View Full Version : Urgent Update - New East Stand CONFIRMED

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

14-01-2010, 05:50 PM
I've heard a few things - be amazed if its not announced soon - you Easties better make the most of it. :greengrin:agree:

14-01-2010, 05:51 PM
What have you heard . .

I've heard that it might be only 2 or 3 games left before it comes down...................

I never reveal my sources :wink:

15-01-2010, 10:06 AM
I've heard that it might be only 2 or 3 games left before it comes down...................

I never reveal my sources :wink:

I have heard that in 2 or 3 games time, somebody will post on this thread asking if anybody knows if we are intending to build a new East Stand any time soon :wink:

15-01-2010, 10:22 AM
I have heard that in 2 or 3 games time, somebody will post on this thread asking if anybody knows if we are intending to build a new East Stand any time soon :wink:

Who told you that? :cool2:

15-01-2010, 11:22 AM
Who told you that? :cool2:

I cannot reveal my sauce as he may or may not be an insider in :hnet: or the board, in fact he may even be a she but at I have protected Burnsie07's identity .................... ooooops

15-01-2010, 11:31 AM
Pre-contract agreement with Barr. Construction.

15-01-2010, 11:41 AM

I have heard that in 2 or 3 games time nobody will post a thread asking if anybody knows if we are intending to build a new East Stand any time soon.

For a reason that will be so bleedin obvious.

15-01-2010, 11:45 AM
I have heard that in 2 or 3 games time nobody will post a thread asking if anybody knows if we are intending to build a new East Stand any time soon.

Selling Easter Road and moving to Straiton?

15-01-2010, 11:55 AM

15-01-2010, 11:59 AM

not a bad guess mate.

Fifer
15-01-2010, 12:00 PM

Thats the word. :agree:

15-01-2010, 12:13 PM
I've heard a few things - be amazed if its not announced soon - you Easties better make the most of it. :greengrin

i just want to know what game will be our last in the east as i will need to take the relevant seat removing tools to take my wee souvenir. :devil:

Kaiser_Sauzee
15-01-2010, 12:16 PM
i just want to know what game will be our last in the east as i will need to take the relevant seat removing tools to take my wee souvenir. :devil:

Been a few years since hundreds of Hibees went into the East 'tooled up'.

15-01-2010, 12:22 PM
Any news if we are going for the new east stand this season?

Patience, my child :wink: :greengrin

Kaiser_Sauzee
15-01-2010, 12:30 PM
Does anyone know if the East Stand is being built this season?

15-01-2010, 12:31 PM

Farmer

Last Minute
15-01-2010, 12:35 PM
Does anyone know if the East Stand is being built this season?

Yes:wink:

15-01-2010, 12:38 PM
Been a few years since hundreds of Hibees went into the East 'tooled up'.

i'll been trying to work out what tool is needed... the seats are that manky i cant make it whether you need a screwdriver or an alan key. :grr:

15-01-2010, 01:36 PM

The Aberdeen game might be too late!!!!

15-01-2010, 01:40 PM
Does anybody have any info on when the new East stand may be built :dunno::duck:

15-01-2010, 01:42 PM
I’ve heard it might happen soon. On the other hand I’ve heard it might not.

Read in to that what you will…

15-01-2010, 01:55 PM
The Aberdeen game might be too late!!!!

so your saying i should get to work at either the hamilton game or the st mirren game?? :rolleyes:

will hibs announce which game will be the last??

15-01-2010, 01:58 PM

:cool2:

15-01-2010, 01:59 PM
so your saying i should get to work at either the hamilton game or the st mirren game?? :rolleyes:

Just rip it out at the next home game, if the stand hasnt been knocked down by the home game after that, take your seat back, keep doing that until you dont have to take it back!

15-01-2010, 02:07 PM
Just rip it out at the next home game, if the stand hasnt been knocked down by the home game after that, take your seat back, keep doing that until you dont have to take it back!

good plan... too much hassle though. :dizzy:

15-01-2010, 02:21 PM
good plan... too much hassle though. :dizzy:

Would be quite funny seeing everyone emptying out the east stand every week with their seat under their arm!

15-01-2010, 02:21 PM
Genuine question for Easter Standers like me. :wink:

Do you ‘take’ the seat mentioned on your season ticket (see auld type to left), which you acquaint yourself with at the start of each half or do you ‘take’ the one in front you stand on for 90 minutes? :confused:

You canny have them both because the guy behind you might want the one he stands on! :grr:

15-01-2010, 02:28 PM

Do you ‘take’ the seat mentioned on your season ticket (see auld type to left), which you acquaint yourself with at the start of each half or do you ‘take’ the one in front you stand on for 90 minutes? :confused:

You canny have them both because the guy behind you might want the one he stands on! :grr:

good question.... but i think i'd take the one on my season ticket.

we've been through a lot together through the years. :cool2:

grievsie
15-01-2010, 02:44 PM

Jack, the bot behibd you doesnae need your seat... he needs a ladder.:faf:

15-01-2010, 03:18 PM

Cripes, no wonder the club are keeping us all guessing.

The start of building work will probably be announced at half-time and begin at the final whistle, just to thwart all you momento-grabbers! :greengrin

Baldy
15-01-2010, 03:37 PM
Cripes, no wonder the club are keeping us all guessing.

The start of building work will probably be announced at half-time and begin at the final whistle, just to thwart all you momento-grabbers! :greengrin

well take them to the St Mirren game, a new seat will be waiting for you for the start of next season though:greengrin

unfortunately the new one will have a back to it and therefore no more standing:boo hoo:

15-01-2010, 04:23 PM
Jack, the boy behibe you doesnae need your seat... he needs a ladder.:faf:

I fixed it all for you, now sit doon you I canny see!

Did you leave work early too then? :cool2:

15-01-2010, 09:16 PM

my guesses are

Hamilton won't be the last game.

St. Mirren will be the last game.

Edin City / Montrose might be a wee chance if demolition is delayed by a few days. Might well have been delayed if it was a big cup tie.

Aberdeen no chance IMO will the East be open for business.

I think Hibs might need to announce something very soon to enable current East Season Holders get their new seat sorted.

15-01-2010, 09:28 PM
my guesses are

Edin City / Montrose might be a wee chance if demolition is delayed by a few days. Might well have been delayed if it was a big cup tie.

I think Hibs might need to announce something very soon to enable current East Season Holders get their new seat sorted.

I can see this one as the last game in the East. The tenders are out but no final figures back yet, so they'll need some time for current ticket holders to get down/contact ER for their new seats.

15-01-2010, 09:32 PM
Did anyone else notice the wee slip of a mention in Yogi's TV interview yesterday :rolleyes: made me think the subject is a hot topic......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/8460051.stm

listen from 3.30-3.45

15-01-2010, 09:34 PM
Did anyone else notice the wee slip of a mention in Yogi's TV interview yesterday :rolleyes: made me think the subject is a hot topic......

It's getting warmer:devil:

7Hero
15-01-2010, 09:45 PM
ive heard its coming soon the stand, just working out whos gonna build it...

16-01-2010, 12:05 AM
Can't listen to this, what did he say?

:confused::boo hoo:

My last game in the East looks like it might have been the Elfsborg game, that's very dissappointing.

16-01-2010, 12:29 AM

One is talking sense and one pish - you decide which :wink:

16-01-2010, 12:35 AM
One is talking sense and one pish - you decide which :wink:

Lay it on the line G !!

Is St Mirren the last game for the terracing ?

Come on , imagine the kudos :greengrin

16-01-2010, 12:42 AM
Folks

Have info that the East Stand will be in place for the start of next season!

Reliably informed demolition of the current East will start in a number of weeks!!!

TQM

Apologies as I haven't read the whole thread...

...but can I file this under the heading "wrong"?:greengrin

16-01-2010, 07:05 AM
Apologies as I haven't read the whole thread...

...but can I file this under the heading "wrong"?:greengrin

:wink: No.

If demolition starts in Feb, that'll be approx 6 weeks from the thread starting! Thats still a 'number of weeks'!!

:devil:

Announcement within the week? :confused:

BH.

16-01-2010, 11:02 AM
Last game probably 27th feb, Hibs kids day

17-01-2010, 10:13 AM
Last game probably 27th feb, Hibs kids day

Doubt it. Construction is scheduled to start before then :wink:

I guess it could be the Aberdeen game that's the last game before demolition begins though.

Another wee snippet I picked up yesterday........... there will be segregation doors in the new stand which will allow it to seat two sets of fans. Presumably to allow us to host games like league cup semi finals. I'm not sure how the away fans will get to their section though. Presumably there'll be some sort of walkway from the south to the east.

17-01-2010, 10:19 AM
We have a night game against Dundee Utd on 24th March. Will we get temp Floodlights in for that side of the pitch.:confused:

17-01-2010, 10:19 AM
Another wee snippet I picked up yesterday........... there will be segregation doors in the new stand which will allow it to seat two sets of fans. Presumably to allow us to host games like league cup semi finals. I'm not sure how the away fans will get to their section though. Presumably there'll be some sort of walkway from the south to the east.

It's likely that once the new East is in place that you'll be able to walk right around the outside of the ground.

17-01-2010, 10:31 AM
We have a night game against Dundee Utd on 24th March. Will we get temp Floodlights in for that side of the pitch.:confused:

http://www.villagehatshop.com/media/images/viewer/MinersHelmet/medium_MinersHelmet1.jpg

17-01-2010, 12:12 PM
http://www.villagehatshop.com/media/images/viewer/MinersHelmet/medium_MinersHelmet1.jpg

:top marks:faf:

17-01-2010, 02:07 PM
my guesses are

Rod might make it this game just to try and increase the attendance in terms of those who want to say "goodbye". :greengrin

deekster
22-01-2010, 07:00 PM
Don`t know if this has already been said but a phone conversation was overheard today in the offices of an Electrical contractor in which the girl said " I have someone from Barr Construction on the phone wanting to know if we will be putting in a tender for the Hibs FC job " . Sorry but that was all that was heard. So Barr ( who else ) will be the main contractor at least it`s under starters orders.:thumbsup:

22-01-2010, 07:06 PM
fair does it may have a contracter but when will it start

22-01-2010, 07:31 PM
Don`t know if this has already been said but a phone conversation was overheard today in the offices of an Electrical contractor in which the girl said " I have someone from Barr Construction on the phone wanting to know if we will be putting in a tender for the Hibs FC job " . Sorry but that was all that was heard. So Barr ( who else ) will be the main contractor at least it`s under starters orders.:thumbsup:

Were you in Sharkey's?

22-01-2010, 07:45 PM

unless of course other main contractors are still pricing it :wink:

deekster
22-01-2010, 08:32 PM
It wasn`t Sharkeys but i am not saying who as i work for them. But Barr must be the main contractor or they wouldn`t bother asking for tenders from others

22-01-2010, 08:46 PM
It wasn`t Sharkeys but i am not saying who as i work for them. But Barr must be the main contractor or they wouldn`t bother asking for tenders from others

Barr may well have been appointed, but they could also be getting quotes from subcontractors in order to submit a tender.

Aubenas
22-01-2010, 09:02 PM
Like I posted before, the tram terminus is well on the way to build completion - it has to be finished well before the trams are running - so Barr may have made a reasonable tender. Demolition and site clearance in another 6 weeks or so, Barr ready to redirect construction resources from Gogar, as the depot nears structural completion. Simples - as they won't be saying at Forthbank.

anon1
22-01-2010, 11:15 PM
I'm looking forward to this new stand. ER will be looking very smart.

Are there any artistic portraits of the new proposed new stand??

22-01-2010, 11:21 PM
they could also be getting quotes from subcontractors in order to submit a tender.

that's about the size of it :agree:

:lips seal

22-01-2010, 11:30 PM
I'm looking forward to this new stand. ER will be looking very smart.

Are there any artistic portraits of the new proposed new stand??

http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=153002 (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=153002)

Add in T.V cameras in the lower middle area and back areas too - the drawings showed that.

Though nothing ever made available on the club website.....yet :wink:

22-01-2010, 11:32 PM
Doubt it. Construction is scheduled to start before then :wink:

I guess it could be the Aberdeen game that's the last game before demolition begins though.

Was hoping they would make some sort of link between the south and the East - like they have at Tynie :jamboak: But better.

Would mean that if we ever needed to fill parts of the south too - Hibs fans could exit the East way also.

22-01-2010, 11:40 PM
Would still prefer 2 tiers.

23-01-2010, 02:09 AM

pissing masel :top marks

23-01-2010, 08:38 AM

That could also mean a tender for the "enabling" work that is needed to prevent the planning consent from lapsing, couldn't it? :dunno:

Not criticising, just playing Devil's advocate a wee bit. :devil:

23-01-2010, 08:50 AM
Rod might make it this game just to try and increase the attendance in terms of those who want to say "goodbye". :greengrin

Unlikely.

We'd have to share the takings.

23-01-2010, 09:06 AM
That could also mean a tender for the "enabling" work that is needed to prevent the planning consent from lapsing, couldn't it? :dunno:

Not criticising, just playing Devil's advocate a wee bit. :devil:

Nope:wink:

23-01-2010, 09:09 AM
i've got a feeling it that this wont be the terracings last game...

Hibs Spain
23-01-2010, 11:05 AM
Folks

Have info that the East Stand will be in place for the start of next season!

Reliably informed demolition of the current East will start in a number of weeks!!!

TQMI'm sitting talking to the MD of a company who knocked down two of the old stands as I type this. He was there yesterday.The work was going to start on the 26th but is going to be delayed "slightly" ...

23-01-2010, 11:13 AM
I'm sitting talking to the MD of a company who knocked down two of the old stands as I type this.

Thats a bit rude!

23-01-2010, 11:17 AM
I'm sitting talking to the MD of a company who knocked down two of the old stands as I type this. He was there yesterday.The work was going to start on the 26th but is going to be delayed "slightly" ...

26th of when ?

Hibs Spain
23-01-2010, 11:21 AM
26th of when ?

CheersJanuary. I'm still with him if you've got any questions..

23-01-2010, 11:21 AM
January. I'm still with him if you've got any questions..

How long has it been put back ?

23-01-2010, 11:25 AM

Does he know how to get the roof rack off a Ford Galaxy? :greengrin

Hibs Spain
23-01-2010, 11:32 AM
How long has it been put back ?He thinks Barr are putting their final offer in on Monday.They are insisting on having control of the whole project which is what caused the delay.He will be surprised if work doesn't start within a couple of weeks!

23-01-2010, 11:35 AM
He thinks Barr are putting their final offer in on Monday.They are insisting on having control of the whole project which is what caused the delay.He will be surprised if work doesn't start within a couple of weeks!

so will the other main contractors who are still pricing what is a competitive tender and not a one to one negotiation with barr

23-01-2010, 11:45 AM
Has Eddie may been asked about what he thinks about Barr's behaviour here?

23-01-2010, 11:48 AM

He's quite entitled to wait until summer when his contract with falkirk ends :greengrin

23-01-2010, 11:50 AM

23-01-2010, 11:51 AM

Does he like keepers who stay on their line? :confused:

Hibs Spain
23-01-2010, 11:57 AM
so will the other main contractors who are still pricing what is a competitive tender and not a one to one negotiation with barrIts very likely Barrs will get it.Farmer's basically telling them or whomever gets it what he's going to pay.Whomever gets it will be losing money on the deal. The main contractor will make their money by shafting the sub contractors.Barrs are now owned by an Irish company.The reason Barrs are looking for control is so they can dictate how and when the sub contactors get paid.

23-01-2010, 12:04 PM
Its very likely Barrs will get it.Farmer's basically telling them or whomever gets it what he's going to pay.Whomever gets it will be losing money on the deal. The main contractor will make their money by shafting the sub contractors.Barrs are now owned by an Irish company.The reason Barrs are looking for control is so they can dictate how and when the sub contactors get paid.

:faf: I doubt thats exactly how its going to work!

23-01-2010, 05:12 PM
With all due respect that's a lot of rubbish. The only bit that is correct is that barr are owned by an Irish company. Barr will get it they can put in the most competitive price and can commit To the programme. It really depends how much they want it and how much the others that are pricing it want it, bare in mind there are bigger companies than barr pricing this.

Its very likely Barrs will get it.Farmer's basically telling them or whomever gets it what he's going to pay.Whomever gets it will be losing money on the deal. The main contractor will make their money by shafting the sub contractors.Barrs are now owned by an Irish company.The reason Barrs are looking for control is so they can dictate how and when the sub contactors get paid.

23-01-2010, 05:39 PM
Barrs are in the frame, and are Irish - but no Irish enough to take the job on at a loss! :wink:

craigmounthibs
23-01-2010, 06:51 PM
In current market may not go to Barr's. Believe a Big Edinburgh Company also pricing!

23-01-2010, 08:04 PM
With all due respect that's a lot of rubbish. The only bit that is correct is that barr are owned by an Irish company. Barr will get it they can put in the most competitive price and can commit To the programme. It really depends how much they want it and how much the others that are pricing it want it, bare in mind there are bigger companies than barr pricing this.

Thanks for a commonsense post :thumbsup:

18Craig75
24-01-2010, 10:29 AM
In current market may not go to Barr's. Believe a Big Edinburgh Company also pricing!

Hearts? :greengrin

MontrealHibs
24-01-2010, 10:32 AM

Miller Group?

24-01-2010, 01:42 PM

Hearts wouldn't be interested in a diddy project like this!! :greengrin

24-01-2010, 08:18 PM
Do you think while they are at it that Barrs will bid for the work involved in fixing the drip coming through the stand roof right above my head in the lower FF. :grr:

25-01-2010, 08:09 AM
So there's no contract been agreed with any company yet but we are to believe work is all going to start following the game on Saturday, or maybe the following week?

25-01-2010, 08:11 AM
So there's no contract been agreed with any company yet but we are to believe work is all going to start following the game on Saturday, or maybe the following week?

Exactly. As I said when this first came up, yes, we might be going out to get bids but that doesn't equate to work starting in the next few weeks.

If I'm wrong then brilliant, sooner this gets done the better, but I can't see it.

25-01-2010, 08:15 AM
No disrespect to any posters and their 'sauces' but I think that this East Stand tosh has become a bit like our version of Hearts impending financial implosion and collapse. Just because it's fairly inevitable that it'll happen at some point, doesn't mean to say that we should be seizing on every piece of gossip that indicates it's going to be tomorrow.

If we start building a stand this season, I'll eat a small tin of baked beans, and at just lukewarm heat.

25-01-2010, 08:18 AM
If we start building a stand this season, I'll eat a small tin of baked beans, and at just lukewarm heat.

I'll hold you to that! What an ocassion that'd be.

25-01-2010, 08:21 AM
I'll hold you to that! What an ocassion that'd be.

I'd make it sure it was done for a worthwhile cause, like the new 'Gin For Merchiston Bobby' foundation I've recently set up.

25-01-2010, 09:22 AM

That is correct.

25-01-2010, 09:32 AM

Does the contract for construsction necessarily need to be agreed before demolition starts? It could easily be different companies.

Sounds like Hibs are obviously far enough down the line that they know that construction can begin, they just need to decide which company will be doing it.

25-01-2010, 09:34 AM
Does the contract for construsction necessarily need to be agreed before demolition starts? It could easily be different companies.

Sounds like Hibs are obviously far enough down the line that they know that construction can begin, they just need to decide which company will be doing it.
:agree: Rod Just squeezing the last few bob out them as they compete for the contract.

25-01-2010, 09:37 AM
That is correct.

Do you think the club might inform the ES season ticket holders some time soon, or will it just be a free for all when they turn up and there's no stand there?

25-01-2010, 10:41 AM
Do you think the club might inform the ES season ticket holders some time soon, or will it just be a free for all when they turn up and there's no stand there?

I think its high time they made contact with the East Stand season ticket holders. One thing I thought of is how do they know who all would want to sit together when they do move, it would be unfair for example if an uncle and niece with different surnames sat behind one another were allocated different stands in the short term. Even a reassurance that all would be housed in the same stand by means of letter or official website would do for starters.

The only thing that I can see stopping the project going ahead as predicted on here is if the tenders are higher than what Hibs are anticipating. However it will only get more expensive when the building trade picks up so I think it will be a goer.

My understanding is the stand is to be ready for the start of the 2010-2011 League season.

25-01-2010, 10:45 AM
I think its high time they made contact with the East Stand season ticket holders. One thing I thought of is how do they know who all would want to sit together when they do move, it would be unfair for example if an uncle and niece with different surnames sat behind one another were allocated different stands in the short term. Even a reassurance that all would be housed in the same stand by means of letter or official website would do for starters.

The only thing that I can see stopping the project going ahead as predicted on here is if the tenders are higher than what Hibs are anticipating. However it will only get more expensive when the building trade picks up so I think it will be a goer.

My understanding is the stand is to be ready for the start of the 2010-2011 League season.

I wonder where they'll seat everyone on the next Hibs Kids day? 27/2 I think.

Can they use the upper tier above the away fans?

25-01-2010, 10:47 AM

So, it all looks like Hibs just going out to get prices, as they indicated they would be doing.

25-01-2010, 10:52 AM

Totally agree with you Scoopyboy, and I reckon this will take a fair bit of organising, which is why I have my doubts anything is going to happen soon with regards starting work on a new stand.

That's the problem I have with this, it is all merely a 'prediction' by other fans on this website and not a peep of this has come from the club. For example, where does your 'understanding' come from? what somebody on :hnet: told you?

When/IF it is announced OFFICIALLY, then I will start to become a believer, but until then, I will have my doubts of this being anything other than the wishes/hopes of some of us.

25-01-2010, 11:07 AM
If they are currently out to tender and havent received bids back in yet there is IMO no chance of any work getting done in the next few weeks. There would need to be substantial discussion and agreement of how exactly it is going to be done and final contracts concluded. Lucky if any work this side of Easter IMO, probably longer.

25-01-2010, 11:23 AM
Totally agree with you Scoopyboy, and I reckon this will take a fair bit of organising, which is why I have my doubts anything is going to happen soon with regards starting work on a new stand.

That's the problem I have with this, it is all merely a 'prediction' by other fans on this website and not a peep of this has come from the club. For example, where does your 'understanding' come from? what somebody on :hnet: told you?

When/IF it is announced OFFICIALLY, then I will start to become a believer, but until then, I will have my doubts of this being anything other than the wishes/hopes of some of us.

I can't and won't betray people who have given me info on the stand in confidence.

People who are employed by the four companies who are going to put forward tender prices obviously have exact info regarding expected demolition, start construction and end construction dates.

Other clubs also have knowledge of the stand being built, whether it be a topic of board room conversation on match days or discussion on away fans and how many / where they are being situated.

Like others I am surprised the club hasn't announced anything and I don't blame anyone for having doubts.

25-01-2010, 11:27 AM

Very soon ..

Exactly. As I said when this first came up, yes, we might be going out to get bids but that doesn't equate to work starting in the next few weeks.

If I'm wrong then brilliant, sooner this gets done the better, but I can't see it.

And there was me thinking you were one of the patient ones :wink:

No disrespect to any posters and their 'sauces' but I think that this East Stand tosh has become a bit like our version of Hearts impending financial implosion and collapse. Just because it's fairly inevitable that it'll happen at some point, doesn't mean to say that we should be seizing on every piece of gossip that indicates it's going to be tomorrow.

Could you imagine it?!? :faf: We'll all hear soon ..

25-01-2010, 11:30 AM
I wonder where they'll seat everyone on the next Hibs Kids day? 27/2 I think.

Can they use the upper tier above the away fans?

At home to SJ that day DH, don't anticipate a big travelling support.

AFAIK you aren't allowed by SPL rules to house home fans above away fans.

Probably the south stand will be segregated vertically as normal and the boundary might be a bit closer than normal to the west.

Capacity will be 14,300 without the East and I can't see the attendance on the 27th getting within 2000 of that. Plenty room.

25-01-2010, 11:32 AM
At home to SJ that day DH, don't anticipate a big travelling support.

AFAIK you aren't allowed by SPL rules to house home fans above away fans.

