View Full Version : MacMillan Cancer Care Longest day golf challenge
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 11:36 AM
The Polo's have just been delivered to the club store, the contact there is James. it would be great if you can pick up and pay for them on your way home and everyone will square up with you tomorrow.
OK I can pick them up and pay for them on my way home.. as long as James is expecting someone to show up...
"I'm here for the polo shirts"...
"what polo shirts?"
"the golf yins"
"dae ye ken the secret handshake?"
"naw"
"well yer no gettin' thum!"
:boo hoo:
22-07-2009, 12:32 PM
Any idea what they're like? ie is it a plain white polo with the Hibs badge or is there anything else on them (IIRC, Hibs suggested having our names on the back).
Cheers.
Godsahibby
22-07-2009, 01:19 PM
I'm pretty sure they are just plain white with the Hibs logo.
22-07-2009, 01:53 PM
Starting to worry about tomorrow now as it's absolutely hosing down. On the verge of being classed as a flash flood actually.
**** sick of this **** weather in this **** country. It's July FFS!!!
Not much we can do about it though I suppose.:boo hoo:
HibbyScott
22-07-2009, 01:59 PM
Starting to worry about tomorrow now as it's absolutely hosing down. On the verge of being classed as a flash flood actually.
It's gone off a bit in Livingston - I'll check how Harburn is looking tonight when I'm up for work - if its been raining all day I should be quiet enough to have a wander around
22-07-2009, 02:11 PM
Aye, I just drove from Bathgate, to Stoneyburn and back again and the roads in places were undriveable!
The only positive I could take from it, was that it cleared away as quickly as it fell!
I've just packed my clothes/food bag, so I'm in the "optomist" camp!
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 02:35 PM
From what I've heard, the courses at Uphall and Bathgate can take a while to drain (the same as Harburn) due to the clay soil.... not sure how good the drainage is at Dalmahoy?
Could be heavy underfoot tomorrow which will make it even more of a slog... preferred lies I think!
Im beginning to think a FULL change of clothes would not be a bad idea! :wink:
Still looking forward to it though :thumbsup:
22-07-2009, 02:53 PM
From what I've heard, the courses at Uphall and Bathgate can take a while to drain (the same as Harburn) due to the clay soil.... not sure how good the drainage is at Dalmahoy?
Could be heavy underfoot tomorrow which will make it even more of a slog... preferred lies I think!
Im beginning to think a FULL change of clothes would not be a bad idea! :wink:
Still looking forward to it though :thumbsup:
just one :confused: I have 4 packed :devil:
22-07-2009, 03:04 PM
just one :confused: I have 4 packed :devil:
Same! Hopefully we won't need them, but it's nae looking braw!
HibbyScott
22-07-2009, 03:11 PM
Same! Hopefully we won't need them, but it's nae looking braw!
Optimism Scott :greengrin
Speak to Colin...he'll tell you he's wearing his shorts and everything will be better :greengrin
22-07-2009, 03:20 PM
Best of luck tomorrow guys. Hope you have a successful day.
But remember ------- nae buggies! :devil:
22-07-2009, 03:51 PM
Just had a text from Scott to tell me that both courses at Dalmahoy are currently closed just now on account of the rain and consequential flooding....
22-07-2009, 03:52 PM
There's a par 3 at Bathgate which you play from an elevated tee, which would be good (think it might be 16?).
The one you're thinking of is the 17th. The 4th is the one waaaaay up and about 5/3 wood from the medal tee, the 8th is similar to the 17th in distance and style (ie elevated tee), 11 is the one that you took 4 iron and knocked it so far over the green you were just about in Tesco!!! and the 13th is the straight one that IS a 3 wood.
Just had a text saying that Dalmahoy is currently closed!!!
22-07-2009, 03:55 PM
The one you're thinking of is the 17th. The 4th is the one waaaaay up and about 5/3 wood from the medal tee, the 8th is similar to the 17th in distance and style (ie elevated tee), 11 is the one that you took 4 iron and knocked it so far over the green you were just about in Tesco!!! and the 13th is the straight one that IS a 3 wood.
Just had a text saying that Dalmahoy is currently closed!!!
Ah yeah - I knew it was one of the last holes, but couldn't remember which one!
17 or 11 then - I've learned my lesson :greengrin
Not good about Dalmahoy, although apparantly, it's just the one hole which looks bad, plus puddles in the bunkers etc.
Our main problem is that we won't know the state of play with each course tomorrow until we get there...
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 05:30 PM
BTW polo shirts are collected and I'll bring them tomorrow..
Someone could have told me that Albion road was closed from the Albion Bar to the top oof the hibs brae! I had to detour.
So that's one less change of shirt you'll need to take with you.
Don-hibee
22-07-2009, 06:32 PM
from the kids to their dad ( H18SRY)
Good luck dad you have made us very proud we will see you on friday morning. (as we will be in bed :zzzzz!:when you leave and come back):scarf::applause:
p.s good luck to the other golfers too. :agree:
22-07-2009, 09:27 PM
Optimism Scott :greengrin
Speak to Colin...he'll tell you he's wearing his shorts and everything will be better :greengrin
you know its all about the shorts:greengrin
22-07-2009, 09:29 PM
Harburn is fine guys. A bit soggy in bits to be fair but the only green that was of concern was the sixth. The rest were fine. Good luck guys and you really have no idea how much I wish I was doing this. I will see you all at some point tomorrow.
22-07-2009, 10:43 PM
All the best tomorrow guys - I'm genuinely gutted I am not taking part. :boo hoo:
23-07-2009, 03:22 AM
Well this is it up a silly O'Clock in the morning to go and hack my way round some 20 odd thousand yards of soggy field chasing a wee white ball and trying to get it in to 72 different holes all in aid of charity :agree: boy I must be daft :devil:
sg7nil
23-07-2009, 04:03 AM
Aye it is a bit early. I mistimed the trip to dalmahoy so I'm sitting in the car park waiting for Chris wondering if I am daft. I hope there is only one car park as I don't have a contact number for him!
Don-hibee
23-07-2009, 12:27 PM
Have just heard from my other half (H18SRY) have now reached the half way mark. All holding up well. :applause:
Keep going guys
23-07-2009, 12:33 PM
Have just heard from my other half (H18SRY) have now reached the half way mark. All holding up well. :applause:
Keep going guys
So far so good with the weather -------- let's hope it stays that way and they don't need their miners' helmets to complete the last round!
Keep going guys
If you speak to him again tell them we are rooting for them and thankful that the weather is holding out (as far as we know!) :thumbsup:
Don-hibee
23-07-2009, 03:01 PM
If you speak to him again tell them we are rooting for them and thankful that the weather is holding out (as far as we know!) :thumbsup:
Hes keeping me updated after every round and will tell him that you are rooting for them all.
Raining at Beecraigs and heading this way, they might be getting the waterproofs on soon!
Don-hibee
23-07-2009, 04:21 PM
1st group just finished 3rd round sound in good spirits on to last one Dalmahoy. :thumbsup:
sg7nil
24-07-2009, 07:58 AM
Well, in case anyone is wondering....
We all finished :thumbsup: (some in the dark) !!!
It was a great experience and despite large blisters on the soles of my feet and the general aches and pains I am feeling now, I'd have no hesitation in saying that I'd do it all again (just not in the next few days please! - and next year can we do it nearer the actual longest day as it'll give us more daylight to work with?).
Anyway, a terrific achievement for all the guys who took part and huge thanks have to go to all who assisted, sponsored and provided for us throughout.
The courses were very kind to donate the tee times, and the food provided at Bathgate and Harburn was much appreciated! :thumbsup:
I hope to see you all at the upcoming race night (and not just because some of you still owe me money :wink:).
24-07-2009, 08:44 AM
Stuart: I need your handicap so I can complete the scores please
Scott: I need the stableford scores for me and you for Harburn please.
Do we use our full handicaps?
Yes. Scoring is the best two stableford scores in the team per hole, with full handicap allowance.
I.e. - total stableford scores for individuals don't count as a whole
24-07-2009, 09:31 AM
Stuart: I need your handicap so I can complete the scores please
Scott: I need the stableford scores for me and you for Harburn please.
I.e. - total stableford scores for individuals don't count as a whole
:na na::na na: Telt ye :wink:
24-07-2009, 10:57 AM
:na na::na na: Telt ye :wink:
So much hot air comes out of you though, that it's hard to decide which stuff to buy and ignore :greengrin:wink:
24-07-2009, 11:00 AM
So much hot air comes out of you though, that it's hard to decide which stuff to buy and ignore :greengrin:wink:
:grr::grr: Not often wrong but right again:agree:
24-07-2009, 11:02 AM
:grr::grr: Not often wrong but right again:agree:
:greengrin - you recovered yet mate?
24-07-2009, 11:13 AM
:greengrin - you recovered yet mate?
Still a bit lethargic:wink:, knee is still swollen tho, and sore :boo hoo:
Are you going to publish the team's score's when you have worked them out m8
24-07-2009, 01:06 PM
Still a bit lethargic:wink:, knee is still swollen tho, and sore :boo hoo:
Are you going to publish the team's score's when you have worked them out m8
I have our scores, all apart from Harburn, which caddyboy still has. Once he sends me them later, I'll work out our best scores per hole, as I've only worked out individual totals just now. I'll complete group 2 in a wee while, as I now have Stuart's handicap, so can work their scores out. Can't do anything with Lawrence's group, as only Mike Eprile bothered giving me his cards - Lawrence said their scores weren't overly good anyway? :confused:
I'm actually feeling pretty darn good today! Got up this morning, went for a long walk (as sitting around is asking for trouble) drove up to Dundee and then walked into town to get the other half for lunch! :thumbsup:
24-07-2009, 06:39 PM
crackin day lads had a ball well until the 12th on last course when my body decided that more golf was not the way forward :wink:. Boys had great banter with you all in particular our 4 the 2 scotts and ronnie legends the 3 of you made the day much less painfull. ps sore as today managed 13 holes tho before rain and lightening stopped play:thumbsup:
25-07-2009, 08:59 AM
I have our scores, all apart from Harburn, which caddyboy still has. Once he sends me them later, I'll work out our best scores per hole, as I've only worked out individual totals just now. I'll complete group 2 in a wee while, as I now have Stuart's handicap, so can work their scores out. Can't do anything with Lawrence's group, as only Mike Eprile bothered giving me his cards - Lawrence said their scores weren't overly good anyway? :confused:
I'm actually feeling pretty darn good today! Got up this morning, went for a long walk (as sitting around is asking for trouble) drove up to Dundee and then walked into town to get the other half for lunch! :thumbsup:
That was when I thought it was the best 2 scores for the round rather than per hole. I've got mine and Greigs here so I'll make arrangements to get them to you mate.
On a side note, if anyone fancies playing a round at Bathgate again tomorrow, my Silloth partner has pulled out so i'm looking for another partner if anyone's up for it.
Drop me a PM if so. It's a 13:38 tee time.
25-07-2009, 10:23 AM
That was when I thought it was the best 2 scores for the round rather than per hole. I've got mine and Greigs here so I'll make arrangements to get them to you mate.
On a side note, if anyone fancies playing a round at Bathgate again tomorrow, my Silloth partner has pulled out so i'm looking for another partner if anyone's up for it.
Drop me a PM if so. It's a 13:38 tee time.
I should be home next weekend mate, so I'll pop by and collect them then.
I only have 2 of Mike's and don't have Douglas' cards either, so if you could somehow get your paws on them, that would be awesome.
25-07-2009, 11:57 AM
Here's a list of all the scorecards I need to complete the scoring - Group 2 has been done entirely:
Group 1
Bathgate - all
Harburn - Scott L and Scott M (Scott, I'll pick them up next weekend).
Group 3
Michael Eprile - Bathgate/Dalmahoy (I have Uphall and Harburn)
Lawrence Stewart - Bathgate, Uphall, Harburn, Dalmahoy
Douglas Burford - Bathgate, Uphall, Harburn, Dalmahoy
Greg Muir - Bathgate, Uphall, Harburn, Dalmahoy
Lawrence: I know you said you have the scorecards, but when you get a sec, could I get you to check you have all of the above for your group? If not, I'll just work with what you have, but it won't be a fully representative score obviously.
southfieldhibby
25-07-2009, 02:19 PM
Chris: Bathgate 46 points, Uphall 36 points, Harburn 34 points, Dalmahoy 30 points
Stuart: Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 26 points, Harburn 32 points, Dalmahoy 23 points
Tony: Bathgate 37 points, Uphall 31 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 25 points
Mark: Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 34 points
Those are very good scores guys, especially considering how knackered you must have been going into round 3.Are they nett or gross?
I've been following this since the beginning and I have to say you have all done a terrific job, well done :thumbsup:
25-07-2009, 02:35 PM
Those are very good scores guys, especially considering how knackered you must have been going into round 3.Are they nett or gross?
I've been following this since the beginning and I have to say you have all done a terrific job, well done :thumbsup:
Those are the net scores for the 2nd group.
I'll post the rest of the scores up later on once I get the remaining cards :thumbsup:
25-07-2009, 04:29 PM
Group 1 Scores*
* Combined 2 best scores per hole, cumulative (which has been changed from last year according to my papers from last year, which was the 2 best stableford players per team).
Bathgate -
Uphall - 91 points
Harburn -
Dalmahoy - 85 points
Individual Scores
Scott (M) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 38 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 38 points
Ronnie (Hi8sry)- Bathgate __ points, Uphall 20 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 19 points
Colin (Cocopops1875) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 24 points
Scott (HibbyScott) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 33 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 31 points
Group 2 Scores
Bathgate - 101 points
Uphall - 84 points
Harburn - 84 points
Dalmahoy - 77 points
Individual Scores
Chris (Godsahibby): Bathgate 46 points, Uphall 36 points, Harburn 34 points, Dalmahoy 30 points
Stuart (sg7nil): Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 26 points, Harburn 32 points, Dalmahoy 23 points
Tony Wright: Bathgate 37 points, Uphall 31 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 25 points
Mark Whelan: Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 34 points
Group 3 Scores
Bathgate -
Uphall -
Harburn -
Dalmahoy -
Individual Scores
Lawrence (Houchy)
Michael Eprile - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 42 points, Harburn 37 points, Dalmahoy __ points
Douglas Burford
Greg Muir
Awards/Records From Day
Highest Single Round Points -
Lowest Single Round Points -
Closest to the Pin Bathgate (8th) - ?
Closest to the Pin Uphall (16th) - Colin Smith
Closest to the Pin Harburn (15th)** - n/a
Closest to the pin Dalmahoy (4th) - Stuart
** - not completed due to police outing/marker usage on green
Highest Cumulative Points (team)
Lowest Cumulative Points (team)
Highest Cumulative Points (individual)
Lowest Cumulative Points (individual)
Most Scores generated during the day (Least holes with 0 points) -
26-07-2009, 07:16 PM
Group 1 Scores*
* Combined 2 best scores per hole, cumulative (which has been changed from last year according to my papers from last year, which was the 2 best stableford players per team).
Bathgate -
Uphall - 91 points
Harburn -
Dalmahoy - 85 points
Individual Scores
Scott (M) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 38 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 38 points
Ronnie (Hi8sry)- Bathgate __ points, Uphall 20 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 19 points
Colin (Cocopops1875) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 24 points
Scott (HibbyScott) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 33 points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 31 points
Group 2 Scores
Bathgate - 101 points
Uphall - 84 points
Harburn - 84 points
Dalmahoy - 77 points
Individual Scores
Chris (Godsahibby): Bathgate 46 points, Uphall 36 points, Harburn 34 points, Dalmahoy 30 points
Stuart (sg7nil): Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 26 points, Harburn 32 points, Dalmahoy 23 points
Tony Wright: Bathgate 37 points, Uphall 31 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 25 points
Mark Whelan: Bathgate 38 points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 29 points, Dalmahoy 34 points
Group 3 Scores
Bathgate -
Uphall -
Harburn -
Dalmahoy -
Individual Scores
Lawrence (Houchy)
Michael Eprile - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 42 points, Harburn 37 points, Dalmahoy __ points
Douglas Burford
Greg Muir
Awards/Records From Day
Closest to the Pin Bathgate (8th) -
Closest to the Pin Uphall (16th) -
Closest to the pin Dalmahoy (4th) - Colin Smith
I was closest to the pin at Bathgate and I'm sure that it was Colin at the 16th at Uphall aswell as Dalmahoy. I was a shoe in for Harburn after sticking it to 3 foot but it was taken away from me due to the cops despite them playing behind us!!!
sg7nil
26-07-2009, 08:10 PM
I was definitely inside Colin at the nearest the pin at Dalmahoy.. Also watched the group behind us tee off and didn't see anyone inside the marker we left on the green! I have witnesses too :agree:
Those Stableford scores look good so far.. be interesting to see how all three teams compare
26-07-2009, 08:12 PM
Got a great prize donated for the race night today. The Chef at Bathgate came up to me today after the Silloth and offered his services. He said that the winning bidder for the auction could have him go to their house where he'd cook anything at all for them and 4 friends, with a waiter, and tidy up after. Great gesture from Simon at Food Creations.:agree:
27-07-2009, 03:26 PM
thought i won at uphall was pretty far out at dalmahoy so would not be shocked if people beat that:thumbsup:
sg7nil
27-07-2009, 04:04 PM
thought i won at uphall was pretty far out at dalmahoy so would not be shocked if people beat that:thumbsup:
Mine was hardly threatening the pin either but it was a good few feet inside the marker you had left on the green.. I thought that the third group would have beat mine so I watched them tee off, and none of them threatened it (from what I saw).
