Mine is 3 months this week. When I come in from work/anywhere and she realises it's me and her face lights up, it just absolutely melts me everytime.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
-
15-12-2024 10:46 PM #871
-
16-12-2024 10:31 AM #872This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteNo Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn
-
17-12-2024 01:02 PM #873This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
18-12-2024 02:47 PM #874
That last day of work before a holiday feeling - half tempted to crack a beer open. Off until the 6th
"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
18-12-2024 04:27 PM #875This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-12-2024 08:20 PM #876
Finding there is still a decent amount of the Christmas cheese board left and tucking into it when everyone else in the house is out/in bed.
-
27-12-2024 08:44 PM #877
It’s not a little thing, but the warm glow of a derby victory stays with me for days.
"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
27-12-2024 10:44 PM #878
Boxing day/Dec 27th. Generally the week leading up to, then Christmas day itself is mental and every year we say "let's slow down a bit next year" but we never do. We hosted the family (9) this year too and with 3 young kids ourselves it made it a difficult day with limited time to embrace the day with the girls
Yesterday and today have been bliss. Watching them playing with their new toys, us pumping the hertz and generally just going at a slower pace has just been so lovely
The little things are the big things really
-
04-01-2025 02:55 PM #879
I dislike my neighbours and it was a joy to watch them struggle to put 2 glass shower screens into their mini car, I mean they can barely fit into the car let alone glass shower screens 🤣
I watched them huff and puff for around 15 mins before realising they would not fit with the chubby soor faced neighbour breaking into a hissy fit as I sat in my chair with a coffee giggling my tits off 🤣
-
05-01-2025 09:34 AM #880This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I'm childish like that too ! I'd be pissin masel watching oot the windae hiding behind the curtains haha !
-
05-01-2025 09:54 AM #881
-
05-01-2025 02:47 PM #882This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-01-2025 02:58 PM #883
-
05-01-2025 05:38 PM #884This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
23-04-2025 10:07 PM #885
Tom Bradby on the ITV News. Doesn’t act like a news anchor. Can’t help but chuckle when he appears on the telly
-
23-04-2025 10:27 PM #886
Filling my car with petrol to the very brim, I never stop until there is no room for another drop.
-
24-04-2025 07:36 AM #887
Seeing a new post on this thread.
Some are really wholesome, some really simple and some wonderfully full of spite and I enjoy them all.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
07-05-2025 12:50 PM #888
Short weeks.
Aw its Tuesday, naw wait, it's Wednesday!
4 day weeks should be the norm. It would be great for the economy, with people having more time and inclination to do more at the weekends and not have to cram in classic weekend jobs, great for shops, great for parents and their kids, studies have shown no loss in productivity - in fact I'm sure many sources say it increases peoples productivity because people feel more willing to dedicate themselves more to work over 4 days than 5.
Who loses? Maybe childminders?"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
07-05-2025 01:03 PM #889
I like looking at my bird feeder through my kitchen window.
When my boss spouts some utter tosh, a common occurrence, and myself or one of my colleagues calls her out. She never admits her mistakes but I know she’s raging. Pleasing!"Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire
-
07-05-2025 01:08 PM #890This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Then there's the sundries like sandwich shops etc.
I know quite a lot of folk that do condensed hours or 9 day fortnights. Some take advantage of the extra days away from work (which makes you more available for those regular weekend jobs, just saying 🙄), others just accept it as normal working practice and don't recognise if they are worse or better off.
Personally, I enjoy the structure of 5 on, 2 off but I'm speaking from the privileged position of having a job that I don't consider to be "work" with relatively short working days so I can chase my leisure pursuits over the whole week, not just at the weekend.
I work pseudo public sector(railway), there is a movement to reduce the working week further and encourage more condensed hours where suitable but like for those who can't work from home, I suspect this could be viewed with a bit resentment/jealousy.
-
07-05-2025 02:09 PM #891This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The point of the 4 day week is that you get the same money for your time, but you have less time at work. I fully get that for industries like sandwich shops etc it would be mean less people on certain days and less income, which is why it will never happen on a broad scale in this country, but I think if anyone was offered it they'd take it."...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
07-05-2025 02:25 PM #892
I've often said to my boss he would get more out of me if I only worked until 12 or 1 every day.
I'm an early bird. I officially start at 8 but it's very rare that I'm not at my desk by 7.15 latest. I love having the best part of an hour just to get through stuff in peace (it's actually closer to 2 hours as most people start at 9). I organise any meetings on or off site for the morning unless a client is absolutely insistent it must be later in the day. By the time it gets to about 1 I have had enough. What took 20 minutes in the morning takes an hour in the afternoon. I'm still proven as the most productive person in the role I do but I'd be moreso if I could maintain my morning output to the afternoon but I lose interest.
Obviously there is not going to be an agreement to me working 5 or 6 hours a day but I can honestly say my productivity wouldn't drop off one bit if it was to happen. I'd go further and say it would increase, as it would if I went to a 4 day week because I'd have to be working at my best all the time I was in the office or on the road rather than having the time to basically sit about for 3 or 4 hours in the afternoon.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
07-05-2025 02:38 PM #893
-
07-05-2025 02:46 PM #894This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I am all in favour of a 4 day week, 3 day week is even better
-
07-05-2025 02:55 PM #895This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
This isn't really the thread for an argument over it, it's meant to be a feel good thread so I guess I'd just say it's purely from my perspective. FWIW I would argue on your point that these businesses would benefit from footfall over an extended weekend wouldn't they? Supermarkets are one that I think would, as people who shop on a weekend would have an extra day to go, so their busiest days would be 3, not 2, but they'd be taking a 3rd of the burden rather than half.
It doesn't suit all business, nothing does, many businesses are 7 day a week business when demand is there. I had a guy tile a bathroom who said he hasn't taken a full day off in 3 months - his choice. I used to work in agricultural production, so busy periods meant working every day from the middle-end of July to the end of September. It's one of the main reasons I took a desk job. My last harvest season I did something like 70 days consecutive working with no days off and 3pm finishes on a Saturday.
But should it just never be done because others can't have it?"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
07-05-2025 02:56 PM #896This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Also, some jobs cannot be compressed hours - a bus driver can’t do more work to fit his workload into 4 days instead of 5.
Great idea that we’d all love, but logistically not possible for everyone to shift to 4 day week
-
07-05-2025 03:04 PM #897This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
07-05-2025 04:53 PM #898This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think people use the description interchangeably between the 2 things.
I would describe what you do as compressed days (same hours in less days, for example 4 days of 10 hours, rather 5 days of 8 hours).
Whereas I’d describe compressed hours as working less hours in the week but getting the same amount of work done, so only doing 4 days of 8 hours, of 5 days of 6 hours. The idea is that people arse about and blether and don’t always put in maximum effort in a normal day/week, but working less hours you focus more and don’t waste time during your shift and get the same amount of work achieved in less time (and get more time for yourself),.
That’s just how I understand those concepts though, I’m not saying I’m definitely right
-
07-05-2025 05:23 PM #899
So is it fitting 40 hours into 4 days or do folk expect to be paid the same wages working 30 hours over 4 days as they'd get just now working working 40 hours.
-
07-05-2025 05:47 PM #900This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote