Page 35 of 38 FirstFirst ... 253334353637 ... LastLast
Results 1,021 to 1,050 of 1127

Thread: Midfield

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    We have signed 11 but only one is a midfielder and that was our biggest problem area.

Three counting Trantis

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Three counting Trantis
    He was here last year. Who is the other one?

Cadden. I’m counting Triantis as new as he is in relative terms to our midfield.

Kwon, Newell, Rudi will be fine. Not great but fine. If Bowie and Myko get firing we'll be top 6 quite easily.

Cadden. I’m counting Triantis as new as he is in relative terms to our midfield.
    Isn’t he more a winger?

Particularly if people are going to constantly refer to Newell, JDH and Campbell.

We could easily play a midfield without any of those and probably Newell would be the only regular starter from those.

Bringing a promising young player in Rudi into the equation is also a big positive.

Isn’t he more a winger?

Somebody better tell Hibs that then.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TrinityHFC View Post
    He’s not but say Triantis and Kwon with a Newell or Molotnikov ahead does change quite a lot what we’ve done before.

Amos has been a player in the past. If he is fit he can surely be coached and encouraged back to what he is capable of?

Levitt being able to come in with two physical behind him?

There’s players there a coach should be able to work with.
    So essentially we’re back to hoping the new manager can get more out of the same options as the previous managers, including Gray himself who saw in one of his two games what a midfield containing Newell & Triantis together looked like away to Livi.

Or Hope Kwon is on par with Maolida, and able to carry the midfield himself.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Kwon, Newell, Rudi will be fine. Not great but fine. If Bowie and Myko get firing we'll be top 6 quite easily.
    I wouldn’t be surprised to see Campbell back in the starting XI tomorrow.

Quote Originally Posted by TrinityHFC View Post
    He’s not but say Triantis and Kwon with a Newell or Molotnikov ahead does change quite a lot what we’ve done before.

Amos has been a player in the past. If he is fit he can surely be coached and encouraged back to what he is capable of?

Levitt being able to come in with two physical behind him?

There’s players there a coach should be able to work with.
    The first option makes us more defensive with little creativity, Amos fit, come on how long does he need to get fit?

Levitt is pish, cant run and needs a rocket up his arse, there's a reason we wanted McCowan, legs, creativity and someone who can link defence to attack, we've nobody that can do this.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Kwon, Newell, Rudi will be fine. Not great but fine.
    Deluded.com

That said, they are probably our best midfield three at the moment, albeit I'd go for Kwon and Triantis as the defensive pair. We need to get Newell further forward.

I’ve been vocal about my feelings on the midfield, and have still to be convinced. However credit where it’s due. I thought in the first half Kwon showed glimpses of the drive we’ve badly missed and Triantis was solid and comfortable on the ball. Once Newell’s cross went in I thought all 3 were good for most of the second half.

Will take more than 45 minutes to give confidence, in the midfield. Especially as a lot went for us today. Kilmarnock playing in midweek, a worse start to the season than us, Vassell missing on the line and Newell’s cross going in so we’re 1-0 up and not testing our fragile mentality from being 1-0 down etc. However maybe a small glimmer of hope.

[QUOTE=The Modfather;7762667]So essentially we’re back to hoping the new manager can get more out of the same options as the previous managers, including Gray himself who saw in one of his two games what a midfield containing Newell & Triantis together looked like away to Livi.

Or Hope Kwon is on par with Maolida, and able to carry the midfield himself.[/QUOTE

Still pish in midfield….thank god the puddle drinkers are even worse….club is getting run into the ground….people wetting there pants ….11 players signed!!! 4 year deal for megwa!!! Sir David well out his depth…good grief!!!!…newell plays with heart 1 game in 10……pish….

Midfield was decent today. Physical and played some football. Stupid mistake by Obita and nothing else cost a good win.

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Not to be negative but thought Nicky Cadden was pretty poor when he came on.

Still looks quite a bit away from full fitness and sharpness

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post

Definitely. I think Bowie also looked slightly similar. Can see why Gray has chosen to manage some of the new guys minutes so strictly.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post

I’m probably being totally unfair but I don’t rate him at all. We’ve now got a Cadden on either side of the field putting in poor crosses. It’s symmetrical I suppose.

Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    I’m probably being totally unfair but I don’t rate him at all. We’ve now got a Cadden on either side of the field putting in poor crosses. It’s symmetrical I suppose.
    Think he’s a bit of a strange signing, especially on a 3 year contract. Don’t see him being much more than a squad player, not sure he’s going to really improve the team.

On the subject of the midfield, we looked better in there today. All got about the pitch and battled well in a game that was basically a battle on a ***** pitch against a team who are direct to say the least. I think he’ll stick with that three.

I thought the wide players were our weakness today.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Think he’s a bit of a strange signing, especially on a 3 year contract. Don’t see him being much more than a squad player, not sure he’s going to really improve the team.

On the subject of the midfield, we looked better in there today. All got about the pitch and battled well in a game that was basically a battle on a ***** pitch against a team who are direct to say the least. I think he’ll stick with that three.

I thought the wide players were our weakness today.
    I didn’t get the logic, especially when he described himself as a winger not a left back.

The midfield were solid today, I just don’t see them creating enough. I don’t want another Joe Newell debate with anyone but on the strength of today Kwon and Triantis start and we find someone else to provide some creativity/goals from midfield.

I didn’t get the logic, especially when he described himself as a winger not a left back.

The midfield were solid today, I just don’t see them creating enough. I don’t want another Joe Newell debate with anyone but on the strength of today Kwon and Triantis start and we find someone else to provide some creativity/goals from midfield.
    I get the point about the creativity. That said, Newell scored and the other two were very unlucky not to score. It was all individual moments though and we did have the extra man in the middle of the park as well. All in all I saw enough to think we stick with that midfield and get them to build on a good start. I thought the wide players were the biggest issue today. None of them, starters or subs, really created anything or were much of a threat.

Think it would be really interesting to see Levitt along side Triantis and Kwon

Credit where it’s due for Hibs in bringing in Kwon & Triantis? Both of whom have actually improved the midfield. Two strong and comfortable on the ball 6s. With Kwon also being more positive and his first thought to get us going forward. Shame they are both only on loan.

Those two first names in midfield plus a 10. Which should be Rudi’s until he needs a break IMO. With Newell a quality backup who can also come in when we want to be more solid and shut up shop at places like in Glasgow.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Credit where it’s due for Hibs in bringing in Kwon & Triantis? Both of whom have actually improved the midfield. Two strong and comfortable on the ball 6s. With Kwon also being more positive and his first thought to get us going forward. Shame they are both only on loan.

Those two first names in midfield plus a 10. Which should be Rudi’s until he needs a break IMO. With Newell a quality backup who can also come in when we want to be more solid and shut up shop at places like in Glasgow.
    I don’t care that they are on loan so long as it’s better. And Rudi needs to be kept playing. It’s the only way he improves.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    I don’t care that they are on loan so long as it’s better. And Rudi needs to be kept playing. It’s the only way he improves.

Completely agree.

Think Kwon and Triantis are building up a good wee partnership in the middle. I'm liking it.

One of a few positives today was the midfield. I was worried about the central three- kwon, Newell, Triantis- but I thought they gelled, imposed themselves and all had decent games

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by random sub View Post
    One of a few positives today was the midfield. I was worried about the central three- kwon, Newell, Triantis- but I thought they gelled, imposed themselves and all had decent games
    First half aye. Second half absolutely not.

@hibs.net private member K-Zazu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by random sub View Post
    Are they going to score/assist goals? That’s what we really need at the moment. It’s like playing 3 defensive midfielders at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by K-Zazu View Post
    Are they going to score/assist goals? That’s what we really need at the moment. It’s like playing 3 defensive midfielders at the moment.
    It’s even worse than that imo because I don’t think any of them are actually defensive mids, I find them all extremely similar.

None of them are brilliant at breaking it up, reading the game or making big tackles that say even a Jeggo, Bartley or Gogic would.

Fair points in reply. I guess I was worried the three of them wouldn’t work at all. But they fought and dominated (which is unusual for us) but agree lacked the look of scoring or creating and faded a bit as Utd pressed harder in the second half. Not perfect but decent overall.

They were the three i wanted in midfield, as they are the best three on paper. What we saw though was no creativity and the usual retreat backwards the longer the game went on until the sending off, then they woke up again.

So frustrating to watch, and more so if you play up front i'd imagine?