Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Again, we’ll see. But outwith the old firm, Arbroath away for me is the one I wanted to avoid.
    You’d rather Hearts or Aberdeen away than Arbroath?

That’s nuts.

Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    Good record, but have they played anyone above championship level?
    St Johnstone beat them 3-2 after AET at Gayfield.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post
    You’d rather Hearts or Aberdeen away than Arbroath?

That’s nuts.
    Yep. Or just as keen not to get that tie Tbf.

Good record, but have they played anyone above championship level?
    Played Dundee Utd in the LC group stages, lost away 1-0. Lost at home to St Johnstone on penalties in the next round

Yep. Or just as keen not to get that tie Tbf.
    That’s not what you’ve said though

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    It’ll be difficult but the new players will be match fit and if we can’t beat a team from the league below we won’t have deserved to progress. Should be a great day out. One ground I’ve not seen us play at so I’ll be involved in the scramble for tickets.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Are the amusements at the back of the stadium at Arbroath open all year round or just in the summer?

I’ve passed a hundred times with work but never actually been inside the stadium. Also trying to remember if it’s an indoor amusements or just an outdoor funfair? Memory playing tricks on me here.

That’s not what you’ve said though
    I said it was a terrible tie. It is a terrible tie. Arbroath haven’t lost at home in literally months, will be confident they can win it, have a very good manager and a very tidy squad and will have no expectations or pressure on them whatsoever .

If Rangers or Celtic got the same draw I’d still fancy an upset. Seen them this season so this isn’t based on nothing.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    It’ll be a lot tougher than a lot of people expect - they’ve not been beaten at home since July.

For those that haven’t had the pleasure of a visit to Garfield before, the ground/wind will be a real leveller.
    Has anyone said they dont expect a tough tie? Just because some of us aren't quaking in our boots doesn't mean we expect a stroll.

I said it was a terrible tie. It is a terrible tie. Arbroath haven’t lost at home in literally months, will be confident they can win it, have a very good manager and a very tidy squad and will have no expectations or pressure on them whatsoever .

If Rangers or Celtic got the same draw I’d still fancy an upset. Seen them this season so this isn’t based on nothing.
    Seen them this season against who? Other championship sides. That league is as poor as it’s been in years.

You’d have fancied Arbroath to beat Rangers or Celtic? Are you having a bevy tonight?

Not this one. Gayfield is a tough place to play at the best of times, but against a team with nothing to lose and in incredible form, particularly if the winds off the North Sea are up, that’s an awful draw. No pressure on them and expectation completely on us.
    Back in the day,laddies would be on the beach to retrieve the ball when it was kicked over the wall.
    Clubs didnae have dozens of free sponsors balls back then.
    Gayfield on a windy day ? Paragliders dream.
    Hibs will need to be at their best. The elements may be tougher than the Red Lichties.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-01-2022 at 07:09 PM.

Seen them this season against who? Other championship sides. That league is as poor as it’s been in years.

You’d have fancied Arbroath to beat Rangers or Celtic? Are you having a bevy tonight?
    You seem determined to have an argument, I hope you find it with someone but as for just now, you’re not worth another second of my time pal 👍

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

In hearing the club are giving priority to those who attended the Cove match.
    Those who couldn't be bothered will have to watch this one on TV, or listen to biscuits and his mates
    Hearing all those folk who shout abuse at our own players and moan about Nisbet on here and at games are at the back of the queue for tickets.

It’s no a terrible tie, it’s a part time side from a lower league.

It’s a proper cup tie and will probably be tough, hope it’s not moved to some ridiculous time as it’ll be a good day out.

Arbroath have Partick thistle and Killie at home before facing us, they will have lost their unbeaten home record for this season before we roll up to beat them ;)

If we are seriously worried about Arbroath (Im no sayin we shouldnt be), why dont we buy half o their team, while the windy is still open

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    It’ll be a lot tougher than a lot of people expect - they’ve not been beaten at home since July.

For those that haven’t had the pleasure of a visit to Garfield before, the ground/wind will be a real leveller.
    Settle down, it’s not played on a rig off Norway

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    It's definitely not an easy fixture. Just like it wouldn't be if we were drawn away to ICT or Kille, two teams Arbroath are ahead of in the league.

Still think we'll win though.

Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    Aye home tie but I’ll have Bankies or Arbroath over Rangers or Celtic!

Boom get in!

Would have preferred home time but will take that!

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Hope the sea breeze isn't up!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
    How do Arbroath manage

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar

Keep digging.🤣

Quote Originally Posted by Zambernardi1875 View Post
    Settle down, it’s not played on a rig off Norway
    It could feel like it though.

Quote Originally Posted by I am Groot View Post
    It could feel like it though.
    Are you from Arbroath

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Keep digging.🤣
    What?

Tell you what, seeing as how you can only resort to trolling and the like, I’m guessing you know **** all about this one. They score a lot of goals in the league compared to other teams in the league and are amongst the best defences too. Despite their part time status they may be the fittest team in the league. We struggle against a hard and high press which they do very well, we concede too many goals from crosses and they’ve scored a good amount this season from crosses too. We struggled against St Johnstone and their organisation last season - the core of their team has been there for ages.

If we play against them like we did against Cove they’ll beat us within the 90. Maloney needs to get this system clicking very quickly as we will need to be at our very best for this one, their style will suit the game and it’s a very tough venue on a tight pitch. Their centre backs in Little and O’Brien are strong, good in the air and are a very good partnership and don’t make many mistakes. They also offer a threat at set pieces.

I’m sure you’ll have some knowledge about them to enlighten us with.
    Last edited by Northernhibee; 22-01-2022 at 07:45 PM.

We should be beating Arbroath in our sleep.

I wonder if any of our players would get into Arbroath's starting 11.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Is that a wee pitch & putt begins the stadium?

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Like cove at home

Gayfield in winter is the coldest place on earth. Brutal doesn't begin to describe it. It won't be easy.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    I'd say cove Rangers would beat Arbroath
    If abroad DONT get promoted this season, they won't find Cove easy to beat
    It's not an easy tie...it's the last 16 of the Scottish Cup, it's VERY winnable and I will be gutted if we lose