View Full Version : MacMillan Cancer Care Longest day golf challenge
23-04-2009, 02:14 PM
I've been playing around with the idea of shirt concept for the day (as we'll need uniforms) and have come up with the following.
I'll be buggered if I know where to start with sourcing, but I'm hoping it's maybe an idea we can get Hibs to help us with:
Thoughts?
Good work Scott:agree: Maybe need to forward it to Callaway/Adidas and see if they would get us 12 t'shirts at a reduced rate then mentioning it to Hibs tomorrow and see how we go about getting the crest added.:agree:
23-04-2009, 02:24 PM
Good work Scott:agree: Maybe need to forward it to Callaway/Adidas and see if they would get us 12 t'shirts at a reduced rate then mentioning it to Hibs tomorrow and see how we go about getting the crest added.:agree:
To be honest, I'm not fussy if we get 12x plain shirts with no name on them. I just used Callaway as an example.
It's an area we can raise with the club tomorrow, and if they're able to help us, either by making the tops altogether (through the club shop) or embroidering 12 crests, then we can go forward.
Just a wee heads up; other than this meeting tomorrow, I'm going to be out of commission for the next 2 weeks, as I have exams on Monday, Thursday, following Tuesday, Thursday, for my MSc finals, so chances are, I'm going to be hibernating.
I'll check on here to see how things are progressing, but I'm sure you'll all understand my willingness to distance myself from organising/contact regarding sorting things for that duration!
23-04-2009, 02:29 PM
If anyone fancies composing an email for Callaway, I managed to find this address:
[email protected]
I guess there will be several standard email template written by a few of you already, detailing the mission, reason and objectives, so we can use this and modify it? Anyone wish to volunteer an existing email outline?
If you perhaps add something about an admiration of the Callaway brand and a desire to optomise our appearance on the day, due to the inevitable media coverage which will come regarding the day. If you include some of the existing media coverage, they may be inclined to help out, as it will get them publicity?
HibbyScott
23-04-2009, 03:17 PM
Thought I'd collate all the prizes/donations into one post, to see where we stand at the moment!
Signed Football - Rangers Football Club
Round of Golf - Fourball - Kingussie Golf Club
Signed Copy of R&A Rulebook - Muirfield Golf Club
Use of the Hibs Club for event - Frank Dougan
Signed Football Shirt - Hibernian Football Club
Place on the Website/E-Newsletter - Hibernian Football Club
Round of Golf - Fourball - Gifford Golf Club
Bottle of Smirnoff - Tom Miller (Rangers TV + Talk 107)
Round of Golf - Fourball - Bathgate Golf Club
Golf Lessons - 2x45 minutes - Houston Driving Range
Round of Golf - Fourball - Pumpherston Golf Club
Not to mention the rolls from Harburn which will help us along, the 5 FREE rounds of golf we are being offered (I include Turnhouse, even though they're no longer part of our itinerary) to help maximise our donations, the free publicity we've received from people interested in the story and not to forget, the £450 we've already received in donations from various people. Truly magic.
Few things from reading through the thread which seemed to fizzle away:
HibbyScott - you mentioned getting in touch with Bernhard Gallacher earlier - anything come of that?
Chris - fantastic work, putting the feelers out to all external parties, including other SPL clubs, SRU and other courses - you've gained so much in terms of prizes to auction off, and hopefully a few more will pull through for us as well.
All - from the prizes raise, to the publicity sought (and gained) to the donations raised and the dedication to getting even more sorted, we're doing a truly remarkable job. I tip my hat to you all. Keep up the outstanding work and we'll do a scary amount of work in raising funds for this very worthwhile cause!!!
I've not actually been able to do anything about getting in touch with Bernard Gallacher yet due to Uni project deadlines coming up and general exam related nonsense...but I make a final presentation on it tomorrow and should have a little bit extra time and I'll do it then
23-04-2009, 04:12 PM
If anyone fancies composing an email for Callaway, I managed to find this address:
[email protected]
I guess there will be several standard email template written by a few of you already, detailing the mission, reason and objectives, so we can use this and modify it? Anyone wish to volunteer an existing email outline?
If you perhaps add something about an admiration of the Callaway brand and a desire to optomise our appearance on the day, due to the inevitable media coverage which will come regarding the day. If you include some of the existing media coverage, they may be inclined to help out, as it will get them publicity?
Just pinged an email off to Callaway:agree:
Godsahibby
23-04-2009, 06:16 PM
Wow, i've just got the signed rules through in the post. It's very very impressive. Poster sized copy of the original rules, signed by the current chairman of the HCEG. It's a limited edition print.
23-04-2009, 06:49 PM
Wow, i've just got the signed rules through in the post. It's very very impressive. Poster sized copy of the original rules, signed by the current chairman of the HCEG. It's a limited edition print.
Sounds like a great item and a great gesture from them:agree:
Not to mention your blagging skills obviously:top marks
Godsahibby
23-04-2009, 07:01 PM
I've just checked and it's valued at over £400
http://www.muirfield.org.uk/index.cfm?action=rules
I'm quite taken aback by this.
23-04-2009, 07:14 PM
Absolutely stunning mate:agree:
23-04-2009, 08:23 PM
Wow. That's a wonderful gesture from Muirfield.
Superb!
23-04-2009, 09:17 PM
Good work fella. :agree:
24-04-2009, 07:15 AM
Whats the meeing time today, are we meeting a wee bit earlier to have a wee chat amomg ourselves?
24-04-2009, 08:14 AM
I'm leaving Dundee around quarter to twelve, which I hope should get me at ER by around 1, but I can't do any earlier im afraid.
24-04-2009, 08:29 AM
good luck this afternoon guys
Godsahibby
24-04-2009, 08:41 AM
Being out at Gogarburn I don't think I could be any further away from ER if I tried! Not sure how long it's going to take to get me there but i'll leave about half 12 hopefully get to er the back of 1. Happy to meet in the Albion for a quick chat before we go in.
24-04-2009, 08:44 AM
I'll try and get there for 1 also but very much dependant on train times for me.:agree:
How about we say 1 at the Albion Bar (or Scorpio Leisure:greengrin) and anyone who is there at that time can brainstorm and fill in the others as we arrive:agree:
24-04-2009, 08:46 AM
I'll try and get there for 1 also but very much dependant on train times for me.:agree:
How about we say 1 at the Albion Bar (or Scorpio Leisure:greengrin) and anyone who is there at that time can brainstorm and fill in the others as we arrive:agree:
Traffic permitting, that should be fine. :thumbsup:
24-04-2009, 09:13 AM
Thats good for me aswell:wink:
24-04-2009, 03:54 PM
Very worthwhile meeting I felt and some very kind gestures from the club.
Thought Fyfe was a very nice bloke aswell with some good ideas ie the "money can't buy" donations and getting us to do a photoshoot on the pitch at some point.
I don't know about the others but meeting Fyfe actually re-assured me that Hibs are moving in the right direction:agree:
24-04-2009, 05:02 PM
They had a lot of good suggestions which, if they come to fruition, will benefit us greatly.
They were very keen to listen to our ideas, as well as making their own suggestions which were inventive, thoughtful and have fantastic potential.
Photo-shoots, use of facilities, donation of prizes for auction (which you wouldn't be able to buy from Hibs, but would be fantastic for any Hibby), uniforms, publicity and putting out feelers to sponsors and local businesses were all discussed.
It was suggested we all have a meeting in 2 weeks (2 weeks, as I'll be finished my exams and able to take part :wink:) to discuss thoughts over a fundraiser, such as date, type and cost. Fyfe said he would look into providing a suite, getting in touch with a celebrity Hibs fan to host, and getting in touch with the catering company with regards to food for the evening.
What about Saturday 9th of May? We can meet somewhere and discuss plans, have a drink and watch the OF game (if anyone really wants to!). Hibs play on the Thursday night vs Hearts, so no Saturday game.
Thoughts on availability, location etc...?
HibbyScott
24-04-2009, 10:10 PM
They had a lot of good suggestions which, if they come to fruition, will benefit us greatly.
They were very keen to listen to our ideas, as well as making their own suggestions which were inventive, thoughtful and have fantastic potential.
Photo-shoots, use of facilities, donation of prizes for auction (which you wouldn't be able to buy from Hibs, but would be fantastic for any Hibby), uniforms, publicity and putting out feelers to sponsors and local businesses were all discussed.
It was suggested we all have a meeting in 2 weeks (2 weeks, as I'll be finished my exams and able to take part :wink:) to discuss thoughts over a fundraiser, such as date, type and cost. Fyfe said he would look into providing a suite, getting in touch with a celebrity Hibs fan to host, and getting in touch with the catering company with regards to food for the evening.
What about Saturday 9th of May? We can meet somewhere and discuss plans, have a drink and watch the OF game (if anyone really wants to!). Hibs play on the Thursday night vs Hearts, so no Saturday game.
Thoughts on availability, location etc...?
I'd be free on that day. No preferences on location
25-04-2009, 12:18 PM
I'd be free on that day. No preferences on location
9th sounds good for me at the moment but I'll need to check my golf calander to make sure I've no matches before I can confirm.
25-04-2009, 10:29 PM
Just called in a wee favour from Gianfranco Zola to see if West Ham can help us out in any way.:agree:
26-04-2009, 08:59 AM
Just called in a wee favour from Gianfranco Zola to see if West Ham can help us out in any way.:agree:
How about aking him if he fancies a job swap with Mixup :greengrin
26-04-2009, 09:30 AM
9th is cool for me. Ian playing g the Linlthgowshire Spring Handicap early doors so anytime after twelve should be cool.
26-04-2009, 11:24 AM
9th is looking optomistic then:
Scott M
Greenlex
Hi8sry
Scott
Colin
Stuart
Chris?
Houchy - will your mates want to come along as well?
Do you all want to meet at a club and have a round, then discussion afterwards or just meet at a watering hole and watch the Infirm game?
26-04-2009, 12:53 PM
Scott M
Greenlex
Hi8sry
Scott
Chris?
Colin?
Stuart?
Do you all want to meet at a club and have a round, then discussion afterwards or just meet at a watering hole and watch the Infirm game?
Anything is cool for me :wink:
26-04-2009, 01:13 PM
I like the idea of a round as I can relax having finished the evils of exams! I'll go with the majority though!
26-04-2009, 01:24 PM
I would rather have a round than watch the bigot fest if I am being honest. :agree:
26-04-2009, 02:05 PM
Any suggestions as to a course then?
26-04-2009, 02:50 PM
Scott M
Greenlex
Hi8sry
Scott
Chris?
Colin?
Stuart?
sorry been out of touch lads yeah 9th sounds fine with me good work with the meeting boys well done :thumbsup:
sg7nil
26-04-2009, 04:50 PM
9th is looking OK for me at the moment (although that could change nearer the time. Let me know where you intend to meet. Cheers
26-04-2009, 06:14 PM
Any suggestions as to a course then?
Not fussed. I'm a play anywhere type of guy.
HibbyScott
26-04-2009, 07:50 PM
I'd be well up for a round. Again anywhere suits me really
Godsahibby
27-04-2009, 07:53 AM
9th is good for me boys, I don't care about the Infirm game would much rather have a hack round a field somewhere.
27-04-2009, 11:25 AM
Okay - all 8, all fancy a round as opposed to the OF game.
Sweet.
I'm going to assume that Houchy's suggesting of the Carrick was humerous (unless he can confirm otherwise), so where do you all fancy?
Bathgate, Harburn, Uphall, Pumpherston, Dalmahoy, Lothianburn (:wink:), Kings Acre, Turnhouse, Linlithgow, Carrickvale....any other suggestions?
27-04-2009, 11:50 AM
Any where we can get tee times to suit us all will do me don't mind traveling :greengrin
27-04-2009, 02:43 PM
Okay - all 8, all fancy a round as opposed to the OF game.
Sweet.
I'm going to assume that Houchy's suggesting of the Carrick was humerous (unless he can confirm otherwise), so where do you all fancy?
Bathgate, Harburn, Uphall, Pumpherston, Dalmahoy, Lothianburn (:wink:), Kings Acre, Turnhouse, Linlithgow, Carrickvale....any other suggestions?
It kind of was but it was also a subtle hint to see if Chris could see if his mate could do us a deal.
I'm happy to play anywhere though.
