Page 171 of 244 FirstFirst ... 71121161169170171172173181221 ... LastLast
Results 5,101 to 5,130 of 7312
    Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    Can't see us stretching to 1.5m
    Maybe you never know . It's not like taking a punt on an unknown quantity , we know what he can do and no doubt will be able to sell on for a profit if he keeps improving

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Same happened with Bojang.
    Bojangles momo is now in Finland I think

Quote Originally Posted by MacGruber View Post
    Can't see us stretching to 1.5m
    Why are so many of this opinion…? At some point the club has to take risks and if the Gordons are willing to back us then now is probably the best time since they took over ownership to build on what turned out to be a positive season.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    The expense would be recognised when it is incurred, not when the cash changes hands.
    Brighside is right, it would increase intangible fixed asset and either decrease cash or increase creditors - all are Balance Sheet items.

The cost would be amortised over the term of his contract, but none would hit this year Profit and Loss because none of it applies to the season just ended.

Hibs socials been awfy quiet today, not even any training ground snippets..

Quote Originally Posted by BlackSheep View Post
    Why are so many of this opinion…? At some point the club has to take risks and if the Gordons are willing to back us then now is probably the best time since they took over ownership to build on what turned out to be a positive season.
    To be fair, the club are doing just that and taking risks. That is with the backdrop of posting massive, unsustainable loses which the Gordon's have written off so far. We've still speculated though, still spent big on Vente and a few other big fees - were prepared to go to £1 millon for McCowan, that Swedish kid aswell taking reports at face value. There comes a point where it is outwith our means and I think 1.5 million is beyond that point as it stands. Somebody saying it is well worth 1.5 if you could sell for 5 or 6 million but there are no guarantees how a player is going to get on never mind potential injuries. It also takes having the capital to do it. If you could get someone for 20 million that you feel you could go on and sell for 50 - there's a ceiling on our spend and that's probably about the million mark I'd imagine. Let's not forget that unless you are spending that money on kids with potential or a McCowan type in the Scottish leagues you'll be contending with the wages that befits a 1.5 million pound player. Those wages would likely be an issue in terms of squad harmony aswell perhaps.

Maybe Hibs get to a point of paying millions for players but that's a fair way off as it stands - unless of course the Black.Knights take over and go nuts.

Quote Originally Posted by eastmainsmsh View Post
    Bojangles momo is now in Finland I think
    Can get a bit cauld in Finland, similar to Ormiston.

His fire raising skills could come in handy.

I would like to see it happen for the reasons you suggest. But we've also just gotten out of jail on our spend on Dylan Vente, Elie is into the final year of his deal with a question mark on his return on investment, same for Levitt. Bowie was a large fee last summer. We let Harry McKirdy walk in January after spending a large fee.

We actually haven't had a huge amount of return on any of our larger investments so far.

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    I would like to see it happen for the reasons you suggest. But we've also just gotten out of jail on our spend on Dylan Vente, Elie is into the final year of his deal with a question mark on his return on investment, same for Levitt. Bowie was a large fee last summer. We let Harry McKirdy walk in January after spending a large fee.

We actually haven't had a huge amount of return on any of our larger investments so far.
    I would disagree

Melkersen - an outrageously good deal

Vente - made a profit on a guy whose face didn't fit

Josh Doig - got a fee and a sell-on

Kevin Nisbet - got a good fee

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Thought the same, quite a bit on Friday when we went back and pretty much nothing about the players since

Someone on trial/training whilst we wait on confirmation?

Totally understand both Centre Hawf and MacGruber, and while I don’t completely disagree I also feel now if the time to speculate. I think we won’t be looking at bringing in as many player this summer as we have in the last few seasons so why not push the boat out a little further…? Does anyone know what our cumulative spend in each of the past few summers has been and on how many players?

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    In that example it should be 'sung'
    So it should!

