Page 4 of 20 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Block Seven

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Over reacting much?

People saying they go to a match for the football not the drums are wanting to ‘ban all atmosphere’? And no one has said anything about jailing anyone banging a drum. Calm down and read what’s being said instead of making up nonsense
    Over reacting? The reply was to a poster who said the police should be cracking down on Ultra behaviour in this country as it may escalate to the type of behaviour led by ultras in different countries.

Its not exactly going to escalate to the issues caused in different countries now is it?

To give a bit of kudos to them the atmosphere at recent games I've been at and watched on the TV has been much improved. There's clearly been a lot of learning that they aren't going to win favour with the club or other fans if they choose to make it their own little party with 50 of them singing songs only they know.

The recent renditions of GGTTH have been brilliant and they've taken the other fans at games along with them.

Saying ER would be a morgue without them is just bollocks though, the atmosphere takes care of itself and fans are more likely to sing and get involved with better performances on the pitch. It was the case before any of these singing sections/ultras groups and will be the same if and when these things go out of fashion.

If you cause problems - like pre-meditated attacks on supporters like at St Mirren where they stashed objects to throw at them - then you will receive attention from the Police. I don't want to see people kettled and ID'd as has happened recently but dare I say it comes with territory of carrying illegal fireworks and fighting other fans.

Numerous examples of them causing bother over the last couple of years, so I'd say they are reaping what they sow.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    To give a bit of kudos to them the atmosphere at recent games I've been at and watched on the TV has been much improved. There's clearly been a lot of learning that they aren't going to win favour with the club or other fans if they choose to make it their own little party with 50 of them singing songs only they know.

The recent renditions of GGTTH have been brilliant and they've taken the other fans at games along with them.

Saying ER would be a morgue without them is just bollocks though, the atmosphere takes care of itself and fans are more likely to sing and get involved with better performances on the pitch. It was the case before any of these singing sections/ultras groups and will be the same if and when these things go out of fashion.

If you cause problems - like pre-meditated attacks on supporters like at St Mirren where they stashed objects to throw at them - then you will receive attention from the Police. I don't want to see people kettled and ID'd as has happened recently but dare I say it comes with territory of carrying illegal fireworks and fighting other fans.

Numerous examples of them causing bother over the last couple of years, so I'd say they are reaping what they sow.
    This. Just to be clear that while no objects should be thrown at anyone, the objects thrown at St Mirren were thrown at a group containing Hibs fans. The 'pagger' that was filmed followed that and the 'police harassment' followed that.

Quote Originally Posted by Thatdayinmay16 View Post
    You mean before when Since1875 generated noise and had to then wrap it due to harassment from police Scotland?
    No I mean before any organised groups existed and somehow we managed just fine to create an atmosphere at Easter Road!

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    No I mean before any organised groups existed and somehow we managed just fine to create an atmosphere at Easter Road!
    Just this. There were great times at ER before we had groups self appoint themselves as the people to start songs.

Even at the times the atmosphere wasn’t great, it’s because it’s reflective of what’s on the pitch. What difference does adding drums and songs for which the majority of can’t be joined in with? Everyone’s still sitting pissed off at the football anyway, it’s just there’s extra unrelated noise as well.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Just this. There were great times at ER before we had groups self appoint themselves as the people to start songs.

Even at the times the atmosphere wasn’t great, it’s because it’s reflective of what’s on the pitch. What difference does adding drums and songs for which the majority of can’t be joined in with? Everyone’s still sitting pissed off at the football anyway, it’s just there’s extra unrelated noise as well.
    So by removing block 7 you'd be happy to sit in silence in a doom and gloom atmosphere when things aren't going great? Sound's riveting.

I'd rather 10 drums blasting away while were playing crap than to sit and let others bring me down regardless of how well or badly were doing.

I'm not sure why you'd rather sit in a boring/negative atmosphere while things are going badly rather than letting some lads attempt to produce some positivity/atmosphere from the stands.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    You mean before when Since1875 generated noise and had to then wrap it due to harassment from police Scotland?
    I remember when the main stand started chants and songs back in the day. Nobody needed a drum then!😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    I remember when the main stand started chants and songs back in the day. Nobody needed a drum then!😉
    Hibees clap clap clap is long gone sadly. The whole stadium would always join in with it as well.

So by removing block 7 you'd be happy to sit in silence in a doom and gloom atmosphere when things aren't going great? Sound's riveting.

I'd rather 10 drums blasting away while were playing crap than to sit and let others bring me down regardless of how well or badly were doing.

I'm not sure why you'd rather sit in a boring/negative atmosphere while things are going badly rather than letting some lads attempt to produce some positivity/atmosphere from the stands.
    It's still negative, and made worse by a drum banging away for 90 minutes.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Over reacting? The reply was to a poster who said the police should be cracking down on Ultra behaviour in this country as it may escalate to the type of behaviour led by ultras in different countries.