Probably the south stand will be segregated vertically as normal and the boundary might be a bit closer than normal to the west.

Capacity will be 14,300 without the East and I can't see the attendance on the 27th getting within 2000 of that. Plenty room.

25-01-2010, 11:32 AM
So, it all looks like Hibs just going out to get prices, as they indicated they would be doing.

Think I've probably covered this in my reply to MB62.

25-01-2010, 12:17 PM

Hi G, any more of :agree: and it will fall off :wink:

Gerard
25-01-2010, 01:06 PM
I can't and won't betray people who have given me info on the stand in confidence.

People who are employed by the four companies who are going to put forward tender prices obviously have exact info regarding expected demolition, start construction and end construction dates.

Other clubs also have knowledge of the stand being built, whether it be a topic of board room conversation on match days or discussion on away fans and how many / where they are being situated.

Like others I am surprised the club hasn't announced anything and I don't blame anyone for having doubts.

If you are wrong will you be eating baked beans
G

25-01-2010, 01:16 PM
If the East is coming down soon, what will happen to the floodlighting?

Half the floodlights are on the East Stand roof.

I can remember the mid-week afternoon matches against Motherwell and Falkirk in 1994. I also recall some early kick-offs on a Saturday.

There are two more mid week rounds of fixtures to deal with with Aberdeen in two weeks time and Dundee United in March. There are also the possibility of cup replays.

25-01-2010, 01:18 PM
Regarding how the club will allocate seats to friends and family who sit together, I sat in the old Centre Stand when that was closed half way through the season. Groups were asked to sbmit a group application for their new seats in the South and were, where possible, allocated seats together. You were also asked if you wanted upper or lower tier.

My seat ended up being directly above the wee section given to away fans. The first few rows were kept empty to avoid folk hanging over and shouting/chucking stuff etc. However, I'd argue that it was a slightly different scenario having the old Centre Stand inhabitants above Jambos compared to having the East Terrace rabble above them. Would very much doubt that will be allowed to happen.

25-01-2010, 01:18 PM

I can remember the mid-week afternoon matches against Motherwell and Falkirk in 1994. I also recall some early kick-offs on a Saturday.

There are two more mid week rounds of fixtures to deal with with Aberdeen in two weeks time and Dundee United in March. There are also the possibility of cup replays.

I have to say I don't know but I think we had temporary flood lights in during the West Stand build?

25-01-2010, 01:37 PM

IF this new stand is to go up soon, I would suggest nothing will happen before the Aberdeen game on the Wednesday night of February 10th.
This leaves us with just one midweek fixture, plus one (remote) possibility of a cup replay. By the time St. Johnstone visit us at the end of Feb, there will be plenty enough light for a 3.00pm kick-off. In fact, Aberdeen v Yams is live on T.V. that day with a 12.00noon kick-off so HIbs could even ask for our game to be a 2.00pm kick-off, ensuring plenty daylight.

Of course, that's IF the ES is getting bulldozed as predicted by some:wink: :greengrin

25-01-2010, 01:39 PM

hearts have been operating most of this season without their full compliment of floodlights, as they have been unable to finance the repair work :greengrin

25-01-2010, 01:47 PM
I would suggest nothing will happen before the Aberdeen game on the Wednesday night of February 10th.

Sounds about right.

25-01-2010, 02:14 PM
I have to say I don't know but I think we had temporary flood lights in during the West Stand build?

Yes we did!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/1554620938/sizes/l/in/set-72157602269717720/

25-01-2010, 02:30 PM
If you are wrong will you be eating baked beans
G

No probs I love baked beans, Heinz preferred.

Gerard
25-01-2010, 02:33 PM
No probs I love baked beans, Heinz preferred.

Would you like some toast with these beans:wink::thumbsup::devil:
G

25-01-2010, 03:53 PM
Not long now. :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

25-01-2010, 03:58 PM
Regarding how the club will allocate seats to friends and family who sit together, I sat in the old Centre Stand when that was closed half way through the season. Groups were asked to sbmit a group application for their new seats in the South and were, where possible, allocated seats together. You were also asked if you wanted upper or lower tier.

My seat ended up being directly above the wee section given to away fans. The first few rows were kept empty to avoid folk hanging over and shouting/chucking stuff etc. However, I'd argue that it was a slightly different scenario having the old Centre Stand inhabitants above Jambos compared to having the East Terrace rabble above them. Would very much doubt that will be allowed to happen.

RABBLE? Surely this means WAR! :grr:

But you're right enough - I find it hard to imagine anyone from the Centre West ever getting worked up enough to even notice the Jambolinos down below. Far less pouring Bovril on them...

[Except for my mates fae Penicuik - right buncha tearaways that lot.... :devil: ]

25-01-2010, 04:04 PM

I think its high time the West ST holders were advised whats going on. We need to know ASAP if the riff raff from the east are going to be sitting (standing) next to us banging into us causing us to drop our prawn sannys! :devil:

25-01-2010, 04:05 PM
Yes we did!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/1554620938/sizes/l/in/set-72157602269717720/:agree:..i remember just before a game the generator near the FF stand blew wi an almighty bang & a few sparks !!! :greengrin

25-01-2010, 04:15 PM
Anyone else think it could get interesting if the club relocate a few of the noisiest to the soft seats in the west?:greengrin

25-01-2010, 04:16 PM
:agree:..i remember just before a game the generator near the FF stand blew wi an almighty bang & a few sparks !!! :greengrin

Partick Thistle IIRC, I may be wrong though!

25-01-2010, 04:16 PM
Anyone else think it could get interesting if the club relocate a few of the noisiest to the soft seats in the west?:greengrin

Well, I hope the club lays on a few lessons in etiquette before they do.

There's folks in the West that need their beauty sleep.

25-01-2010, 04:27 PM

I personally would love to see that!

FWIW, there's quite a few seats in the FF that are still available every game, so it really won't be necessary to move the East Standites en-masse to the South Stand.

Aubenas
25-01-2010, 04:34 PM
Anyone else think it could get interesting if the club relocate a few of the noisiest to the soft seats in the west?

Shame on you, BH. Nothing soft about my seat..........:wink:

25-01-2010, 05:42 PM

Well, I hope the club lays on a few lessons in etiquette before they do.

There's folks in the West that need their beauty sleep.

I personally would love to see that!

FWIW, there's quite a few seats in the FF that are still available every game, so it really won't be necessary to move the East Standites en-masse to the South Stand.

Ahhhh, the myth that is the East Stand.

Crazyhorse
25-01-2010, 06:44 PM
Assuming it is going ahead is the new stand definately going to be 1 tier. Apologies if this has been finally confirmed elsewhere I know there has been lots of debate about this but don't recall the club formally stating it.

25-01-2010, 06:59 PM
Assuming it is going ahead is the new stand definately going to be 1 tier. Apologies if this has been finally confirmed elsewhere I know there has been lots of debate about this but don't recall the club formally stating it.

1 tier.

Pretty sure they announced they had modified the drawings and these had been accepted by the council.

Disc O'Dave
25-01-2010, 07:01 PM
1 only. Revised plans submitted have only 1 tier. Somebody cleverer than me will post a link to the planning web place thingy.

No More Tiers (Enough is Enough)

25-01-2010, 09:03 PM
1 only. Revised plans submitted have only 1 tier. Somebody cleverer than me will post a link to the planning web place thingy.

No More Tiers (Enough is Enough)

Post 29 Jo Jo 07

http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/submissions.do?action=ViewPublicCaseDetails&applicationRef=04/03230/VARY

25-01-2010, 09:06 PM
1 tier.

Pretty sure they announced they had modified the drawings and these had been accepted by the council.

Yup.

It was, IIRC, a matter of costing about £1,000,000 less to build and £100,000 less per year to run and maintain (fewer turnstiles, fewer stewards, only one concourse, etc). The two-tier option was more expensive and only allowed an additional 500 seats or so.

I've seen the drawings, and the computer mock-up images, and it looks pretty good, really. Maybe not as smart as the two-tier job, but not a bad-looking bit of work.

Sloppy
26-01-2010, 11:21 PM
in all seriousness?

26-01-2010, 11:42 PM
in all seriousness?

I expect an announcement in the next 7-10 days. Work to start next month, and with the completion for/in early August.

27-01-2010, 12:19 AM
I expect an announcement in the next 7-10 days. Work to start next month, and with the completion for/in early August.

Awesome.

hibeeleicester
27-01-2010, 12:33 AM

On the 1st of February. To keep us happy as we have brought in nobody :agree:

Rory89
27-01-2010, 01:10 AM

Aye right, Rodders just sent you with those rumours to shift a few season tickets, you slaaaag.

27-01-2010, 05:57 AM

A bit harsh to call Graeme Smith a nobody.

Did you put the agree smiley on because you agree with yourself?

27-01-2010, 06:04 AM

Yes, pretty much.

27-01-2010, 06:23 AM
A bit harsh to call Graeme Smith a nobody.

Did you put the agree smiley on because you agree with yourself?

oooh bitchy :greengrin

And yes I'm smiling at my own comment!!

27-01-2010, 08:02 AM
The longer it is put off the better. I like it the way it is.

27-01-2010, 08:06 AM

Did you not say the same thing about 4 weeks ago?

27-01-2010, 08:10 AM

Said it would be 'soon' .. cannot fathom out why there's been a delay - other than Rodders trying to make me look bad :wink: :greengrin - but there'll be news soon :cool2: And, as Scoopy says, Smith is looking like a VERY good signing :agree:

But we do need more IMHO .. a RB and CH being top priority

27-01-2010, 08:15 AM

Same as Jones and Fletcher to be sold in the next ransfer window, it happened eventually but about 2 yrs later than first mentioned!:greengrin

27-01-2010, 08:21 AM
Will be a slightly steeper version of this:

http://www.readingfc.co.uk/page/Stadium/0,,10306~1068648,00.html

(The bit on the right as the corners won't be done, and obviously it'll be green rather than blue.)

27-01-2010, 08:38 AM

You having a laugh :cool2: It's a heap o'*****e...

I can't wait for the new one to go up, it will look the biz..

7Hero
27-01-2010, 08:52 AM
You having a laugh :cool2: It's a heap o'*****e...

I can't wait for the new one to go up, it will look the biz..

correctumondo, its an embarrassment the east, sooner it goes the better..

JoJo_07
27-01-2010, 09:52 AM
Work has to start 3/2/10 (if it hasn't already) or we have to re-apply for planing permission. Probably explains all the speculation.

27-01-2010, 10:17 AM
Work has to start 3/2/10 (if it hasn't already) or we have to re-apply for planing permission. Probably explains all the speculation.

It has been pointed out that on previous threads that is not the case.

Rodders or possibly Scott Lindsay stated at the AGM that they had done something to get around that particular issue.

Either somebody might be good enough to come on and expand upon this or you could go back old threads.

JoJo_07
27-01-2010, 10:25 AM

Rodders or possibly Scott Lindsay stated at the AGM that they had done something to get around that particular issue.

Either somebody might be good enough to come on and expand upon this or you could go back old threads.

I suspected this WAS the case and did a quick search for news on the Building Warrant. I have now found where the Building Warrant is mentioned (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20091006/hibernian-fc-annual-general-meeting_2262950_1819589). So we have met the need to start the work by the said date. :thumbsup:

27-01-2010, 10:37 AM

We do need to start work on it by that date, however, all that is required is to move some earth around at the back of the east and that is it activated.

27-01-2010, 11:03 AM
We do need to start work on it by that date, however, all that is required is to move some earth around at the back of the east and that is it activated.

Ah, this must be where TQM has come up his 'New East Stand to be Built soon' revelation. :wink: :duck::tin hat:

27-01-2010, 11:24 AM
Said it would be 'soon' .. cannot fathom out why there's been a delay - other than Rodders trying to make me look bad :wink: :greengrin - but there'll be news soon :cool2: And, as Scoopy says, Smith is looking like a VERY good signing :agree:

But we do need more IMHO .. a RB and CH being top priority

I think this is closer to the truth than you'd like to think... :agree:

Rod says 'Damn you, TQM... :grr:'

BH.

27-01-2010, 11:40 AM

sitting in a Planning training seminar right now, and the answer is.... A processing agreement 'may' have been entered into allowing the permission to be extended due to the intent to build being immenant. So there!

27-01-2010, 11:42 AM
Ah, this must be where TQM has come up his 'New East Stand to be Built soon' revelation. :wink: :duck::tin hat:

I think this is closer to the truth than you'd like to think... :agree:

Rod says 'Damn you, TQM... :grr:'

BH.

:cool2:

cwilliamson85
27-01-2010, 11:44 AM
Is this Saturday the last game the East will get before the new one is built?

I know there is another thread on here but it is just to long to read through.

27-01-2010, 11:46 AM
Is this Saturday the last game the East will get before the new one is built?

I know there is another thread on here but it is just to long to read through.

i would guess no.
But expect an announcement that the next home game will bbe the last.

27-01-2010, 11:59 AM
I will be surprised if we have to move to the south before the end of the season.

27-01-2010, 12:07 PM
I will be surprised if we have to move to the south before the end of the season.

I don't think they'll let you stand on the rubble :wink:

I'd say the last game will be v Aberdeen on 10th Feb.

27-01-2010, 12:16 PM

I think you will be surprised then.

BTW I have never claimed you will have to move to the south.

There are seats not occupied in the North and West that could be used.

27-01-2010, 12:16 PM

I'm pretty sure we've already done that a year or so ago...

Kaiser_Sauzee
27-01-2010, 12:22 PM
At the Rangers game, the queues for the toilets in the East were so long I sneaked down behind the stand and did a dump, and buried it so that no-one in the flats could complain. This earth movement, I believe, is the cause of these new East Stand rumours.

I apologise.

27-01-2010, 12:22 PM
Will be a slightly steeper version of this:

http://www.readingfc.co.uk/page/Stadium/0,,10306~1068648,00.html (http://www.readingfc.co.uk/page/Stadium/0,,10306~1068648,00.html)

(The bit on the right as the corners won't be done, and obviously it'll be green rather than blue.)

Bob

So other than it being steeper, than picture you posted, having no infill corners, Being a 1 tier joining a 2 tier....and will be a different colour......Its the same :confused:

27-01-2010, 12:50 PM

Really?

Wouldn't the club have announced the name of the contractor and the time line by now, if work was starting so soon?

27-01-2010, 12:54 PM
Surely the club will give those who sit in the East notice?

27-01-2010, 01:13 PM
Really?

Wouldn't the club have announced the name of the contractor and the time line by now, if work was starting so soon?

The building contractor hasn't been chosen yet.

27-01-2010, 01:17 PM

Right. So despite the fact that they haven't chosen the builders yet, you reckon that work will start in the next 2-3 weeks?

Seems unlikely, somehow.

27-01-2010, 01:18 PM
Right. So despite the fact that they haven't chosen the builders yet, you reckon that work will start in the next 2-3 weeks?

Seems unlikely, somehow.

That's fine. I'm not asking anyone to believe it, I'm just passing on info.

27-01-2010, 01:22 PM
That's fine. I'm not asking anyone to believe it, I'm just passing on info.

Cheers, appreciate that.

It just seems like the timetable might have to shift a bit here, if they were planning to start work in February.

I wasn't at the AGM, but my understanding from your report was that Rod said that prelims would start about now, to satisfy the planning permission - but these were minor and wouldn't necessitate closure of the stand.

We could still be a year or two from starting this, though I'm prepared to swallow my words!

18/03/07
27-01-2010, 01:23 PM
Really?

2 members that have posted on this thread are in the know buddy,im 100% sure on that

GreenPJ
27-01-2010, 01:24 PM

But has the demolition contractor been chosen yet? :devil:

I've heard that Hearts are preparing a bid for the East, to replace the Asbestos Stand, until they get round to bringing in their £51m new signing.

Would we boo the East from the Roseburn Stand if he was full of Yams and painted maroon?

Gerard

f you are wrong....... do you like beans on toast
G

27-01-2010, 01:27 PM
Cheers, appreciate that.

It just seems like the timetable might have to shift a bit here, if they were planning to start work in February.

