Page 9 of 20 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: Block Seven

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    Waiting for the obligatory Rugby fans are just as bad posts.

You regularly see Rugby fans masked up and having mass brawls in the street and chucking items at player of course.

I think Rugby Fans are just as bad.

Bunch of toffee nosed twits getting p1ssed, harassing women, and singing rowdy songs that would be banned at the football.

Will that do?

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post

Bunch of toffee nosed twits getting p1ssed, harassing women, and singing rowdy songs that would be banned at the football.

Will that do?
    Only do egg chasing because they were nae use at fitba at school?

Will that do?
    I know there is an element of tongue in cheek involved in the whole rugby chat but I genuinely think there is minimal difference between you average football and rugby fan. Not the extreme elements in either sport which take different forms but definitely exist.

You could easily allow beer at the football and have a whole unsegregated family section and there would be no notable change in the behaviour of most fans. The vast majority of games from League One and below in Scotland are unsegregated and there are no running battles, same as there are huge unsegregated sections and alcohol served at major international tournaments with no issues.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post

I thought it was the other way round and kids only play football because they're scared of a genuine tackle in rugby
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    I thought it was the other way round and kids only play football because they're scared of a genuine tackle
    Depends what school you went to

Will that do?
    A friend of mine who was a former police commander in Edinburgh, and a jambo, did a study for the police on the conduct of rugby and football fans in Edinburgh. He found a minority of both sets of fans had unacceptable behaviour but expressed in different ways. He also found that the police tended to accept unacceptable actions by rugby fans but not football fans.

In Craigmillar, Niddrie and Bingham they were so ****ing tough they played football with the Elgin marbles, none o those leather ***** balls 🤣

Like me, you remember the days when footballers were allowed to tackle and opponents were ignored when they flopped to the ground.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Rugby's actually a harder game to excel at than football.

I know there is an element of tongue in cheek involved in the whole rugby chat but I genuinely think there is minimal difference between you average football and rugby fan. Not the extreme elements in either sport which take different forms but definitely exist.

You could easily allow beer at the football and have a whole unsegregated family section and there would be no notable change in the behaviour of most fans. The vast majority of games from League One and below in Scotland are unsegregated and there are no running battles, same as there are huge unsegregated sections and alcohol served at major international tournaments with no issues.
    You are of course correct in terms of the average fan.

Rugby doesn't have the extreme element that football does though which is why these measures are in place for football games and not rugby.

No idea why it has to be one or the other. I played Rugby and Football into adulthood and cricket and basketball among others for school teams and also afterwards for the odd game. I'd agree with many of the posts here. The majority of football and rugby fans are the same in terms of behaviour. The bad behaviour is a minority and is very much treated differently by the police. The policing of rugby and football before any issues arise is completely different too. It is almost as if the Police are looking for a fight at big football matches. That being said they would say they were preparing for the worst.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    No idea why it has to be one or the other. I played Rugby and Football into adulthood and cricket and basketball among others for school teams and also afterwards for the odd game. I'd agree with many of the posts here. The majority of football and rugby fans are the same in terms of behaviour. The bad behaviour is a minority and is very much treated differently by the police. The policing of rugby and football before any issues arise is completely different too. It is almost as if the Police are looking for a fight at big football matches. That being said they would say they were preparing for the worst.
    I love football, it's the best sport in the world but the simple difference is you do not get self identified groups of rugby supporters who band together in large numbers looking to fight with opposing fanbases.

This isn't about your average fan, it's these groups of numbers up to and over 100 young men dressing up with balaclavas on looking to cause trouble at times. I've never once heard of that happening at a Rugby game.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar

The issue for me is the 'most fans' because you are right but that''s also the problem: I happen to have been to a lot of Scottish games at Murrayfield in the past 3/4 years & taken football friends who were initially very agitated by the fact that we could drink at the games; a Celtic season ticket holder in particular due to his politics (which I entirely agree with) was no' happy. Bottom line is that he accepted that he knew and saw too many of his team's supporters who would not drink responsibly and not the way rugby fans were behaving would translate well to Parkhead.. It's a minority but I've also seen too many drunks at ER over the years to believe there would not be trouble - it's a minority, most folk would be fine but that minority would make life grim for everyone around them. It's a cultural thing and I don't like what it says about our society but it's a consequence that I don't think there's any point denying.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Rugby's actually a harder game to excel at than football.
    By what method is this measured?

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    By what method is this measured?
    Football is a far harder game to excel at. It's a numbers game, football is played by a massive number of people compared to Rugby across the world, to become a professional footballer you are competing against millions upon millions of others who want to make it to that level.