Its not exactly going to escalate to the issues caused in different countries now is it?

Yes overreacting. You accused a poster of wanting people jailed for banging a drum - nothing of the sort was said, but you carry on making up nonsense.

You also suggested another wanted to do away with any kind of atmosphere - just an FYI, but B7 aren’t the sole arbitrators of creating an atmosphere, and plenty atmosphere existed before B7 and any other singing section existed.

Removing B7 means we’d be sitting in silence in a room and gloom atmosphere? Aye ok They weren’t at Villa Park but the Hibs fans seemed to generate a decent atmosphere just fine without them.

Do you actually go to Easter Road for the football or to support Block 7? You’re acting like a fanboy who can’t stand to see any criticism of their beloved boyband, and seem more interested in them singing/drumming than why most people are there.

But since you think the stadium will be a boring/negative atmosphere if B7 aren’t drumming, I assume you’ll not be attending if the drumming ever stops

Yes overreacting. You accused a poster of wanting people jailed for banging a drum - nothing of the sort was said, but you carry on making up nonsense.

You also suggested another wanted to do away with any kind of atmosphere - just an FYI, but B7 aren’t the sole arbitrators of creating an atmosphere, and plenty atmosphere existed before B7 and any other singing section existed.

Removing B7 means we’d be sitting in silence in a room and gloom atmosphere? Aye ok They weren’t at Villa Park but the Hibs fans seemed to generate a decent atmosphere just fine without them.

Do you actually go to Easter Road for the football or to support Block 7? You’re acting like a fanboy who can’t stand to see any criticism of their beloved boyband, and seem more interested in them singing/drumming than why most people are there.

But since you think the stadium will be a boring/negative atmosphere if B7 aren’t drumming, I assume you’ll not be attending if the drumming ever stops
    I've mentioned several times throughout the thread my personal thoughts on them but thanks for overlooking this.

You've mentioned one away game, the stadium atmosphere has gotten worse since the new east stand was built, don't act as if this isn't the case. Away games are generally a whole different atmosphere, your not going to generate the same atmosphere at home against St Mirren than when 4-5 thousand folk are travelling away to a game against one of the biggest sides in England are you when they've taken days off work and spent 10 hours on the drink?

As for my message about the drummer being arrested, It's sad to see sarcasm wasted on you.

I'm also not saying B7 are the sole reason that atmosphere at ER exists, but it would be a whole lot worse without them currently doing what they are.

It's sad that people think they only go to games to sign and bang a drum, would you really spend hundreds if not thousands of pounds per year travelling Scotland if you were only interested in banging a drum for 90 minutes, the answer is no btw.

I've mentioned several times throughout the thread my personal thoughts on them but thanks for overlooking this.

You've mentioned one away game, the stadium atmosphere has gotten worse since the new east stand was built, don't act as if this isn't the case. Away games are generally a whole different atmosphere, your not going to generate the same atmosphere at home against St Mirren than when 4-5 thousand folk are travelling away to a game against one of the biggest sides in England are you when they've taken days off work and spent 10 hours on the drink?

As for my message about the drummer being arrested, It's sad to see sarcasm wasted on you.

I'm also not saying B7 are the sole reason that atmosphere at ER exists, but it would be a whole lot worse without them currently doing what they are.

It's sad that people think they only go to games to sign and bang a drum, would you really spend hundreds if not thousands of pounds per year travelling Scotland if you were only interested in banging a drum for 90 minutes, the answer is no btw.

It’s sad that you’re making up things that haven’t been said by anyone, but thanks for doing that just to try to be patronising

Several away games over at least a couple of years have been affected by their behaviour. My eighty one year old dad no longer wants to go to away games after a confrontation with them after they took over our seats, and given where he lives now it’s very difficult to get him through to Edinburgh.

If they could semi-behave and respect other Hibs fans then there’s a place for them. As it is, where the ultras go trouble seems to follow and even if they are singing a few more Hibs songs until the above changes they can do one.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

It’s sad that you’re making up things that haven’t been said by anyone, but thanks for doing that just to try to be patronising
    A previous poster mentioned that some of them should stay at home or go to a park as they only seem to be interested in banging the drum and not watching the game.

I'd suggest reading the whole thread before making assumptions.

A previous poster mentioned that some of them should stay at home or go to a park as they only seem to be interested in banging the drum and not watching the game.

That is partly true though isn’t it? As an example, the guy on the megaphone doesn’t even face the pitch

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibees View Post
    That is partly true though isn’t it? As an example, the guy on the megaphone doesn’t even face the pitch
    I understand why its been said, but at the end of the day the guy spends his money however he sees fit.

