Had a disaster during lockdown when trimming hair with clippers, had done my sons on a number 6 he took the clippers to clean and handed them back to me without the guard. I never noticed and done the first cut and left a big tramline to the bone on one side of my head! There was no way of fixing it so I shaved my whole head, I looked like a right thug!
Wore a baseball cap for weeks when our walking before finally getting used to it. Thankfully it all grew back. I swear my son done it deliberately 😂
Thread: What is the point of baldness?
-
04-06-2025 06:36 AM #61
-
04-06-2025 09:24 AM #62
I used to hate the rain when I had hair (generally because I had my thatch gelled to within an inch of its life to cover up the receding hairline and was worried I’d be exposed). Now I embrace the rain. Luckily I’ve got a bonce that suits a shaved heid and since I did it there’s not a single person who has said I looked better with hair."Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"
-
04-06-2025 09:53 AM #63This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I recall watching this episode of This Morning and being impressed by the transformation in the guy who volunteered, but essentially you're having the hairpiece glued to your head which I can't imagine is especially healthy to live with for months?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqz_unnKo24
In saying that, at least if you decide it's not working you can just have it removed and live with what you have. A dodgy hair transplant would be a lot more troublesome to fix!
-
04-06-2025 10:26 AM #64
Boy at works getting a turkey job for the front on his dome. 750 bar. Seems decent to me but hopefully a decade away
-
04-06-2025 11:34 AM #65This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think it’s the sensation of the water on my skin that annoys me, doesn’t bother me in the shower or anything, just something I noticed when I started shaving it down closer.
The skull shaver is electric, it runs off a rechargeable battery. You apply normal shaving gel/foam as you would your face, and then use the shaver. You clean the head periodically, although if I was wet shaving I’d clean it every time, and probably during as well. It can also be used in the shower, it comes with a wee rubber plug that protects the charging socket, although I’ve never tried using it in the shower.
-
04-06-2025 11:43 AM #66This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I quite like it tbh. A daily reminder I'm older in body than I feel in mind but no one else seems to mind it (largely because we are all the same now, it's either grey hair or nae hair).PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
04-06-2025 08:47 PM #67This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'd be wary of taking that step tbh. How many transplants are genuinely great? Boyle's looks to have been pretty successful but he seems to keep it lathered in gel and up close the hairline looks a bit dubious. Stokes never looked quite right, nor does Rooney. And these are guys presumably playing for the higher-end jobs.
Seems to me that women wear fake hair, hair extensions etc as a matter of course so maybe men should be able to do likewise without it being an issue.
-
05-06-2025 08:58 AM #68
I've held onto my hair up till about a year or two ago (I'm 54). Only ever notice the bald patch that's growing bigger when I go to the barbers and he shows me the back. Or if I'm in the sun and it burns.
I'm also turning a lot greyer over that same period. Doesn't really bother me as I am so handsome anyway😂
Reckon I'll be starting the self clippers in the coming years. My main concern is my coos lick and how that will look if I start at a number 4 allover.
-
05-06-2025 09:11 AM #69This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
My dad is in his 80s now and still has a full head of hair. Funny story about him getting his haircut a few months ago. He normally goes midweek and gets his OAP discount. He was really needing it cut and went to his normal barber on a weekend, knowing he'd have to pay full price. "Sorry, we don't do pensioners at the weekend" the guy said. My dad said it was OK and he knew that he'd have to pay full price. "No, its not just the price... we don't accept pensioners as customers at the weekend". WTF? Its not as if cutting an old person's hair takes longer or anything. If anything, pensioners will be more likely to have less hair. We all found that absolutely bizarre.
-
05-06-2025 09:23 AM #70This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-06-2025 09:32 AM #71This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
05-06-2025 11:26 AM #73This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
https://www.nanogen.com/?gad_source=...SAAEgLVPfD_BwE
-
05-06-2025 05:08 PM #74
I used to cry when my Dad took me for a “baldy” at Leith Kirkgate when I was a nipper, I had a big **** off coos lick and my ears looked like a couple of dented satellite dishes so the ribbing I got at school was brutal.
As the years went on my head grew into my ears so I didnt quite look so bad with a baldy, my coos lick also went. I started shaving my head when in my mid 20s and have done ever since.
I once grew it long but styling it was a ****ing mare because as soon as I went out into a breeze then it would go straggly and I looked like I had been dragged through a thorn bush.
No issues now, quick splash o water in the morning and Im done.