Page 404 of 474 FirstFirst ... 304354394402403404405406414454 ... LastLast
Results 12,091 to 12,120 of 14217

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    DNS-based blocking only works if the ads come from a different domain to the website itself. This is pretty common, as most sites don't host their own ads but get them from some ad network, so blocking the ad network domain prevents them from loading. YouTube is one example where the ads do come from the same domain, so if you blocked the source of the ads then you'd also block the video itself.

If you're using a desktop browser, an ad blocker extension (like uBlock Origin) will block almost everything. including YouTube ads (although YouTube is trying to prevent that: https://www.tomsguide.com/news/youtu...th-ad-blockers).

I use both. Browser ad blocker means I pretty much never see an ad when in a desktop browser, and DNS blocking covers a lot of cases where you can't install an ad blocker – apps on your phone etc.

Excellent info 👍🏻.

For avoiding YouTube ads on my android phone I've installed a third party app, NewPipe. Share any videos on YouTube to NewPipe before they start playing.

“442” being said as often on the main board as what “Sturgeon” used to get on the Holy Ground.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    "The el clasico"

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    People who laugh and dance about on picket lines. When did this start? I remember it being a mix of anger and pride back in the day when I was on strike. I know there's always been chants but if someone had started laughing like a hyena and dancing about they'd have got lynched.
    If they weren't looking like they were having a ball they might garner more sympathy.

2 Pet Peeves for me today
    I absolutely hate when I pick up a shopping basket, if the previous user hasn’t folded the handles back to both sides

Also as most large shops are self scanning, why don’t all manufacturers be able to have the product barcode in the same place
    Last edited by Billy Whizz; 30-10-2023 at 06:31 AM.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    West Ham moving from a great old school stadium to the soulless London Olympic Bowl.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    West Ham moving from a great old school stadium to the soulless London Olympic Bowl.
    Indeed, I used to go down to Upton Park quite frequently, haven't made it to the OS yet.

People who butt in to conversation, my Wife is ****ing constantly doing it. I can start a conversation and my Wife just cuts me off and changes the conversation then a few seconds later she will ask what I was saying 🤬 I just take the huff and say it doesnt matter

Watching GMTV in the morning (yeah I know) and that ****ing Kate Garraway is chronic and at it all the time

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    People who butt in to conversation, my Wife is ****ing constantly doing it. I can start a conversation and my Wife just cuts
    You heard the new Stones album?

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    🤣 exactly

Halloween.

The waste, the costumes, the tackiness, the “trick or treat” nonsense.

We used to do songs/shows/performances for our bounty when I was wee, now the kids just appear and expect.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Halloween.

We used to do songs/shows/performances for our bounty when I was wee, now the kids just appear and expect.
    We're the 51st state of America now. Get over it "dude".

Halloween.

Don't agree my grandkids have had a great fun day with all the Halloween things and all had a joke to tell for their sweeties..

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Halloween.

Wasn’t in last night for it, but last year all the kids who came round up my way had a joke or a song or something. There were loads of them tae. Nobody just tapping the door and holding their hand out for sweets.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Wasn’t in last night for it, but last year all the kids who came round up my way had a joke or a song or something. There were loads of them tae. Nobody just tapping the door and holding their hand out for sweets.
    Same at mine.

My daughter was out with her pals and they all had a knock knock joke or similar. Door went a few times and I quite enjoyed seeing all the bairns in their costumes and dishing out the sweets.

Was glad to get out at 7 to go to the football right enough.

Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    Don't agree my grandkids have had a great fun day with all the Halloween things and all had a joke to tell for their sweeties..
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Same at mine.

My daughter was out with her pals and they all had a knock knock joke or similar. Door went a few times and I quite enjoyed seeing all the bairns in their costumes and dishing out the sweets.

Was glad to get out at 7 to go to the football right enough.
    Pleased to hear that. Maybe I'm too cynical.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

This "baller" nonsense that is beginning to rear it's ugly head on The Main Forum, really gets on my bosoms.

People who tell you that they don’t like a particular food, when you ask if they have actually ever tried it, they answer no!

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Folk posting screenshots from phones without cropping the massive black bars.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Folk posting screenshots from phones without cropping the massive black bars.
    Sorry about that. It wasn't my photo.

The terrible jokes and forced laughing on STV News at Six between I'm John MacKay in Glasgow and I'm Kelly Anne Woodland in Edinburgh.

Online shopping when you click on something and a wee box pops in front of the picture saying 48 people are currently looking at this item then another below saying 23 people currently have this item in their basket. We'll done them! I don't care! I'd like to see the picture without having to click wee crosses thanks. Then one pops up asking you to sign up to the newsletter for a discount.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    The terrible jokes and forced laughing on STV News at Six between I'm John MacKay in Glasgow and I'm Kelly Anne Woodland in Edinburgh.
    You forgot to mention them doing half sentences each.

People who start a sentence, get half way through, then start talking about something else.

Just finish your bl**dy sentence!

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    You forgot to mention them doing half sentences each.

It gets even worse when they try to involve Raman Bhardwaj in the jokes too.

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    Online shopping when you click on something and a wee box pops in front of the picture saying 48 people are currently looking at this item then another below saying 23 people currently have this item in their basket. Well done them! I don't care! I'd like to see the picture without having to click wee crosses thanks. Then one pops up asking you to sign up to the newsletter for a discount.
    Try working in fraud and trying to to tell these imbeciles that they have clicked on a link that offers them a free trial for a voucher website ( I think it’s vouchers but as I’ve never signed up for it I don’t know) It gives them a free trial of 3 days then starts to charge them £15 a month. I get people reporting this as fraud when it’s been coming out of their account for years

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Has anyone been to Finland?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Has anyone been to Finland?
    More often than I listen to the Drolling Stones.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Do you now need to have a twitter account to view tweets? I’ve never been on twitter but could see posts when they are put up on here. Not recently though, now tweets don’t show 🤷*♂️

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Do you now need to have a twitter account to view tweets? I’ve never been on twitter but could see posts when they are put up on here. Not recently though, now tweets don’t show 🤷*♂️
    Tweets no longer exist, they are Xs. 😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.