Page 413 of 474 FirstFirst ... 313363403411412413414415423463 ... LastLast
Results 12,361 to 12,390 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    This year we got the butchers to butterfly turkey breast and I got a bag of bones etc to make the soup. Very easy to cook and quicker than a full bird.
    I shredded the turkey up, gave the dog some then made turkey, rice and veg soup with crusty bread, lovely

Queue jumpers in pubs.

I'm not into all this single file nonsense that seemed to take off during covid but I'm also not a total roaster who will skip in front of someone who has been there a lot longer than me. A little nod and 'he/she was here first' used to be pretty customary but it seems a thing of the past now. Admittedly a decent barperson is usually pretty aware of the order for service.

I was in the pub pre match the other night and it was rammed. I got my position at the bar and the barmaid was serving quickly and in decent order. Some guy who was more than old enough to know better just barged his way to the bar and started raising his hand every time she walked past and trying to call out his order. Tbf the barmaid studiously ignored him and kept serving those who had been their longest. A new guy jumped on the bar and when Mr pushy clocked this he was right in there calling his order out and not giving anyone else half a chance to get their order in and not giving the new barman any chance to asses who was first. He knew there was 3 or 4 people who had been waiting longer but he didn't care. Selfish ****.

Queue jumpers in pubs.

I'm not into all this single file nonsense that seemed to take off during covid but I'm also not a total roaster who will skip in front of someone who has been there a lot longer than me. A little nod and 'he/she was here first' used to be pretty customary but it seems a thing of the past now. Admittedly a decent barperson is usually pretty aware of the order for service.

I was in the pub pre match the other night and it was rammed. I got my position at the bar and the barmaid was serving quickly and in decent order. Some guy who was more than old enough to know better just barged his way to the bar and started raising his hand every time she walked past and trying to call out his order. Tbf the barmaid studiously ignored him and kept serving those who had been their longest. A new guy jumped on the bar and when Mr pushy clocked this he was right in there calling his order out and not giving anyone else half a chance to get their order in and not giving the new barman any chance to asses who was first. He knew there was 3 or 4 people who had been waiting longer but he didn't care. Selfish ****.
    Yeah that always annoyed me too. More airport related a year or so ago we jumped on a flight to Copenhagen and they called out seats from A to D or whatever to board then all of a sudden two young lassies probably mid 20s just barged through and almost knee capping me with her case in the process

Straight to the front they went with one of them saying along the lines of “**** we will get home at midnight waiting on these ditters” . I love the last laugh though, one of the lassies was checked through but when the gobby ones passport was checked she was refused because her passport was out of date, think she had 2 months or so before expiry and was refused plane boarding

She went awfy emotional and begged to fly but they flatly refused her. I did have some sympathy for her, Im not all that bad 🫢

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Human pigs. Lady on the train last night eating some kind of seeds and spitting the shells out onto the floor and seats. After stuffing her face with some kind of gunge she then wiped her greasy fingers on the seats before moving to another seat leaving her **** behind her all whilst listening to loud videos on her mobile phone. Utterly minging behaviour and normally I would have said something but I thought better of starting an argument with a woman on her own on a train at night.

Fireworks! It's 10pm on Hogmanay and that's them started. Dogs now sitting themselves and won't go out later. 10pm!!! Not even close to midnight. Dicks

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Fireworks! It's 10pm on Hogmanay and that's them started. Dogs now sitting themselves and won't go out later. 10pm!!! Not even close to midnight. Dicks
    I'm in England so fireworks on TV are from London.

It's pretty impressive and it's in combo with a drone show and the drones are so much better. Probably not practical for private events but for big public displays hopefully that's the future. Pretty spectacular but quiet.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    It's been three days solid in Berlin, now it sounds like the Russians are at the door again. Luckily my mutt seems unphased by them, in fact he looks up at the sky and watches the fireworks explode with a look of curiosity on his face.

Back of 9 it started here, total ********s, no need at all

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    I used to like you. Reported.

It’s a hill I will die on, anything but Turkey!
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Big large bird that feeds a large family.
    There’s an in law related cracker joke somewhere in there.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Chicken or Turkey, they’re both ****. It’s just a waste of oven space, I’d rather have Lamb & Duck.
    Chicken I can do well, Turkey is just *****. The one I had was inedible.

