Page 268 of 318 FirstFirst ... 168218258266267268269270278 ... LastLast
Results 8,011 to 8,040 of 9524
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    And Sarah Smith's old man will be spinning his grave after her shameful pro-Trump report. Couldn't believe what I was hearing.
    What did she say?

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    Zelensky was asked to leave the white house & a planned news conference abruptly cancelled

shame on Trump, shame on him

putin will be rolling about on the floor pizzing himself laughing
    Putin probably in one of the west wing back offices

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    And Sarah Smith's old man will be spinning his grave after her shameful pro-Trump report. Couldn't believe what I was hearing.
    She should wear a MAGA hat when she is on.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    What did she say?
    Made out that Zelensky was the aggressor basically. Said that he received a "dressing down" from Trump.

She's a terrible journalist and the complete opposite to what her father was.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    A Swedish psychologist's take on the exchange...

"Today it became painfully clear what narcissistic exercise of power and psychopathology look like when Trump humiliated Zelenskyj openly in the Oval Room. In front of the world's accredited journalists, he called Zelenskyj "disrespectful," questioning his loyalty and insinuating that he did not deserve the support of the United States. As if that were not enough, he warned that Zelenskyj could cause a Third World War - a classic psychopathological trait in which threats are used as a means of control.
    It wasn't just a display of bad diplomacy - it was a demonstrative manifestation of power characterized by narcissism and psychopathy.
    Grandiose self-image and need for submission
    - Trump expected Zelenskyj to show gratitude and admiration. When it didn't happen, he punished him in public. People with narcissistic personality disorder cannot handle having their self image questioned and use humiliation as a defense.
    Manipulation and threats
    - Blaming someone for potential disaster is a classic psychopathic tactic. By saying that Zelenskyj is “playing with World War III,” he puts the blame on him, while positioning himself as the only one who can prevent the catastrophe.
    Impulsive and emotionally controlled power exercise
    - When Trump felt challenged by Zelenskyj, he interrupted the meeting abruptly. A stable and strategic leader had handled the situation diplomatically, but a person with psychopathic traits reacts instinctively on the basis of his own sense of loss of control.
    But why did he do this to the press? This is why narcissists and psychopaths love to show their power in public. By humiliating Zelenskyj in front of the world, he is sending a signal—not only to him, but to all leaders and nations: “I am the one in charge, and whoever does not obey will be crushed. ”
    What we saw today was not just a president acting inappropriate. It was a school example of how narcissistic and psychopathic leaders use humiliation, threats, and manipulation to assert their power. And just like in destructive relationships, it's never about building, but about controlling. And why was the agreement about minerals? What does it take to drive a Tesla? Narcissists, dictators, and psychopaths idealize each other and in unholy alliances scratch each other's backs.
    Trump can no longer claim to be leader of the free world. His actions today do not place him among democratic statesmen, but among history's dictators. A true leader builds alliances through respect and diplomacy—a dictator rules through threats, fear, and humiliation. When the fate of the world is at stake, we should not blind our eyes to the difference. We did not see a president today, but a despot in real time."
    Last edited by Smartie; 01-03-2025 at 08:29 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Just watched a fuller version of the meeting …….. incredulously, it started off with one of the assembled Mafia thugs berating Zelensky for not wearing a suit, saying he was being disrespectful. I’ve never felt so much anger and hatred for Trump’s circus and am saddened that a convicted criminal, proud and unashamed misogynist and sexual predator can turn world peace on it’s head. Jeremy Bowen on the BBC news even suggested that the whole thing, from start to finish, might have been stage managed to undermine Zelensky and send a message of support to Putin.

I think there's a very strong possibility that's true.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    A Swedish psychologist's take on the exchange...

