Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Uk holidays

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc

Uk holidays

Looking to book up for Blackpool as a non driver what’s the best options to get there and back , anyone any ideas

I stayed in Blackpool when I went to the Grand National a few years back. Got the TransPenine Express to Preston then the train from there to Blackpool.

Thanks for the reply looks decent price mate 👍

Quote Originally Posted by Squealing pig View Post
    Just a heads up in case you haven't been to the train station in Preston. Many changes for different routes, and they can change the platform of approaching trains at very short notice meaning you have to leg it to the updated platform. Keep your eye on the arrivals board. That was my experience.

Quote Originally Posted by Santa Cruz View Post
    Just a heads up in case you haven't been to the train station in Preston. Many changes for different routes, and they can change the platform of approaching trains at very short notice meaning you have to leg it to the updated platform. Keep your eye on the arrivals board. That was my experience.
    Far easier to change at Wigan for Blackpool, Preston is a pain in the erse.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Far easier to change at Wigan for Blackpool, Preston is a pain in the erse.
    Would that not add an hour to the journey?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    I think it would, when I got a train ticket Edinburgh to Blackpool, I found I had to change trains in Preston, but the trains seem to run regular Preston to Blackpool, you won't have to wait long on the connection.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Never had an issue going via Preston. However coming back I'd advise getting an earlier train to Preston as I've had too many a close shave getting my connection due to slow running trains/cancellation from Blackpool

Book your return tickets in 2 parts, Edinburgh-Preston then Preston-Blackpool, usually works out cheaper.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Yeah just ignore me, was talking about going to Liverpool, now realise it’s Blackpool 😂

Looking to book up for Blackpool as a non driver what’s the best options to get there and back , anyone any ideas
    I have to say m8, I think of Blackpool as the typical sea-side resort that people used to go to before cheap flights, it's very run down nowadays, lots of stag and hen party's, it might be ok for a weekend but I personally wouldn't want to be there for any longer than that.
    Last edited by 147lothian; 18-06-2021 at 12:49 PM.

Thanks for all the replies yeh it’s just for the weekend 👌

Just come down to London, cheap flights and/or trains and there are really good deals with hotels (check Premier Inn prices at the moment). There so much to do that's better than a rundown seaside resort.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Book your return tickets in 2 parts, Edinburgh-Preston then Preston-Blackpool, usually works out cheaper.

I have heard about this and was sceptical but just compared fare and the difference is amazing.

£111 Edi to Blackpool but only £82 when split into two tickets.

Good old days the September weekend in Blackpool.

Quote Originally Posted by 147lothian View Post
    I have to say m8, I think of Blackpool as the typical sea-side that resort people used to go to before cheap flights, it's very run down nowadays, lots of stag and hen party's, it might be ok for a weekend but I personally wouldn't want to be there for any longer than that.
    It is rundown and a bit sad looking but with a bairn it still does the job.

We took our daughter there last year during the illumimations for a couple of days and she had a ball. Things that go up and down and spin, sugary food and bright colours. You can't really go wrong.

The day we arrived we were on one of the piers when the lights came on. As we walked along the front and she saw the Tower lit up like a rainbow she told us it was 'the best place in the world'. She'll learn but I'd have no hesitation in taking her back.

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Good old days the September weekend in Blackpool.
    I used to do this in the early 80’s
    There was a pub near the Pleasure beach, that we used to get dropped off at. Folk would be absolutely steaming at 1pm on the Friday afternoon
    Think it was called something like Diamond Lils?
    Presume it’s long gone

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I used to do this in the early 80’s
    There was a pub near the Pleasure beach, that we used to get dropped off at. Folk would be absolutely steaming at 1pm on the Friday afternoon
    Think it was called something like Diamond Lils?
    Presume it’s long gone
    Aye long gone, it's now the passage de terror where you walk through a lot of scary scenes from films, and at the end you get chased by a guy with a pretend chainsaw and run out to a bar where everyone laughs at you for being scared.

Not sure what that bar is called these days.

Aye long gone, it's now the passage de terror where you walk through a lot of scary scenes from films, and at the end you get chased by a guy with a pretend chainsaw and run out to a bar where everyone laughs at you for being scared.

Ha ha, that place is a real blast from the past

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar

Spoiler alert!!!

That’s still there then , did it the year it opened. I came close to lamping Freddy Krueger when he wouldn’t back off.
    Last edited by marinello59; 19-06-2021 at 09:42 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    I have heard about this and was sceptical but just compared fare and the difference is amazing.

£111 Edi to Blackpool but only £82 when split into two tickets.
    Incredible prices really. A lot of folk going to realise just how expensive a "staycation" is in the UK.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Incredible prices really. A lot of folk going to realise just how expensive a "staycation" is in the UK.
    It’s not a staycation, it’s a holiday!

a mate just back from a weeks caravan holiday at seton sands with his daughter = £800 stuff that

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Yeah just ignore me, was talking about going to Liverpool, now realise it’s Blackpool 😂
    I'm getting the train to Preston from Waverley then Preston to Liverpool in 2 weeks time. I have a 15 minute wait in Preston for my connecting train to Liverpool. Hopefully won't be any delays on the day.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    I'm getting the train to Preston from Waverley then Preston to Liverpool in 2 weeks time. I have a 15 minute wait in Preston for my connecting train to Liverpool. Hopefully won't be any delays on the day.
    Done the train journey Edinburgh to Liverpool for twenty odd years and always preferred to change at Wigan to save running around the station at Preston. It was great for a short time when there was a direct Edinburgh to Liverpool train, that didn’t last long though.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 20-06-2021 at 12:59 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    a mate just back from a weeks caravan holiday at seton sands with his daughter = £800 stuff that
    We done a week a couple of years ago at a Haven in the Lake District for £220 for 3 of us. Same holiday this year they wanted £765.

I get it's a sellers market, people will pay it and these places lost a fortune over the last 18 months. However it's a risky strategy if there is a public backlash in the years to come.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    I couldn’t pay that to go on holiday in the U.K.

I’m away to London in august. Two nights train and hotel (Yotel so nothing fancy but also far from a dump) working out about £115pp.

Travel Lodges have good bargains most of the time. Basic but clean.

Some of the prices for chalets and lodges are outrageous. Greedy sods.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Travel Lodges have good bargains most of the time. Basic but clean.

Some of the prices for chalets and lodges are outrageous. Greedy sods.

The prices of lodges are ridiculous this year, we take the kids too a lodge every summer and this year they have been more than double the price to the same places we have been previously, we managed to get an ok deal for one in Nottinghamshire for a week, just need to find things for the kids to do down there now.