Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Not necessarily a holiday peeve as it could happen any day here, but it happened on my holiday, so it's a holiday peeve.

On a train from Ventimiglia to Nice. The train is full. Someone decided to use up three spaces for her and her bags. I've questioned her. A few shrugs of the shoulders and the spaces are available for myself and my wife. It's a 1 hour journey and 32°. Nah, nae way we we're going to stand whilst some entitled person got to take up three seats.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Randoms next to you on the plane who fall asleep on you which just happened to me on my, thankfully, short flight to Heathrow

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Hotels that don’t have sockets at the bed side to charge your phone

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    YES!!!!!!!!!!!! Why is this still happening.....?

Drinking at 7.30am because your on your holidays, people who let their kids run amock and do nowt to stop them, they're just kids having fun, NO, they're a pain in the arse.

Thankfully I'm at an age where family holidays are a thing of the past.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Stayed at Balbirnie House for a wedding a few weeks ago.

Room was really crap. £180 for a night. Nae plugs beside the bed. One tiny mirror for her to get ready, with no plug beside that either. Windows couldn’t latch so were banging when open. Bathroom had cracked floor tiles. TV remote had nae back to it.

Really disappointed. Wedding venue aspect of it was really good though.

Mrs BH’s holiday peeves

People who do not shower before entering the pool

Men who do not secure their wedding tackle before entering the pool leaving nothing to the imagination

Strewth ! He’s wearing no strides !

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Mrs BH’s holiday peeves

People who do not shower before entering the pool

Men who do not secure their wedding tackle before entering the pool leaving nothing to the imagination

Strewth ! He’s wearing no strides !
    Secure it?

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Secure it?
    Think she means small loose fitting swimming shorts with all their bits hanging oot when they climb out of the pool

I always wear my speedos 😀

Butt cracks, yeah we all have them but big fat spotty and hairy butt cracks should have a licence of their own. Getting out of the pool and covering your crack after is fine but wobbling a hundred yards with your shorts at half mast is too much.

The ones lying on their sides and decide to claw away gives me the ****ing boak, Ive tried telling her to wear a one piece instead 🤢

Sat beside Trigger Happy TV today he was telling his mate in London and anyone within 20 feet willing to listen that he had decided to dump his girlfriend as she was mouthing off last night - she was still up in the room and didn’t know it yet

It is just how he rolls (apparently) once he has made up his mind that is it

He went up to his room and I haven’t seen him since

Updates to follow

Package holidays.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Audience participation!

I was very happy enjoying the draught Mythos at the back of the taverna watching the ABBA tribute act, I didn't expect my daughter to volunteer me for a dancing dad's stint for Waterloo, dressed in 70's garb and wig.
    I certainly didn't expect to be bullied in to a strip to "You can leave your hat on".

It was flipping horrific, for both me and the audience!

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Sat beside Trigger Happy TV today he was telling his mate in London and anyone within 20 feet willing to listen that he had decided to dump his girlfriend as she was mouthing off last night - she was still up in the room and didn’t know it yet

It is just how he rolls (apparently) once he has made up his mind that is it

He went up to his room and I haven’t seen him since

Updates to follow

Any news? Have they arrived yet to remove his body?

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Audience participation!

I was very happy enjoying the draught Mythos at the back of the taverna watching the ABBA tribute act, I didn't expect my daughter to volunteer me for a dancing dad's stint for Waterloo, dressed in 70's garb and wig.
    I certainly didn't expect to be bullied in to a strip to "You can leave your hat on".

Agree though has to be said sounds like your involvement was at the extreme end of it.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Audience participation!

I used to hide when the audience participation used to start, dont get me wrong at times it had been fun but as I got older and fatter I felt kinda more vulnerable particularly with my top off and wobbling about like a jelly on stage beside the more “buff” younger lads.

We used to go to Turkey (Icmiler) and the entertainment team were great and my Daughters had great delight in pointing me out to be a stage victim. I got wise to it one year and as the guys hunted for their prey I hid in the bogs, thinking the coast was clear I came out only to be surrounded by young Turks and was manhandled onto the stage for another jelly belly performance 🥹

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I used to hide when the audience participation used to start, dont get me wrong at times it had been fun but as I got older and fatter I felt kinda more vulnerable particularly with my top off and wobbling about like a jelly on stage beside the more “buff” younger lads.

