Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Midtjylland tie

I'd probably put them on par with Rangers who although they would be favourites over two legs against us we would see it as a winnable tie. If the shoe was on the other foot I'm sure we would be as confident as the Danes are going into this.

I think it will take a scruffy 0-0 away then a rocking Easter Road in the return leg to get it over the line. Definitely doable.

Quote Originally Posted by SChibs View Post
    I'd probably put them on par with Rangers who although they would be favourites over two legs against us we would see it as a winnable tie. If the shoe was on the other foot I'm sure we would be as confident as the Danes are going into this.

I think it will take a scruffy 0-0 away then a rocking Easter Road in the return leg to get it over the line. Definitely doable.

Probably a fair comparison.

It's a tough tie for us, but we're better placed this summer than we have been for many previous European ties.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    It's a great draw for us. We need to win 2 games to qualify for the group stages (of one of the competitions).

Tough tie but if we do win we're seeded.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post
    It's a great draw for us. We need to win 2 games to qualify for the group stages (of one of the competitions).

Not doubting you but is that definitely correct we would be seeded?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    Not doubting you but is that definitely correct we would be seeded?
    Yes, if we win we would take Mjyttyland’s coefficient and that is high enough to guarantee they will be seeded when the Q3 round draw takes place on 21/07.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Yes, if we win we would take Mjyttyland’s coefficient and that is high enough to guarantee they will be seeded when the Q3 round draw takes place on 21/07.

Who would we avoid if seeded? 🙏

Quote Originally Posted by Not In The Know View Post
    Hearts

Total pish from the DR and not unexpected. Hopefully team use it as another tool in motivating them to win but doubt players play much attention to nonsense thats spouted by another manager

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Not In The Know View Post
    Champions league qualifier drop outs, Braga & Shaktar.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Looking at it this way, I think this is a great draw for us. Whoever came out of the hat, it was going to be a difficult tie to win, however this is a winnable tie and being seeded would give us a great chance of progressing to the Play Off round, which is where we thought we would be for the last 10 days of the season

We're flying to Hamburg night before the game
    Train up thru Denmark on matchday
    Mon the Hibees

Two ties I think.

Stolen off Hibs Supporters Facebook Page

Hi Guys/Gurls

Ive been in touch with the Scottish Bar Fox and Hounds, Herning and they are keen to have the Hibs fans Based in the Pub.

They have DJs booked for Wed and Thurs nights, and staying open Wed til 2am and after the game til 3am.

They are happy to hear suggestions on how to make our Danish trip memorable.

@hibs.net private member dangermouse's Avatar

If we beat Midtjyland then a win in Q3 would guarantee us group stage football. However, a loss in Q3 means we drop to the Conference PO and I'm nut sur e if we would be seeded in that tie or not meaning we could get teams live Villa again.
    55° 57' 42.5'' N 3° 9' 55.1'' W

@hibs.net private member Victor's Avatar
    Don’t think we should be too afraid of a bunch of Lurpak loving, bacon making, Carslberg swilling, Little Mermaid ogling, Dane boys. Think their manager has a touch of the Hans Christian Andersons about him.

(Well that’s me exhausted my knowledge of the opposition)

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Im not messing about with these qualifiers. Booked my flights and hotel for the final in Istanbul.

Quote Originally Posted by St Pauli Hibee View Post

Hi Guys/Gurls

Ive been in touch with the Scottish Bar Fox and Hounds, Herning and they are keen to have the Hibs fans Based in the Pub.

They have DJs booked for Wed and Thurs nights, and staying open Wed til 2am and after the game til 3am.

Are they any good at ref bribing?

Quote Originally Posted by Victor View Post
    Don’t think we should be too afraid of a bunch of Lurpak loving, bacon making, Carslberg swilling, Little Mermaid ogling, Dane boys. Think their manager has a touch of the Hans Christian Andersons about him.

(Well that’s me exhausted my knowledge of the opposition)

How about we adapt a wee song we usually only sing at Ibrox.

"You're not vi-kings,.
    You're not vi-kings,
    You're not vikings anymore!
    You're not vi-kings a-ny-more!"

General view is that they are not as good as Rangers (generally) or Celtic, but a fairly decent step above the rest of the Scottish league. As others have said, they will be favorites but over two legs we absolutely can get the job done. Keeping it close for the second leg is crucial.

AEK Athens were heavy favorites coming to play us. Anything is possible at a full Easter Road. A sell out should be a given. Sadly we have struggled to do this in Europe recently.

Hi Guys/Gurls

Free beer and food.

Hi Guys/Gurls

Well done.

Naming a Scottish bar The Fox and Hounds however should be a hanging offence. The Collie'n'Ewe has a far better ring to it.

Quote Originally Posted by RIP View Post
    Well done.

Naming a Scottish bar The Fox and Hounds however should be a hanging offence. The Collie'n'Ewe has a far better ring to it.
    Tattered ring if the owner is fae Eberdeen....

Quote Originally Posted by ChuckNor View Post
    General view is that they are not as good as Rangers (generally) or Celtic, but a fairly decent step above the rest of the Scottish league. As others have said, they will be favorites but over two legs we absolutely can get the job done. Keeping it close for the second leg is crucial.

AEK Athens were heavy favorites coming to play us. Anything is possible at a full Easter Road. A sell out should be a given. Sadly we have struggled to do this in Europe recently.

they are better than rangers but prob not as good as Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by pacorosssco View Post
    Never understood arrogance just be polite. We may surprise him
    TBF our CEO said before the cup final it was fantastic Hibs had qualified for European League football and then Aberdeen won and called him out.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    TBF our CEO said before the cup final it was fantastic Hibs had qualified for European League football and then Aberdeen won and called him out.
    They were calling out Dundee Utd who tweeted about Qualifying for Europa League after beating Aberdeen.

We don’t have a CEO

Ian Gordon said it had put us in a really good spot to compete in European group stages, he didn’t say it was confirmed.
    Last edited by CapitalGreen; 20-06-2025 at 09:15 AM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Anyone know how many tickets we'll get allocated? It's only a 6 hour drive from here. If I can get tickets I'll definitely be going and might combine it with a wee weekend visit to Hamburg.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Anyone know how many tickets we'll get allocated? It's only a 6 hour drive from here. If I can get tickets I'll definitely be going and might combine it with a wee weekend visit to Hamburg.
    We are entitled to a minimum of 600. It would make sense to give us the entire Away section which holds 860 which is what I'd put money on us getting. When Arka Gdynia played them in 2017 they got the whole of that end (1500 maybe?) though I'm not sure why that was.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    We are entitled to a minimum of 600. It would make sense to give us the entire Away section which holds 860 which is what I'd put money on us getting. When Arka Gdynia played them in 2017 they got the whole of that end (1500 maybe?) though I'm not sure why that was.
    Thanks, that's fair cheered me up.

Looks like it might be a bun fight for tickets, 500 to hibs first, which has a waiting list of 100 .
    Personally I know a lot of people who are going.
    I would predict 1200 to 1400.
    Will the home end be sold out?

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Hard to tell but looks like Feyenoord had the full stand in 2022 too. Whether they were allocated or just bought tickets in there I don’t know.