Does anyone have these Bunkered vouchers by any chance? If not, maybe we could chip in and invest in a few.
27-04-2009, 02:48 PM
It kind of was but it was also a subtle hint to see if Chris could see if his mate could do us a deal.
Does anyone have these Bunkered vouchers by any chance? If not, maybe we could chip in and invest in a few.
Seeing as you've played nearly every course in Scotland (:wink:), I'll trust your judgement!
27-04-2009, 04:50 PM
Thats a cracking idea. Anyone?
27-04-2009, 04:53 PM
Do you just need to buy an issue of bunkered for them, or do you need to join the membership scheme?
If all else fails, there are 3 of us who are members at Harburn, each able to sign on 2 guests, which would make it a relatively cheap day out...
I'd like to play somewhere different if possible though.
27-04-2009, 07:51 PM
Do you just need to buy an issue of bunkered for them, or do you need to join the membership scheme?
If all else fails, there are 3 of us who are members at Harburn, each able to sign on 2 guests, which would make it a relatively cheap day out...
I'd like to play somewhere different if possible though.
http://www.greenfeesavers.co.uk
You can buy them direct from here :wink:
Godsahibby
28-04-2009, 09:36 AM
Although I play a fair bit I do not actually have a handicap. If I was to put three cards together can any of you work out a handicap from that?
28-04-2009, 09:56 AM
Although I play a fair bit I do not actually have a handicap. If I was to put three cards together can any of you work out a handicap from that?
Yeah, no worries Chris.
Godsahibby
28-04-2009, 10:20 AM
Yeah, no worries Chris.
You better look out a good calculator.
28-04-2009, 10:30 AM
All we need to do is count the total number of strokes you are over the course par for each course, and divide it by 3 - if the number is more than 28, you're given 28, as that's the maximum possible handicap.
Simples.
Godsahibby
28-04-2009, 10:51 AM
All we need to do is count the total number of strokes you are over the course par for each course, and divide it by 3 - if the number is more than 28, you're given 28, as that's the maximum possible handicap.
Simples.
Simples Indeed.
28-04-2009, 11:13 AM
Hmmm - maybe not that "simples". Allegedly, it's also assessed on how you score on the harder holes, and numbers of pars and birdies are also taken into consideration.
If you give me 3 of your cards, I'll be able to work out roughly what you should be playing off of.
28-04-2009, 12:50 PM
http://www.golfgreenfees.com/2-for-1golf/index.php
These also do 2 for 1 :wink:
sg7nil
28-04-2009, 03:17 PM
Simples.
Not as simple as that, any score on a hole of over 2 over par gets discounted back to a double bogey then work out the total (that's approximately how the courses used to do it).. so if you score 90 but have a nine on your card on a par four it gets put back to a six (double bogey) and your score for handicap purposes would be 87. :wink:
03-05-2009, 03:28 PM
Right I have taken the liberty of booking the following times in the following names for Harburn on Saturday. Be there or be square.. (sorry to take the bull by the horns but we seem to be going round in circles)
3.05 - ME
3.12 Scott M
3.26 HibbyScott
That should give us enough for 12 of us. Three 4 balls if needed.
Ronnie can you cancel the Braids?
Cost will be £10 for non memebers and bugger all for us members.
The re should be food available when we get in and can have a real old natter about the Macmillan.
This will also be posted on the MacMillan thread as there are a couple of guys who aren't allowed in to our golf club. :greengrin
Can everyone who is definately coming let me know and conversely if not a wee heads up wouldn't go a miss either. :cool2:
03-05-2009, 08:20 PM
Everyone confirmed their availability previously, and I think we managed all 8 to confirm!
This leaves 4 spaces for next Saturday, which leaves 2 options:
Lawrence: Will your 4 mates who are taking part in the Longest Day want to come along?
If not, we have spaces for "outsiders", so to speak, meaning folks on here who fancy a round could be invited along?
BroxburnHibee, HibbyRadge, Spamheid, TQM, Gordon Turnbull, anyone else I've taken the liberty of missing?
Good initiative Alex :agree:
03-05-2009, 09:34 PM
Everyone confirmed their availability previously, and I think we managed all 8 to confirm!
This leaves 4 spaces for next Saturday, which leaves 2 options:
Lawrence: Will your 4 mates who are taking part in the Longest Day want to come along?
If not, we have spaces for "outsiders", so to speak, meaning folks on here who fancy a round could be invited along?
BroxburnHibee, HibbyRadge, Spamheid, TQM, Gordon Turnbull, anyone else I've taken the liberty of missing?
Good initiative Alex :agree:
Sorry I had a team match today and couldn't book the Braids before today for next week, but it's fine, I'll call and cancel tomorrow.
2 of my guys are on holiday just now. One down south and the other in Murcia. Mike (beside the rugby club at corstorphine) can't drive but I'll see if the other guy (dougie) fancies it, tomorrow.
03-05-2009, 09:45 PM
Right I have taken the liberty of booking the following times in the following names for Harburn on Saturday. Be there or be square.. (sorry to take the bull by the horns but we seem to be going round in circles)
3.05 - ME
3.12 Scott M
3.26 HibbyScott
That should give us enough for 12 of us. Three 4 balls if needed.
Ronnie can you cancel the Braids?
Cost will be £10 for non memebers and bugger all for us members.
The re should be food available when we get in and can have a real old natter about the Macmillan.
This will also be posted on the MacMillan thread as there are a couple of guys who aren't allowed in to our golf club. :greengrin
Can everyone who is definately coming let me know and conversely if not a wee heads up wouldn't go a miss either. :cool2:
I'll be along so long as someone can give me a lift from Bathgate seeing as I can't drive just now:agree:
04-05-2009, 08:23 AM
Thanks Alex,
I can even meet you at tesco or something mate instead of you getting lost in our rabbit warren of a housing estate:agree:
I'll get you at the bus stop, just after the roundabout at Tesco, in front of your estate when I'm on my way. No sense in Alex going from Fauldhouse, to Bathgate, back to Harburn, when I'm coming from Bathgate anyway!
If you fancy heading up a wee bit early, we can catch the OF game which will be on in the bar?
If not, name a time :agree:
04-05-2009, 09:37 AM
I've already said twice that I'll pick you up on my way, seeing as I'm in Bathgate anyway:thumbsup:
Sorry Scott, I thought that offer was for the Turnhouse outing.
Cool. I'll see what time is best with the Mrs and let you know.
04-05-2009, 09:41 AM
Can I just check that everyone has been able to print out sponsor forms from the link I posted.
Thanks
04-05-2009, 02:00 PM
Sorry I had a team match today and couldn't book the Braids before today for next week, but it's fine, I'll call and cancel tomorrow.
2 of my guys are on holiday just now. One down south and the other in Murcia. Mike (beside the rugby club at corstorphine) can't drive but I'll see if the other guy (dougie) fancies it, tomorrow.
Anyone coming from Edinburgh who could pick Mike up somewhere en route?
If not, there are potentially 3 open spaces (possibly 4), open to others.
I'll post a separate thread in the Private Members forum to see if anyone else fancies coming along, as I know not everyone reads this thread.
sg7nil
04-05-2009, 02:12 PM
Anyone coming from Edinburgh who could pick Mike up somewhere en route?
If not, there are potentially 3 open spaces (possibly 4), open to others.
I'll post a separate thread in the Private Members forum to see if anyone else fancies coming along, as I know not everyone reads this thread.
I'll be coming from Edinburgh, so can pick someone up at Corstorphine if required. Just let me know when/where exactly.
P.S. I have also managed to print off a sponsorship form.
Edit.. if there are any spare spots, my mate may be available to make up numbers (since I'll be dumping him otherwise - I usually play with him on Saturday afternoons)
04-05-2009, 02:14 PM
Could I get you to PM Houchy and arrange that with him then, if his mate is interested?
Cheers!
04-05-2009, 04:53 PM
all sounding good boys can maybe get someone to play if needed also coming from edinburgh porty if any lifts needed :thumbsup:
04-05-2009, 06:19 PM
Mike Eprile is getting picked up from Stuart on Saturday but Douglas Burford (who is standing in for Greg Muir) can't play but he'll come up and meet us all anyway.
05-05-2009, 11:00 AM
so who are the definates for Saturday then?
Me
Scott
Alex (greenlex
Mike (eprile)
Stuart (sg7nil)
Ronnie (h18sry)
Chris (godsahibby
Colin (cocopops)
Scott (HibbyScott)
who have i missed from the definates?
maybes:
Broxburn Hibee
Mr Radge
Added Scott:
Chris - It's Harburn. Tee times are further back in the thread.
sg7nil
05-05-2009, 11:13 AM
so who are the definates for Saturday then?
Me
Scott
Alex (greenlex
Mike (eprile)
Stuart (sg7nil)
Ronnie (h18sry)
Chris (godsahibby
Colin (cocopops)
who have i missed from the definates?
maybes:
Broxburn Hibee
Mr Radge
Another maybe is my mate (he still hasn't got back to me yet).. should know by tonight though.
05-05-2009, 10:06 PM
Superb.
Sg7nil - that leaves one space for your mate if he wants to come along (assuming there are no objections from anyone else?).
I've done a draw based on HR needing to be out first:
Group 1:
HibbyScott
HibbyRadge
Cocopops1875
Group 2:
Scott M
Godsahibby
Mike Eprile
Group 3:
Alex
Hi8sry
sg7nil
friend of sg7nil
Edit: altered to move Scott into group 1.
09-05-2009, 11:48 PM
Great day guy's, nice to meet you all in the flesh so to speak :agree: [ all mates now :faf:] pity about the fair weather golfer's in Broxburn and Radge, who were scared of the rain [ that stopped about 10 min's in to the first group that went off] your skins waterproof ye'll no melt :wink:
Some good ideas to work on :agree:
Cheers again look forward to the next one :thumbsup:
10-05-2009, 11:58 AM
Great day guy's, nice to meet you all in the flesh so to speak :agree: [ all mates now :faf:] pity about the fair weather golfer's in Broxburn and Radge, who were scared of the rain [ that stopped about 10 min's in to the first group that went off] your skins waterproof ye'll no melt :wink:
Some good ideas to work on :agree:
Cheers again look forward to the next one :thumbsup:
It's called common sense, something you bams will never experience! :greengrin
When I saw Cocopops with his shorts on, I knew it was time for me to take a powder. :wink:
I was a bit pee'd off when io saw the weather improve, right enough.
Next time though.
10-05-2009, 02:16 PM
It's called common sense, something you bams will never experience! :greengrin
When I saw Cocopops with his shorts on, I knew it was time for me to take a powder. :wink:
I was a bit pee'd off when io saw the weather improve, right enough.
Next time though.
No even a wee bit cold :greengrin tho was definatly warmer this morning :wink:shorts for all weather :thumbsup:
15-05-2009, 08:41 AM
Guy's as you can see the Breakfast is all arranged, can you get details to me of ticket numbers required, as soon as, so we can make this a rip roaring success :thumbsup:
Still looking for donation's for the raffle and auction, so get your grovelling hats on :wink:
A sportsman's breakfast in aid of The MacMillan Nurses/Hibs.Net Longest Day of Golf will take place in the Hibs Club, Sunnyside lane on Sunday 28th June, Doors open at 1200 for a 1230 sharp start.
The show will be hosted by John McKelvie, Ex police officer and junior football referee and now well respected after dinner speaker, John will host the day and will also give us a speaker slot.
Also on the bill will be ex Hibs and Scotland goalkeeping legend Alan Rough and his array of footballing anecdotes, from his time at Partick right through to working with the Real Radio team.
Last but not least is Kenny Clark ex FIFA and SFA list football referee, Kenny has refereed at a very high standard throughout the world, Kenny is now a practicing lawyer and newspaper columnist.
Ticket's will be priced at £20.00
Inquiries or ticket requests to me by PM please
sg7nil
15-05-2009, 12:49 PM
Ronnie, I've posted the details on The Bounce. I spoke to Jamie after the game on Wednesday and asked him if he'd mind making it a sticky... he said aye he'd do it, but may not remember as he'd had a couple of light refreshments by the time I spoke to him! :drunk:
16-05-2009, 09:31 AM
Good work Ronnie.:agree::top marks
I look forward to it.
16-05-2009, 09:43 AM
Good work Ronnie.:agree::top marks
I look forward to it.