27-07-2009, 07:05 PM
Mine was hardly threatening the pin either but it was a good few feet inside the marker you had left on the green.. I thought that the third group would have beat mine so I watched them tee off, and none of them threatened it (from what I saw).
the snickers wrapper with coco scrawled on it :greengrin
sg7nil
27-07-2009, 09:03 PM
the snickers wrapper with coco scrawled on it :greengrin
Which was a good idea as I didn't have a pen that would write on it, so I replaced it with the receipt for paying for the t-shirts from the hibs shop...
Which reminds me...
some folk still haven't chipped in for them, hopefully you'll all show up at the race night!:wink:
27-07-2009, 10:07 PM
Just name and shame them Stu - might embarass them into paying :thumbsup:
I'm guessing paying you for the polos was beaten to the front of most peoples' minds by one word - "pint".
sg7nil
28-07-2009, 09:14 AM
Just name and shame them Stu - might embarass them into paying :thumbsup:
I'm guessing paying you for the polos was beaten to the front of most peoples' minds by one word - "pint".
The word "pint" was foremost in my mind.. it was a panic when as soon as I walked into the bar, my least favourite phrase was shouted... "LAST ORDERS"!
Managed to get served though :wink:
The people who havent paid all know who they are.. no REAL rush, just dont forget lads.. thanks! :thumbsup:
28-07-2009, 10:13 AM
The word "pint" was foremost in my mind.. it was a panic when as soon as I walked into the bar, my least favourite phrase was shouted... "LAST ORDERS"!
Managed to get served though :wink:
The people who havent paid all know who they are.. no REAL rush, just dont forget lads.. thanks! :thumbsup:
I asked you on the night, but you said you would get it later, do you have a paypal account so I can settle up before I leave the country :wink:
sg7nil
28-07-2009, 10:33 AM
I asked you on the night, but you said you would get it later, do you have a paypal account so I can settle up before I leave the country :wink:
Nope.. but I should be at the race night.. see you there.. if you've not already left the country! :wink:
28-07-2009, 10:39 AM
Nope.. but I should be at the race night.. see you there.. if you've not already left the country! :wink:
I will have but I will also have returned :devil:
28-07-2009, 12:12 PM
Some very generous anonymous party has just donated £250 to the pot!
Total now stands at £4485!!!
28-07-2009, 10:33 PM
Got a great prize donated for the race night today. The Chef at Bathgate came up to me today after the Silloth and offered his services. He said that the winning bidder for the auction could have him go to their house where he'd cook anything at all for them and 4 friends, with a waiter, and tidy up after. Great gesture from Simon at Food Creations.:agree:
I can recommend the Chicken Tika Masala!!!:thumbsup:
Godsahibby
30-07-2009, 01:36 PM
I'm just finalising the costs for the Race Night and the buffett, whats people opinons on this, will people want a buffett in the first place? and if so whats delights should we offer?
30-07-2009, 04:12 PM
How much will it add to the ticket prices? you want to keep ticket prices low £3.00 ish and that way people will be more inclined to spend more on the night [IMO] :wink:
30-07-2009, 08:46 PM
:greengrinNo food = Nothing to soak up the alcohol meaning people are more likely to spend £200 on a signed Hibs top/***** money on horses.
On saying that, people might just moan if they can't get food so may be an idea to see if we can get someone in to sell pies and chips or stuff.
What was the discussed date again?
sg7nil
31-07-2009, 04:25 PM
:greengrinNo food = Nothing to soak up the alcohol meaning people are more likely to spend £200 on a signed Hibs top/***** money on horses.
On saying that, people might just moan if they can't get food so may be an idea to see if we can get someone in to sell pies and chips or stuff.
Just waded through the thread and it looks like the 21st of August (I.E. 3 weeks from tonight) :agree:
I think we need to start selling the horses and getting sponsors for the races.. what do you think is a reasonable amount for selling the horses?
And what do you reckon the race sponsors should put up?
I ran one of these last year (on a small scale) and although we sold the horses off cheap (and kept the last race for an auction) we still raised enough to cover the running costs.
I also printed off the race cards which helped to keep costs down.
31-07-2009, 04:43 PM
Just waded through the thread and it looks like the 21st of August (I.E. 3 weeks from tonight) :agree:
I think we need to start selling the horses and getting sponsors for the races.. what do you think is a reasonable amount for selling the horses?
And what do you reckon the race sponsors should put up?
I ran one of these last year (on a small scale) and although we sold the horses off cheap (and kept the last race for an auction) we still raised enough to cover the running costs.
I also printed off the race cards which helped to keep costs down.
Thanks Stuart, I thought it was around then but just wanted to make sure it wasn't while I was in Florida. I think that makes it the day we get back. I'll be fine for it though. Just so we're aware of what we have for the auction, I have a fourball for Bathgate and Turnhouse, 2 vouchers for a 45 minute video lesson with http://www.davidburnsgolf.co.uk/ , one lesson with Andrew Marshall and a meal for 4 cooked at your own home by Food Creations.
31-07-2009, 10:52 PM
If it's the 21st of August, then count me out im afraid.
My postgrad thesis is due on the 24th and I'll be a bumbling mess that weekend!
01-08-2009, 09:47 AM
And if we dont get a move on nothing will be happening at all :agree: these things dont just happen they take planning
Now the race night is booked and needs paid for:wink:, we need race cards and sponsors for races,nice and easy sponsors donate a prize to sponsor a race, horses are sold for 3-5 pound each winning horse owner gets the sponsors prize, last race is auctioned off with 25% of the money raised in that race paid back to winning owner 15% to the 2nd and 10% to 3rd placed nag, the rest goes in to the charity pot.
Each race a sealed dvd is picked the pre race form is shown then the betting tables are open, we need to provide 4 peeps for the betting table each race, the race is run and the race host/dj sorts out the prize money normally 50% of the pot winning ticket collect there prize monies then we start again, but we really have to get a move on or nothing is going to happen.
01-08-2009, 12:06 PM
Spoke to Ronnie this afternoon about getting this moving and what Ronnie is saying is that we urgently need to try to get sponsors for the 8 races.
Ronnie is sponsoring 1 himself for his valeting service leaving 7, so if anyone can think of a friend that's self employed ie painter, taxi driver, chef, whatever can you speak to them to see if they are willing to put up something along the lines of a case of beer or something to sponsor a race.
For their sponsorship, they'll get their details on the race card which, for the price of a case of beer, is pretty good I think.
Please try to help make this night work as I think it's got great potential. It's a Friday night so everyone will be out to make a big night of it.
01-08-2009, 05:22 PM
Spoke to Ronnie this afternoon about getting this moving and what Ronnie is saying is that we urgently need to try to get sponsors for the 8 races.
Ronnie is sponsoring 1 himself for his valeting service leaving 7, so if anyone can think of a friend that's self employed ie painter, taxi driver, chef, whatever can you speak to them to see if they are willing to put up something along the lines of a case of beer or something to sponsor a race.
For their sponsorship, they'll get their details on the race card which, for the price of a case of beer, is pretty good I think.
Please try to help make this night work as I think it's got great potential. It's a Friday night so everyone will be out to make a big night of it.
I have a 2nd race sponser Chips away on 07500858418 will sponser one :wink:
01-08-2009, 07:16 PM
3rd will get my boss to sponsor one east lothian glazing 0131 665 5355:greengrin
02-08-2009, 10:25 AM
Gerry McAllan, Painter and Decorator is happy to sponsor a race.
02-08-2009, 10:35 AM
Gerry McAllan, Painter and Decorator is happy to sponsor a race.
Only 3 to find now as the last race need no sponser :wink:
Godsahibby
02-08-2009, 11:14 AM
I'm happy arranging the night but would be good if someone could look after the sponsors etc for the races.
Out of interest how much are we chargin to sponsor a race? I should be able to get a couple of business interested.
