Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: SDG Testimonial

Anyone else got tickets for the testimonial dinner?

Not a lot of detail of who will be in attendance but with interviews, entertainment and special guests mentioned i think it's safe to say it will be a good night.

Yes a bit pricey but a one off

I'll be in Australia so can't go.

Is there a date for the testimonial game?

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I'll be in Australia so can't go.

Is there a date for the testimonial game?
    Sunday 15th October im sure I read

Quote Originally Posted by Sean1875 View Post
    Sunday 15th October im sure I read

Thanks. I'll be back by then. 👍

PSN ID: torto7062
    £92 + vat for cheapest seats 🫣

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Pricey, but got mine in order to show SDG how much he means for his service to the club.

The most deserving testimonial, the celebrations and memories he gave us with family and friends is the most important of all our lifetimes.

Sir David, if you read this, THANK YOU, but please no testimonial gigs, leave the guitar at home! :)

Should be a good night but i think i’ll do hospitality in the united game instead..

Anyone else got tickets for the testimonial dinner?

Not a lot of detail of who will be in attendance but with interviews, entertainment and special guests mentioned i think it's safe to say it will be a good night.
    My mates have a table. Jammy gits 🙄🙂

How strict is the black tie thing? Cannae see half of them in a penguin suit 🤣

Tin hat firmly on.

But are we now a bit OTT when it comes to testimonials and the definition of them?

Surprisingly David Gray only played 37 Premiership matches for Hibs. That's very surprising to me.

I know he has given the club a number of years service but it has been a long time since he regularly played for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Daily Hibs View Post
    Tin hat firmly on.

But are we now a bit OTT when it comes to testimonials and the definition of them?

Surprisingly David Gray only played 37 Premiership matches for Hibs. That's very surprising to me.

I know he has given the club a number of years service but it has been a long time since he regularly played for us.
    I totally see where you are coming from but if there's a player worth breaking the traditional testimonial rules for its David Gray. I like to see them as a way of celebrating an outstanding contribution to the football club, be it having 10 years loyal service or scoring one of the biggest goals in the clubs history

Quote Originally Posted by SloopJB View Post
    Surprisingly odd to me.
    If he had only played 1 game, I would still champion a testimonial for him.
    Testimonial is the least we should be doing for SDG. That iconic image of him at the FT whistle in May 16 should be set in bronze on a plinth outside the West Stand.

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post

Not that strict.

POTY night is black tie as well but lounge suits are fine. Tbh there are always a couple in jeans and trainers and they never get turned away either.

I think it's just to encourage people to make a wee bit effort.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Tin hat firmly on.

Do only Premiership matches count? The three seasons in the Championship & Stubbs first signing. Apart from the Hampden game his opener against Der Hun in the 4-0 was very special. He'd a wee habit of scoring against them.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Tin hat firmly on.

Aye you need a tin hat. You seem very negative about all our cup winners. Regularly slate stevenson/hanlon and say hibs are overly sentimental etc. SDG gave most of us our greatest day supporting hibs ( with the help of a few others), he's been at the club 10 years and steps in to help without complaint when called upon. Dam right he deserves a testimonial.

Not that strict.

POTY night is black tie as well but lounge suits are fine. Tbh there are always a couple in jeans and trainers and they never get turned away either.

I think it's just to encourage people to make a wee bit effort.
    Damn - I'd been hoping to see a couple of dafties in their finery and as uncomfortable as I'd imagine that would make them 😉

He didn't really get a proper send off. Ten years nearly, captained us through the rough times, gave us our best times, stand-up guy, always there for us.

Deserves everything.

Who we playing in October? Thought we would have heard something by now.

We must fill ER for SDG

I hope we do everything to promote it.

If I was a millionaire I would fund his salary at Hibs the rest of his life

Pushed the boat out and got a top table
    Probably a thank you for the best feeling I had at the SDG goal
    I doubt it will be ever repeated

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post

3 of us going , bit pricey but worth every penny.
    No penguin suit for me dress trousers , shirt and Hibs tie.
    Really looking forward to it hopefully most of the 2016 team will be there .

Quote Originally Posted by h1bs4life View Post
    3 of us going , bit pricey but worth every penny.
    No penguin suit for me dress trousers , shirt and Hibs tie.
    Really looking forward to it hopefully most of the 2016 team will be there .
    You reckon it will be ok with a normal suit?

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by S4uzee View Post
    Yes, definitely

Quote Originally Posted by S4uzee View Post
    Yes. Black tie for me but only because I used to have to wear a tux for work. 3 at our table are wearing kilts which is also a good option but some are just wearing suits. Even a blazer/smart trousers will be be fine, but there's a ban on anyone even thinking of turning up in jeans to our table.

Do you need the numbers to book a table ? Lot of us away for the Scotland game but someone who’s not going is looking for a couple of seats

Quote Originally Posted by bod View Post
    Do you need the numbers to book a table ? Lot of us away for the Scotland game but someone who’s not going is looking for a couple of seats
    You could get single seats at the £92 tables . We got 3 no idea what table at but will be fellow Hibs fans should be a cracking night .

I think the cup winning goal and everything that surrounded that sometimes make you forget what a good player and captain Gray was for us. An absolute warrior. I always felt we were a much better team when he was in it. I wish we had a David Gray in the side now. Fully deserving of a testimonial for what he's given us. He's absolutely immortalised himself in the history of our club.

What’s the situation with the game next month, do we have a date, venue and who’s likely to be playing

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    What’s the situation with the game next month, do we have a date, venue and who’s likely to be playing
    It said a man utd select in on the website.

No idea about details.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk