Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Simon Murray

Simon Murray

Well deserved MotM.
    Energy, desire, work rate, pace and power. Aye, he's no more than a SPFL player - he's no Lewandowski- but hats off to him. 19 goals this season in that side.

To the Hibs fan who shouted rubbish at him from the wee section opened behind the goals about him being rotten you deserved him biting back at you, pal. As he clearly could be heard shouting back- if he was rubbish, he still scored easily. Probably went too far in calling you a fat @*ck but you probably couldn't complain 🤔🤣

Few fans round us applauded his MotM award. Clear winner.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Would be a big upgrade on any of our strikers bar Maolida

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Everything we currently don’t have

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibees View Post
    Everything we currently don’t have
    You’ve got to wonder… if he’s managed 18 goals in a terrible County team and looks a nightmare to play against… how many extra points might we have picked up this season with him in a central striker’s role?

Our goal return this season has been decent, Maolida’s return exceptional in a short timeframe, but our decent haul has been achieved largely in spite of out of form strikers rather than thanks to them.
    Last edited by Smartie; 04-05-2024 at 09:17 PM.

I still remember loads on here saying he was not good enough for hibs.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jakeshibs View Post
    Guaranteed if his name was Simeone Murario and we signed him for £500k the same people would be buzzing about him.

We have a snobbishness about proven SPFL players that I will never understand.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

He’s the Duracell bunny! He never stops! Absolute nightmare to play against.

I have nothing but admiration for the lad, how can you not?

He always had very good movement. I think he would have done well in the 2nd half of that Lennon season with Allan, McGinn and McGeouch feeding him. It's hard to argue he was a better option that Kamberi and MacLaren at the time though.

He certainly looks a better all round player now and his energy would be welcome. Our defence made Jordan White look like ****ing Pele in the 2nd half though so how much you can read into today is anyone's guess.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    He always had very good movement. I think he would have done well in the 2nd half of that Lennon season with Allan, McGinn and McGeouch feeding him. It's hard to argue he was a better option that Kamberi and MacLaren at the time though.

He certainly looks a better all round player now and his energy would be welcome. Our defence made Jordan White look like ****ing Pele in the 2nd half though so how much you can read into today is anyone's guess.
    He looked like he lost his confidence with us. At the start, he was banging then in during the early League Cup games and scored a couple of big goals for us against Hearts and Rangers. He didn’t really look like he clicked with Stokes all that well and he wasn’t playing well by the time he went out on loan.

When he returned from loan and played games the summer he returned, his head was down something rotten. He didn’t look at all happy and he needs to be that spirited, energetic, chasing lost causes type to be at his best.

Fair play to him for battling back to form.

Quote Originally Posted by jakeshibs View Post
    That was 7 years ago. Do you not think he has improved in that time? Thats half his career ago.

Recently had a diagnosis of autism for his child and speaking out - good to see this kind of activism in players.

https://www.skysports.com/watch/vide...n-sensory-area

He’s a good egg and honest pro.

Kamberi…… I shudder when I hear his name. A big useless caaaaant!

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    That was 7 years ago. Do you not think he has improved in that time? Thats half his career ago.
    It was a myth he wasn’t good enough anyway. Lennon just lost it with the strikers and thankfully it payed off at the time,i really rated Murray,daft as a brush but had strength and power was more intelligent on the field than credit was given to him. Should have been retained for me,but budgets need trimmed to wheel and deal I suppose.

Forget anything to do with quality, the effort he put in to that game today was phenomenal. He was a threat because he put in a proper shift and got himself in to dangerous positions off the back of that. We’ve got players that like to pretend they do that but, really, they generally need everything to be going nicely for them to look good rather than make it happen.

@hibs.net private member Mikey_1875's Avatar
    His levels of fitness put our players to shame today. Impressive performance.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey_1875 View Post
    His levels of fitness put our players to shame today. Impressive performance.
    We had a corner in the second half and seeing our players trying to run back was an absolute embarrassment. They were all over the place for a good couple of minutes as they weren’t fit enough to get back in to their shape.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    We had a corner in the second half and seeing our players trying to run back was an absolute embarrassment. They were all over the place for a good couple of minutes as they weren’t fit enough to get back in to their shape.
    Second half we could have hooked any of them- blowing out their proverbials

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Yet he’s still banging in goals v Hearts, The Rangers and Hibs 7 years later 👍

Quote Originally Posted by tonyrougier123 View Post
    It was a myth he wasn’t good enough anyway. Lennon just lost it with the strikers and thankfully it payed off at the time,i really rated Murray,daft as a brush but had strength and power was more intelligent on the field than credit was given to him. Should have been retained for me,but budgets need trimmed to wheel and deal I suppose.
    Don't think it was. He started extremely well, but had fallen off a cliff form wise and was replaced with 2 guys who made a massive impact.

Reality is, if he had been playing for us this season, he wouldn't have looked nearly as good. We have a habit of making players that should perform well look progressively worse instead. Then we say they're rubbish and not "Hibs class". Only for them to then come back and haunt us within another team in the league with a substantially smaller budget that knows how to get the best out of key players regardless of how poor their overall squad is.

Simon Murray is as good as most of the forwards we have just now but his work rate, passion and determination far outstrips any of them.

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    He is the type of player we’re missing.

I said when dodge was sold that we no longer had a striker to ruffle up defenders or make them defend through a physical presence.

We should be seriously weighing up bringing him in. If the clear out is as big as it should be we will need players like that. He knows the club and has a ready made platform knowing what he’s coming into.

@hibs.net private member The Spaceman's Avatar
    Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray.

Worth re-signing him for that alone.

Gogic

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Gogic
    Sportsound saying he was outstanding yesterday. Had a great season.

Really liked him on his time here and was a bit peed off that we got rid.

Said yesterday that he has more hunger and desire to do well for his team than our whole squad together.

If we had even 2 players with that attitude we wouldn’t be where we are.

His work rate was always incredible. Ran his socks off in a Hibs shirt.

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post

Said yesterday that he has more hunger and desire to do well for his team than our whole squad together.

If we had even 2 players with that attitude we wouldn’t be where we are.
    He may not be the silkiest of players but looks like he would run through a brick wall for his team, shame we cant say the same for our bunch of snowflakes

Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    Me too. I remember being really surprised and disappointed that we let him go. And I've not actually felt like about many players who've left in the last 5+ years.

[Outwith the obvious ones, that is. Like Scott Brown and McGinn, who we all knew would move on but that we would get a decent fee for.]