Page 472 of 474 FirstFirst ... 372422462470471472473474 LastLast
Results 14,131 to 14,160 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Last few times, we have really struggled to get anything to accept an airport job (to or from) - Uber, Gett, Black Cab companies own apps, PH, etc. - other than Capital Cars who have the contract there.
    I've been l lucky with usually a 3 minute wai. The capital cars number takes the piss usually

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Judi Love. Appears to be on every single comedy show going and I can’t remember a single funny thing she’s said or done.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    I've been l lucky with usually a 3 minute wai. The capital cars number takes the piss usually
    I don't know why but I REALLY object to having to give all my details to the wee attendant at the airport before getting a cab. I just want to get in cab and tell them where we are going...seems a bit like OTT data mining.
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Judi Love. Appears to be on every single comedy show going and I can’t remember a single funny thing she’s said or done.
    Is she really quite dim, or is that just an adopted persona?

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    I don't know why but I REALLY object to having to give all my details to the wee attendant at the airport before getting a cab. I just want to get in cab and tell them where we are going...seems a bit like OTT data mining.
    Because it's a PHC you have to pre book the car or it then becomes an illegal pickup, by giving him your details means you've pre booked the next car. Gett, Freenow, Central and City cabs are all black cabs which will be metered fare and will pick you up from the drop off area.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Because it's a PHC you have to pre book the car or it then becomes an illegal pickup, by giving him your details means you've pre booked the next car. Gett, Freenow, Central and City cabs are all black cabs which will be metered fare and will pick you up from the drop off area.
    Makes sense! Still hate them though 😄

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    We make our own bread and when you cut it near the end of the loaf one side has a larger surface. My wife always butters the small side!!
    Aw no!

Does she do it under the guise of saving money on butter?
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Remaking films that don't need to be remade or rebooted, I've just had the horror of having seen the trailer for the Naked Gun reboot with Liam Neeson, might gouge my own eyes out now

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Remaking films that don't need to be remade or rebooted, I've just had the horror of having seen the trailer for the Naked Gun reboot with Liam Neeson, might gouge my own eyes out now
    As someone who hasn't seen any of the newer Ghostbusters films, I would tend to agree with you.

However, I've come to accept that these films aren't aimed at me. They are made by directors younger than me for audiences younger still.

Kids born in 2010 aren't interested in the versions of films we love.

It is why Hollywood has been repeating films as long as it's been making them.

On that note I was looking to watch the parent trap. I'll probably go for the 60s version, available on Disney plus, over the Linsey Lohan reboot...

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    RBOS new cash line machines that are designed for right handed people, just annoying.

“Let’s go *insert team name*, let’s go.

Pish annoying American chant that can GTF.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Just take out the word chant from your last sentence and I’m with you 👍

Let's go Northern let's go.

Tourists walking into the road on George IV bridge, or any Insta friendly Edinburgh photo op location, to take selfies. This woman was literally standing in traffic on a sunny day this week, holding up a chocolate ice cream cone with the old Bank of Scotland head office dome in the Mound as a background. Its not even that beautiful a shot. You will probably delete the photo in a matter of hours anyway. And you are literally IN THE WAY OF ****ing ONCOMING TRAFFIC

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    Let's go Northern let's go.
    I ran an obstacle course race last year and they had local school kids at the finish line chanting “you can do it let’s go” over and over.

Of course I can do it, I’ve just done it.

Bah humbug.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Tourists walking into the road on George IV bridge, or any Insta friendly Edinburgh photo op location, to take selfies. This woman was literally standing in traffic on a sunny day this week, holding up a chocolate ice cream cone with the old Bank of Scotland head office dome in the Mound as a background. Its not even that beautiful a shot. You will probably delete the photo in a matter of hours anyway. And you are literally IN THE WAY OF ****ing ONCOMING TRAFFIC
    That's every tourist in Pitlochry!!!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Folk who don’t prepare for things sensibly, and others who don’t think about what’s going on around them.

Helped my brother in law move house yesterday, he swore blind he was ready and everything was sorted. Nope, clothes and other sundries in wardrobes, every drawer in every cabinet filled with crap, clothes drawers not emptied (but shrink wrapped the unit, so it’s now so much heavier with all the clothes inside), shelves with stuff all over them. He’s a model builder, he managed to carefully pack all of them up though, about 150 boxes with individual models inside. Thought his brother was going to swing for him.

Then his aunt and uncle ‘helping’, by ignoring everything in the van needing brought in, to spend time unpacking salt, pepper, sugar.

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Folk who don’t prepare for things sensibly, and others who don’t think about what’s going on around them.

Helped my brother in law move house yesterday, he swore blind he was ready and everything was sorted. Nope, clothes and other sundries in wardrobes, every drawer in every cabinet filled with crap, clothes drawers not emptied (but shrink wrapped the unit, so it’s now so much heavier with all the clothes inside), shelves with stuff all over them. He’s a model builder, he managed to carefully pack all of them up though, about 150 boxes with individual models inside. Thought his brother was going to swing for him.

Then his aunt and uncle ‘helping’, by ignoring everything in the van needing brought in, to spend time unpacking salt, pepper, sugar.
    Happened to me a few years ago when I stupidly agreed to be an extra pair of hands to help move my Brother in law from Oxgangs to Livingston. I knew I would be ****ed after work and wasnt up for it at all but he said everything will be downstairs, packed and ready to be chucked onto the van for one trip only.

****ing lying skinny hearts prick !! 2 hours later we got through to Livingston around 8pm. I was the only **** to turn up and **** all was ready 🤬 he moved to Peebles around a year after but I made sure I was doing my nails that day 🤬

I'll second that and add American sports commentators, especially in golf, responding to a good shot or play by saying "are you kidding me?"
    Eh? You've just effing watched it in real time so no-one is kidding you you prick.

I'm not sure if this is controversial or not but it probably will be.

People abusing the 'free' bus pass. I was on a bus yesterday and the number of groups of teenagers who got on for one stop was ridiculous. If they had to pay £1.50 or whatever it is for a kid these days then they would have walked 200 yards. Not just the bairns either. One of my neighbours is very early 60s, still fit and active and he plays golf multiple times a week so can walk a fair distance. I've seen him jump on the bus one stop to get his paper then stand and wait and jump on the bus back. It is literally a shorter distance to walk direct to the shop than it is to walk to and from the bus stop at either end.

I like the scheme, I want people to be encouraged to use public transport and I'd extend it further. It isn't free though, every tap is paid for (well 57% is) by the Scottish Government. It just seems a wee bit responsibility wouldn't go amiss.

People abusing the 'free' bus pass. I was on a bus yesterday and the number of groups of teenagers who got on for one stop was ridiculous. If they had to pay £1.50 or whatever it is for a kid these days then they would have walked 200 yards. Not just the bairns either. One of my neighbours is very early 60s, still fit and active and he plays golf multiple times a week so can walk a fair distance. I've seen him jump on the bus one stop to get his paper then stand and wait and jump on the bus back. It is literally a shorter distance to walk direct to the shop than it is to walk to and from the bus stop at either end.

I like the scheme, I want people to be encouraged to use public transport and I'd extend it further. It isn't free though, every tap is paid for (well 57% is) by the Scottish Government. It just seems a wee bit responsibility wouldn't go amiss.
    Gotta fess up here. When the trams just started I took a trip from one end to the other and there wasn't a papershop at either end and even if there had been I wouldn't have bought a paper there. It was just to see what it was like. I definitely wouldn't have walked the route and at the time I probably wouldn't have shelled out a fare. Am I irresponsible?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Gotta fess up here. When the trams just started I took a trip from one end to the other and there wasn't a papershop at either end and even if there had been I wouldn't have bought a paper there. It was just to see what it was like. I definitely wouldn't have walked the route and at the time I probably wouldn't have shelled out a fare. Am I irresponsible?
    I did the same but I paid, what does that make me? 😀

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar

I live next to Forrester school and I needed to go pick something up from the industrial estate at Bankhead one lunchtime last week. I couldn't believe how busy the tram stop was with school kids. I initially thought they might have just been hanging out there, but a tram came and they all piled on. I'm guessing they were doing the one stop to Edinburgh Park to go to Hermiston Gate.

I've been unlucky/stupid to get a bus around their finishing time and it is mental. Like you say, a lot are only on one or two stops. By the time they wait on the bus, they'd definitely be quicker walking.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    That's not really the kind of situation PB was describing at all.

After 672 pages of Pet Peeves I just think we are running out of things to moan about - love this thread

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I did the same but I paid, what does that make me? 😀
    Underaged.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    That's not really the kind of situation PB was describing at all.
    A publicly-funded journey that didn't have to be made.

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    After 672 pages of Pet Peeves I just think we are running out of things to moan about - love this thread
    I’m convinced I’ve repeated myself numerous times 😂
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    A publicly-funded journey that didn't have to be made.
    Aye, ok