Everybody get round there mates for numbers before all the tickets go :thumbsup:
Godsahibby
20-05-2009, 09:34 AM
Right guys with the sportsmans brunch going ahead at the Hibs club at sunnyside, can we make a decision if we would still like an event to go ahead at ER at some point either before or after the event or do we feel one event is enough?
Godsahibby
21-05-2009, 04:12 PM
Anyone else got an opinion on this? Yae / Nae
21-05-2009, 04:35 PM
Anyone else got an opinion on this? Yae / Nae
I'm happy to go with the flow,but we need to let the club know what we would like from them in terms of help/donation's :agree:
22-05-2009, 12:50 PM
Managed to get hold of a couple of copies for auction of the new book There is a bonny fitba team(50 years on the hibee highway) signed by ted brack the author, pat stanton,lawrie reilly,keith wright,and rob jones :thumbsup: thanks to ted and black and white publishing for that legends the lot of you:thumbsup:
Godsahibby
22-05-2009, 01:52 PM
Right guys with the sportsmans brunch going ahead at the Hibs club at sunnyside, can we make a decision if we would still like an event to go ahead at ER at some point either before or after the event or do we feel one event is enough?
Right come on folks there are 12 of us involved with this, can you all at least make some effort to put forward your opinion on this.
sg7nil
22-05-2009, 03:24 PM
If they're offering to let us use the club for a race night and we can run an auction at the same time I'm all for it... I've run one before (a race night - not an auction) for my bowling club and as long as it's organised well it can be setup to cover all the costs beforehand so that all the profit on the night is exactly that... profit.
As for whether it should be before or after the golf, makes no difference to me, but possibly a few weeks afterwards would mean that less people would miss it due to holidays etc. ?
As for the suggestion of having a casino running simultaneously, personally I think that's possibly just too much, but obviously this is a democracy and the majority will decide.
22-05-2009, 08:40 PM
If they're offering to let us use the club for a race night and we can run an auction at the same time I'm all for it... I've run one before (a race night - not an auction) for my bowling club and as long as it's organised well it can be setup to cover all the costs beforehand so that all the profit on the night is exactly that... profit.
As for whether it should be before or after the golf, makes no difference to me, but possibly a few weeks afterwards would mean that less people would miss it due to holidays etc. ?
As for the suggestion of having a casino running simultaneously, personally I think that's possibly just too much, but obviously this is a democracy and the majority will decide.sorry gods a hibee still happy to go with the 2 nights think in a way it would be best after we do the challenge so we have the chance to thank all the people that have contributed :thumbsup:
23-05-2009, 06:21 AM
As for the suggestion of having a casino running simultaneously, personally I think that's possibly just too much, but obviously this is a democracy and the majority will decide.
There will also be an auction at the sportsmans breakfast :wink:
Also if we are having an event we need to get the stadium booked because as they said at the meeting they have obligations that they have to fulfill, so a date needs to be reserved, then we can work round that date in organizing something, otherwise we are going to be left with donations of prizes that we are not going to get rid of. also remembering we do not know what the fixture list is yet for next season as to werther we would be home or away for people attending an event on a Saturday night
As a footnote all donations have to be in by the 11th of September, so realistically any event arranged would need to be completed by the middle of August to give people time to get all the auction cash pledged from any event in from the pledger's otherwise we would not make the pay in dead line.
Just my thoughts btw.
23-05-2009, 02:13 PM
sorry gods a hibee still happy to go with the 2 nights think in a way it would be best after we do the challenge so we have the chance to thank all the people that have contributed :thumbsup:
My thoughts also.
My wife and her team at work have already requested 2 tables for any race night (whereas the breakfast will be more male orientated) and 2 of the other guys playing (Tony and Mark) will probably have loads more coming from Sky, with Mike getting quite a few guys in from HSBC.
I think a racenight will be pretty easy to sell out:agree:
23-05-2009, 03:46 PM
My thoughts also.
My wife and her team at work have already requested 2 tables for any race night (whereas the breakfast will be more male orientated) and 2 of the other guys playing (Tony and Mark) will probably have loads more coming from Sky, with Mike getting quite a few guys in from HSBC.
I think a racenight will be pretty easy to sell out:agree:
I thought that aswell but sold a ticket today to a .net girlie, Chez, I explained that it was male orientated, but she said she still wanted to go:wink:
23-05-2009, 07:11 PM
I thought that aswell but sold a ticket today to a .net girlie, Chez, I explained that it was male orientated, but she said she still wanted to go:wink:
My wife would come to the breakfast if she wasn't away for the weekend but, I know she'd sell +20 tickets for a race night easy, with Tony and Mark the same.
24-05-2009, 09:25 AM
Right guys tickets for the SB are moving fairley fast I have sold around a hundred, any chance of the other participants showing some intrest and helping me sell some, or am I having to do it all myself.
24-05-2009, 12:35 PM
Right guys tickets for the SB are moving fairley fast I have sold around a hundred, any chance of the other participants showing some intrest and helping me sell some, or am I having to do it all myself. i should be
good for 10 ish without really trying mate
HibbyScott
24-05-2009, 04:50 PM
Right guys tickets for the SB are moving fairley fast I have sold around a hundred, any chance of the other participants showing some intrest and helping me sell some, or am I having to do it all myself.
I've been buried under with Uni exams and **** so haven't had a chance to do much. I should be able to work a bit more on shifting some now though
25-05-2009, 07:55 AM
i should be
good for 10 ish without really trying mate
Well try then :greengrin
25-05-2009, 11:09 AM
I have asked friends, family, colleagues from Uni and have been met with a wall of "no" or "can't" - its impossible to gain interest from the people I know for the breakfast as a) my nearest family are at least 30 miles from Edinburgh, and that only covers a couple and b) aren't Hibby's. The sportsmans breakfast is a fairly "Hibs" oriented theme (with it being in the Hibs club and having Roughie as a speaker) and that's hampering my efforts to get anyone interested.
The race-night will be easier, as it's a bigger event (open to more people), will be a night out (as opposed to a Sunday morning/afternoon) and isn't AS Hibs oriented, other than being at ER.
Probably sounds like a cop out, but it's not for lack of trying, and I did state at our meeting at Harburn that this would be the case.
27-05-2009, 06:19 AM
I have asked friends, family, colleagues from Uni and have been met with a wall of "no" or "can't" - its impossible to gain interest from the people I know for the breakfast as a) my nearest family are at least 30 miles from Edinburgh, and that only covers a couple and b) aren't Hibby's. The sportsmans breakfast is a fairly "Hibs" oriented theme (with it being in the Hibs club and having Roughie as a speaker) and that's hampering my efforts to get anyone interested.
The race-night will be easier, as it's a bigger event (open to more people), will be a night out (as opposed to a Sunday morning/afternoon) and isn't AS Hibs oriented, other than being at ER.
Probably sounds like a cop out, but it's not for lack of trying, and I did state at our meeting at Harburn that this would be the case.
Because I'm not working just now, my circle of friends is now quite a bit smaller:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
My best bet for selling tickets will be through my golf club so i'll push it on Sunday when i'm next there.
As an aside, the golf pro i've been going to recently, David Burns, has not only been giving me free lessons, but has also donated 2 x 1 hour lesson vouchers. If anyone fancies having a look at his website its www.davidburnsgolf.co.uk
07-06-2009, 03:31 PM
I'm off to hospital on Tuesday to have my right tibia scanned.
I've been struggling with a very sharp, burning pain around the front of my leg, and I'm worried I have a stress fracture.
Hopefully it will be something more simple though....
07-06-2009, 10:04 PM
This made me laugh so hard, I think a bit wee came out:
http://tvnoviny.sk/spravy/zaujimavosti/video-zazrak-prezil-rakovinu-osemkrat.html
I was only trying to google a picture for my facebook page and came across it:faf:
The worst part is, is that its not even my CT Scan beside it:faf:
11-06-2009, 09:58 AM
It's just aswell that we have Harburn as 3rd in the rotation as I had Turnhouse on the blower saying that they couldn't have us at 14:00 anymore as their club sponsor has requested that time on the same day, so I said, leave it with me and i'll see what I can do. I called back an hour later and said that Harburn were going to accomodate us instead, but if they wouldn't mind supplying a voucher for a fourball, it would be apreciated.
11-06-2009, 10:12 AM
Guy's, I have a girl from Macmillan coming out next week with merchandise for our event so could you please add to the list below what size t'shirt you would need. I appreciate that Hibs were also going to be supplying us with t'shirts but the Macmillan ones are for publicity shots for them with their banners up on the first tee etc.
I'll start:
Lawrence (L)
Godsahibby
11-06-2009, 10:56 AM
I'll take a large.
11-06-2009, 10:58 AM
Scott (M)
Had my right tibia scanned yesterday and I just had a slight tear in the connecting ligament, which has eased.
I'll be fine to go!
sg7nil
11-06-2009, 11:52 AM
I'm either XL or XXL depending on how big made they are..
I like to feel unrestricted so a looser XXL would probably be safer (assuming that they are available in bigger sizes)..
Of course after my regime in the gym is over I might indeed be more svelte, but better to be safe than sorry.
11-06-2009, 01:03 PM
I'm either XL or XXL depending on how big made they are..
I like to feel unrestricted so a looser XXL would probably be safer (assuming that they are available in bigger sizes)..
Of course after my regime in the gym is over I might indeed be more svelte, but better to be safe than sorry.
As above ^^^^^^^^^ :greengrin
Godsahibby
11-06-2009, 01:26 PM
For those who played Harburn a few weeks back.....
Am I right in thinking the Pro said we could play another round there because of how bad the weather was?
11-06-2009, 01:39 PM
Am I right in thinking the Pro said we could play another round there because of how bad the weather was?
yup,you had to keep the ticket tho.:wink:
give me a shout and I'll help make up the numbers m8 :greengrin
11-06-2009, 02:35 PM
i will go large:greengrin unless they are white in which case xl:wink:
11-06-2009, 02:37 PM
I would also have another hack round :greengrin
11-06-2009, 03:00 PM
I get to hack around it for free, so I'll join you too, should spaces permit :thumbsup:
11-06-2009, 03:03 PM
So when we doing it then? Sat morning :greengrin
HibbyScott
11-06-2009, 03:11 PM
Scott (L) for the t shirts
11-06-2009, 03:43 PM
I'll play. I'm sure godsahibby kept our tickets together.:agree:
11-06-2009, 03:57 PM
So when we doing it then? Sat morning :greengrin
Summer Cup at Harburn on Saturday, so no.
Sunday might be OK, although im sure there are competitions from 12 through til around 3...
11-06-2009, 04:43 PM
Summer Cup at Harburn on Saturday, so no.
Sunday might be OK, although im sure there are competitions from 12 through til around 3...
Morning suits me sir :greengrin
11-06-2009, 05:07 PM
On second thoughts, I'll need to pass on Harburn as I have golf every weekend between now and the event as well as being on holiday.
As an aside I just received the following email from Turnhouse:
Hello Lawrence
I am pleased to advise Secretary, Douglas Cleeton, has approved your request for a donation in the form of a voucher.
Please therefore forward me your home address in order that this can be arranged.
I am assuming that Turnhouse Golf Club will be mentioned along with the other participating clubs in some way before or after the event for their contribution to the success of the day?
Regards,
Jennifer
Now, am I just being over sensitive here or is the above a bit arsey given that they called me to cance at what is fairly short notice!!! (remember they didn't know at that stage we had Harburn booked aswell).
I just find it incredible that, as far as they're concerned, they've caused us to change our plans by cancelling 3 fourballs and will only donate one fourball on the grounds that we mention how instrumental they have been to the success of our day.
I'm in two minds to tell them we don't want their bloody voucher.
Christ none of us are saying "well i'm only playing if I get..."
Thoughts???
11-06-2009, 05:16 PM
On second thoughts, I'll need to pass on Harburn as I have golf every weekend between now and the event as well as being on holiday.
As an aside I just received the following email from Turnhouse:
Hello Lawrence
I am pleased to advise Secretary, Douglas Cleeton, has approved your request for a donation in the form of a voucher.
Please therefore forward me your home address in order that this can be arranged.
I am assuming that Turnhouse Golf Club will be mentioned along with the other participating clubs in some way before or after the event for their contribution to the success of the day?
