Page 30 of 31 FirstFirst ... 2028293031 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    My wife and daughter were down south this weekend visiting my wife’s family. When they came home tonight my daughter burst through the door looking for me and gave me a running hug. There’s no better pick me ups than those little moments.
    Mine is 3 months this week. When I come in from work/anywhere and she realises it's me and her face lights up, it just absolutely melts me everytime.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    My wife and daughter were down south this weekend visiting my wife’s family. When they came home tonight my daughter burst through the door looking for me and gave me a running hug. There’s no better pick me ups than those little moments.
    Best feeling in the world.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

It's the best.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

That last day of work before a holiday feeling - half tempted to crack a beer open. Off until the 6th
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    That last day of work before a holiday feeling - half tempted to crack a beer open. Off until the 6th
    Half tempted, get the thing open man. 🤭

Finding there is still a decent amount of the Christmas cheese board left and tucking into it when everyone else in the house is out/in bed.

It’s not a little thing, but the warm glow of a derby victory stays with me for days.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Boxing day/Dec 27th. Generally the week leading up to, then Christmas day itself is mental and every year we say "let's slow down a bit next year" but we never do. We hosted the family (9) this year too and with 3 young kids ourselves it made it a difficult day with limited time to embrace the day with the girls

Yesterday and today have been bliss. Watching them playing with their new toys, us pumping the hertz and generally just going at a slower pace has just been so lovely

The little things are the big things really

I dislike my neighbours and it was a joy to watch them struggle to put 2 glass shower screens into their mini car, I mean they can barely fit into the car let alone glass shower screens 🤣

I watched them huff and puff for around 15 mins before realising they would not fit with the chubby soor faced neighbour breaking into a hissy fit as I sat in my chair with a coffee giggling my tits off 🤣

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I dislike my neighbours and it was a joy to watch them struggle to put 2 glass shower screens into their mini car, I mean they can barely fit into the car let alone glass shower screens 🤣

I watched them huff and puff for around 15 mins before realising they would not fit with the chubby soor faced neighbour breaking into a hissy fit as I sat in my chair with a coffee giggling my tits off 🤣
    That is sooooo me

I'm childish like that too ! I'd be pissin masel watching oot the windae hiding behind the curtains haha !

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    That is sooooo me

I'm childish like that too ! I'd be pissin masel watching oot the windae hiding behind the curtains haha !
    I adjusted the blinds for optimal viewing 🤣 Honestly mate he is an absolute ignorant dickhead, he is in his 60s and met my neighbour who is lovely actually on some dating site like Stinkyfish or something and from day dot he has never let onto me despite me saying the usual good morning etc, just total prick, my Wife is heading out later and Im going to crank up my guitar amp 🤣

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I adjusted the blinds for optimal viewing 🤣 Honestly mate he is an absolute ignorant dickhead, he is in his 60s and met my neighbour who is lovely actually on some dating site like Stinkyfish or something and from day dot he has never let onto me despite me saying the usual good morning etc, just total prick, my Wife is heading out later and Im going to crank up my guitar amp 🤣
    Got one of them in my village. I always say hello to strangers but after he completely blanked me twice I just ignore him now. He recently fell from his roof and broke his hip, needless to say I didn't send flowers.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Got one of them in my village. I always say hello to strangers but after he completely blanked me twice I just ignore him now. He recently fell from his roof and broke his hip, needless to say I didn't send flowers.
    Yeah he is a strange one, he lets onto my Wife but just blanks me, I must have upset him in a previous life 🫢

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I think every street/estate/village has one of those types. We have one in our street, a Hearts fans obviously. In everyone's business, a bit of a sweetie wife but will then blank you a day later if it doesn't suit him.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Tom Bradby on the ITV News. Doesn’t act like a news anchor. Can’t help but chuckle when he appears on the telly

Filling my car with petrol to the very brim, I never stop until there is no room for another drop.

Seeing a new post on this thread.

Some are really wholesome, some really simple and some wonderfully full of spite and I enjoy them all.

Short weeks.

Aw its Tuesday, naw wait, it's Wednesday!

4 day weeks should be the norm. It would be great for the economy, with people having more time and inclination to do more at the weekends and not have to cram in classic weekend jobs, great for shops, great for parents and their kids, studies have shown no loss in productivity - in fact I'm sure many sources say it increases peoples productivity because people feel more willing to dedicate themselves more to work over 4 days than 5.

Who loses? Maybe childminders?

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    I like looking at my bird feeder through my kitchen window.

When my boss spouts some utter tosh, a common occurrence, and myself or one of my colleagues calls her out. She never admits her mistakes but I know she’s raging. Pleasing!
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Short weeks.

4 day weeks should be the norm. It would be great for the economy, with people having more time and inclination to do more at the weekends and not have to cram in classic weekend jobs, great for shops, great for parents and their kids, studies have shown no loss in productivity - in fact I'm sure many sources say it increases peoples productivity because people feel more willing to dedicate themselves more to work over 4 days than 5.

Any trade that relies on commuters (we're not all homeworkers yet). Public transport is just about getting back on its feet (quite admire the bold SNP stance on scraping peak fares and welcome it) but if a service isn't used regularly it's at risk from being scrapped.
    Then there's the sundries like sandwich shops etc.

I know quite a lot of folk that do condensed hours or 9 day fortnights. Some take advantage of the extra days away from work (which makes you more available for those regular weekend jobs, just saying 🙄), others just accept it as normal working practice and don't recognise if they are worse or better off.
    Personally, I enjoy the structure of 5 on, 2 off but I'm speaking from the privileged position of having a job that I don't consider to be "work" with relatively short working days so I can chase my leisure pursuits over the whole week, not just at the weekend.
    I work pseudo public sector(railway), there is a movement to reduce the working week further and encourage more condensed hours where suitable but like for those who can't work from home, I suspect this could be viewed with a bit resentment/jealousy.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Any trade that relies on commuters (we're not all homeworkers yet). Public transport is just about getting back on its feet (quite admire the bold SNP stance on scraping peak fares and welcome it) but if a service isn't used regularly it's at risk from being scrapped.
    Then there's the sundries like sandwich shops etc.

I know quite a lot of folk that do condensed hours or 9 day fortnights. Some take advantage of the extra days away from work (which makes you more available for those regular weekend jobs, just saying 🙄), others just accept it as normal working practice and don't recognise if they are worse or better off.
    Personally, I enjoy the structure of 5 on, 2 off but I'm speaking from the privileged position of having a job that I don't consider to be "work" with relatively short working days so I can chase my leisure pursuits over the whole week, not just at the weekend.
    I work pseudo public sector(railway), there is a movement to reduce the working week further and encourage more condensed hours where suitable but like for those who can't work from home, I suspect this could be viewed with a bit resentment/jealousy.
    I don't think someone working from an office or similar would feel resentment for having to commute less would they?

The point of the 4 day week is that you get the same money for your time, but you have less time at work. I fully get that for industries like sandwich shops etc it would be mean less people on certain days and less income, which is why it will never happen on a broad scale in this country, but I think if anyone was offered it they'd take it.

Sir Alex Ferguson

I've often said to my boss he would get more out of me if I only worked until 12 or 1 every day.

I'm an early bird. I officially start at 8 but it's very rare that I'm not at my desk by 7.15 latest. I love having the best part of an hour just to get through stuff in peace (it's actually closer to 2 hours as most people start at 9). I organise any meetings on or off site for the morning unless a client is absolutely insistent it must be later in the day. By the time it gets to about 1 I have had enough. What took 20 minutes in the morning takes an hour in the afternoon. I'm still proven as the most productive person in the role I do but I'd be moreso if I could maintain my morning output to the afternoon but I lose interest.

Obviously there is not going to be an agreement to me working 5 or 6 hours a day but I can honestly say my productivity wouldn't drop off one bit if it was to happen. I'd go further and say it would increase, as it would if I went to a 4 day week because I'd have to be working at my best all the time I was in the office or on the road rather than having the time to basically sit about for 3 or 4 hours in the afternoon.

Short weeks.

It's an office worker view. They office workers will inevitably want to be use things from the 60% who never work from home. The will want to use shops entertainment, hotels and restaurants. They will want the NHS, police, fire service, council workers, energy workers, cleaners, security guards, tradesmen, taxis, buses, airports, customer service etc etc

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Short weeks.

I’m a childminder and I ‘only’ work 4 days, I don’t know any of us that work a Friday at the minute.

I am all in favour of a 4 day week, 3 day week is even better

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    It's an office worker view. They office workers will inevitably want to be use things from the 60% who never work from home. The will want to use shops entertainment, hotels and restaurants. They will want the NHS, police, fire service, council workers, energy workers, cleaners, security guards, tradesmen, taxis, buses, airports, customer service etc etc
    So not keen then

This isn't really the thread for an argument over it, it's meant to be a feel good thread so I guess I'd just say it's purely from my perspective. FWIW I would argue on your point that these businesses would benefit from footfall over an extended weekend wouldn't they? Supermarkets are one that I think would, as people who shop on a weekend would have an extra day to go, so their busiest days would be 3, not 2, but they'd be taking a 3rd of the burden rather than half.

It doesn't suit all business, nothing does, many businesses are 7 day a week business when demand is there. I had a guy tile a bathroom who said he hasn't taken a full day off in 3 months - his choice. I used to work in agricultural production, so busy periods meant working every day from the middle-end of July to the end of September. It's one of the main reasons I took a desk job. My last harvest season I did something like 70 days consecutive working with no days off and 3pm finishes on a Saturday.

But should it just never be done because others can't have it?

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post

Also, some jobs cannot be compressed hours - a bus driver can’t do more work to fit his workload into 4 days instead of 5.

Great idea that we’d all love, but logistically not possible for everyone to shift to 4 day week

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Also, some jobs cannot be compressed hours - a bus driver can’t do more work to fit his workload into 4 days instead of 5.
    Is that what's generally meant by compressed hours? I do a four-day week with what my organisation calls compressed hours, but it means compressing the same hours into fewer days, not compressing the same workload into fewer hours. I.e. I do the same total hours as before but as four longer days.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Is that what's generally meant by compressed hours? I do a four-day week with what my organisation calls compressed hours, but it means compressing the same hours into fewer days, not compressing the same workload into fewer hours. I.e. I do the same total hours as before but as four longer days.

I think people use the description interchangeably between the 2 things.

I would describe what you do as compressed days (same hours in less days, for example 4 days of 10 hours, rather 5 days of 8 hours).
    Whereas I’d describe compressed hours as working less hours in the week but getting the same amount of work done, so only doing 4 days of 8 hours, of 5 days of 6 hours. The idea is that people arse about and blether and don’t always put in maximum effort in a normal day/week, but working less hours you focus more and don’t waste time during your shift and get the same amount of work achieved in less time (and get more time for yourself),.

That’s just how I understand those concepts though, I’m not saying I’m definitely right

So is it fitting 40 hours into 4 days or do folk expect to be paid the same wages working 30 hours over 4 days as they'd get just now working working 40 hours.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    So is it fitting 40 hours into 4 days or do folk expect to be paid the same wages working 30 hours over 4 days as they'd get just now working working 40 hours.
    Should be some interesting answers here.