Page 470 of 474 FirstFirst ... 370420460468469470471472 ... LastLast
Results 14,071 to 14,100 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I know we’re in in a flexible world and focussed on work life balance, as it should be. However is it normal to be on a teams call and one of the stakeholders, and their camera is on, has a treadmill under their standing desk and walking on it during the call? Didn’t have any impact on their input to the call, just looked very odd. Or am I an out of touch dinosaur?
    Don’t think it’s that common, but not really abnormal either. I know of people doing it to lessen the effect of sitting at a desk all day.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    Don’t think it’s that common, but not really abnormal either. I know of people doing it to lessen the effect of sitting at a desk all day.
    Someone I work with got a standing desk and for the first couple of weeks, you'd just see her start going up and down on calls as she tried to get it to a comfortable height

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I know we’re in in a flexible world and focussed on work life balance, as it should be. However is it normal to be on a teams call and one of the stakeholders, and their camera is on, has a treadmill under their standing desk and walking on it during the call? Didn’t have any impact on their input to the call, just looked very odd. Or am I an out of touch dinosaur?
    Aye, it's not "common" but it's defo a thing.

Pancake day.

Why the **** are stupid wee pancakes so hard to make? Supposed to be fun little activity with the family that ends up with Mum and Dad stressed and the two bairns acting like they’ve just been told Santa isn’t coming because they’re pancakes look like they’ve been dug up from St Mirrens pitch.

I couldn’t have the hob on any lower, I could probably hold my hand on top of it and get a nice warmth, yet the edges of my pancake resembled something that fell out of Chernobyl’s reactor even though the middle was still raw.

Have you ever seen a pancake smoking on a plate? I have.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Lost count how many times when I go to the kitchen sink to rinse out a cup or bowl I manage to angle it just right to send a stream of water flying out the cup straight onto the worktop or down the front of me.

The pictures/cinema, why the **** do they make them so comfortable nowadays 😖 I admit its been a good few years that I went to the pictures but the past few times I did go I fell asleep and embarrassingly snored and grunted my head off, the seats are too ****ing cosy and I am unable to go because I fall asleep ! 😖

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    The pictures/cinema, why the **** do they make them so comfortable nowadays 😖 I admit its been a good few years that I went to the pictures but the past few times I did go I fell asleep and embarrassingly snored and grunted my head off, the seats are too ****ing cosy and I am unable to go because I fall asleep ! 😖

On a related note:

Why does the sound have to be so bl**dy loud, even in the pre-film ads?

We went to the Odeon at the weekend and I actually had to go out after about ten minutes of ads because my ears hurt.

It's bad enough that you have them forced on you for 20 plus minutes but there's literally no need for that volume.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    On a related note:

We went to the Odeon at the weekend and I actually had to go out after about ten minutes of ads because my ears hurt.

It's bad enough that you have them forced on you for 20 plus minutes but there's literally no need for that volume.
    Wondered about that too and now I think I’ve cracked it , it’s either to try and wake folk up snoring and grunting or just to drown them out 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    Wondered about that too and now I think I’ve cracked it , it’s either to try and wake folk up snoring and grunting or just to drown them out 😂

On a related note:

Oh **** I’m in this camp.

Took the wee man to a film last year and it was needlessly loud.

Adverts are bad enough but the film could have been 20% quieter and nobody would have batted and eyelid.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Cling film that doesn’t cling.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Cling film that doesn’t cling.
    Just film then?

Sitting on the Glasgow bus heading to a gig and the number of ignorant gets sitting taking up 2 seats with their bags beside them whilst people are look for seats, grinds my gears.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Sitting on the Glasgow bus heading to a gig and the number of ignorant gets sitting taking up 2 seats with their bags beside them whilst people are look for seats, grinds my gears.
    Aye, that does my head in too.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    That's a flag for me to sit down beside them, and I take up a lot of space.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    That's a flag for me to sit down beside them, and I take up a lot of space.
    I tend to do that too. 🤭

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I tend to do that too. 🤭
    Me too. On a bus in Edinburgh I just let my legs give way until I was squashing a woman's shopping!😉 She made a right fuss while I thanked her for letting me sit down. 🤣
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Oh ****ing buses !! 🤬 I was sat next to someone recently who lets just say was rather chunky so it was a bit of a sweaty leggy journey. I then realised she had a mobile phone in her pocket that was on vibrate (Im positive it was a phone) Every ****ing time her phone vibrated I ****ing **** myself and thought I was getting electric shocks 🤬

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    The worst ones are the folk who sit in the outside seat and leave the window seat either empty or for their bags/rucksacks.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AFKA5814_Hibs View Post
    The worst ones are the folk who sit in the outside seat and leave the window seat either empty or for their bags/rucksacks.
    I can't tell if they genuinely think they've came up with some sort of "life hack" with this, realise that they're being ****s and just don't care, or are genuinely just lost to the world around them and just sat at the first seat that took their fancy.
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Working from home, or rather folk that work from home.
    Last year I was trimming my hedge around 2pm on a weekday afternoon when a neighbour I barely knew asked me to "maybe do it later" as they were on a Teams call and the noise was distracting.
    Then yesterday afternoon, whilst doing a little DIY in my garage around lunchtime, another neighbour has now came out and asked if I can do it at the weekend as they're working from home.
    No, no I'll not do it later, I am home and not working so I have little jobs I need to catch up on.
    If folk are so sensitive to nose during the working day, maybe head back in to the sanctuary offered by their office?!?
    The irony is I do shifts, when I'm sleeping in the a.m they think nothing of mowing their lawns or getting skips delivered (seems to be a regular occurrence) but the difference is I know to expect levels of noise during the day.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Last year I was trimming my hedge around 2pm on a weekday afternoon when a neighbour I barely knew asked me to "maybe do it later" as they were on a Teams call and the noise was distracting.
    Then yesterday afternoon, whilst doing a little DIY in my garage around lunchtime, another neighbour has now came out and asked if I can do it at the weekend as they're working from home.
    No, no I'll not do it later, I am home and not working so I have little jobs I need to catch up on.
    If folk are so sensitive to nose during the working day, maybe head back in to the sanctuary offered by their office?!?
    The irony is I do shifts, when I'm sleeping in the a.m they think nothing of mowing their lawns or getting skips delivered (seems to be a regular occurrence) but the difference is I know to expect levels of noise during the day.
    I work from home full time and I wouldn't dream of trying to dictate to others how they spend their time.
    Headphones are great for cutting out external noise, maybe they've never heard of them before. When I wear mine I miss parcel deliveries and all sorts. Someone could waltz in to the house, help themselves to whatever they fancy and piss off again without me noticing.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Logging in to my computer.

It gives a million different options to log in but seems to randomly rotate them.

The worst 2 are the facial recognition and finger print scanner, both only work once in every 4 or 5 attempts. The FR is the worst, sit there for 30 seconds while it tries identify you before it says "you need to use your password".

Adds needless irritation to the morning.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    I work from home full time and I wouldn't dream of trying to dictate to others how they spend their time.
    Headphones are great for cutting out external noise, maybe they've never heard of them before. When I wear mine I miss parcel deliveries and all sorts. Someone could waltz in to the house, help themselves to whatever they fancy and piss off again without me noticing.
    ...and what's your address?

Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    I wouldn't dream of doing that when I work from home. We get a fair bit of noise at lunchtimes as we live next to two secondary schools and for some reason the kids' play park that's part of our development has become the lunchtime hangout spot for what seems like entire roll of both schools (I'm exaggerating). I wouldn't dream of saying anything to them.

Before we moved here, and still during covid times (May/June 2021), we had a similar situation to you. We had a gap between moving from the old place to the new place so were renting a flat in Leith that was an AirBnB. One day, I was on a work call and my wife had not long left for work when there was a knock at the door. Answered it and it was the woman who lived downstairs complaining that she could hear us moving around the flat, could hear us flush the toilet and could sometimes hear us talking on Teams calls. Apparently it was very distracting for her when she was on Teams calls and when she was working. She told us they were used to not having anyone above them as the flat had been vacant since the start of the pandemic so she told us (not asked) that we should refrain from moving during day, not flush the toilet and keep Teams calls to a minimum. I politely told her where to go.

A couple of weeks later we got woken up early doors on a Monday morning (7 ish) with banging - turned out that the same folk were getting full kitchen and bathroom refurbishments and new windows put in. It was noisy from like 7 to 3 every day for a couple of weeks. Was very tempted to go complain but my wife stopped me.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    ...and what's your address?

I've **** all worth nicking mate I wouldn't waste your time

Sir Alex Ferguson

To be prepared, I'm just writing details for my Wife's Death Certificate.

Cause of Death: Repeated and long lasting failure to finish her bl**dy sentences.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

Cause of Death: Repeated and long lasting failure to finish her bl**dy sentences.
    I'm a ******* for finishing people's sentences for them, especially when their sentences are filled with lots of ehs, ums and ems. Probably makes me very popular

Nothing worse than people who don't
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Nothing worse than people who don't

I know, I was just saying the other day...