Regards,
Jennifer
Now, am I just being over sensitive here or is the above a bit arsey given that they called me to cance at what is fairly short notice!!! (remember they didn't know at that stage we had Harburn booked aswell).
I just find it incredible that, as far as they're concerned, they've caused us to change our plans by cancelling 3 fourballs and will only donate one fourball on the grounds that we mention how instrumental they have been to the success of our day.
I'm in two minds to tell them we don't want their bloody voucher.
Christ none of us are saying "well i'm only playing if I get..."
Thoughts???
Tell them of course you will sir :wink:
11-06-2009, 06:01 PM
I said months ago, when we decided that we were going to use Harburn instead of Turnhouse that we would still need to acknowledge the offer made by Turnhouse. It's circumstances which meant we opted for Harburn and our own decision in the end (as it's more convenient getting to Dalmahoy).
My understanding, is that since they told us what times were available, we've not actually spoken to them to confirm or reject their offer, so it's not a great surprise that they've offered the tee-times to someone else.
So I say acknowledge their willingness to help us, thank them for the voucher, take it and be done with it. We decided not to use them or inform them of such a decision - keep that in mind.
11-06-2009, 06:29 PM
I said months ago, when we decided that we were going to use Harburn instead of Turnhouse that we would still need to acknowledge the offer made by Turnhouse. It's circumstances which meant we opted for Harburn and our own decision in the end (as it's more convenient getting to Dalmahoy).
My understanding, is that since they told us what times were available, we've not actually spoken to them to confirm or reject their offer, so it's not a great surprise that they've offered the tee-times to someone else.
So I say acknowledge their willingness to help us, thank them for the voucher, take it and be done with it. We decided not to use them or inform them of such a decision - keep that in mind.
Scott, when I was approaching the clubs to request courtesy times, all courses we were due to play had emailed back to say that they had blocked out the requested times in their diaries. Turnhouse had booked out 13:45 to 14:30 which I had originally accepted. Turnhouse did not offer the times to someone else, one of their "sponsors" requested 2pm on the day we were due to play, so they called me to ask if they could swap times with Dalmahoy.
Also, we are going to acknowledge all the courses and professionals as much as possible and we would have acknowledged turnhouse also for their generous offer of the use of their course.
Bathgate golf club, Uphall golf club, Harburn golf club and Dalmahoy have all given us 3 fourballs for the event with Bathgate donating a further 4 ball for our auction. Neither of these clubs have offered this with the stipulation that they are mentioned in the press. They will, of course, however have the sincere thanks from us and Macmillan in our post event press.
I'm just really p1ssed that turnhouse are asking... no, "assuming", they will be mentioned for originally offering us a place.:bitchy:
11-06-2009, 06:37 PM
i wont make this weekend got a mixed pairs thing on saturday where i will be thrust upon a poor unsuspecting gifford lady:greengrin then medal sunday enjoy the round tho boys:thumbsup:
11-06-2009, 06:53 PM
Right, I've drafted up the following for Turnhouse:
Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for your generous offer of a voucher for a fourball to be auctioned at one of our charity fundraising events.
Re press coverage, all courses (apart from Harburn, who have just been drafted in) have been mentioned already in either, or all, of the following, The Sun, The Daily Record, The Scottish Mirror, The Scotsman, or The Metro, however I know the West Lothian Courier are keen to do some further press coverage both pre and post event and I'm sure the Edinburgh Evening News would be interested in further coverage also. We also have a number of professionals to thank for donations made, by way of lessons to be auctioned, in the last few weeks.
Because of the vast number of people and golf clubs we need to thank, it really is down to the press editors just how many column inches we get to thank everyone.
With this in mind, if you are offering the voucher with the stipulation that you are thanked in the press, I would need to respectfully decline your offer of a fourball as I could not guarantee that I can mention everyone who has donated gifts so far.
The only thing I can guarantee is that we would obviously mention who the various gifts were donated by ie Print of the original rules of golf donated by The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, at our fundraising events where many local businesses will be in attendance
Regards
Lawrence Stewart
Again, thoughts?
11-06-2009, 07:11 PM
Seems a fair letter houchy mate i do think its a bit cheeky asking for press but also id maybe just take the fourball and leave it at that :wink:
11-06-2009, 08:59 PM
Fair enough Lawrence - being that I didn't know the ins and outs of the organisational stage, I was going on assumption - you're better placed to understand how everything has panned out.
My only query would be this: would this be a problem which had raised its head had we informed Turnhouse sooner that we had no intention to use them? I stress query, not criticism!
Your letter hits the nail on the head though - we can't control what is published/who is thanked.
If they are offering us a donation for a worthy charity on the basis that they get something in return, then they really miss the concept and aren't worth the hassle, particularly when so many others have been generous with no question/demand!
Godsahibby
12-06-2009, 07:45 AM
Morning suits me sir :greengrin
I can't do Sunday got my nephews Christening.
I reckon next weekend should be better, or even maybe a weeknight next week, it's certainly light enough to get a round in!
12-06-2009, 08:11 AM
This Sunday wouldn't be an option, having phoned and queried availability of tee-times.
There is also a medal next Saturday (Scott) and Sunday (Labinjoh), so again, times will probably be limited.
Next Friday evening?
(should we perhaps move this into the Social Group?)
Godsahibby
12-06-2009, 08:38 AM
Personally i'd prefer it if we kept it in here, just cause ive not got access to the social group.
12-06-2009, 08:50 AM
Personally i'd prefer it if we kept it in here, just cause ive not got access to the social group.
Anybody can get access just click on user cp above then join golf group you do not need to be a private member :wink:
12-06-2009, 09:08 AM
User CP > Social Groups > Hibsdotnetgolf Society > Join
Voila.
Godsahibby
12-06-2009, 09:52 AM
I thought you had to be a private member?
12-06-2009, 10:13 AM
I thought you had to be a private member?
That was to get a signature at the bottom of your profile.
Social Groups are open to all :thumbsup:
Godsahibby
12-06-2009, 10:20 AM
Sorry mate still cant see how to do it, i'm thinking it must be for private members as well.
HibbyScott
12-06-2009, 10:25 AM
I can't do it either, just to aid the Private Member's Theory :greengrin
12-06-2009, 10:39 AM
I can't do it either, just to aid the Private Member's Theory :greengrin
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?p=2069092#post2069092 :boo hoo:
12-06-2009, 10:51 AM
So just to rub the salt in, you link to something in the PM forum? :greengrin
Aye, sorry lads, it is indeed only open to PM's.
12-06-2009, 11:59 AM
Right, I've drafted up the following for Turnhouse:
Hi Jennifer,
Thank you for your generous offer of a voucher for a fourball to be auctioned at one of our charity fundraising events.
Re press coverage, all courses (apart from Harburn, who have just been drafted in) have been mentioned already in either, or all, of the following, The Sun, The Daily Record, The Scottish Mirror, The Scotsman, or The Metro, however I know the West Lothian Courier are keen to do some further press coverage both pre and post event and I'm sure the Edinburgh Evening News would be interested in further coverage also. We also have a number of professionals to thank for donations made, by way of lessons to be auctioned, in the last few weeks.
Because of the vast number of people and golf clubs we need to thank, it really is down to the press editors just how many column inches we get to thank everyone.
With this in mind, if you are offering the voucher with the stipulation that you are thanked in the press, I would need to respectfully decline your offer of a fourball as I could not guarantee that I can mention everyone who has donated gifts so far.
The only thing I can guarantee is that we would obviously mention who the various gifts were donated by ie Print of the original rules of golf donated by The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, at our fundraising events where many local businesses will be in attendance
Regards
Lawrence Stewart
Again, thoughts?
Got an email back from them this morning offering us an unconditional voucher so my email must have worked.
Godsahibby
23-06-2009, 07:48 AM
Morning folks,
Just finalising the dates for the race night in August and was looking for peoples opinion.
We're looking at having the race night it on a Friday night, either the 14th, 21st or 28th. This will be held in the Forthview Suite.
Does anyone have any preferences over those dates?
23-06-2009, 08:50 PM
Morning folks,
Just finalising the dates for the race night in August and was looking for peoples opinion.
We're looking at having the race night it on a Friday night, either the 14th, 21st or 28th. This will be held in the Forthview Suite.
Does anyone have any preferences over those dates?
I'm pretty easy about any of them mate.
Edit: Sorry Chris, preferably not the 14th mate as while we don't have anything booked, as the kids are on holiday, we might be away then. Any others should be ok.
24-06-2009, 12:36 PM
Scotbet podcast promoting our events 20 mins in worth a listen from there on in :devil: click on the kickabout link :wink:
http://thekickabout.jellycast.com/podcast/feed/23
Godsahibby
24-06-2009, 02:53 PM
Right guys got the Forthview Suite booked for the 21st August, keep the date free.
I'm looking to get tickets made up and speaking with someone to arrange the Race night and Disco.
Any imput from you would be more than welcome.
24-06-2009, 07:24 PM
Right guys got the Forthview Suite booked for the 21st August, keep the date free.
I'm looking to get tickets made up and speaking with someone to arrange the Race night and Disco.
Damn - my postgrad dissertation is due on the 24th, and I've already scored that weekend out for edits/printing and binding!
I'll know a bit nearer the time, so I won't say no quite yet.
24-06-2009, 09:29 PM
Sorted Chaplins are going to do it :greengrin
sg7nil
25-06-2009, 09:44 AM
There will be a dress down day collection at my work (HBOS @ Sighthill) on the 17th July for us. :thumbsup:
I've been told that it makes more money if people (I.E. me) stand at the front door and rattle a tin to embarass folk into donating.. so I'll maybe do that.. I was wondering if there would be t-shirts done by then, so I could wear one while collecting?
25-06-2009, 09:46 AM
There will be a dress down day collection at my work (HBOS @ Sighthill) on the 17th July for us. :thumbsup:
I've been told that it makes more money if people (I.E. me) stand at the front door and rattle a tin to embarass folk into donating.. so I'll maybe do that.. I was wondering if there would be t-shirts done by then, so I could wear one while collecting?
Houchy has collecting tin's that McMillan have dropped off for us to use :thumbsup:
sg7nil
26-06-2009, 08:33 AM
Houchy has collecting tin's that McMillan have dropped off for us to use :thumbsup:
My work has buckets that they dress up for each event, so tins are not an issue. I'm trying to get matched funding for the money that I raise..
If I'm successful they'll pay up to £500 matched funding for the money I raise personally. They've also mentioned me on the back page of the groupwide newsletter with linkage to the "just giving" page.
This is both good and bad news, good as it means that it's possible that some folk in my work may donate to the generic page and bad as it means that money donated in that way will not be doubled (if I manage to get the matched funding).. C'est la vie
30-06-2009, 11:45 AM
Nobody check their PM's anymore, or am I invisible????
Separately, what's happening with uniforms? It's the only aspect which seems to be slightly at a loose end - there was mention of shirts from MacMillan, with requests for shirt sizes but nothing more's been mentioned?
Also CAN I PLEASE GET COLLECTIVE AMOUNTS OF INDIVIDUAL SPONSORS TO DATE SO I CAN MARK IT IN THE BOOK????
I'm at c.£300 so far and my other half is passing the form around her work today at The University of Dundee Events and Press department.
I've still to ask family and friends, as well as passing the form around my own department at the Uni.
HibbyScott
30-06-2009, 10:03 PM
Nobody check their PM's anymore, or am I invisible????
Separately, what's happening with uniforms? It's the only aspect which seems to be slightly at a loose end - there was mention of shirts from MacMillan, with requests for shirt sizes but nothing more's been mentioned?
Also CAN I PLEASE GET COLLECTIVE AMOUNTS OF INDIVIDUAL SPONSORS TO DATE SO I CAN MARK IT IN THE BOOK????
I'm at c.£300 so far and my other half is passing the form around her work today at The University of Dundee Events and Press department.
I've still to ask family and friends, as well as passing the form around my own department at the Uni.
Sorry - I got sidetracked by Harburn lol. I'm not sure where I am with individual sponsor monies yet - my dad currently has my sponsor form and is taking it round work. I am pestering friends and relatives though :greengrin
07-07-2009, 05:31 PM
I've put the feelers out to a few other SPL clubs fan forums, to see if I can find at least one fourball from the other groups to take part.