"Today it became painfully clear what narcissistic exercise of power and psychopathology look like when Trump humiliated Zelenskyj openly in the Oval Room. In front of the world's accredited journalists, he called Zelenskyj "disrespectful," questioning his loyalty and insinuating that he did not deserve the support of the United States. As if that were not enough, he warned that Zelenskyj could cause a Third World War - a classic psychopathological trait in which threats are used as a means of control.
    It wasn't just a display of bad diplomacy - it was a demonstrative manifestation of power characterized by narcissism and psychopathy.
    Grandiose self-image and need for submission
    - Trump expected Zelenskyj to show gratitude and admiration. When it didn't happen, he punished him in public. People with narcissistic personality disorder cannot handle having their self image questioned and use humiliation as a defense.
    Manipulation and threats
    - Blaming someone for potential disaster is a classic psychopathic tactic. By saying that Zelenskyj is “playing with World War III,” he puts the blame on him, while positioning himself as the only one who can prevent the catastrophe.
    Impulsive and emotionally controlled power exercise
    - When Trump felt challenged by Zelenskyj, he interrupted the meeting abruptly. A stable and strategic leader had handled the situation diplomatically, but a person with psychopathic traits reacts instinctively on the basis of his own sense of loss of control.
    But why did he do this to the press? This is why narcissists and psychopaths love to show their power in public. By humiliating Zelenskyj in front of the world, he is sending a signal—not only to him, but to all leaders and nations: “I am the one in charge, and whoever does not obey will be crushed. ”
    What we saw today was not just a president acting inappropriate. It was a school example of how narcissistic and psychopathic leaders use humiliation, threats, and manipulation to assert their power. And just like in destructive relationships, it's never about building, but about controlling. And why was the agreement about minerals? What does it take to drive a Tesla? Narcissists, dictators, and psychopaths idealize each other and in unholy alliances scratch each other's backs.
    Trump can no longer claim to be leader of the free world. His actions today do not place him among democratic statesmen, but among history's dictators. A true leader builds alliances through respect and diplomacy—a dictator rules through threats, fear, and humiliation. When the fate of the world is at stake, we should not blind our eyes to the difference. We did not see a president today, but a despot in real time."
    If there was ever a notion that Ukraine/Russia would agree a peace deal that seems a million miles away from happening now, that wedge has been driven further in now 🤬

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Just watched a fuller version of the meeting …….. incredulously, it started off with one of the assembled Mafia thugs berating Zelensky for not wearing a suit, saying he was being disrespectful. I’ve never felt so much anger and hatred for Trump’s circus and am saddened that a convicted criminal, proud and unashamed misogynist and sexual predator can turn world peace on it’s head. Jeremy Bowen on the BBC news even suggested that the whole thing, from start to finish, might have been stage managed to undermine Zelensky and send a message of support to Putin.
    Apparently the journalist who attacked zelensky for not wearing a suit in the Whitehouse is Marjory Taylor Green's boyfriend(?) Whatever, he has never once challenged Musk who wears a baseball hat, trainers and a dark tee shirt with an image on it in the oval office.
    Hopefully the so called swasticars sales continue to decline and become more expensive to produce without Ukrainian lithium.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    If there was ever a notion that Ukraine/Russia would agree a peace deal that seems a million miles away from happening now, that wedge has been driven further in now ��
    I'm not totally convinced.

The only thing that had changed recently was that Trump had come to power. He wants to satisfy his own ego by delivering peace and wants a Nobel Peace prize, however he's too stupid to realise that it isn't in his gift to deliver peace and that the sort of peace he describes (forcing Ukraine to capitulate to a dictator) doesn't impress peace prize judges.

The war rages on. 80% of the weapons Ukraine are using - and using to slowly get the upper hand - are coming from Europe now, who have ramped up their production capabilities way in advance of this easily predicted situation arising.

Potential problem as I see it - America deciding to let up on the Russian sanctions. The sanctions are killing the Russian ability to fight the war on anything like an even footing. If the Americans can be convinced to keep up the sanctions (and I'm not convinced Vance and co think it's going to be in their interests to keep them up) then this war swings strongly the way of the Ukrainians this year. What happens at "the moment it finally slips away from Putin" is a scary thought, but one that will need to be confronted at some point.

Congress should stop the USA from outright allying with the Russians (obviously finding ourselves officially on the opposite side to the Americans would be awful) but if Trump's acolytes manage to dismantle enough of the American political infrastructure then that may also eventually be a threat. Not soon though, I don't think.

Worth keeping a wee eye on the Chinese too. Very quiet, very patient, very measured. My hunch is that we might even find ourselves having more common interests with them than those who have been our greatest allies for 80 years. That possibility is one of just many that the morons in the White House should be considering when talking about what cards people have.
    Last edited by Smartie; 01-03-2025 at 09:08 AM.

I'm not totally convinced.

The only thing that had changed recently was that Trump had come to power. He wants to satisfy his own ego by delivering peace and wants a Nobel Peace prize, however he's too stupid to realise that it isn't in his gift to deliver peace and that the sort of peace he describes (forcing Ukraine to capitulate to a dictator) doesn't impress peace prize judges.