I wasn't at the AGM, but my understanding from your report was that Rod said that prelims would start about now, to satisfy the planning permission - but these were minor and wouldn't necessitate closure of the stand.

We could still be a year or two from starting this, though I'm prepared to swallow my words!

That's exactly what was said at the AGM but they're miles down the road from that now. Remember, the club says nothing until there's something to say :wink:

27-01-2010, 01:33 PM
Bob

So other than it being steeper, than picture you posted, having no infill corners, Being a 1 tier joining a 2 tier....and will be a different colour......Its the same :confused:

Hope it's going to say "Petrie" and not "Madjeski"

RODDERS :grr:

27-01-2010, 01:39 PM

There's two reasons for this.

Firstly, Mecchano are late in submitting their tender and secondly, the original choice has been re-thought as anyone with the name Barr is currently persona non grata down ER way.

27-01-2010, 01:48 PM
sitting in a Planning training seminar right now, and the answer is.... A processing agreement 'may' have been entered into allowing the permission to be extended due to the intent to build being immenant. So there!

Glad to see you are paying attention.

Courses are always more enjoyable when you can somehow relate it to Hibs.

27-01-2010, 02:04 PM
Glad to see you are paying attention.

Courses are always more enjoyable when you can somehow relate it to Hibs.

it was lunchtime when i posted, teabreak now. As has been said elsewhere, not a lot has to be done for the planning permission to be activated. Dig some trenches for foundations, or make some 'material' start.

27-01-2010, 02:05 PM

me too mate, but im a bit biased cos I can get a HT fag at the back.

MoantheCabbage
27-01-2010, 02:11 PM
I havent read the whole thread as there are far too many pages but to throw my tuppence worth in

Where have all the rumours of the stand being built this season started? I was at both listening meetings concerning the new east stand and we were all told that building would begin in January(which ever year) so that it would be ready for the following season. All season ticket holders would be moved to the away stand and would not be allocated other area's, If you were in a group booking you could apply for seats together in the away stand.

As far as im aware we have to start some kind of work so that the planning permission does not run out, this could easy mean moving some earth away from where the terracing would stand.

The corners of the stadium will never be built as the corner between the famouse five and the west stand would block albion road and was also stated that we do not have the home support to build for building sake.

Also it was due to the price of steal going up and the recession that this had not started although the board were exploring other options to raise capital i.e buy a brick, naming rights, block season tickets etc.

This all might have been mentioned in previous posts but I would be very surprised if any building work was to start at any point this year let alone this season.

27-01-2010, 02:19 PM
I havent read the whole thread as there are far too many pages but to throw my tuppence worth in

Where have all the rumours of the stand being built this season started? I was at both listening meetings concerning the new east stand and we were all told that building would begin in January(which ever year) so that it would be ready for the following season. All season ticket holders would be moved to the away stand and would not be allocated other area's, If you were in a group booking you could apply for seats together in the away stand.

As far as im aware we have to start some kind of work so that the planning permission does not run out, this could easy mean moving some earth away from where the terracing would stand.

The corners of the stadium will never be built as the corner between the famouse five and the west stand would block albion road and was also stated that we do not have the home support to build for building sake.

Also it was due to the price of steal going up and the recession that this had not started although the board were exploring other options to raise capital i.e buy a brick, naming rights, block season tickets etc.

This all might have been mentioned in previous posts but I would be very surprised if any building work was to start at any point this year let alone this season.

A contractor in receipt of a tender request from Hibs with proposed start and completion dates, may think otherwise.

A Chairman of another SPL club who met with our board recently, may think otherwise.

A .Net poster involved in the process at the Hibs end, may think otherwise.

MoantheCabbage
27-01-2010, 02:33 PM
A contractor in receipt of a tender request from Hibs with proposed start and completion dates, may think otherwise.

A Chairman of another SPL club who met with our board recently, may think otherwise.

A .Net poster involved in the process at the Hibs end, may think otherwise.

Why would a chairman of another club be involved in our stand?

I was involved with the process a while ago, not saying that they have to keep me updated on further developments but their intenet was pretty clear back then.

As for the contractor, we were told Barr would do the work as per all other stadiums in scotland but the price of steel at that time was so high. Haqs that come down?

27-01-2010, 02:36 PM
I was involved with the process a while ago, not saying that they have to keep me updated on further developments but their intenet was pretty clear back then.

As for the contractor, we were told Barr would do the work as per all other stadiums in scotland but the price of steel at that time was so high. Haqs that come down?

Presumably to agree the arrangements for the distribution of match tickets for the South stand, once the Easties are moved there? :dunno:

MoantheCabbage
27-01-2010, 02:41 PM
Presumably to agree the arrangements for the distribution of match tickets for the South stand, once the Easties are moved there? :dunno:

Fair point I suppose but not sure why only 1 would be involved. Also no one knows how the top 6 will shape up as yet.

Were other chairmen involved when the fans from the old west stand had to move into the away?

27-01-2010, 02:52 PM
Could I hazard a guess that only one other chairman was involved now because not of the post split fixtures, but because of the round 3 fixtures?

With Celtic being the only one of the big 3 who generate large attendences involved pre split.

I may have read you wrong and if so I apologise, but it seems to me that you are miffed about now being out of the loop and are in denial.

hstn747
27-01-2010, 03:22 PM
Where has it been shown that Hibs have actually chosen a contractor? Is it not the case that they have asked firms to submit quotes based on work starting on a certain date. This does not mean they will start work on this date just as it didn't last time they asked companies to provide quotes.

They have to receive an acceptable quote first and who is to say they have?

Personally I feel that the pitch needs to be replaced before next season because it is so bad. Based on my theory that the East Stand will be built at some point within the life-span of a new pitch it would make sense to do the two jobs at the same rather than damage a new (expensive) pitch when building the stand.

27-01-2010, 03:25 PM

The previous pages do answer a lot of your points but I do appreciate it is a long read so I will try to summarise a bit.

It was never a case of one chairman being told, it was information that a particular chairman was told by the Hibs board before, at half time or after a game that the build was taking place.

Not doubting you interpteted what you were told correctly but there has been a change of plan, due mainly to the state of the building industry. The price of steel has indeed fallen sharply and building companies are falling overthemselves trying to get work in. I think their logic is if they can ride out the recession they will be ok when things pick up, estimated mid 2011. If mid 2011 things do pick up as expected the price could well rocket. Hibs are obviously aware of this.

Concerning the contractor it may well turn out to be Barr but Hibs would be stupid to simply give them the job without going out to tender, one sure fire way to get ripped off.

reversep
27-01-2010, 06:41 PM
When the East is demolished the pitch will be re-layed as the pitch is not wide enough to be fully EUFA compliant.
We can still play european games at Easter Road but once the physical barrier is removed which at the moment is stopping us altering the width of the pitch we must by UEFA law widen the pitch.
Another big financial outlay to add to the development plans.

JoJo_07
27-01-2010, 07:10 PM
When the East is demolished the pitch will be re-layed as the pitch is not wide enough to be fully EUFA compliant.
We can still play european games at Easter Road but once the physical barrier is removed which at the moment is stopping us altering the width of the pitch we must by UEFA law widen the pitch.
Another big financial outlay to add to the development plans.

Think you may be getting mixed up with the problem Hearts have.

Pitch Size (source wikipedia)
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football#cite_note-28)

Easter Road (1) (http://soccervoice.com/groundssco.htm)

Easter Road (2) (http://www.scottishgrounds.co.uk/hibernian.htm)

Not the most reliable of sources mind BUT on a recent tour I was told ER is fully compliant for Champion League games and these (I know ) are pretty strict.

MoantheCabbage
28-01-2010, 07:46 AM
The previous pages do answer a lot of your points but I do appreciate it is a long read so I will try to summarise a bit.

It was never a case of one chairman being told, it was information that a particular chairman was told by the Hibs board before, at half time or after a game that the build was taking place.

Not doubting you interpteted what you were told correctly but there has been a change of plan, due mainly to the state of the building industry. The price of steel has indeed fallen sharply and building companies are falling overthemselves trying to get work in. I think their logic is if they can ride out the recession they will be ok when things pick up, estimated mid 2011. If mid 2011 things do pick up as expected the price could well rocket. Hibs are obviously aware of this.

Concerning the contractor it may well turn out to be Barr but Hibs would be stupid to simply give them the job without going out to tender, one sure fire way to get ripped off.

Thanks mate appreciate you took the time to answer.

Looks like we will just have to wait and see what develops over the next month or so then, Pardon the pun

29-01-2010, 11:09 AM
The chat in Aberdeen this morning is that the Sheep are only getting 1000 tickets for the game on Wednesday 10th February. they're all up in arms because they had over 2000 at the PBS.

Announcement soon I'd imagine.

29-01-2010, 11:15 AM
The chat in Aberdeen this morning is that the Sheep are only getting 1000 tickets for the game on Wednesday 10th February. they're all up in arms because they had over 2000 at the PBS.

Is that confirmed or just a rumour just now?

29-01-2010, 11:22 AM

I'd be interested to know if the 2000 at the PBS for a midweek game?

1000 sheep worrying travellers sounds like a sensible estimate for a Wednesday night IMO. This is neither here nor there as regards work on a new stand. We are jumping to conclusions based on sensible operational decisions.

29-01-2010, 11:30 AM

It will be a rumour Mikey, just like the one about us building a new East Stand :wink: :greengrin

29-01-2010, 11:31 AM
It will be a rumour Mikey, just like the one about us building a new East Stand :wink: :greengrin

Touché :greengrin

29-01-2010, 12:26 PM

Just a rumour. Had a couple of mates asking me about it. I'll keep an eye on the local wrag up here.

29-01-2010, 12:27 PM
I'd be interested to know if the 2000 at the PBS for a midweek game?

1000 sheep worrying travellers sounds like a sensible estimate for a Wednesday night IMO. This is neither here nor there as regards work on a new stand. We are jumping to conclusions based on sensible operational decisions.

They spoke about it on the radio, critising Hearts for only giving the Sheep half the Roseburn (which they sold out) when the other half was nearly empty with gaps in the three other home stands.

29-01-2010, 12:43 PM
Think you may be getting mixed up with the problem Hearts have.

Pitch Size (source wikipedia)
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football#cite_note-28)

Easter Road (1) (http://soccervoice.com/groundssco.htm)

Easter Road (2) (http://www.scottishgrounds.co.uk/hibernian.htm)

Not the most reliable of sources mind BUT on a recent tour I was told ER is fully compliant for Champion League games and these (I know ) are pretty strict.

on the Easter Road (1) link it has New douglas park and a picture of Celtic Park! :confused:

29-01-2010, 01:23 PM
on the Easter Road (1) link it has New douglas park and a picture of Celtic Park! :confused:

And the pitch at Darkheid is the smallest in the SPL?

Granty Boy
31-01-2010, 11:11 AM
Is this going ahead or what?

seriously starting to have my doubts about this.

any word guys?

31-01-2010, 11:24 AM

Aberdeen need to stop using the Seville calculator. The Roseburn stand holds 3300, and Aberdeen had less than half the stand.

You do the maths...

They done this when we played them aswell 'we had almost 3000 at easter road'. Erm naw sheepie ye didn't, you had just less than half of a 3900 seater....

31-01-2010, 11:25 AM
Nothing official.
I would have thought that Hibs would announce when there was 1 home game left, so they could have a sentimental last game with the east.
Perhaps we'll announce it this week, to boost the crowd for the Montrose game!

BH.

31-01-2010, 11:25 AM
Spoke to someone involved in the bidding process on friday. There are 4 companies bidding to build the new stand. Final bids are due in this week.
Demolition contractor has already been chosen and will begin work on the 12th Feb and has to be finished in four weeks. Main contractor will then begin work with a completion date of 18th Aug. Hibs are to ask to start next campaign with a couple of away games.
Stand to be one tier and open at the back.
Space has been left in one the the corners for a future hotel development which will include rooms in the space under the stand. The structure of the new stand has been designed to accommodate this.
Thats all i can remember of the conversation but it was all good news.

31-01-2010, 11:27 AM
Spoke to someone involved in the bidding process on friday. There are 4 companies bidding to build the new stand. Final bids are due in this week.
Demolition contractor has already been chosen and will begin work on the 12th Feb and has to be finished in four weeks. Main contractor will then begin work with a completion date of 18th Aug. Hibs are to ask to start next campaign with a couple of away games.
Space has been left in one the the corners for a future hotel development which will include rooms in the space under the stand. The structure of the new stand has been designed to accommodate this.

I'd piss my pants if this was true. :thumbsup:

31-01-2010, 11:32 AM

Hotel and stand....where I have I heard this before :faf :lolyam:

:ostrich:

If any of this is true then :thumbsup:

31-01-2010, 11:33 AM

I would LOVE IT if Hibs got a stand, and then in the future a nice Hotel, all while Hearts are left with an illegal pink bus shelter.

31-01-2010, 11:35 AM
Mmmm, it'll be a bit drafty then! :greengrin

Good way to cut back on the cost, though. :hmmm:

31-01-2010, 11:36 AM
Aberdeen need to stop using the Seville calculator. The Roseburn stand holds 3300, and Aberdeen had less than half the stand.

You do the maths...

They done this when we played them aswell 'we had almost 3000 at easter road'. Erm naw sheepie ye didn't, you had just less than half of a 3900 seater....

Aberdeen like Hearts have the size complex, they need to prove over and over and over and over again that they are a BIG team.

Never mind the attendances at Pittodrie being under 10,000, they have a super GIGANTIC away support don't you know?:greengrin

31-01-2010, 11:36 AM
Was that part of the original planning consent? Cos if not, that sounds like a material change to our application and will most likely be a struggle to get it passed.

Sounds good though if true.

31-01-2010, 11:37 AM

It was stressed that this was very much for the future but that it was incorporated into the design. Said it would probably be a budget hotel compared to the 5 star palace getting built in Gorgie.

Arch Stanton
31-01-2010, 11:41 AM
And the pitch at Darkheid is the smallest in the SPL?

I fell for that too but some of the measurements are metric and some imperial (although some of the metric ones look suspiciously like they should be imperial if you follow:greengrin)

31-01-2010, 11:45 AM
I fell for that too but some of the measurements are metric and some imperial (although some of the metric ones look suspiciously like they should be imperial if you follow:greengrin)

Unless it's been changed the yams have the smallest pitch in the SPL. They have had it for years.

31-01-2010, 04:55 PM
to be fair to the Dons,they do have the best travelling support in Scotland outside the gruesome twosome,and have had so for aslong as I can remember.

31-01-2010, 05:13 PM

I find the open at the back part a little odd, the stand is supposed to be the same height as the other stands so what is the purpose of having it open at the back (other than letting the wind/rain in and the noise out)?

Presumably the entrances will be at the bottom?

31-01-2010, 05:16 PM
Confirmed that Aberdeen are to receive only 1000 tickets for the lower section of the South Stand...mmmm I wonder why :wink:

http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/20100124/hibernian-v-aberdeen-ticket-info_2217950_1933073

31-01-2010, 05:18 PM
I find the open at the back part a little odd, the stand is supposed to be the same height as the other stands so what is the purpose of having it open at the back (other than letting the wind/rain in and the noise out)?

Presumably the entrances will be at the bottom?
This is not the case. It will be enclosed.

31-01-2010, 05:19 PM

That actually sounds a bit ****, hope it isn't true.

One thing I can't work out is how we're getting away with just having entrances / exits at the bottom front. If you're in the back row, it would take you a hell of a time to get out in the event of an emergency.

31-01-2010, 05:23 PM
heard at the game yesterday that east stand would be started next week
surely thats way too early[as we will have the huns+tarts,if the tarts make the top 6] in the run in
who knows,,,,,exactly how long does it take to build a new stand?????
also thought the price of steel was sky high at the moment
hb

31-01-2010, 05:26 PM
Any guess what time the game on 27/02 v St Johnstone will start?

31-01-2010, 05:27 PM

Rod is just taking the piss there

31-01-2010, 05:30 PM
Confirmed that Aberdeen are to receive only 1000 tickets for the lower section of the South Stand...mmmm I wonder why :wink:

http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/articles/20100124/hibernian-v-aberdeen-ticket-info_2217950_1933073

Surely we'll get an announcement tomorrow then. With all the tranfer news as well...

