Page 29 of 31 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    A really good hot dog. Nice soft bun, good quality smoked Frank, sauerkraut, hot mustard, bit of ketchup.

Really good.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

tremendous
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Anyone else get a bit excited at a Hollywood handshake on bake off?
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

It's not a good look really.

Self-righteous jerks.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Anyone else get a bit excited at a Hollywood handshake on bake off?
    Guilty

Clean cars. Especially where I am with the roads being bogging this time of year.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Going to a new city and deliberately getting lost. Went for a weekend in Paris and after visiting some outstanding museums and art galleries just wandered and enjoyed the atmosphere of somewhere new. Had some great pastries on the way too.

My feet are now in agony (my watch says eighteen miles today with two to walk back to my accommodation after a meal) but very much worth it.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Outstanding 😂

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Outstanding 😂
    Thought it was Larry The Lamb. But to many bah bah bahs for that

Enjoying a nice poo

A Premier Inn or Travelodge room to yourself.

Away to a gig in Glasgow tonight and don’t know anyone who likes who I’m seeing. Asked my partner and she ****ing hates them. Actually found a cheap sale rate room with Premier Inn for tonight.

Always feel like a small B&B is better for couples trips but there’s something comforting and familiar with the bland, identikit room you get.

When you're actually knackered and you get the chance of a wee nap. Tremendous stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    When you're actually knackered and you get the chance of a wee nap. Tremendous stuff.
    that feeling when you feel sleep about to wash over you. Mmm. Day sleep is far superior to night sleep.

I was to the racing at Musselburgh yesterday. Had a bet of £25 e/w in one race. Horse came a distant 3rd but at odds of 22/1 it was still a nice return.

Bookie counted out my winnings, I wasn't really paying attention so I stuck them in a pocket (I always keep my winnings separate to avoid temptation of going over budget). Got home that night and the winnings pocket didn't tally, it was way up. A wee bit calculating and it turns out he has paid me out for £50 e/w rather than £25.

Had I noticed at the time I would have corrected him as my conscience would have bothered me. But I'm saying it was an error on his part, I didn't notice at the time and if I'd made an error somewhere down the line the bookies would be quick enough not to pay me out so I'll take the win and enjoy it.

They'll get it all back with interest on New Years Day anyway😅😅

I was to the racing at Musselburgh yesterday. Had a bet of £25 e/w in one race. Horse came a distant 3rd but at odds of 22/1 it was still a nice return.

Bookie counted out my winnings, I wasn't really paying attention so I stuck them in a pocket (I always keep my winnings separate to avoid temptation of going over budget). Got home that night and the winnings pocket didn't tally, it was way up. A wee bit calculating and it turns out he has paid me out for £50 e/w rather than £25.

Had I noticed at the time I would have corrected him as my conscience would have bothered me. But I'm saying it was an error on his part, I didn't notice at the time and if I'd made an error somewhere down the line the bookies would be quick enough not to pay me out so I'll take the win and enjoy it.

They'll get it all back with interest on New Years Day anyway😅😅
    Nice one 👍

I met my mate in Sportsman's after the racing on Thursday, the place was bouncing, a really good afternoon/night. 🍺🍺🍺

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Nice one 👍

I met my mate in Sportsman's after the racing on Thursday, the place was bouncing, a really good afternoon/night. 🍺🍺🍺
    We ended up in Staggs briefly last night. It was pretty quiet but was picking up just as we left.

Enjoyed the Hearts game more than the Rangers game. ☺️

Employing people who perhaps haven’t had the best start in life and don’t shine above other candidates at the interview stage. Yet you see something that you think you can work with and develop so you give them a chance. They turn out to be absolute stars and up being one of the best you’ve ever employed.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Employing people who perhaps haven’t had the best start in life and don’t shine above other candidates at the interview stage. Yet you see something that you think you can work with and develop so you give them a chance. They turn out to be absolute stars and up being one of the best you’ve ever employed.
    I've recruited people at a couple of workplaces now, and completely agree with this. It can sometimes mean a bit more work at the start, but there are a lot of employers not willing to put that in, and also a lot of people desperate for an opportunity.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    We’ve started taking the kids from work (mainly 0-3 year olds) to a care home for visits, singing with the residents etc. it’s honestly one of the best things we’ve ever done 🫶🏻

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    We’ve started taking the kids from work (mainly 0-3 year olds) to a care home for visits, singing with the residents etc. it’s honestly one of the best things we’ve ever done 🫶🏻
    Speaking as someone whose dad was in a care home until very recently, you've no idea how much joy these visits bring to the residents. The kids love to do their wee performance and auld yins revel in the infectious enthusiasm of youth.

This is a fairly obvious one, but giving someone genuine feedback for something good they’ve done is a brilliant feeling - a very rewarding experience.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Speaking as someone whose dad was in a care home until very recently, you've no idea how much joy these visits bring to the residents. The kids love to do their wee performance and auld yins revel in the infectious enthusiasm of youth.
    The kids get just as much out of it, it’s their favourite place to go now. They’ve made some really lovely connections with the residents, one of mine sat for ages with one giving them hugs yesterday, they would never do that anywhere else

I remember watching Old People's home for 4 year olds on Channel 4 when they took the kids to a sheltered housing complex, it was a very uplifting watch.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 10-12-2024 at 01:53 PM.

That is a brilliant thing to do

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I remember watching Old People's home for 4 year olds on Channel 4 when they took the kids to a sheltered housing complex, it was a very uplifting watch.
    My grandson visited the sheltered housing place here with the nursery last Christmas and it made their day. I used to take my mum to the church hub for lunch and many of the residents popped in too. To hear their delight and stories of the kids visiting was just a joy. One of them (named the lady with the purple coat) still talks to my grandson when we bump into her.

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    My grandson visited the sheltered housing place here with the nursery last Christmas and it made their day. I used to take my mum to the church hub for lunch and many of the residents popped in too. To hear their delight and stories of the kids visiting was just a joy. One of them (named the lady with the purple coat) still talks to my grandson when we bump into her.
    Nice one 👍

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    My wife and daughter were down south this weekend visiting my wife’s family. When they came home tonight my daughter burst through the door looking for me and gave me a running hug. There’s no better pick me ups than those little moments.