If I can get 1 group per team, I'm thinking of setting up a league to see which SPL club has the best golfers!
I've already posted on Kickback, Aberdeen and Follow follow - if anybody posts on any other fans forum in the SPL, do you fancy making them aware of what we're doing, and seeing if any supporters from their clubs fancy taking part?
Might not come to anything, but just another idea to get as many people involved as possible.
Just had a look at the webpage and we're up to £3205 already!!! Well done all! :top marks
08-07-2009, 10:17 AM
Just remembered there are a few "ideas" which seem to have fallen by the wayside here, so I thought id check on what's happening:
Scott: You said you would try and get in touch with the Gallacher family, through your own family connection - any chance of this happening?
Lawrence: Any further forward on when you're going down to the Soccer AM studios and what plans you have? (I'm aware you're on holiday just now, but when you get back...)
Ronnie: Mars Refuel - any word?
Caddies: Someone mentioned the possibility of getting caddies for one of the rounds - any word on this?
HibbyScott
08-07-2009, 08:59 PM
Just remembered there are a few "ideas" which seem to have fallen by the wayside here, so I thought id check on what's happening:
Scott: You said you would try and get in touch with the Gallacher family, through your own family connection - any chance of this happening?
Lawrence: Any further forward on when you're going down to the Soccer AM studios and what plans you have? (I'm aware you're on holiday just now, but when you get back...)
Ronnie: Mars Refuel - any word?
Caddies: Someone mentioned the possibility of getting caddies for one of the rounds - any word on this?
Erm...I'd completely forgotten about that :greengrin I'll see if I can get onto it now
08-07-2009, 09:16 PM
I've put the feelers out to a few other SPL clubs fan forums, to see if I can find at least one fourball from the other groups to take part.
If I can get 1 group per team, I'm thinking of setting up a league to see which SPL club has the best golfers!
I've already posted on Kickback, Aberdeen and Follow follow - if anybody posts on any other fans forum in the SPL, do you fancy making them aware of what we're doing, and seeing if any supporters from their clubs fancy taking part?
Might not come to anything, but just another idea to get as many people involved as possible.
Just had a look at the webpage and we're up to £3205 already!!! Well done all! :top marks
Ronnie: Mars Refuel - any word?Caddies: Someone mentioned the possibility of getting caddies for one of the rounds - any word on this?
No but the draws have been extended untill September but you can only enter once :boo hoo:
Also Buggies are still available for Dalmahoy :wink:
Lawrence was dealing with caddies but he is on holiday at the moment
08-07-2009, 10:46 PM
No but the draws have been extended untill September but you can only enter once :boo hoo:
Also Buggies are still available for Dalmahoy :wink:
Lawrence was dealing with caddies but he is on holiday at the moment
I'll only consider that as an option if we're playing the East Course and I don't care if I'm the only one walking!
HibbyScott
08-07-2009, 11:12 PM
I'll only consider that as an option if we're playing the East Course and I don't care if I'm the only one walking!
I think seeing I've got a caddy for whichever course we're playing at Dalmahoy...I'll walk anyway - would be cheeky of me to have my dad caddying and still use a buggy :greengrin
Godsahibby
09-07-2009, 08:52 AM
Just come of the phone with the club following up a few ideas that were raised at the meeting.
1) Press day. We are looking to have this on Monday 20th July at the training centre, meet the managers and a few players have pictures taken with the Evening News covering this.
Awaiting definite confirmation of the date and time but looking just now at the 20th at around 1pm.
Please all advise your availability for this.
2) Uniforms - Trying to arrange this with the club shop, can you let me know your sizes.
3) There will be a press release going out about the day so apart from the info that has gone out already can anyone think of anythign else about the charity / day / courses that they think should be in the article.
Lawrence - I remember you got this info before for MacMillan T-shirts, if you've got everyones sizes can you let me know.
09-07-2009, 09:00 AM
Thats fine for you young un's but us over 40's may struggle at the end :greengrin
09-07-2009, 09:00 AM
Just come of the phone with the club following up a few ideas that were raised at the meeting.
1) Press day. We are looking to have this on Monday 20th July at the training centre, meet the managers and a few players have pictures taken with the Evening News covering this.
Awaiting definite confirmation of the date and time but looking just now at the 20th at around 1pm.
2) Uniforms - Trying to arrange this with the club shop, can you let me know your sizes.
3) There will be a press release going out about the day so apart from the info that has gone out already can anyone think of anythign else about the charity / day / courses that they think should be in the article.
Lawrence - I remember you got this info before for MacMillan T-shirts, if you've got everyones sizes can you let me know.
Good work Chris,
20th sounds fine to me. I'm a medium, in terms of size, but Lawrence should have them all (they might even be in this thread somewhere...).
In addition to the charity/day/courses, would it perhaps be worthwhile mentioning our target value, what we've already raised and the forthcoming race night (assuming we can get the details of this sorted?)?
09-07-2009, 09:07 AM
Thats fine for you young un's but us over 40's may struggle at the end :greengrin
Other than the grandparents' fitness levels :wink:, I'm starting to get a smidgeon worried about the timing/availability of light. When I done this last year, I was very close to the longest day (in terms of light), which was a full month before when we're doing it...
It's starting to get dark around 9.30/9.45 just now, and in a couple of weeks, that will creep a wee bit closer to 9.
I doubt we'll have time for a sit down meal anywhere, so may I propose 2 options:
1) Harburn have offered us rolls, so if we take this, plus a decent packed lunch to sustain us through the day?
2) We find a drive through or takeaway between two courses, make a quick diversion and eat something more substantial - It's been years since I had takeaway in West Lothian, so I don't know what drive-thru's, takeaway options there actually are!
Godsahibby
09-07-2009, 09:55 AM
I forgot to mention that the club are not able to donate the polo shirts but they will be able to offer them at a reduced rate.
Jerzee 539 Polo Shirt in White with Club Crest left breast position (65/35 180 gram)
Small to Xlarge: £6.95
XXlarge: £7.45
Normal price for t-shirts are £17.99 / £19.99
09-07-2009, 11:09 AM
I forgot to mention that the club are not able to donate the polo shirts but they will be able to offer them at a reduced rate.
Jerzee 539 Polo Shirt in White with Club Crest left breast position (65/35 180 gram)
Normal price for t-shirts are £17.99 / £19.99
That's fine - they've done a great deal for us so far, and this is another good gesture.
Would they be willing to assist us with printing? I thought (from previous discussion) that we were to have the MacMillan logo in the middle, with our initials in the opposite corner to the crest?
If not, does anyone know of anyone who would be able to help with that?
Godsahibby
09-07-2009, 11:25 AM
I'ev just spoken to image printers they have quoted £10 set up and £3 pet tshirt to print on the macmillan logo.
09-07-2009, 02:24 PM
That's fine - they've done a great deal for us so far, and this is another good gesture.
:confused::confused:
Would they be willing to assist us with printing? I thought (from previous discussion) that we were to have the MacMillan logo in the middle, with our initials in the opposite corner to the crest?
If not, does anyone know of anyone who would be able to help with that?
Can't get my head round this what exactly have they done ?
The "free hire of the stadium requires a £250.00 deposit" so what else have they done, oh aye donated 1 Hibs top for the sportsman's breakfast :faf:
Very poor so far if you ask me:grr:
09-07-2009, 02:29 PM
Can't get my head round this what exactly have they done ?
The "free hire of the stadium requires a £250.00 deposit" so what else have they done, oh aye donated 1 Hibs top for the sportsman's breakfast :faf:
Very poor so far if you ask me:grr:
"Deposit", meaning we get it back though? That's what I read from Chris' PM anyway.
The arranged press-day to publicize our event?
Did we get a feature in the newsletter (I don't get it, so I don't know)?
What happened to the "money can't buy" prizes etc for the raffle?
I was under the impression they had done more than just the one top, but if you say otherwise...
09-07-2009, 02:46 PM
"Deposit", meaning we get it back though? That's what I read from Chris' PM anyway. but why should we have to find a deposit for a function, that the hall is being donated free, no deposit was required for the Hibs Club who bent over backwards to help me :agree:
The arranged press-day to publicize our event?
Did we get a feature in the newsletter (I don't get it, so I don't know)?
no :yawn:
What happened to the "money can't buy" prizes etc for the raffle? not for the breakfast because it was not held at the stadium :grr:
I was under the impression they had done more than just the one top, but if you say otherwise... thats all I got and it seemed that the donation was grudged :grr:
So again with the exeption of a proposed press day what have we got ?:confused:
09-07-2009, 03:09 PM
So again with the exeption of a proposed press day what have we got ?:confused:
Jeez - they talked a good talk too at the meeting, but failed to really deliver going on what you're saying! That's pretty awful!
Do we still have things to raffle/auction off for the racenight, or was everything done in the one go? Have all the auction monies been paid directly to you? I received a payment into the Justgiving account for someone paying for the Pumpherston 4 ball?
I can understand why they're asking for the deposit - at the end of the day, they could potentially be hosting a function which would make them some money - it sort of ensures we stick to the date we give them!
Then again, it is all for charity, so...
Godsahibby
09-07-2009, 03:47 PM
I don't think you's have really thought this through. Most of what they dicussed at the meeting is still to come;
- Press day, will be great exposure for us
- Facilities for the race night, no hire charge for the Forthview Suite, the only cost is for the security which was advised right at the start.
- Money can't buy auction items, had a discussion with the club today about these and will be all good for the night.
- Exposure through the website and newsletter, this will be going out soon.
- The t shirts although not free of charge are bing offered at cost price and the club are also looking at getting us some balls with the club crest.
I think you are being a little unfair on them, they did not have to help us out at all and i'm sure there are many teams out there who would not have been interested. Hopefully with what they are offering through the race night and auction items will help us raise a good few thousand pounds.
09-07-2009, 04:09 PM
I don't think you's have really thought this through. Most of what they dicussed at the meeting is still to come;
- Facilities for the race night, no hire charge for the Forthview Suite, the only cost is for the security which was advised right at the start.
- Money can't buy auction items, had a discussion with the club today about these and will be all good for the night.
- The t shirts although not free of charge are bing offered at cost price and the club are also looking at getting us some balls with the club crest.
I think you are being a little unfair on them, they did not have to help us out at all and i'm sure there are many teams out there who would not have been interested. Hopefully with what they are offering through the race night and auction items will help us raise a good few thousand pounds.
I don't think I'm being unfair, I was only asking questions as to what had happened, what has still to come etc - I've not had much involvement with the event/support organisation thus far, so I'm pretty much in the dark and can only go on what I'm told, which is pessimistic from Ronnie :wink:, hence the "going on what you're saying" sentence, mid comment.
09-07-2009, 04:48 PM
- Facilities for the race night, no hire charge for the Forthview Suite, the only cost is for the security which was advised right at the start. - Money can't buy auction items, had a discussion with the club today about these and will be all good for the night.
I cannot get my head round why we have to pay £250.00 for security, is this a refundable deposit or a payment we have to make?
I don't think I'm being unfair, I was only asking questions as to what had happened, what has still to come etc - I've not had much involvement with the event/support organisation thus far, so I'm pretty much in the dark and can only go on what I'm told, which is pessimistic from Ronnie :wink:, hence the "going on what you're saying" sentence, mid comment.
I am not being pessimistic I am just letting you all know of my dealings with the club, I felt I had little or no assistance, at the time of the breakfast nothing else had been planned, talked about yes planned no[ as it still is] so to ask the club for assistance only to get told no it was only being given for an event/events held in the Forthview was in my eyes disappointing, as at the end of the day the goal is the same to raise as much money as possible for Macmillan, not to raise the profile of the club to jump on the band wagon and be the big I am's .
09-07-2009, 05:04 PM
I cannot get my head round why we have to pay £250.00 for security, is this a refundable deposit or a payment we have to make?
I am not being pessimistic I am just letting you all know of my dealings with the club, I felt I had little or no assistance, at the time of the breakfast nothing else had been planned, talked about yes planned no[ as it still is] so to ask the club for assistance only to get told no it was only being given for an event/events held in the Forthview was in my eyes disappointing, as at the end of the day the goal is the same to raise as much money as possible for Macmillan, not to raise the profile of the club to jump on the band wagon and be the big I am's .
