Page 442 of 474 FirstFirst ... 342392432440441442443444452 ... LastLast
Results 13,231 to 13,260 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Trying to keep track of the Olympic Games is it 1, 2, BBCiPlayer or the red button ???
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 11-08-2024 at 05:34 PM.

This is probably more than a Pet Peeve, but it’s a bit like the “no ball games” sings you see everywhere that piss me off.

Myself and my 3 year old son were passing by a council ran 4G pitch today. We went in through the open gates, found a ball lying in a corner and had a play on the pitch. Can’t have been any longer than 15 minutes.

We get off the pitch and head in to the library, which is attached to the council ran gym (Biggar High School building). The lady behind the desk says “you’ve to pay to go on the pitch”.

I could understand it if it were busy - us and another 2 laddies who were playing down the far end, and I do know these things need funding. Equally it was 22 players not paying I’d agree with her.

The pitch spends most of its life locked and inaccessible, we have an obesity epidemic and children are spending less and less time outdoors playing football and other sports, the pitch is there, just open the frickin gates and let folk play on it!
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    This is probably more than a Pet Peeve, but it’s a bit like the “no ball games” sings you see everywhere that piss me off.

Myself and my 3 year old son were passing by a council ran 4G pitch today. We went in through the open gates, found a ball lying in a corner and had a play on the pitch. Can’t have been any longer than 15 minutes.

We get off the pitch and head in to the library, which is attached to the council ran gym (Biggar High School building). The lady behind the desk says “you’ve to pay to go on the pitch”.

I could understand it if it were busy - us and another 2 laddies who were playing down the far end, and I do know these things need funding. Equally it was 22 players not paying I’d agree with her.

The pitch spends most of its life locked and inaccessible, we have an obesity epidemic and children are spending less and less time outdoors playing football and other sports, the pitch is there, just open the frickin gates and let folk play on it!

That's a joke to be honest, as if you are going to hire a pitch to have a kick about with the bairn. 🤬

Did you pay? 🤔🤭

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    That's a joke to be honest, as if you are going to hire a pitch to have a kick about with the bairn. 🤬

Did you pay? 🤔🤭
    Did I bugger! Tbf she was fine and said just in future and it’s clearly not her that’s made the rule but still.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

People with BO.

On the bus home from the game and there is a guy who is absolutely howling. There is surely no way these people don't realise they smell that bad.

I worked with a guy years ago who reeked. I had the excruciating job of sitting in a meeting with him to discuss it. He admitted he knew he stank but just didn't care.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    People with BO.

On the bus home from the game and there is a guy who is absolutely howling. There is surely no way these people don't realise they smell that bad.

I worked with a guy years ago who reeked. I had the excruciating job of sitting in a meeting with him to discuss it. He admitted he knew he stank but just didn't care.
    Were you on the team bus,because, by all accounts the team were honking!?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post

It's shocking. I live near Porty High and the pitches have been closed all summer. Last year, someone had cut a hole in the fence and younwould always see it being used, often with dads and kids who had got in. No damage done, nothing. Now, since the fence has been fixed it's inaccessible unless you cam climb the fence. Folk moan about things like childhood obesity and Scottish teams being crap and the lack of players coming through. There are facilities, they just lie idle most of the time. It's a ridiculous waste of space.

Quote Originally Posted by Silky View Post
    It's shocking. I live near Porty High and the pitches have been closed all summer. Last year, someone had cut a hole in the fence and younwould always see it being used, often with dads and kids who had got in. No damage done, nothing. Now, since the fence has been fixed it's inaccessible unless you cam climb the fence. Folk moan about things like childhood obesity and Scottish teams being crap and the lack of players coming through. There are facilities, they just lie idle most of the time. It's a ridiculous waste of space.
    Exactly this.

The used to lock the gates at Bangholm playing fields after putting a ****ing terrible 3G pitch there when I was at school, it didn’t stop anyone playing on the pitches (me and my mates) or climbing the fences and smashing up the dugouts.

The padlock made **** all difference.

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    When you contact a company for support via their live chat and you either enter your issue/question on the initial screen or to the chatbot and then get transferred to an actual person but you then have to explain the issue again - why can't they just read what you've said earlier?

Don't normally buy them but fancied a cup-a-soup. Most folk will have them for lunch. If that's the case, why only four in the box?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Ticks!!!

This year seems particularly bad. I trimmed one side of a hedge and cut the grass then jumped in the shower. 2 wee buggers on my body and I wasn't even in long grass.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Don't normally buy them but fancied a cup-a-soup. Most folk will have them for lunch. If that's the case, why only four in the box?
    That used to annoy me but most shops own brand cup a soups are 5 in a box and there is not a great deal of difference taste wise, in fact Tesco mushroom cup soup is better than the Bachelors Cup-a-soup Mushroom, imho of course. I ended up getting a wee soup maker for work, freshly made soup in 19 minutes (couple of minutes prep time too) cannae beat it!

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I don't get this peeve!
    Do you need more than four for lunch?
    Seems a bit much!

Quote Originally Posted by babahibs View Post
    I don't get this peeve!
    Do you need more than four for lunch?
    Seems a bit much!
    That's very funny 👏

Folk at work who message you on Teams with

“Hi are you free just now for 5 mins?”

You answer “yes” right away and then they don’t reply.

You call them and no answer.

