Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Had a disaster during lockdown when trimming hair with clippers, had done my sons on a number 6 he took the clippers to clean and handed them back to me without the guard. I never noticed and done the first cut and left a big tramline to the bone on one side of my head! There was no way of fixing it so I shaved my whole head, I looked like a right thug!
    Wore a baseball cap for weeks when our walking before finally getting used to it. Thankfully it all grew back. I swear my son done it deliberately 😂

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibspur View Post
    Do those on here who've opted for shaving their heads start by getting it cut very short and then go for the shaved head in stages? I'd have thought going straight for the shaved head look might turn out to be quite a shock.

I've held on to my hair until well into my 50s before starting to thin more noticeably and was wondering whether to get my head shaved, but it would be good to know what it would look like before taking the plunge! Might have a chat to the barber.

Quite pricey getting my hair cut every week or two I'd imagine, so I'm guessing you need to invest in a pair of clippers and teach yourself how to do it?
    The first time I did it I think I gave myself a number three with a pair of clippers I’d bought. Very quickly however I ditched the guard and now I shave it every two days to keep it to a short stubble.

I used to hate the rain when I had hair (generally because I had my thatch gelled to within an inch of its life to cover up the receding hairline and was worried I’d be exposed). Now I embrace the rain. Luckily I’ve got a bonce that suits a shaved heid and since I did it there’s not a single person who has said I looked better with hair.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

First Team Breakthrough Hibspur's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    I've been balding for a number of years, started late 20s and now mid 30s its a patch up job and denial that keeps me going to my barber for a 2 back and sides and miracle on top

Biggest issue I have is head shape. Basically a giant egg and unfortunately not in the perfectly shaped form like guys like Jason Statham. Have considered turkey and toupee as options

Has anyone here done the turkey trip?
    These days referred to as a 'hair system' I think.

I recall watching this episode of This Morning and being impressed by the transformation in the guy who volunteered, but essentially you're having the hairpiece glued to your head which I can't imagine is especially healthy to live with for months?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqz_unnKo24

In saying that, at least if you decide it's not working you can just have it removed and live with what you have. A dodgy hair transplant would be a lot more troublesome to fix!

Boy at works getting a turkey job for the front on his dome. 750 bar. Seems decent to me but hopefully a decade away

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    I always thought bald/shaven headed guys would be less bothered by the rain as there's no hairstyle to ruin.

Is a skull shaver electric? If so, how can it be used for a wet shave?

I think it’s the sensation of the water on my skin that annoys me, doesn’t bother me in the shower or anything, just something I noticed when I started shaving it down closer.

The skull shaver is electric, it runs off a rechargeable battery. You apply normal shaving gel/foam as you would your face, and then use the shaver. You clean the head periodically, although if I was wet shaving I’d clean it every time, and probably during as well. It can also be used in the shower, it comes with a wee rubber plug that protects the charging socket, although I’ve never tried using it in the shower.

There is almost no history or baldness in my family on either side.

However my dad was fully grey by 40 and white by 50. I first noticed a sprinkling of grey in my late 20s and at 37 now it's accelerating at some rate. I'm going to be the same as my dad.

Tbh I'm not all that bothered. It happens and I'll embrace it. It's always so obvious when men dye their hair and I honestly think they would look better just letting it go. I feel the same about baldness. I've got one mate who embraced it in his mid 20s and just shaved it all off, he looks good for it. Another got a dodgy hair transplant and looks a bit daft, I've yet to see a really good one tbh.

It is what it is. I'd rather not be grey but it's not that big a deal in the grand scheme of things.
    I posted this a couple of years ago and in the interim seem to have skipped the grey and gone straight to white. Not all over yet but if I go a bit too long without a haircut the entire 'top layer' of hair is proper white. It's not so noticeable when I apply wax or clay or whatever but when my hair is au natural it's clear for all to see.

I quite like it tbh. A daily reminder I'm older in body than I feel in mind but no one else seems to mind it (largely because we are all the same now, it's either grey hair or nae hair).

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    I've been balding for a number of years, started late 20s and now mid 30s its a patch up job and denial that keeps me going to my barber for a 2 back and sides and miracle on top

Biggest issue I have is head shape. Basically a giant egg and unfortunately not in the perfectly shaped form like guys like Jason Statham. Have considered turkey and toupee as options

Has anyone here done the turkey trip?
    I think someone mentioned a Turkey transplant further up the thread.

I'd be wary of taking that step tbh. How many transplants are genuinely great? Boyle's looks to have been pretty successful but he seems to keep it lathered in gel and up close the hairline looks a bit dubious. Stokes never looked quite right, nor does Rooney. And these are guys presumably playing for the higher-end jobs.

Seems to me that women wear fake hair, hair extensions etc as a matter of course so maybe men should be able to do likewise without it being an issue.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    I've held onto my hair up till about a year or two ago (I'm 54). Only ever notice the bald patch that's growing bigger when I go to the barbers and he shows me the back. Or if I'm in the sun and it burns.

I'm also turning a lot greyer over that same period. Doesn't really bother me as I am so handsome anyway😂

Reckon I'll be starting the self clippers in the coming years. My main concern is my coos lick and how that will look if I start at a number 4 allover.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    I hope I get my dad's hair genes. He's in his late 70s and still has a full head of hair. Despite being grey now he didn't really start going grey until his late 60s other than the odd hair. I must have receded somewhat as I used to have a widows peak which I despised and tried to cut off a few times as a kid which has now disappeared but nothing too obvious. On the grey front I've had a few people ask me if I dye my hair as I don't have any grey hairs coming through on my head. My facial hair is a different matter. I wouldn't grow a beard these days as it would be a weird patchwork of very dark hair (my natural hair colour), white, grey and, weirdly, ginger.

When I saw this thread I was going to post my understanding that the baldness gene was passed down through the maternal line, not the paternal line. I thought I would Google it before I posted and it turns out it is a commonly held myth. It actually comes from both parental lines.
    Two years on, I'm now in my 40s and still no grey in my hair and I think the same amount of hair too. My facial hair, on the other hand is probably more white than dark now.

My dad is in his 80s now and still has a full head of hair. Funny story about him getting his haircut a few months ago. He normally goes midweek and gets his OAP discount. He was really needing it cut and went to his normal barber on a weekend, knowing he'd have to pay full price. "Sorry, we don't do pensioners at the weekend" the guy said. My dad said it was OK and he knew that he'd have to pay full price. "No, its not just the price... we don't accept pensioners as customers at the weekend". WTF? Its not as if cutting an old person's hair takes longer or anything. If anything, pensioners will be more likely to have less hair. We all found that absolutely bizarre.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Two years on, I'm now in my 40s and still no grey in my hair and I think the same amount of hair too. My facial hair, on the other hand is probably more white than dark now.

My dad is in his 80s now and still has a full head of hair. Funny story about him getting his haircut a few months ago. He normally goes midweek and gets his OAP discount. He was really needing it cut and went to his normal barber on a weekend, knowing he'd have to pay full price. "Sorry, we don't do pensioners at the weekend" the guy said. My dad said it was OK and he knew that he'd have to pay full price. "No, its not just the price... we don't accept pensioners as customers at the weekend". WTF? Its not as if cutting an old person's hair takes longer or anything. If anything, pensioners will be more likely to have less hair. We all found that absolutely bizarre.
    I hope you also found a new barber!

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I hope you also found a new barber!
    Or got his dad a fake ID

Thankfully baldness isn't an issue with me 😁

First Team Breakthrough Hibspur's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    I've held onto my hair up till about a year or two ago (I'm 54). Only ever notice the bald patch that's growing bigger when I go to the barbers and he shows me the back. Or if I'm in the sun and it burns.

I'm also turning a lot greyer over that same period. Doesn't really bother me as I am so handsome anyway😂

Reckon I'll be starting the self clippers in the coming years. My main concern is my coos lick and how that will look if I start at a number 4 allover.
    This is apparently what a lot of celebs/public figures use to touch up any thinning patches for the cameras:

https://www.nanogen.com/?gad_source=...SAAEgLVPfD_BwE

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Had a disaster during lockdown when trimming hair with clippers, had done my sons on a number 6 he took the clippers to clean and handed them back to me without the guard. I never noticed and done the first cut and left a big tramline to the bone on one side of my head! There was no way of fixing it so I shaved my whole head, I looked like a right thug!
    Wore a baseball cap for weeks when our walking before finally getting used to it. Thankfully it all grew back. I swear my son done it deliberately 😂
    Brilliant 🤣

I used to cry when my Dad took me for a “baldy” at Leith Kirkgate when I was a nipper, I had a big **** off coos lick and my ears looked like a couple of dented satellite dishes so the ribbing I got at school was brutal.

As the years went on my head grew into my ears so I didnt quite look so bad with a baldy, my coos lick also went. I started shaving my head when in my mid 20s and have done ever since.

I once grew it long but styling it was a ****ing mare because as soon as I went out into a breeze then it would go straggly and I looked like I had been dragged through a thorn bush.

No issues now, quick splash o water in the morning and Im done.