Not for us to dictate what he spends his Saturday at ER doing.

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibees View Post
    That makes me laugh, not just the Hibs ultras but most of them have a guy on a megaphone who never actually watches the game! Not for us to dictate but okay for them to try and dictate where they sit at away games. I get the general intention of these guys but they do themselves no favours with their mob mentality of intimidation at times.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 19-03-2025 at 04:27 PM.

I understand why its been said, but at the end of the day the guy spends his money however he sees fit.

Not for us to dictate what he spends his Saturday at ER doing.
    People who have their seats taken over by B7 at away games spend their money too. They are entitled to the seats they paid for.

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar

You make it sound like there was no atmosphere at ER before this mob turned up. It was way better before they turned up.

You also make it sound like their presence ensures an atmosphere. What utter pish. When were enduring our crap run at the start of this season, we barely got a peep out of them during games.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    People who have their seats taken over by B7 at away games spend their money too. They are entitled to the seats they paid for.
    To me, this appears to very rarely be an issue these days.

They came in at Parkhead, wanted to change where they were positioned and it got dealt with. But other than that, they’re pretty much always in the pre advertised area as far as I can see.

I find them a bit nippy at times but don’t see this as much of an issue now.

Just read the Block 7 statement again and I am very concerned about 2 things they allege happened to them at the hands of the Police.
    They state "After being detained in a kettle for over an hour and a camera shoved down our faces"
    That is an alarming and unprecedented level of Police brutality although i'm not sure how either feat was achieved.

Sounds like the Green Brigade got off very lightly on Sunday.
    From what I read they just got kettled by the Police and had their photo taken.

A few other observations for Block 7;
    Get someone a bit brighter to write your statements.
    Read over and amend your statements before publishing.
    Learn about Section 60 Police powers as they apply to you and comply with them.
    You come across as a right bunch of whiny ninnies.

P.S. If away supporters attend a game and find Block 7 have stolen their seats simply threaten to put them inside a kettle and shove a camera down their face. They will immediately vacate your seat and rush away to empty their incontinence pants leaving you free to take up your seat.
    Last edited by PHeffernan; 19-03-2025 at 10:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Go Bragh View Post
    Hibees clap clap clap is long gone sadly. The whole stadium would always join in with it as well.
    And a crying shame that is, too. Some songs come and go, but that's like losing our national anthem.

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    And a crying shame that is, too. Some songs come and go, but that's like losing our national anthem.
    Does anyone know if it was the same person that started it or was it just anyone who sat behind the wooden advertisement boards?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Go Bragh View Post
    Does anyone know if it was the same person that started it or was it just anyone who sat behind the wooden advertisement boards?
    I thought it was feet stamping and clapping together in the old wooden west stand, It was ****ing loud too, nae daft drums neither

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I thought it was feet stamping and clapping together in the old wooden west stand, It was ****ing loud too, nae daft drums neither
    Feet stamping up in the old East was where it would start and it would travel around the stadium.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    That makes me laugh, not just the Hibs ultras but most of them have a guy on a megaphone who never actually watches the game! Not for us to dictate but okay for them to try and dictate where they sit at away games. I get the general intention of these guys but they do themselves no favours with their mob mentality of intimidation at times.
    I was in with the away Paderborn fans at a game against Freiburg years ago and they had these Ultra “coordinators” who never actually watch a single minute of the game. Just face in to the crowd acting like a conductor for the singing and drumming.

Should take your own suggestion, since they were being sarcastic as well, perhaps you missed that in your quest telling everyone else what they should think

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    You could be right and my mind is just playing tricks on me but I’ve always thought the first clap clap clap was someone reaching over and banging the boards.

It was bloody good though. The simplest chants were the best ones.

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    The thing that annoys me is that I recognise the need for people like them to help make the atmosphere better, but the way these Ultra groups behave at times is so embarrassingly cringey that I can't help wish they didn't exist majority of the time. Too many of them watched Green Street/Football Factory and think they're back in the casual era and behave like wee fannies.

I would have no issues with the club working with them to create a dedicated singing/Ultra section (possibly near the front as it seems where they all want to be) of our away sections and say to them "here you go, here is 200 tickets" or whatever amount it is so we can stop this nonsense where they just steal people's seats and then force the issue onto other people. If I take my kids or go with my elderly family members I don't want to turn up and see there's folk in balaclava's in our seats telling me to go find somewhere else, only to have the same conversation with who evers seats I take. Even worse do I want to spend 15 minutes trying to get them to move only to sit amongst their peers anyway for 90 minutes?
    That is so funny and so true, classic
    Last edited by PHeffernan; 19-03-2025 at 10:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Feet stamping up in the old East was where it would start and it would travel around the stadium.
    I was one of the foot stompers in the old East Stand.