Page 418 of 474 FirstFirst ... 318368408416417418419420428468 ... LastLast
Results 12,511 to 12,540 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I nearly bought one of these for the bin to be told by the wife I'm creating work for the binmen

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BSDS2M...VYAY0XGE12TAVT

I mean, what they going to do? Get the teamsters on me?
    Not too dissimilar in terms of extra work to the covers you get for the glass recycling boxes.

We are near the depot and they are usually with us sometime before 6.30 so we need to put them out the night before for the landfill. Recycling and food waste is a lottery when they come.

More annoying is due to the pavements in our street being on the same level as the road, the binmen seem to not bother actually returning the bins to the pavement and just leave them in the middle of the road. If you happen to be the first car in/out of the street after them you have to constantly stop, get out and move the bins so you can get past

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Glasgow Queen Street station. Why do they only put the platform on the board 20 seconds before it’s due to leave?

Folk wearing wellies or boots avoiding walking through puddles

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Folk wearing wellies or boots avoiding walking through puddles
    Aye, it's a bit like people wearing seat belts avoiding crashes.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Aye, it's a bit like people wearing seat belts avoiding crashes.
    Aye or wearing trainers or running shoes, I cant ****ing train and I cant run, maybe I will buy a pair of walkers next time 😀

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    It really bugs me when pundits are allowed on the pitch before the games

Changing Word Meanings

What gets me is the reversal of word definitions in my lifetime.

To sanction something when I was young meant to approve it. Now it means the opposite.

I want to know when this reversal happened. The exact date and who authorised this !

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    What gets me is the reversal of word definitions in my lifetime.

To sanction something when I was young meant to approve it. Now it means the opposite.

I want to know when this reversal happened. The exact date and who authorised this !
    It means both, no?

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dic...glish/sanction

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post

I always thought it was both

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    I always thought it was both

My pet peeve for today is when somebody has a perfectly good rant and people go and spoil it, with mere facts!

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    I’ll always appreciate the time when someone gave me the definition of the word “multiple”.

It meant a lot.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    I’ll always appreciate the time when someone gave me the definition of the word “multiple”.

It meant a lot.

Wrong thread?

I hate food shopping, doing the weekly shop and putting all the items onto the belt, still have a half full trolley and the person behind me starts putting their items up, they had a very small basket and literally 10 steps away was the self checkout, has to tell her to wait till I had all mine up, tutted like I was in the wrong. What I am noticing more and more each day is the impatience of people, everyone is in a rush.

Quote Originally Posted by Jakhog1 View Post
    I hate food shopping, doing the weekly shop and putting all the items onto the belt, still have a half full trolley and the person behind me starts putting their items up, they had a very small basket and literally 10 steps away was the self checkout, has to tell her to wait till I had all mine up, tutted like I was in the wrong. What I am noticing more and more each day is the impatience of people, everyone is in a rush.
    I park my trolley at the beginning of the belt so the person behind can’t load until I’m ready.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 13-02-2024 at 01:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    II park my trolley at the beginning of the belt so the person behind can’t load until I’m ready.
    Yeah, that was my mistake, that's what will be happening from now on.

***** pancakes.

I make pancakes with my sourdough starter discard every Saturday morning. They soak up syrup, fruit coulis, bacon fat, cream etc. They are big, light and fluffy and leave you full for hours.

Why am I supposed to be impressed by some glorified crepe drowning in artificial lemon juice that is inevitably overcooked? It's just so joyless, rather than being celebratory it would be better suited to being served during Lent with eating it being an act of penance.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 13-02-2024 at 02:31 PM.

I make pancakes with my sourdough starter discard every Saturday morning. They soak up syrup, fruit coulis, bacon fat, cream etc. They are big, light and fluffy and leave you full for hours.
    Recipe?

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Recipe?
    200g flour
    Tablespoon golden caster sugar
    Teaspoon and a half baking powder
    220g sourdough starter
    2 eggs
    250ml milk

whisk it until it's smooth then add in 75g melted butter. Leave to sit for a few minutes until wee bubbles start appearing on the surface then fry in a bit more melted butter. Should make about 10-12 Scotch style pancakes.

200g flour
    Tablespoon golden caster sugar
    Teaspoon and a half baking powder
    220g sourdough starter
    2 eggs
    250ml milk

whisk it until it's smooth then add in 75g melted butter. Leave to sit for a few minutes until wee bubbles start appearing on the surface then fry in a bit more melted butter. Should make about 10-12 Scotch style pancakes.

My wife cleans the dashboard and the monitor screen with antibacterial wipes whilst I’m driving, often when I need the satnav. Inevitably I will miss a turn off as the screen veers off to either side of the satnav when she gets onto the monitor, gets right on my Brad Pitt’s.

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    My wife cleans the dashboard and the monitor screen with antibacterial wipes whilst I’m driving, often when I need the satnav. Inevitably I will miss a turn off as the screen veers off to either side of the satnav when she gets onto the monitor, gets right on my Brad Pitt’s.

Never could I put up with that; the papers are on the mantlepiece.....

Alan Carr, so called Comedian, ****ing brutal 😡

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Alan Carr, so called Comedian, ****ing brutal 😡
    I have never heard anything remotely amusing from this guy.

Valentine’s Day and all the over the top expensive pish that goes with it. I don’t need a glorified mass marketing ploy to tell my wife how much I love her.

Obviously birthday, anniversary and Christmas isn't enough.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Not only the standard "holiday" cash grab, but also custom designed to make single people feel *****. It might be the worst of the lot.

Although I do hate how commercial Amazon Prime Day has become in recent years.

Spent less than a tenner on a card and some flowers. Just a hallmark holiday.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Nothing wrong in having a day for people to take time out and remember what they have.

You are also free to buy into it or not. Last time I looked it wasn’t compulsory to take part (best to check with the wife first tho )

Signing off an email, or worse a text with "Best"

I don't know why it triggers me. More of an irrational peeve, probably

Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    Signing off an email, or worse a text with "Best"

I don't know why it triggers me. More of an irrational peeve, probably
    I agree, not a fan.

Also… I usually always think when people begin a work email with just my name, rather than preceding with a “hi” or other term, it’s to show they’re higher up and display their level of authority.