We used to go to Turkey (Icmiler) and the entertainment team were great and my Daughters had great delight in pointing me out to be a stage victim. I got wise to it one year and as the guys hunted for their prey I hid in the bogs, thinking the coast was clear I came out only to be surrounded by young Turks and was manhandled onto the stage for another jelly belly performance 🥹
    Holiday or not I would lose it big time if someone tried to manhandle me onto a stage.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Holiday or not I would lose it big time if someone tried to manhandle me onto a stage.
    Likewise.

Animation : and cocky kids

12 years ago in the Algarve they had a Portugal’s Got Talent night in the Hotel

Usual mundane attempts one last kid from London steps up doing the Michael Jackson routine to Billie Jean with the foot shuffle moonwalking thing and grabbing his goolies with a high pitched scream at the appropriate moments to rapturous applause the winner all night long ( pardon the pun ) The Smooth Criminal was super confident it was in the bag

The MC steps up ‘ Anymore for anymore ?’ my eight year old slams down his Irn Bru says to me

‘I got this Dad ‘

Goes up on stage whispers to the DJ who puts on Rasputin by Boney M He lapses into this Cossack Dance high stepping dance routine arms folded crouched down knees forward moving up and down kicking out doing forward drops and back drops kicking out had the whole crowd clapping and whooping along in time to the music getting faster and faster spinning and spinning to a fantastic thunderous applause and a standing ovation

Hey ! Hey ! Hey! Hey !

‘ Graeme from Scotland’

The MC declared the winner based on applause

God knows where that came from or the energy totally unexpected and out of character as he is normally really quiet and reserved me and Mrs BH were packed off to bed with a free bottle of wine

He just said the Michael Jackson kid was getting on his nerves and didn’t think he was that good

The power of Irn Bru original recipe

True story
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 25-06-2025 at 08:22 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Yeah but they didnt drag me by the balls, I think because I have known the guys for many years they just saw me as fair game, not helped obviously by my Daughters and Wife grassing me and encouraging them to get me on the stage

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar

A few years ago when I was in Tenerife the evening’s entertainment was a magician.

For whatever reason I was the person plucked from the audience, and the magician’s assistant asked me to take my belt off.

Belt was dropped into some sort of collapsing box, a bit of the old “piff paff poof” ensued and before you knew it my belt had been turned into a live snake, which the assistant walks towards me with, encouraging me to drape the snake around my neck.

I’m petrified of snakes and as she moved towards me with it I just kept running away. Not sure whether this made the show utterly hilarious or terrible but there was absolutely no way I was touching a snake. I’ll just keep my phobia, thanks.

Nowadays I’m quite careful to ensure that whatever seat I take at almost anything comes with minimal chance of audience participation as it is REALLY not my thing. I even get annoyed at audiences clapping along, out of time to music now.

Yeah but they didnt drag me by the balls, I think because I have known the guys for many years they just saw me as fair game, not helped obviously by my Daughters and Wife grassing me and encouraging them to get me on the stage
    Yes the fact your family were encouraging the staff changes things.

I love getting involved in the entertainment.

My go to Karaoke used to be Unchained Melody, not nowadays, too high a note but back in the days of family holidays we were in Lanzarote in a bar that does Karaoke. So we have a few decent singers and the wife nudges me to get up, I put my name down and waited my turn, before me this woman from Glasgow area and she was extremely good, so up I get and the DJ gave me a wry smile meaning follow that buddy. Well the song was sung spot on with all the big high notes being hit perfectly, I handed him the mic back with the wry smile he gave me as if to say, ****** nailed it mate.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    My go to Karaoke used to be Unchained Melody, not nowadays, too high a note but back in the days of family holidays we were in Lanzarote in a bar that does Karaoke. So we have a few decent singers and the wife nudges me to get up, I put my name down and waited my turn, before me this woman from Glasgow area and she was extremely good, so up I get and the DJ gave me a wry smile meaning follow that buddy. Well the song was sung spot on with all the big high notes being hit perfectly, I handed him the mic back with the wry smile he gave me as if to say, ****** nailed it mate.
    Ive never sung a karaoke song in my puff, I bet Im in the minority on here 😄

That's 2 of us then.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    That's 2 of us then.
    Three.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    Three.
    Four
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Four
    Five

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    My go to is Bat Out Of Hell