Did the ":wink:" give nothing away? :no way:
09-07-2009, 05:12 PM
Did the ":wink:" give nothing away? :no way:
Just stating my feeling's mate :wink:
A lot of talk going on and not a lot of action, 5 1/2 weeks untill the race night and nothing is confirmed, it will take one hell of an effort to get it all moving along and being a success,
As for the raffle prizes what I recieved from the other team members was a signed Rankers ball and a signed Hibs strip fron Chris, a signed Book, a couple of 4-balls and a pair of goalie gloves [which Roughie signed] from Colin, I still have a pringle hat [ which I forgot to add into the rafflr and another signed book from Colin [which will be used fro the next one] :wink:
The rest of the prizes/auction stuff was sourced myself be it through letters/emails or stuff bought from e-bay. :agree:
09-07-2009, 06:08 PM
Just stating my feeling's mate :wink:
A lot of talk going on and not a lot of action, 5 1/2 weeks untill the race night and nothing is confirmed, it will take one hell of an effort to get it all moving along and being a success,
As for the raffle prizes what I recieved from the other team members was a signed Rankers ball and a signed Hibs strip fron Chris, a signed Book, a couple of 4-balls and a pair of goalie gloves [which Roughie signed] from Colin, I still have a pringle hat [ which I forgot to add into the rafflr and another signed book from Colin [which will be used fro the next one] :wink:
The rest of the prizes/auction stuff was sourced myself be it through letters/emails or stuff bought from e-bay. :agree:
What about the numerous 4xballs, which other folks helped to collect? The bottle of vodka, golf lessons etc etc? Is there to be another raffle/auction at the race night?
09-07-2009, 08:04 PM
What about the numerous 4xballs, which other folks helped to collect? The bottle of vodka, golf lessons etc etc? Is there to be another raffle/auction at the race night?
As stated I received 2 4balls from Colin the other 5 I sourced myself, the lessons have not been used, the bottle of vodka was also sourced by me, as was the 2 signed Hibs 1951-52 league winners framed prints, the collection of sports book's the signed Liverpool, Man U and Chelsea tops, not to mention the 2 cd/mp3 mini systems, the I-pod alarm system, the 2 bottles of champers the bottle of whiskey the crates of beer but need I go on :wink: I hope there is another auction at the race night as it is a great way to maximize the profit from the evening, but we need to start now as it takes a lot of organizing :agree:
HibbyScott
09-07-2009, 10:09 PM
Other than the grandparents' fitness levels :wink:, I'm starting to get a smidgeon worried about the timing/availability of light. When I done this last year, I was very close to the longest day (in terms of light), which was a full month before when we're doing it...
It's starting to get dark around 9.30/9.45 just now, and in a couple of weeks, that will creep a wee bit closer to 9.
I doubt we'll have time for a sit down meal anywhere, so may I propose 2 options:
1) Harburn have offered us rolls, so if we take this, plus a decent packed lunch to sustain us through the day?
2) We find a drive through or takeaway between two courses, make a quick diversion and eat something more substantial - It's been years since I had takeaway in West Lothian, so I don't know what drive-thru's, takeaway options there actually are!
I looked through the diary at work today, and apparently Harburn are doing us full packed lunches free of charge. I'm not completely sure whats going to be in the packed lunches just now, but will ask tomorrow to see. Hopefully something fairly substantial
Godsahibby
10-07-2009, 08:40 AM
There is definitely going to be an auction at the race night, i'm not sure whats left from what we have been donated so far but I know we will have the money can't buy prizes from the club and I have the Original signed rules of golf which I am looking to get framed as I think this will help it go for even higher in the auction.
It would be good to get a list together of whats still available.
The Race Night is going ahead on the 21st August, Ronnie has kindly spoken to a friend of his at Chaplins who have offered us a discounted rate to run the race night and disco. Ronnie could you speak to you mate and find out about the set up, are they looking for people to sponsor the races / name a horse this might be another good way to raise some extra cash.
The preparation for the race night has not been a top priority, i was waiting for the brekkie and event to be finished before really starting to promote it.
If anyone else is wantin to get involved please let me know, I would appreciate any help.
10-07-2009, 09:00 AM
There is definitely going to be an auction at the race night, i'm not sure whats left from what we have been donated so far but I know we will have the money can't buy prizes from the club and I have the Original signed rules of golf which I am looking to get framed as I think this will help it go for even higher in the auction.
The only problem with getting it framed is that some folks may not like the frame there for not bid and the money spent on a frame may not be re-couped on the sale
It would be good to get a list together of whats still available. I still have a signed Hibs book, and a pringle hat :wink:
The Race Night is going ahead on the 21st August, Ronnie has kindly spoken to a friend of his at Chaplins who have offered us a discounted rate to run the race night and disco. Ronnie could you speak to you mate and find out about the set up, are they looking for people to sponsor the races / name a horse this might be another good way to raise some extra cash. Yes it up to us how many races are run each race has 8 runners and the normal way is you get a race sponsor, who names the race and donates a prize/bottle , and each runner is sold at say £3/5 pound each, the winning owner is then given the sponsors prize, 2nd is given 2 x the price of his horse and 3rd is given his money back, the last race is not pre sold but auctioned of, so the last owners prize should be 25% of the take from the total raised at the last race auction, 2nd place 15% and 3rd 10% :wink:
The preparation for the race night has not been a top priority, i was waiting for the brekkie and event to be finished before really starting to promote it.
If anyone else is wantin to get involved please let me know, I would appreciate any help.
10-07-2009, 08:04 PM
Speaking to Scott tonight at Harburn and got clarification of what Harburn are giving us for our packed lunches:
Rolls
Juice
Fruit
Crisps
Chocolate
Flash of soup (1 per fourball).
Fantastic gesture, along with 3x4balls!!!
10-07-2009, 09:20 PM
Speaking to Scott tonight at Harburn and got clarification of what Harburn are giving us for our packed lunches:
Rolls
Juice
Fruit
Crisps
Chocolate
Flash of soup (1 per fourball).
Fantastic gesture, along with 3x4balls!!!
If I bring along a FLASK can our soup be decanted into it :rolleyes:
10-07-2009, 09:48 PM
If I bring along a FLASK can our soup be decanted into it :rolleyes:
I'm surprised - when I saw you had posted, I thought you'd somehow want to take credit for the packed lunches, but here you are being a pedantic ******* :wink::greengrin
10-07-2009, 10:50 PM
I'm surprised - when I saw you had posted, I thought you'd somehow want to take credit for the packed lunches, but here you are being a pedantic ******* :wink::greengrin
not me THIS TIME for a change :greengrin can't help it if I'm a well informed guy tho :wink:
HibbyScott
10-07-2009, 11:31 PM
not me THIS TIME for a change :greengrin can't help it if I'm a well informed guy tho :wink:
11-07-2009, 07:11 AM
Your more than welcome Scott well done :thumbsup:
13-07-2009, 03:47 PM
Big thank you to Douglas (one of Lawrence's mates) who has obviously been circulating the justgiving link and has managed to obtain some sizeable donations in the last week or so, pushing us to £3595!
If we each raise c.£500 each, that's £6k in the bag, on top of the £3595, giving us £9595 BEFORE the racenight is taken into account, and the potential donation from Mars Refuel!
£10k is perhaps pessimistic! :thumbsup:
sg7nil
13-07-2009, 07:51 PM
Dress down day at my work on Friday is going to this cause (I'll be at work early and rattling a bucket:agree:) and HBOS have agreed to match (up to £500) any money that I raise personally so I should make my own target :thumbsup:.
Godsahibby
14-07-2009, 07:15 AM
Thanks to those who have got back to me already but can the rest of you let me know if you want a Hbs polo and what size ?
14-07-2009, 07:41 AM
Thanks to those who have got back to me already but can the rest of you let me know if you want a Hbs polo and what size ?
Lawrence (L)
Chris (L)
Stuart (XXL)
Scott (M)
Ronnie (XXL)
Colin (L)
Scott L (L)
Those were the sizes provided on a previous page, when Lawrence originally asked.
That leaves only Lawrence's mates.
sg7nil
14-07-2009, 07:50 AM
Yep I am an XXL (as stated above) and would like a Polo shirt. :agree:
Godsahibby
14-07-2009, 10:25 AM
I have just spoke to Azure who are responsibe for running the function suites, they have advised the £250 is the cost fot security. This is a legal obligation they have with the club to protect the event and the premises. This is non refundable.
14-07-2009, 10:53 AM
I have just spoke to Azure who are responsibe for running the function suites, they have advised the £250 is the cost fot security. This is a legal obligation they have with the club to protect the event and the premises. This is non refundable.
I understand them having to cover themselves against any potential damages, but this is a charity function - not a normal event.
Perhaps we should consider other venues for this racenight, as I was under the impression (from the meeting!) that we were getting FREE use of the function suites.
14-07-2009, 02:19 PM
Seeing as the event is now a week on Thursday, perhaps we can put talk of Racenights to the side until the actual event is over and out the way.
We'll need to arrange pickups, drivers etc, what we'll need on the day, times, food, caddies (?), uniforms etc. It's extremely close now, so these must take priority.
Chris, how quickly will Hibs be able to make our poloshirts - in time for next Monday? Can they be printed before Thursday?
Godsahibby
14-07-2009, 02:59 PM
Seeing as the event is now a week on Thursday, perhaps we can put talk of Racenights to the side until the actual event is over and out the way.
We'll need to arrange pickups, drivers etc, what we'll need on the day, times, food, caddies (?), uniforms etc. It's extremely close now, so these must take priority.
Chris, how quickly will Hibs be able to make our poloshirts - in time for next Monday? Can they be printed before Thursday?
I would hope they have these in stock so as soon as we can confirm all the sizes I will let the club know.
When is Lawrence back from his holidays to confirm his mates sizes?
sg7nil
14-07-2009, 03:05 PM
I have agreed to pick some folks up at Dalmahoy (thus allowing them to leave their cars there all day and so that they can make a quick getaway at the end). :wink:
I'm not sure who I had agreed to pick up though, so please advise in here so I know who/how many I have to wait for in the morning of the event.
P.S. I had hoped to have the t-shirts before this Friday to help with my collecting at my work door on dress-down day. Can't be helped if they aint though.
14-07-2009, 04:07 PM
I would hope they have these in stock so as soon as we can confirm all the sizes I will let the club know.
When is Lawrence back from his holidays to confirm his mates sizes?
Chris: Lawrence will be back on Friday - I'll send him a text to let him know we need those sizes before the weekend is up.
Printing should only take a day, tops, correct? Will the printing be £10 (setup) plus £36 (£3 per shirt), coming to a total of £46?
Perhaps we can do without the printing, particularly if MacMillan are giving us polos as well, although I'll need to double check that with Lawrence as well.
Stuart: Yeah, we'd discussed transport arrangements a wee while back, but I figured most would need a reminder.
I don't know what's happening with our fourball - Lawrence can't drive, I'm not sure if Mike Eprile can't drive (I might but wrong, but I'm sure that was the case for our Harburn outing - I think you're picking him up?). If the other guy can't drive, we're going to have an issue.
Shall we all meet at Bathgate Golf Course at 5.30am, seeing as the first tee-time is 6? That way, everyone gets there in plenty of time!
14-07-2009, 04:24 PM
Okay Chris - here's a full list (Lawrence just sent me a message with them).
Lawrence (L)
Chris (L)
Stuart (XXL)
Scott (M)
Ronnie (XXL)
Colin (L)
Scott L (L)
Mike (M)
Tony (L)
Greig (L)
Mark (XL)
Douglas (XL)
The MacMillan polos were being posted out just before Lawrence went on holiday, so they're either sitting at the post office collection depot, or will be with Lawrence at the start of the week.
sg7nil
14-07-2009, 06:40 PM
Chris: Lawrence will be back on Friday - I'll send him a text to let him know we need those sizes before the weekend is up.
Printing should only take a day, tops, correct? Will the printing be £10 (setup) plus £36 (£3 per shirt), coming to a total of £46?
Perhaps we can do without the printing, particularly if MacMillan are giving us polos as well, although I'll need to double check that with Lawrence as well.
Stuart: Yeah, we'd discussed transport arrangements a wee while back, but I figured most would need a reminder.
I don't know what's happening with our fourball - Lawrence can't drive, I'm not sure if Mike Eprile can't drive (I might but wrong, but I'm sure that was the case for our Harburn outing - I think you're picking him up?). If the other guy can't drive, we're going to have an issue.