Godsahibby
02-08-2009, 11:21 AM
I've got two more sponsors for races
Tyne Joinery - 07949 486 985
Strachan Decorators - 07803 160 418
Godsahibby
02-08-2009, 11:39 AM
I've spoken to the club about them puting on food like they do in the behind the goals, hopefully I should hear back on Monday about this. If they can't we need to decide whether we want to have a small buffet and maybe have the price of tickets around £10 or without a buffet sell tickets for £5.
02-08-2009, 12:05 PM
I've spoken to the club about them puting on food like they do in the behind the goals, hopefully I should hear back on Monday about this. If they can't we need to decide whether we want to have a small buffet and maybe have the price of tickets around £10 or without a buffet sell tickets for £5.
Sounds good mate.:agree:
Once we've got the races sponsored, I can't see it being a problem getting the horses sold. I'm pretty sure that race nights that I've been to before, if there's been any horses left, they've just been sold on the night.
02-08-2009, 12:55 PM
I'm happy arranging the night but would be good if someone could look after the sponsors etc for the races.
Out of interest how much are we chargin to sponsor a race? I should be able to get a couple of business interested.
just a donation of a bottle of spirits or a case of 24 beer's [none of this cheap 7quid cases with 15 bottles in] is what I have been saying to folks :wink: if we only charge 3-5 pounds a horse the sponsors prize will be twice what thay have forked out to get there name in the programme :agree:
HibbyScott
02-08-2009, 02:53 PM
My dad will sponsor one for us :thumbsup:
02-08-2009, 10:19 PM
Question, as it's being skirted over with all the excitement of race sponsors etc:
What's happening with the £250 fee?
Godsahibby
03-08-2009, 08:17 AM
I'm quite disappointed but unfortunately we will have to pay this.
I just hope they make it up by giving some unbelievable money can't but auction prizes that we can auction off for big bucks.
---------- Post added at 09:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:16 AM ----------
So I take it thats us now got all the races sponsored?
03-08-2009, 08:32 AM
I'm quite disappointed but unfortunately we will have to pay this.
I just hope they make it up by giving some unbelievable money can't but auction prizes that we can auction off for big bucks.
---------- Post added at 09:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:16 AM ----------
So I take it thats us now got all the races sponsored?
So where is the money to pay for this coming from? The money we have raised on the justgiving website is not accessible, as it goes directly to MacMillan.
What are the collective totals for donations so far (offline).
Godsahibby
03-08-2009, 09:57 AM
It will have to be paid from the ticket sales.
I have heard fronm the caterers this morning that they will be happy to offer food for sale on the night, a normal dish and a veggy dish. This will ensure we can keep the ticket prices down.
Tickets will be £5 each, i'm pretty busy at work today, if anyone has some spare time can you put an advert on the front page and the bounce if possible advertising the night.
03-08-2009, 10:17 AM
I have heard fronm the caterers this morning that they will be happy to offer food for sale on the night, a normal dish and a veggy dish. This will ensure we can keep the ticket prices down.
Tickets will be £5 each, i'm pretty busy at work today, if anyone has some spare time can you put an advert on the front page and the bounce if possible advertising the night.
Will do :wink:
03-08-2009, 10:25 AM
Group 1 Scores*
Bathgate -
Uphall - 91 points
Harburn - 88 points
Dalmahoy - 85 points
Individual Scores
Scott (M) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 38 points, Harburn 43 points, Dalmahoy 38 points
Ronnie (Hi8sry)- Bathgate __ points, Uphall 20 points, Harburn 26 points, Dalmahoy 19 points
Colin (Cocopops1875) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 35 points, Dalmahoy 24 points
Scott (HibbyScott) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 33 points, Harburn 25 points, Dalmahoy 31 points
Group 2 Scores
Bathgate - 101 points
Uphall - 84 points
Harburn - 84 points
Dalmahoy - 77 points
Individual Scores
Group 3 Scores
Bathgate - 85 points
Uphall -
Harburn -
Dalmahoy -
Individual Scores
Lawrence (Houchy) - Bathgate 30 points, Uphall 24 points, Harburn 20 points, Dalmahoy 22 points
Michael Eprile - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall 42 points, Harburn 37 points, Dalmahoy __ points
Douglas Burford - Bathgate 33 points, Uphall __ points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy __ points
Greg Muir - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall __ points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 17 points
Awards/Records From Day
Closest to the Pin Bathgate (8th) - Lawrence
Highest Cumulative Points (individual) - Chris Strachan, 46 points (Bathgate)
I've added Group 1's cumulative score for Harburn, along with the individual scores, plus I've added individual scores for Group 3 in some places.
Still awaiting a few scorecards from group 3 to complete, which Lawrence is chasing up for me.
03-08-2009, 10:35 AM
Group 1 Scores*
Bathgate -
Uphall - 91 points
Harburn - 88 points
Dalmahoy - 85 points
Individual Scores
Scott (M) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 38 points, Harburn 43 points, Dalmahoy 38 points
Ronnie (Hi8sry)- Bathgate __ points, Uphall 20 points, Harburn 26 points, Dalmahoy 19 points
Colin (Cocopops1875) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 35 points, Dalmahoy 24 points
Scott (HibbyScott) - Bathgate __ points, Uphall 33 points, Harburn 25 points, Dalmahoy 31 points
Group 2 Scores
Bathgate - 101 points
Uphall - 84 points
Harburn - 84 points
Dalmahoy - 77 points
Individual Scores
Group 3 Scores
Bathgate -
Uphall -
Harburn -
Dalmahoy -
Individual Scores
Lawrence (Houchy) - Bathgate 30 points, Uphall 24 points, Harburn 20 points, Dalmahoy 22 points
Michael Eprile - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall 42 points, Harburn 37 points, Dalmahoy __ points
Douglas Burford - Bathgate __ points, Uphall __ points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy __ points
Greg Muir - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall __ points, Harburn __ points, Dalmahoy 17 points
Awards/Records From Day
Closest to the Pin Bathgate (8th) - ?
I've added Group 1's cumulative score for Harburn, along with the individual scores, plus I've added individual scores for Group 3 in some places.
Still awaiting a few scorecards from group 3 to complete, which Lawrence is chasing up for me.
I was closest the hole at Bathgate.:agree:
03-08-2009, 11:05 AM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=156966
Godsahibby
03-08-2009, 12:19 PM
Cheers mate
04-08-2009, 02:46 PM
I've completed the scoring for groups 1 and 2 and will update them accordingly later.
Lawrence is chasing up the remaining scorecards for group 3, so we can begin working out their scores for the day for Uphall, Harburn and Dalmahoy (as I've already completed Bathgate).
When do the scores need to be submitted by, as if the scorecards aren't tracked down and delivered to me by the end of the weekend, they won't be done until after August 24th, when my dissertation has been submitted.
05-08-2009, 11:35 AM
Group 1 Scores*
Bathgate - 96 points
Uphall - 91 points
Harburn - 88 points
Dalmahoy - 85 points
Individual Scores
Scott (M) - Bathgate 37 points, Uphall 38 points, Harburn 43 points, Dalmahoy 38 points
Ronnie (Hi8sry)- Bathgate 28 points, Uphall 20 points, Harburn 26 points, Dalmahoy 19 points
Colin (Cocopops1875) - Bathgate 30 points, Uphall 30 points, Harburn 35 points, Dalmahoy 24 points
Scott (HibbyScott) - Bathgate 24 points, Uphall 33 points, Harburn 25 points, Dalmahoy 31 points
Group 2 Scores
Bathgate - 101 points
Uphall - 84 points
Harburn - 84 points
Dalmahoy - 77 points
Individual Scores
Group 3 Scores
Bathgate - 85 points
Uphall - 68 points
Harburn - 57 points
Dalmahoy - 39 points
Scores based on missing cards - Lawrence told me to calculate their scores based on what I have, so these appear worse than they necessarily were.
Individual Scores
Michael Eprile - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall 42 points, Harburn 37 points, Dalmahoy n/a points
Douglas Burford - Bathgate 33 points, Uphall n/a points, Harburn n/a points, Dalmahoy n/a points
Greg Muir - Bathgate 27 points, Uphall n/a points, Harburn n/a points, Dalmahoy 17 points
Awards/Records From Day
Total Rounds High Score (Team) - Team 1 (360 points)
Total Rounds Low Score (Team) - Team 3 (249 points)
Total Rounds High Score (Individual)- Scott M (156 points overall)
Total Rounds Low Score (Individual)- Ronnie (Hi8sry) - 93 points overall*
* Scores for Douglas Burford and Greg Muir were lower, but incomplete based on missing scorecards.
Closest to the Pin Bathgate (8th) - Lawrence
Highest Cumulative Points in a single Round(team) - Team 2, Bathgate 101 points
Lowest Cumulative Points in a single Round(team) - Team 3, Dalmahoy, 39 points
Highest Cumulative Points in a single Round(individual) - Chris Strachan, 46 points (Bathgate)
Lowest Cumulative Points in a single Round(individual) - Greg Muir, 17 points (Dalmahoy)
Most Scores generated during the day (Least holes with 0 points) - Scott M (3 holes without score)
Team 1, with the highest daily total points will have a good chance at a trip to Portugal for the final with our daily cumulative points, as 348 was the lowest qualifier last year!
Fingers crossed.
Godsahibby
06-08-2009, 08:14 AM
How is everyone getting on with the ticket sales for the race night?
06-08-2009, 09:04 AM
not good at the moment most of my mates went to the sportsman's and sponsored me, so they are under the impression that they have donated enough :boo hoo:
Godsahibby
06-08-2009, 11:53 AM
not good at the moment most of my mates went to the sportsman's and sponsored me, so they are under the impression that they have donated enough :boo hoo:
Check your mail mate.
06-08-2009, 02:53 PM
not confirmed as yet but should be good for 20 at least:thumbsup:
06-08-2009, 06:56 PM
Just to confirm, on the money submission front, I'll be paying the money I collect into my own bank account, and then transferring it into the Justgiving webpage from there, to save me having to faff about, getting money down to Edinburgh, to whoever is submitting the cash.
Godsahibby
07-08-2009, 09:59 AM
What I would like to do for the race night is share the tickets out between everyone to get them sold easier.
As a team we decided to put this on so as a team we should be selling them.
Is everyone ok with doing it this way?
sg7nil
07-08-2009, 12:41 PM
Happy to take some tickets (as long as it's on a sale or return basis - because I'm not sure if I'll manage to shift that many).
On the subject of paying the sponsorship money to Macmillan.. I'll have to send mine in myself (I'll confirm the final total later) cos that's the only way I'll get the HBOS double up of the first £500.
sg7nil
07-08-2009, 12:43 PM
Also, who is selling the horses.. I'll buy a couple..just let me know how much.. ta
Do I get to name them? (you did when I organised one.. although it was a pest when I had to setup the racecards and print them off)
Edit..
It's always an option to get folk that can't get along to buy a horse too.. that way they can still support the night without having to attend. Possibly worth advertising somewhere on .NET and see how many you can sell?
Godsahibby
08-08-2009, 11:02 AM
After numerous problems finally got the tickets printed.
As I said before we decided to do this as a team so I think the tickets should be shared out to sell.
Can you all PM me your phone numbers and I can arrange to meet up and hand out the tickets. Even if you can't make it on the night we should all be doing our bit.
Godsahibby
10-08-2009, 11:27 AM
Great to see so many people on here prepared to help out with this.
We all agreed to do this as a team, I've said a couple of times on here it would be good if we all got involved with running this.
10-08-2009, 03:56 PM
We all agreed to do this as a team, I've said a couple of times on here it would be good if we all got involved with running this. Either we all get involved and start getting these tickets sold or we cancel the event.
I've got about 15 coming but as I'm in America, I can't pick up tickets. I don't get back until the 21st so we'll all just have to pay at the door.
David Burns the golf pro will also sponsor a race as he's already donated prizes.:agree:
10-08-2009, 04:33 PM
We all agreed to do this as a team, I've said a couple of times on here it would be good if we all got involved with running this. Either we all get involved and start getting these tickets sold or we cancel the event.
I've said this a few times before, so at the risk of repeating myself, I'm in the final 2 weeks of my postgrad thesis, and I can't afford to drop my focus until it's completed.
I hope to be at the event myself, but it's the weekend before the submission, which is when I'll be printing and adding the final touches.
Sorry, but the problem for me is the timing, not apathy.
Don-hibee
10-08-2009, 07:51 PM
On behalf of h18sry (ronnie) he is in Oslo till late Thursday evening, so unable to to anything till Friday at the earliest.
Godsahibby
12-08-2009, 11:55 AM
There should be something going out on the main site about this either today or tomorrow.
There is also a chance we will be given some space in the club store pre game on Saturday to sell tickets directly, I will be happy to do this but would be good to get help from someone else. Anyone going to the game who would be happy to give up their pre game pint for a couple of hours in the club shop selling tickets?
HibbyScott
13-08-2009, 11:05 PM
I'm sorry I've not been a huge help, but similar to Scott, I'm currently revising for a resit exam which could go a long way to shaping which degree course I get onto, and therefore could have a fairly big impact on my career and so on, so I'm also a little bit pre occupied just now
Godsahibby
14-08-2009, 01:05 PM
If anyone is interested there is a story on the main site now about the race night.
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/
On another note who has the McMillan banner? can I meet up with whoever has it pre game, would be good to have it in the shop where the tickets are being sold.
Godsahibby
19-08-2009, 02:10 PM
Who has the MacMillan tins?
19-08-2009, 02:33 PM
One of them is at Harburn. If you ask Scott, I'm sure he can arrange to get it to you.
20-08-2009, 02:56 AM
There's one at the Hibs club at Sunnyside that was left there from the breakfast.
20-08-2009, 07:27 AM
There's one at the Hibs club at Sunnyside that was left there from the breakfast.
Nah theres 2 which I will pick up n Friday :wink:
Godsahibby
20-08-2009, 10:44 AM
I'm trying to put a list together of what we have for the auction, have I missed anything or is there anything else to be added?
- Signed Man U shirt
- Four ball @ Bathgate
- 2 Vouchers for 45 min video lessons @ Turnhouse with Andrew Marshall
- Meal for 4 cooked at your own house by food creations
- Limited edition original rules of golf print
- Limited edition print by David Maxwell, this was commisoned by Paul Lawrie following his win @ carnustie and the print is signed by Paul himself. have a look at the link
http://www.davidmaxwell.co.uk/
- Signed Hibs book
- Money Can't buy prize 1 (stilll waiting on confirmation of exactly what)
- Money Can't buy prize 2 (stilll waiting on confirmation of exactly what)
Is there anything else?
HibbyScott
20-08-2009, 10:47 AM
One of them is at Harburn. If you ask Scott, I'm sure he can arrange to get it to you.
Theres actually 2 at Harburn :greengrin I'll pick them up before Friday though
20-08-2009, 06:53 PM
I'm trying to put a list together of what we have for the auction, have I missed anything or is there anything else to be added?
- Signed Man U shirt
- Four ball @ Bathgate
- Limited edition print by David Maxwell, this was commisoned by Paul Lawrie following his win @ carnustie and the print is signed by Paul himself. have a look at the link
- Signed Hibs book
Is there anything else?
ronnie has a pringle wool hat i donated :thumbsup:
20-08-2009, 06:57 PM
- Signed Man U shirt
- Four ball @ Bathgate
- Signed Hibs book
Is there anything else?
ps sex up the book as its signed by lawrie reilly paddy stanton keith wright and rob jones on what was his last public duty as hibs captain and also the author :thumbsup:
21-08-2009, 12:58 PM
- Signed Man U shirt
- Four ball @ Bathgate
- Signed Hibs book
Is there anything else?
We've got a 4ball for turnhouse, 2 45 min lessons with Andrew Marshall at Houston Driving range (on the A89, across from Uphall GC) and 2x1 hour video lessons with David Burns. Wee bit confusion in there mate.:greengrin
As an aside, what time is this running until tonight and is it just jeans and stuff I presume?
3rd Edit: 4ball for Bathgate too.
4th Edit: Just saw you already had the Bathgate one on there.
21-08-2009, 01:09 PM
We've got a 4ball for turnhouse, 1 leson with Andrew Marshall at Houston Driving range (on the A89, across from Uphall GC) and 2 45 minute video lessons with David Burns. Wee bit confusion in there mate.:greengrin
As an aside, what time is this running until tonight and is it just jeans and stuff I presume?
No dinner jackets and wooly hats m8 :greengrin
21-08-2009, 01:27 PM
No dinner jackets and wooly hats m8 :greengrin
It was the Mrs that was asking, she was going to get all togged up. I had to remind her that it was a racenight at ER not a race-night at Nad Al Sheba FFS!!!:greengrin
sg7nil
21-08-2009, 02:20 PM
Was reading back through this thread and a fourball at Kingussie and a signed Rangers football were also mentioned... don't know if these still exist (ever existed?)..
On the dress code, is anyone wearing their Macmillan or Hibs Polo shirts.. look more like a team if we did.. ( I didn't get a Macmillan one, so I'll wear the Hibs one)..
