Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    👍

Outfield players wearing gloves, who started that one?
    Remember European nights in the 60’s where it was not unusual to see a couple of visiting players from ‘continental’ teams wearing them

Can also remember when it was almost unheard of for goalies to wear gloves.

Diving play acting time wasting going down as if shot by a sniper clutching their head to get the game stopped when hardly been touched game management non football conning the referee does ma heid in

Back in ma day you only went down if you were injured diving would never enter your heid that was for the continentals
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 24-07-2024 at 05:32 AM.

When you were driving to an away game midweek before the days of sat-nav and seeing the floodlights in the far distance and using the lights of the stadium to guide you to the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    When you were driving to an away game midweek before the days of sat-nav and seeing the floodlights in the far distance and using the lights of the stadium to guide you to the ground.
    Been on many a Supporters Bus back in the day the driver got lost and there was always some smarty that knew the way …..not !

As soon as you saw the floodlights pile oot the bus and run worry about finding the bus later

First Team Breakthrough Albert Kidd 86’'s Avatar
    One of my memories of supporters buses is the whole back seat mooning cars as the bus overtook them on the motorway!

First Team Breakthrough Albert Kidd 86’'s Avatar
    The biggest thing that has changed for me, and has totally changed the entire experience of going to the game are fully seated stadiums. The match used to involve wandering around in the East pint in hand, meeting up with folks each week and having a blether, great socialising event, that has been lost now. I suppose this forum is the modern day equivalent! (But without the CS gas!…)
    Last edited by Albert Kidd 86’; 24-07-2024 at 05:27 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Albert Kidd 86’ View Post
    The biggest thing that has changed for me, and has totally changed the entire experience of going to the game are fully seated stadiums. The match used to involve wandering around in the East pint in hand, meeting up with folks each week and having a blether, great socialising event, that has been lost now. I suppose this forum is the modern day equivalent! (But without the CS gas!…)
    Wandering around the East pint in hand ?

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I was wondering about that too 🤔

Standing on the Kop as a youngster saw many a person who had taken unwell being passed down to the front over the heads of everyone and the Kop chanting we need an ambulance.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire HFC View Post
    Every game used to finish at 4.40pm - now, if a game ever kicks off at 3 o'clock, it finishes at 4.50 - how did that happen?
    Someone above said half time used to be 10 minutes. Extra five minutes for half time plus some stoppage time gets you to 4:50.

Quote Originally Posted by xyz23jc View Post
    Seem to remember Le God wearing them, If not, defo Benji or Zemmama!
    I’m sure Sauzee wore leather ones.

Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post
    I’m sure Sauzee wore leather ones.
    Was that not the infamous Pa Kujabi?...sure he wore them in THAT Scottish Cup Final,...need a wee lie down now... .

Quote Originally Posted by leith lynx View Post
    Was that not the infamous Pa Kujabi?...sure he wore them in THAT Scottish Cup Final,...need a wee lie down now... .
    Sauzee had leather gloves on in the millennium derby looking at photos

Quote Originally Posted by Viva_Palmeiras View Post
    Jerren Nixon thr £10m player for United was the first on I recall in Scotland.Their keeper Billy Thompson used to wear trackies every game… must brisk in Dundeh

When I read the original post about this, I immediately thought of an only an excuse sketch from the early-mid 90s of Jim McLean ranting about him wearing gloves

On the TV one, I watched the 1982 Scotland V Brazil game in The Unicorn pub in Dundee. They had a big screen and projector setup that worked well enough.

I was with a bunch of United fans so the place went absolutely wild when Dave Narey scored a raker followed by much hilarity when Jimmy Hill described it as a toe poke during the replay.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Funnily enough I was thinking about the teams coming out individually just the other day

Used to be a good indicator of the relative sizes of support for each team depending on the boos or cheers…and set the atmosphere from literally before kick off.

And for some in what was the North Enclosure, allowed them more chance to hit their preferred target with the remnants of their mince pie.
    One ground this does still happen is Rugby Park. The entrance to their tunnel is about as wide as my front door.

Quote Originally Posted by Albert Kidd 86’ View Post
    It's more than 40 years since fans were allowed to take alcohol into the ground. It came to an end after the rioting at the Old Firm Scottish Cup final of 1980. Folk would literally take carry-outs on to the terracing. There would be cans and bottles all over the place afterwards, although I can't say I recall seeing anyone drinking out of a pint glass.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I remember a Celtic fan coning up the hill at the Dunbar end carrying a crate of export which he passed around his chums and then stood on the empty crate to see.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    I remember a Celtic fan coning up the hill at the Dunbar end carrying a crate of export which he passed around his chums and then stood on the empty crate to see.
    Different world. I remember my grandad would take a hip flask to games and have a wee nip now and again as he sat in the main stand. Very common custom and more genteel than the crates of cans and vodka bottles on the terracing. I was too young to drink back then and to be honest when I WAS old enough and was having a good number of pints before and after games I was quite glad of the respite during the game (although the football could often sour the buzz we'd built up in the pub beforehand!). Now that I think about it I do remember a mate of mind smuggling a wee hip flask of whisky into the away leg of the relegation play-off against Airdrie way back when. It certainly helped to steady the nerves, especially as we went 1-0 down very quickly!

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    When did it become the norm for shirts to worn outside shorts and not tucked in.
    I thought of this one.

I was at Easter Road in the 60’s when the ref stopped play and ordered Peter Marinello to tuck his shirt into his shorts.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    It's more than 40 years since fans were allowed to take alcohol into the ground. It came to an end after the rioting at the Old Firm Scottish Cup final of 1980. Folk would literally take carry-outs on to the terracing. There would be cans and bottles all over the place afterwards, although I can't say I recall seeing anyone drinking out of a pint glass.
    I think Hibs banned alcohol from the terracing circa 1971/1972 due to some trouble in the cow shed, but beer was permitted in the enclosure and stands.

A large number of Carlton branch members took up their new vantage point in the North Enclosure immediately.