Andy Dow - signed on a Saturday morning and scored at the PBS in the afternoon.
Thread: First team debuts
-
05-02-2025 01:17 PM #61
-
05-02-2025 01:26 PM #62
Gordon Chisolm scored on his debut in the 1985 Skol cup semi final we won 2-0 at Easter road
Random aken , But i've just watched the 2nd leg of the return game at Ibrox which we lost 1-0 ( We Progressed through over 2 legs ) and for over 40 years i was adamant Davie Cooper scored at the rangers end but in the clip i watched he scored at the hibs end !!!
Even as a wee 9 year old laddie i have had this image in my head for years watching his free kick sail into the top corner from the other end of the pitch , Only thing i kin think off is my Dad took me and him into the Rangers end which would make sense seeing him score from the other end of the pitch , But not in his life would he take me into that cesspit home end
Scary man , For over 40 years i have lived with that goal lolLast edited by HibbyAndy; 05-02-2025 at 01:30 PM.
-
05-02-2025 01:28 PM #63
-
05-02-2025 01:29 PM #64This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Was a hibs kids game that day , We were situated in the now West stand upper towards the away end with brootle hard wooden seats
Aye Gareth came of the bench with a peach of a diving heider
-
05-02-2025 02:58 PM #65This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Motherwell was his first start.
-
05-02-2025 03:10 PM #66
-
05-02-2025 03:24 PM #67This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-02-2025 03:26 PM #68This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Johnny Graham had signed that afternoon scored a brace in a 3-1 win versus Airdrieonians Peter Cormack getting the other goal Dave Marshall for them
Every Hibs goal in the second half downhill met with a good natured pitch invasion from the Cave
We thought we had found a new hero long hair shirt outside the shorts but Eddie Turnbull didn’t fancy him
RIPLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 05-02-2025 at 03:28 PM.
-
05-02-2025 03:31 PM #69This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-02-2025 03:38 PM #70This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Willie MacFarlane resigned in protest prior to kick off
Hart dropped our top scorer Joe McBride to the bench as he wanted him to move permanently through to Edinburgh from Glasgow
Graham was dropped totally for the game and eventually spent 5 years at Ayr United before rejoining Falkirk
-
05-02-2025 03:46 PM #71
Kenny Davidson, 18 when made home debut having just come back from beating Malmo in Sweden (we had beat then 6-0 at home) they got there revenge a few years ago. Kenny played against St Mirren on the Sat, scoring 2 goals we thought we had the new Marinello, he was some player but used too much and played to often he got his leg broke the next season, never lost a game at the gimps place.
Some great games in the same team that Joe Baker returned to.
-
05-02-2025 03:53 PM #72
Another on Graham Harvey
Scored on his debut after signing from Ormiston
After a season or so went on to play at a decent level further down the league
-
05-02-2025 04:24 PM #73
-
05-02-2025 06:44 PM #74
Gordon Rae’s second game 3 days after his debut was at Ibrox.Score 2-0 for the goodies. Scorers Rae and Auld.(maybe not Auld!)
-
05-02-2025 07:06 PM #75This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-02-2025 07:10 PM #76This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-02-2025 07:12 PM #77This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Was it against Raith Rovers?
-
05-02-2025 07:42 PM #78
Scott Brown, came off the bench against the sheep and set up 3 goals. Rob Jones, fair enough that was against Dinaburg who were one of the worst teams I've seen us play, but I remember the cheers everytime he won a header as we finally had a decent centre half to go with a great midfield and attack (goalie was still s**t though!)
-
05-02-2025 07:51 PM #79
Did anyone see Maolida doing what he did after his debut?
Dreadful, but wow did he turn it around."...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
05-02-2025 07:53 PM #80
-
05-02-2025 08:09 PM #81This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Bananarama covered it though.
-
05-02-2025 08:10 PM #82
-
05-02-2025 08:35 PM #83This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Before anyone tries to convince me otherwise using things like facts. I don't care. I've made my mind up, this is a hill I die on 😁
-
05-02-2025 09:25 PM #84
Martin Boyle's second debut was alright.
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
05-02-2025 10:01 PM #85
-
06-02-2025 03:22 AM #86
Jonathan Baillie, if I recall correctly a quarter final against Celtic and he strolled it and we won the game, felt like the start of an amazing career that never took off and then he was baldy injured and had to retire.
-
06-02-2025 09:27 AM #87
-
06-02-2025 02:58 PM #88This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-02-2025 09:05 PM #89
Surprised not to have seen Benji’s name yet. Of a similar time, Thomas Sowunmi scoring the winner in a Scottish cup quarter away in Dumfries? Or anyone remember Filipe Morais debut albeit as a trialist at home v Middlesborough?
-
06-02-2025 09:09 PM #90This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote