questions about the development I'm hoping some know-it-all can answer :greengrin
1. When did the demolishing of the old main stand start (e.g. month)?
2. What did it look like (pics if possible) around 2 thirds of the way through the development.
3. And lastly, how do people think the new East Stand will look like around the middle of June this year?
Very random questions I know but any help would be appreciated:agree:!!!
YouTube - Easter Road West Stand Construction (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGb-ofkMiBk)
You might mock, Mikey, but I'm more concerned about what's going to be said at our AGM regarding the finance of the project. Will we have a DfE thingy? Lose ownership of the stadium deeds? Borrow at exorbitant interests rates?
Debt is good. If one has debt, one pays no tax.
Remember this, and you'll go far.
Remember it not, and you'll indeed suffer a lifetime of profit, tax and prosperity. A hard lesson to learn.
:devil:
22-02-2010, 11:34 AM
Great news, this latest development will make Easter Road a fully modern stadium and it will be the best Scottish football stadium by a mile outside Glasgow.
I would have preferred for it to have been a double tiered stand like the rest of the stadium but I understand and appreciate the cost difference between a single/double tiered stand.
Very excited by this news. :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 11:35 AM
We'll probably need to sell Bamba, Stokes and Miller just to fund the operating deficit never mind the stadium costs.
22-02-2010, 11:36 AM
Trumpets!
They are, by spending millions on the transfer of player registrations from FBK Kaunas.
Oh wait a minute...
22-02-2010, 11:37 AM
A new East Stand would complete a remarkable transformation of Hibs' infrastructure, leaving the club not only with one of the most modern, and biggest grounds in Scotland, but with a state-of-the-art training centre at East Mains with the £5 million cost of that development having already been paid for
Quoted from the EEN, says it all really.
ChooseLife
22-02-2010, 11:39 AM
This is amazing!:thumbsup:
Will be going down on Saturday to say my goodbyes:boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 11:40 AM
They are, by spending millions on the transfer of player registrations from FBK Kaunas.
Oh wait a minute...
Also making about £6 million vanish mysteriously from the accounts.
Hold on a minute:greengrin
I think Hibs are reaping the rewards of long term vision.
Within 6 months we will have the best stadium outside Glasgow, our very own training complex, excellent youth players coming through constantly, and we are now in the position to offer decent money to very good players like Liam Miller and Stokes.
Look at clubs like Aberdeen and Hearts who wouldn't take the action when they should have.
I think Petrie and co should be applauded. We are different class to the rest of the SPL off the pitch.
22-02-2010, 11:48 AM
So:
1. Where will the TV Gantry Go and will it come back to the East? (Hope not)
2. Will there be any patterning with the seats?
3. Will the East be 'Named'?
4. Will there be a 'Buy a Prick' scheme either for the new stand or the demolition of the old?
5. Will the space under the Stand be used for a Hibs Museum?
6. Will throwing Nadepies at visiting Yams in the South lower from the South upper, be frowned upon?
7. Will the pitch re-laying mean the end of the famous slope?
8. Will seats in the east be fitted with microphones wired to the PA system to make it sound as if there's an atmosphere at the game?
9. Will TQM be allowed to cut the ribbon at the official opening?
10. Will the improved view make Nish and Rankin look better?
22-02-2010, 11:49 AM
This is amazing!:thumbsup:
Will be going down on Saturday to say my goodbyes:boo hoo:
I wont see it this weekend - but will be there v Killie. It's gonna be odd.
I have to say - although against the redevelopment - the pics on the official site look excellent :agree:
22-02-2010, 11:50 AM
So:
4. Will there be a 'Buy a Prick' scheme either for the new stand or the demolition of the old?
6. Will throwing Nadepies at visiting Yams in the South lower from the South upper, be frowned upon?
8. Will seats in the east be fitted with microphones wired to the PA system to make it sound as if there's an atmosphere at the game?
You went too far with 9 and 10! :greengrin
K.Marx
22-02-2010, 11:50 AM
I'm not expecting them to manage it, just support it. The fans through the messageboards or whatever could set aside a couple of sections they would like to be "singing" sections and inform the club. When fans chose their ST seats in the new stand the club could advise which sections have been designated as singing sections and whether or not they still would like to have a seat there. surely not that difficult to arrange?
22-02-2010, 11:54 AM
I notice the 'fishul site says the East will be ready 'early in the 2010/11 season' - I wonder if this means:
a) no/limited pre-season friendlies at ER
and/or
b) we ask SPL for an away game or two for the new season kick-off
22-02-2010, 11:56 AM
I notice the 'fishul site says the East will be ready 'early in the 2010/11 season' - I wonder if this means:
and/or
I'd say probably both.
22-02-2010, 11:57 AM
and/or
Reckon both will apply. or at least give us teams at ER that will not stretch the capacity without the East.
22-02-2010, 12:00 PM
Trumpets!
I've been saying for a couple of years now that I reckon that the two may be looking to flog us on once everything is in place. Not lining their pockets but if they were to sell us on as a club with no debt, a complete stadium and our own training ground they would be remembered as some sort of Hibby Jesus and Moses double act. Plus it would mean any potential new owners would only have to be putting money into players.
So maybe not looking to line their pockets, but certainly a case of moving on to pastures now after a job well done.
I can honestly say I never doubted TQM or Scoopyboy at ANY stage.:wink: :fibber: :duck:
Now, I just cannae wait for the URGENT announcement that the retractable roof will be going up soon :greengrin
22-02-2010, 12:14 PM
Also making about £6 million vanish mysteriously from the accounts.