P.S. six folk still haven't paid me for those yet.. the dough would come in handy tonight, otherwise I may have to make a decision to EITHER drink OR gamble and not both! :wink:
(although once we all divvy up the nearest the pin money I'll be slightly more flush :agree: :wink:)
21-08-2009, 03:20 PM
Was reading back through this thread and a fourball at Kingussie and a signed Rangers football were also mentioned... don't know if these still exist (ever existed?)..
On the dress code, is anyone wearing their Macmillan or Hibs Polo shirts.. look more like a team if we did.. ( I didn't get a Macmillan one, so I'll wear the Hibs one)..
P.S. six folk still haven't paid me for those yet.. the dough would come in handy tonight, otherwise I may have to make a decision to EITHER drink OR gamble and not both! :wink:
(although once we all divvy up the nearest the pin money I'll be slightly more flush :agree: :wink:)
those two prizes went at the sportsmans breakfast :thumbsup:
21-08-2009, 03:25 PM
:wink:sort you out tonight been saving my one pence pieces :greengrin
21-08-2009, 03:32 PM
:wink:sort you out tonight been saving my one pence pieces :greengrin
cant have a man unable to drown his sorrows at all the losers he will be backing:greengrin
21-08-2009, 03:45 PM
I don't think Mark has paid you for his yet but he reminded me that he's due me £8 for it just after the event but I've not seen him as I've literally just got back from Florida.
Has Mike paid you yet? if so, name and shame the ones who haven't paid so we can chase them up.
22-08-2009, 03:23 PM
Great night last night with a good bit raised for macmillan. Don't know the exact amount but I think it would be close to £2k and it was a great effort from everyone in attendace. Big shout out to Chris for his hard work in organising the event in the limited time we had:top marks
Everyone that I spoke to said they had a fantastic time.
22-08-2009, 04:23 PM
Great night last night with a good bit raised for macmillan. Don't know the exact amount but I think it would be close to £2k and it was a great effort from everyone in attendace. Big shout out to Chris for his hard work in organising the event in the limited time we had:top marks
Everyone that I spoke to said they had a fantastic time.great time had sore head now :greengrin
sg7nil
24-08-2009, 08:31 AM
Aye, not a bad night, just to bad it wasn't better attended.. (especially by the folk that still owe me money... sorry I'm starting to sound like a stuck record:yawn:, but I'm still £40 out of pocket:wink:)
P.S. thanks Ronnie! :thumbsup:
Do we know what the final total is yet?
Great effort from those that did turn up :top marks
24-08-2009, 11:50 AM
Aye, not a bad night, just to bad it wasn't better attended.. (especially by the folk that still owe me money... sorry I'm starting to sound like a stuck record:yawn:, but I'm still £40 out of pocket:wink:)
P.S. thanks Ronnie! :thumbsup:
Do we know what the final total is yet?
Great effort from those that did turn up :top marks
Name and shame time
27-08-2009, 11:00 AM
Time is nearing for the submission of monies to MacMillan:
1) What is the actual deadline for submission of funds/scores?
2) How are we all submitting the funds? I'm aware those who have applied for matched giving will need to submit cash directly, as opposed to Justgiving, so is this being taken care of? The easiest method, to prevent flurries of cash transactions at different banks will probably be to pay monies into your own accounts and then use it to transfer to the Justgiving website. That was my chosen method anyway!
3) Do the team captains have the forms to submit the scores on behalf of your group? It is perhaps worthwhile that each team captain create a small letter with the scores to verify that the funds are being submitted through justgiving, and provide a reminder in said letter, that although their are 3 seperate teams, that the money is being submitted as a collective effort, and should be divided between the 3 teams accordingly, otherwise team 1 will have a total amount of c.£8k, with the others having nothing.
27-08-2009, 03:48 PM
Time is nearing for the submission of monies to MacMillan:
1) What is the actual deadline for submission of funds/scores?
2) How are we all submitting the funds? I'm aware those who have applied for matched giving will need to submit cash directly, as opposed to Justgiving, so is this being taken care of? The easiest method, to prevent flurries of cash transactions at different banks will probably be to pay monies into your own accounts and then use it to transfer to the Justgiving website. That was my chosen method anyway!
3) Do the team captains have the forms to submit the scores on behalf of your group? It is perhaps worthwhile that each team captain create a small letter with the scores to verify that the funds are being submitted through justgiving, and provide a reminder in said letter, that although their are 3 seperate teams, that the money is being submitted as a collective effort, and should be divided between the 3 teams accordingly, otherwise team 1 will have a total amount of c.£8k, with the others having nothing.
my issue is if we did that pay into bank then justgiving site how would the gift aid work ? how did finals uni type work go buddy:thumbsup:
27-08-2009, 04:56 PM
my issue is if we did that pay into bank then justgiving site how would the gift aid work ? how did finals uni type work go buddy:thumbsup:
I guess you would tick the gift aid when donating, and it would automatically add the relevant amount of gift aid for a donation of said size.
Aye, it's almost over - final presentation next Thursday, but for the most part, everything is coming swimmingly, cheers! :thumbsup:
sg7nil
27-08-2009, 07:53 PM
A bit late to mention it here, however I'm playing tomorrow at Duddingston with some guys that just fancied a day off work.
Got a deal for 2 rounds (plan to play singles in the morning -08:45 tee off - and a scramble in the afternoon), bacon rolls & coffee beforehand and I believe there is some form of food in the middle too, for £56 a head.
Was supposed to be 12 playing, but we are 1 short just now, so if anyone fancies it, let me know.. I ken it's late notice but you never know.:wink:
29-08-2009, 01:41 PM
I guess you would tick the gift aid when donating, and it would automatically add the relevant amount of gift aid for a donation of said size.
Aye, it's almost over - final presentation next Thursday, but for the most part, everything is coming swimmingly, cheers! :thumbsup:further to my question :greengrin that would mean putting in individual £10 sponsors as not everyone is gift aid compatable :thumbsup:
29-08-2009, 02:43 PM
further to my question :greengrin that would mean putting in individual £10 sponsors as not everyone is gift aid compatable :thumbsup:
Hmmm, I'm sitting with about £700 in my account in sponsorship money and want shot of it pretty quick before my DD's and stuff comes out. I'm going to use some of it to sponsor Mark, Tony and Mike as they all get matched giving, maximising that avenue and the rest, I'll try and put down as donations from people that qualify for gift aid... or is this classed as possible fraud??? Any news on totals from the race night?
01-09-2009, 07:57 AM
Have we sold these yet :confused: as time is getting on, :agree:
What was the final total collected from the race night :confused: and when is it getting paid into the just giving site :wink:
My sponsorship money should be fully collected this week and will be paid in by the weekend :dizzy:
01-09-2009, 08:26 AM
What was the final total collected from the race night :confused: and when is it getting paid into the just giving site :wink:
My sponsorship money should be fully collected this week and will be paid in by the weekend :dizzy:
Chris was going to speak to his mate about upping his bid to £200 from the £160 he'd offered but I haven't heard anything yet. I'm sure Chris put all the cash in a sealed bank bag and was going to deal with that also. Don't know what the totals were but it looked a decent amount on the night.
Also, I have the list of who bid what for each item but because I've been in hospital longer than planned, I've not been able to chase people up yet. I should be out on Friday or Sat though at the latest so i'll get a bit more active then.
As an aside to that, can anyone let me know if their mate's bought anything and have paid them directly so that i'm not chasing people up that have already paid. Cheers.
sg7nil
02-09-2009, 10:52 AM
Name and shame time
I lost the note that I made on the night ( I think it went through the wash).. I had other things on my mind at the time (like large foot blisters)
however .... (and sincere apologies if I'm wrong!) I don't remember Scott, Douglas, Mike, Tony or Mark giving me money.. as I said before I could be wrong and apologies if I am! :duck:
03-09-2009, 09:08 AM
I lost the note that I made on the night ( I think it went through the wash).. I had other things on my mind at the time (like large foot blisters)
however .... (and sincere apologies if I'm wrong!) I don't remember Scott Learmonth, Douglas, Mike, Tony or Mark giving me money.. as I said before I could be wrong and apologies if I am! :duck:
Fixed that for you, as I paid on the 19th at Dalmahoy :wink:
Godsahibby
03-09-2009, 11:44 AM
I thought you were speaking to hats his name about it, was he willing to pay £200? if not then we will put it on Ebay.
I've got all the money sitting in an account I will get it in this week or the start of next week.
sg7nil
03-09-2009, 01:06 PM
Fixed that for you, as I paid on the 19th at Dalmahoy :wink:
I meant the other Scott.. sorry, I knew you'd coughed up :wink:
05-09-2009, 03:01 PM
What were the "money can't buy prizes then"?
What happened with the "security payment"?
