Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Borderhibbie76 View Post
    He is not a legend sorry...he walked out on us. Was a decent player but never in a million years a legend
    I’ll decide who I consider a legend thanks

Efe was a very good player for us , didn't agree he was a bomb scare.
    He always tried to play football but got the feeling he thought he was doing us a favour coming from Celtic to play for us , think he needed to play in UK for another 6 months for some sort of residency / visa.
    According to others he was getting away with lots under Lennon , not sure how much was in that but him coming back late from holiday was public knowledge . Not sure if that's what Jack Ross would want in the squad when trying to build up team spirit.

Good player but don't think he was that bothered about playing for us. Article below in one of the rags probably confirms that and by the sounds of it there wasn't much interest in him , friendship with Bartley played in part in him going to livi.

Former Celtic hero Efe Ambrose has 'no regrets' over Hibernian exit as he lifts lid on Livingston move

The former Parkhead centre-back is hungry to get back into competitive football after six months without a club.
    Former Celtic defender Efe Ambrose has said he has 'no regrets' over swapping Hibs for Derby County a year ago.
    Ambrose invoked a clause in his contract with the Edinburgh side to join Frank Lampard's side last February but failed to make a competitive appearance.
    He was let go in the summer and initially failed to find another club, but will make his SPFL return after signing an 18-month deal with Livingston on Tuesday.
    Now he could face Hibs on Saturday more than a year after his last competitive game came in an Edinburgh derby against Hearts on December 29, 2018.
    In his time out 31-year-old had kept in touch with former Easter Road team-mate Bartley - currently starring for the Lions - who played a big part in securing the move.
    Ambrose said: "Marvin told me it was a great club and a great move for him and he said so many nice things about the club that I was really interested.
    "I watched the Scottish league a lot back in Africa and I told Marvin I wanted to move back to Scotland and could he help out. He spoke to the coaches and said they were interested.
    "I never thought they would be interested because I hadn't played for six months.
    "I have been training morning and evening back at home with my local team and they trusted me with that. I am not coming in for a pre-season, I am ready to go
    Unfortunately I could not come in January because of paperwork. My agent tried to do everything possible but they couldn't get it done and I thought I had missed out when they signed another centre-back.
    "I thought it was another door shut and I was frustrated. I kept calling Marvin and he told me not to worry and I kept believing and praying. Last week everything turned round.
    "Even a day without football is not OK. I have the passion and drive to play football. I have been playing in Africa but I want to be playing in a competitive league.
    "I had another couple of offers but nothing concrete. So it was difficult, just hoping.
    "Then Livingston came in. I have watched them play and have seen the ambition of the club.
    This is an opportunity for me to come back to the league and see what I can do to help Livingston do what they want to achieve this season - which is the top six and after that fight for the European spots.
    "Nothing is impossible in football. I always believe you can achieve anything you put your mind to, and I believe this club has that mindset too.
    He went on to say his move to Derby over a year ago wasn't a disappointment despite the lack of football - and says he has 'no regrets' about leaving Hibs at the time.
    "It wasn't a disappointment because it was just three months," he said. "It's difficult in that position to break in because the team was doing well.
    "But what I got from there - the players, the coaching staff, the training - was massive and I enjoyed my time there. I never regretted the move

18 month contract, I wonder if it has the same get out clause in it that he had with his Hibs contract.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    I’ll decide who I consider a legend thanks
    David Fellenger must be in with a shout then

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Fair play then because he was excellent for us and was a hugely popular with other players.

However he was managed, it worked.
    He wasn’t hugely popular. Didn’t mix with the players away from training.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I wonder if Livi are paying him what he would have asked from us?
    Wondering how they are getting that sort of cash. Maybe they are going for a hat trick of administrations.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    He wasn’t hugely popular. Didn’t mix with the players away from training.
    There’s plenty players who don’t socialise with teammates away from training. Marvin obviously liked him enough to help him sign for Livi.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Trips View Post
    David Fellenger must be in with a shout then
    Fellie is the biggest radge I’ve ever met. I would call him a legend too for other reasons

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Wondering how they are getting that sort of cash. Maybe they are going for a hat trick of administrations.
    I don’t think he will be on much at all. More about being back in the UK/Scotland

Efe was head and shoulders above any defender in the side.
    The fact its been desperate stuff at the back since he left kind of justifies that.
    As for not applying himself??I find that hard to believe,most accomplished athlete in the side who could get up and down the park with ease,both attacking and defending to a very good standard.
    I do wonder why we never tried to get him back.
    Also big marv clearly thinks alot of the big guy,and that will do for me.

