GOV.UK Wallet and App

This will have some folk screaming blue murder and probably not just the conspiracy nutters who'll be reaching for another roll of kitchen foil!

I'm all for it and I'm sure most people, who have nothing to hide, will welcome the convenience.

Veterans cards will be the test area by the looks of it followed by driving licences and "government services - like applying for childcare or reporting a lost passport – far easier and in tune with modern life"

But let's not kid ourselves before long I can see it being used as proof of identity and allow access to all government services such as benefits and probably even the NHS. I still have nothing to hide so it won't affect me and millions of other citizens who go about their lives not bothering anyone.

Thoughts? 😆

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/digital-driving-licence-coming-this-year

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    This will have some folk screaming blue murder and probably not just the conspiracy nutters who'll be reaching for another roll of kitchen foil!

I'm all for it and I'm sure most people, who have nothing to hide, will welcome the convenience.

Veterans cards will be the test area by the looks of it followed by driving licences and "government services - like applying for childcare or reporting a lost passport – far easier and in tune with modern life"

But let's not kid ourselves before long I can see it being used as proof of identity and allow access to all government services such as benefits and probably even the NHS. I still have nothing to hide so it won't affect me and millions of other citizens who go about their lives not bothering anyone.

Thoughts?

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/d...ming-this-year
    I’m all for it. Should have been done years ago.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post

Thoughts? ��

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/d...ming-this-year
    I've nothing to hide either, but that's only under current laws. Laws can change, and for that reason, I'm out.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Nothing to hide? Might as well get the monitors in the telly and microchip us all....oh wait

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Nothing to hide? Might as well get the monitors in the telly and microchip us all....oh wait
    That’s just it. This is no more intrusive than the multiple form of surveillance we routinely already ignore in favour of convenience.

Every EU country bar Denmark uses citizen cards its bizarre we don't. Countries like Estonia that have had digital ID for decades, you can vote, prove your 18, pay bills in most shops online. In the UK to prove your identity we're still bringing in gas bills to the doctors to prove our identity 😆

The government and Google know everything they want anyway.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    You walk around with a tracking device in your pocket with banking apps and doctors apps in your pocket all day (your mobile).

I wouldn’t worry about a digital driving licence.

Some states have had them for ages.

No problem here. If you don’t want it, don’t download it.

I really can’t see any downside to it given what we already have on our smart phones.

I'd love a national ID card. If you don't have a driving licence you need to carry a passport if you have one. They cost a fortune to replace if you lose it.

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    I'd love a national ID card. If you don't have a driving licence you need to carry a passport if you have one. They cost a fortune to replace if you lose it.
    Why? Do you look under 18?

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    You walk around with a tracking device in your pocket with banking apps and doctors apps in your pocket all day (your mobile).

I wouldn’t worry about a digital driving licence.

Some states have had them for ages.

No problem here. If you don’t want it, don’t download it.

That's my very point, I think.

We've allowed access to every aspect of our lives, kind of sleep walked into it. Who needs Big Brother when we mostly passively surrender all data anyway.

I can't wait for my microchip insertion.

Just apply for a provisional 😀

Yep, no problems that I can see.

Will I get loyalty points?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Why? Do you look under 18?
    You need ID for a lot more than buying alcohol. I dealt with both my mum's and my brother's estates last year and had to have id for banks, lawyers and the court amongst other things. Voting, I needed to take id with me this time. Loads of stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Just apply for a provisional 😀
    I had one years ago but it lapsed. I did consider it last year

You need ID for a lot more than buying alcohol. I dealt with both my mum's and my brother's estates last year and had to have id for banks, lawyers and the court amongst other things. Voting, I needed to take id with me this time. Loads of stuff.
    Yes but those are all one-off things. I thought you meant you had to carry it about with you all day every day. Thanks for clarifying.

I’m 31 and I have to carry my passport with me when I’m out drinking or what not. I do look young for my age though

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    I’m 31 and I have to carry my passport with me when I’m out drinking or what not. I do look young for my age though
    Jeez, that must be a pain. Considered an Amish style fake beard to avoid the inconvenience?

A proper ID system can help with illegal immigration as well. One of the reasons for trying to get here rather than stop in more affluent Europe is they all have ID cards which make it hard to get work. Here, HMRC will give anything with a pulse a National Insurance number.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Alas, I don't get ID'd much these days but I have been a couple of times in the last year. I take great delight in pointing out that I'm closer to 60 than I am 18

I’m 57 and got ID’d in the White Lady. Son was getting the round in and was asked for ID which he showed, the barman then asked who the other pint was for, my son pointed me out as I was sitting directly opposite the bar and told the barman I was his Dad. The daft ****** of a barman still insisted on seeing my ID and when I told him he was being ridiculous he tried to make a joke out of it and said I should take it as a compliment.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I’m 57 and got ID’d in the White Lady. Son was getting the round in and was asked for ID which he showed, the barman then asked who the other pint was for, my son pointed me out as I was sitting directly opposite the bar and told the barman I was his Dad. The daft ****** of a barman still insisted on seeing my ID and when I told him he was being ridiculous he tried to make a joke out of it and said I should take it as a compliment.
    I'm 47 and still get a bit miffed when trying to buy something you need to be over 18 to buy in ASDA and the supervisor at the self-service check out comes over, scans the card and presses the "nae need, really" button confirming they haven't seen my ID.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I'm 47 and still get a bit miffed when trying to buy something you need to be over 18 to buy in ASDA and the supervisor at the self-service check out comes over, scans the card and presses the "nae need, really" button confirming they haven't seen my ID.
    🤣🤣🤣
    Worse than that (slightly) is when they remotely authorise "age challenge" items at Tesco.
    The wee red light comes up, you act all nonchalant so you don't present yourself as an absolute jaikey when buying your poison of choice, after a while the face eventually drops and your like "c'mon tae....." And the lassie at the master checkout is just staring at you, for the idiot you are!

https://www.theguardian.com/technolo...ky&CMP=bsky_gu

Jeez, that must be a pain. Considered an Amish style fake beard to avoid the inconvenience?
    I do have a beard at the minute .

Really need to look into getting a provisional license for ID.