Page 422 of 474 FirstFirst ... 322372412420421422423424432472 ... LastLast
Results 12,631 to 12,660 of 14218

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

One of my Wifes friends had a stroke and was given an adapted car and access to a disabled bay outside her flat in Craigentinny. She got up one morning recently to find her drivers side window smashed and her blue badge stolen

To make things worse she went back to her car after reporting it to Police only to find a traffic warden had stickered her for not displaying her blue badge 😡

Drama queen's. Drive me nuts.

I bought a pregnancy ball on vinted. No word after 7 days so i sent a message saying Hi, are you intending on sending this item. As its been 7 days I'm just checking everything is OK.

Complete meltdown by the seller accusing me of being rude. Messages back and forward, mostly me saying its an £8 order calm doon. Turns out the word 'intending' is rude and triggered her. I just can't deal with the drama. Post the ball or cancel the order. Job done.

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    Drama queen's. Drive me nuts.

I bought a pregnancy ball on vinted. No word after 7 days so i sent a message saying Hi, are you intending on sending this item. As its been 7 days I'm just checking everything is OK.

Complete meltdown by the seller accusing me of being rude. Messages back and forward, mostly me saying its an £8 order calm doon. Turns out the word 'intending' is rude and triggered her. I just can't deal with the drama. Post the ball or cancel the order. Job done.
    I dont use any of those places but my Son In Law is a very respected seller so he gets rid of my stuff for me. My problem are people wanting something for nothing despite me knocking a fair chunk off it in the first place

I have a few guitars and decided to sell a couple, one was over £1000 when I bought it and I also paid around £500 to give it a complete overhaul, for good measure I threw in a practice amp, shoulder strap, new strings, hard case etc, an absolute knockdown price of £700

My Son In Law messaged me a week after putting it up for sale with someone offering £400 🤣

I sold it a day later for my asking price 😁

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I dont use any of those places but my Son In Law is a very respected seller so he gets rid of my stuff for me. My problem are people wanting something for nothing despite me knocking a fair chunk off it in the first place

I have a few guitars and decided to sell a couple, one was over £1000 when I bought it and I also paid around £500 to give it a complete overhaul, for good measure I threw in a practice amp, shoulder strap, new strings, hard case etc, an absolute knockdown price of £700

My Son In Law messaged me a week after putting it up for sale with someone offering £400 🤣

I sold it a day later for my asking price 😁
    I know that is annoying for you as the seller but I find that quite funny in that it's just a total chancer trying his luck on a big ticket item. You are never going to sell to them at that price.

It's the people who haggle over miniscule amounts I don't get. I usually just bag stuff up for the charity shop if it's still in decent nick when I'm done with it. I did have a couple do really nice shirts I had never worn and decided to sell them in Vinted recently. They were both priced at £90, I got them in a sale for £50 and stuck them on Vinted both still with tags for £15. One guy offered £14 which I rejected because it's a decent item and already a bargain for him. He came back and offered £14.50. Mate it's 50 ****ing pence. I rejected the offer just out of spite really and someone else paid the asked price. Both shirts sold in less than a day so it wasn't like I was totally over with my pricing, if anything I was under. I can't imagine missing out on something I wanted for the sake of trying to save 50p.

I know that is annoying for you as the seller but I find that quite funny in that it's just a total chancer trying his luck on a big ticket item. You are never going to sell to them at that price.

It's the people who haggle over miniscule amounts I don't get. I usually just bag stuff up for the charity shop if it's still in decent nick when I'm done with it. I did have a couple do really nice shirts I had never worn and decided to sell them in Vinted recently. They were both priced at £90, I got them in a sale for £50 and stuck them on Vinted both still with tags for £15. One guy offered £14 which I rejected because it's a decent item and already a bargain for him. He came back and offered £14.50. Mate it's 50 ****ing pence. I rejected the offer just out of spite really and someone else paid the asked price. Both shirts sold in less than a day so it wasn't like I was totally over with my pricing, if anything I was under. I can't imagine missing out on something I wanted for the sake of trying to save 50p.
    Funny you say that about the charity, I had another guitar and amp plus bits n bobs which I was selling for £100, again I got offered around £60 which I refused.