Quote Originally Posted by h1bs4life View Post
    Efe was a very good player for us , didn't agree he was a bomb scare.
    He always tried to play football but got the feeling he thought he was doing us a favour coming from Celtic to play for us , think he needed to play in UK for another 6 months for some sort of residency / visa.
    According to others he was getting away with lots under Lennon , not sure how much was in that but him coming back late from holiday was public knowledge . Not sure if that's what Jack Ross would want in the squad when trying to build up team spirit.

Good player but don't think he was that bothered about playing for us. Article below in one of the rags probably confirms that and by the sounds of it there wasn't much interest in him , friendship with Bartley played in part in him going to livi.

Former Celtic hero Efe Ambrose has 'no regrets' over Hibernian exit as he lifts lid on Livingston move

The former Parkhead centre-back is hungry to get back into competitive football after six months without a club.
    Former Celtic defender Efe Ambrose has said he has 'no regrets' over swapping Hibs for Derby County a year ago.
    Ambrose invoked a clause in his contract with the Edinburgh side to join Frank Lampard's side last February but failed to make a competitive appearance.
    He was let go in the summer and initially failed to find another club, but will make his SPFL return after signing an 18-month deal with Livingston on Tuesday.
    Now he could face Hibs on Saturday more than a year after his last competitive game came in an Edinburgh derby against Hearts on December 29, 2018.
    In his time out 31-year-old had kept in touch with former Easter Road team-mate Bartley - currently starring for the Lions - who played a big part in securing the move.
    Ambrose said: "Marvin told me it was a great club and a great move for him and he said so many nice things about the club that I was really interested.
    "I watched the Scottish league a lot back in Africa and I told Marvin I wanted to move back to Scotland and could he help out. He spoke to the coaches and said they were interested.
    "I never thought they would be interested because I hadn't played for six months.
    "I have been training morning and evening back at home with my local team and they trusted me with that. I am not coming in for a pre-season, I am ready to go
    Unfortunately I could not come in January because of paperwork. My agent tried to do everything possible but they couldn't get it done and I thought I had missed out when they signed another centre-back.
    "I thought it was another door shut and I was frustrated. I kept calling Marvin and he told me not to worry and I kept believing and praying. Last week everything turned round.
    "Even a day without football is not OK. I have the passion and drive to play football. I have been playing in Africa but I want to be playing in a competitive league.
    "I had another couple of offers but nothing concrete. So it was difficult, just hoping.
    "Then Livingston came in. I have watched them play and have seen the ambition of the club.
    This is an opportunity for me to come back to the league and see what I can do to help Livingston do what they want to achieve this season - which is the top six and after that fight for the European spots.
    "Nothing is impossible in football. I always believe you can achieve anything you put your mind to, and I believe this club has that mindset too.
    He went on to say his move to Derby over a year ago wasn't a disappointment despite the lack of football - and says he has 'no regrets' about leaving Hibs at the time.
    "It wasn't a disappointment because it was just three months," he said. "It's difficult in that position to break in because the team was doing well.
    "But what I got from there - the players, the coaching staff, the training - was massive and I enjoyed my time there. I never regretted the move
    Well he's made the big time now playing on a plastic pitch with about 2,000 fans playing in a robust style.

Quote Originally Posted by Weegreenman View Post
    If Efe was half as good as “the fitba folk” on .net say he is, he wouldn’t be signing for Livi, i can tell you that much.
    The same logic could be used for Scott alan with us...some players just suit certain clubs. Ambrose was head shoulders above many of our players.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Nah, I'm actually raging with this one. We are in need of a centre half and at the age of 31 even with a year out, a 70% of what he was Efe would have still been a fantastic signing.