Shall we all meet at Bathgate Golf Course at 5.30am, seeing as the first tee-time is 6? That way, everyone gets there in plenty of time!
I can be there whenever.. 5:30 may be good as if it's light enough we could maybe tee off slightly early and buy ourselves a few more minutes of time.
I think Mike is staying at Lawrences the night before so I'll not need to pick him up in the morning (although I could have - and I can drop him at home on the way back).. I think the guys I agreed to pick up are from West Lothian but can't remember who they are.
14-07-2009, 06:52 PM
I can be there whenever.. 5:30 may be good as if it's light enough we could maybe tee off slightly early and buy ourselves a few more minutes of time.
I think Mike is staying at Lawrences the night before so I'll not need to pick him up in the morning (although I could have - and I can drop him at home on the way back).. I think the guys I agreed to pick up are from West Lothian but can't remember who they are.
Yeah, you're right! I just knew for whatever reason that he wasn't driving!
Good shout about possibly tee-ing off early if possible, as I think we're going to struggle as it is!
We done it a month earlier last year when there's more light available. It's going to be tight this year.
Godsahibby
15-07-2009, 09:04 AM
I have agreed to pick some folks up at Dalmahoy (thus allowing them to leave their cars there all day and so that they can make a quick getaway at the end). :wink:
I'm not sure who I had agreed to pick up though, so please advise in here so I know who/how many I have to wait for in the morning of the event.
P.S. I had hoped to have the t-shirts before this Friday to help with my collecting at my work door on dress-down day. Can't be helped if they aint though.
I'm pretty sure I was one of those looking to get picked up at Dalmahoy and leave the car there if that is still ok?
sg7nil
15-07-2009, 02:17 PM
I'm pretty sure I was one of those looking to get picked up at Dalmahoy and leave the car there if that is still ok?
Fine by me.. :agree: I can also do the same for another couple of players if required, just let me know here.
Godsahibby
15-07-2009, 03:18 PM
Photo shoot has been confirmed for 1 pm on Moday afternoon, can you let me know who is all intending to be there, would be good to get everyone but I understand that may not be possible.
Also because the Polo's were only ordered today these will not be ready for Monday I think we need to decide what we're going to wear for it, if Lawrence has the MacMillan T-Shirt it might be good to wear those, alternatively we could always wear a Hibs top.
Might be good to take a club or two with you.
15-07-2009, 03:36 PM
Photo shoot has been confirmed for 1 pm on Moday afternoon, can you let me know who is all intending to be there, would be good to get everyone but I understand that may not be possible.
Also because the Polo's were only ordered today these will not be ready for Monday I think we need to decide what we're going to wear for it, if Lawrence has the MacMillan T-Shirt it might be good to wear those, alternatively we could always wear a Hibs top.
Shall be there, but I have to say (quietly) that I don't own a Hibs top...
Not owned a football top since I was a kid!
Clubs live in the boot of my car, so no worries. Lawrence, hopefully, might have the polos, but its perhaps safer to make other plans!
Godsahibby
15-07-2009, 03:45 PM
Well we can wait until Friday when Lawrence gets back then make a decision.
15-07-2009, 09:47 PM
not been on for a bit lads aye large shirt is good and i will be there on mon:thumbsup:
HibbyScott
15-07-2009, 11:17 PM
I'll definately be there on Monday :thumbsup:
sg7nil
16-07-2009, 08:16 AM
I will be working.. I can try to get away, but I don't hold out much hope.. they've made out that they're bending over backwards to let me have Thursday off to play already, so asking for another few hours off is probably pushing it a bit.
16-07-2009, 08:39 AM
Can I meet someone in West Lothian/The Gyle and mooch a lift through? I've utterly no idea how to get to East Mains, and even looking at the map, it's not an area of Edinburgh I'm familiar with.
HibbyScott
16-07-2009, 07:40 PM
Can I meet someone in West Lothian/The Gyle and mooch a lift through? I've utterly no idea how to get to East Mains, and even looking at the map, it's not an area of Edinburgh I'm familiar with.
I can give you a lift through Scott. I've driven past the kind of area before, so think I know where I'm going
16-07-2009, 10:59 PM
I can give you a lift through Scott. I've driven past the kind of area before, so think I know where I'm going
Cool - I'll discuss it with you ra'morra.
HibbyScott
17-07-2009, 11:26 AM
Just back from Dalmahoy...They've given us the East Course :greengrin
I'm still walking regardless :thumbsup:
17-07-2009, 06:03 PM
nice:thumbsup:
17-07-2009, 06:25 PM
It should be pointed out though, that it's only a half arsed effort from Scott, who will be walking, but has someone else to carry his clubs for the last 2 rounds :greengrin
What happened to caddies being arranged for the rest of the us? :wink:
HibbyScott
17-07-2009, 08:31 PM
It should be pointed out though, that it's only a half arsed effort from Scott, who will be walking, but has someone else to carry his clubs for the last 2 rounds :greengrin
What happened to caddies being arranged for the rest of the us? :wink:
:greengrin It's no my fault I have people willing to aid the cause :greengrin
I didn't get a chance to check the sponsor sheet earlier...fingers still crossed that someone has been feeling generous :wink:
17-07-2009, 09:12 PM
Just checked the long-term forecast, and although they're fairly unreliable for long-term predictions, it doesn't look braw.
That's a problem 2x fold - it makes conditions harder to golf in and it means our light will be significantly reduced!
18-07-2009, 07:55 PM
I had to retire from our club championships with a severe pain in my right foot - it could just be a fallen arch, but I'm struggling to walk just now.
As such, I'm very much in the "buggy" camp for Dalmahoy!!!
19-07-2009, 01:37 PM
I had to retire from our club championships with a severe pain in my right foot - it could just be a fallen arch, but I'm struggling to walk just now.
As such, I'm very much in the "buggy" camp for Dalmahoy!!!
I knew you'd come round to my way of thinking m8 :greengrin
19-07-2009, 02:58 PM
Hi everyone, just getting back to normal after my holidays and tryting to catch up on what's been happening.
I've received 12 polos and caps from Macmilan so theses can be worn for the press shoot.
Unfortunately, my Gran died on Thursday while I was on holiday but I only found out yesterday on the way back from Manchester asmy family didn't want to spoil my holiday so asked lyns to break the news to me.
I therefore will be struggling to make tomorrow but if someone either wants to pop round to mine today or tomorrow morning, they can pick up some shirts.
Re the racenight, I've still got a fourball for Bathgate and Turnhouse along with 3 golf lessons.
Also, since logging back on after my holidays, i've noticed a few snippy comments between some posters. Can we remember that this is a team event that we are playing in here rather than as individuals.
Thanks.
Edit: Turns out that I can actually make tomorow but need to be back at Haymarket for around 14:30 for another appointment but like Scott will need a lift.
19-07-2009, 03:38 PM
Hi everyone, just getting back to normal after my holidays and tryting to catch up on what's been happening.
I've received 12 polos and caps from Macmilan so theses can be worn for the press shoot.
Unfortunately, my Gran died on Thursday while I was on holiday but I only found out yesterday on the way back from Manchester asmy family didn't want to spoil my holiday so asked lyns to break the news to me.
I therefore will be struggling to make tomorrow but if someone either wants to pop round to mine today or tomorrow morning, they can pick up some shirts.
Re the racenight, I've still got a fourball for Bathgate and Turnhouse along with 3 golf lessons.
Also, since logging back on after my holidays, i've noticed a few snippy comments between some posters. Can we remember that this is a team event that we are playing in here rather than as individuals.
Thanks.
Edit: Turns out that I can actually make tomorow but need to be back at Haymarket for around 14:30 for another appointment but like Scott will need a lift.
happy to drop you at haymarket afterwards mate if you can get to east mains:wink:
19-07-2009, 03:40 PM
Thanks.
Just banter m8 that's all :devil:
19-07-2009, 03:47 PM
just to make clear is it the stadium or east mains tomorrow?
Godsahibby
19-07-2009, 09:32 PM
East Mains for 1.
Just found the directions on another thread.
A1 South
Come off at Tranent
Head through Tranent until you come to a mini-roundabout with a garage the other side of it - take the right turn at the mini-roundabout before the garage.
Head down this road for a couple of miles until there are 2-3 cottages on the left - wee turning immediately after these - go slow or its a sharp foot on the anchors to avoid missing it
Signposted for 'HTC' which isn't that much of a giveaway!
20-07-2009, 08:12 AM
Just banter m8 that's all :devil:
**** off :greengrin
I've got the box of polos and hats, so I'll bring them along - Lawrence and I are being picked up at The Gyle by Scott, so we'll see you just before 1.
Cheers.
20-07-2009, 08:37 AM
East Mains for 1.
Just found the directions on another thread.
A1 South
Come off at Tranent
Head through Tranent until you come to a mini-roundabout with a garage the other side of it - take the right turn at the mini-roundabout before the garage.
Head down this road for a couple of miles until there are 2-3 cottages on the left - wee turning immediately after these - go slow or its a sharp foot on the anchors to avoid missing it
Signposted for 'HTC' which isn't that much of a giveaway!
Postcode for Satnav users is EH35 5NG :greengrin
20-07-2009, 06:20 PM
Just looked at the Dalmahoy Scorecards and notice that the west is a mere 5100 yards (I, mean really, if we're going to to it properly, we don't want a pitch and putt as one of the courses:wink:) with the East a worrying 1800 yards longer at just under 7000.:dizzy:
Bathgate and Harburn are both around 5700 with Uphall shortest at 5366.
With these figures, it just means that Dalmahoy is about a mile longer than Uphall and a km longer than the other 2.
Godsahibby
20-07-2009, 07:26 PM
I'm quite looking forward to a nice wee walk!
20-07-2009, 08:33 PM
How did itngomtoday guys?
20-07-2009, 08:36 PM
That was meant to be "how did it go today guys?"
20-07-2009, 09:35 PM
Have you been drinking m8 :greengrin
That was meant to be "how did it go today guys?"
Good we had a few pictures taken with the gaffer, and we timed it right to give Radio Hibs a brief interview which will go out on there "inside Easter Road " feature:wink:
20-07-2009, 10:35 PM
Have you been drinking m8 :greengrin
Good we had a few pictures taken with the gaffer, and we timed it right to give Radio Hibs a brief interview which will go out on there "inside Easter Road " feature:wink:
Good stuff:thumbsup:
LOL. Naw.still not drinking but I have got rid off my broadband and house phone. My only co tact with the Internet is now through my phone. Fingers a bit big for typing on the touchscreen. :greengrin
sg7nil
21-07-2009, 10:02 AM
OK just so everyone knows..
At present I will be picking up Godsahibby at Dalmahoy on Thursday morning (probs at about 05:15 or soon thereafter - unless anyone thinks that is too late/early?).
I have space to pick up another two folks (plus clubs) who can therefore leave their cars at Dalmahoy all day for an easy getaway afterwards.
Let me know on here if you want to be picked up and I will confirm.
Probably best to PM me your phone/mobile number just in case there is any last minute change of plans.
Will PM Godsahibby my number anyway just in case he changes his mind.
21-07-2009, 11:08 AM
Lawrence: Can we get some form of confirmation that Greg can drive or that he'll be moved into the team which currently contains Douglas?
Chris: Any word on the polos? I know Elaine only mentioned it yesterday, but time is against us ever so slightly...
Scott: You got round to establishing contact with Mr Gallacher yet? As a side thought (not just aimed solely at you), perhaps it's worthwhile getting in touch with Sam Torrance - former member and course record holder at Bathgate?
All:
Outlook for Thursday to Saturday:
Sunny spells and scattered heavy showers on Thursday and Friday with mostly light winds. Mainly dry with plenty of sunshine on Saturday and a freshening southwesterly wind.
Weather doesn'y look too braw for Thursday, so remember your waterproofs, brollies, changes of socks, shoes, gloves (I'm also taking a 2 spare pair of trousers, just incase and an extra polo (hopefully in addition to the MacMillan ones and the Hibs ones).
As briefly discussed yesterday, once a group finishes their round, just get on your way to the next course - we won't have time to be waiting around! If everyone is at Bathgate for half 5, we'll get a wee bit of a jump and can hopefully start early!