The war rages on. 80% of the weapons Ukraine are using - and using to slowly get the upper hand - are coming from Europe now, who have ramped up their production capabilities way in advance of this easily predicted situation arising.

Potential problem as I see it - America deciding to let up on the Russian sanctions. The sanctions are killing the Russian ability to fight the war on anything like an even footing. If the Americans can be convinced to keep up the sanctions (and I'm not convinced Vance and co think it's going to be in their interests to keep them up) then this war swings strongly the way of the Ukrainians this year. What happens at "the moment it finally slips away from Putin" is a scary thought, but one that will need to be confronted at some point.

Congress should stop the USA from outright allying with the Russians (obviously finding ourselves officially on the opposite side to the Americans would be awful) but if Trump's acolytes manage to dismantle enough of the American political infrastructure then that may also eventually be a threat. Not soon though, I don't think.

Worth keeping a wee eye on the Chinese too. Very quiet, very patient, very measured. My hunch is that we might even find ourselves having more common interests with them than those who have been our greatest allies for 80 years. That possibility is one of just many that the morons in the White House should be considering when talking about what cards people have.
    Only Congress can drop the sanctions thankfully. I doubt it is ready to do that.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Only Congress can drop the sanctions thankfully. I doubt it is ready to do that.

I didn't realise that.

Makes sense, really, because Krasnov would probably have done so by now if he were able to.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    It’s absolute gaslighting. I’m horrified at what’s going on in the world just now. It’s like some sick dystopian nightmare.
    iIt really is. America is now backing an authoritarian Russia against an invaded democratic ally. A 180 degree shift from just a few weeks ago when Biden was president. It’s enough to make your head spin. Trump, as usual, has thrown everything into chaos. We can wait for what happens next. Hopefully, this debacle can be pulled back from the brink.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    iIt really is. America is now backing an authoritarian Russia against an invaded democratic ally. A 180 degree shift from just a few weeks ago when Biden was president. It’s enough to make your head spin. Trump, as usual, has thrown everything into chaos. We can wait for what happens next. Hopefully, this debacle can be pulled back from the brink.
    There is no changing Trump. He’s there for 4 years and we have to deal with that. Best thing is to arm Ukraine to the teeth and take Trump out the equation. We have to give the Ukranians what they need to start forcing Russia back. That will require money. Euro has it but it also needs the political will.

Online petition demanding that Trump's invitation to a state visit be rescinded.

https://www.change.org/p/urge-the-go...on?signed=true

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Aye. She almost seemed indignant on Trump’s behalf. Pathetic.

There’s a phrase along the lines of “slowly, slowly… then all at once”.

For a very long time now there has been nothing but bad news for the Russian economy and it’s only been propped up by ever more desperate measures.

The only hope for the Russian economy is Trump.

And re war finance… as the American door closes, keep a wee eye out for an incredibly significant Norwegian one opening.

Europe need to keep stepping up, which of late they have been doing.
    Who are you really Smartie 🤔 mi5

NEXTA
    @nexta_tv
    5 minutes ago
    Norwegians Plan to Launch Mass Production of Air Defense Missiles in Ukraine

Norwegian company Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace is planning to establish missile production for NASAMS air defense systems on Ukrainian territory, company president Eirik Lie announced.

"We are currently setting up a company in Ukraine and actively negotiating with local manufacturers to create a joint venture. Our main goal is to increase the production of NASAMS missiles using Ukrainian technology," Lie said.

The Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace president emphasized that the plan involves mass production of missiles

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Apparently the journalist who attacked zelensky for not wearing a suit in the Whitehouse is Marjory Taylor Green's boyfriend(?) Whatever, he has never once challenged Musk who wears a baseball hat, trainers and a dark tee shirt with an image on it in the oval office.
    Hopefully the so called swasticars sales continue to decline and become more expensive to produce without Ukrainian lithium.

And why was someone so obviously hostile to Zelensky and Ukraine positioned so close to the president? All these things are carefully stage managed, having him there was no coincidence

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Who are you really Smartie 🤔 mi5

NEXTA
    @nexta_tv
    5 minutes ago

Norwegian company Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace is planning to establish missile production for NASAMS air defense systems on Ukrainian territory, company president Eirik Lie announced.

