Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Lennon Out!

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Wee Pat Fenlon would have won that league with Hibs. Giving credit to Lennon for being champions of that poor Championship with endless draws and without Rangers or Hearts with 1 more point than Stubbs managed is a bit much.
    This boy is taking a pounding on the forum at the moment, he had a better record than John Hughes and Mixu Paatalainen despite inheriting an infinitely pisher squad, courtesy of Colin Calderwood. Never seem to hear Hughes or Mixu being ridiculed on the forum

Quote Originally Posted by franck sauzee View Post
    We won 11 of the first 14 games
    👍 Celtic started well though too. I missed one game all that season. You can even throw in the Matty Jack Utd game in for good measure that season too

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    The best seasons I've ever witnessed as a Hibs fan were 14-15, 15-16, 16-17 and 17-18.

For all the misgivings the Championship years were great. We won most weekends with a team full of genuinely good quality players, had a winning record against Hearts/Rangers/top flight clubs (something we barely managed when we were actually in the top flight), did very well in the cups and got into Europe twice. And that's not even mentioning the cup win.

Lennon has his part to play in that but he moved on at the right time IMO. The big question is how things would have gone if Stubbs had stayed.

Quote Originally Posted by hibshibshibs1 View Post
    This boy is taking a pounding on the forum at the moment, he had a better record than John Hughes and Mixu Paatalainen despite inheriting an infinitely pisher squad, courtesy of Colin Calderwood. Never seem to hear Hughes or Mixu being ridiculed on the forum
    you always back up the family in public, even when they are in the wrong!

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    You honestly cannot be serious.

I really like a lot about Lennon as a person and he was a good manager for us and got some great results at Ibrox, against Celtic etc. But he lacked consistency, both in results and team selection and had mini collapses at points in both seasons saved only by January transfers. And his teams were definitely not always ‘up for it’ as this thread has exposed some of the results under him. Imagine Heckingbottom being 0-3 down against Hamilton at home and being allowed to even get to his car to get home.?!

Our 2 full seasons under McLeish when we came a clear third place in one of them, the millennium 3-0 thrashing of them at Tyny, 6-2, 3-1, Sauzee, Latapy, SC Final, AEK, etc.

Then there was Mowbray and our golden generation - wonderful football and all our own laddies. Amazing time. Two 3-0’s at Ibrox. And setting the ground for the famous 2007 LC victory.

Lennon doesn’t even come close to those times for excitement or just about anything else. Surely.
    And here's the thing, I'm not about to tell you you're wrong, cause it's how you feel.

We're not talking stats or hard facts here, we're talking about feelings - there is no right or wrong.

Similarly, I feel differently about it. Why then do you and others want to constantly tell those of us who liked Lennon that we are wrong to?

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    And here's the thing, I'm not about to tell you you're wrong, cause it's how you feel.

We're not talking stats or hard facts here, we're talking about feelings - there is no right or wrong.

Similarly, I feel differently about it. Why then do you and others want to constantly tell those of us who liked Lennon that we are wrong to?
    Ok, fair enough man. As you can see in my post, I liked him too and he was the perfect appointment to take the club forward after the feel good factor of the Cup win. I also looked forward to games under him. He gave me a Saturday morning buzz I hadn’t had for some time.

Just you’ve been supporting Hibs for nearly 50 years and those two periods under McLeish and Mowbray were incredible. You must have gone to the games at those times.

I hope Lennon is recalled favourably by us in the future, and we can both agree on that.

What's his issue with Sinclair? He's a cracking player, yet Lennon seems to have decided from his first day that he wants Sinclair out. Didn't even put on the bench last night. Baffling.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    What's his issue with Sinclair? He's a cracking player, yet Lennon seems to have decided from his first day that he wants Sinclair out. Didn't even put on the bench last night. Baffling.
    He hasn't played consistently well in years and he's got the heart of a mouse. Probably a high earner as well so I'd want him off the wage bill too if it was Hibs we were talking about.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    sinclair has lost the hunger for it at parkhead, shved and arzani, are probably more eager to impress, plus forrest and johnston are better players and hayes, would run through walls for celtic. all imo

Quote Originally Posted by hibshibshibs1 View Post
    He hasn't played consistently well in years and he's got the heart of a mouse. Probably a high earner as well so I'd want him off the wage bill too if it was Hibs we were talking about.
    Quote Originally Posted by #2 Double Tap View Post
    sinclair has lost the hunger for it at parkhead, shved and arzani, are probably more eager to impress, plus forrest and johnston are better players and hayes, would run through walls for celtic. all imo
    Cool. I think they would be poorer without him, but, as you as you say, perhaps he too wants away. They could have done with him last night.

Bored our way to winning the Championship against nobody, had a massive turnover of players every January due to poor summer signings and got lucky playing 3-5-2 due to injury to Gray and getting Allan back. Was lucky enough to have all his main players fit and playing at their best and just missed 2nd, McGeouch didn't re sign due to him and we know of his Flo outbursts, then add the lottery of team selections.