Very very few do.

In Rugby the number of players is far lower so your chances of success are higher as you are competing against a much smaller talent pool.

They can make all the statements they want but whether they have a point or not is largely irrelevant.

The police have a duty to protect the public be that in the streets or in the stadiums so they will continue to try to nip any bad behaviour in the bud.

Why are they wearing face coverings? Exactly!

Football is a far harder game to excel at. It's a numbers game, football is played by a massive number of people compared to Rugby across the world, to become a professional footballer you are competing against millions upon millions of others who want to make it to that level.

Very very few do.

In Rugby the number of players is far lower so your chances of success are higher as you are competing against a much smaller talent pool.
    I'm referring to the demands of the game not the number playing it.

Both rugby and football are well down the list of most demanding sports (across numerous measures) though, most of which are individual eg gymnastics is well out in front (followed by boxing and mixed martial arts (MMA) and fencing, although the latter is often inclded as a MMA), with ice hockey the most demanding team sport.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Rugby fans don't express any where near the passion that football fans have for their club.

It's a completely different thing, rugby crowds are more akin to a theatre crowd than football so it's no surprise that football attracts folk that are a bit more troublesome

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    Rugby fans don't express any where near the passion that football fans have for their club.

It's a completely different thing, rugby crowds are more akin to a theatre crowd than football so it's no surprise that football attracts folk that are a bit more troublesome

I think that's why we see the difference in the way each sports supporters are policed.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    I'm referring to the demands of the game not the number playing it.

Both rugby and football are well down the list of most demanding sports (across numerous measures) though, most of which are individual eg gymnastics is well out in front (followed by boxing and mixed martial arts (MMA) and fencing, although the latter is often inclded as a MMA), with ice hockey the most demanding team sport.
    It might be more physically demanding, but that doesn't make it harder to excel, it just makes it more physical.

The level of skill and technique in football compared to Rugby for instance are miles apart.

It might be more physically demanding, but that doesn't make it harder to excel, it just makes it more physical.

The level of skill and technique in football compared to Rugby for instance are miles apart.
    The measures are more than just physical, although strength and conditioning have played a far bigger role in rugby since the advent of professionalism.

Skill, stamina and tactical awareness are among the numerous other measures. I recall seeing Michael O'Neill giving a talk (possibly at the Sheffield Institute of Sport) where he pointed out that the average footballer is capable of absorbing no more than three minutes of tactical instruction. Any more and you've lost them as a manager. You get exceptions obviously like Alan 'all yer brains are in yer effin head' Gordon but football's popularity is largely down to its inherent simplicity compared to many other sports.

Easy to underrate the skill and technique of elite rugby players. Check out Antoine Dupont or Finn Russell. Absolute wizards.
    Last edited by He's here!; 12-04-2025 at 12:58 PM.

Thought this was about our current ultra incarnation

That statement reeks of entitlement. Entitled to do what they want because “ultras scene”

If they want to start by cleaning up their minging mess on the graveyard walls where our own Dan McMichael lies in state, that might be good…then show a bit of respect to fellow fans at away games. Maybe not forcing folks from their seats? Or all the other selfish stuff that has gone on over recent years. As others have said, I’m sick of being “treated badly” at Pittodrie or Motherwell or Tynecastle because they have put targets on all our backs. Not us, them.
    As for thinking any innocent intentions involve wearing a balaclava for any reason in everyday life is normal or that it is not something that makes other members of society feel uncomfortable, well…

Over to Statement UHs to remove so many of the reasons Polis Alba have been put in this situation…

In a perfect world we would be allowed booze at the footy and the minority who want to cause trouble would be dealt with by the authorities, the issue isn;t so much the fans more the Police's inability to be able to deal with any trouble.

Quote Originally Posted by 7Hero View Post
    In a perfect world we would be allowed booze at the footy and the minority who want to cause trouble would be dealt with by the authorities, the issue isn;t so much the fans more the Police's inability to be able to deal with any trouble.
    That's exactly what the police are trying to do and the statement ultras don't like it.

This reads as if you’re saying it’s the police’s fault that trouble happens

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    Like me, you remember the days when footballers were allowed to tackle and opponents were ignored when they flopped to the ground.

They don't know how easy they've got it these days. We used to have to fight a lion just to get into the reserve team.

In a perfect world they could stop acting like wee fannies and they wouldnt need to worry about the Police.

That's a wild take.

Surely by using Section 60 there are dealing with trouble?

They have a 1312 banner today.

Quote Originally Posted by SHODAN View Post
    They have a 1312 banner today.
    What is 13 12 reference, their ages ?