I did not cook it however!

Like you Scouse, I’d have either of your suggestions with a ham or beef on the side.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Queue jumpers in pubs.

Happened to me at the Montford, got hemmed into a corner at the bar, couldn't move and Everyman and their dog got served before me
    Last edited by Fuzzywuzzy; 01-01-2024 at 08:14 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    The music Sky play in the intervals in the darts. Horrible cheesy dancey pish. And these dancers...why?

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Worst of the lot is Julian Clary. Maybe making innuendos and suggestive comments to straight men and simialr jokes to the above was hillarious and edgy in the lates 80s or whenever he appeared on the scene but the world has moved on and it's just tired and ridiculous now.
    This is odd as I accidentally stumbled across old posts on here, but he was brilliant on Taskmaster. When off the cuff he was hilarious and one of my favourite contestants that’s been on the show, and wouldn’t normally enjoy his stand up.

Lee Mack was the opposite way round.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

People who get upset about something they have clearly not understood or are wilfully ignorant about.

The number of people losing their minds on social media about this 'new' tax on Vinted, eBay, Etsy etc is madness. It's not a new tax, anyone making more than £1K income has always been required to declare it as income and potentially file a self assesment tax return. Even then there is a higher allowance (£6K rings a bell) if you are selling personal belongings that were never intended for resale and there's even further caveats on that.

The most common gripe is 'oh so I'm going to be taxed twice. Once when I buy my baby clothes and again when I sell it 2nd hand as a loss'. Firstly children's clothes are VAT exempt so you haven't already been taxed at point of purchase. Secondly you would have to be running a commercial scale operation to have to worry about breaching the threshold on a site like Vinted where kids clothes sell for about £2 a t shirt.

I'm more concerned that so many people don't seem to realise they potentially have legal obligations on secondary income. I used to sell on Etsy and was always aware there was potential for my sales figures to be shared with HMRC (the threshold was and continues to be very high). I think the most I ever paid in tax after completing a return with my figures and other incomes was just under £2. It's panic over nothing being whipped up by a social media frenzy exploiting ignorance.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 03-01-2024 at 01:41 AM.

People who sing Auld Lang Zyne, even Scottish people Ive heard singing it and using Zyne, its ****ing Syne !! (Old Long Since)

Although Ive probably said zyne a few times too 🫣

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    My wife's employer's restrictive annual leave policies that get progressively worse. She gets the minimum legal annual leave allowance - 28 days. It started off that they couldn't take leave in late July as it is their busy period (fair enough) and had to use some of it (2 weeks' worth) while they were closed over Christmas (she doesn't mind this that much - plenty of places do it, including my employer).

Then it was "you must use some of it in this specific week in August whilst the office closes down after a busy period". So that's a week of her leave which clashes with my busy period at work.

Then it was "you can't take any leave between January and June as it is busy planning for the busy period in July. You might get the odd single day approved". So there's a chunk of my, admittedly, way more generous leave entitlement that I have to take where we can't go away together.

Now it is "everyone must take leave at the same time - so make that week in August two weeks and since there is one member of staff with a school aged child, you also need to take whichever week the school October holiday is." Great, another week we can't actually go away anywhere together and the one week we can go away together, it will be expensive.

The remaining 3 days or whatever it is she has remaining can be taken as she pleases but if she adds that onto the week in October, to make a slightly longer holiday, I can see the next argument will be "oh but there's a bit of activity planned in November so you need to be in for the rest of October. Oh, and she has to tell her boss which dates she's taking those 3 days on by the end of this week (she was told today). She's really hacked off. I am too.
    Last edited by overdrive; 08-01-2024 at 02:33 PM.

People who get upset about something they have clearly not understood or are wilfully ignorant about.

The number of people losing their minds on social media about this 'new' tax on Vinted, eBay, Etsy etc is madness. It's not a new tax, anyone making more than £1K income has always been required to declare it as income and potentially file a self assesment tax return. Even then there is a higher allowance (£6K rings a bell) if you are selling personal belongings that were never intended for resale and there's even further caveats on that.

The most common gripe is 'oh so I'm going to be taxed twice. Once when I buy my baby clothes and again when I sell it 2nd hand as a loss'. Firstly children's clothes are VAT exempt so you haven't already been taxed at point of purchase. Secondly you would have to be running a commercial scale operation to have to worry about breaching the threshold on a site like Vinted where kids clothes sell for about £2 a t shirt.

I'm more concerned that so many people don't seem to realise they potentially have legal obligations on secondary income. I used to sell on Etsy and was always aware there was potential for my sales figures to be shared with HMRC (the threshold was and continues to be very high). I think the most I ever paid in tax after completing a return with my figures and other incomes was just under £2. It's panic over nothing being whipped up by a social media frenzy exploiting ignorance.
    6k is either the capital gains tax annual exemption or the Chattel rules you are thinking of.

But yeh, you're correct. This isn't a new tax, anyone trading should be completing self-assessment.

Anyone selling their old stuff on vinted / ebay whatever has nothing to worry about. It seems to have been pretty poor messaging from HMRC / Ebay / Vinted etc...

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Neighbourhood gatherings. Been living here for 35 years and this became a 'thing' about 20 years ago when someone new arrived.

Don’t get me started on the "you've lived here the longest" Aye and we aren't sociable. Get over it!!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Neighbourhood gatherings. Been living here for 35 years and this became a 'thing' about 20 years ago when someone new arrived.

Don’t get me started on the "you've lived here the longest" Aye and we aren't sociable. Get over it!!
    That would drive me nuts, my Brother in law and his Wife bought a new house just up from the Gyle shopping centre a few years ago and it was a constant, next door would just traipse in early in the morning with rolls etc and just help himself to a coffee 🤣

I experienced it a few times after wakening up on their couch after a session in the Carricknowe pub 🤢

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    That would drive me nuts, my Brother in law and his Wife bought a new house just up from the Gyle shopping centre a few years ago and it was a constant, next door would just traipse in early in the morning with rolls etc and just help himself to a coffee

I experienced it a few times after wakening up on their couch after a session in the Carricknowe pub
    Sounds like an episode of Two Doors Down!
    :rofl:

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Sounds like an episode of Two Doors Down!
    :rofl:
    That was just one neighbour, there were others, I think they were just being over friendly, they werent swingers

That I know off 🫢

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Watching some doughnut now on STV defending XL Bully dogs. She can barely string a sentence together. There isn't a stupider group of people in life that those who can't see how dangerous these dogs are.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Watching some doughnut now on STV defending XL Bully dogs. She can barely string a sentence together. There isn't a stupider group of people in life that those who can't see how dangerous these dogs are.
    Is she not the one that is saying that people shouldn’t be taking them in if they don’t know anything about handling them?

Personally I don’t think anyone can handle them.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Is she not the one that is saying that people shouldn’t be taking them in if they don’t know anything about handling them?

Personally I don’t think anyone can handle them.
    She headed up an XL Bully rescue group. Claiming Jack Russells were just as dangerous. The stats for attacks on people and other dogs by XL Bullys are horrendous given how few of the dogs there actually are.

Your point is spot on. The dogs could snap at any point. Suddenly thats a bad owners fault? And if it hasnt snapped yet then the owners are handling them right? Sooner they are banned the better.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Scotland will be a dumping ground for these things until the Scottish government gets it's finger out and bans them here too.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Scotland will be a dumping ground for these things until the Scottish government gets it's finger out and bans them here too.
    They are banning them now.

I had a dream/nightmare last night about getting attacked by two XL bullies. Got my face ripped apart in it . Strange in that despite having an extreme phobia of dogs since childhood after being attacked more than once, that's the first time I've actually had a nightmare about a dog attack.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    They are banning them now.

I had a dream/nightmare last night about getting attacked by two XL bullies. Got my face ripped apart in it . Strange in that despite having an extreme phobia of dogs since childhood after being attacked more than once, that's the first time I've actually had a nightmare about a dog attack.
    All dogs should be banned and somewhere like Ireland expatriated for all dogs to be sent and live feral. Long live the cat!

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    All dogs should be banned and somewhere like Ireland expatriated for all dogs to be sent and live feral. Long live the cat!
    What about a Scottish Island? Many seen to thunk they're the answer to some things

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    What about a Scottish Island? Many seen to thunk they're the answer to some things
    They'd just need to get St Patrick back in, new job for him.