BH.

31-01-2010, 05:30 PM
Unless it's been changed the yams have the smallest pitch in the SPL. They have had it for years.

I am reliably informed that they also have the shortest leg-room in their seating. Most venues and stadia allow a minimum 33 inches but hahahearts have even economised on that with only 29 inches to get your knees in to. You know what they say about the size of your feet:wink:

31-01-2010, 05:31 PM
Surely we'll get an announcement tomorrow then. With all the tranfer news as well...

BH.

Good news stories either grouped together to maximise impact or East Stand news to compensate for no further signings!

31-01-2010, 05:31 PM

Or the midweek game against United on 24 March?

Maybe they will put up temp floodlights (like cricket grounds for day/night matches) on the building site?

31-01-2010, 05:34 PM

BH.

It's a Wednesday night and with their current form, I can't see them bringing more than that anyway.

Fingers crossed though.

http://images.zaazu.com/img/fingerscrossed-fingers-crossed-goodluck-smiley-emoticon-000674-large.gif

31-01-2010, 05:45 PM
Dons are defo only getting 1000 tickets, according to my Sheep cherry robbing mate, who bides in Edinburgh.

31-01-2010, 06:17 PM
This is not the case. It will be enclosed.

You may be right. My memory is a bit hazy from friday but the way it was described to me was enclosed on the entrance level where turnstyles and amenities are but open further up. We should find out for sure later this week, hopefully.

31-01-2010, 06:17 PM

My guess would be 3pm.

Come 27th February I'm sure it will be broad daylight at 5 o'clock.

Just to be safe you could always start at 2pm.

Anyone know what time junior matches kicked off yesterday?

31-01-2010, 06:20 PM
My guess would be 3pm.

Come 27th February I'm sure it will be broad daylight at 5 o'clock.

Just to be safe you could always start at 2pm.

Anyone know what time junior matches kicked off yesterday?

All were 2pm kick offs.

We do have a precident of mid-week afternoon kick offs, I remember playing Motherwell on a Friday (IIRC) afternoon just days after Cooper died.

31-01-2010, 06:29 PM
All were 2pm kick offs.

We do have a precident of mid-week afternoon kick offs, I remember playing Motherwell on a Friday (IIRC) afternoon just days after Cooper died.

If juniors kicked off at 2pm yesterday then I'm sure a 3pm kick off will be fine on 27th February. It's something like 20 minutes extra daylight a week so in 4 weeks time we should have ample light for a 3pm ko.

I do recall afternoon midweek matches against both Falkirk and Motherwell when the ends were being built. There were no floodlights at all then however as the pylons were taken down.

However when the west was being built we still had floodlights on 3 sides and temporary ones were used on the site.

Temporary lights on the site of the East I'm sure will be the answer.

31-01-2010, 06:30 PM
You may be right. My memory is a bit hazy from friday but the way it was described to me was enclosed on the entrance level where turnstyles and amenities are but open further up. We should find out for sure later this week, hopefully.

from what i remember of looking over the planning application the new stand would be a mirror image of the west (except only having one tier obviously) but it would be a "shell" with only the ground floor fitted out with turnstyles, toilets & kiosks etc for use on matchdays. The upper levels of the stand would then need further planning permission granted if/when Hibs wanted to use the space for something. Essentially a big empty box with "open space" inside it to begin with. Maybe that's whats causing the confusion about it being "open" at the back in your mind

31-01-2010, 06:47 PM
Sharing a stand with the old firm and Aberdeen could be interesting. Some payback for the current buns sitting below us after a few years of having pie's thrown down at us in the old away Ibrox away section :greengrin

31-01-2010, 06:48 PM
from what i remember of looking over the planning application the new stand would be a mirror image of the west (except only having one tier obviously) but it would be a "shell" with only the ground floor fitted out with turnstyles, toilets & kiosks etc for use on matchdays. The upper levels of the stand would then need further planning permission granted if/when Hibs wanted to use the space for something. Essentially a big empty box with "open space" inside it to begin with. Maybe that's whats causing the confusion about it being "open" at the back in your mind

Or it might have been the 10 pints of tennants.:drunk:

31-01-2010, 06:59 PM
All were 2pm kick offs.

I recall us playing Motherwell on the day he died. A work colleague of mine who was also a part time football reporter for various publications told me of Cooper's death at the match before the story had been published in the press.

31-01-2010, 07:14 PM

I thought the final bids were to be in last week.

SPL starts on 14th August next season so a request to play the first two fixtures is probably sensible. Could be we have a European tie before then though!!!!!!

31-01-2010, 07:16 PM
I thought the final bids were to be in last week.

SPL starts on 14th August next season so a request to play the first two fixtures is probably sensible. Could be we have a European tie before then though!!!!!!
We could play it at Murrayfield. :greengrin

seanshow
31-01-2010, 07:27 PM
Theres Plenty time, They threw up the West Stand in 30 seconds!! No tea breaks :wink:

YouTube - Easter Road West Stand Construction (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGb-ofkMiBk)

31-01-2010, 07:27 PM
It's not giving much time for someone for example in the East Row d seat 80, to be given a new seat in the South row g seat 86?

CallumHibs07
31-01-2010, 07:50 PM
Can't be bothered looking through this whole thread, but what's the latest? Is the new East on the way?:greengrin

Edit to add: completely off topic, but why is there a Hearts badge next to the web address on HIBS.net??

31-01-2010, 09:49 PM
It's not giving much time for someone for example in the East Row d seat 80, to be given a new seat in the South row g seat 86?

Our next home match after Aberdeen isn't until the 27th Feb. If it is announced soon then there will be over three weeks to get season ticket holders from the east reallocated.

I don't know how many season tickets there are in the east but i doubt its a massive number, probably 1500-2000 tops so there is plenty of time for them to get organised.

01-02-2010, 08:59 AM
Our next home match after Aberdeen isn't until the 27th Feb. If it is announced soon then there will be over three weeks to get season ticket holders from the east reallocated.

I don't know how many season tickets there are in the east but i doubt its a massive number, probably 1500-2000 tops so there is plenty of time for them to get organised.

:agree:1800 or so...Plenty time

01-02-2010, 09:26 AM
Can't be bothered looking through this whole thread, but what's the latest? Is the new East on the way?:greengrin

Edit to add: completely off topic, but why is there a Hearts badge next to the web address on HIBS.net??

Not on my PC. :confused:

01-02-2010, 09:41 AM
Not on my PC. :confused:

Nor mine.

LTYF!!:greengrin

01-02-2010, 10:35 AM

You Hearts bassa! :greengrin

01-02-2010, 11:46 AM
One thing I can't work out is how we're getting away with just having entrances / exits at the bottom front. If you're in the back row, it would take you a hell of a time to get out in the event of an emergency.

I don't see a problem with that. Go down 32 rows of seats and you're at ground level. Compare that with Hampden, where you have to first go UP 50 rows and then all the way back down the exit stairs. I'd imagine exiting the East stand will be much the quicker of the two.

Hibee-Rocker
01-02-2010, 11:54 AM
To be honest id rather they filled in the corners first, that would help with the atmosphere big time i think

01-02-2010, 11:58 AM
To be honest id rather they filled in the corners first, that would help with the atmosphere big time i think

Not the easiest order to build in!

01-02-2010, 12:08 PM
I don't see a problem with that. Go down 32 rows of seats and you're at ground level. Compare that with Hampden, where you have to first go UP 50 rows and then all the way back down the exit stairs. I'd imagine exiting the East stand will be much the quicker of the two.

Difference is though, if there is an emergency at Hampden you can just go out onto the pitch. The problem the other poster is pointing out is that if there was an emergency at ER then you would have to go from the back all the way forward to safety.

01-02-2010, 12:10 PM
Difference is though, if there is an emergency at Hampden you can just go out onto the pitch. The problem the other poster is pointing out is that if there was an emergency at ER then you would have to go from the back all the way forward to safety.

We'll be alright if the emergency happens in the last ten minutes of a game, as half the folk will be on their way out already.