Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Cheltenham 2019

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    Ruby Walsh on Bellshill, 10/1 👍
    I have very fond memories of a lassie I used to go out with from Bellshill, but that's another story . I think I will!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I have very fond memories of a lassie I used to go out with from Bellshill, but that's another story . I think I will!
    Was she a good jumper?

Ask him what we all want to ask him 😉

Was she a good jumper?
    A filly who stayed the distance.

How did she cope when the going was soft? 😲

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    How did she cope when the going was soft? 😲

£20 On city island in the first race at 8/1 today.

Currently pondering where to put my £20 On the first race tomorrow

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    £20 On city island in the first race at 8/1 today.

Currently pondering where to put my £20 On the first race tomorrow
    Lostintranslation

We'll done H&A, I backed Envoi too. 🍻 and Tiger Roll, just to upset Bangkok! Backed the 5th ew in The Coral Cup too.
    Prove it 😄😄😄😄

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Prove it 😄😄😄😄
    I'm in the pub just now, send me your email address and I'll provide the evidence. I really doubt folk make up bets just to post on a website.

Hey enjoy your drink. Earlier I said it made me smile when people announced wins after the fact. Doesnt mean they're lying. Its happened in bookies and forums for years.
    Also I thought the load of smileys I put then would suggest I wasnt serious in asking you to prove it. Well done.

I'll survive, after an awfy sair head 🤮

🍺🥂👍🏻🇳🇬

Well Altior is indeed an enigma. I've almost lost count of the number of top races he comes under pressure but still finds a way to win. He might not have the sheer class of Sprinter Sacre, but he's got one hell of an engine and will to win. Great horse. Wouldv'e loved to see how he fared against the likes of Moscow Flyer and Viking Flagship.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Well Altior is indeed an enigma. I've almost lost count of the number of top races he comes under pressure but still finds a way to win. He might not have the sheer class of Sprinter Sacre, but he's got one hell of an engine and will to win. Great horse. Wouldv'e loved to see how he fared against the likes of Moscow Flyer and Viking Flagship.
    I loved Viking Flagship. 👏

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    Hey enjoy your drink. Earlier I said it made me smile when people announced wins after the fact. Doesnt mean they're lying. Its happened in bookies and forums for years.
    Also I thought the load of smileys I put then would suggest I wasnt serious in asking you to prove it. Well done.
    I'll give you mine for tomorrow at Cheltenham, with big money at stake

1:30 - Lostintranslation - fiver each way
    4.10 - Siruh Du Lac - fiver each way
    4.50 - Epatante - fiver each way; Posh Trish - fiver each way.

I'm hoping the beginners luck continues.

Oh aye, also got a 2 quid accumulator on five races, which will never win....
    Last edited by Hibernia&Alba; 13-03-2019 at 09:12 PM.

Paisley Park tomorrow, with a wee saver on something yet to be decided.

Got 4’s for Paisley Park back in January. The owner has been blind from birth and the horse almost died after itis first race I believe. Proper tear jerker if it wins!

I'll give you mine for tomorrow at Cheltenham, with big money at stake

1:30 - Lostintranslation - fiver each way
    4.10 - Siruh Du Lac - fiver each way
    4.50 - Epatante - fiver each way; Posh Trish - fiver each way.

I'm hoping the beginners luck continues.

Oh aye, also got a 2 quid accumulator on five races, which will never win....
    Good luck to you. I pretty much gave up betting on horses as it seemed the vast majority finished second. I'm occasionally sucked in by Cheltenham, Aintree, Epsom, Longchamp but Blue Sari yesterday has finally nailed the lid. I have far more success with singles only betting on football so I'll stick to that.

Lostintranslation
    I made 75 pence profit for second

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    Got 4’s for Paisley Park back in January. The owner has been blind from birth and the horse almost died after itis first race I believe. Proper tear jerker if it wins!
    Nice one, well done. 👍

Thanks for the tip, HH. I only went a fiver each way, but got 25 back

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    Today I think Benie Des Dieux will win comfortably. Best shot at each way I reckon is General Principle at 20/1 in the 2.50 (Paddy Power paying up to 6 places).

My tip of the week would be spiritofthegames at 10/1 in the Plate on Thursday.
    I’ve got £35 on spiritofthegames to win in the next at 10/1.

I’ve also got £2 lucky 15 win, which I’ve got Tiger Roll, Paisley Park, Spiritofthegames and Sir Erec. If they all win it pays back £911.50, if spiritofthegames doesn’t win then I’ll need Sir Erec for £74.13

Very good effort with your spiritofthegames. Had himself every chance at the business end and I thought it may get on top.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Very good effort with your spiritofthegames. Had himself every chance at the business end and I thought it may get on top.
    Ran a good race! Thought he was going to kick on at the end but it just wasn’t to be.

Probably the best days racing at Cheltenham in a long time. Every race has been competitive and the finishes have been fantastic.

Add in a bit of an emotional story and a historic win by a female jockey and it's had everything.

Nice one, well done. 👍
    Cheers mate

The morning of that race in January it was 12’s!

Brilliant story for the trainers as well.

Anyone taking Tiger Roll for the National at 11/4?!

Cheers mate

I backed him in that race too, paid for a fair chunk of my w-end @ The London Hibs Burns Supper. 🍻

3 winners from that day won yesterday, a few placed horses with good form from that day too.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 15-03-2019 at 08:31 AM.

Cheers mate

Brilliant story for the trainers as well.

Anyone taking Tiger Roll for the National at 11/4?!
    Even tough Ive said I usually get sucked in despite my better judgement, never at that price.

Probably the best days racing at Cheltenham in a long time. Every race has been competitive and the finishes have been fantastic.

Add in a bit of an emotional story and a historic win by a female jockey and it's had everything.
    Just watched the coverage from yesterday, It's hard to explain what's so good about certain moments in racing, particularly NH racing to "non" racing folk but, Briony Frost's post race interview sums up what it's all about for me. Great stuff by horse and jockey.