Hold on a minute:greengrin
I think Hibs are reaping the rewards of long term vision.
Within 6 months we will have the best stadium outside Glasgow, our very own training complex, excellent youth players coming through constantly, and we are now in the position to offer decent money to very good players like Liam Miller and Stokes.
Look at clubs like Aberdeen and Hearts who wouldn't take the action when they should have.
I think Petrie and co should be applauded. We are different class to the rest of the SPL off the pitch.
I agree and I only hope that we can get the fans to fill it! I hope that we start to have some onfield success as that will start to bring the fans back in number.
22-02-2010, 12:24 PM
So:
The Tv gantry's will be located at the top and bottom of the East in the middle of the stand.
22-02-2010, 12:26 PM
So:
What DO you mean?
Good news.
It will be a great relief to get this final piece of the infrastructure built - think of all the interminable threads on here in the past discussing the squad vs stadium investment priorities. Whatever will we find to talk about when it's finished? :wink:
22-02-2010, 12:29 PM
and/or
In TQM we trust. :thumbsup:
I also wonder if this is on the cards now...
Tuesday 7th September Scotland v Liechtenstein :agree:
22-02-2010, 12:30 PM
Assuming the Bamba money goes towards the stand, with the stadium, training facility and debt all budgeted for, what is there left to spend the Wotherspoon, Stokes, and Hanlon money on?
22-02-2010, 12:30 PM
Good news.
It will be a great relief to get this final piece of the infrastructure built - think of all the interminable threads on here in the past discussing the squad vs stadium investment priorities. Whatever will we find to talk about when it's finished? :wink:
Don't you worry - there'll be plenty more infrastructure projects for Rod to get his teeth into.
I expect us to sell Liam Miller in the summer to fund the boardroom jacuzzi and spa he's had his eye on.
22-02-2010, 12:31 PM
Quick questions for those (in the know). Are we getting temporary floodlights for when the old east is getting demolished or will the existing be able to stay in place and brought down late on? Where will the new floodlights be mounted? We have at least one midweek evening k.o..
Floods will be taken down in the first phase of removal of the East. We will probably get temp floods as we did when the West was built.
22-02-2010, 12:32 PM
Assuming the Bamba money goes towards the stand, with the stadium, training facility and debt all budgeted for, what is there left to spend the Wotherspoon, Stokes, and Hanlon money on?
Nope.
Money already in place:agree:
22-02-2010, 12:32 PM
Maybe a bit early since the club has already stated that it won't be finished for the start of the season in August.
Don't you worry - there'll be plenty more infrastructure projects for Rod to get his teeth into.
I expect us to sell Liam Miller in the summer to fund the boardroom jacuzzi and spa he's had his eye on.
And then there's the helipad, of course.
22-02-2010, 12:35 PM
You can view a timelapse movie of the project here.....
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=175763
22-02-2010, 12:36 PM
No chance of any proper Scotland game being played anywhere other than Hampden in the forseeable. Unless they arrange a friendly against a diddy team, that is.
Green_one
22-02-2010, 12:39 PM
BIG QUESTION
May have been asked but
Are they giving us a bit to slap as we leave ER at the end of the game. Basically, are they retaining ther perimeter wall and gate area?
Victory does not feel the same if you cannot slap the bit above the gate as you leave. :boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 12:43 PM
The retractable roof.
Do keep up :greengrin
22-02-2010, 12:45 PM
No chance of any proper Scotland game being played anywhere other than Hampden in the forseeable. Unless they arrange a friendly against a diddy team, that is.
Why would they play the Yams?
Ghaax
22-02-2010, 12:47 PM
Aye - the current deal still means Hampden has to be used for all home qualification games.
However there is 11 months without any qualifiers so I'd put money on a friendly on one of the free international weekends - maybes March 26th 2011?
22-02-2010, 12:50 PM
Why would they play the Yams?
We're away to them in the first qualification game.
22-02-2010, 12:53 PM
BIG QUESTION
May have been asked but
Are they giving us a bit to slap as we leave ER at the end of the game. Basically, are they retaining ther perimeter wall and gate area?
Victory does not feel the same if you cannot slap the bit above the gate as you leave. :boo hoo:
No. The exits will be similar to those in the other 3 stands.
Can't you slap the roof of the new exit gates? :dunno:
FWIW, the current exit of the East stand is NOT the original, it was only built in the 80's.
22-02-2010, 12:54 PM
We're away to them in the first qualification game.
There'll by 'no good football' on offer there, I bet.
22-02-2010, 12:56 PM
No. The exits will be similar to those in the other 3 stands.
Can't you slap the roof of the new exit gates? :dunno:
FWIW, the current exit of the East stand is NOT the original, it was only built in the 80's.
A good number of this board weren't around in the 80's
22-02-2010, 12:56 PM
Its almost certain to have a gate of some sorts where the existing turnstyles are. There are gates at the west between the stand and the ticket office and ticket office and the perimeter. If the back is not enclosed I would imagine the turnstyles would be situated where they are at the moment.
john18722
22-02-2010, 01:08 PM
To save me reading all these posts, what has been announced. Have we signed Craig Rocastle?:wink:
Ross4356
22-02-2010, 01:12 PM
The Tv Gantry is defo changing to the west
The pitch is getting widened to allow us to play competitive international matches
The east wil be the same width and hight as the west (as stated in the planning permission) but will not be as deep as there wil be a road running along the back of it and because the angle of the seats is alot steeper which unfortunatly means there wil never be standing in it :(
As far as I know, there are no plans for anyting in the east at the moment, it wil just be a basic shell with pie stands etc... no museum or corporate facilities
Great news
Frogga
Is it possible to move our STs to the east for the last game and can you do it by phone? Would be good to sample to the old terrace atmosphere one last time. :agree:
To save me reading all these posts, what has been announced. Have we signed Craig Rocastle?:wink:
Were bringing back Dobie on a 5 year deal, with Williamson back to put an end to any thoughts anyone has of "entertainment".