06-09-2009, 08:46 PM
What were the "money can't buy prizes then"?
What happened with the "security payment"?
a day training with the team and a matchday experience :thumbsup:
06-09-2009, 09:04 PM
a day training with the team and a matchday experience :thumbsup:
Cheers bud :agree:
09-09-2009, 07:02 AM
David Burns, the golf pro (http://www.davidburnsgolf.co.uk/) called me last night to say that he is having a coffee morning at his driving range (http://www.kingsfieldgolf.com/news.htm) on the 25th Sept.
Aswell as the usual coffee and cakes etc, David is also giving up his time to take bookings for 15 minute golf slots for a donation of £5 (all going to Macmillan. For anyone that is looking to improve their golf, I personally cannot recommend the guy highly enough and would go as far as to say that he is the best coach I have been to, explaining everything he tells you and the effects the changes in your swing will have in your ball flight/trajectory in simple terms.
The state of the art facilities at Kingsfield, IMO, possibly makes this the best driving range in Scotland (including Melville at Kings Acre)
It would be appreciated if anyone can come along to help David reach his target of £500 to £1000, but understand that as it's a Friday, it's maybe not possible.
Thanks
09-09-2009, 08:53 AM
Sounds like another great gesture from the guy Lawrence. Sadly I'm in Dundee, or i'd have popped along for it.
On a more general note, what is the submission deadline? Have the captains completed the score forms yet to send away?
sg7nil
09-09-2009, 10:33 AM
Sounds like another great gesture from the guy Lawrence. Sadly I'm in Dundee, or i'd have popped along for it.
On a more general note, what is the submission deadline? Have the captains completed the score forms yet to send away?
My money has been sent in already (I had to send it to them direct so I can claim matched funding on the first £500).
09-09-2009, 10:50 AM
My money has been sent in already (I had to send it to them direct so I can claim matched funding on the first £500).
It was more in reference to the scores to be honest Stuart - I've made my own arrangements and sent the money away directly too (I used the same BACS form from last year).
15-09-2009, 07:20 AM
As the final payment date approaches, and with people depositing there funds into MacMillan, in various ways is there any way people who have not deposited money through the http://www.justgiving.com/hibsnetlongestday/ site can post up there total's here so we can see if we reached our targets.
Also what was the total's collected from the race night as I cannot recall any figures being posted.
Cheers :thumbsup:
sg7nil
15-09-2009, 11:02 AM
My total was £604.20, which was sent off a couple of weeks ago.
The HBOS matched funding should lift that total to £1104.20 (they'll only match the first £500). I sent all the forms for the matched funding off when I sent the original money, and it's up to Macmillan to fill in their bit and send it to the HBOS foundation, so I'm not sure if I'll receive confirmation of that sum going in or not.
HibbyScott
15-09-2009, 11:06 AM
I'm still chasing my dad for money that he got from people at work, so hopefully he'll have that soon and I'll be ready to put the money in
15-09-2009, 11:11 AM
My total was £604.20, which was sent off a couple of weeks ago.
The HBOS matched funding should lift that total to £1104.20 (they'll only match the first £500). I sent all the forms for the matched funding off when I sent the original money, and it's up to Macmillan to fill in their bit and send it to the HBOS foundation, so I'm not sure if I'll receive confirmation of that sum going in or not.
:applause::applause: terrific amount
15-09-2009, 11:36 AM
My total was close to the £700 mark but I'm struggling to get some of it in with being in hospital (I've actually been hit pretty hard this time with the chemo and spent all weekend in bed). That said, they're aware of my circumstances so they're ok with another couple of weeks.
15-09-2009, 11:52 AM
I fell just shy of £300, by a couple of quid I think.
I found it VERY hard to drum up sponsors this year, being that most friends/family/colleagues/colleagues of friends & family made some form of contribution to my effort last year.
21-09-2009, 11:03 AM
Anyone any idea what the total figure was roughly as our just giving page shows just over £5200 against a target of £10,000 but I'd be surprised if, with all the money in, we were far off £9,000. What was the amount raised at the race night in the end? Was that just sent straight to Macmillan?
21-09-2009, 11:44 AM
Anyone any idea what the total figure was roughly as our just giving page shows just over £5200 against a target of £10,000 but I'd be surprised if, with all the money in, we were far off £9,000. What was the amount raised at the race night in the end? Was that just sent straight to Macmillan?
Chris was dealing with the cash for that event, I think if you PM him he will let you know totals raised and when it will be banked, I think we may still have the rules of golf to be sold as they were unsold on the night, :wink:
30-09-2009, 11:15 AM
Just received a letter from Macmillan, thanking me for "team turnbulls" contribution of £1763.83.
But still confused as we are past the pay in date but all the monies have not been paid in yet, so what happens to the outstanding cash? how does that effect our target of £10,000 :confused:
Sorry if I'm having a blonde day but hey just concerned :wink:
30-09-2009, 12:13 PM
Just received a letter from Macmillan, thanking me for "team turnbulls" contribution of £1763.83.
But still confused as we are past the pay in date but all the monies have not been paid in yet, so what happens to the outstanding cash? how does that effect our target of £10,000 :confused:
Sorry if I'm having a blonde day but hey just concerned :wink:
I don't think (from memory) that the funds raised on the Justgiving website are attached onto the letter. Can I ask, who submitted the scores, along with their money? Team captains are supposed to do this, so has it been done?
30-09-2009, 02:12 PM
I don't think (from memory) that the funds raised on the Justgiving website are attached onto the letter. Can I ask, who submitted the scores, along with their money? Team captains are supposed to do this, so has it been done?
I have no idea m8 I just recieved the letter, still unsure of totals tho :wink:
01-10-2009, 05:35 PM
I spoke to Fiona (The girl that came to the golf day from Macmillan) about my money and explained I was in hospital so had difficulty getting the last bits in for my personal tally. I almost have it all now though (-£100) but they're good for it so I'll cover it in the mean time, so just need to dig out the form with the bank details when I get out of here. I've just contacted Mike and Greig from my team to ask what they've done with theirs so I can't do anything regarding them until I've heard back and all of Douglas' sponsors paid through Just giving website.
01-10-2009, 05:42 PM
I spoke to Fiona (The girl that came to the golf day from Macmillan) about my money and explained I was in hospital so had difficulty getting the last bits in for my personal tally. I almost have it all now though (-£100) but they're good for it so I'll cover it in the mean time, so just need to dig out the form with the bank details when I get out of here. I've just contacted Mike and Greig from my team to ask what they've done with theirs so I can't do anything regarding them until I've heard back and all of Douglas' sponsors paid through Just giving website.
My query was more regarding the scores mate - I think, so long as the money gets there at some point, there's no pressing rush - the only reason they apply a "deadline" for the money, is that raising £1k is a precursor to being eligible for the grand prize.
09-10-2009, 04:26 PM
An admin can probably remove this as a sticky now.
Cheers.
09-10-2009, 10:34 PM
An admin can probably remove this as a sticky now.
Cheers.
Why:confused: has all the money been handed in, what are the totals raised, how much was raised from the race night, have all the bids been paid, I think untill all these points have been finalised this should remain, still too many unanswered question,a lot of people have donated friends, family, work colleagues and . netters all would like to know our totals and rightly so :agree:
09-10-2009, 10:44 PM
Why:confused: has all the money been handed in, what are the totals raised, how much was raised from the race night, have all the bids been paid, I think untill all these points have been finalised this should remain, still too many unanswered question,a lot of people have donated friends, family, work colleagues and . netters all would like to know our totals and rightly so :agree:
These questions get asked, and asked, and asked, and here we are again, asking the same questions. Communication has well and truly failed in the latter part of this event and its the same people posting asking the same questions of the same people and getting the same blank response.
The last post on this thread, prior to mine today, was the best part of 2 weeks ago, and it was yet another unanswered question.
Only Chris can answer the total from the racenight. Whoever dealt with the raffles/draws are the only people who can say what bids/payments are outstanding. Only the team captains for each side can say if they bothered their arse submitting the scores for the teams (though I already know that answer). Only individuals can post up their totals, and those who have, have, and the others for whatever reason, haven't.
It's not as if the Other Sports forum is so regularly utilised that the page will disappear - until there is something to update, what is the point in keeping an unused sticky thread?