I then seen a youth club in Niddrie who were looking for unwanted musical instruments so they could teach young folk in the area how to play music, perfect, I contacted them and they collected an acoustic, an electric guitar, an amp, cables, foot pedal and some plectrums, someone will benefit and I managed to clear some space

For my new guitars 😁

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    That Pot Noodle advert..

You also get the opposite side if it on places like eBay, where sellers do similar.

Item is advertised at £50, but open for offers. So you offer £40, seller responds saying £49.50. So you offer £45, seller says £49.25. Usually just chuck it at that point, don’t say you’re open to offers then take the piss when someone actually does that. Just set it at buy it now for 50, saves a lot of faffing about

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    You also get the opposite side if it on places like eBay, where sellers do similar.

Item is advertised at £50, but open for offers. So you offer £40, seller responds saying £49.50. So you offer £45, seller says £49.25. Usually just chuck it at that point, don’t say you’re open to offers then take the piss when someone actually does that. Just set it at buy it now for 50, saves a lot of faffing about
    I actually dont mind someone trying to knock a tenner off the price as I dont know their budgets so worth a try. Im not in the business of selling anything for gain and Im happy my equipment is going to a good home

A few years ago I sold a stunning Tanglewood guitar after only 6 months of owning it, I just didnt like its playability so knocked £50 off the price I bought it for. A guy from Kirkaldy who played in a folk band messaged me almost immediately but asked if I would accept £10 off the price

I accepted and he drove over within an hour, tried the guitar and handed the cash over, no piss take and both of us happy

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    That Pot Noodle advert..
    Does my head in, awful advert

That Pot Noodle advert..
    I see your pot noodle advert and raise you the on the beach advert. Christmas songs in March? **** off.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I actually dont mind someone trying to knock a tenner off the price as I dont know their budgets so worth a try. Im not in the business of selling anything for gain and Im happy my equipment is going to a good home

A few years ago I sold a stunning Tanglewood guitar after only 6 months of owning it, I just didnt like its playability so knocked £50 off the price I bought it for. A guy from Kirkaldy who played in a folk band messaged me almost immediately but asked if I would accept £10 off the price

I accepted and he drove over within an hour, tried the guitar and handed the cash over, no piss take and both of us happy

Sorry mate, should have made myself clearer, I wasn’t referring to you, I agree with a lot of what your post said

Like you, I’d happily see a bit less money and see something go to a good home

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    I see your pot noodle advert and raise you the on the beach advert. Christmas songs in March? **** off.

I’m catching up on a podcast so about 6 months out of date and the advert might not be playing anymore. However the McDonalds radio add for working for them. They’re making a big play about the flexible working for a managers job, fair enough. Though the actor/character they chose sounds like they have had a lobotomy. It’s bizarre, they sound like an alien trying to impersonate a human.

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Sorry mate, should have made myself clearer, I wasn’t referring to you, I agree with a lot of what your post said

Like you, I’d happily see a bit less money and see something go to a good home
    Oh of course mate I didnt think you were referring to me 👍

I was just on my high horse there for a bit 😁

I agree though and I always chop a fair chunk off the price as Im not really interested in making profits, most of the guitars and equipment have been used and although at times frustrating they were a part of my learning and Im just happy for someone to get a use out of the stuff rather than it all gathering dust in the corner of a room

Chopping the price off a 6 month old guitar to almost half price and someone offers half of that is taking the piss though

Come on horsey 🤣

That Pot Noodle advert..
    Channel gets changed as soon as it comes on.

Folk that insist on using bigliest on The Main Forum when referring to Hearts.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    The constant use of bigliest on the main forum, file it in the same bin as baller, oh my days and my bad.
    Folk that insist on using bigliest on The Main Forum when referring to Hearts.
    People who repeat themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    People who repeat themselves.
    I'll probably continue to repeat it until it ceases to be a thing.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    I'll probably continue to repeat it until it ceases to be a thing.
    You may be at it a while. What would you replace bigliest with? Works for me as the sort of adjective they like to present themselves with while extracting urine.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    You may be at it a while. What would you replace bigliest with? Works for me as the sort of adjective they like to present themselves with while extracting urine.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
    It's a thread for Pet Peeves, that's my main one for now.

People that say "Oh my days" may continue to be top of the list having given it further consideration.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 05-03-2024 at 02:18 PM.

When someone is interviewed and clickbait claims they have 'spoken out' or 'broken their silence' . They've just had a chat and answered a question

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jay View Post
    when someone is interviewed and clickbait claims they have 'spoken out' or 'broken their silence' . They've just had a chat and answered a question

"Jay from hibs.net breaks his silence on clickbait interview fury"

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Commentators that prefix or suffix Harry Kane's name every time with "the England captain".

Last night, they couldn't just say his name. If it wasn't "great strike by Harry Kane, the England captain" it was "brilliant link up play from the England captain, Harry Kane". Why wasn't it "lovely play by Joshua Kimmich, the Germany vice-captain"? He just got plain old "Kimmich".

Just saw an ad on Facebook for "dog mum" mother's day cards. Wtaf is that about ? ****ing mental.
    Last edited by Fuzzywuzzy; 06-03-2024 at 03:43 PM.

Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Just saw an ad on Facebook for "dog mum" mother's day cards. Wtaf is that about ? ****ing mental.
    Have to agree, ****ing annoying. Through work I meet a lot of “cat mummy’s and daddy’s” with “fur babies” (BOKE). They’re all extraordinarily nippy, I really do dread to imagine their social circle. Now I love my cats, I really do, but they’re not my babies. In fact, in cat years my oldest would be 15 years older than me. Also can’t stand when people talk to their pets as if they’re talking to a newborn.

Last edited by ErinGoBraghHFC; 06-03-2024 at 05:35 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Have to agree, ****ing annoying. Through work I meet a lot of “cat mummy’s and daddy’s” with “fur babies” (BOKE). They’re all extraordinarily nippy, I really do dread to imagine their social circle. Now I love my cats, I really do, but they’re not my babies. In fact, in cat years my oldest would be 15 years older than me. Also can’t stand when people talk to their pets as if they’re talking to a newborn.

Must admit I do talk a load of utter nonsense to my dog when nobody's listening but "fur babies" is scarily common and utterly bonkers.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Must admit I do talk a load of utter nonsense to my dog when nobody's listening but "fur babies" is scarily common and utterly bonkers.
    Oh I talk utter pish to my cats too mate but it’s the daft wee baby voice in front of company, bizarre

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Oh I talk utter pish to my cats too mate but it’s the daft wee baby voice in front of company, bizarre

Agree with all of the above.

They're animals from a different species, if you want to mother something have a baby.

My wife has a friend who got a dog with their partner, mothered it to the point of absurdity (picking him up, calling him "son", holding like a baby etc) and then shock horror they got married and then got pregnant within the space of a year or so and the dog was a yappy, jealous nightmare when the baby was born so he had to be given away. So the dog suffers in the long term because of the mental behaviour of the owners.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

If my wife doesn't get a card from our dogs she'll genuinely go in the huff with me. Same with her birthday. Was moaning about game on Sunday but with it being a later kick off I've talked her round. If it had be earlier, nightmare.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    If my wife doesn't get a card from our dogs she'll genuinely go in the huff with me.
    But she's not annoyed at the dogs?

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Getting banned from promotions and free games on Virgin Bet... ah sorry lads, did you not turn me into the problem gambler like you wanted?

(I'm a bit conflicted on this one to be fair, they're a business and have identified me as someone who just takes there's freebies and spends nothing... but they offer them up and that's their choice. Would Costco ban me if I go there every week, take a free sample and leave?).

I genuinely enjoyed by daily fives player and checking if they'd scored at the weekend, my wife played too and we'd compare teams etc. Generally I'd be wanting on some defender from West Ham scoring for 50p or something which would have no bearing on their profits.
    Last edited by danhibees1875; 09-03-2024 at 06:06 PM.