"We are currently setting up a company in Ukraine and actively negotiating with local manufacturers to create a joint venture. Our main goal is to increase the production of NASAMS missiles using Ukrainian technology," Lie said.

The Kongsberg Defence & Aerospace president emphasized that the plan involves mass production of missiles
    Oh dear, if Trump was hoping to weaken Europe as part of his masterplan, it doesn't sound as if that's going too well. There'll be ketchup on the White House walls.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post
    And why was someone so obviously hostile to Zelensky and Ukraine positioned so close to the president? All these things are carefully stage managed, having him there was no coincidence
    Utter set up to please his bosses in Russia

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Who are you really Smartie �� mi5

NEXTA
    @nexta_tv
    5 minutes ago

Me?

Just an ordinary punter with an eye on some obscure corners of the internet that occasionally turn up decent info.

I need to be a bit careful with it though, as I did mention in a WhatsApp group about Xi having his tea poisoned last year, leading to a Chinese delegation leaving a meeting in a hurry. Turned out to be pish, and not the only time I've embarrassingly shared duff info.

Re the post above about Europe - the Europeans aren't all that downhearted about how the meeting went. They know what they need to do and they've known for a long time that they might find themselves in alliance with unpredictable Americans. TBH - gaining the supermotivated Swedes and Finns, getting a more unified Europe and losing the Americans who are drifting towards isolation - isn't the worst "deal" in the world. Imperfect, with downsides, but far from the disaster that it can be painted to be in some "legacy media" quarters.

The most ironic quote from yesterday's clown show in the Oval circus office was when Trump spitting and shouting at Zelensky told him..

"He (Trump) had enabled him (Zelensky) to be a tough guy"

This coming from a multiple draft dodger who claimed bone spurs had stopped him from serving his country ! Even though his medical records have no evidence he ever had so much as a varuka let alone a little bone spur !

Let's be clear here! When America offered to fly Zelensky to safety shortly after the Russian invasion began telling him that Russia would kill him and his family within hours ! He replied that "He needed military equipment not a free plane ride"

If that had been Trump staring down the barrel of a much bigger and much more powerful adversary, who's whole objective from now on and 24/7 would be to kill him !

Trump would have taken those plane tickets and been on board with a big suitcase of money before the first Russian tank crossed the border.

Trump truly is one of the great cowards of history !

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

The Republicans have a 3 seat majority and are more than capable of giving Trump full support. In normal times you would not expect every Republican to vote for extreme measures from their party but with the new, crazy administration, nothing would surprise me.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    Online petition demanding that Trump's invitation to a state visit be rescinded.

https://www.change.org/p/urge-the-go...on?signed=true
    I am certainly no fan of Trump or his motley crew and he will be US president for next 4 years….however if this daft wee visit and a shake of Charlie’s hand provides a better trade deal then let it go ahead

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    I am certainly no fan of Trump or his motley crew and he will be US president for next 4 years….however if this daft wee visit and a shake of Charlie’s hand provides a better trade deal then let it go ahead
    You probably have a point.

That said, I'd hope that people are allowed to show their feelings on the man in a public manner (for and against, of course). Somehow, though, I think things will be sanitised and controlled to the point where there is no obvious newsworthy dissent.

It would be a wonderful legacy for Janey Godley if thousands of people were allowed to show "her" sign.

I don't doubt that it will happen regardless of the petitions, but as CWG says it's an opportunity to let him know how the UK public feel about him.

If it happens in London or Windsor I will do my best to get along to give him the warmest possible "welcome".

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    I don't doubt that it will happen regardless of the petitions, but as CWG says it's an opportunity to let him know how the UK public feel about him.

If it happens in London or Windsor I will do my best to get along to give him the warmest possible "welcome".
    So, if we see on the news an ageing ex-beancounter being arrested for displaying a sign saying "Trump Is a Hearts B*****d".............

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    So, if we see on the news an ageing ex-beancounter being arrested for displaying a sign saying "Trump Is a Hearts B*****d".............
    Insert the word "orange" in that sign and you're damn right.

Oh, and ageing but handsome ex-beancounter.

Wonder how Zelensky is feeling today after that car crash? It’s not about sitting and being dictated to, it’s about prioritising the safety and recovery of his country. Instead he chose to argue with that pair. Still can’t believe it, on live television too. Putin will be lapping it up and rubbing his hands after no doubt being concerned initially at the pressure Trump would put on him.

100%.