Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Quite partial to a Nong Shim Shin Pot, far superior to pot noodles, you can thank me later. 🍜
    Is that the red and black pot? Tasty but a **** ton of salt

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Is that the red and black pot? Tasty but a **** ton of salt
    Aye, that's the one.

When I was a bairn, 65 years ago, ……… plain bread, thickly buttered, sugar sandwiches. I’m now type 2 diabetic so wouldn’t recommend it.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    When I was a bairn, 65 years ago, ……… plain bread, thickly buttered, sugar sandwiches. I’m now type 2 diabetic so wouldn’t recommend it.
    Or going to work on a dripping piece Jim, 2 slices of plain bread (4 on a good day) plastered in solidified dripping with burnt remnants of black pudding, bacon sausage and egg and probably a few mouse droppings to add texture as the frying pan lay uncovered on top of the cooker for days until all the dripping had gone and ready for another weeks pieces 🫣

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Or going to work on a dripping piece Jim, 2 slices of plain bread (4 on a good day) plastered in solidified dripping with burnt remnants of black pudding, bacon sausage and egg and probably a few mouse droppings to add texture as the frying pan lay uncovered on top of the cooker for days until all the dripping had gone and ready for another weeks pieces 🫣
    My mother had a chip pan on top of the stove for weeks on end……… her chips were to die for.

Inspired by this thread I had a pizza crunch last night from the chippy. Not had one in years. Feel a bit guilty and queezy this morning in equal measures!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    My mother had a chip pan on top of the stove for weeks on end……… her chips were to die for.
    My Grandad never used a frying pan but his chips were class from his chip pan, home grown spuds chipped and cooked in beef dripping, you could never not like big fat juicy chips, nae wonder I carried a bit of lumber when I was a kid 🤣

Anyone tried these ? I believe they sell them in Iceland IMG_4657.jpg

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Last night I was raking through the freezer as I could only be arsed having a “bung something in the airfryer” night. Got a chippy style battered sausage that I got a pack of at Tescos.

Had a thought halfway through the airfryer time - made a hot dog with it. Nice soft hot dog bun, ketchup, mustard, pickles. Battered sausage.

Not a word of a lie - sensational. Soft, squidgy, crispy, meaty, sweet, pickly, absolutely superb. Unreal.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Inspired by this thread I had a pizza crunch last night from the chippy. Not had one in years. Feel a bit guilty and queezy this morning in equal measures!!
    We'll quite often get one to share as a side to a chippy. Absolutely outstanding. To think I would have a half deep fried pizza supper (not quite a pizza crunch) from the chippy for lunch most days at secondary school. I was rake thin as well despite my massive appetite. Caught up with me now though.

Something I've not had in a while but have a craving for just now is a scotch pie on a roll.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Last night I was raking through the freezer as I could only be arsed having a “bung something in the airfryer” night. Got a chippy style battered sausage that I got a pack of at Tescos.

Had a thought halfway through the airfryer time - made a hot dog with it. Nice soft hot dog bun, ketchup, mustard, pickles. Battered sausage.

Not a word of a lie - sensational. Soft, squidgy, crispy, meaty, sweet, pickly, absolutely superb. Unreal.
    A Scottish version of a corndog I guess

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    We'll quite often get one to share as a side to a chippy. Absolutely outstanding. To think I would have a half deep fried pizza supper (not quite a pizza crunch) from the chippy for lunch most days at secondary school. I was rake thin as well despite my massive appetite. Caught up with me now though.

Something I've not had in a while but have a craving for just now is a scotch pie on a roll.

I like a deep fried pizza now and again, especially folded in half, salt and a wee drop chippy sauce in the middle

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post

I laugh now when I think how deluded I was that I just had a 'good metabolism' when I ate utter crap and never gained weight. I was training 3 nights a week for football, playing once, sometimes twice if I broke club rules and played school football. I was also never out the gym and walked everywhere.

As soon as I stopped all that but didn't amend my eating habits weight piled on. I can keep it off now but it takes a real effort with diet and exercise.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Was diagnosed as type 2 diabetic back in December last year so now my guilty pleasure is probably quite boring/a staple to most...

A slice of white bread, toasted, with butter
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    They are called German biscuits and I will die on this hill.
    Lidls empire :greengri biscuits are lovely.

As a crisp fanatic who could demolish a family bag no bother every time or a multipack in one fell swoop, I decided to stop eating crisps. It was really easy as we just stopped buying them with our weekly shop. Haven’t bought crisps now for about 8 months and feel better for it. My guilty pleasure is buying a pack in the pub after a few pints.

Pork Scratchings, simple delicious, not the imitation efforts but the big chunky tooth breaker ones that sometimes bare a hair or two that you have to suck to a jelly to avoid a trip to the dentist

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Was diagnosed as type 2 diabetic back in December last year so now my guilty pleasure is probably quite boring/a staple to most...

A slice of white bread, toasted, with butter
    Sometimes simple is best though!

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    They are called German biscuits and I will die on this hill.
    My grave will be beside yours on the hill!!

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    My grave will be beside yours on the hill!!
    And mine.

If you shop at Costco you get a box of 12 huge ones for a fiver.

Quote Originally Posted by Itsnoteasy View Post
    And mine.

If you shop at Costco you get a box of 12 huge ones for a fiver.
    They’re not as good as the Empire Biscuits at Lidl though.

My mum makes the best cheesy pasta bar none.

She made some for the kids the other day, and we had some left over so for lunch yesterday I did some bacon in the air fryer, then took it out, cheesy pasta in, put the bacon on top and extra cheese on top of that. It was class.

If you’ve got an air fryer like mine that is a basket get yourself some silicone liners.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Making my own pizza with a sweet chilli base sauce rather than tomato, loaded with mozzarella,parmesan, smoked mozzarella, Gorgonzola and pepperoni, absolutely superb

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    They’re not as good as the Empire Biscuits at Lidl though.
    To die for.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    My latest members only box from my favourite hot sauce company arrived. One of them which is due for a release at a later date is a mild hot sauce flavoured with ginger, miso paste, and ramen broth.

It’s spectacular and if it does go to a proper production I’ll post the link, made some satay noodles last night and liberally splashed this stuff over the top.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    My mum makes the best cheesy pasta bar none.

She made some for the kids the other day, and we had some left over so for lunch yesterday I did some bacon in the air fryer, then took it out, cheesy pasta in, put the bacon on top and extra cheese on top of that. It was class.

If you’ve got an air fryer like mine that is a basket get yourself some silicone liners.
    I do it with a sliced up smoked sausage in the air fryer rather than bacon.

I love an almond croissant.

The ones from Lidl are decent and mega-cheap. Got one from Margiotta this morning, £1.45 and really pretty good.

The almond croissants from Patina are outstanding. They're almost a fiver, which is just mental for a croissant, but they taste great.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I do it with a sliced up smoked sausage in the air fryer rather than bacon.

That’s what we do as well

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I love an almond croissant.

The ones from Lidl are decent and mega-cheap. Got one from Margiotta this morning, £1.45 and really pretty good.

The almond croissants from Patina are outstanding. They're almost a fiver, which is just mental for a croissant, but they taste great.
    Do like them Costa do a good one.

Chocolate peanuts are my vice but have to be high end M&S or Waitrose. CO OP best of the rest.

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Do like them Costa do a good one.

Chocolate peanuts are my vice but have to be high end M&S or Waitrose. CO OP best of the rest.
    Dunno if it’s a new thing or if I’ve only just seen them, but M&S do dark chocolate covered sour cherries and they’re great.