Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    Finding a certain type of magazine discarded in a hedge/on waste ground.
    😀
    Recycling at its best!

a female friend’s son was hitting puberty several years ago, another friend and I told her about the adolescent male right-of-passage at finding the “porn bush”, that it only appears at the right moment in a young lad’s life and is a sign of moving to a new stage of enlightenment

back on topic...

fruit poppets
    decent sherbet fountains
    puff crisps

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Decent lemon bon bons. Can never seem to find the ones that are covered in powdery lemon flavour on the outside and hard in the middle.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Opal Fruits
    Old English Spangles.
    Spangles

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    rental tvs with the coin slot.

Radio Rentals, Tandy.
    Glens, Hutchinsons, Robertsons and Stepek.

Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    Glens, Hutchinsons, Robertsons and Stepek.

Thomsons sports shop in Corstorphine.

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    When green SMT buses weren't allowed to pick up in Edinburgh.

KP crisps
    Wham bars
    Blokes selling Socialist Worker at the local shopping centre
    Collection buckets for people on strike
    Nae takeaway deliveries unless you were seriously well off
    BT telephones with the dial, available in black, broon, mint green, yellow, bright red or grey.
    Only four TV channels and nae remote control
    Stray dugs in big packs, roaming the streets

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Two telly channels but occasionally being able to pick up Grampian
    Bazooka Joe
    Texan bar
    Whopper bars
    Dentene
    Beachnut chewing gum
    Monkey nuts

Batman
    The Monkees
    The Man from UNCLE
    Michael Bentines Potty Time
    Do not adjust your set, yet
    Simon Dee

Look In
    The Tiger
    The Victor

And many more including pubs closing at 10 and not open Sundays

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Video recorders and video hire shops
    Vinyl records
    Gas board/electricity board shops to pay the bill
    Your maw taking a wee ticket from the machine at the Tesco deli counter then waiting for her number to be called
    Pishing in the swimming baths being obligatory
    When shops would sell cigarettes to kids, no questions asked
    Budding windaes and knock-a-door-run

TV-AM
    Going Live! With philip Schofield and Sarah Green
    Timmy Mallet
    Bob Says Opportunity Knocks
    Seaside specials on BBC on Saturdays nights in the summer, which seemed so glamourous, being live from Weston-Super-Mare etc.
    Wogan chat show
    Brookside
    Ford Capri, Ford Orion, Vauxhall Astra
    Those wee government disabled cars which were always sky blue
    The Beano and Dandy and joining their membership clubs

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    TV-AM
    Timmy Mallet
    Seaside specials on BBC on Saturdays nights in the summer, which seemed so glamourous, being live from Weston-Super-Mare etc.
    Wogan chat show
    Brookside
    Timmy Mallet was one of my favourites as a kid. My mum made me one of his hammers

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    When green SMT buses weren't allowed to pick up in Edinburgh.
    How far back was this? I can mind getting an SMT bus from clerry to princes St with my granny. The number 86 which went to Mayfield. This would be around 1990/91

KP crisps
    Wham bars
    Blokes selling Socialist Worker at the local shopping centre
    Collection buckets for people on strike
    Nae takeaway deliveries unless you were seriously well off
    BT telephones with the dial, available in black, broon, mint green, yellow, bright red or grey.
    Only four TV channels and nae remote control
    Stray dugs in big packs, roaming the streets
    Loved Wham bars. My ma had a green phone with the round dial.
    TV shutting down at night with God Save the Queen being played.

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Two telly channels but occasionally being able to pick up Grampian
    Bazooka Joe
    Texan bar
    Whopper bars
    Dentene
    Beachnut chewing gum
    Monkey nuts

Batman
    The Monkees
    The Man from UNCLE
    Michael Bentines Potty Time
    Do not adjust your set, yet
    Simon Dee

Look In
    The Tiger
    The Victor

And many more including pubs closing at 10 and not open Sundays

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
    Friday night on BBC2 either before or after Doctor Who?

Video recorders and video hire shops
    Vinyl records
    Gas board/electricity board shops to pay the bill
    Your maw taking a wee ticket from the machine at the Tesco deli counter then waiting for her number to be called
    Pishing in the swimming baths being obligatory
    When shops would sell cigarettes to kids, no questions asked
    Budding windaes and knock-a-door-run
    Aye, the old and now long gone Safeways at East Craigs was like that.
    Yep, A single fag and a match for 20p. When I smoked 10 Regal kingsize were £1.51 in the local shop, I was about 13 at the time.

TV-AM
    Timmy Mallet
    Wogan chat showBrookside

Alive and Kicking on a Saturday morning. I'm sure the phone number was 0181 811 8181

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    How far back was this? I can mind getting an SMT bus from clerry to princes St with my granny. The number 86 which went to Mayfield. This would be around 1990/91
    It was in the late 80's, 1986/7 I think. Before then so frustrating as loads of empty greens would fire past!

Birds pecking the silver foil on milk bottles to steal the cream.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Timmy Mallet was one of my favourites as a kid. My mum made me one of his hammers
    Surely wasn't a hammer?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Birds pecking the silver foil on milk bottles to steal the cream.
    That's women for you, should've just went to the shop like the rest of us! 😁

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar

Loved Wham bars. My ma had a green phone with the round dial.
    TV shutting down at night with God Save the Queen being played.

Friday night on BBC2 either before or after Doctor Who?

Aye, the old and now long gone Safeways at East Craigs was like that.
    Yep, A single fag and a match for 20p. When I smoked 10 Regal kingsize were £1.51 in the local shop, I was about 13 at the time.

Alive and Kicking on a Saturday morning. I'm sure the phone number was 0181 811 8181
    Re Man from UNCLE. You youngsters eh?.... . Thursday night after Top of the Pops in the 60's.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    It was in the late 80's, 1986/7 I think. Before then so frustrating as loads of empty greens would fire past!
    Before de-regulation they only stopped at each fare stage on the way in and out of town.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    Before de-regulation they only stopped at each fare stage on the way in and out of town.
    I could always get either the corporation 43/44 or the SMT Balerno bus to and from Kingsknowe.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I could always get either the corporation 43/44 or the SMT Balerno bus to and from Kingsknowe.
    I could get the 129 but had to get off the stop before or end up half way down Portobello Rd.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    That's women for you, should've just went to the shop like the rest of us! 😁

I was going to make a comment about birds and peckers, but thought better of it!

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Surely wasn't a hammer?
    Doh! Mallet. Clue is in the name.

U, A and X rated films

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    Finding a certain type of magazine discarded in a hedge/on waste ground.
    😀
    Recycling at its best!
    My ma found a bed on top of my scud mags.(tam Cowan only funny joke)

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    U, A and X rated films

The red triangle on Ch4

Music on MTV.

Quote Originally Posted by Sudds_1 View Post
    Putting a dod of vanilla ice cream in a glass of cream soda
    ....then scooping up the froth 😛
    I was in a place a few months ago and they had these on the drinks menu. Absolute class.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    White dug *****.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    What about the wee City Sprinter buses that were about around 80s/90s? Didn't last long.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    What about the wee City Sprinter buses that were about around 80s/90s? Didn't last long.

I remember one of them went to Lochend or Restalrig.