There's also chat of a big, **** off casino/hotel under some new stand we're talking aboot building AND, I hear, a 400,000 punter waiting list for next years' season tickets.
That is all.
Nobody know about ST prices for next season then?
Will they go up because of the likely higher demand to begin with or could they go down as there is now going to be much more to flog?
Also hope and assume we never see opposition fans in the new East as well as the South unless it's a non Hibs game.
22-02-2010, 01:21 PM
Well done TQM, i love it when folk give information thats on the button. And this was bang on. Well done again, :thumbsup: although you do talk some sheight on other subjects.:wink:
I concur, good shout and glad your info was right and only delayed a bit in terms of the announcement. :top marks
22-02-2010, 02:14 PM
Nobody know about ST prices for next season then?
Will they go up because of the likely higher demand to begin with or could they go down as there is now going to be much more to flog?
Also hope and assume we never see opposition fans in the new East as well as the South unless it's a non Hibs game.
I think there's a good chance they'll go up.
Remember, they went down for this season.
22-02-2010, 02:15 PM
Its almost certain to have a gate of some sorts where the existing turnstyles are. There are gates at the west between the stand and the ticket office and ticket office and the perimeter. If the back is not enclosed I would imagine the turnstyles would be situated where they are at the moment.
The pics on the hibs website show it pretty much enclosed at the back, can anyone confirm if it will be enclosed or are the pics wrong?
22-02-2010, 02:15 PM
I think there's a good chance they'll go up.
Remember, they went down for this season.
More seats = less demand = prices down
In my world. :greengrin
22-02-2010, 02:25 PM
The pics on the hibs website show it pretty much enclosed at the back, can anyone confirm if it will be enclosed or are the pics wrong?
The back definately looks to be enclosed. I think what people are getting confused with is that's there's an opening between the back, and the roof i.e. the seating area isn't completely enclosed.
You can make out the gap in the pic. I think they'll keep the gate area up even if they do move the turnstiles into the bottom of the stand. Time will tell...
22-02-2010, 02:32 PM
You can sense the ooze seeping out the jealousy (or whatever the quote was) on that thread on kickback - they are spewing and doing their very, very best to hide it.
Long suffering
22-02-2010, 02:42 PM
Is the stand to be identical to the West?
22-02-2010, 02:43 PM
Is the stand to be identical to the West?
:agree: Apart from the bits that are different (one-tier instead of 2)
Long suffering
22-02-2010, 02:48 PM
kl
JoJo_07
22-02-2010, 02:51 PM
:agree: Apart from the bits that are different (one-tier instead of 2)
Plans here (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/submissions.do?action=ViewPublicCaseDetails&applicationRef=04/03230/VARY).
The two tier design that we won't now be getting (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/submissions.do?action=ViewPublicCaseDetails&applicationRef=04/03230/FUL).
Note that the hight, footprint and external appearance of the one tier will be the same as it was for the two tier design.
22-02-2010, 02:58 PM
Is it possible to move our STs to the east for the last game and can you do it by phone? Would be good to sample to the old terrace atmosphere one last time. :agree:
yeah good question, are we able to move ST's for one game to move back to your old one??
22-02-2010, 03:00 PM
yeah good question, are we able to move ST's for one game to move back to your old one??
Yes, but I wouldn't leave it too late!
22-02-2010, 03:01 PM
Plans here (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/submissions.do?action=ViewPublicCaseDetails&applicationRef=04/03230/VARY).
The two tier design that we won't now be getting (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/submissions.do?action=ViewPublicCaseDetails&applicationRef=04/03230/FUL).
Note that the hight, footprint and external appearance of the one tier will be the same as it was for the two tier design.
regarding the gate.
this image states that there will bea "2 metre high solid panel metal fencing to enclose area. Vehicle access gates requires from street to pitch"
This gives me the impression that the gate might stay or as mentioned above be taken out and put back in.
http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=52489778&ext=pdf (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=52489778&ext=pdf)
Great news. And good riddance to the East Stand. It was a dump which had long since had its day. OK, the atmosphere used to be quite good in there but even that's no longer the case so it'll be great to see it consigned to history. I'm confident the new single tier stand will generate a better atmosphere.
22-02-2010, 03:10 PM
The club will be making an announcement tomorrow with regard to what's happening with the existing seats in the east stand.
tony higgins
22-02-2010, 03:33 PM
Folks
Have info that the East Stand will be in place for the start of next season!
Reliably informed demolition of the current East will start in a number of weeks!!!
TQM
Thank you Sir.
22-02-2010, 03:34 PM
Great news. And good riddance to the East Stand. It was a dump which had long since had its day. OK, the atmosphere used to be quite good in there but even that's no longer the case so it'll be great to see it consigned to history. I'm confident the new single tier stand will generate a better atmosphere.
I think that the problem is that any noise generated in the East tends to stay there. It may sound very loud within the stand but does not project across the stadium.