Some good times under Lennon but never the best I've ever seen, Tornadoes or Mowbray's team wins that.

He was good to begin with, no question, but he did lose the plot and had started coming across pretty negatively though, would it have continued is anyones guess and we will never get to find out now.....

I wish it turned out differently for him, but it never! His main fault wasnt any of his character flaws, it was his failure to sign 2 quality central midfielders and that proved to be the root cause of his demise.

I agree with the bit in bold.

Losing the best midfield in Scotland would impact any manager.

We are still 2 quality central midfielders short under Heckingbottom, even though we do have Scott Allan.

Quote Originally Posted by Hi Heid Yin View Post
    [/I][/B]

I agree with the bit in bold.

Losing the best midfield in Scotland would impact any manager.

We are still 2 quality central midfielders short under Heckingbottom, even though we do have Scott Allan.
    Without Lennon, we could've kept a small part of that midfield.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Horde View Post
    Please elaborate?

I think the implication is that Dylan would have signed a new contract under a different manager.

This may or may not be true.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Horde View Post
    Doubt it.

Lost confidence and has the heart of a mouse.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    I think the implication is that Dylan would have signed a new contract under a different manager.

I was always under the impression that Dylan had a fantastic relationship with Lennon. Praised him in the media several times, gave him his debut at Celtic and signed him from the huns for them after going to Dylan’s house personally to persuade him to sign.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar

Possibly Fyvie too.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

If anything, it is downright malicious to suggest that McGeough did not sign another contract because of Neil Lennon.

McGeough knew his worth and, through his agent, knew that he was desired by other clubs.
    His agent would have pushed and pushed to get the best financial deal for his client. End of.

If anything, it is downright malicious to suggest that McGeough did not sign another contract because of Neil Lennon.

McGeough knew his worth and, through his agent, knew that he was desired by other clubs.
    His agent would have pushed and pushed to get the best financial deal for his client. End of.

It turned sour when Lennon accused him that his injuries were in his head even though he spent his own money to see a specialist for his hip problems, Dylan take too well at being called a liar and a bit of a charlatan.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    You honestly cannot be serious.

I really like a lot about Lennon as a person and he was a good manager for us and got some great results at Ibrox, against Celtic etc. But he lacked consistency, both in results and team selection and had mini collapses at points in both seasons saved only by January transfers. And his teams were definitely not always ‘up for it’ as this thread has exposed some of the results under him. Imagine Heckingbottom being 0-3 down against Hamilton at home and being allowed to even get to his car to get home.?!

Our 2 full seasons under McLeish when we came a clear third place in one of them, the millennium 3-0 thrashing of them at Tyny, 6-2, 3-1, Sauzee, Latapy, SC Final, AEK, etc.

Then there was Mowbray and our golden generation - wonderful football and all our own laddies. Amazing time. Two 3-0’s at Ibrox. And setting the ground for the famous 2007 LC victory.

Lennon doesn’t even come close to those times for excitement or just about anything else. Surely.
    You can add spells under Collins too. Remember winning at Ibrox to go top after 11 games or so as well as wins like 6-1 away at Motherwell.

Neil Lennon is born winner. Except for the numerous times he doesn't win.

Then it's definitely someone else's fault.

I think I would rather listen to what Marv had to say about N L last night about his man management than some of the know it all keyboard warriors on here.
    Hail Hail.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    I was always under the impression that Dylan had a fantastic relationship with Lennon. Praised him in the media several times, gave him his debut at Celtic and signed him from the huns for them after going to Dylan’s house personally to persuade him to sign.
    This was my impression too.
    But one or two of the anti-Lennon brigade will see it otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by neil7908 View Post
    Neil Lennon is born winner. Except for the numerous times he doesn't win.

Then it's definitely someone else's fault.
    And his teams never capitulate unless it's against Aberdeen, Cluj or Kilmarnock

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    It turned sour when Lennon accused him that his injuries were in his head even though he spent his own money to see a specialist for his hip problems, Dylan take too well at being called a liar and a bit of a charlatan.
    A bit of fantasy here. Lennon was pointing to the fact that players can have psychological barriers getting over injuries. i.e. Physically they're fit but need to get that into their head.

Dylan went for more money and to a bigger club. Not really that unusual.

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    A bit of fantasy here. Lennon was pointing to the fact that players can have psychological barriers getting over injuries. i.e. Physically they're fit but need to get that into their head.

Dylan went for more money and to a bigger club. Not really that unusual.
    Nope, he called out Dylan publicly accusing him of suddenly being fit due to his contract nearing it's end. He accused other players of not manning up and playing through injuries, didn't help Hanlon that eh as he struggled at the end of the season.

He accused all the injured players last year of faking it. Just around the time when Porteous played on with a “popped out” knee.

He blames players for most things. It's still not why he left us for Sunderland.