Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    Andy Dow - signed on a Saturday morning and scored at the PBS in the afternoon.

Gordon Chisolm scored on his debut in the 1985 Skol cup semi final we won 2-0 at Easter road

Random aken , But i've just watched the 2nd leg of the return game at Ibrox which we lost 1-0 ( We Progressed through over 2 legs ) and for over 40 years i was adamant Davie Cooper scored at the rangers end but in the clip i watched he scored at the hibs end !!!

Even as a wee 9 year old laddie i have had this image in my head for years watching his free kick sail into the top corner from the other end of the pitch , Only thing i kin think off is my Dad took me and him into the Rangers end which would make sense seeing him score from the other end of the pitch , But not in his life would he take me into that cesspit home end

Scary man , For over 40 years i have lived with that goal lol
    Last edited by HibbyAndy; 05-02-2025 at 01:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Me too. Scored some cracking goals in the First Division.

Lost his way a bit when the Sauzee, Latapy era really started to take shape.

I don't think we really saw the central midfielder in him that he went on to become. Funny, because my mate played with him as a youth at Accies and said he was an absolutely phenomenal central midfielder back in the day but had sort of evolved into a winger.
    He probably got his early chances as a winger because of his relatively diminutive stature. I also remember being really pleased when we signed him as he looked like a real talent in the making coming up through the leagues. We really missed a trick not spotting that central midfield talent though. His chances at making the breakthrough were probably limited at the time due to the money that was splashing about resulting in the likes of Latapy and Sauzee ahead of him in the pecking order.

Quote Originally Posted by foxy View Post
    That game was played on 28th December 1991 and Gareth did score 2 goals but he signed for Hibs in 1988 and scored the winner (a diving header) on his debut on February 6th 1988 against Dundee at Easter Road.

Was a hibs kids game that day , We were situated in the now West stand upper towards the away end with brootle hard wooden seats

Aye Gareth came of the bench with a peach of a diving heider

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Melkersen v Motherwell. Thought we had a superstar on our hands
    Melks debut was a 0-0 draw at Dens Park.

Motherwell was his first start.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    An unusual one for me as a then 12 year old was Johnny Graham’s debut around 1971..? Despite already having a few heroes in the team then, i recall being really excited by him. Sure the crowd were too.
    What was the song again Hey Hey Hey Johnny Graham💚

An unusual one for me as a then 12 year old was Johnny Graham’s debut around 1971..? Despite already having a few heroes in the team then, i recall being really excited by him. Sure the crowd were too.
    I was going to mention Johnny Graham it was a midweek game I think we had just signed him maybe the day before and he scored. One of my favourite players scored a lot of goals for us.

Quote Originally Posted by inglisavhibs View Post
    Pretty sure it was Johnny Graham King O Scotland repeat

Johnny Graham had signed that afternoon scored a brace in a 3-1 win versus Airdrieonians Peter Cormack getting the other goal Dave Marshall for them

Every Hibs goal in the second half downhill met with a good natured pitch invasion from the Cave

We thought we had found a new hero long hair shirt outside the shorts but Eddie Turnbull didn’t fancy him

Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 05-02-2025 at 03:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Pretty sure it was Johnny Graham King O Scotland repeat

Johnny Graham had signed that afternoon scored a brace in a 3-1 win versus Airdrieonians Peter Cormack getting the other goal Dave Marshall for them

Every Hibs goal in the second half downhill met with a good natured pitch invasion from the Cave

We thought we had found a new hero long hair shirt outside the shorts but Eddie Turnbull didn’t fancy him

I was thinking he had just signed for us great player Johnny I think he left too soon. Was there no something happened with him and Joe McBride they were both dropped for the Liverpool game when we got beat 1-0 I think Joe came on as a sub. Did Willie McFarlane no resign no long after and I thought him and Joe left no long after but my memory isn't so good

Quote Originally Posted by MM19 View Post
    I was thinking he had just signed for us great player Johnny I think he left too soon. Was there no something happened with him and Joe McBride they were both dropped for the Liverpool game when we got beat 1-0 I think Joe came on as a sub. Did Willie McFarlane no resign no long after and I thought him and Joe left no long after but my memory isn't so good
    Tom Hart wanted to pick the team for the biggest game of the season

Willie MacFarlane resigned in protest prior to kick off

Hart dropped our top scorer Joe McBride to the bench as he wanted him to move permanently through to Edinburgh from Glasgow

Graham was dropped totally for the game and eventually spent 5 years at Ayr United before rejoining Falkirk

Kenny Davidson, 18 when made home debut having just come back from beating Malmo in Sweden (we had beat then 6-0 at home) they got there revenge a few years ago. Kenny played against St Mirren on the Sat, scoring 2 goals we thought we had the new Marinello, he was some player but used too much and played to often he got his leg broke the next season, never lost a game at the gimps place.
    Some great games in the same team that Joe Baker returned to.

