Page 284 of 816 FirstFirst ... 184234274282283284285286294334384784 ... LastLast
Results 8,491 to 8,520 of 24462
    @hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    For 13 wins in a row? I’d take that.
    Ditto. Something we can only dream of.

Aye but are they sheite to watch, or foul players when they are breaking and strangling the life out of games, if so we want none of that pish at Easter Rd.
    We're also sheite to watch and strangle the life out of games by making too many unnecessary passes, allowing the opposition plenty of time to organize themselves off the ball.

I'd much rather see us play sheite the Aberdeen way tbh.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpOnHibee View Post
    We're also sheite to watch and strangle the life out of games by making too many unnecessary passes, allowing the opposition plenty of time to organize themselves off the ball.

I'd much rather see us play sheite the Aberdeen way tbh.
    To be fair, they average two goals a game in the league and three goals a game in the cup so they must be doing a bit more than just strangling the life out of things. If we had a manager getting that from the team whilst winning 13 on the bounce, I’m sure we could all put up with a wee bit time wasting or whatever.

Quote Originally Posted by S4uzee View Post
    Didn’t know that. Why is it so fierce?
    It's been like that for decades.

Sevilla seen as the aristos and their owner (Sanchez Pizjuan) in the 1940s - 1960s pulled a few strings with the local council to their benefit. Betis core support was from the poorer south/east part of Seville (Triana). This has kind of diluted over the years with Betis now having the bigger support and just as wealthy as Sevilla. Both clubs however, have had financial/regulation problems in the past.

There was an incident in 1990s when 3 or 4 Sevilla players assaulted some Betis supporters outside a nightclub. Went to court and think some players were fined/suspended.

Volatility reached it's peak in the 1990s/2000s when the two owners Del Nido (Sevilla) & De Lopera (Betis) despised each other to the point the derby games were toxic. Hence the frozen wine bottle thrown over the Sevilla manager's head. Also caused a fair bit of bother between both ultras in the clubs.

It calmed down slightly when a Sevilla player (Puerta) collapsed on the pitch and later died, not at a derby game. This led to a reconcilliation between Del Nido & De Lopera.

It is still the fiercest derby in Spain.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    To be fair, they average two goals a game in the league and three goals a game in the cup so they must be doing a bit more than just strangling the life out of things. If we had a manager getting that from the team whilst winning 13 on the bounce, I’m sure we could all put up with a wee bit time wasting or whatever.
    Whatever they're doing, it's effective and it gets results. Where as we carry this myth that our "brand" of football is the right way to play and we're just really really unlucky. When in reality, our brand of football doesn't deliver results and isn't even good to watch in the modern game. There is such a thing as trying to do too much on the ball and sometimes less is more, something that as a club we need to come to terms with.

As I said, if we had a manager getting results, it wouldn’t be an issue. I know some folk like to go back to Jack Ross but he got the sack once the results stopped, for the type of run that sees most managers in trouble (and not just at Hibs).

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    As I said, if we had a manager getting results, it wouldn’t be an issue. I know some folk like to go back to Jack Ross but he got the sack once the results stopped, for the type of run that sees most managers in trouble (and not just at Hibs).
    We rarely have such a manager. It seems that when we bring a manager in, they're instructed on the "Hibs way" of how the team needs to play, rather than being left to implement their own way. As long as we're locked into the same style as a club, we'll ultimately keep getting the same kind of results. The game has moved on over time and we need to move on with it.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    For 13 wins in a row? I’d take that.
    Think blackpoolhibs is being sarcastic ie referring to the reasons why some posters wouldn't want McInnes at ER despite him being the most successful Sottish manager in our league by a mile.

Rangers 1 up on St johnstone.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Rangers 1 up on St johnstone.
    Making very hard work of it. These European nights are definitely making things difficult for them.

Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    Making very hard work of it. These European nights are definitely making things difficult for them.
    Cracking goal.

And at the end of the weekends activities we have Hearts bottom of the league and Hibs 3rd bottom, not wanting to be overly negative but that is a shocking situation for the 2 city clubs.

Has to be a red card for that

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Should be a 10 game ban. Scandalous challenge.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    Dirty *******!

That’s as bad a tackle I’ve seen this season.

ooh st johnstone playing in that ghastly mar*on strip again

Referee gave a yellow to begin with?

Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    Referee gave a yellow to begin with?
    Shock!

that IS offside btw

anyway, back to the NFL :)
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 06-10-2024 at 08:46 PM.

Should drums be banned from football grounds?

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    Yes!

Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    Yes!
    Was wondering if it was just me but find them annoying as f***.

We rarely have such a manager. It seems that when we bring a manager in, they're instructed on the "Hibs way" of how the team needs to play, rather than being left to implement their own way. As long as we're locked into the same style as a club, we'll ultimately keep getting the same kind of results. The game has moved on over time and we need to move on with it.
    I think the “Hibs way” of playing is something that only exists in the minds of some fans. I’d highly doubt any new manager is briefed on this myth - or instructed to play in any specific way.

Who on earth would be instructing this? Zero chance this happens. Hibs have played free flowing football in about 4 of the last 50 years. Hibs style doesn't exist.

Naw, and vuvuzelas should be encouraged as accompaniments. They'd pair well with all of the trumpets in the stands...

Did Mixu. It try to make us hard to beat but ultimately failed in that an entertainment so was given the heave. Maloney on the opposite side of the spectrum…

I think as a support we’ve become even more fickle. I’d draw some parallels to an extent with Aberdeen’s tussle with previous history being out of synch with current performance and expectations so the managerial door revolves/
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Yes, and loudhailers.

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Naw, and vuvuzelas should be encouraged as accompaniments. They'd pair well with all of the trumpets in the stands...
    Be nice if we got rid of all the trumpets too

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    I see Duk made a vital contribution to Aberdeen winner yesterday too

A guy that went AWOL has been managed back into the team and contributing

I wonder if our management team can do anything close to that with want away Elie Youan

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Callum_62; 07-10-2024 at 08:32 AM.