The new stand should ensure a far better atmosphere in the stadium.
22-02-2010, 03:53 PM
It would be nice to have another webcam, as happened with the west, in order to review the progress of the Not The Cardboard Box East Stand.
Could we also have one on the asbestos stand to review progress there?
22-02-2010, 03:58 PM
It would be nice to have another webcam, as happened with the west, in order to review the progress of the Not The Cardboard Box East Stand.
Could we also have one on the asbestos stand to review progress there?
22-02-2010, 03:59 PM
Sorry Mikey, just saw it above. Many thanks.
22-02-2010, 04:01 PM
Sorry Mikey, just saw it above. Many thanks.
We just need to find someone who lives in the west stand so we can get a view from that side too :greengrin
22-02-2010, 04:02 PM
I think that the problem is that any noise generated in the East tends to stay there. It may sound very loud within the stand but does not project across the stadium.
The new stand should ensure a far better atmosphere in the stadium.
The design of the new stand should have the same effect that causes a couple of hundred away fans in the South Stand to sound like it outnumbers the home support. Even if the new East Stand was only half full, I think the atmosphere would be much better than it is currently.
Well Done to the club for giving the current East Standites (no, I'm not one of them) first pick of seats in the new stand. It would be great if they could all sit in the same area, so as not to dilute the atmosphere among the 'less vociferous' fans.
22-02-2010, 04:33 PM
So:
You went too far with 9 and 10! :greengrin
What, and point 4 was ok for you???:greengrin
22-02-2010, 04:37 PM
We just need to find someone who lives in the west stand so we can get a view from that side too :greengrin
Surely Hibs will put up a camera too take a photo everyday, no? Camera outwith the Budget now? :wink:
22-02-2010, 06:16 PM
:yawn:
Long suffering
22-02-2010, 06:34 PM
Does anyone have any computerised versions of the stadium with the new stand?
malcolm
22-02-2010, 06:42 PM
The slope on the pitch is long gone but the east terrace was built when the pitch did slope so its base still follows the old pitch level so it looks like it slopes.
Before the relaying of the pitch shooting downhill 2nd half was felt to be an advantage but I can't remember the last time hibs played towards the north to kick off - don't know why they bother tossing the coin :greengrin
So:
22-02-2010, 06:48 PM
Does anyone have any computerised versions of the stadium with the new stand?
There are some on the official site but they are honkingly bad. My first job 20 years ago was doing CAD for an architect and the technology then could produce better pics. They look like somebody has been using an etchasketch to produce them. The one showing the seating is especially bad.
I'd rather we had some shots of the cardboard boxes used for the application itself.
22-02-2010, 06:49 PM
So on the main site it says their will be some minor work to the West Stand when they move the pitch.
Anyone any idea what this means?
Also if you live next to ER in the flats you will get a free view of the games till the end of the season :greengrin
22-02-2010, 06:50 PM
My only qualm is that there is no chance stewards/polis will be so lenient with standing. Also does anybody know what the 'minor alterations' to the front of the West stand will actually entail?
22-02-2010, 06:52 PM
My only qualm is that there is no chance stewards/polis will be so lenient with standing. Also does anybody know what the 'minor alterations' to the front of the West stand will actually entail?
There'll be around 3000+ in that stand and about 20 stewards, i'm not so sure they can do that much about it other than get the guy to moan about it over the tannoy :wink:
22-02-2010, 06:52 PM
So on the main site it says their will be some minor work to the West Stand when they move the pitch.
Also if you live next to ER in the flats you will get a free view of the games till the end of the season :greengrin
Or us in the West Stand get a free view of the flats if the game is bad. (he says hoping for some babe forgetting to close the curtains:devil:)
Long suffering
22-02-2010, 06:53 PM
There are some on the official site but they are honkingly bad. My first job 20 years ago was doing CAD for an architect and the technology then could produce better pics. They look like somebody has been using an etchasketch to produce them. The one showing the seating is especially bad.
I'd rather we had some shots of the cardboard boxes used for the application itself.
yes there not great :greengrin
22-02-2010, 06:55 PM
Or us in the West Stand get a free view of the flats if the game is bad. (he says hoping for some babe forgetting to close the curtains:devil:)
Remember the bird that got her baps out after the Derby last year :faf:
More of the same, please :devil:
Stenny
22-02-2010, 07:04 PM
You can view a timelapse movie of the project here.....
:aok: superb, now i can watch happen from a distance... :greengrin
Great idea.
Sad day that i'll never get to be in the famous east stand again, now impossible for me to get back for this saturday... great memories and fun times had for many years :boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 07:10 PM
I'm not sure. The position hasn't officially changed at all: we're not allowed to stand right now, yet there we are every week standing on our seats.
Maybe they'll go all out to police it to begin with but will get laid back then forgotten about eventually.
22-02-2010, 07:19 PM
The issue over standing isn't going to be enforced by Hibs, it'll be enforced by the match commander. He/she is the boss on match day and has the power to abandon the match if necessary.
That's would be pretty extreme, but if we're half a dozen games into the season and people are still standing and dishing out abuse to stewards who ask them to sit down...............
More likely, you would be removed from the stadium and your season ticket will be removed from you!
capitals_finest
22-02-2010, 07:40 PM
EAST STAND RIP
That place means so much to me. I have experienced some of the greatest moments of my life in there as well as some bad times too. It holds a lot of special memories for me and i am really gutted it is going. There is not a feeling in the world that compares to being in there. My grandad helped build it too, something i have always been immensely proud of. Glory Glory
22-02-2010, 08:24 PM
As a youngster, I watched it going up.
I stood in it.
I've sat in it.
I've bounced in it.
I've sneaked into it.
Many a time I've lost my voice in it.
I ballboy-ed in it for reserve games.
I've even been over the fence from it, and onto the sacred turf.
Its a bit like a dug....
Sad sad day when its gone, but we'll recover quickly once we get a new one. :thumbsup:
22-02-2010, 08:28 PM
The issue over standing isn't going to be enforced by Hibs, it'll be enforced by the match commander. He/she is the boss on match day and has the power to abandon the match if necessary.
That's would be pretty extreme, but if we're half a dozen games into the season and people are still standing and dishing out abuse to stewards who ask them to sit down...............
More likely, you would be removed from the stadium and your season ticket will be removed from you!we'll all just have tae sit and applaud politely then :rolleyes:
22-02-2010, 08:45 PM
Picture on the club webby suggests the back of the new stand is enclosed..... :confused:
Whats the Hampden, thought it was to be open backed???
I cant see this anywhere else.......
Anyone know the total cost/projected cost?
Do we have an idea on how much will be added to the debt i.e. what are we looking at in terms of end of July debt position?
Superb news:greengrin:greengrin
RosComain
22-02-2010, 09:09 PM
The slope on the pitch is long gone but the east terrace was built when the pitch did slope so its base still follows the old pitch level so it looks like it slopes.
Before the relaying of the pitch shooting downhill 2nd half was felt to be an advantage but I can't remember the last time hibs played towards the north to kick off - don't know why they bother tossing the coin :greengrin
4-1 game v rangers at christmas we were shooting towards the FF first half. martin o'neil's celtic teams used to often play towards the dunbar end in the first half, wouldn't be surprised if he instructed his captain to opt for that when possible in an attempt to unsettle hibs.
22-02-2010, 09:13 PM
Rangers, December 27th
22-02-2010, 09:44 PM
I'm in shock! All of a sudden I will be saying goodbye to the dear old stand-on yer seats - crap view but old style hovel that I love - and as soon as this saturday :boo hoo:
Might have to forego the usual last minute shotgunned pint to make sure I get in!
I'm sure the new stand will be cracking but I'll not half miss that old place :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 09:51 PM
My lasting tribute to the East Stand which I've posted before (most likely on this thread :greengrin)
-----------------------------------------------------------
If the West Stand is your presentable, ever faithful, loyal and dutiful wife that makes you feel good about yourself, the little trophy on your arm as you swan around town showing her off, then the East is the dirty little skank that you can't keep away from; the forbidden fruit that you yearn for now and again in the midst of having a lovely, comfortable, yet quiet night in with your missus.
Yes, she stinks of piss, her language is more than uncouth, she lets you smoke "indoors" and you wouldn't show her off to your mates, but by jove she'll give you the ride of your life and let you experience things that Mrs West could only provide if you doused her prawn sandwich with Greek Ouzo (AEK Athens game).
Sooner or later, we'll have to give up the skank and kiss goodbye to those raucous escapades so we can settle down a bit, but if we add some Greek Ouzo to the monthly groceries list, perhaps we can recreate those nights in the future.
-------------------------------------------------------------
I'll miss the old girl, and I'm absolutely gutted that I won't be there on Saturday to give her one last slap on the erse. :boo hoo:
22-02-2010, 10:28 PM
This (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_nrERQY7JYZs/SjNsuhHmBdI/AAAAAAAAAAw/i54yGehGc8A/s1600-h/hibs4.jpg) is a rough pic from the East Stand Consultation Forum.
Maybe 1 of you guys could come up with something better :greengrin
22-02-2010, 11:00 PM
My lasting tribute to the East Stand which I've posted before (most likely on this thread :greengrin)
-----------------------------------------------------------
If the West Stand is your presentable, ever faithful, loyal and dutiful wife that makes you feel good about yourself, the little trophy on your arm as you swan around town showing her off, then the East is the dirty little skank that you can't keep away from; the forbidden fruit that you yearn for now and again in the midst of having a lovely, comfortable, yet quiet night in with your missus.
Yes, she stinks of piss, her language is more than uncouth, she lets you smoke "indoors" and you wouldn't show her off to your mates, but by jove she'll give you the ride of your life and let you experience things that Mrs West could only provide if you doused her prawn sandwich with Greek Ouzo (AEK Athens game).
Sooner or later, we'll have to give up the skank and kiss goodbye to those raucous escapades so we can settle down a bit, but if we add some Greek Ouzo to the monthly groceries list, perhaps we can recreate those nights in the future.
-------------------------------------------------------------
I'll miss the old girl, and I'm absolutely gutted that I won't be there on Saturday to give her one last slap on the erse. :boo hoo:
Love this, thanks for digging it out again.
Also gutted I won't be there on Saturday :boo hoo:
23-02-2010, 05:39 AM
best they can do is place people where they are now(ie same seat positions), anything more than that would be impossible to manage.
Well, Wellington Phoenix and most A-League clubs manage it easily enough?
3 sections are 'Yellow Fever' and if you want to stand/sing/shout/drink etc, you buy a ticket for there. That's it really, there's not much for the club to do.
Pretty annoying that the club are already saying standing is prohibited - if everyone in an area wants to stand, what exactly is the problem? :confused:
23-02-2010, 05:46 AM
Pretty annoying that the club are already saying standing is prohibited - if everyone in an area wants to stand, what exactly is the problem? :confused:
Fear of being sued. Putting signs up and announcements is unlikely to be any defence if someone/few/many are injured or worse as a result of standing.
Sad but that's where we're at today.
23-02-2010, 05:54 AM
Fear of being sued. Putting signs up and announcements is unlikely to be any defence if someone/few/many are injured or worse as a result of standing.
Sad but that's where we're at today.
Sued by whom? An injured person who was standing? I'm not sure how anyone could be injured purely because of people standing?
I have stood at matches here for 2 years now along with at least 2000 others in the same areas and there has been absolutely no injuries that I am aware of.
I'm also not aware of anyone being sued in the current East Stand where people have stood on the seats (arguably FAR more dangerous than just standing) for years and years!
23-02-2010, 06:06 AM
My guess and hope would be that the intention is to use the front part of the west as part of the process for widening the pitch. That would bring the fans much closer to the action on both sides of the park. There is a huge space between the front row and the pitch right now. But maybe Yogi is just looking for one of those fancy dug-outs with the bucket seats. He doesn't really need one if he is going to sit in the stand most weeks of course
HibeesLA
23-02-2010, 06:13 AM
My guess and hope would be that the intention is to use the front part of the west as part of the process for widening the pitch. That would bring the fans much closer to the action on both sides of the park. There is a huge space between the front row and the pitch right now. But maybe Yogi is just looking for one of those fancy dug-outs with the bucket seats. He doesn't really need one if he is going to sit in the stand most weeks of course
According to the FAQ's on the Official Site:
19. Is the pitch being improved as part of the build?
Yes. Significant works will be undertaken in the close season to fit the new Stadium configuration and to meet UEFA Guidelines. Some minor work will be required in the West Stand to allow the planned works on the pitch, any supporters affected will be contacted in advance of next season.
You may be right about building the dug-outs into the stand.
23-02-2010, 06:22 AM
EAST STAND RIP
That place means so much to me. I have experienced some of the greatest moments of my life in there as well as some bad times too. It holds a lot of special memories for me and i am really gutted it is going. There is not a feeling in the world that compares to being in there. My grandad helped build it too, something i have always been immensely proud of. Glory Glory
You really need to get out more. Seriously you do.
23-02-2010, 07:14 AM
Sued by whom? An injured person who was standing? I'm not sure how anyone could be injured purely because of people standing?
I have stood at matches here for 2 years now along with at least 2000 others in the same areas and there has been absolutely no injuries that I am aware of.
I'm also not aware of anyone being sued in the current East Stand where people have stood on the seats (arguably FAR more dangerous than just standing) for years and years!
short and sweet for ye:
You're standing - you fall on me - I'm injured. I'm off work for months. I claim on my insurance - the insurance co. lawyers get involved, and the advice is you are not worth suing but Hibs are. Next thing Hibs are liable for your actions as they have not enforced no standing - which is an obligation following the Taylor Report etc.
23-02-2010, 07:21 AM
short and sweet for ye:
You're standing - you fall on me - I'm injured. I'm off work for months. I claim on my insurance - the insurance co. lawyers get involved, and the advice is you are not worth suing but Hibs are. Next thing Hibs are liable for your actions as they have not enforced no standing - which is an obligation following the Taylor Report etc.
And how likely is this? I am standing at the game, and suddenly fall for no reason injuring you?
I could just as easily be sitting the whole game, but trip over trailing legs when I am trying to get along the row to go to the toilet or whatever.
It's actually safer getting out of rows of seats when people are standing up than sitting.
The Taylor Report thing has been done to death on here... - "The report stated that standing accommodation is not intrinsically unsafe, but the government decided that no standing accommodation was to be allowed at all."
There is nothing in the Taylor Report to say clubs must enforce standing.
23-02-2010, 07:31 AM
And how likely is this? I am standing at the game, and suddenly fall for no reason injuring you?
I could just as easily be sitting the whole game, but trip over trailing legs when I am trying to get along the row to go to the toilet or whatever.
It's actually safer getting out of rows of seats when people are standing up than sitting.
The Taylor Report thing has been done to death on here... - "The report stated that standing accommodation is not intrinsically unsafe, but the government decided that no standing accommodation was to be allowed at all."
Which is more important. ie it wouldn't be law if Taylor had recommended no standing to be allowed, but the Government hadn't implemented that. Without that statute, you would have probably seen some grounds using what they do in Germany (eg Westfalenstadion (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westfalenstadion)), with convertible terracing.
Half the point of the new stand is that people in the East won't need to stand, which they do at present to see more than 1/2 of the pitch. The poor state of the stand is the only reason why Hibs / the stewards have shown a lax attitude towards standing in there.
23-02-2010, 07:32 AM
I prefer to stand at games, but I know that there can be a perfectly good atmosphere from sitting down at a match. One thing to remember about this stand is that its going to be a lot steeper than the current east, so standing will be a lot different in there than what people will be used to and probably a greater chance of injuring yourself. If Hibs want us to sit then we should IMO. We are moaning about if we sit we wont sing as much etc, but currently the singing in the east doesnt last that long and in fact there are long periods of silence.
23-02-2010, 07:43 AM
Next thing Hibs are liable for your actions as they have not enforced no standing - which is an obligation following the Taylor Report etc.
Not legally it isn't. According to the Football Licensing Authority:
While it was a legal requirement for a ground to only admit spectators to seated accommodation there was no such requirement to make fans sit.
23-02-2010, 09:30 AM
The job went to Hall Contruction by the way.
23-02-2010, 09:39 AM
The job went to Hall Contruction by the way.
I think that was the Company that built Darlington's new 25,000 stadium - it looked really smart from the TV pictures.
23-02-2010, 10:15 AM
Does anyone know how many seats per row in the West Stand. E.G> 180 seats
With the new East having 6.400 stands it would be easy to work out how many rows high this would be!
23-02-2010, 10:28 AM
FWIW I would like to have seen it be 2 tier.
23-02-2010, 10:30 AM
Does anyone know how many seats per row in the West Stand. E.G> 180 seats
With the new East having 6.400 stands it would be easy to work out how many rows high this would be!
33 rows for the east
23-02-2010, 02:05 PM
I currently sit with another 3 laddies in the East but we all booked our season tickets at 3 different times (2 of the guys went at the same time) so im guessing ill have to contact the ticket office to request that well be seated together in the south or will they know we sit together from us buying away tickets together in the same batch?
23-02-2010, 02:11 PM
I think that was the Company that built Darlington's new 25,000 stadium - it looked really smart from the TV pictures.
Just had a wee look, very smart :agree:
http://www.footballgroundguide.com/darlington/#Whats%20The%20Ground%20Like?
23-02-2010, 02:14 PM
Just had a wee look, very smart :agree:
http://www.footballgroundguide.com/darlington/#Whats%20The%20Ground%20Like?
Our kop will be steeper.:agree:
Did BARR construction build the other 3 stands ?
Our kop will be steeper.:agree:
Did BARR construction build the other 3 stands ?
Yes, I'm sure they did.
23-02-2010, 03:17 PM
http://i1.tinypic.com/xbn4hx.jpg
This was Easter Road just 16 years ago, BTW.
23-02-2010, 03:42 PM
Pitch looks good :greengrin
I still cant see any mention of the cost of the development - anyone?!?
23-02-2010, 04:11 PM
Pitch looks good :greengrin
The posts aren't up yet, and the sun's shining, so I'd guess that the photo was taken during the close season.
But you're right - the pitch HAS suffered in recent years, and I do think we need to look very hard at ways of improving and maintaining the playing surface once the stadium's finished. :agree:
The reason I put that photo up was because I was fairly astonished myself at how far we've come in 16 years.
We've had a few ups and downs with the team, and we all want the club to strengthen the team and really start challenging for trophies, but to think that in that time the board will have managed to rebuild the stadium completely from that, AND set up the East Mains training ground.
It speaks volumes for their forward planning and commitment.
Hopefully the ONLY development we'll be talking about in the future will be the development of young players, and who the manager will be bringing in to improve the team....
As you say, amazing how much has been achieved in stadium development in that time.
23-02-2010, 06:42 PM
As you say, amazing how much has been achieved in stadium development in that time.
and this one.
http://thehiblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/cagoules121294.jpg
jakedance
23-02-2010, 06:53 PM
Christ, that takes me back. How far we've come.
I know its progress and everything but I'd give anything to be back standing in the East Terracing for a big game. I stood at the same crush barrier right through my teenage years.
I just remembered seeing a beautiful oil painting of the West Stand in a gallery on Dundas Street, about 12 years ago probably. Not some tacky fitba souvenir either, a proper work of art.
23-02-2010, 06:58 PM
33 rows for the east
About 193 seats then. How many seats per row in the West?
23-02-2010, 07:02 PM
Really? I can rememer the West being built but never knew it was like that just 16 years ago (only 16 years atm)
What years were the 3 current stands built?
23-02-2010, 07:12 PM
Really? I can rememer the West being built but never knew it was like that just 16 years ago (only 16 years atm)
What years were the 3 current stands built?
South and FF - 1995
West 2001
23-02-2010, 07:14 PM
South and FF - 1995
Cheers.
This might be a stupid question, but will the new stand be the same height as the other 3 and have the same style, (roof pattern etc)?
and this one.
http://thehiblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/cagoules121294.jpg
:greengrin How far we have come.
23-02-2010, 07:19 PM
:greengrin How far we have come.
Indeed.
But, oh memories, memories.
23-02-2010, 07:20 PM
If we went with the logic we shouldn't redevelop the east as it doesn't sell out we'd still be playing in front of that stand now and i don't think anyone could argue that it hasn't been a terrific investment.
23-02-2010, 07:21 PM
Cheers.
This might be a stupid question, but will the new stand be the same height as the other 3 and have the same style, (roof pattern etc)?
yes
23-02-2010, 07:40 PM
Cheers.
Yup. With sincerest and most heartfelt thanks to one infinitely more computer-savvy than I (antifahibs, that is):
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg (http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg)
Looks OK, I'd say? :greengrin
23-02-2010, 07:43 PM
About 193 seats then. How many seats per row in the West?
Sorry, it's only 32 rows:grr:
And remember that within those rows, you have disabled slots, Camera points and Entrances, restricting the number of seats per row
23-02-2010, 07:44 PM
Yup. With sincerest and most heartfelt thanks to one infinitely more computer-savvy than I (antifahibs, that is):
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg (http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg)
Looks no bad :agree: Can't wait to see it for real though :thumbsup:
23-02-2010, 08:12 PM
and this one.
http://thehiblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/cagoules121294.jpg (http://thehiblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/cagoules121294.jpg)
23-02-2010, 09:47 PM
I'm all for change and have wanted the East to be replaced for a long time but there's something about that photo that makes me a little melancholy, sad even.
I first stood in the east at my second ever Hibs game, against Rangers, in late 1988. While I've been a relatively new - over the last seven years or so - convert to the east I still stand on the very same concrete as I did as a seven year old.
I would imagine there could be a few misty eyes on Saturday as we all think back to the Hibbys we have stood beside in the east over the years and who are no longer here to see the stadium fully redeveloped. I think a few of them might just drop by on Saturday to bid farewell to the east stand with the rest of us.
23-02-2010, 09:59 PM
I'm all for change and have wanted the East to be replaced for a long time but there's something about that photo that makes me a little melancholy, sad even.
I agree, it’s hard to look at that photo without feeling a wave of nostalgia, not just for the East, but for all of the old Easter Road.
23-02-2010, 10:01 PM
The posts aren't up yet, and the sun's shining, so I'd guess that the photo was taken during the close season.
But you're right - the pitch HAS suffered in recent years, and I do think we need to look very hard at ways of improving and maintaining the playing surface once the stadium's finished. :agree:
The reason I put that photo up was because I was fairly astonished myself at how far we've come in 16 years.
We've had a few ups and downs with the team, and we all want the club to strengthen the team and really start challenging for trophies, but to think that in that time the board will have managed to rebuild the stadium completely from that, AND set up the East Mains training ground.
It speaks volumes for their forward planning and commitment.
Hopefully the ONLY development we'll be talking about in the future will be the development of young players, and who the manager will be bringing in to improve the team....
It is remarkable that we've progressed from that photo 16 years ago to being on the brink of the East's last game on Saturday, and when you consider that it's been done against a backdrop of cutting costs massively to reduce a crippling debt it's astonishing.
:top marks to everyone involved in making it happen, from the board members of the years, to the players and managers and above all to the fans for supporting the club throughout all the tough times that we've had to endure.
GGTTH!:thumbsup:
23-02-2010, 10:07 PM
I first stood in the east at my second ever Hibs game, against Rangers, in late 1988. While I've been a relatively new - over the last seven years or so - convert to the east I still stand on the very same concrete as I did as a seven year old.
I would imagine there could be a few misty eyes on Saturday as we all think back to the Hibbys we have stood beside in the east over the years and who are no longer here to see the stadium fully redeveloped. I think a few of them might just drop by on Saturday to bid farewell to the east stand with the rest of us.
Indeed. I vividly remember the first time I went to ER with my dad, and the sight of the pitch glowing under the lights, and the reek of the tobacco smoke billowing across the stadium, and the green and white of the strips....
Lots of memories, good and bad.
Absent friends. :scarf:
25-02-2010, 08:08 PM
Was told today that the first two rows of the West Stand are to be removed for the pitch widening.
I wondered why the capacity was only going up to 20250 when I calculated it should have been nearer 20700, now I know why.
25-02-2010, 08:14 PM
Not legally it isn't. According to the Football Licensing Authority:
Yes but if Hibs make no attempt to get people to site down, anyone who is inured after falling (a likely event in a stand with a steep rake) could get some no win no fee lawyer to sue the ars* off Hibs.
25-02-2010, 08:23 PM
Was told today that the first two rows of the West Stand are to be removed for the pitch widening.
I wondered why the capacity was only going up to 20250 when I calculated it should have been nearer 20700, now I know why.
looking at this picture
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/5/5a/Easter_Road.jpg
Seems that may be right - though two rows seems a lot :confused:
25-02-2010, 08:51 PM
Thats where I sit! :grr:
25-02-2010, 08:57 PM
Thats where I sit! :grr:
I kinda thought someone would have been involved that posts in here.
I take it you haven't heard anything from Hibs yet.
Pitch is getting ripped up after last game.
New pitch will be seed not turf and is to be deep rooted. Seemingly the pitch should last 5 years and ours is due to be replaced anyway.
25-02-2010, 09:05 PM
Not a word, was planning on moving to the West Upper anyway, but an e-mail would have been nice. Im Row B by the way, sitting right next to the away dug out, and i would have imagined that these row removals would seriously affect the placement of the dug outs? Seeing as where the subs sit in there are level with the front row?
25-02-2010, 09:08 PM
Pitch is getting ripped up after last game.
New pitch will be seed not turf and is to be deep rooted. Seemingly the pitch should last 5 years and ours is due to be replaced anyway.
I'm sure RussianHibs knows more about this but can it not be a % of synthetic material and the rest natural grass.
Anyways I cannae wait till next season already!
25-02-2010, 09:29 PM
[/URL][url]http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg (http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5940/neweast.jpg)
not to be too nit-picky here but antifa made a 2min alteration to my original image, and gave no credit- work from the 'artists impressions, how many exist thread'.
by the way there are some awesome pics on there from other members. CAD work that looks better than the 3D model that hibs comissioned.
25-02-2010, 09:50 PM
Not that I am doubting you, but I think removing 2 rows of seats will cause a lot of difficulty, for one the entrances come out at pitch level currently , these would need to be raised somehow and cut back. Also, there is a disabled section at the front which would mean at least one of the entrances would need to be raised alot for wheel chair access. The disabled bit may be taken care of if they no longer have a disabled bit in the west as there will be some in the east.
I'm not sure how they are doing it but at least the 1st row but probably the 1st 2 rows in the West are being removed. 100% true.
26-02-2010, 06:00 AM
I agree with the issues you have raised but I'm assured this is what is happening.