Again, raging we've clearly not persued him.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    Well he's made the big time now playing on a plastic pitch with about 2,000 fans playing in a robust style.
    Maybe he’s just happy in life having played and won league titles and playing in the champions league as well as his country? He took a gamble when he probably knew Lennon was leaving Hibs it didn’t pay off, he was still unexpectedly fantastic for the team.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Maybe he’s just happy in life having played and won league titles and playing in the champions league as well as his country? He took a gamble when he probably knew Lennon was leaving Hibs it didn’t pay off, he was still unexpectedly fantastic for the team.
    Maybe left because he knew Lennon was not going to be there to protect him. Sure JR would have asked the players what he was like. Would not want a bad apple in the basket.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    There’s plenty players who don’t socialise with teammates away from training. Marvin obviously liked him enough to help him sign for Livi.
    indeed

This sounds like the Marv and McGeouch situation. People want the same Marv back who constantly slowed play down and was only effective against a handful of teams and Dylan who was dropped by Sunderland and now Aberdeen and people wondering why we didn't sign him. Efe hasn't played in over a year and disappeared without a trace after leaving us. I wonder what state the team would be in if fans got to decide signings.
    Last edited by Since452; 19-02-2020 at 05:44 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Weegreenman View Post
    If Efe was half as good as “the fitba folk” on .net say he is, he wouldn’t be signing for Livi, i can tell you that much.
    Dreadful logic.

Ambrose is class, anyone who actually watched him here knew that. If he finds his form of his time here he is easily the best player outside the OF

Cannae see it but hope he starts Saturday

Good player though he was you cannae just go from doing nothing to Premier League standard after 14 months out without having the odd bomb scare moment

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    This sounds like the Marv and McGeouch situation. People want the same Marv back who constantly slowed play down and was only effective against a handful of teams and Dylan who was dropped by Sunderland and now Aberdeen and people wondering why we didn't sign him. Efe hasn't played in over a year and disappeared without a trace after leaving us. I wonder what state the team would be in if fans got to decide signings.
    Did JR get right taking Doherty or the Dylan we are seeing or not seeing at Aberdeen ? Paul McGinn an up to speed solid SPL defender or should he have taken EFE who has not played for 14 months?

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Dreadful logic.

Ambrose is class, anyone who actually watched him here knew that. If he finds his form of his time here he is easily the best player outside the OF
    He was superb for us in my opinion as well.

But if he is the best player potentially outwith the old firm why has no Scottish clubs or English Championship, Division One and Division Two teams taken a chance on him?

I wish him well but happy enough we didn't try to get him.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by California-Hibs View Post
    Nah, I'm actually raging with this one. We are in need of a centre half and at the age of 31 even with a year out, a 70% of what he was Efe would have still been a fantastic signing.

Again, raging we've clearly not persued him.
    If you're raging that much I suggest you phone Jack Ross and have it out with him, explaining clearly to him he is an incompetent manager because he never pursued Efe Ambrose.

Jack Ross has done enough to suggest he knows what he is doing with his signings , and I'd suggest he knows a great deal more than random punters on here.

Did Efe become Roberto Carlos when we weren't looking?

I liked him at Hibs but I'm happy to trust JR on this one.

Jack Ross has probably been told to work with what he has but saying that he was allowed to bring in McGinn McNulty and Docherty

We also offered the pars 500k for Nisbet ( allegedly) which was rejected

I would say we are in a very good place

Still waiting on Wee Ron’s big announcement which will probably come round about the AGM

The futures bright the futures green and white

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    Jack Ross has done enough to suggest he knows what he is doing with his signings , and I'd suggest he knows a great deal more than random punters on here.
    Spot on well said...this ex player infatuation on here is getting dull tbh. Look how poor Dylan has been for Aberdeen compared to Docherty for us

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Does any club’s supporters have an ex-player/ex-manager fixation the equal of ours?

While I would never dis Dylan as I loved watching him play for us but he has made a mistake joining the dons. We clearly have a stronger midfield now and better strike force. He hasn't got Scotty beside him so the onus is on him to create and he's struggling. I doubt he's fully match fit so I'll wait until he's had a long run in the dons team before fully judging him.

I wonder what constitutes a legend ? Stanton, the famous five and their likes, Efe ! give us a break. If you think he is a legend then you know nothing about football.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Dreadful logic.

With respect I'd say this isn't very logical. Why has he ended up at Livingston if this is the case?

Surely bigger clubs would've been queuing up to sign him a long time ago?

Loved his time at us, but that was then, and this is now.

Good luck to the guy though.