Another on Graham Harvey
    Scored on his debut after signing from Ormiston
    After a season or so went on to play at a decent level further down the league

Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    Now that the excitement of the transfer window is over, the next thing I'm looking forward to is seeing Manneh play for the Hibees for the first time.

It made me think about first impressions of a player on a debut for the Hibees. We've all seen safe/decent debuts. We've all seen "worst player on the pitch" debuts. But, what about the "we've got a top player" debuts.

Going back to 1987, I recall seeing Andy Goram's debut against Dunfermline. We won easily 4-0, but in the final minutes he had a fantastic save from a shot outside the box. I was impressed, though maybe it was because I was too used to Alan Rough flapping at such efforts!

IIRC Grant Brebner crashing a shot from outside the box on his debut, on loan from Manchester United.

I'm sure there's many more I could add. But, what about your first (positive) impressions of a footballer on their debut.
    Gorams debut for Rangers was the opposite. Against Hertz at Tynie he put his hands up for a shot that he thought was going wide and left it. Ball hit the back of the net. This was after replacing Chris Woods. Still the best goalie & one of the best players I've seen in a Hibs jersey.

Gordon Rae’s second game 3 days after his debut was at Ibrox.Score 2-0 for the goodies. Scorers Rae and Auld.(maybe not Auld!)

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire HFC View Post
    Paul Wright came off the bench and scored the winner on his debut - can't remember who it was against but I'm sure it finished 3 - 2 - he might even have scored the second and third goals?
    Hit the last minute winner as a sub in a 3-2 win v Aberdeen. Neil Orr and Pat McGinlay had us two up before Aberdeen came back late.

Paul Hartley.

One of the best first touches I've seen a Hibs player take as he killed a ball when it dropped out of the sky. We thought we had a player on our hands then.

He, er, certainly later went on to do fairly well at an Edinburgh club.
    Looked like it was chucked out a plane it was that high,killed it dead he did .

Paul Hartley.

One of the best first touches I've seen a Hibs player take as he killed a ball when it dropped out of the sky. We thought we had a player on our hands then.

He, er, certainly later went on to do fairly well at an Edinburgh club.
    I remember that!

Was it against Raith Rovers?

First Team Breakthrough Ginger Gehagan's Avatar
    Scott Brown, came off the bench against the sheep and set up 3 goals. Rob Jones, fair enough that was against Dinaburg who were one of the worst teams I've seen us play, but I remember the cheers everytime he won a header as we finally had a decent centre half to go with a great midfield and attack (goalie was still s**t though!)

Did anyone see Maolida doing what he did after his debut?

Dreadful, but wow did he turn it around.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by inglisavhibs View Post
    Think it was nananana (twice) - hey ey ey - Johnny Graham. The tune was a 60’s girl group song. Who sang goodbye instead.?

Was Steam who did the original in the 60's. They were guys.

Bananarama covered it though.

Quote Originally Posted by MM19 View Post
    I was going to mention Johnny Graham it was a midweek game I think we had just signed him maybe the day before and he scored. One of my favourite players scored a lot of goals for us.
    It was definitely a night game yes.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Melkersen v Motherwell. Thought we had a superstar on our hands
    I know it wasn't his actual debut, but thanks to that game I'll always be convinced he's an absolute player and we just never saw the best of him. Put him in this Hibs team and BOOM.

Before anyone tries to convince me otherwise using things like facts. I don't care. I've made my mind up, this is a hill I die on 😁

Martin Boyle's second debut was alright.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Was Steam who did the original in the 60's. They were guys.

Bananarama covered it though.
    That was it.! - I’m hearing Banana bloody rama’s voices.! The shame..

Jonathan Baillie, if I recall correctly a quarter final against Celtic and he strolled it and we won the game, felt like the start of an amazing career that never took off and then he was baldy injured and had to retire.

That’s the one, used to sing it on the excursion buses from St Andrews Square.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Tom Hart wanted to pick the team for the biggest game of the season

Willie MacFarlane resigned in protest prior to kick off

Hart dropped our top scorer Joe McBride to the bench as he wanted him to move permanently through to Edinburgh from Glasgow

Graham was dropped totally for the game and eventually spent 5 years at Ayr United before rejoining Falkirk
    Probably cost us the game they were two great strikers for us. Should have been at Hibs longer

Surprised not to have seen Benji’s name yet. Of a similar time, Thomas Sowunmi scoring the winner in a Scottish cup quarter away in Dumfries? Or anyone remember Filipe Morais debut albeit as a trialist at home v Middlesborough?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    Surprised not to have seen Benji’s name yet. Of a similar time, Thomas Sowunmi scoring the winner in a Scottish cup quarter away in Dumfries? Or anyone remember Filipe Morais debut albeit as a trialist at home v Middlesborough?
    Benji’s debut was a 4-0 defeat to Hearts