Half an hour later they call you by which point you are not free for 5 mins

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    When you contact a company for support via their live chat and you either enter your issue/question on the initial screen or to the chatbot and then get transferred to an actual person but you then have to explain the issue again - why can't they just read what you've said earlier?
    Human behind the chat screen here, you’ve no idea how many people write nonsense in those boxes or how unhelpful some automated questions are towards the actual job, it’s easier to just double check the problem or just repeat, in my place the chats don’t transfer over either so if you have been speaking to a different department about an issue and been sent to me I don’t see the previous conversation I just get a new chat as fresh with the possibility of account details if I’m especially lucky

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Folk at work who message you on Teams with

“Hi are you free just now for 5 mins?”

You answer “yes” right away and then they don’t reply.

You call them and no answer.

Half an hour later they call you by which point you are not free for 5 mins
    And then it's something that didn't require a call and could have been dealt with in seconds with a message or two

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    And then it's something that didn't require a call and could have been dealt with in seconds with a message or two

Or they know it’s much more than 5 minutes needed, and proceed to have a 45 minute call that you didn’t have time for

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Or they know it’s much more than 5 minutes needed, and proceed to have a 45 minute call that you didn’t have time for
    It ended up being this

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    It ended up being this
    I invented meetings in Calendar to stop the chats(as you should see an "In a meeting/busy"). Before lockdown I used to book small meeting rooms so I could get stuff done and avoid the drive by shootings of colleagues approaching my desk with queries.

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    I invented meetings in Calendar to stop the chats(as you should see an "In a meeting/busy"). Before lockdown I used to book small meeting rooms so I could get stuff done and avoid the drive by shootings of colleagues approaching my desk with queries.

Do you really think that's the best way to deal with annoying colleagues?

Tradesmen - I'm totally renovating a house just now. Tradesmen are the reason I have a meltdown most days. The ones who are good are great, faultless and have kept my belief that this job will be done ,but are few and far between. The rest are driving me nuts. It's like wading through toffee on a daily basis.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    There’s either too many dunkers or not enough dairylee in a dairylee dunker. Ratio isn’t right at all.

The amount of people in my street getting garage conversions. I live in a new(ish) build estate where most of the houses have/had a built-in garage. We bought the house from the original owners in 2021 and asked if they had ever considered converting the garage and they said they hadn't but one neighbour had it done, so speak to them if we wanted to know more. We didn't bother as it was a longer-term thing if we had kids, etc. So, in 2021 there was one house out of c.35 with their garage converted - out of about 35. Now, we are in the minority that still have the garage.

It seems like one gets done, and the next one starts a few weeks later. Its the noise, loads of tradesmens' vans blocking the road, etc. with very little respite from it. On the plus side, it'll be stopping soon as there will be hardly any left to get done.
    Last edited by overdrive; 28-08-2024 at 02:07 PM.

The amount of people in my street getting garage conversions. I live in a new(ish) build estate where most of the houses have/had a built-in garage. We bought the house from the original owners in 2021 and asked if they had ever considered converting the garage and they said they hadn't but one neighbour had it done, so speak to them if we wanted to know more. We didn't bother as it was a longer-term thing if we had kids, etc. So, in 2021 there was one house out of c.35 with their garage converted - out of about 35. Now, we are in the minority that still have the garage.

It seems like one gets done, and the next one starts a few weeks later. Its the noise, loads of tradesmens' vans blocking the road, etc. with very little respite from it. On the plus side, it'll be stopping soon as there will be hardly any left to get done.
    It doesn’t stop. Folk go for extensions and others start converting back to a garage.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    There’s either too many dunkers or not enough dairylee in a dairylee dunker. Ratio isn’t right at all.
    Stopped buying them when they went from 4 in a box to 3 and charged the same price.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Do you really think that's the best way to deal with annoying colleagues?
    Worked for me

Sent from my Tab 12 Pro using Tapatalk

Any idea how much it costs to do?

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    Tradesmen - I'm totally renovating a house just now. Tradesmen are the reason I have a meltdown most days. The ones who are good are great, faultless and have kept my belief that this job will be done ,but are few and far between. The rest are driving me nuts. It's like wading through toffee on a daily basis.
    Same here Jay. I've got builders in who knocked a hole in the wall for a new patio sliding door and window. Unless the boss is there it's impossible to communicate with any of the workers because they speak neither German or English and the boss is never available. A job that the boss said would take 3 days is now running into it's 4th week. The company that put the window in were on the ball but had the same problem as me with the builders who should have been doing the preparation and after work. My main problem is taking time off work to be home for appointments that they never turn up for. When they do turn up, then it's for an hour at a time and then without telling us they'll be there.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Same here Jay. I've got builders in who knocked a hole in the wall for a new patio sliding door and window. Unless the boss is there it's impossible to communicate with any of the workers because they speak neither German or English and the boss is never available. A job that the boss said would take 3 days is now running into it's 4th week. The company that put the window in were on the ball but had the same problem as me with the builders who should have been doing the preparation and after work. My main problem is taking time off work to be home for appointments that they never turn up for. When they do turn up, then it's for an hour at a time and then without telling us they'll be there.
    I've had loads not turning up or not send me quotes, my hall wall has been damaged as they removed and old bath as has my door. Empty promises are the norm. None of them work a full day, about 4 hours is then average, and today I've found a soaking floor where they've removed a radiator and not capped it. I've been trying to get a kitchen fitted since June , the painter comes and goes as he pleases and we won't even dicuss trying to get flooring down
    I ended up booking a few days in tenerife next month for my sanity. But on the flip side the good ones have been outstanding. I had one crew come in who spoke very little English so we communicated with our phones, their work was faultless and they put in a 12 hour shift to get the work done.