Page 444 of 474 FirstFirst ... 344394434442443444445446454 ... LastLast
Results 13,291 to 13,320 of 14214

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    The constant need for some to be right about absolutely everything. See main board for details
    Aye it's brutal. No idea how these people function at home and at work.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Two totally unrelated and not Italian people have said ciao to me on the phone this week
    It's used all over Europe 😁 I get you though!
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    The constant need for some to be right about absolutely everything. See main board for details
    I am genuinely considering just leaving the site and getting on with my life to be honest. There is one poster on here who is actually exhausting.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    I am genuinely considering just leaving the site and getting on with my life to be honest. There is one poster on here who is actually exhausting.
    I used to feel the same. Finding out about blocking folks has much improved the site tho

If it's who I'm thinking of, he's been on my ignore list for quite a while now, has to get the last word in on every subject he's commenting on, very tiresome.

Pet peeve: people who don't clear up after their dogs. Holyrood Park is disgusting at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post

Also - Frenchie is a dead ringer for Dylan Vente.
    Naw that was The Winter King

private image host
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 24-09-2024 at 07:07 AM.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Pet peeve: people who don't clear up after their dogs. Holyrood Park is disgusting at the moment.
    I walk the water of leith path up Currie and Balerno with the dog and my bairn in the pram. It’s like a slalom around the various piles of horse ****.

I’ve never understood why horse **** is fair game to be left all over a path.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    How some people pronounce the h in vehicle.
    That one might cure itself if the current fashion for Throwing The 'H' Away gathers pace. 'An hexagon' wtf?

How people usually from down south pronounce ‘ drawing ‘ drawring

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    The state of the police service just now.

Car was vandalised three weeks ago. Spray paint on the bonnet. Seen two lassies the day before spray painting their names onto the grit bin next to it and it was the same paint used.

Got a call back from a call centre three days later to take details. Was told I’d get a call from an officer who would investigate. Still heard nothing.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    The state of the police service just now.

Car was vandalised three weeks ago. Spray paint on the bonnet. Seen two lassies the day before spray painting their names onto the grit bin next to it and it was the same paint used.

Got a call back from a call centre three days later to take details. Was told I’d get a call from an officer who would investigate. Still heard nothing.
    I wouldn't hold your breath.

My bike got nicked 3 or 4 years back. I reported it, got told it would be investigated, got a crime number for insurance purposes and never heard anything else about it. I have a cousin in the police and he said there would have been no time spent on it because the chances of an arrest is non existent and a conviction even less likely. He said the same is true of crimes like burglary, vandalism etc etc.

The consolation for me was I was planning to change the brake pads so had released the brakes before locking it away. I live at the top of a hill so was comforted knowing the thief likely got a sore one when they realised they couldn't stop during their getaway.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I walk the water of leith path up Currie and Balerno with the dog and my bairn in the pram. It’s like a slalom around the various piles of horse ****.

I’ve never understood why horse **** is fair game to be left all over a path.
    Because it's not noxious like dug ****, and it's nearly impossible to step in a horse **** without seeing it first!

I wouldn't hold your breath.

My bike got nicked 3 or 4 years back. I reported it, got told it would be investigated, got a crime number for insurance purposes and never heard anything else about it. I have a cousin in the police and he said there would have been no time spent on it because the chances of an arrest is non existent and a conviction even less likely. He said the same is true of crimes like burglary, vandalism etc etc.

The consolation for me was I was planning to change the brake pads so had released the brakes before locking it away. I live at the top of a hill so was comforted knowing the thief likely got a sore one when they realised they couldn't stop during their getaway.
    I was chatting to the owner of a local coffee shop - a customer had their phone swiped from their table. He looked out the CCTV and had crystal clear views of the person who did it, easily identifiable. He phoned the police straight away thinking that it was pretty simple for them to follow up - they rocked up nearly a fortnight later to view it, long after the phone would have been moved on.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    I was chatting to the owner of a local coffee shop - a customer had their phone swiped from their table. He looked out the CCTV and had crystal clear views of the person who did it, easily identifiable. He phoned the police straight away thinking that it was pretty simple for them to follow up - they rocked up nearly a fortnight later to view it, long after the phone would have been moved on.
    Only identifiable if a known criminal with a record and even then it’s not always guaranteed. Lots of folk think having clear CCTV images of a culprit means they can be caught easily. It’s simply not the case.

Quote Originally Posted by BS44 View Post
    Because it's not noxious like dug ****, and it's nearly impossible to step in a horse **** without seeing it first!
    Horses are vegetarian creatures hence their poo in used as fertiliser, like cow dung, dogs like humans eat meat and why the poo smells strong and is noxious.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BS44 View Post
    Whilst all that may be true, the new surfacing material they've used for the Water of Leith path prevents the horse dung breaking down. Normally, if left on normal ground or a track, nematodes would come up and break the waste down. Unfortunately the new path is made from recycled materials (plastic/rubber?) so the dung just lies there, sometimes for weeks/months.
    I tell you what though, if you even try and suggest the riders remove their animals mess it invokes a response that's akin to asking your wife to calm down when she's mid pre-menstrual rage!

Ridiculous pricing on Vinted. Lost my pair of bone conducting headphones and not looking to spend silly money to replace.

Seen a pair at £130. Says in the advert they’ve been worn about a dozen times, and in the shops they’re £159.95.

Once you add Vinteds fees to that it’s £137, postage takes it to a smidge over £140.

You’re telling me that if I forgo the ability to return a product to a shop and have something that’s been used ten times I can save a whopping nineteen quid?

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    People who think that seats on flights are like seats on the bus. "We couldn't get seats together" . "Yes, we did though because we booked them and paid extra to do so" I've even used " Well, where would you like to have your remains sent in the event of a crash. I'd quite like mine to go to the family..."

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    People who think that seats on flights are like seats on the bus. "We couldn't get seats together" . "Yes, we did though because we booked them and paid extra to do so" I've even used " Well, where would you like to have your remains sent in the event of a crash. I'd quite like mine to go to the family..."

Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk

I'd pay extra not to have someone sit next to me. Had a 5 hour flight recently with a random man showing me pics of his 2 wives graves - and that's the bit I can talk about. It got worse.

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    I'd pay extra not to have someone sit next to me. Had a 5 hour flight recently with a random man showing me pics of his 2 wives graves - and that's the bit I can talk about. It got worse.
    https://youtu.be/FmoW-gNjjXA?si=WWqKhrWCCkF1rhUH

Once going over to Edinburgh for a game I got someone connected to hertz sit next to me , had hertz tie , hertz crest on jacket who offered me complimentary tickets to watch hertz at Tiny that weekend 🤢

Quote Originally Posted by donegal hibby View Post
    once going over to edinburgh for a game i got someone connected to hertz sit next to me , had hertz tie , hertz crest on jacket who offered me complimentary tickets to watch hertz at tiny that weekend 🤢
    ltyf

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    😅
    I dread to think how worse it got 😅
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    😅
    Were they empty 🤔😲

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    😅
    I think he was offered comps for tynie?

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    I think he was offered comps for tynie?
    lol

Sunlife insurance and others in amongst funeral plan gies yer pension and we will release some equity, **** off, my Wife has taken care of all that 🤔

The overuse of the word super.

“it was super nice / cool to meet everyone for surfing / whatever”
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by Viva_Palmeiras View Post
    The overuse of the word super.

“it was super nice / cool to meet everyone for surfing / whatever”
    It’s not just the word super. It’s any superfluous word that doesn’t need to be there. I often listen to radio Scotland in the morning and invariably there some expert or whatever being interviewed about something or other. Almost to a man they start an explanation with the word so. So called intellectuals are the worst culprits.