A pre contract midfielder ...from what months ago, and a new goalie

Cmon Hibs I demand more

Totally understand both Centre Hawf and MacGruber, and while I don’t completely disagree I also feel now if the time to speculate. I think we won’t be looking at bringing in as many player this summer as we have in the last few seasons so why not push the boat out a little further…? Does anyone know what our cumulative spend in each of the past few summers has been and on how many players?
    Now we can use our budget, the backing of the Gordons and Black Knights, and the income back from Vente etc to sign players who are at a level above, if we don't do this off the back of such a good season then when do we do this? 3 quality signings, and possibly some other good signings, will really help cement third and give us a better chance in Europe.

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    I would disagree

You can also throw in a fee for Porto and I am sure we made a profit on the Boyle deal as well

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Lost hope of seeing anything today

In Malky / David I trust.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    Now we can use our budget, the backing of the Gordons and Black Knights, and the income back from Vente etc to sign players who are at a level above, if we don't do this off the back of such a good season then when do we do this? 3 quality signings, and possibly some other good signings, will really help cement third and give us a better chance in Europe.
    I agree. If the Gordon's have written of debt and the club's signing strategies have stopped throwing away money on players not good enough, then surely we need to do all we can to sustain the progress on the field.

We have the bulk of a decent squad, a capable manager, a better football strategy with people who know what they're doing involved in signing the players.

I think we must see decent investment in the side this coming season.
    Last edited by superfurryhibby; 24-06-2025 at 05:50 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    I would disagree

Doig was an academy product, Nisbet was signed 5 years ago under Mathie.

Melkersen and Vente imo we got lucky to return what appears to be an unconfirmed but varying level of profit. Neither of them did anything in a Hibs jersey alone to justify the money we got. If anything they were sold on the same promise we bought them on.

In terms of actual speculate to accumulate transfers. We haven’t yet bought anyone in this post Mathie recruitment era that has went on to be both a success on the park and also make the club a large wad of cash to provide evidence of a model at play.

Quote Originally Posted by badabing67 View Post
    You can also throw in a fee for Porto and I am sure we made a profit on the Boyle deal as well
    Again, an academy player and a player we signed for free 10 years ago don’t really prove any model of spending big to return big

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Again, an academy player and a player we signed for free 10 years ago don’t really prove any model of spending big to return big
    I prefer a model of spending big to win football matches. I’ve no interest in us being a player trading vehicle, if we have success on the pitch we will have no problem selling players on for a profit.

We didn't sign Boyle for free - it was a swap deal with Alex Harris!

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by GloryGlory View Post
    Wasn’t that the loan that was a swap? Then we signed him on a free?

Aye we probably should throw Dundee something to say sorry...

I suggest Jair.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

I think technically both players went in the opposite directions on loan in the January. Boyle was out of contract the following summer, and we signed him on a permanent deal then, as a free agent

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    We also somehow sold Ewan Henderson for money 🤣

As a whole tough that model/ whoever was in charge of it never worked the way we wanted it to

Hopefully the new one is much better

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    I prefer a model of spending big to win football matches. I’ve no interest in us being a player trading vehicle, if we have success on the pitch we will have no problem selling players on for a profit.
    I agree. But my initial point was in relation to discussing how we’d make our money back on £1.5m for Triantis.

As someone else said the loans were the swap. We still got Alex Harris back for a couple of seasons.

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    My point exactly Iain 👍

I agree. But my initial point was in relation to discussing how we’d make our money back on £1.5m for Triantis.
    Is it that difficult.

Get him on a 4 year deal. Triantis to continue to improve with us. Gets into the Australian or Greek World Cup squad and plays a couple of games.

Back with us for another year, if we are lucky. Then sell him for around £4m+, slice for Sunderland and we get the profit.

Know it could go t*ts up and he gets injured early doors, but this could happen to any player.

Surely that's how much of us feel and maybe a rough outline of what MacKay is thinking.