Remember European nights in the 60s where it was not unusual to see a couple of visiting players from continental teams wearing themThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
24-07-2024 01:58 AM #61
-
24-07-2024 02:00 AM #62
Can also remember when it was almost unheard of for goalies to wear gloves.
-
24-07-2024 04:50 AM #63
Diving play acting time wasting going down as if shot by a sniper clutching their head to get the game stopped when hardly been touched game management non football conning the referee does ma heid in
Back in ma day you only went down if you were injured diving would never enter your heid that was for the continentalsLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 24-07-2024 at 05:32 AM.
-
24-07-2024 05:05 AM #64
When you were driving to an away game midweek before the days of sat-nav and seeing the floodlights in the far distance and using the lights of the stadium to guide you to the ground.
-
24-07-2024 05:14 AM #65This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As soon as you saw the floodlights pile oot the bus and run worry about finding the bus later
-
24-07-2024 05:19 AM #66
One of my memories of supporters buses is the whole back seat mooning cars as the bus overtook them on the motorway!
-
24-07-2024 05:25 AM #67
The biggest thing that has changed for me, and has totally changed the entire experience of going to the game are fully seated stadiums. The match used to involve wandering around in the East pint in hand, meeting up with folks each week and having a blether, great socialising event, that has been lost now. I suppose this forum is the modern day equivalent! (But without the CS gas! )
Last edited by Albert Kidd 86; 24-07-2024 at 05:27 AM.
-
24-07-2024 05:30 AM #68This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
24-07-2024 07:59 AM #69This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
24-07-2024 08:40 AM #70
Standing on the Kop as a youngster saw many a person who had taken unwell being passed down to the front over the heads of everyone and the Kop chanting we need an ambulance.
-
24-07-2024 09:35 AM #71This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
24-07-2024 09:38 AM #72
-
24-07-2024 11:05 AM #73
-
24-07-2024 11:07 AM #74
-
24-07-2024 01:48 PM #75This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
When I read the original post about this, I immediately thought of an only an excuse sketch from the early-mid 90s of Jim McLean ranting about him wearing gloves
-
24-07-2024 02:09 PM #76
On the TV one, I watched the 1982 Scotland V Brazil game in The Unicorn pub in Dundee. They had a big screen and projector setup that worked well enough.
I was with a bunch of United fans so the place went absolutely wild when Dave Narey scored a raker followed by much hilarity when Jimmy Hill described it as a toe poke during the replay.
-
24-07-2024 02:13 PM #77
-
24-07-2024 02:15 PM #78This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
24-07-2024 02:24 PM #79
-
24-07-2024 03:12 PM #80This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
25-07-2024 04:46 AM #81
I was at Easter Road in the 60s when the ref stopped play and ordered Peter Marinello to tuck his shirt into his shorts.
-
25-07-2024 04:53 AM #82
A large number of Carlton branch members took up their new vantage point in the North Enclosure immediately.