View Poll Results: What is your attitude to a new "Rangers" entering at Div1?

1016. You may not vote on this poll
  • Opposed - and will walk away from Scottish professional football

537 52.85%
  • Opposed - but will continue to support the game.

454 44.69%
  • In favour.

25 2.46%
Page 1506 of 1507 FirstFirst ... 50610061406145614961504150515061507 LastLast
Results 45,151 to 45,180 of 45185
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I haven't believed the 49ers thing since the story broke. Half a billion confetti shares (and some of those are currently up for sale I believe with no takers) and a dilapidated stadium. If those people have serious money to invest I suspect they'll be looking to England, plenty of teams there with good potential.
    Harry has there been any press reports in the states about the 49ers proposed investment in Rangers?

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Harry has there been any press reports in the states about the 49ers proposed investment in Rangers?
    Not that I've seen but honestly there's little or no interest in this region. NFL and Baseball are huge here between the Texans, Cowboys and Astros with the football (soccer ) fraternity being Hispanic for the most part and following the top teams in England plus Real, Barcelona etc etc. I'd love to see some credible news over here that proved it real but I'm not holding my breath waiting.
    Last edited by HoboHarry; 03-04-2025 at 05:33 PM.

Not that I've seen but honestly there's little or no interest in this region. The football (soccer ) fraternity are Hispanic for the most part and follow the top teams in England plus Real, Barcelona etc etc. I'd love to see some credible news over here that proved it real but I'm not holding my breath waiting.
    They will need to change the state name to Tejas then?😁

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    They will need to change the state name to Tejas then?😁
    Aye you should write and suggest that idea to Trump, that'll go over well

Has he announced any plans to re-name New Mexico yet?

Will end up with a visit from the CIA if I did that.
    When are the Texas Rangers going to be renamed Texas The Rangers.

Not that I've seen but honestly there's little or no interest in this region. NFL and Baseball are huge here between the Texans, Cowboys and Astros with the football (soccer ) fraternity being Hispanic for the most part and following the top teams in England plus Real, Barcelona etc etc. I'd love to see some credible news over here that proved it real but I'm not holding my breath waiting.
    Well if it’s not real there are a lot of fraudsters pretending to be office bearers in various parts of the 49ers set up giving interviews in the newspapers here.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Well if it’s not real there are a lot of fraudsters pretending to be office bearers in various parts of the 49ers set up giving interviews in the newspapers here.
    Maybe it is real, I have no way of knowing. I've just said consistently that I can't imagine why investors would look at a club in Scotland given how broken Sevco are and the prospect of little in return. Maybe they will invest but if they do I suspect it won't be at a level that their half witted support are hoping for.

Absolutely hilarious that the 49rs owners are a huge catholic family.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Maybe it is real, I have no way of knowing. I've just said consistently that I can't imagine why investors would look at a club in Scotland given how broken Sevco are and the prospect of little in return. Maybe they will invest but if they do I suspect it won't be at a level that their half witted support are hoping for.
    Most football investment is like that. It never seems to make financial sense. The Gordon’s buying Hibs was like that.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Most football investment is like that. It never seems to make financial sense. The Gordon’s buying Hibs was like that.

It kinda makes sense to me.

It's about buying something which has the potential to be more valuable than it currently is.

RFC are in a poor state, but have the potential to be something much better. A few seasons in the CL, on the back of player investment, and they will be ripe for selling on at a profit.

Us, perhaps less so. But the logic is there. In turnover terms, we are starting to move in the right direction.

It's risky, of course, as so many things are outwith your control..... bad decisions, player mistakes, dodgy pitches....but the 49'ers guys will have been there before.

Quote Originally Posted by Not In The Know View Post
    If that’s true - then you can only assume they’ve not done their due diligence.

Aiming to bring success and happiness to an explicitly anti-catholic institution. Bizarre.

Unless they’re targeting liquidation2, in which case best of luck 49ers 👍

Quote Originally Posted by Not In The Know View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by SickBoy32 View Post
    If that’s true - then you can only assume they’ve not done their due diligence.

Aiming to bring success and happiness to an explicitly anti-catholic institution. Bizarre.

Unless they’re targeting liquidation2, in which case best of luck 49ers ��
    https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...x-deal-5063022

The 49ers are owned by the York family, who are Catholic philanthropists.

The guy involved in the RFC takeover is one of their vice-presidents, not their owner. Paraag Marathe..... I've no idea what faith he is. Maybe he's one of the Kilkenny Marathes

The 49ers themselves are not funding the deal.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 05-04-2025 at 09:42 AM.

https://www.glasgowworld.com/sport/f...mber-2-5066816

Dream ticket

Big Sam and wee Bam. The 49ers can't be giving them any money by the looks of things.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Ann Budge has made a small fortune from her investment. Bought them for £2.5m, got paid back in full while holding on to 17.4%, has loaned them several million and as confirmed by their accounts,they're charged at standard market rates. Millions gets donated to the club every year to improve the infrastructure (new stand, hotel, restaurant) while Budge puts in nothing. All of which has grown the value of the club, quoted in the media as Bloom investing up to £10m for, what was it 25%? Which would value them at £40m. Sounds high to me but based on that, Budge's 17.4% would be worth £7m. So a tidy profit of £7m plus whatever she's made in interest.

I find it hilarious that the fans and Anderson are plowing in millions for nothing in return whilst Budge is plowing in nothing for millions in return.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    Ann Budge has made a small fortune from her investment. Bought them for £2.5m, got paid back in full while holding on to 17.4%, has loaned them several million and as confirmed by their accounts,they're charged at standard market rates. Millions gets donated to the club every year to improve the infrastructure (new stand, hotel, restaurant) while Budge puts in nothing. All of which has grown the value of the club, quoted in the media as Bloom investing up to £10m for, what was it 25%? Which would value them at £40m. Sounds high to me but based on that, Budge's 17.4% would be worth £7m. So a tidy profit of £7m plus whatever she's made in interest.

I find it hilarious that the fans and Anderson are plowing in millions for nothing in return whilst Budge is plowing in nothing for millions in return.
    In terms of being a football supporter it sucks. In terms of being a business person it’s genius. Remember she was reported as having taken a lot of advice from STF. There are a lot of parallels there but at least STF never claimed to be a supporter.

The board's decision on what to do with Barry is now in...

TimeToGoBarry.jpg

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    I just watched the BBC interview with Ferguson. He needs some serious therapy. Mr Angry doesn’t cover it. Brilliant!
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    I just watched the BBC interview with Ferguson. He needs some serious therapy. Mr Angry doesn’t cover it. Brilliant!
    I actually think he’s playing at being angry. He’s popped on the blazer , brown brogues and puffed his chest out telling them all what it’s like to play for Rangurs when really he’s a clueless thicko. If he’d been that angry he wouldn’t be available for interview and would still have them in the changing room with Doddsy or McCann sent instead. They’re a bunch of chancers. McGregor’s actually managed to make Butland worse and not a winner amongst the playing staff. questionable whether the management team have it in them any more either. **** them all.
    Last edited by greenlex; 06-04-2025 at 10:12 AM.

The Rangers lose five successive home games

Loving it

Is there anything funnier than Kris Boyd saying stuff like "maybe the shirts too heavy for a lot of rangers players". Has he wiped out that season in the championship when he was fat as **** and waddling around the park whilst Rangers finished third in the championship and lost multiple games to Hibs, Hearts and the likes of Alloa and Queen of the South too.

I remember the 4-0 game at Easter Road he came on at half time and should have been sent off about 3 times within 5 minutes. Running about elbowing folk off the ball

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I actually think he’s playing at. Ring angry. He’s popped on the blazer , brown brogues and puffed his chest out telling them all what it’s like to play for Rangurs when really he’s a clueless thicko. If he’d been that angry he wouldn’t be available for interview and would still have them in the changing room with Doddsy or McCann sent instead. They’re a bunch of chancers. McGregor’s actually managed to make Butland worse and not a winner amongst the playing staff. questionable whether the management team have it in them any more either. **** them all.
    Yep, he's just a poor man's "Bomber" Brown. Looks like the orange car and surrounding him with a wee gang of huns isn't going to cut it in a post 17th century world.

Where's my Atletico Bilbao top.........

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I actually think he’s playing at being angry. He’s popped on the blazer , brown brogues and puffed his chest out telling them all what it’s like to play for Rangurs when really he’s a clueless thicko. If he’d been that angry he wouldn’t be available for interview and would still have them in the changing room with Doddsy or McCann sent instead. They’re a bunch of chancers. McGregor’s actually managed to make Butland worse and not a winner amongst the playing staff. questionable whether the management team have it in them any more either. **** them all.
    It comes across a bit insincere but with that recent record and the way they’re being outfought every week, any manager with any credibility should be furious.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    It comes across a bit insincere but with that recent record and the way they’re being outfought every week, any manager with any credibility should be furious.
    The credibility bit might be the problem here?

I thought the wee ned was honest. His team are crap and has no heart for league matches unless it's Celtic. His anger is the reason why he won't make it as a manager. He can't accept players are different from his time as a player. Shouting and being angry is not coaching. None of his coaching staff have been successful in management or coaching. Long may it continue

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    The credibility bit might be the problem here?

But he was the staunchest candidate available to work for buttons!

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    But he was the staunchest candidate available to work for buttons!
    Was it buy one get three free?

It was noticeable that he was saying exactly the same thing, in exactly the same angry voice and with the same angry expressions, at every different interview. Kind of hard to stay genuinely angry for that long and not mellow or escalate. Looks like false anger acting to me.

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    It was noticeable that he was saying exactly the same thing, in exactly the same angry voice and with the same angry expressions, at every different interview. Kind of hard to stay genuinely angry for that long and not mellow or escalate. Looks like false anger acting to me.
    Acting like a typically entitled, crazed, irrational The Rangers fan, not a professional head coach. Just a wee Glesga keelie.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    I remember the 4-0 game at Easter Road he came on at half time and should have been sent off about 3 times within 5 minutes.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
    Mentioning that game, I thought it would be good to relive one of my favourite games against The Rangers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6N2Gfhgv7RA