Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    Surprised not to have seen Benji’s name yet. Of a similar time, Thomas Sowunmi scoring the winner in a Scottish cup quarter away in Dumfries? Or anyone remember Filipe Morais debut albeit as a trialist at home v Middlesborough?

Jog my memory R.E Benji ? wasnae at Hampden v Hearts was it ?

Sowunmi and his brothers were crap for Hibs imo

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Benji’s debut was a 4-0 defeat to Hearts
    Ah, Hampden? My bad. Worked very hard on erasing that from memory so you can forgive me!

Quote Originally Posted by Hillsidehibby View Post
    I think I remember Steve Archibald's debut was in the League Cup at ER. Stenhousemuir?
    Stranraer I think.
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Jog my memory R.E Benji ? wasnae at Hampden v Hearts was it ?

Sowunmi and his brothers were crap for Hibs imo
    It was, my mistake. Perhaps we can just pretend it was the game he scored the winner and went riot inciting mode in celebration! Yeah they were pish. That game in Dumfries followed by the the game v huns were Charlie Adam scored the 2 free kicks are my only memory of them, one of them at least. Wonder whatever happened to them?

Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    It was, my mistake. Perhaps we can just pretend it was the game he scored the winner and went riot inciting mode in celebration! Yeah they were pish. That game in Dumfries followed by the the game v huns were Charlie Adam scored the 2 free kicks are my only memory of them, one of them at least. Wonder whatever happened to them?

Ran the length of the pitch with his boot to the Hearts fans

Quote Originally Posted by MM19 View Post
    I was going to mention Johnny Graham it was a midweek game I think we had just signed him maybe the day before and he scored. One of my favourite players scored a lot of goals for us.
    Willie Mac bought him from Falkirk for 20K on a Tuesday morning, November 1969. He made his debut that evening against Airdrie where he got a brace in the 3-1 win. He got another brace in his next home match against Dunfermline and his consecutive run of home goals lasted one more match. The 1-1 draw with Motherwell, the scene of the famous shoot magazine photo of Peter Marinello, standing on a snow-covered Easter Road, with the line markings, being the only part of the pitch that had been cleared of snow [with grass visible on either side of the lines, obviously]

Another Ayr connection. Hibs' new manager, Eddie Turnbull, deemed him surplus and let him join his recent ex-teammate, Eric Stevenson, at Ayr.
    Last edited by Ray_; 06-02-2025 at 10:01 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ray_ View Post
    Willie Mac bought him from Falkirk for 20K on a Tuesday morning, November 1969. He made his debut that evening against Airdrie where he got a brace in the 3-1 win. He got another brace in his next home match against Dunfermline and his consecutive run of home goals lasted one more match. The 1-1 draw with Motherwell, the scene of the famous shoot magazine photo of Peter Marinello, standing on a snow-covered Easter Road, with the line markings, being the only part of the pitch that had been cleared of snow [with grass visible on either side of the lines, obviously]

Another Ayr connection. Hibs' new manager, Eddie Turnbull, deemed him surplus and let him join his recent ex-teammate, Eric Stevenson, at Ayr.
    I knew Willie McFarlane had bought him and he had scored pretty soon after we had bought him. I mind of being at the match when he scored and it was a night match. Couldn't mind who it was against though. I remember he scored against Falkirk in the first 10 seconds probably about 1971 I think we were winning 2-0 they brought it back to 2-2 and Joe Baker scored a diving header for the winner. I liked Johnny Graham and Joe McBride they left Hibs too soon.

Quote Originally Posted by MM19 View Post
    I knew Willie McFarlane had bought him and he had scored pretty soon after we had bought him. I mind of being at the match when he scored and it was a night match. Couldn't mind who it was against though. I remember he scored against Falkirk in the first 10 seconds probably about 1971 I think we were winning 2-0 they brought it back to 2-2 and Joe Baker scored a diving header for the winner. I liked Johnny Graham and Joe McBride they left Hibs too soon.
    Pretty sure that Johnny Graham scored against Falkirk in second game of a quarter final league cup game we were down 2-0 and just could not find the other goals that our play deserved that night. he was a good player for Hibs, Joe McBride senior was one of the best goalscorers I ever seen live. We dumped both due to the whim of Tom Hart. So its not that unusual for Hibs to be messed around by owners, we have history.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Pretty sure that Johnny Graham scored against Falkirk in second game of a quarter final league cup game we were down 2-0 and just could not find the other goals that our play deserved that night. he was a good player for Hibs, Joe McBride senior was one of the best goalscorers I ever seen live. We dumped both due to the whim of Tom Hart. So its not that unusual for Hibs to be messed around by owners, we have history.
    Jimmy O’Rourke everyone knows his name scored

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Jimmy O’Rourke everyone knows his name scored
    Right enough Billy, funny how the auld grey matter plays tricks, can still see in my mind a picture of what I thought was JG stooping to head a goal in at the coo Shed end.
    That was a disappointing result as we should have gubbed them. Good crows at ER that night as well, or did I imagine that.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Right enough Billy, funny how the auld grey matter plays tricks, can still see in my mind a picture of what I thought was JG stooping to head a goal in at the coo Shed end.
    That was a disappointing result as we should have gubbed them. Good crows at ER that night as well, or did I imagine that.
    Aye big crowd we battered them but could only score the one

We beat them 6-0 in the League at ER a few weeks later

Was at Brockville for the first leg we pummelled them 0-2 two breakaways another big crowd mind I had to sit on the track
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 08-02-2025 at 04:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    An unusual one for me as a then 12 year old was Johnny Graham’s debut around 1971..? Despite already having a few heroes in the team then, i recall being really excited by him. Sure the crowd were too.
    Yip same one for me. I think he scord two in a three one win. i had just started working [1969] and boss took me to home for my tea and took me to the stand as it was a horrible night.