View from the East

Now, it goes without saying that sitting in a another part of the ground results in a different aspect on the game.

My ST is in the executive seats in the FFU, right in line with the penalty spots. On Saturday, when we were playing the ball out from the back, I was practically kicking the seat in front of me in an attempt to get the defenders to knock the ball up the pitch.

Then, sitting in the East last night, I saw how much room those said defenders had. I'm still unsure about having Rocky bring the ball out from the back as I think we will only get caught out!

And Jordan Obita needs to change the colour of his boots if he's going to continuously take foul throws lol

Ye the difference in legroom is very noticeable in east compared to the other stands.

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    Ye the difference in legroom is very noticeable in east compared to the other stands.
    Aye, but those plastic seats! My bahookie has grown accustomed to my nice padded seat in the FFU

I find it hard to sit in the West after years of the East due to the cramped leg room. I can't believe people sit there every week!

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post
    Aye, but those plastic seats! My bahookie has grown accustomed to my nice padded seat in the FFU
    Don’t blame you!

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Moved to the East last night from our usual West lower seats. Reckon the laddie will want us to move permanently next season.

It's a better view v decent folk around us dilemma. Could end up next to some complete roaster 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    Moved to the East last night from our usual West lower seats. Reckon the laddie will want us to move permanently next season.

It's a better view v decent folk around us dilemma. Could end up next to some complete roaster 😂
    We were in section 44 last night for a change, nice folk there as well although they were all saying they are buzzing that the singing section will be moving. Not convinced that they are as popular as threads on this board would suggest.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    We were in section 44 last night for a change, nice folk there as well although they were all saying they are buzzing that the singing section will be moving. Not convinced that they are as popular as threads on this board would suggest.
    I’m in 43 and I agree. I moved to the West Lower last night for a breather 😂
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post

Yer ok mate. I sit in the FF upper

My ST is front row West Upper section 12 (next seats along are the black Comp ones). Last night I sat just one row back (BB71) up against a wall (left it too late to buy my ST for this game). The amount of leg/foot room is actually laughable. The guy sat in my usual seat in front of me had my knees either side of his head, like a pair of ear muffs. No way could I sit there regularly (or ever again).

Quote Originally Posted by CockneyRebel View Post
    My ST is front row West Upper section 12 (next seats along are the black Comp ones). Last night I sat just one row back (BB71) up against a wall (left it too late to buy my ST for this game). The amount of leg/foot room is actually laughable. The guy sat in my usual seat in front of me had my knees either side of his head, like a pair of ear muffs. No way could I sit there regularly (or ever again).
    Just realised from other posts that my usual front row seat in West Upper has more leg room than pretty much anywhere else so perhaps I have been spoiled, having extra leg room and prawn sandwiches.

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post
    Now, it goes without saying that sitting in a another part of the ground results in a different aspect on the game.

My ST is in the executive seats in the FFU, right in line with the penalty spots. On Saturday, when we were playing the ball out from the back, I was practically kicking the seat in front of me in an attempt to get the defenders to knock the ball up the pitch.

Then, sitting in the East last night, I saw how much room those said defenders had. I'm still unsure about having Rocky bring the ball out from the back as I think we will only get caught out!

And Jordan Obita needs to change the colour of his boots if he's going to continuously take foul throws lol
    Not many, if any. seats with a bad view in the east. The difference for me is that from my usual seat, not far from yours, in the FF upper it allows you to watch the play develop, which is a perspective you don't get from the side, much easier to see a possible through ball and the like from there.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Not many, if any. seats with a bad view in the east. The difference for me is that from my usual seat, not far from yours, in the FF upper it allows you to watch the play develop, which is a perspective you don't get from the side, much easier to see a possible through ball and the like from there.
    Yeah, you do see the play alot easier and I would get frustrated with Marshall not distributing the ball quicker sometimes but last night, I realised he can't always see what we see

The leg room in the West Lower is awful compared to my seat in the West Upper (HH). Also watching the game from the side is far superior to behind a goal in my opinion.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    This is why we need a General Admission safe standing section. Don't like the muttlike character next to you? Just move to a different spot.

Quote Originally Posted by SChibs View Post
    I find it hard to sit in the West after years of the East due to the cramped leg room. I can't believe people sit there every week!
    Is the east more comfortable?

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I hate watching football from side on.

Only place I will do it willfully is Hampden because of how far away the seats behind the goals are. As you say so much easier to see play develop when watching from behind the goals, particularly when high up.

I don't think I'd ever move from the FFU, I may move out of the Executive seats if they get too dear but I love the fact that I never get wet. Sometimes I wonder how folk put up with it, getting soaked to the skin as we get humped off Livi or someone like that

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Bit confused about people posting the West is cramped, my ST is in section 11, row BB - I am 6 foot 1 and theres loads of room.

I have previously sat in the East and found it fine as well.

I think Easter Road is generally pretty good for legroom.

You really notice what a silly antiquated dump Tynecastle is when you go there and the seats are too close - both in leg and shoulder room. Its like being in the upper circle of the Kings Theatre - and that only gets a pass because it was built when most people were comparative midgets..........

Quote Originally Posted by CockneyRebel View Post
    I'm front row of west upper too. Massive amounts of legroom but the safety bar is a bit of a pain. The view is fantastic the row behind but the legroom very poor

@hibs.net private member aljo7-0's Avatar
    it's interesting reading that folk like to sit behind a goal to see play develop - hadn't thought about it like that before.

When I've sat behind a goal I get frustrated that once the ball reaches the half way line you lose perspective on just how far away from the far goal the ball/play is.

I sit in the west now and guess I do miss a bit of how the play is developing and teams are being moved from side to side. What I like about the side on view most I guess is an appreciation of the speed the ball and players can move at which I don't think I'd get behind a goal. The Villa game being a prime example - I was hugely impressed at the speed they moved the ball up field

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    The leg room in the West Lower is awful compared to my seat in the West Upper (HH). Also watching the game from the side is far superior to behind a goal in my opinion.
    I'm the opposite. I'm FF Upper and I hate when I have to sit in the West or East. There always seems to be a bit of the pitch out of view at the side and I actually came away from the match last night with a bit of a sore neck (and we were fairly central). As others have said, you get a way better view of how play is progressing/about to progress from behind the goal too.

The leg room is awful in the West compared to the FF Upper. I'm lucky in that my ST is in the front row of the FF Upper so have even more leg room from other seats in the FF Upper but even those are way better than anything I've experienced in the West, even in the front row of the West Upper.

As Pretty Boy said, the only place I'd avoid behind the goal is Hampden (or a similar stadium). For future reference for fellow side view haters, a good compromise at Hampden is the Upper Tier in the corner at Hampden. I've had two different sets of seats there (Henderson corner) for the two multi-match package season ticket type things for Scotland games that I've done and was also in the opposite corner in the upper for the Celtic final a few years ago and its been the best views at Hampden that I've had. The only issue has been our current seats for the Scotland games (front row upper) has a barrier at the bottom of the aisle that blocks some of the view but you can duck under it to see. The equivalent seat in the row behind wouldn't have that issue.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    I'm front row of west upper too. Massive amounts of legroom but the safety bar is a bit of a pain. The view is fantastic the row behind but the legroom very poor
    I don't know why they have that there (and have found it annoying when I've been in the front row of the West too). I've been in the front row of the FF Upper since it was built and when it originally opened, it had a similar safety barrier. Quite a few of us complained early on (well not me personally as I was a child) and it was replaced with a curved plastic barrier that is flush to the wall. No blocking of views other than when people lean over it as their default sitting position for some reason.

Thinking about Saturday's opponents, sitting in the FFU a few years ago gave us a wonderful view of the diving header own goal, I think it's my fave OK from an away team

Quote Originally Posted by aljo7-0 View Post
    it's interesting reading that folk like to sit behind a goal to see play develop - hadn't thought about it like that before.

When I've sat behind a goal I get frustrated that once the ball reaches the half way line you lose perspective on just how far away from the far goal the ball/play is.

I sit in the west now and guess I do miss a bit of how the play is developing and teams are being moved from side to side. What I like about the side on view most I guess is an appreciation of the speed the ball and players can move at which I don't think I'd get behind a goal. The Villa game being a prime example - I was hugely impressed at the speed they moved the ball up field
    Again I'm the opposite. I think Boyle and Youan look faster when I'm in the FF vs the West. My dad, who hasn't been able to attend a game for months due to illness until this week , actually made a couple of comments last night. First off "Youan can't be trying he's very slow now he's got his new contract" and "it looks like Boyle has lost a lot of his pace after his injury". I genuinely think rather than speaking crap, my dad was perceiving them to be slower due to the position we were watching them from.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Are you in Section 13?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian Verse View Post
    Are you in Section 13?
    No, block 12.

I hate watching football from side on.

Only place I will do it willfully is Hampden because of how far away the seats behind the goals are. As you say so much easier to see play develop when watching from behind the goals, particularly when high up.
    I disagree, I’m in the second back row of the West Upper (not right now, I’m still in bed…) and the perspective is brilliant for watching play develop. I wouldn’t swap for a behind the goals view.

Totally agree about Hampden though, behind the goals there is virtually in av different postcode to the action.

Edit: plenty leg room at my seat as well (section 13).

I’ve been doing a bit of touring when I’ve been going to games now my boys old enough and interested I’d like to get a ST so trying to find the best place, although FFL is great for the kids, im in a toss up over west and east so been jumping to different sections in both, I was just behind the dugouts recently in the west which was a great view I was thinking the row up against the wall would be my next try, we where also the very back row in the East nose bleed stuff that my seat was actually right on the stairway so plenty leg room but one missed step celebrating it looks like certain death so a bit lower down next time in there.

Best view I have had for watching the game develop is back row of the West Stand half way line

Only issue I had was the oxygen tank needed to scale the heights

You could spot dangers immediately and tell in an an instant who was and who wasn’t having a good game

I remember Eddie Turnbull moving from the dugout to the Stand in the 1970’s for a better view and he was not averse to changing things at Half Time

I used to stand behind the goals in the Cave only view you got was the opposition goalie and the baw hitting the onion bag

Only been in the East once versus Dortmund once again in the Gods back row took an age to get oot