We get a good packed lunch at Harburn, but take plenty of food and drink for the in between.
What's happening upon completion of Dalmahoy? Are we having something to eat/using their leisure facilities or just grabbing a drink and going our separate ways?
Scores/Handicaps: As you're playing around, just take the gross scores per hole, but make sure you have your handicaps on the cards (2 cards per team (2 players per card) to make it easier) If you don't have a handicap, we'll say 24 (it will look suspect if we have a lot of people playing off maximum handicaps!). I'll bring a poly-pocket for each team - once you finish a round, if you could put the 2 cards into the pocket - I'll collect all the cards at the end of the night and work out the scores the following day.
Order of Play:
Team Turnbull*
Scott Learmouth - driving?
Ronnie Young - driving?
Mark Whelan
Tony Wright
* Seeing as Scott works at Harburn, we figured that if he finishes Uphall first, he can phone ahead and ensure the packed lunches are ready
Team Smith
Lawrence Stewart
Scott McGrane - driving
Mike Eprile
Douglas Burford - driving
Team Reilly
Colin Smith - driving?
Stuart - driving
Chris Strachan
Greg Insertsurnamehere
Done.
Godsahibby
21-07-2009, 11:42 AM
I've been uin contact with the club this morning and the Polo's will be available tomorrow. The press release will be going out today on the main site and sent to the Evening News.
To keep it exciting for us i'm thinking we do a nearest the pin, can someone who knows the courses pick 4 suitable holes. I was also thiking quids for a bit of an incentive.
sg7nil
21-07-2009, 11:47 AM
Lawrence: Can we get some form of confirmation that Greg can drive or that he'll be moved into the team which currently contains Douglas?
Chris: Any word on the polos? I know Elaine only mentioned it yesterday, but time is against us ever so slightly...
Scott: You got round to establishing contact with Mr Gallacher yet? As a side thought (not just aimed solely at you), perhaps it's worthwhile getting in touch with Sam Torrance - former member and course record holder at Bathgate?
All:
Weather doesn'y look too braw for Thursday, so remember your waterproofs, brollies, changes of socks, shoes, gloves (I'm also taking a 2 spare pair of trousers, just incase and an extra polo (hopefully in addition to the MacMillan ones and the Hibs ones).
As briefly discussed yesterday, once a group finishes their round, just get on your way to the next course - we won't have time to be waiting around! If everyone is at Bathgate for half 5, we'll get a wee bit of a jump and can hopefully start early!
We get a good packed lunch at Harburn, but take plenty of food and drink for the in between.
What's happening upon completion of Dalmahoy? Are we having something to eat/using their leisure facilities or just grabbing a drink and going our separate ways?
Scores/Handicaps: As you're playing around, just take the gross scores per hole, but make sure you have your handicaps on the cards (2 cards per team (2 players per card) to make it easier) If you don't have a handicap, we'll say 24 (it will look suspect if we have a lot of people playing off maximum handicaps!). I'll bring a poly-pocket for each team - once you finish a round, if you could put the 2 cards into the pocket - I'll collect all the cards at the end of the night and work out the scores the following day.
Order of Play:
Team Turnbull*
Scott Learmouth - driving?
Ronnie Young - driving?
Mark Whelan
Tony Wright
* Seeing as Scott works at Harburn, we figured that if he finishes Uphall first, he can phone ahead and ensure the packed lunches are ready
Team Smith
Lawrence Stewart
Scott McGrane - driving
Mike Eprile
Douglas Burford - driving
Team Reilly
Colin Smith - driving?
Stuart - driving
Chris Strachan
Greg Insertsurnamehere
Done.
In Team Reilly, my car can carry 4 players plus clubs if required (I've managed this before) saving Colin from having to drive if he wants?
Bear in mind that I've offered, if required, to pick a couple of people up from Dalmahoy and still have space.
However, if I'm only taking two peeps, I can maybe throw my power caddy in, which I hadn't intended to take (it takes up a lot of room and isn't guaranteed to last even 36 holes - but it could be handy round Dalmahoy alone!) . So let me know what the score is if we have two drivers or just one.
Godsahibby
21-07-2009, 12:01 PM
In Team Reilly, my car can carry 4 players plus clubs if required (I've managed this before) saving Colin from having to drive if he wants?
Bear in mind that I've offered, if required, to pick a couple of people up from Dalmahoy and still have space.
However, if I'm only taking two peeps, I can maybe throw my power caddy in, which I hadn't intended to take (it takes up a lot of room and isn't guaranteed to last even 36 holes - but it could be handy round Dalmahoy alone!) . So let me know what the score is if we have two drivers or just one.
Well if you want you could leave the powercaddy in my motor at Dalmahoy when you pick me up.
sg7nil
21-07-2009, 12:08 PM
Well if you want you could leave the powercaddy in my motor at Dalmahoy when you pick me up.
Now that IS an idea!!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
21-07-2009, 12:30 PM
I've been uin contact with the club this morning and the Polo's will be available tomorrow. The press release will be going out today on the main site and sent to the Evening News.
To keep it exciting for us i'm thinking we do a nearest the pin, can someone who knows the courses pick 4 suitable holes. I was also thiking quids for a bit of an incentive.
That's great - I'm assuming that one person will be able to collect all the polos at once? I'll be damned if I need to drive down from Dundee and collect it, being that I've already driven down once this week and will be doing so again tomorrow night :agree: Also good news about the press release - can't wait to read it.
As for the nearest the pin - it might be hard if we're all straddled and leaving as soon as we finish a round, but I agree, it adds a wee bit of fun to the day!
Harburn 15th
Dalmahoy 4th
21-07-2009, 12:32 PM
I'd say it's entirely up to you, to be honest. I was only guessing with who was driving, as I knew you were collecting Chris, so knew he wouldn't be driving.
So long as every team has at least 2 (or 1) person who can carry everyone plus their clubs, that's all that really matters!
HibbyScott
21-07-2009, 02:35 PM
16 at Uphall is a good shout for it. Short one over a wee stream
21-07-2009, 02:43 PM
I'd say it's entirely up to you, to be honest. I was only guessing with who was driving, as I knew you were collecting Chris, so knew he wouldn't be driving.
So long as every team has at least 2 (or 1) person who can carry everyone plus their clubs, that's all that really matters!
I am driving but I am unaware of anybody in Team Turnbull who require's a lift as I dont know the other 2 players :greengrin
21-07-2009, 03:03 PM
16 at Uphall is a good shout for it. Short one over a wee stream
There's a par 3 at Bathgate which you play from an elevated tee, which would be good (think it might be 16?).
21-07-2009, 03:05 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=155887
Check it out and feel free to comment
[cheers Scott for tagging the photies] :wink:
21-07-2009, 03:55 PM
http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=155887
Check it out and feel free to comment
[cheers Scott for tagging the photies] :wink:
Yer welcome.
I've done the same on the new thread, but stuck to user-names!
21-07-2009, 04:11 PM
happy to drive mate thus allowing you to cheat :greengrin
21-07-2009, 04:15 PM
Who has all applied for Matched Giving from their various workplaces?
I know both Chris and Stuart work for banks who are usually happy to get behind this (hopefully you've both taken advantage and enquired?).
Anyone else out there part of a workplace which offers this?
21-07-2009, 04:21 PM
I know both Chris and Stuart work for banks who are usually happy to get behind this (hopefully you've both taken advantage and enquired?).
:boo hoo: being self employed my gaffer does not do matched donation's :greengrin
21-07-2009, 08:43 PM
Right, teams and order of play for Thursday:
1st team out:
Scott Learmonth (can drive)
Ronnie Young (can drive
Tony Wright (can drive)
Mark Whelan
2nd team out:
Chris Strachan
Colin Smith
Douglas Burford
Stuart Gilbert
I think all the above team can drive.
3rd team out:
Lawrence Stewart
Greig Muir (driver)
Mike Eprile
Scott Mcgrane (driver)
Hopefully everyone is happy with this.
Weather Outlook for Thursday to Saturday:
Sunny spells and scattered heavy showers on Thursday and Friday with mostly light winds. Mainly dry with plenty of sunshine on Saturday and a freshening southwesterly wind.
Updated: 1442 on Tue 21 Jul 2009
HibbyScott
21-07-2009, 09:23 PM
1st team out:
Ronnie Young (can drive
Tony Wright (can drive)
Mark Whelan
2nd team out:
Chris Strachan
Colin Smith
Douglas Burford
Stuart Gilbert
3rd team out:
Lawrence Stewart
Greig Muir (driver)
Mike Eprile
Scott Mcgrane (driver)
Hopefully everyone is happy with this.
Weather Outlook for Thursday to Saturday:
Updated: 1442 on Tue 21 Jul 2009
Bring it on, got £70 from my dad's work so far, and he's meeting more people tomorrow, as well as some money from some more mates, and a donation from one of the teaching pro's at Dalmahoy - up over £100 for me now - and I've still got to do neighbours and family :thumbsup:
Godsahibby
21-07-2009, 09:27 PM
I've spoken to my work about it, said it's possible but I can't do it until after the event.
sg7nil
21-07-2009, 10:53 PM
I've been given the OK to apply for it and between the money raised for dress down day (last Friday was the quietest on record for people actually turning up.. it must be the middle of the holiday season - so I got a lot less than is normally collected) and pledged to my own sponsor sheet I should easily beat the £500 maximum that they'll double (so I should raise over £1000 !)...
They have warned me to get it in as soon as possible as the Lloyds takeover means that things are likely to change so I'll be sending my money off as soon as I can get it collected!
22-07-2009, 06:23 AM
With the heavy showers we have been having,do we have an alliterative course on stand by incase any of the courses are closed due to flooding :dunno:
22-07-2009, 07:34 AM
Change of teams for tomorrow guys after Scott sending me a PM:
1st team out:
Ronnie Young (can drive
Tony Wright (can drive)
Mark Whelan
2nd team out:
Chris Strachan
Colin Smith
Scott McGrane
Stuart Gilbert
3rd team out:
Lawrence Stewart
Greig Muir (driver)
Mike Eprile
Douglas Burford (driver)
22-07-2009, 07:55 AM
With the heavy showers we have been having,do we have an alliterative course on stand by incase any of the courses are closed due to flooding :dunno:
I'll give the courses a quick bell just now mate to see what the likelyhod is and post ack shortly.
22-07-2009, 08:00 AM
I'd say we're goosed if that happens, as if the rain is bad enough to flood one, they're all in trouble, as Harburn and Uphall both flood pretty easily. Bathgate is no better.
22-07-2009, 08:10 AM
I'll give the courses a quick bell just now mate to see what the likelyhod is and post ack shortly.
Just called all 4 and none have any problems today so we'll just keep our fingers crossed that there's no, or very little rain in the next 36 hours.
22-07-2009, 08:13 AM
Just called all 4 and none have any problems today so we'll just keep our fingers crossed that there's no, or very little rain in the next 36 hours.
Godsahibby
22-07-2009, 09:36 AM
Our story is now on the main site.
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/
22-07-2009, 09:44 AM
Our story is now on the main site.
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/
Awesome - that should get us some good publicity over the next few days and beyond our event by fans who don't necessarily read these forums.
Great stuff :thumbsup:
22-07-2009, 10:39 AM
Who is picking up the Polo shirts from ER :confused:
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 10:58 AM
Who is picking up the Polo shirts from ER :confused:
Are they ready to be collected?
If so I could collect them on my way home at 16:30 tonight.
Have they still to be paid for? (I can do that too if required)
I live near ER so it isn't a problem.
Just let me know before 16:00 cos I'll be leaving work then.
Godsahibby
22-07-2009, 11:11 AM
The Polo's have just been delivered to the club store, the contact there is James. it would be great if you can pick up and pay for them on your way home and everyone will square up with you tomorrow.
22-07-2009, 11:22 AM
Yep, I'll bring some cash tomorrow.
Cheers.
22-07-2009, 11:25 AM
Yep, I'll bring some cash tomorrow.
Cheers.
We will need it for the nearest the pins anyway :wink: £4.00 each one for each course with the prize rolling over if there are no winners :greengrin
22-07-2009, 11:33 AM
We will need it for the nearest the pins anyway :wink: £4.00 each one for each course with the prize rolling over if there are no winners :greengrin
Aye, but if you don't want to carry cash, I'll accept cheques :wink: