Page 21 of 31 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Played Trump Aberdeen the other week. What a place! Couldn't have been any luckier with the weather for the time of year, sun was out and flat calm.

The course is sensational, first 9 for me better than the back 9 despite the more imposing dunes on the back 9. What did annoy me was it was overly difficult for no reason. I get the rough being tight and long, that is the way its meant to be but the amount of unnecessary bunkers on the course either in the landing area for drives or for the lay up areas for longer par 5's.

Challenging enough for me on a calm day, any bit of wind and could be close to unplayable for an average golfer.

The steak pie at the halfway house was worth the trip on its own!

Played Bruntsfield today. More than decent course I’d go as far to say it’s the best one in Edinburgh that I’ve played.

@hibs.net private member AugustaHibs's Avatar
    Anyone recommend good links courses within a couple of hours of Edinburgh that offer cheapish green fees over winter?

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DiscoDoidge View Post
    Anyone recommend good links courses within a couple of hours of Edinburgh that offer cheapish green fees over winter?
    I've played either Gullane number 3 or the Glen in North Berwick quite a lot in the past. They tend to be much cheaper than their more celebrated neighbours. Gullane can get a bit trickier to get onto when the days are shorter and there are a lot of people wanting to get out at the same time but number 3 almost always seems quieter. It's shorter than the other ones but still a proper links course and the greens hold up brilliantly throughout the winter. There will normally be winter and twilight deals available that help further with the price.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Eyemouth can be a tough test but it's worth a visit. It's about 70 mins down the A1 from Edinburgh.

https://www.eyemouthgolfclub.co.uk/visitors

Winterfield at Dunbar. A short course with a number of long par 3s. Quite a few Hibees are members, including our own Gordon Hunter!

Tough day at Renaissance yesterday. A game of two halves. A bloody fine 2 over front nine in really tough conditions …………and I’m scarred for life the back nine. 😂😂😂😂😂
    Last edited by greenlex; 04-10-2023 at 01:56 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Tough day at Renaissance yesterday. A game of two halves. A bloody fine 2 over front nine in really tough conditions …………and I’m scarred for life the back nine. 😂😂😂😂😂
    Somehow or other I must wangle a game at the Renaissance.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Somehow or other I must wangle a game at the Renaissance.
    If you get the chance GB it really is a good test. Especially in a gale.
    Last edited by greenlex; 06-10-2023 at 01:24 AM.

https://golfinscotland.co.uk/champions-tour.php

Ive again signed up for this next season. I don’t think the venues are as good as the last two years but decent enough and still good value for money. If you’re 50+ you should consider it. Very well run.

The entries for many of the 2024 Tournaments are already available, I've just entered the Seniors Open at the Roxburghe on the 8th July.

I've always found the Golf Empire website to be very good.

The entries for many of the 2024 Tournaments are already available, I've just entered the Seniors Open at the Roxburghe on the 8th July.

I've always found the Golf Empire website to be very good.
    I’ll be there too. I’m going to do the regular open too.
    I’m taking a couple of weeks off to golf myself to death around that time.
    It should include a wee seniors Aviemore swing the same week as Roxburghe Seniors. Golf in Scotland on the Tuesday at Blairgowrie on the way up. Planning three days playing Spey Valley, Boat of Garten and Carrbridge back to back the end of that week.
    The previous week it’ll be the Lothians Seniors and two Golf in Scotland events at Glenbervie and Auchterarder before Roxburghe regular on the Friday.
    I’ll need to get back to work for a rest.
    Gotta keep going while I can.
    I also use Golf empire. If there’s nothing on at home I usually find somewhere that has an open and pop along.

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft

The main tour events are shaping up nicely. Kingsbarns has been added but I've a feeling that one will be over subscribed however Turnberry and The Machrie will be well worth it too.

It should include a wee seniors Aviemore swing the same week as Roxburghe Seniors. Golf in Scotland on the Tuesday at Blairgowrie on the way up. Planning three days playing Spey Valley, Boat of Garten and Carrbridge back to back the end of that week.
    The previous week it’ll be the Lothians Seniors and two Golf in Scotland events at Glenbervie and Auchterarder before Roxburghe regular on the Friday.
    I also use Golf empire. If there’s nothing on at home I usually find somewhere that has an open and pop along.
    Wow, - I'm far too auld for that type of schedule.

For the opens, do you just enter on your own and join a two/three ball or enter with others?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    For the opens, do you just enter on your own and join a two/three ball or enter with others?
    Just enter on my own. Pick a time. Enter and rock up.

Wow, - I'm far too auld for that type of schedule.

Truth be known so am I.

Archerfield - fidra links last weekend. Very enjoyable albeit a windy day!

I won’t go into my scorecard.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    On the entry form ( mostly online now) you'll be asked for your CDH number, Club , and current handicap.

Hole in one alert!

I managed to ace the third hole at Dunbar yesterday, it was to a back right pin position. Playing from the back tee, the shot looked good from the word go and it was great to see the ball drop into the hole.

Pleasing, very pleasing!

Hole in one alert!

I managed to ace the third hole at Dunbar yesterday, it was to a back right pin position. Playing from the back tee, the shot looked good from the word go and it was great to see the ball drop into the hole.

Pleasing, very pleasing!

Nice one GB. Not an easy hole. Back pin too. Difficult on any day. 👏👏👏👏

Nice! It is a tricky hole always worried about putting it in the car park :-)

Nice one GB. Not an easy hole. Back pin too. Difficult on any day. 👏👏👏👏

It was an added bonus that there were only a few in the clubhouse when we got in so I only had to stump up 2 drams and a coffee for my playing companions.

😂😂

@hibs.net private member AugustaHibs's Avatar
    Anyone played lundin before?

Going to give it a bash soon with the idea of putting my name on the waiting list as I know a few boys there.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar

Going to give it a bash soon with the idea of putting my name on the waiting list as I know a few boys there.
    Played it a few years ago - absolutely loved it.

If I lived up that way (and didn’t have young kids and a business taking up all my time and money) then I’d definitely like to play there regularly.

My uncle plays next door at Leven links, which I’m hoping to get a game at with him next summer.

Lundin decent. Sone good hokes on it. Also sone very average holes and one where there doesn’t seem to be a fairway for the hole and the adjacent fairway gives you a very poor angle into a narrowish green. It’s better than its neighbour Leven in my opinion but not sure of the membership rates for either. I know it sounds daft but if Leven is a good bit cheaper than Lundin I’d probably sign up at Leven.

Edit- £90 difference. Lundin Probably worth the extra to be honest. Depends how much you plan to use it I suppose.
    Last edited by greenlex; 21-11-2023 at 07:52 PM.

Lundin is in better condition than leven due to the volume of traffic through the course each day. Having played both allot id say Leven is the better and truer links course but Lundin is better condition wise. There are more blind holes at Lundin and y3 holes up and along the road that are not links what so ever.

Lundin has an 8/900 membership fee where as leven doesn’t but depending which club in leven you join it’s comps every 2nd Saturday as it’s alternative. Both leven clubs and Lundin play a comp each year of the true old course leven 1-5 13-15 &18, Lundin holes 14-18 & 1-4

If it’s not links your after, you won’t go wrong at ladybank

Only Crail along the coast doesn’t have Matt’s all winter