10-10-2009, 05:42 PM
Right, I'm going through the list now for the auction items and the list is as follows:
4ball@ Turnhouse: Colin Smith £30 (paid through just giving site)
2x 1 hour lessons with David Burns: Colin Smith £60 (Paid)
4ball@ Bathgate: Colin Smith (paid)
Hibs book: Lawrence Stewart £20 (paid)
The rest are not on the Just giving website so can I ask their friends to give them a call to find out what they're doing or what they've done payment wise. I have telephone numbers for everyone if you need them so I'll chase them up if we don't get anywhere with a gentle nudge from friends:
Signed Man Utd Shirt: Chris Marr £120
Pre Match Tour: Nick Dishon £80
Meal for 4 cooked in your home: David Delaney £75
2x 45 minute lessons with Andy Marshall: Callumn Lyons £45
Visit to training centre to watch training: Marco Conti £150
Rules of golf print never sold but we're waiting on Chris to ask his mate if he's happy to up his offer to £200.
11-10-2009, 07:13 PM
chris marr paid via just giving:wink: i will put in david delaneys tomorrow and chase up callum :greengrin i believe marco is ready to pay as is the matchday one nick or bruce
14-10-2009, 06:51 PM
chris marr paid via just giving:wink: i will put in david delaneys tomorrow and chase up callum :greengrin i believe marco is ready to pay as is the matchday one nick or bruce
Sorry mate, I don't understand this last part
16-10-2009, 12:37 PM
Sorry mate, I don't understand this last partit was my mates nick and bruce that won the matchday prize the have or will be paying soon as hibs have contacted them:thumbsup:
28-10-2009, 08:58 AM
it was my mates nick and bruce that won the matchday prize the have or will be paying soon as hibs have contacted them:thumbsup:
Thanks for that Colin
28-10-2009, 09:01 AM
Anyone going to admit to knowing the following before I call them?:
29-10-2009, 02:12 PM
Anyone going to admit to knowing the following before I call them?:
i have dave delaneys cash mate i do also know the other two
31-10-2009, 11:34 AM
i have dave delaneys cash mate i do also know the other two
Oh yeah, sorry mate I remember now that you've already told me that you were chasing up Callumn and that Marco was still waiting on Hibs contacting him. Might be and idea to get him to call Fyfe rather than waiting for Hibs to contact him though.
Thanks again Colin.
As an aside, I've contacted Macmillan to ask if they can check from their bank records how much we raised as a collective ie sponsor money paid direct to them rather than through the just giving site and money paid in from the race night etc so that we can get an idea of the cumulative total that we raised compared to our £10k target. I'll let you all know when they get back to me.
HibbyScott
04-11-2009, 11:31 AM
My dad has only just transferred me the money that he raised through his work. Went to donate it through the justgiving page and found out that it had expired. What would be the best way to donate it now?
04-11-2009, 11:40 AM
My dad has only just transferred me the money that he raised through his work. Went to donate it through the justgiving page and found out that it had expired. What would be the best way to donate it now?
Sure you can download a payment form from the MacMillan website, and then pay it into a local Lloyds TSB branch.
Have you emptied the collection tubs from the bars/pro-shop yet?
04-11-2009, 11:41 AM
I'll PM you the sort code and account number for Macmillans account mate.
Would you be able to get me the banner that was up at Harburn during the event mate and any collection tins that were on the bar at Harburn.
Thanks Scott.
HibbyScott
04-11-2009, 11:53 AM
I'll PM you the sort code and account number for Macmillans account mate.
Would you be able to get me the banner that was up at Harburn during the event mate and any collection tins that were on the bar at Harburn.
Thanks Scott.
Yeah I can get them on Friday, and cheers for the details when you send them
04-11-2009, 12:00 PM
Can we get a rough idea of where we stand? I know Lawrence has emailed to ask for a total, but a rough idea in advance of that would be lovely:
Justgiving website (including Ronnie's sponsor money): £5421.50
Outstanding auction payments (from Lawrence's post): £470 (+£200 for Rules of Golf?)
Funds Raised Individually:
Ronnie: £178.50
Scott M: £287.60
Scott L: £175.00 (+ tins from Harburn)
Lawrence:
Colin:
Chris:
Stuart:
Mark W:
Douglas:
Tony:
Mike:
Greg:
£6557.60 (roughly) just now, before 10 sponsorship monies are added on....
Excellent!
HibbyScott
04-11-2009, 01:13 PM
Can we get a rough idea of where we stand? I know Lawrence has emailed to ask for a total, but a rough idea in advance of that would be lovely:
Outstanding auction payments (from Lawrence's post): £470 (+£200 for Rules of Golf?)
Scott L:
Lawrence:
Colin:
Chris:
Stuart:
Mark W:
Douglas:
Tony:
Mike:
Greg:
Excellent!
I've got £175 Scott, and theres also collecting tins to come back from Harburn, which feel reasonably full
05-11-2009, 02:00 PM
Sure you can download a payment form from the MacMillan website, and then pay it into a local Lloyds TSB branch.
Have you emptied the collection tubs from the bars/pro-shop yet?
The collection tins are sealed so can only be opened by Macmillan.
Lawrence:
Colin:
Chris:
Stuart:
Mark W:
Douglas:
Tony:
Mike:
Greg:
Excellent!
I see that despite the university degree(s), you've not yet quite mastered basic arithmetic:wink::na na:
05-11-2009, 04:08 PM
The collection tins are sealed so can only be opened by Macmillan.
I see that despite the university degree(s), you've not yet quite mastered basic arithmetic:wink::na na:
That was typed before I edited my post to pop Scott's total onto the list :cool2:
05-11-2009, 09:19 PM
i have £232 sitting here + david delaneys cash for the meal in his home from the race night will also endevour to turn up the heat on callum marco nick and bruce :thumbsup:
---------- Post added at 10:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:17 PM ----------
due to being a lazy bast**d how would i now pay this in send a cheque or give to houchy at a match?
05-11-2009, 10:50 PM
i have £232 sitting here + david delaneys cash for the meal in his home from the race night will also endevour to turn up the heat on callum marco nick and bruce :thumbsup:
---------- Post added at 10:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:17 PM ----------
due to being a lazy bast**d how would i now pay this in send a cheque or give to houchy at a match?
Just make sure you don't give it to Chris, or the liklihood is, we'll never see it again :greengrin
Ask Lawrence for the sort code and account number, and then pay it in at a local Lloyds TSB (if it's the same as last year) branch!
09-11-2009, 10:58 AM
Lawrence: £536
Colin: £232
Chris:
Stuart: £1104.20
Mark W:
Douglas:
Tony:
Mike:
Greg:
£8432 (roughly) just now, before 6 sponsorship monies are added on....
CHRIS!?
09-11-2009, 11:04 AM
Chris:
Mark W:
Douglas:
Tony:
Mike:
Greg:
CHRIS!?
Mike raised £307 but is getting messed about by HSBC's charity section in that he keeps getting told that someone will get back to him about the mached giving, but no one has as of yet. Doesn't surprise me as they were ********s when I worked there too.
09-11-2009, 11:22 AM
Chris:
Mark W:
Douglas:
Tony:
Mike:
Greg:
CHRIS!?
And race night, and auction cash :grr:
09-11-2009, 11:38 AM
And race night, and auction cash :grr:
Some of the racenight was paid in via the Justgiving website, but only one person knows what on Earth has happened with the rest of it...
£8739 with Mike added on then, potentially more if he eventually gets the Matched Giving.
10-11-2009, 10:56 AM
Some of the racenight was paid in via the Justgiving website, but only one person knows what on Earth has happened with the rest of it...
£8739 with Mike added on then, potentially more if he eventually gets the Matched Giving.
Wasn't the money paid to the Justgiving site just the auction money (Mostly Colins mates) rather than ticket and horse sales? Then there's the money collected from the bets on the night aswell which looked a pretty substantial amount.
Godsahibby
11-11-2009, 12:15 PM
Alright guys, sorry not been keeping an eye on this thread. I'll confirm the exact figure tonight, the sponsorship and race night (race night total £232.81 after costs) was paid directly to Macmillan. I hopefully should be able to pay more in from my banks justgiving scheme however they are pissing about, typical RBS. :grr:
My personal total, £205, hoping RBS will still match what I got (added the £205 and £232 together :wink:) but I'm not holding my breath, If they do it will be an added bonus. MacMillan are one of their preferred charities so I would be surprised if they never.
I've also still got the collection tins, need to send those back to MacMillan. I'm not sure who got them delieverd (possibly Lawrence?) but did they come with any return info?
For the rules of glf as well, not read the thread in to much detail but if it's still not been sold I will see about getting in framed and put it on eBay.
Cheers guys.
I've been meaning to say as well, a big thankyou as well to everyone who's been involved, it was hard work but really enjoyed myself doing this over the summer. Without everyone else being involved I wouldnt have done it.
I know I certainly wasn't thinking this walking up the 18th at Dalmahoy but roll on next year